(2008/09) Sep 2008

Bigtoes: perhaps you may want to try GooN, the cutting for the thigh part is bigger.
Have you tried Fitti 360? It comes with elastic band so it's pretty good for small waist big thighs babies.
Carrefour having promo now, 2 packs for $24.50.

storeberry: well done on mastering the art of putting Zane into his cot without waking him!
You're so blessed that Zane is a very guai baby who's always smiling.

Jaymickey: wow, Janelle is growing fast manx! Saw her pictures, she's so chubby and pretty!
You're doing a great job! Leftover diapers, perhaps can try posting in forum to sell.

Ade: your MIL is ridiculous! Most babies suffer from colic wat, and it's almost impossible to control or prevent it from happening.

Happy deepavali mummies !

Shazz , u still awake .. keke .. me pumping milk out cos just nw doze off at 9 pm and forget to feed bb .. so nw a bot engorged and have to pump it out ..

Qiuling - now its my turn to pump. just managed to put my boy down after carrying him for an hour. So we are the nocturnal mummies. :)

my turn to pump... since 8pm till nw cos took flu med n become drowsy... sleep until engorged pain took over my sleep , *ouch pain pain*.
hand express to release some milk. like tat express also can hv 100ml frm both sides...

BABY ROUTINE
I did not follow any 'textbook' routine as I don't think my baby & I can follow through with it. But I've somehow managed to establish a night-time routine. Daytime routine very erractic as I often bring baby out.

Here's how my night-time routine is like :

6pm
Feed followed by bath time.

7pm to 8pm
We'll put baby in the Fisher Price rocker chair at the dining area while we take our dinner. Baby will doze off.

8pm to 930pm/10pm.
Feed & play time!

930pm/10pm
Feed.

10pm/1030pm to 230am/330am
Sleep & wake up for feed.

230am/330am to 6am

6am to 8am/9am

PUTTING BABY TO COT
I'll switch on his cot musical mobile, dim the lights & breastfeed baby till he dozes off. Then I'll cradle him for at least ten minutes to make sure he is in deep sleep before I lay him down on his cot. I'll pat him & slowly remove my hand. It works most of the time.

RASHES
My baby suddenly has a rash outbreak on his cheeks again & his cheeks are so rough. Sad!

Flos / Shazz, i am quite afraid that she will turn too chubby and ends up like my DH - FAT!!! Like yesterday after the swim, she asked for milk all the time..
2.30pm - 120ml
5.30pm - 120ml
7.30pm - 60ml
9.30pm - 150ml
1.30am - 110ml
4.00am - 120ml
6.30am - 120ml
9.30am - 120ml
At the rate that she is going, she probably going to outgrown her M-size too..

Flos, that's the way i put Janelle down too.. easier and less disturbing for them..

Are any of the babies eating mittens? mine can soak the whole mittens even in the night when she is sleeping..

Mei (meie): you play with Devon at night? I avoid stimulating him at night, eamon's bed time is 730 to 8pm, from that moment on, he's always in dark room with dim lights and the ipod will be playing songs that is slow to help him wind down.

Jaymickey: wow, Janelle can take 150ml ah! her intake on 120ml is very consistent, seems like a sign to up her intake.

Quiling: I was pumping milk when i posted last night! usually come online when pumping, cos got pumpinpal, so its handsfree for me.

Diapers: I'm loving Fitti 360 cos it absorbs so well and fit my baby so nicely! I think it's even better than MammyPoko cos i usually use that for night. MP sometimes will feel damp when it's heavily soaked, but Fitti is still dry on outside, and when i touched the inside, it's dry even though it's so heavy! amazing! plus it's more affordable than MP!

Routines
For those who find Gina Ford routines too regimented, there is another lady whose routines are similar but not as strict (she doesnt tell mom when to eat and drink etc LOL). Rachel Waddilove. She is maternity nurse to some celebs like gwyneth paltrow.

I dont' follow the book routines strictly myself, altho am trying to adjust the routines over time to drop the night feed ...will work on that more when hb comes back from India.

But anyway, Mei apart from the play time prior to 10om your routine sounds about the same as the books one
whatever works, man!

Shazz, i give her 150ml in the night so that she can have longer sleep.. dun have to keep waking up for milk.. day time, i tend to give her lesser so that she dun have to sleep all day.. hahaha..
usually the intake will be
9am - 120ml
12noon - 120ml
3pm - 120ml
6pm - 120ml
Guess is the swimming that is draining her out..

Shazz, where to get the handsfree pumpinpal? Does it fit for all types of pump as I'm using Avent Electronic pump?

Brought Kydric to swim and massage yesterday at Hwa Xia @ Punggol yesterday, and signed a package with for swim + massage.

been so busy with bb and the freelance work that have no time to post. just quick scan thru the postings and realise i missed so much. looks like the gathering at Lok's was a success!
wish i could have been there.

flos/goldfish
hope your bbs are ok now.

strange terms of endearment
my MIL is teochew too but i don't think that she's ever used that term on J.

putting bb in cot
yup i use the same way that storeberry and flos do it. also dim the lights and aircon on etc by 9pm , then breastfeed and then he's usually asleep by 930. if its a good night, he won't wake again until 230am or 330am. then after that its the 630am feed.

using bottle to feed
I need help!!! have been latching since J was born and on TBF. only used the bottle once when my mom had to feed him while i attended FB's nursery concert. and now J is 8 weeks and refusing the bottle! hlp!! can anyone give me tricks/tips to teach him how to suck using the NUK teat??? he keeps screaming and pushing the teat out with his tongue...i didnt have this prob with FB.

dseptkon,
i guess you can only have the patience to mk him get used to teats le. most will reject at 1st but it better to intro now than never. better for bb to form certain habits b4 they turn 3 mths.

i have a fren who intro bottle feed after her bb turn 3 mth old. and her bb totally reject it n even go on hunger strike n wanted to be latched on, if not bb wun eat! bb so clever can recognise lor.

mandy
ya. am scared he'll go on hunger strike too. we've been trying for 3 days already with the bottle. he screams and screams the house down. really heart pain. he doesnt seem to know how to suck the teat?!

haha .. so many nocturnal mummies .. next tiem we have " night chat pumping sessions ," haha

dseptkon ,
keep on trying .. sure bb will start to take the btl ..

Shazz ,
me also come online when i am pumping . keke .. my handsfree technique is to use the nursing bra .. i just shove the pump into the nursing bra and it can hang pretty well .. i up the power of the pump and the cycle so that the pump will be auto stuck in breast .. keke .. that will take only 5- 10 mins pump .. usually done within 5 mins for a 100 ml - 120 ml feed ..

Storeberry,
I think when it comes to maid, it's still 90% luck. I did some homework prior to hiring, but still, it's very much dependent on luck.

1. Choose a good n credible agency. This is very impt as a good agent can help to make a good recommendation based on their experience, honesty etc. I have been to a $1 agency and those cost $600 in fees. In the end, I chose a mid-range one, agent fee cost me $368. $1 agency really can't make it..

- Choose agency which allows u to view videos of interviews and also do phone interviews with her at the agency. When doing phone interview, u can ask her questions and talk to her. Gauge her response and her level of english. This is impt so that u know she can communicate n understand your english/instructions. I asked my maid questions like: who will take care of your daughter when u come here. Do u have any boyfriend, are u intending to get married etc. Then I kept stressing to her that I need someone who can take care of newborn and also my toddler. I asked her many times can she handle, is she sure cos newborn very difficult etc.. She assured me she will love my baby.

2. My criteria for maid:
- must have own children so that they know how to take care of kids, and more importantly, they are serious about coming to work to make money for their kids.

- Not too old (else very stubborn), and not too young (else not stable). My maid is 28yrs old. I actually wanted someone more than 30yrs old.

- Must have experience working as a housemaid. If u take someone totally new, then u must have a lot of patience to train her. My maid is very auto in the sense that she knows what is expected of her as a housemaid. I have never told her what time she must wake, but she auto everyday wake up at 630am. She had the initiative to take a small alarm clock which I placed in the kitchen to use. She takes her meals only after us, and many times I have to urge her to take food to eat and eat more!

At the end of the day, rely of your own gut instinct. Yes, many skeptical people will tell u, view video is no use, phone interview is no use, having experience is no use.. I myself was very skeptical and scared too. I also think the maid can say anything, can lie, can cheat etc.. BUT all I can say is, what I mentioned above can possibly help to increase your chances of having a good maid. It cannot guarantee u anything and no agent will guarantee u a 100% good maid either. BUT at least, if it increases your chances, then why not right.

So it's still down to your instinct (how u gauge and trust a person) and faith in human goodness and luck!

Sorry for such a long-winded post!

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Thanks for the lovely comments! I realised Zane like to smile when we are talking to him in the morning but evening, he seldom smile for us.. Hmm...

How is Eamon now? Off-topic: You have the MIM sling cd right? Do you find that the boy inside look like Eamon? Keke..

Fitti 360 sounds good!

Have also establish a routine somewhat for baby...

830am / 9am: Wake up, feed
10am: Bath Time!
1030am: Feed
1045 / 11am: Sleep
2pm: Feed
230 / 3pm: Sleep
430 / 5pm: Music &amp; singing time
530 / 6pm: Feed
6pm - 8pm: Playtime with mummy!
830pm: Bathtime to change to PJs
9pm: Feed
930pm - 130 / 2am: Sleep
2am: Feed
230 - 5am: Sleep
5am: Feed
530am - 8am: Sleep

Millie: Yes, you gotta hold me in the shawl while BF-ing.

I just change my pigeon teats to M &amp; baby had a much easier time to suckle! He takes only 10mins to finish 90ml while the S size teat, he took about 30-45mins!

Dseptkon: Am trying to bottle feed him twice now cos going back to work in Nov so hopefullyhe can get use to it. So far so good.</font>

Routine is showing some sucess!

Little Scarlett fed last at 11pm, woke once at 5am, fed 90ml, then slept till 9am~ :p overslept a little, suppose to feed at 7am, guess she had her fill at 5am =))))

Qiuling,

Same same! Also shoved the breast pump into the nursing bra and can type with 2 hands!

Qiuling you are fast man! 5mins can have 100ml?
i need at least 15mins for 100 ml. after 15mins i need to rest for 5min then pump another 15mins then can have 200ml from both sides.

i kinda worry cos if i go back to work, i can't be like spending 30mins for every 3hrs on pumping rite. surely my boss will have something to comment de.

I think I am really falling into depression. I am so sad these few days and tears keep dropping from my eyes. I miss my parents so much. I have not seen them for a month already. The sight of my HB irks me too.
Yesterday, he told me off again. He told me to bring baby to his parents' home for dinner by myself whenever I can. I feel so angry over that as he does not ALLOW me to bring baby downstairs to buy lunch or something, and I AM NOT ALLOWED to bring baby to my own parents' house by myself. Yet, he can tell me to bring baby by myself to his parents' house for dinner. I really feel unjustified by that. He does not think that I have not seen my parents for so long nor have I been to their place for even longer, nearly 3 months already. I don't know what to say to him, cos if I say anything, he will say I am comparing again. Can somebody tell me if I should bring baby to his parents place for dinner by myself? I really cannot bring myself to do that. To be selfish, why must I think of his parents when he doesn't think of mine? And to make matters worse, he is now comparing me to my SIL. It's so ironic that it is my own HB who is doing the comparison.

Rachel: can get the pumpinpal from www.mumsfairy.com I have no idea if it'll work with Avent pumps though. U can check with the seller, their customer service is fantastic!

quiling: sometimes I use the same method as u, but only when I'm wearing my cheapo nursing bra, the super soft type! wow, you take only 5mins to get 100ml! so envious! I need at least 10 to 15 mins to get that from my working left boob!

Kym: well done!

storeberry: wow, got music and singing time ah! heehee

I don't have a routine for my boy but I guess I need to establish that since he got so many caregivers!

Day time is rather haywire cos we usually follow his demands on feeding and drinking. Some days, he just want to sleep and sleep!

7pm/730pm - feed 100ml
sleep
1130pm/12 midnight - feed 120ml
sleep
5am/6am - feed 60ml
sleep
8am - feed 120ml
sleep till 9 plus or 10 to play and bathe!

Thank God he can sleep for a pretty long stretch sometimes, praying that he'll continue to sleep longer and skip the feed at 5 or 6am soon and wake up only at 730am or 8am for feed. ;)

Hey Wingkei,

you gotta be strong for baby and yourself.
don't forget that you have many friends here.

perhaps you can ask ur parents to come over visit?

Shazz ,
that is from two breast .. approxaimately 50 ml each breast .. it is considered low milk supply after 3-4 hrs can get this yield only .. but my zenneth is comfortabel with it ..

Wingkei,
If you can bring BB to his parents house for dinner, surely you can also bring your BB to your OWN parents' house. Just claim taxi money from him and say that now you are only comfy to bring BB out by taxi. (Unless you drive)
IF i were you, i would have "retaliate" le but pls don't have to follow what i say. IF i were you, i'll bring BB myself to my parents' house.

I oso have qte some time didn't go to my parents house. Not becos i'm not allowed to but cos i'm driving there, so i kinda scared that BB will wake up halfway and wad if BB cry halfway and so on.
But the moment i bring my boy to my parents' hse, they were very delighted lor. And i felt please that i've managed to survive that driving trip and brought him safely to my parents' place.

so Wingkei, JIA YOU! just do in opposite of wad he wants you to do. surely you'll feel you have achieved A LOT!

Thanks Shazz. Do you have a dual pump? If not, how do you maintain balance from only 1 pump? I've checked out the site, and it says that it works for all major pumps, including Avent.

dseptkon
Have you tried other teats? like the wide neck bottles for instance? i.e. avent or bfree. My babies have had no issues going from breast to teat with these two brands.

need to share and 'talk' it out a bit... feel quite down now..
i caused a 'disaster' at my place just now. wanted to sterilise the pump parts using the boiling method cos the steriliser was full. but i was so careless and left the stove on for more than an hr!!!! the water had all boiled out and melted ALL the parts into plastic liquid!!!! really feel very stupid and forgetful.
my hubby was outside but he also did not realise cos the pot cover was on. then when he went to open it up, all the plastic fumes came swarming out and filled my whole house! i was terrified and quickly went to close my bb's room door but i think somehow still got smell went in already. we tried to air the house since then but still got that smell lingering.

losing the pump parts is still secondary. really worried abt my bb inhaling the toxins. do you all think i need to bring her to a PD to check check?

sometimes i really feel that i am not ready to be a good mother. always doing all these silly things that might harm my bb. she is probably better off in infant care than with me. very sad.

hi nelc,

not a mummy here but i guess you should not worry too much about the fumes since you had already tried to air the whole house and quickly closed the door to prevent the fumes from entering.

im no expert but i guess the best thing to do now is to ventilate the whole house well..maybe like open all the windows and doors and on the fans to let the air circulate.

perhaps you could monitor your baby for the next couple of hours to see if she has any reaction to the fumes but of cos if you wanna make sure, bring her to the doc to check ya. doc will have the best advise for you.

leaving the stove on doesn't mean you are not a good mother. just make sure you watch the stove next time.

alabone,
A/c no = 194-25767-8 (POSB Savings)

Qiuling,
Yes, confirm receipt.

Autum,
U are lucky to have found a good helper. My current helper met all your criteria but looked at what happened...

Putting baby back into the cot:
J doesn't have any problem. He sleeps soundly at night, so even if i'm a bit rough, he can still sleeps!! Only thing is he would wake up 3-4 hrly for feeds even if he's given a 170ml feed as last feed. Guess he's a big drinker. And i noticed that he takes more in the later part of the day (from 5pm onwards).

Hmmm, I hardly have any playtime with Jonas cos he's practically sleeping 16-18 hrs a day. Maybe cos he's still a little jaundiced. Only on weekends will he sleep less cos Joshua keeps disturbing him.. *faintz*

Nelc - hey hey hey, don't be so hard on urself. I think for all first time moms, we often feel very inadequate and I feel exactly like you. I often feel very down esp when my baby is really really fussy. It was not intentional!! Also, I don't think there are "natural" moms and we shouldn't compare either. We have different babies and different personalities.

Fussing in the evening - do any of ur babies experience the "sundown" effect -- ie getting fussier and less secure from like 6pm onwards? My boy seems to be like that and from what I hear from my sister, so was my nephew. Any ideas how to make baby feel more secure other than cuddling them for an hour???

Lok - u r lucky!!!

Angeline - Auntie came today and I think she has slightly different methods from my CL but Dec seem to be ok with her. I will see how this week goes ... hopefully it works out well!!! Will keep u posted! Btw, what does she do during her free time when baby is sleeping? I only offered her newspapers and magazines...don't want her to be watching tv la.

Ava - can you get the rachel waddilove book from like borders?

nelc: like what aloysius had said, no worries...just throw the whole pot away and ventilate your whole house. Btw, what brand is that?

storeberry: singing and music? I am not the type of mom who can sing and dance to my toddler. Just not cut for this kind of "kindergarten teacher" job
I find it so tiring to repeat those googoogaga's, sing the same lullabies, make the same monkey faces, shake the same rattle, rewind the same classical music CD and turn on the musical mobile. How did u manage to keep yourself entertained? Yep, I mean, YOU YOURSELF, not the baby entertained...I get bored and ignore my son sometimes and leave him to kick-box on his own.

I've no special routine. Used to be 3 hrly~ 150ml, now just 2 hrly ~90ml. Quite straightfwd.

-Rise &amp; Shine: Wipe clean at about 8-9am (my lazy bb wakes up with lazy mommy at 9am sometimes; if I don't wake him up, he will sleep till 10am!).
-Feed after washing up.
-Play on his own for 2 hrs, while I read/surf net/watch telly
-Feed around 10.30-11am
-sleep while I lunch (if unlucky, he'll be fussing as I lunch)
-feed at 1pm
-play (most active after my lunch time!)
-feed at 3pm
-sleep (if raining like today, otherwise, fussing and fussing)
-He'll be woken up to be bathed at 5-6pm.
-Feed after bath (before my dinner)
-play/sleep (as I take my dinner)
-feed at 7-8pm
-play from 7-10pm (most active when I"m watching primetime tv)
-feed at 10pm
-sleep automatically at 12mn
-feed at 3am (last night was 4am)
-sleep
-feed at 6am
-sleep till 8-9am (with sleepy parents)
-9am force him to wake up by cleaning his face and mouth

dseptkon: How's your bb taking to your MC cot and mattress? Ever since my CL left, my boy doesn't like to sleep in his cot anymore. I dunno why...he must sleep on my sofa or in the travel cot that my sis passed down to me. My cot is also wasted!

Autum: glad to hear that you're positive abt maids...I wish I've a MIL to supervise my maid. I'm so tired telling her what to do what not to do...wish she'd just leave me alone. But irony is, if i leave her alone, she does things that are not in accordance with my practice.

aloysius - think i'll avoid using the boiling method in the future, unless my steriliser breaks down. but you r right, never leave the stove alone esp since i am the forgetful type.

lanolin - i agree that we must not be hard on ourselves. but i think this time round i am more upset cos melting plastic is poisonous, so i am really worried abt it. luckily my girl seems fine and i quickly closed her door, so i guess she inhaled minimal. hopefully no problem. *touchwood*

my girl also fusses more during evening. thats what i notice. plus today there was thunderstorm at my area and she was startled by a sudden loud thunder. cried for quite awhile b4 calming down. when she have these evening fuss, i put the beansprout pillow on her body, must cover the chest area, then pat lightly and keep talking to her, she will calm down. and even lay there to play with us. try it and see if it works. need to pat pat and talk for awhile. must be patient.

flos - u mean my pump? is avent isis duo. heart pain for the melted pump, but even more heart ache for causing my girl the bad air. but good thing is now the house is quite cleared up already. no more bad smells.

any mummies know where i can get the replacement parts for avent isis duo? i can only find the valves and diaphragms. can't find the funnel. if can't get then wasted liao.

nelc,
woah.. i think if this happens to any of us, we would surely be very worried and flustered too.. anyway, glad that your girl seems fine.. she should be alright so don't worry too much.

Lok,
yalor, that's why i say hiring a maid is still 90% luck. the 10% we can do, is just to look out for good agency and have a certain set of criteria.

Flos,
i feel that actually out of sight, out of mind is better.. so i mostly leave my maid alone.. as in, I don't go and watch her bathe my baby, or change diaper for her or feed her etc. Only the first few times I watch over her.. after that I don't even go near when she handles my baby. Cos i know that if i go watch her, I surely will have something to say.. cos every one is different so I know her way of doing things will definitely be different from mine. So rather than get irritated and agitated, i just leave her and baby alone! :p

mummies, spam some pics.. yesterday we celebrated my girl's full-month. actually no party, just went to distribute some cakes to close relatives.

Giveaways (cakes + rocher/chupa flowers which mummy painstakingly prepare!)
1826209.jpg

Photocard inside the cake box
1826210.jpg

My baby girl E Vee

1826211.jpg

ava
i dont have any avent or bfree teats cos all my bottles are NUK, since my FB used NUK too. was at robinsons today and hung around the bottles area for the longest time trying to decide whether to buy avent teats, but that would mean that i'd have to buy avent bottles too right? and i have like a WHOLE LOT of brand new NUK bottles and teats already, being a shopoholic...so am hesitating. will give it another week and keep trying...

flos
we moved the cot directly in front of the aircon but i keep the temp at about 27 degrees and he has been sleeping in it for about 2 weeks already. but he does got all sweaty on his back so when he wakes for the middle of night feed i also change his shirt. how come ur bb doesnt want the cot now? is it in your room now when it usd to be somewhere else? like u told me earlier, perhaps check the positioning, aircon etc?

nelc
its ok we all make mistakes. its a good thing that the pump and pot were the only things damaged and there wasnt a fire or something more serious. if ur bb doesnt seem to be in pain or having trouble breathing, it should be alright.

autum - oh, we had the same package for our baby too. only thing is that we had to self collect cos we ordered a little late. your baby girl looks very cute in that outfit. hehe. was that what she wore ytd?

Aloysius,
haha, we had to self-collect too! cos i also ordered very last minute.. yeah, she wore that dress yesterday.

hey, i noticed that u are new member.. so are u new to this thread of u are one of the hubby to a mummy in this thread?

oh im not new to this thread actually just that i had some problem registering months ago and got it sorted out recently.
me also hubby to a mummy in this thread. heh.

<font color="0077aa">Autum: Thanks for your advice!! Will keep that in mind! Wow, youstill have time to do rocher/chupa flowers? Nice!

Flos: Haha.. I get bored sometimes too! I just play different cds or read the children bible stories to him.. And sometimes he sleeps thruout in the afternoon &amp; wake up just for feed, then I don't need to entertain him.. But I can't place him in the bouncer or cot for too long, cos he will fuss &amp; cry for attention. Zane don't like to be left alone to play by himself. So when I have dinner, I have to put the bouncer beside me so that he knows I am near him..

Nelc: Don't think so much yah? I was feeling the same way last week as well! Guess as new mummies we feel insecure at times...</font>

Baby fever,

I feel so quilty today coz baby got a bit fever after went back from whole day shopping today.
Mummies, remember to bring enough clothes for baby when go to shopping.. Iam a bad mummy coz I didn.

Anybody know what is the fever temp for infant ? Remember last time PD told me its 37.5 then just now my hubby called to KK infant help line .. the nurse said fever for baby start from 37.3
My son temp is 37.2, so I quickly put cooler pad on his forehead hope to reduce the heat.
Have to monitor ......

Lok

mine worst...FB kept disturbing bb all day..sometimes if i not careful with the door closure,she will come in n wake the bb up..sing songs to her etc..

lanolin

during confinement,she will normally stay with bb inside the room, napping, reading chinese newspaper, doing her own things...she seldom watch tv at my house..only ask me to on the tv for her to see if she got strike 4d..haha..

LC

Paiseh..i went to the baby swimming yesterday liao...coz its quite last min so didnt manage to inform u..i found tt i got a voucher (tts togeher with the free similac tin) free for bb until 2mths on &amp; carine will be 2 months this week so i ask hubby if he wana go..he reluctantly agree so we went yesterday..hehe..but hor, dun tink i will go again oso..they didnt change the water..saw them scooping the water from 1 basin to another..tts it.was tinking bb pee n poo alot man...cant imagine if the previous bb pee in it....n my gal dun really like it...she didnt move much..just stay still mostly...tink probably older babies will enjoy it more...

Angeline,
Your FB goes to full day CC, just like Joshua right? How to disturb Carine all day? Joshua likes to run around the house during weekend, goes to Jonas' room and play there too. I will only close the door if he's really disruptive as I don't want him to feel that we are separating/isolating him from jonas.

We had a long weekend (joshua was at home for 4 days) and i almost pull my hair out as he's super cranky too becos he refused to nap in the afternoon!! I spanked him twice over the 4 days as he has no sense of danger (kept jumping and climbing on the sofa and bang his head a number of times too).

stefseanshar,
I might not go for the Thurs outing. Need to settle my maid problem.

Gathering in the East

Date: 30 Oct (thurs)
Time : 2pm
venue : Dome at Parkway Parade

Mummies attending: (in black)
1. stefseansharbabes / Sharmaine / Parkway
2. momoko76/Chloe or Cayden (only either 1) / parkway
3. Rachel / Kydric / TM or Parkway is fine.
<font color="808080">4. Avalyn / twins?? / parkway
5. lok/jonas/Parkway</font>
6. lilboymum/ch? CY?/parkway
7. Kym Teo/ Scarlett / TM or Parkway is ok
8. Crayon/Reyes/both places are fine
9. Lanolin / Declan / Parkway
10. Flos/Isaac/Parkway
11. Dmbb/Jilliane/TM or Parkway is ok
12. Breadmum/Ethan/ either TM or Parkway is ok
<font color="808080">13. Jaymickey/Janelle/ Parkway or TM is </font>fine..
14. Greenbaby
15. Springz / Shauna
16. Millie22/Alston/Parkway

So total we have 13 mummies with their babies attending ?

okies.. i will make reservations

hI,aNGLEINE

Its ok .. no problem.. which branch you go? they dun cahnge water? goodness!!baby jayden having block nose everyday and wonder if the swim will worsen it or not..

Hi,Autum

I love your baby girl's name.. very demure.. and she is tall..
and you really dress her well.. baby girls can have all nice pinky dress and their clothes are so much fun and nice as compare to baby boy. I see how my SIL dresses my niece, I so envy.. but I wun go for second one so soon..definately..

Ade
I was in the same situation as you, baby crying non-stop. I also insisted not to give the pacifier, but had to succumb to it cos she will take in more wind the more she cry, although she does not have colic. The pacifier, as told by PD too, can comfort the baby and give a sense of security, helping her to sleep better too. You can wean her off the pacifier after 4 months, but don't totally restrict baby off the pacifier at this stage when she need it most (according to PD).
I can also understand how you feel about ur MIL. I heard from a friend, she has a colleague whose baby kept crying and crying for a few days after they came back from the park one evening. Seems like to the elderly, they felt that it's the "spirits" coming out in late evening that "frightened" the baby. This could be the main reason why some elders insist on us bringing babies home "before sun-set". Maybe ur MIL is thinking towards this direction. Strange, but up to individual to believe..

Jaymickey
Janelle looks chubby!! How heavy is she? My gal is going 10 weeks, she weighs slightly over 5kg now.

Bigtoes
The photos are really interesting! I also recorded some clips on Rachael lifting her head up for at least a minute, but forgot which date! Should have done a proper record..

Breadmum
If ur boy does not burp easily, try sitting him up. I do it with my gal, and I speak softly in her ears to tell her to burp, and tried to imitate her burp. In the end, she will burp easily without me even patting on her back!!

Shazz
I am using Fitti 360 S-size for my gal too, and I lurve it as well! I bought 2 cartons at one shot (Small and Medium) when she use the Fitti NB. Got promotion when I bought, One carton contains 6 packs, and only costs $60 a carton, which comes out to $10 per pack!
too bad promo over...

Mei
You can try using SebaMEd ph5.5 Baby Facial Cream for ur boy. It work wonders on my gal's face when she has a very bad milk rash outbreak on her cheeks some weeks ago, to the extent of the skin drying badly and peeling off. After using the cream, the whole ugly patches disappear in 2 days! You can get from Robinsons, $2o++ i think. It's really very worth buying, now I use it everytime she has small marks or rashes on her face

dseptkon
What milk teats do you use for ur boy? NUK milk teats are good as they imitate the mummy's nipple.

Wingkei
Why don't u try to negotiate with ur hubby? Say for me, Saturday night for his parents, Sunday for mine! Weekddays, rest at home with BB!

Nelc
Try monitoring ur baby for any signs of discomfort, if not, a PD's visit will be more assuring. Actually, boiling takes a longer time to sterilise and also use up too much gas+water. I relented to buying a steam steriliser, 6 mins and its done, with only 120ml water! Try repairing ur steriliser? For ur pump parts, I think u can get them @ Paragon, The Fisrt Few Years shop.

Lanolin
ME!! Rachael has been showing fussiness in the evenings and night before her sleep time. She can cry out her lungs over nothing, and soothe only when I walk her around the house and pat her continuosly for 15 mins at least.

MUMMIES, how much is ur baby feeding now? My gal is 9Wks+ le, but still taking only 120ml for the past 2 weeks. Only once or twice more than tt, ard 160ml. I tried to increase her feeds, but ended up wasting the FM with 10ml-20ml left.

Jas -
It's usually around dinner time so we can't really sit down for a proper dinner. Sigh.

At almomst 9 weeks, my baby is only taking in about 100ml (at least for the night feeds) but I can't monitor the intake during the day as he is latching. The last 2 days has been interesting as he is almost feeding in a clock-work schedule - every 3 hours give and take 10 mins. I think his weight gain has been pretty good (I think he should be hitting 6 kilos now) so I am not too concerned whether he is drinking too little.

Stefseanshar - It's difficult to determine what time I can be there as it depends on his feeds. I usually will bring him out after his feed as he will be in a good mood! But will aspire to be there on time at 2pm!

Waterfeed - Do you give water to your baby in btw feeds? what is a good cue that he is thirsty?

Angeline - good good. I prefer that she just do her own things in the room. Thanks for the contact ... I can at least take a nap in peace with her around.

nelc - how's your daughter? She's fine right?

quiling - my yield is about the same though my breasts a little imbalanced...right breast usually produce more than the left!! So it's usually 30++ / 60++ to make 100.

Autumn - ur girl knows how to pose at such a young age!! woohoo!

<font color="0000ff">Sleepy Babies
oh no.. realised my boy is getting more sleepy these days. he slept the whole of yesterday away. didn't manage to play / talk to him at all... and worse still.. he managed to sleep at nite too. wonder if anything is wrong..

think he prob was tired out on Sunday. slept thru the nite on Sunday and onli woke up at 10am on monday morning wor... weird

Baby Feeding
Max has been drinking 120ml all these while and i've no intention of upping it.. coz he doesn't seem to be able to finish it ALL the time yet

Baby Swimming
wah.. so many ppl have got complaints abt Hwa Xia.. Now i'm having 2nd tots as to whether to sign up the package!!!

Baby Smiling
sighz... Max has onli smiled AT me once (or so i tot) while I played with him on Sat. Apart from tat, gave smile little smiles to his frens at the cot mobile. This morning at 2am gave a super wide grin to his orange monkey fren again!!! Wonder when he will show tat grin to mi!!!

BM Supply
Gosh!! My SS is decreasing le.. I can onli yield 110ml on realli good days.. if not.. am onli left with 90ml
sob sob. at least hb is encouraging. told mi to monitor for these 2 wks.. if realli getting little den juz forget it le. no point wasting so much time expressing</font>

Does yr hungry bb suckle on the teat and then release it to cry? Then refuse to suck again until many attempts for u to try to stick it back into her mouth? Why is it that she is rejecting the teat when she is obviously hungry? the water temp is alright. It happen only recently. Is it becos the hole in the teat is too small for her now? If so, where can i buy compatible teats for medela bottles???

sasa - try dressing in orange. Maybe he likes colours! :D

sleeping - er, u shouldn't complain about ur boy sleepinng well right, esp when he can also sleep in the night.