(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Storeberry,

My company issued a memo that our maternity leave will be 4 months effective on 17th Aug. So I guess it's up to the company...

shazz: my CL has been feeding him 150ml without any problems cos she is very good at burpiing. Apart from the nite feeds, which I couldn't witness, the day feeds were all very smoothsailing, i.e. no puking and 3-hrly...My new maid who slept with my CL for 3 nites testified that Isaac didn't vomit like a merlion when CL was around last week.

Anyway, I tried to break up the feeding times to 2 hrly and fed him less, like 100ml to see if it's palatable to him. He rested for a while, then I added another 40ml in 30min time. He gulped down, thanks to Gripe Water which rids the bubbles in his stomach i guess?

I tend to think it's a temperament issue with Isaac. He likes to snuggle in our arms, passes cursory glances at distracting things around him, purses his lips when we remove the teat to burp him...

Maybe the 'growth spurt' period has stabilised in his 6th week I dunno, cos last week he was really guzzling 150ml every 3 hr without reservation???!

"Poo Drought": Was worried sick when Isaac didn't poop since 4.30am, Monday. More than 24hrs had lapsed! Luckily after I BF him this morning, he pooped 2X :p Again, thanks to Gripe Water.

I FINALLY taught the maid how to clean the poo off Isaac's bum this morning, cos I reckon I can't be cleaning poo and changing diapers all by myself. But have to ensure she washes her nails and hands thoroughly before preparing my sandwich!

stefseanshar: taqged u already, cos I couldn't add u ytd.

Rabbit: How do u communicate with ur Indo maid? I'm glad I got a Filipino one. After I taught her how to cook, I made her write down all the cooking instructions printed on the sauce/gravy packagings.

As part of my training, I also read to her the feeding table (No. of Scoops = Amt of water) on the milk powder tin, the medications literature, etc. Am glad she understands all the literature. More impt, she is to note all the expiry dates in my fridge and update my weekly grocery shopping list timely.

Ava ,
u have to take turns for nap in the afternoon for the night shifts.

Rachel ,

I think guidelines should be
3-3.5 kg 6 feeds of 100ml each time
3.5 - 4 kg 5 feeds of 135 ml
4-5 kg 5 feeds of 165 ml
for less than 6 mths old ... that is for my first born ..

Mandy ..
i usually head home when he is super groucy .. cos if he cannot sleep he will cry and scream in public whcih i cannot stand ..

Meie - Yeah! It was great meeting you and ur husband too, who seems to be very hands-on and enthusiastic! Maybe we can also gather outside for lunch over a weekend and the fathers can swap stories with each other. they need support too!

I bought the lollipop from pinkcream and the classic peony from mum's fairy.
Will try using them this week when I'm out with the boy. Both he and I perspire like mad so it is impt that the bib is airy coz he gets heat rash very easily.

Flos- I am also sad I missed the gathering but I'll see if I can make it for the NEL one..hahahaha...

my friend's baby (now 14 months) seem to also merlion quite a bit when he was younger but the PD they went to said that if the weight gain is ok then nothing much to worry about. I know it is very heart pain to see the baby throwing up gastric juices and I am glad fei zai water seem to be helping!

FLos / Spring - handling baby. I am encouraged by what u said ..I too think it might be a psychological barrier I have re handling the baby. I should be a bit more brave!! by the way Flos, how did u carry the baby when u were on a cab? Did u bring ur car seat/

Shazz - sorry to hear re Eamon. Hope he feels better soon so u can feel better soon too.

sasa - persist!! I am trying to as well....doing about 90 to 100ml per pump (at night). I am trying to at least hit the 4 month mark....

Hi, Flos

have to bring baby jayden for vaccination then worry he will get fever which he did so din join the luncheon. Issac merlion again? Hope now he is better with the gripe water.. I misread your "pengsan" as "pregnant".. hahaha.. You going for the Parkway gathering?

Hi,Agneline

Plaza sing or harbourfront are both ok for me. PM me ok if you are going?

Hi,Storeberry

MCYS haven get back to me on my appeal. sighz.. i am going back to work soon and I appealed abt 1month plus back still no reply. My goodness! One of the mommies in the forum already got a positive reply for her baby daughter born on the same day as mine..

Hi Flos - It must be a distressing time.. hang in there!

Breadmum - actually I don't find it anal.. I wash everything after each pump. I've the Avent manual and the Medela Pump-In-Style. For the manual one, sometimes I cheat.. hee hee.. esp night pumps.. coz it has so many parts, I put the whole thing in the fridge and pump again 3 hrs later.. pl dun follow my eg.. it is really the too tired/ lazy method. When I use the pump-in-style I diligently wash everything after each pump, even at night

Electricity bills - I shudder to think how it would escalate! Airpot, Aircon, Fans, Warmer, steriliser etc.. haha..

tks Quiling! Will cut and paste your advice.. so when go back to work can refer!

Mrs Yap - ya, had posted previously that Shauna was on regular 100ml 3-4 hr interval. But last 3 days only drank 40-60 and the rest have to throw! Total change in feeding pattern. So last night I sort of tried Kym's method.. I referred to her feeding record and noticed evenings she gulps and can finish 100ml. But from midnight to 9am she drinks 60ml or less. So last night I gave her our 60 and she could finish it.. it is a guessing game.. I'm not sure if I'm doing right coz in 2.5hrs she cries but I wait till 3hrs so she doesn't waste the next feed.. also coz at 2hrs I wouldn't know how much to give her!! Hopefully this 'trains' her.. keeping fingers crossed.. will update you...

Hi Quiling - based on your calculation Shuana is under-fed!
She was 4kg at 1month.. now 6 wks should be more but still drinking 100ml (day) and 60ml (nights)!!

Storeberry - tks for update on maternity leave.. for other mummies ref... guess it is pretty hard to back-date a legislation. But since the bill has been implemented, employers are encouraged to give it to us..

"For a working mother who gave birth on or after 17 August 2008 but before 31 October 2008

14 Legislation for leave provisions will come into effect on 31 October 2008. Employers are encouraged to provide the additional 4 weeks of maternity leave (on top of the current 12 weeks of leave) to their employees voluntarily if they meet all the criteria below:

a) gave birth on or after 17 August 2008 (or with an EDD on or after 17 August 2008) but before 30 October 2008;

b) the child is a Singapore citizen;

c) the employee is lawfully married to the child’s father;

d) the employee has served the company for at least 90 days immediately preceding her delivery date."

<font color="119911">Springz (springz) – yes, Kieran used to feed every 3 hours during the day, but since his growth spurt (week 6), has been demanding milk every 2-2.5 hours during the day. Each session is 30 minutes, which doesn’t leave me much time in between.

Menses – did most people get theirs already? Mine is still not back, am in no rush though! Am hoping that it only comes when I stop BFing in a couple of months' time.

On outings with baby – yes – still need to get used to bringing baby out alone. At least now I know what I need to pack for his diaper bag, and don’t miss out on stuff already. I also make sure that he gets a feed right before we leave – have gotten the hang of feeding on the Breast Friend pillow and putting on my make up at the same time (just have to make sure he doesn’t flay his arms and poke my mascara wand into my eye!), so it doesn’t take so long and also ensure that my boobs are emptied before we leave.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) – oh no! I hope its nothing serious and baby Ethan will come back all healthy!

blackberryB (blackberryb) – the next gathering for NEL mommies is at Ava's on 2nd Nov. Hope you can make it there, her place is at Potong Pasir. Is that close by?

Flos (flos) – hah! Me – I was the one who mentioned that my CL made Kieran pee into a brands essence bottle! She goes "shi shi, shi shi" and sometimes, Kieran just cries his lungs out…but most times he actually pees a full bottle. She claims that can toilet train babies by 4 months like that and don’t need diapers anymore!!

breadmum (breadmum) – I actually just rinse my Medela mini electric funnels with the baby washing detergent after expressing. Don’t want to be overly concern about being terribly hygienic and rather Kieran build up his immunity….am also just plain lazy!!

Qiuling (chewy_ring) – what feeding bottles are u using? I intended to microwave mine to sterilize initially (have the microwavable sterilizer) – but realized that the Medela bottles I am using cannot be microwaved.

Shazz – hope Eamon is feeling better soon.
On 'merlion-ing', I think its quite common for babies to reposit some of their feed. Kieran does that as well, especially when he doesn’t burp when we pat him on the back…. Not the merlion type, but some milk will flow out of his mouth and dirty his shirt/bed. Suppose to grow out of it when they are about 4 months old.</font>

Flos: I see. I think it's our technique then! Cos my boy seems too used to drinking 90ml ... he has been stuck at this for the longest time but his interval is shorter now, much to our exasperation. So hoping to increase it. But I think my CL did a great job in increasing it slowly and he just got used to it. I have to figure out how to scoop the milk powder in proportion to the amount of water for his feed should I change to 100ml per feed for now. My boy can finish 100ml of EBM with no problem though.

Bigtoes: my boy hardly reposit his milk but when we feed him 120ml, he'll throw up a bit, say 5-10ml.

Storeberry, that mean I only have 3 months ML, my company won't give us additional 4 weeks, they won't so kind! sad!

Bigtoes, maybe I will join this NEL gathering on Ava's place.

PAYMENT RECEIVED
20 Oct 2008 ITR I-BANK SUNNYSUNNY S$9.00
18 Oct 2008 ITR I-BANK Josephine S$27.00
18 Oct 2008 ITR I-BANK Pearlina S$18.00
18 Oct 2008 ITR I-BANK alabone S$27.00
18 Oct 2008 ITR I-BANK AngelineGoh S$18.00
18 Oct 2008 ITR I-BANK breadmum S$47.00
18 Oct 2008 ITR I-BANK RL S$49.00
18 Oct 2008 ITR I-BANK VICKIE S$54.00
17 Oct 2008 ITR I-BANK Jenkate S$19.00

Jenkate &amp; Rachel: Will hold on to the excess fund and use it to offset the vpost charges when the items are here. Will then do a 1 time off refund. Hope it's ok with you ladies cos it's very troublesome to add payee and delete payee a few times cos my payee limits are maxed out most of the time.

Gonna place order now for the spree before the exchange rate for US$ gets worse! Mummies who have yet to transfer to me, don't worry, I'll still place orders for you. Just transfer when you can.

sasa de mouse: oh no.. so its really true that our supply will decrease once we reduce the frequency of pumping..
I was actually looking forward to increase it to 4 hourly.

hi flos,

i communicate with her using sign language and also look up for words in the malay dictionary.
it was a long story why we got an indonesian maid.. to help mil look after bb. anyway, we are now considering to look for a nanny or infant care center. not sure if this has already been discussed by mummies here...any suggestions?

ML: will be getting 16 weeks as confirmed with my HR.

pumps: I wash every parts and sterilize after each use.

Feeds: found this link http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/formula/howmuchmilk/

rabbit,
so u gonna send your maid off? for nanny or infant care (IC), both has it's pros and cons. for nanny, timing may be more flexible as most IC will require u to pick up baby by 7pm. nanny could be living closer to u, vs IC which u may need to travel to bring baby there. for IC, many parents worry about their kids falling sick, but personally i feel it's a matter of luck. cos even for nanny, it depends on many factors too..

Some considerations for nanny:
1. how many other kids she taking care of
2. who are in her family - whether she has other older children, how many adults in the family etc.. all these are also factors which can cause your child to be sick if they are sick..
3. whether anyone in the nanny's family smoke
4. whether nanny's house is clean

For IC, u can ask about their track record
1. how many other babies are there, what is their teacher to baby ratio.
2. what is their routine like (what time bathe, feed, play CDs of children's songs etc..) Most IC will have their own methods or ways of doing things.
3. Environment cleanliness, record of any HFMD etc.. whether they turn on air-con whole day (not healthy if they do)..

For my case, I sent my elder boy to infant care since he was 2.5mths..now he is 19mths. My boy is ok, very happy n seldom fall sick. I can't find a nanny because around my hse I don't know anyone suitable. To me, I feel that if i put my son with a stranger, then I might as well put him in an IC.. which I feel is more open and structured. For my current baby girl, I have hired a maid, so my maid will be taking care of her full time when i go back to work.

Hope the above helps.

Gathering in the East:

1. stefseansharbabes / Sharmaine / Parkway
2. momoko76/Chloe or Cayden (only either 1) / parkway
3. Rachel / Kydric / TM or Parkway is fine.
4. Avalyn / twins?? / parkway
5. lok/jonas/Parkway
6. lilboymum/ch? CY?/parkway
7. Kym Teo/ Scarlett / TM or Parkway is ok
8. Crayon/Reyes/both places are fine
9. Lanolin / Declan / Parkway
10. Flos/Isaac/Parkway
11. Dmbb/Jilliane/TM or Parkway is ok
12. Breadmum/Ethan/ either TM or Parkway is ok
13. Jaymickey/Janelle/ Parkway or TM is fine..

anyone i hv missed out ?

Date: 30 Oct (Thurs)
time: 2pm
Venue : Dome @ Parkway

ok for everyone ?
pls confirm ur attendance as i may need to make reservations

rabbit,
just to add on and be more lor-sor..

1. some worry that nanny turn on TV whole day. if baby is very young, it's ok.. but once baby more than 6mths, then maybe not so good, cos they may become TV addict

2. IC usually has tons of toys and even some playscapes like crawling slides, ride-on cars, push-walkers etc.. so your baby gets more stimulation and exposure and thus may learn to crawl/walk faster. For nanny, u must usually buy/bring your own toys to nanny's house cos we can't expect nanny to have all these 'equipment'.

3. At the end of the day, it really depends on your comfort level with the nanny or with the IC teachers. There can be very good nannies around.. and I believe they can do a very good job.. Some IC teachers can be horrible too! So u must source around.

Thinkin of going also but never mit all of u mummies before so abit shy and never bring baby out before so abit nervous... but so nice to see so many babies.

Stef, gathering confirmed for me.

Shazz, it's fine with me. You can transfer to me once all is settled.

I just realised that Kydric's BCG jab has pulse. Anyone has that too?

Lok ,
Have not paid u yet .. cos my IB something wrong .. there should be an sms send to be for a temporaily approval .. but i waited nothing happen .. guess have to use ATM to transfer .. will transfer either today or tomorrow and give u the ref no ..

ML ,
I dun understand the " voluntarily" thing ... does that means that company will not get to claim back the 4th month from govt if they provide the leave? if they can claim back from govt .. why did they disallow ? Or isit that all of us will only be given 3 mths maternity leave only and the 4th mth depends on company ?? confused ?

limay ,
i use microwave sterlization for the manual pump i bring to work only nt the btls .. MY pump is the PIGeon maunal pump .. can be microwaved sterlized from teh instruction manual ...
as for my btls .. i use bfree btls but have not microwaved it before .. dunno can a not cos never check the instructions .. will check teh box later . both my sons use the same btls so easy to wash and sterlised cos all the same .. just attached different size nipples to them wwhen they are drinking and so far i took out new 10 btls for them to share with two drying racks .. btls are boiled sterlised.. each day twice .. including the electric pump i use at home

shazz,
oh dear. hope eamon's better. did he have low grade fever?

flos,
your maid is rather good! can learn so much in such a short time. l'lcy must be envious!

dracwy,
i see. actually, if you/bigtoes are thrown into my situation (or anyone with more than 2 kids situation), you'll learn to manage also. i'm only just getting by... same here! when i fall asleep, and have the luxury of dreaming, i dream about feeding and changing cadence!!! it's crazy! our lives now are so consumed by the little ones right?

Lok,
sorry, i've not transferred to you. will do so by tonight.

Ava,
I'm not staying along the NEL line but can i join in for the gathering too??

Stefseansharbabes
I have to opt out of the East gathering...pity I can't be there.

Alabone
Sure can lah. However, my place can't take that many as living room is a bit squeezed now with baby stuff. Would you all mind if I cap the no to say 10 families (first come first served re: the RSVP list?)

Went for the first massage class with Marcellus today at Mother &amp; Child. It is quite a fun experience. The oil is provided and Marcellus enjoy throughout the session. It is a very small class and very causal and relax. Anytime, the baby need a feed, we can just feed immediately as the class is only mother and child.

For those who is interested in the massage class, highly recommend

Ava, I will join in the gathering at your home esp i am walking distance away

Please add on to this list. Tx!!

NEL gathering @Ava's: 2 Nov, Sunday afternoon (3-5pm)
1. Ava + 3 kids
2. Bigtoes(limay) + Dracwy + Kieran
3. Mei + hubby + Devon
4. Isa_belle + Gabbie
5. Angeline + Carine

The latest gathering list:

1. Ava + 3 kids
3. Mei + hubby + Devon
4. Isa_belle + Gabbie
5. Angeline + Carine
6. Jojobar + hubby(maybe)+ Marcellus
7. Lanolin + Bo + Declan

1. Ava + 3 kids
3. Mei + hubby + Devon
4. Isa_belle + Gabbie
5. Angeline + Carine
7. Lanolin + Bo + Declan
8. Bacon &amp; egg and family
9. Alabone and family

As i mentioned in an earlier post, I think I have to limit my NEL gathering to a certain no of families...I'll make it 15? Hope u gals don't mind, but things are a bit more cluttered around here now and want the gathering to be a bit less crazy

1. Ava + 3 kids
3. Mei + hubby + Devon
4. Isa_belle + Gabbie
5. Angeline + Carine
7. Lanolin + Bo + Declan
8. Bacon &amp; egg and family
9. Alabone and family

Ladies, 'm so exhausted today. Didn't hv lunch at all cos was concerned that Isaac threw up again after his second Gripe Water intake (the first intake did wonders but not the second!)... I let him rest on my bed and BF him...When he woke up at 3pm, he merlioned again and I quickly got my maid to take his temp. He was 37.0 degrees C. Called the PD's clinic and asked if it's abnormal. They said he isn't running a fever cos a fever, YET. But they advised me to go down to have him checked cos I told them he puked several times...

Rushed down to the clinic before 4.30pm (last consultation). PD couldn't find anything wrong with Isaac! He asked me if I'd been taking Isaac out! OOOOPPPSSS, I went out with him too many times last weekend I guess
PD said he might hv gotten some infection from whereever I took him to...probably "babies to babies, babies from babies"! gosh!

Anyway, he gave me some drops for his stomach, some medication for his vomitting, plus glucose mixture. Now I can only TBF him upright (SIONG!) and hold him in that 30 degrees position until he burps!!! My arms and wrists are really 'sng' from propping him upright just now! Need a guard too!

I hv to stop his FM intake for now and go back to TBF + glucose if BM is not sufficient. NEed to start off with 1 oz, then gradually increase to 2 oz, so on and so forth until his mild gastric flu is cured.

Lanolin: Yes, I held Isaac in my arms thru'out the cab journey cos I find the stroller too heavy. Also am not comfy putting him in a BB carrier yet. No choice, gotta hand-carry...

Gathering: In view of doc's advice, need to avoid large gatherings for the time being, so count me out for the Parkway and NEL ones

Hi, Flos

You must be very exhausted.. I can understand of holding baby most of the time.. carefully with your wrist. get your hubby to buy you a writst guard first.. take care and hope Issac will be well soon.

Hi, Autum

Is the infant care near your place? I am thinkin of putting my baby in infant care when he reashes a year old. meanwhile when i go back to work, i will leave it with my in laws.. do you reckon that leaving babies in infant care is better in their development than leaving it with elderly who just switch on the tv to keep them occupied, dump them in yao lan to let them sleep and stuff a pacificer in their mouth to quiet them? My in laws wan yao lan, pacificer, rocker when baby is wit them but I rejected the yao lan flat. gave in on the pacifier but have asked them to remove it whenever baby falls asleep..

What is the disadvantage of putting babies in infant care other than virus spreading? and what does a typical infant care do? we need to bring our FM or BM to them right? how abt diapers? do they provide?

oh dear flos! Sorry to hear what u have to go through! it is really xiongness for ur arms and wrists! how long is this suppose to go on for? until he stops throwing up yes?

Hope it gets well very soon. Rem to take some multi vits and lots of water...hopefully the goodness of both will go to him as well and boost his immunity.

Flos: poor Isaac and mummy! you must be darn worried and scared when he kept vomiting. Yupe, better not bring him out too often since he haven't got most of his jabs yet. In the meantime, TBF is good, cos it'll help to boost his immunity. Take good care of yourself, especially your wrist. Ask hubby to get you wrist support/guard from pharmacy or any sports store.

alabone: thank God he's ok now. Hmmn, should be considered a low grade fever I guess, his temperature was a max of 37.6 degrees. I know if it's above 38, have to go to the hospital.

Flos,
Hope that your boy gets better soon. U take care of yourself too. rest more.

LC,
Yep, the infant care is near my place, within walking distance. Altho a bit far to walk (i usually drive) but at least I know if need be, I can walk and that is most important to me.. cos if I still must take bus/taxi, will be very siong.

For the stuff to bring, I think most ICs would be roughly the same but maybe u have to enquire further. For mine:

1. FM/EBM (they will know how to heat up your EBM)
2. A few milk bottles, sets of clothes, towels, blanket, pillow (optional)
3. Diaper, wet wipes (my IC requested wet wipes)
4. Other optional items if u feel your baby needs them: diaper cream, bath gel, baby lotion, baby powder etc.

I think if u bring your baby to a nanny, u would have to supply the above stuff too. SO it's about the same.

In terms of development, well, to be honest, most babies just drink, sleep, poo.. so basic care is still number 1 priority. Basic care in terms of hygiene, cleanliness.. making sure each baby has their own cot/mattress etc. Other than basic care, the teacher should also play or engage the baby.. ie. at certain times, they will play CD, play music.. cos babies learn thru play.. simple play like giving them blocks and other toys. Teaching them ears, eyes, nose, 1, 2, 3, etc..

Actually all these things can also be done by any caregiver (nanny, grandparents etc).. as long as the person likes to do that and is conscious of it. I have a forum mummy friend, she leaves her daughter with the In-Laws.. her Father-IL is good! he makes his own charts in chinese character etc.. painstakingly! he puts together pictures and words and print them out and frame them into a big chart and paste on the wall etc.. Another friend's MIL, everyday read chinese classics to the grand-daughter!

So u have to decide if the elderly whom u plan to leave your child with.. whether he/she is the conscientious type.. or just whole day wants to watch TV. Of course, if just whole day watch TV and don't really teach the child anything, then sending to IC would be better bah.

Hi Flos - Good to hear that PD said nothing serious.. Shauna just merlioned! I was feeding her EBM while sitting on the sofa and she puked all over her romper, my clothes and part of the sofa! Very heartpain.. but from your experience this should be no cause for concern right? I'll try the gripe water/ rid wind method.. It is her 1st merlion and I hope the last! Do you continue to feed Issac after he merlions? Shauna still has 60ml in bottle!!

stefseansharbabes - please count me in!

poppy tay - I was feeding Shauna 100ml EBM every 3-4 hrly...

Autum

mine! my inlaw is those tt wun teach her type..whole day will on tv or computer n just let my FB watch..so much so now tt shes a addict liao..n its only happen during the 3x overnite stay since i delivered! they even took out playing cards n teach her how to recognise the numbers? A J K Q!!!

hi flos
think my girl is same as your boy. keep throwing up after feeding. tried to burp but she throws up before managed to burp.
i also has been bringing her out everyday ... will try to spend the next few days at home then.
think maybe they caught the same virus? where have you been? i went to centerpoint on thurs &amp; fri, vivo on sat, anchorpoint on tues, vivo today ...

stroller/sling/carrier
what are you mommy using when bringing the baby? i am still trying to train my baby to use the stroller. used to carry her on the sling so now she likes to be carried when we go out. any secret to get baby to take the stroller?

EBM
do you feed baby fresh EBM?
i have problem bottle feeding now. she will cry &amp; cry when being bottle feed. not sure if the milk is too hot for her liking or juz dun like the teat. so i tried to feed her fresh EBM and sometimes she take without crying ...

Breadmum,
I oso sterilise once a day oni.

Flos/Goldfish,
Hope ur bbs will be fine. So saddening to hear abt ur experiences.

Stefseansharbabes,
How do u manage to take bus wif bb ? I hv a stroller but no bb sling yet. Tink i can oni take cab or MRT wif stroller.
BTW, can count me in 4 the gathering ?
Millie22/Alston/Parkway