(2008/09) Sep 2008

my boy seem to put out a lot of gas and often very loud and her got frighten and cry. anyone encounterthis. went ot TMC pd did not say anything about the wind is the tummy

lanolin- my boy always tend to open one of his eye which the other close. then when his eye are close we pat him a while then put him into the cot to sleep. but when we put him down he open his eyes wide big
end up have to carry him up to rock him to sleep.tiring. last time baby in our tummy we still can eat , sleep, shop, do a lot of things. now no time to eat and sleep

from wad koras said , I remember one of my friend mother of 2 tell me ... now u pregnant happy ar .. cannot wait for the baby to be born , cannot wait to see the bb , so anxious ar.

Then she tell me after the baby is born , I confirm wish that sometimes i can put the bb back into the tummy again.

koras - sama sama experience!!!!!! They seem to be so sensitive to the slightest movement. It will take some some weeks maybe to master the art of getting him to sleep but my sister is trying to comfort me by saying that eventually, the good days will outnumber the bad. That's what motivates me to go on day by day.

Hands - Does ur baby's hand smell? Ours is in mittens so often that they smell like smelly sweaty feet!! eeeks! I cut his nails today and cleaned his hands and discovered so much dirt btw his fingers! I think they never got washed properly as his fists are always tightly clenched during bath time etc....

flos,

The agency allows us to change within 1st 6 months. Think I have to pay a few hundreds for her to fly over and pass some MOM test. If tranfer maid, then cheaper.

MAID:
I think my maid is very very lucky to be with us. When she complains that she's too tired after doing night duty, I take over from 9pm to midnite.

On weekdays, she finish her housework in the morning and then can nap 2-3 hrs in the afternoon b4 waking up to cook dinner. On weekends, we told her the kids are most impt (so no housework and meals required). When she goes to my mum's and MIL place, her main duty is to jaga the kids and she takes that as an opportunity to nap especially when the kids sleep!

I don't control what she can eat in the fridge (other than the organic stuff that my hubby takes). She sleeps at 8-9+pm and nowadays wakes up even later than me (like 8am today while I'm awake at 6am!!). In addition, she takes naps in the afternoon.

She herself told my MIL that we are all very nice to her (unlike her friends who don't get to sleep or eat). Now my MIL dislikes her especially after she ignored my FB plus she's always giving us black face whenever we add new duties. There was this one time when she yanked her blanket/pillow away whilst my FB was sitting on them and I was even there watching her!! She's totally emotionless when dealing with my FB (was wondering how come he finished bathing in like 1 min vs. 5 mins in the past when they play with bathtoys etc).

I can only wish her good luck in her next assignment if she doesn't treasure her good fortune now.

lanolin- mine also have that sourly smell i think they sweat and stretch alot that why their hands and legs tend to smell. my boy very slight movement of sound he will move his hands, sometime if he fart a lot then he will cry le

koras - mine crys when he

1. wants milk
2. farts
3. shits
4. pees
5. trying to sleep
6. no reason

I asked PD and he says this is normal. my niece on the other hand does not even wimper a sound so no one knows whether to change her diaper or not until they check.

I guess every kid, different takes.

I just lost my cool with my baby, and shouted at him. He just wails and wails and am at wits end what to do from 5pm till now - gosh 5 hours. Hubby has gone to work, and am home alone. Its really tiring.

I wish there is some secret weapon to put them to sleep on demand.

breadmum- crying when pee that is bad ler. my cry when he hungry, drink not enough, fart, try to sleep, carrying him in a wrong position, cry when he over stretch, crying when he is being disturb up

breadmum (breadmum): my boy cries when he farts too! haha ... that night he cried in his sleep cos he was woken up by his own loud fart! so funny right?

Koras: my massage lady told me it's common for baby boys to cry when they pee.

<font color="119911">Hi mommies, brought Kieran to his trial swimming session at Hwa Xia today.
Photos in Facebook. He quite enjoyed it, but doubt we would bring him back. Notice that the water is not changed after each session and they recycle it (just top up with a kettle of hot water) – not sure how hygienic this is, especially during periods of HFMD outbreaks.

poppy tay (popcorn_tay) – read your comments about being sad and depressed. Hang in there okie, none of us are natural born mommies – just have to get the hang of the diaper changing, feeding, etc and it will get better. What KymKym T (pebblez) mentioned about taking care and pampering yourself is important, so we don’t feel like slaves to our babies.

Flos (flos) – on diaper sizes, Kieran is now using Nepia (4-8kg) for day use at home, and Huggies (5-10kg) for night and outside. His chubby thighs can hardly fit into the Nepia already, but Huggies is a much better fit cos of the elastic band.

KymKym T (pebblez) – wow, you are so detailed in Scarlett's routine. How do you even keep to that? How about on days whereby you are out, or when she doesn’t want to nap/drink milk at the specific timings?

Karen (karenz) – on overfeeding Kieran, yesterday I was out for the good part of the day, so only did one latch on out of his 8 feeds. Total consumption for the day was about 820ml based on the EBM + 1 latch on, which is about right for his weight (5.3kg). So I guess his milk intake is normal for his size, though not sure why he occasionally demands a really heavy feed before sleeping at night!
The 300ml at one go is a freak incident – he usually consumes about 120-150ml for the final night feed at 11+pm, and doesn’t wake up till 4+am for another 80-90ml. Anyway, he has a PD appnt for his 6-in-1 next week, will check if he is overweight!!

isabelle (isa_belle) – yes, I didn’t pump from 9am till 5pm yesterday! Wanted to continue shopping, but couldn’t stand it already, cos the engorgement was getting very uncomfy. And just as I was about to come back, I leaked all the way thru my bra and onto my dress!! The first thing I did when I came back was drop everything and rush to express!

Terms of endearment – hubby and I are calling Kieran "grubby", cos he looks like a fat grub when he is on his tummy and wriggling his body while trying to crawl! Also cos the CL used to swaddle him when him like in a cocoon.

lanolin (lanolin) - Stinky hands – Yes! Kieran has smelly hands as well, cos he wears mittens (else he would leave scratch marks all over his face), like to wipe milk off his face with them, and has his fists clenched as well.(Babies are suppose to slowly unclench their fists from about 3 months onwards.) I always assumed that babies would be nice and sweet smelling – but he is quite smelly for a baby!</font>

LC.. haha.. so ur Jayden also has this cracking sound ??? u r not worry arr ? me damn scared and keep asking hubby is it normal..is it fine ?

Rabbit.. me also feel quilty coz sometimes I hold him too tight then I can heard the "krek" sound when he is trying to push me..

I think the cracking, or "krek" sound is their ligaments, same as ours when we move. Nothing to worry about.

Diaper size: My boy is still wearing Nepia NB even though he's 5.55kg. Think nepia's cutting is rather big. He is currently in between sizs now, Mammy Poko's S is a little too big but won't leak, but Pampers S is so big for him that urine can leak through the gaps between his thighs and the elastic part.

hi lok,
what is your a/c no again?? i'm sorry. haven't transferred to you yet.

maid issues:
i really think your maid is very fortunate to have you as her employer. how dare she show you black face when her duties don't seem that many. plus she takes nap and wake later than you??? very ho mia already leh. why she still wanna hiam?? hope your next maid will be much better.

breadmum,
you're right every kid is different. my natalie girl was the kind who didn't cry for anything. not even for milk. she goes 'heh heh heh' and that was her cue for wanting to drink milk. but now she's crying so much it's as if she's making for lost time. cadence now cries when she's hungry and when i'm changing her. i find that odd.

and the other day, i also lost it like you did and shouted at her to 'shut up' coz she kept crying and refused to stop! and i was only changing her. only stopped crying when i picked her up. then last night kept feeding every hour. i was so tired and sore from latching her, that i gave in to formula 5 hours into the sleep latch sleep latch pattern...

Shazz, tik u r rite coz my boy nvr cry after the"krek" sound.. meant he is not in pain ...

Diaper size : My boy is wearing Mammy poko "M" size liao , he is weighed 5.870kg 10days ago, now should be 6kg ba..previously using Pampers "s" size and its a little small for him.

yun (cutieyunyun): your boy is so cute! he's a little heavier than my boy but he's wearing M liao! wow! I think it's because my boy's body and limbs are longer and skinnier, and he got small butt, so still can fit Nepia's NB and barely fitting into Pampers S. ;) Good for me, save $$$ cos NB cheaper than M!

lanolin

how? u got engage my CL...let us koe how u find her ok if u do.. my gal's finger oso got lots of dirt esp when shes peeling skin when shes born..sometimes will remove her mittens n pluck away all those dead skin...i oso change her mittens 2x when bath..

Koras - why do you say when pee and if baby cries its bad? Cos the older folks like my parents say for boys its normal, so Shazz is right to say its normal

Shazz - woken by fart : that's funny. LOL.

Diapers
I've tried various brands - "S" size - for my boy who is 4.5kg
Drypers, EQ, Pampers, Mamy Poko, Sealer,Pureen
My favourite is still Pampers as it holds well. The other day, Sealer leaked from the sides when he did a big one.
The most colourful is Pureen
EQ is very big in the front, so it looks "strange" but its really soft.
I guess, for day use, we should use the cheaper ones, to save cost.

NTUC is having diapers sale. went yesterday and bought Mamy Poko at $21.90 (72 pcs), Pampers at $39.45(for 2 packs- 58 pcs). Diff in price per piece is 4 cents.
Drypers from M size onwards were also on offer - but cannot remember the price. Wished there is a wholesaler out there we can buy from.

J&amp;J sale - anyone any ideas when it is? i know its always around 1st week of November. Dont know if this year there is. My ex-colleagues used to go and stock up the baby wipes.

Yun - your little one is really adorable. mine is not so big, but more lanky

alabone - actually after shouting at him, I felt really bad and heart ached. Its really sad not to know what they are trying to tell us. Worst still they are like "big worms" kicking and punching.

The other day my hubby told my boy "Dont punch my chest leah, i got no milk for you". And that made me laugh.

Lok,
your maid sounds terrible.. very lazy. Good riddance! Hope your next maid is much better.

Flos,
yep, I leave my baby alone with her. That's what I intend to do anyway, when I go back to work. My maid will be alone with my baby girl next time.. so now i m leaving baby with her for some hours every now and then. Yea.. i know all the horror stories of maid abusing the kids etc.. but I still believe in the goodness of human nature and generally I think most maids are good and decent people here to make an honest living.

from what I can see so far of my maid, I really think she is a good natured person and I feel very lucky to have her. Just hope she remains like this. my maid is very good with my baby and also my FB (now 19mths). She can sing, play and read to my boy.. and i can see the genuine joy in her when she does that.. not because she is forced to do it as part of her duties. She can handle my baby very well too. as she herself has a daughter whom she fully take care of for 3yrs from birth..(now her daughter is 9yrs old).. she is also very hardworking in terms of other household chores.. so I just hope she will remain like this for the rest of her contract with me. May God bless me!

Yun,
your boy is so cute! such a big sunshine smile

breadmum,
don't feel bad for shouting at your baby.. we are only human and sometimes we also can't control our emotions. sometimes i get very frustrated with my girl, i also scold her. I find my girl more difficult to take care of compared to my boy.. so I can't help but compare and then feel frustrated with her!

breadmum - no la i find it strange for baby to cry when they pee.
whenever my boy want to poo, his face will turn very red to force it out. sometime he force few time then start to cry le. duno how come he need to force so many time before his poo come out

Haha~! Didn't know so many mummies here have their babies called the same thing as my girl.. guess i am over-reacting :p...

Dear Lanolin,

Little Scarlett also screamed her head off when we first started the routine, most cranky during her nap times (not once only.. but all the nap times!) but i guess because she has gotten used to not being put to sleep; initially we had to pat her to sleep on our tummies.. it was quite difficult too (before, its always milk tagged to sleep, now we put her to sleep), but now, its so much better already, although its only been 5 days, but she has sort of gotten the message, but we still need to pat her to sleep.. no such thing as sleep on her own!!

Scarlett also has smelly hands and feet! She is one of the sweat more babies i think :p

Dear LC,

LPK.. really faintz..

Dear Koras,

Ya! My little G also get frightened by her own fart and will cry too! Usually she'll fart more when she is fed gripe water and have Ru Yi Oil rubbed on her tummy, sometimes very loud!

Dear Limay,

The staff at Hwa Xia don't change the water!? How can they do that.. is it because its a weekend.. and there's too many people =( I also think its unhygenic! I usually go to punggol branch during weekdays and i make sure they fill a new tub otherwise i won't put baby in!

Keeping to routine is a task, i agree.. i even printed out Scarlett's routine and kept it in her baby bag!! It'll def get easier once we get the hang of the main routines down like feeding, sleeping at the same time everyday. Yesterday for example, we spent the entire day at my aunt's and my little G was passed from relative to relative so she slept lesser than usual, but i made sure her feeds were all on time and will try let her catch some winks in between the passing here and there :p Though!! She was quite cranky throughout the day.. fussing and fussing because she wants to sleep!!

hi yun,
i was also so worried..guess maybe normal.
your son looks great and such a happy simile ;) my mil will definitely love it..

hi KymKym,
i am quite interested in the hwa xia swimming program. do u know if there is any trial lesson or must we take a package?

i am quite interested in gina ford book. Is it 'The New Contented Little Baby Book: The Secret to Calm and Confident Parenting'? Do you know where i can get it? thanks.

Shazz,
Woah.. Eamon is 5.55kg but still can fit into NB and S-size.. I haven't weight Janelle since her last PD visit abt a mth ago, she can hardly fit into her Mamy Poko and Pamper Dry S-size and I stil have a few more packs of pamper dry lying around..

Hi Rabbit,

I think they do have trial lessons for first timers, at 28$ maybe? For us, we took the 10 times package right after the first swim and massage so its only 20$ for our swim

Yup, its called the new contented little baby book, the cover is a white/baby blue color with a picture of a little baby on it, i think the library should have it, maybe like limay says, browse it through, see if it fits you and baby! For me, I bought the book at times bookshop =)

Lok ,
please confirm if the payment is thru .. My last maid change cose me about close to 300 for the test to be taken , the insurance and the work permit application .. the airfare dun have to cover for them cos they paid for their own when the maid came in under contract .. that is the 7 mths without pay ( that is the amount they owed to the agency) and our upfront payment to the agency.

Breadmum,

Me also prefer pampers rather than mammy poko.
Mammy poko is thicker and get wet easily. Will buy Pampers nxt time.

Dun feel bad for shouting at ur baby, sometimes we can be frustated and its normal.. me even beat my baby on his thigh leh and make him cry even louder. but he still like me lor...

Ok, so all babies have smelly hands. HAHAHA...i bought mittens with rather large holes in them from kiddie palace on Friday as they have better ventilation. I hope he doesn't have sweaty palms like me.

Angeline - Yes! I am engaging ur CL for baby sitting! Will let u go how it goes when she starts next week!

My original CL left today. I think we've all grown very attached to each other so all of us cried (including helper and HUBS!!!) except baby. Ok, hubs eyes were red la ..not the super bawling type. Sigh...she's been a huge blessing to me and somehow I think we have good "yuan" so we got along very well.

Kymkym - my boy is being pat to sleep also but his eyes will keep open like marbles! I think if he skips a nap, I'll still try to stick to the timing of the next feed though he usually need one btw 1030 to 230pm - cannot last all 4 hours without a feed. Sigh. Last night, we fed him at 11pm but he woke up at 140am again for milk. Sigh... must persevere!

Autumn - U're lucky to have a good maid! May we all be blessed with good helpers too!!!

<font color="119911">Jaymickey (jaymickey) - wow, Janelle has grown! And you caught her smiling for the camera!

Rabbit (rebirth) - i borrowed the Gina Ford book from National Library but decided that it is not for Kieran and me. Am not one to stick to schedules, and find it impossible to follow, especially cos we bring him out quite abit, and he follows his own timing.

KymKym T (pebblez) - not sure if Hwa Xia people change the water for all sessions? I was observing and noticed that after each session, they would just scrub the sides of the tub abit and drain off SOME water, then leave it. When a new customer comes, they would say they are 'preparing the tub' and just add a kettle of boiling water so that the water gets warmer. Not any more hygenic than a regular swimming pool. So anyway, i didn't sign up for the package. Once Kieran's neck is sufficiently strong and he has had his 6-in-1 jab, i would just fill my own bath tub with water and let him swim in there, or bring him down to our pool.

yun (cutieyunyun) - your boy is also the cutest! So many happy smiling baby photos now!

Bigtoes, I hv yet to weight her.. i will have to try to see how heavy she is now..

Finally after a few attempts of playing with her.. but each time she sees the camera, she is more curious to find out abt the camera than to smile..

I am going to Hwa Xia in an hour's time.. guess i will tell them to drain off everything and refill it.. hahaha

so many smiling faces..so sweet and handsome. waiting for mine to smile so that i can take a pic ;)

thanks kymkym and bigtoes. i just check..seems library has..got to find

<font color="0077aa">Autum: Keke.. Cos never bring bb out alone mah.. Want to train myself up!

Hubby sent us to Botanic gardens to meet my frens 1st then he left for wedding dinner at JB. So I gotta take care of baby alone. Zane has been very "guai" only "ehn ehn ehn" when he wants his milk &amp; cried once when He wanted to sleep at around 9plus.. Brought the nursing shawl to BGF inside car, its God send!

And thanks to bacon&amp;egg for your encouragement!

Lanolin: I have master the art of putting baby down in his cot without waking him up liao..

Koras: Kaylen looks so cheeky!

Limay: Kieran is so cute, beautiful smile!

Janelle looks os different liao! Pretty!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Zane is 5.2kg &amp; when I tried on Nepia S size, find that its quite loose! Nepia cutting really big!

Yun: you boy looks so happy &amp; chubby!

Autum: your maid sounds good!! Its really GOD bless when a good maid comes by. Where did you get your maid from &amp; what kind of criteria did you choose your maid from?</font>

<font color="119911">Nepia - this doesn't fit Kieran well anymore. The thigh portion is too tight now, and the waist is too lose, so sometimes poo flows out from the waist band area. Yucks!!

koras (koras) - heh, why is Kaylen sticking his tongue out?

Jaymickey (jaymickey) - how was the swim session at Hwa Xia? Here are some photos from Kieran's session - hubby added some Kieran quotes -
http://smallfattoes.blogspot.com/</font>

bigtoes- hehe i did not know he was sticking out his tongue till i saw the photo i snap thur my hp. he recently like to keep sticking out his tongue. hehe. now he can start to say ah goo when we play with him

<font color="0077aa">Lanolin &amp; koras: Keke... I just slow motion my action then put him down, Yes usually when he is in deep sleep then I put him down. Maybe can try putting him on your bed in the day so when placed in the cot its easier? Cos in the day he sleep on my bed.

I want to bring bb to swim also!</font>

Lim(xuanmommy) - yes, am referring to the johnson &amp; johnson sale at Jurong IBP. Do you know the dates of the sale?

Thanks all. my baby has been good today, no merlion. But still not burping and wants to be carried.

Storeberry- slow motion also my boy wakes up when he realises he is in his cot.

diapers: Isaac is wearing the M size Pampers Active BB from NTUC during the promotion. He is currently 5.3~5.4kg (fluctuates cos his appetite is sometimes good, sometimes bad).

jaymickey: Janelle is really turning into a lil beauty!!

Koras:is that a pout or a monkey face?!! so cute

autum: salute u for leaving your bb alone with the maid. Ill never hv the guts to do that cos looks are deceiving. I mentioned several mths ago abt my bro's maid who slapped his son in the room. Luckily, they happened to review the webcam footage that day and discovered the truth abt that hand that rocked the cradle...

PUTTING BB BACK TO COT: If his head is cradling on my left arm, I use my right hand to slip under his neck and support the neck (plus the head of course!) and gently hold &amp; shift it clockwise (towards my right) so that his bum rests securely on my left palm...So now, with my right hand supporting his neck and head, and my left hand supporting his bum, I'll lower him onto his cot. If he is cradling on my right arm, then vice-versa.

To receive the bb from someone's arms, you'd better get that someone to extend his/her arms outwards away from his/her chest/bosom, before you slip your hand under the neck and bum of the bb to take over the bb...I noticed the exchange of hands btw my hubs and the maid was rather awkward and advised my hubs to be careful not to accidentally MOLEST the maid!!!

flos

haha..understand wat u mean coz sometimes i oso awkward when my fil n i passing bb to each other...

I am so angry, i just wanna rant about my MIL!
HB &amp; i brought bb out for 2 hours today. BB is having colic now and keep crying. MIL said is all because we brought bb out today. This is really ridiculous! I already brought bb to PD and PD already confirm that it's colic and it's very normal for bb to have it. But today MIL is still insisting that it's because we brought him out. And when i wanted to give bb his colic med, MIL said don't need. She believe he wants pacifier instead. I never wanted to give my son pacifier, but these few days, she keeps bringing the pacifier issue up. She is really pissing me off! I don't understand, who is the mother here? It's me, not her! But it looks like she is trying to take over my role as a mother.
Initially, before i gave birth, she tried to convince my hb to let bb sleep in her room during the night, so that it won't be too tiring for us the next day at work. Luckily i refused and argued with my hb that "This is my son &amp; this is our responsibilities." If i really gave in that time, i think i might have 'lost' my son! And just now, i caught her trying to give my son cold milk. My son is drinking 120ML now, she mixes 100ML of cold water and ONLY 20ML of hot water! The wonder he kept having colic at night! She is really getting on my nerves!