(2008/09) Sep 2008

mandy

haiz..wat can i say? just bear with it lor...tts y i am objecting to moving back to stay with his parents...last time hb is on my side but now he oso wants to move back...now me alone standing against them...

greenbaby: Arrhhhh, if only the PD didn't mentioned abt the 'going out' part! I feel so bad now...all becos of my own boredom and wanderlust, I caused him to be 'exposed' to those virus in the shopping malls. YESH YESH! I was also at Centrepoint Robinsons, but Vivo was last weekend.

GETTING USED TO THE STROLLER: Well, u need put bb in the stroller and take him/her out to the mall a few times! But the price u need to pay is....haizzz....Anyway, my P3 is now my 'saviour' cos I've been instructed to keep him in that 30degrees position after each feed, so the stroller's reclining seat comes in handy!!

shazz: Why didn't I think of that?! I shd've waited till his 6-in-1 jab before taking him out to so many malls! MOreover, it's been raining for the past 3 days in my area. There must be some airborne viruses lurking around somewhere...

TBF: I'm running out of milk ss...Keep crying and crying as he suckles on a dry tap. In just one day of this running around and skipping of meals, I lost 1 kg! Now I know why some of u lost weight so quickly than I did. I've to wake up every 2 hrs now to BF and bottle eed him with glucose, that minuses 30min, and gives me 1.5hr of rest...

LC: I'm so concussed. Now taking my cordyceps to boost my own immnue system...

lanolin: yes, until the throwing up stops and until I finish the medication. Feeling sim tia that I wanna feed him with 1oz of FM after lunch later. Ytd at the clinic, we weighed him. He lost 200gm in 2 days. 5.4 dropped to 5.2kg. If he keeps drinking glucose, his weight will decrease further!!! SOBSOBSOB...

I feel that we women are always stuck in the middle, especially after marriage and after we have children.

One, you have to manage your husband's expectation of how our child grows up and if the child is fully fed, clothed, happy and learns the correct way to life

Two, you have to manage how your in-laws, friends, family will try to interfere or object with how you manage the child and the ideals you have for the child

Third, you have to manage your family's financials, go to the workplace and manage the boss, co-workers, and get stressed over the things piled up

Fourth, you have to manage your husband's expection of you as a women, satisfy him in bed, look good and be able to perform all the above duties well

Fifth, you have to manage your own expectations, what you aspire to become, what you wish would be the life you expect..

Sixth, you have to manage your own children's expectations of the kind of mother they hope to lean upon, to give them love and kindness and educate them, to give them vision and hope

flos,
Hope you and bb will feel better soon..dont beat yourself up...u r a v good mom

I actually shared this formula for calculating the amt of milk our babies shd take which the PD taught me... anyone's PD also told them abt it?

Formula: (150 x weight in kg) / number of feeds a day
eg: (150 x 4.2kg) / 8 feeds = 78.75ml (round up to 80ml)

Not sure how accurate this is but Kieren has stopped puking (**touch wood**) after i followed this formula. According to the PD, there are a few factors which may caused babies to vomit. It can be overfeeding, reflux, etc

Kymkym,
Well said.
all hands up agree to wad u say.
No one ever realise that we R stuck in middle. Pple just EXPECT us to be wonder women, to be able to do all the above (plus many more misc duties) and still remain 'happy' (wah wanna vomit).
Women are born to be a multi tasker. Look at some mothers who are able to bring 3 kids out and still manageable.
3 cheers for the women!

Ange,
sometimes i go to my ILs plc and would see them watching tv with my HB's niece. And the program are like "huang jin nian hua" or some taiwan serial dramas lor. If not the niece will be watching Barney. And the niece like to stand near the tv and watch the shows. They oni tell her to stand further away but no action.
If i was them, i'll switch off the tv, and see if she still dare to stand near the tv.

FLos
take care!!! hope little isaac will be ok soon!!! dun worry, children bounce back very fast one!!

dun worry about the weight. my PD used to tell me that chil.dren dun actually lose much weight when they are sick.w hat they lostis usually water...which is quite a bit of their weight lah...but then they will gain back fast too aftrer they recover!

angeline
yes that's what im always fearful of. i know many mummies will not agree with me. but i do not allow my son to watch tv. my tv at home is hardly switched on. only sometimes after they sleep. over at ILs place, it's like on every moment. i think children learn very fast from tv and not everything is good...

hahah..your ILs try to teach her gambling ah??? why not you try to make something good outta that? teach her mathematics from those cards!!

GATHERING PAYMENT:
Confirm receipt from:
1. Jaymickey
2. sunnysunny
3. Sri_leo
4. Bacon&egg
5. Rachel
6. bigtoes
7. stefseanshar
8. kym
9. flos
10. crayon
11. Ava

LC,
I sent my FB to IC and will also be sending Jonas to IC despite having a maid and my in-laws/mum not interfering at all with yaolan/pacifier etc (they respect that I'm the mum and things shld be done MY way). Main reason is the lack of stimulation and excessive TV if i leave the kids with maid/elderly and it is also too strenous for them. Plus the open environment means the risk of "abusing" my kids are lower (vs. my maid). Even if u leave with IC, u need to have fallback childcare arrangement in case they fall sick or the school is closed due to HFMD etc.. This can happen very often when they are mouthing (i.e. between 6-12 mths). To me, falling sick is just another way of building immunity (FB has pretty good immunity now at 2YO). Of cos, there are good and bad IC around. Price will vary as well. I'm paying $900 (after deducting $600 govt subsidy).. U need to source around and be comfortable. The other very impt factor, besides curriculum/caregivers/environment, is the LOCATION/convenience..

flos,
*Hugz* u take good care of yourself and Isaac.

<font color="0077aa">Flos: You must be so worried!! Little Issac will be fine!

Shazz: Glad that Eamon is alright now!

I have been bringing baby out yday to collect my new specs!! And went with hubby to eat desserts at this Hongkong cafe, the pomelo mango ice is yummy! Planning to bring baby to botanic gardens on sat with my friends &amp; Jap buffet in the evening but now really considering.. But SIL is working that day so she is bringing my nephew over &amp; if she can't come back intime, I gotta bring my bb out alone, jittery &amp; excited!

Millie: I bought the Obuba from Bulk purchase, think she is closing her BP soon! Hurry! Its S$35 + $2 (local postage) = S$37</font>

millie,
i just carry baby in the MIM sling and my LV neverfull PM as a diaper bag, and i'm ready to go anywhere
as simple as this le.. why u all afraid to bring baby out ?? actually not many things to carry at all if u are breastfeeding.

Gathering in the East:
1. stefseansharbabes / Sharmaine / Parkway
2. momoko76/Chloe or Cayden (only either 1) / parkway
3. Rachel / Kydric / TM or Parkway is fine.
4. lok/jonas/Parkway
5. lilboymum/ch? CY?/parkway
6. Kym Teo/ Scarlett / TM or Parkway is ok
7. Crayon/Reyes/both places are fine
8. Lanolin / Declan / Parkway
9. Flos/Isaac/Parkway
10. Dmbb/Jilliane/TM or Parkway is ok
11. Breadmum/Ethan/ either TM or Parkway is ok
12. Jaymickey/Janelle/ Parkway or TM is fine..
13. Greenbaby
14. Springz / Shauna
15. Millie22/Alston/Parkway

Venue: Dome at Parkway Parade
Date : 30 Oct (Thurs)
Time : 2pm

pls feel free to add in ur names to the list above

<font color="119911">Qiuling (chewy_ring) – the medela bottles are BPA free, and as per the leaflet, cannot be microwaved to sterilize.

Flos (flos) – Poor Isaac. Hope he gets well soon and that you can get some rest as well…! Very siong. Btw, 37 degrees is still okie, a fever would be 37.5 degrees onwards (using the ear thermometer).

eve (yurieve18) – your formula for feeds/session sound about right. But the problem is that we cannot gauge when we latch on. I have no idea how much Kieran consumes within the 30 minutes latch on session. He doesn’t puke but reposits abit of his feed sometimes (less than 10ml I think) when he doesn't burp properly, so I don’t think he is overfeeding.

I think he is still going through a grow spurt (or just terribly greedy)- am latching on every 2 hours during the day, and last night, he drank about 200ml of EBM again before being able to sleep – and that was just 1 hour after I BF him!
Still have sufficient milk for TBF, but wonder if I can keep up! I thought the growth spurt would have stopped by now? He is 7+ weeks already.</font>

Hi, angeline
yours in laws are giving playing cards while mine is bringing out mj tiles - bsmboo, wan zi, tong zi, fa cai, bai ban etc... #$%$^%$$# and they are watching what liliboymum mentioned - huang jin nian hua and the taiwan show.. piangz!!

thanks for all the invitation..sorry will not be joining in.

hi autumn,
thanks alot for your advice.
i am quite interested in IC except i am not sure which ones is good. thinking to look for one near in the west, preferably near to in-law so that they can fetch bb incase dad works late and mum is overseas. I am also concern that bb may fall sick easily in the IC and if bb will get enough attention from the teachers. I would prefer to send bb to IC when she is 1 year old...but guess no choice.

hi flos,
sorry to hear about isaac. i shd stop bringing my girl out as well. It is advisable to get hand guard soon and to take care of the posture of your wrists. i am suffering from the after-effects of both wrists now.

Thanks, Autum for your reply to my queries.. I will need to go check out some IC when I go back to work.. I am kind of forced to leave my baby with the in-laws cos they want to take careof their first grandson despite of walking prob of my MIL and she wants a maid too. I dun wan a maid to take care my baby so IC is my another way out. I added the allowance I need to give my in-laws for taking care and the maid expenses, I might as well top up a bit to go to a good IC which provide some stimulation...

Hi,Lok

The Ic you are using is quite high in fee even after subsidy. is it in town? can PM me your IC? I am looking one near my work place which fee is in the same range as yours. I gather it is ok to pay abit more so long the environment is conducive and good location for me to pick up after work.. And noted on the points mentioned of babies falling sick and immunity..

Hi,Rabbit

Me also planning to leave my baby in a IC when he is one year old or at least 8months old. I am now on TBF to boost out his immunity first, set a good base. I am really worried about leaving baby with my in laws.. really worried! especially the loudness of them when they talk (I guess they are a bit deaf) and the loudness of the TV when they on and the hygiene of my MIL. she like to apply those medicated oil on herself. no problem also apply, like addicted. worry that she will go carry baby with the medicated oil on her fingers. and now she is coughing every now and then.. and plus her legs, I am really worried!

<font color="119911">Bacon &amp; eggs and other mommies who are ordering tingkat - have you changed your tingkat caterer yet?

I cancelled mine with Lexin and am signing up with this company - http://www.buffetparadize.com/dinner_rates.htm
They have a trial period, so trying it out first before deciding. Prices are 2X that of the others (about $10 per meal) so assume quality should be more decent!

Also read some okie comments on: http://www.firstcuisine.com.sg/tingkat.asp</font>

Hi, Flos

Must really take care of yourself cos now you are on TBF.. careful with your wrist too..

Hi,Bigtoes

Your baby is really drinking alot. and latch on session is about 30mins? that is long.. mine at most 15 minutes and is on one side and he dun wan already and is full..but mine already 2months and a week old and is drinking only 120ml.. tot too little for his age but PD said his weight is equal to those 3months old baby.. and might have been overfed.

mandy

if celest at home stands too near,i will give warning to ask her to move away n seat on the sofa..if no action, then i will switch off..esp when my tv is big! vvv bad for their eyes...

lilboymum

my gal last time only watch those edu vcd i bought for her...but with limits like 1/2x...actually,i not really comfy lettin her play with the cards at such young age n when they were teaching her the A,K<J<Q parts...they were so call saying teaching her 'maths' lah...the P words i oso wanted to use last nite but gena stop...haha

Hi Gals
Thanks for all ur concern! Baby Ethan was discharged yesterday evening, after staying at KK for 3 days 2 nites. Actually, the doctors are recommending us to put him at KK for further observations on his platelets levels but we feel that since his past 3 days readings are upward trend, we will prefer to take care of him at home. It is too ‘demoralising’ and distracting in KK lo. Our ward has 2 kids and 1 babies that cries so pitifully in pain. Haiz, after staying there, i oso feel abit ‘negative’ loh

He was tentatively diagnosed as ITP which is actually a very BIG word bt put it simply, his platelet level is very low and it may appear to be his body is killing the platelets on its own, resulting in low platelet level. However, we are still waiting for lab test results to find out the cause. For a moment, we thought he is suffering from leukaemia (cos platelet mah)... but luckily his red and white blood count is normal. But the whole ordeal is emotionally draining. Glad that our PD is sharp to point out that it could be something more complex and told us to go KK immediately.

In any case, i hope his condition will improve on its own. The doctor told us if platelet level is very low, steroids will be given. The side effects will be the bb will put on weight and will be ‘shorter’ in height. I was stunned to know that steroids have such drastic side effects... praying hard that bb ethan do not have to be under medication loh.

BlackberryB, if u press the red spot and the red spot will ‘go-off’ momentarily, most likely it is heat rash. That is wat our PD told us cos we thought it is heat rash for bb case, but upon pressing on those red spots, it is still there loh.

Flos, hope ur baby Issac resume back his normal feeding soon!!

STERILISING BREAST PUMP
I will be using a lock and lock tubberware to house my medela pump parts. And after every pump in office, i will use HOT or BOILING WATER from the pantry and pour into the tubberware to soak the medela part. I assume it shld be more or less ‘sterilised’ bah?

LC

MJ?? haha...lucky my inlaw no play mj...

bigtoes

u cancelled le xin? so fast your 1 mth over? mine still got lots day to go esp when i got 'postpone' meals....their soup quite lousy..very watery n not much taste..n the dishes really like not worth the $..only paying for convenience...

Bigtoes,
I am still using Lexin. Nothing fanciful but ok to eat..we might or might not continue with them..i am reluctant to change cos i have to go thru the hassle of sourcing for a new caterer plus to educate them not to ring the door bell whenever they deliver! (cos my furkid would bark whenever they ring the bell)..

Hi LC,

my mil has problem with her leg, health, tv is quite often on..anyway we have already got the maid coz she has wanted to take care of bb initially. So that will be double expenses - maid + IC unless i can figure out a workaround. Friends suggesting that I change to an experience maid and get maid to look after bb..but I just don't feel too comfortable with the idea.

Unfortunately I don't have so much ms and bb is impatient and lazy to latch. She tends to fall asleep, does not finish and latch very long (my wrist problem). Thus I am mostly feeding EBM, not sure if I can build up her immunity.
autumn: can also let me know the IC that you send your bb? thanks alot.

<font color="119911">LC (faintz) - yes, Kieran drinks alot! Each latch on is about 30 minutes, and even then, sometimes he is not done, and I detach him when he slows down and starts stretching. Think he is about 5.3kg now at 7+ weeks (was 2.8kg when he left hospital). The other night, he even drank 300ml of EBM at one go before he was contented and could sleep ...quite scary!

Angeline Goh (angeg)- my last day for Lexin is on the 31st Oct. Used to order their ala carte zhi char, and liked that, so didn't expect their tingkat to be so bad. Mine is the one with 4 dishes and no soup, but the 4th dish is just some fried fish/chicken/unknown meat fritter or some fish balls. The pork dish is also horrible - all fatty meat - usually just throw that away.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - can tell the caterer not to ring the doorbell? Lexin used to at the beginning, but just to let me know that the food has arrived. The guy doesn't ring the bell anymore but just swap the tingkat carriers by my door.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - Hope baby Ethan recovers on his own quickly! Hugs!

Rabbit (rebirth) - EBM would provide the same immunity for the baby as direct latching

Bigtoes,
I told the caterer many times NOT to ring the doorbell but the delivery guy always forget..my furkid goes crazy when the bell rings..Kaiden gets frightened sometimes by her sudden barking..

Bigtoes,
But they got the pic after several calls to remind them not to ring! So I am worried that next new caterer...i would have to go thru the same "educating" path again!!

Lok,
wow.. the IC u use is very expensive le. the one I sent my boy to charge $980. i paid $580 (after $400 subsidy, before govt increase the sub). After govt subsidy increase to $600, it's effectively $380! but my boy no longer in IC and I am not sure if that centre has since increased price.. cos many IC/CC increased price after govt increase the subsidy.

rabbit, LC,
actually I myself is guilty of watching TV if I take care of baby alone. haha. that is why, i thot better minimise the exposure to TV. now that my boy is 19mths, he also watch TV with us every night.. but at least i know that in the day, he doesn't glue to TV all the time.. so that is some consolation for myself. :p

rabbit,
initially i also very resistant to let maid take care of baby. but i really at my wits end cos now I have 2 kids, we cannot cope at night without maid.. then i don't want to double spend maid+IC.. so i let maid handle. Thank God that my maid is capable and is very caring. I have also heard of good maid stories.. so there are really good maids around.. just have to try your luck to get a good one.

the IC i sent my boy to is this one. u may take a look. note that I am not promoting them ok. cos every parent's expectations are different. for me, i m actually quite bo-chup. hee..
www.learningkidz.com.sg

Angeline, LC,
haha.. your ILs want to train your kids to become Du3 Shen2 :p actually the old folks also don't mean harm la.. they probably found it cute to teach the kids such things. If it's just character recognition then not so bad la.. as long as they don't actually teach them how to gamble!

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - the other caterer (buffet paradize) replied me. Cost is $125 for 10 meals (trial period). That's $12.50 per meal, quite expensive for tingkat food, compared to $195 I paid for Lexin for 2 pax for 20 meals! Anyway, will try and let u guys know the quality.

Hi,Autum

Thanks for the contact of your IC. too bad it is away from where I am staying. You are right to say that old folks don't mean harm by showing playing cards or mj tiles but it will be better if they can channel their time to give my baby flash card instead. hahaha...

Hi,Bigtoes

300ml?? Goodness!!!It might be a growth spurt. if not, at this rate,you must really have a lot of BM to satisfy your baby..You expressed out your BM as well as latch on? Me used to express out and feed my baby wit EBM but then I dun really have time to wash the pump and do expressing so many times so I latch on and will express it out to freeze now rather than to feed. wan to have the frozen milk as reserve in case my MS drops when I return to work. of course, nutrients will not be as much as EBM for frozen milk.

Hi,Goldfish

Glad that ethan is back home with you
must be very tiring for you.. do take good care of yourself.. my baby has some red spots at the back. will see if it goes off after pressing or not..

I will be adopting the same mtd on the cleaning of the pump parts when i am back at work. my colleague is doing the same thing as u. Lock lock has such big containers? maybe can add in a sterilise tablet?

FROZEN MILK - Anyone using Pigeon storage bottle to freeze the BM? I dun have the storage bags and have just ordered thr Shazz so no choice I used Pigeon storage bottle to freeze the BM. Is it ok??

Goldfish
You better check that your tupperware can take boiling water, if not the plastic may melt from the high temp and affect the pump...i.e. chemicals from the plastic may affect the milk?

Autum,
Yes, they are ex but so far, all the reviews within the forum abt them are good for IC. My FB also "graduated" from there. They take it upon themselves to cap the ratio to 1:3, provide 3 meals &amp; diapers and includes Kindermusik lessons too. Used to hv bb gym lessons too but stopped it after they decided the IC itself is set up like a gym. Now I think they changed it to bb massage (haven't asked for an update on the new "curriculum"). I liked them cos the IC is an independent setup (not franchisee) and the owners are very helpful cos their own kids/babies are at the same centre. They even helped me to prep my FB for Jonas' arrival!!

LC/Rabbit,
My son's IC is not in town. It's at AMK Ave 1, so if u think Autum's IC is far, mine is not any better.

Lok,
what's the name of your IC? AMK Ave 1 is actually quite near my place! haha.. if my maid for some reason can't work out (touch wood!).. maybe i can send my baby girl there!

alabone, sorry for the late reply again. I can't go online everyday as much as I want to.
I also don't know why my HB must pass to his mum. I just get the feeling that every chance he gets, he wants his mom to take care of the baby or hold her. He will always tell me to express my milk and let his mom feed. A bit ridiculous, right? Why must I express to let his mom feed when I can latch on myself. Or else he will tell me to bring the baby to his mom's place to let her take care when I need to go out. Never once did he say let my mom take care. I never disallow his mom to carry the baby, so I really don't understand him. I feel that he wants the baby to be closer to his mom and family rather than mine. My mom keeps telling me to bring the baby to her place when I am alone at home and I feel so sad when I couldn't. He wants to bring the baby for her first vaccination before bringing the baby to my mom's place, it is as if my mom's place is full of virus or something. Yet, he is totally fine with bringing her outdoors to crowded places which I feel should have more viruses flying around.

We have an agreement to bring our baby to my mom's place after her vaccination but he is already telling me that we cannot stay long. And I also get the feeling that this is only an obligation to him and once it is done, we DON'T have to bring baby to my mom's place again.

LC (faintz) – yes 300ml at one go! I latch on during the day, and express during the night for my hubby to feed EBM so we can monitor his intake at night. I usually express the night before for the next day's supply, and stock up 2 bottles in the fridge for the night feed. Have not been freezing any EBM cos I rather express only when needed.

Autum, I will go for counselling when necessary. At least talking in the forum here helps a lot. I'm very grateful for all the support I get here.

Vaccines: Other than those compulsory ones, who are going for the pnuemococcal and rotavirus vaccines? I heard that these vaccines are also rather important but not sure whether to bring my baby for them. They can be rather costly too. Any suggestions?

1. Ava + 3 kids
2. Bigtoes(limay) + Dracwy + Kieran
3. Mei + hubby + Devon
4. Isa_belle + Gabbie
5. Angeline + Carine
6. Jojobar + hubby(maybe)+ Marcellus
7. Lanolin + Bo + Declan
8. Bacon &amp; egg and family
9. Alabone and family
10. koras + hubby +kaylen

Flos, don't worry, I'm sure your baby will be fine.

I went out one day with my friends and my HB immediately bring my baby to his mom's place. After that, he still boasts to me that baby can sleep through the noise of MJ. I'm so mad since I already told him explicitly that I don't want my baby exposed to MJ at such a young age.

I was just thinking. It also makes you wonder what kind of person my MIL is when she never encourages her son to bring baby to my mom's place to visit her grandparents. Instead, she keeps feeding my HB with horror stories of babies getting asthma when in contact with dogs. Actually she has horror stories for everything that is not to her liking.

I know many of you are against a yaolan but I got one for my baby anyway. And my mom is making an extra sarong for the yaolan but my MIL insisted that sarong is not good, must get a netting one which is better as what she has bought. And she kept telling her son that cos she knows that he will impose that on me. I feel so bad for my mom cos of her effort and at the same time, realises how shrewd my MIL is as things she knows that I am against, she will tell her son in my presence knowing that he will impose it on me. Why can't she tell me herself? Also, to them, everything from them is good while things from my family is not. My HB insisted on buying something for baby despite getting exactly the same thing from my relative. What is the point of getting it from my relative in the first place? He claims that what I got is dirty. How much worse can it be compared to the mattress that his mom insisted on using which is more than 30 years old?

After the confinement, my family now has a bad impression of my HB and in laws.

wingkei (wingkei) : hi, Samuel had done 1st 6 in 1 together with rotavirus vaccines ...i did rota 1st cause i think it is quite easy to get stomach flu virus .... pnuemococcal will take when he is 1...be4 we bring him to Sweden see his uncle ...only need take 2 jabs at 1...take now need 4...

<font color="0000ff">Flos
dun worry. Little Isaac will be fine...

Goldfish
oh it's great to hear that bb Ethan is back with u all alrady. Dun worry, results will turn out well

I'm missing my little one and feeling so guilty about having to come to work everyday, coz den I wouldn't be able to look after him and ensure that he's well looked after. He's now being looked after by my MIL and her maid and I've been noticing that they don't really talk or play with him. Just leave him alone. My heartaches when I see this, coz i noe we muz engage them. Mayb that's why my boy doesn't noe how to smile at mi yet????

I really feel like stop working and looking after him full-time</font>