(2008/09) Sep 2008

picture taken at Lok's place:

1810963.jpg

Wow, I like the pics, also envy u gals can attended the gathering...I no confidence to bring Tristen alone to join..maybe will join the Bigtoes's wan

Today is my 1st day take care Tristen alone,really tiring, the night shit sure driving me to mad later!

Any mummies taking 4 months maternity leave continues? We can take 4 months maternity leave if our baby born on 17th August right? My company colleague sent me this link that :-
http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/GovernmentPaidMaternityLeave
Any advise?

Goldfish, so sorry to hear that! my boy Tristen also have red spot and rash, I brought him to see GP and claim that is heat rash..after seeing your post, not sure want to bring down to see PD or not.

<font color="0077aa">Millie: I bought the Obuba nursing shawl for $35. Just received today, its beautiful!

StefSeanSharbabes: So many babies! Must be so fun! But maybe some mummies don't want to be identify in public forum?

Goldfish: Oh dear, hope little Ethan is fine after the check. Take care too!</font>

menses - horrible right? sigh one by one all of us getting it... my good gf said hers came 7 months after birth!!

sunnysunny - so sorry... sensitive hubby was outraged at the photos and doesn't want a collage of the 'romance'...
even told baby 'only mummy and daddy can kiss and hold your hand ok?'... hmmmz...

hee my little ploy worked.. let shauna cry for milk for abt an hr and she finished the 100ml!!

aiyo! .. i missed the gathering!! ... u gals had fun rite!! ... hmm..hope to join u gals next round...
im thinking how to manage to bring Sam out by myself....

Goldfish: gosh, didn't know the rashes are symptoms! yes, we should treasure our little one.

My boy is down with fever after his 6-in-1 jab late last night. We noticed his body temperature is higher than usual and he's more stoned than usual. Even his cries are not as strong and loud, somewhat like on low battery. We fed him the infant paracetemol that the PD gave and he fell back to sleep shortly after. His appetite seems to be affected by the fever, cos he couldn't finish his milk but slept for a long time last night. I didn't go to work today because he needs to be carried to sleep and once you put him down, he'll cry. arghhh ... hope this will not continue.

dear goldfish and shazz - hope your babies are ok!

mummies who wanted to go to the gathering - just to share, i'm no expert but I was also apprehensive about handling baby on my own. But after a few outings with baby, I got the hang of it and it is not that difficult!

The weekend after baby's 1st month, hubby was on church mission trip (he goes 2-3 times a month) I went to church alone with baby. I was scared I couldn't handle! But it is very much about timing. I factored in the time for her bath, packing of EBM/ pacifier/ pump, my own shower/ preparations, breakfast and time to feed/ pump. The night before I'll pack the stuff to bring (muslim cloths, diapers, washcloths, hat, blankie, toy, extra set of clothing, sling). I usually target at least 1 feed/ pump before I leave the house. Last week I cheated, I pumped before my 3 hr interval so that the engorgement wouldn't be that bad..

that's just my experience.. I'll bathe baby, then do the mummy preps then pack then drive to place.. nothing much after a while the routine gets to you.. I do admire stefseansharbabes though, took bus with baby! Must ask her for tips! Also for me, I can plan coz baby is on EBM and regular 3-4 hrly interval...

shazz , keep monitoring and hope bb get over the fever soon ..

Sasa ,
think the pacifier should still be okay to compromise but yao lan nono.. keke .. i was actually a victim myself one year back ... my MIL insisted on it and my hubby stick to her decision cos she said nop yao lan she could not take care and i resisted it ... but no choice .. and every time she yao , i will be the resistance to stop the yao lan and this carried on for a year .. my son cannot take nap without yap lan and it is so pissed off ... keke .. pacifier was offered cos she insisted too .. me and hubby against it but she shove it to my bb and bb zac kept quiet after that ... I took the pacifier away when zac is 14 months old and he took only 2 days to forget his pacifier so it is still allright ... yao lan ... signZ.... cannot leh ... no yao lan no sleep ..
As for my second bb ,,,, even before zenneth came she already planned the spots to drill for yao lan in my house .. I was so pissed off that i told hubby a stern no ..keke .. this time my call mah so i just replied my hubby ... if have yao lan i dunno how to look after zenneth after your mum left .. cos she is leaving for australia to look after her daughter son instead of her 2 grandsons in three months time .. she is flying off soon ... so nw she also cannot stand that i say no yao lan .. keke ... so she let maid handle the little one when he is cranky ... this time she also offered the pacifier and i told the maid no pacifier .. keke .. MY CALL nw ... since she is leaving she also bo chap nw ... her intention to install all these is to make her life easier then for her convenience so that she can watch TV while yao lan is in her hands ...so sad to see my son being yao the whole day and i tolerate till nw ...

Springz (springz): thanks for ur sharing...i will try... my bb feeding time 2-3hrs on EBM... my mum always with me when i go out... dun dare to go too far... scare bb cranky...

<font color="0077aa">Springz: I cannot imagine going out with baby without hubby. And I haven't even install the infant car seat yet! How did you managed? Did you sling bb or use a stroller when going to church? I don't think I can bring baby to church cos if he cries then I panicked liao..Thanks!</font>

Hi,Shazz

Is your baby feeling better? Mine had the vacination too and was feverish last night. Gave him the medication and today better already but dun sleep that well at night..

Hi,Goldfish
Take care of yourself too.. baby will be ok soon..

Chantelle Sun, not sure, just asked me find out the infomation that I can enjoy 4 months pay. If company can't claim from gov for the 4th month, so that month I will be no pay!

LC &amp; Quiling: thanks! fever has gone down, but can tell he's still not his usual self.

Springz: wow, you're so brave! I have not stepped out of my home alone with baby so far. Not even to buy food at the hawker centre downstairs cos my boy is so heavy, and I can forget about carrying other stuff!

EBM .
me also take 5 mins to pump everytime .. and being a lazy mummy .. keke .. i dun pump at night ,.. need my sleep ..ask maid to feed EBM .. and only pump 5 mins each time with the electric pump .. i put the pump cycles and the force to be up so that i dun waste time on the machine. Also nw back to work so bought my manual pump to work and use the microwave steriliser since office have microwave, else will use the cold water tablet to sterlize . 15 mins pump each time yields about 100 ml every 4 hrs ... very low supply .. cos bb zenneth is sleeping the whole day and not waking up for milk for the past 4 weeks and nw i am back to work no latching from him and only interval pumping .. keke .. can only get this amt .. think bb is only drinking 400 - 500 ml per day at most at 5 weeks old . and i tried to supplement with FM and he just simply refuse ..bb rather sleep then take milk .. so i guess he is happy with this amt .. reflected thsi issue to pD before and he mentioned must wake bb up for feeds .. and i woke him but every 3 hrs he can only take 60-75 ml at most and continued to sleep .. sometimes he only take 30 ml and sleep ... keke and have to throw the 30 ml away ..

blackberry , confirm is can de , cause 2 months is company , the other 2 months is government

For the first two confinements , the first right weeks of maternity leave will continue to be employer paid. The last 8 weeks will be paid by the government(capped at #20,000 per confinement)

Quiling - very heartpain right to throw EBM! btw, my CL told me that can use BM to stimulate hair growth for baby (as you know Shauna is quite botak).. so I keep all the 'rejected' EBM! I was wondering how to sterilise pumps/ bottles after going to work... can share more abt the microwave steriliser/ tablet? Oh ya.. shuana also sometimes can go 4-5 hrs on 40-50 ml only.. these times get me worried..

shazz - how heavy is your boy? How abt a carrier/ sling? I think i very naughty.. bring baby out for suppers at midnight, go shopping a few times and always walk around my estate with baby.. coz she is 'hot baby' she is usually bottomless and can see the old folks whispering and pointing.. haha

storeberry - infant car seat? hubby taught me.. the worst was when the water supply for my block was shut for a day and I lugged a day's EBM and barang to granny's by myself. fixed the car seat from backseat to front.. quite a struggle.. walked very slowly with all the bags and did things bit by bit... in church i place baby on a playmat on the church carpet.. haha.. the mclaren we have doesn't go down all the way for sleeping and the carseat that we put on the quinny is a sit-up position.. she looks like a squashed up ball! so thought play-mat la... somehow praise God in church she is super quiet lei.. in any case, I'm prepared to scoop her up and carry her out (leave all the barang in the hall)...

cranky outside - most babies fall asleep in car rides and when carried.. so far shauna has not been cranky outside.. usually asleep in the sling and car.. but when red light she cries!!

shazz: Im also super stressed in the past few hours...my boy had been crying non-stop and puking (like a Merlion) several times since lunchtime. *SWEAT* I'd already changed so many vests and bibs for him today. I added Ridwind to his FM 2X but he vomitted it out with the milk. I also applied ruyi oil to get rid of the wind in his stomach...

Finally...he stopped crying at 9.30pm after I BF him. Not sure whether it was cos I placed him on a mattress on the floor (inspired by ytd's gathering at Lok's place!!!) and turned on the new fan we bought on Sunday to cool him down during lunchtime just now. Think the fan blew some wind into his tumtum...it was sounded bloated.

Qiuling: u let your maid feed Zenneth at nite? I'm still waking up to feed Isaac at nite myself. My maid 'knocks off' at 10pm, sometimes 11pm. She doesn't need to cover the nite feeds cos she needs to wake up at 5-6am to mop my floor.

Springz: I agree with u, that practice makes perfect
Of cos, for me I've only gone out with my DH or maid, but never alone with my bb yet. At frist, we were quite apprehensive abt bringing him out at this young age, but after doing it over and over again, we got the hang of it. My maid is used to the SOP, list of items to pack, etc.

Last weekend, we went to Orchard, to my PILs plc, and to Compass Point (We even waited by the tables with baby for patrons to finish eating!). I suppose it's the psychological barrier we need to overcome. I keep telling myself during our grandparents' and parents' time, infants were forced to travel by non-aircon public transport with their folks but somehow they managed to get by...

I'd intended to take the LRT with him (and maid) but will hv to see he recovers by tonight.

I'll not take the bus cos the ride's too bumpy.

alabone: it's ok lah! Dun think she heard anything. Also u need to speak in a certain accent so that she may understand u. keke!

sasa: Last weekend, I was horrified to see my PILs using a mug to induce peeing for my lil nephew...Some one mentioned her CL did that rite? That's soooo old-school! How can I leave my son with them if he has to be toilet-trained that way?

Hi, Shazz

My baby also not his usual self after the vaccination. guess it will take awhile before he get back to his normal self..

Hi, Quiling

Wow, your baby seem to have a lot of hair from the picture taken at Lok's place and posted by stef above.. and you look like you have lost all the weight.. is that bacon&amp;wgg who is beside you? can't join in the gathering this time round. hopefully can go for the gathering at parkway..

Hello, Ava

You look cool with the twins in your arms..envy envy.. with three now, you can close factory. or are you aiming for the 4th one?

Hi hi, Flos

How is your new maid so far? maybe you will want to try to stop feeding your boy on off for awhile and try to burp him before you continue. My baby also merlion whenever I bottle feed him and causing me phobia of bottle feed. but then I try to stop and burp him a few times before continue bottle feeding and it works for him. did you warm the ru yi oil in your palm before pressing lightly on the tummy? you went to Lok place? which one is you? Let me guess, are you the one near the window or the one sitting beside abalone?

Springz - as i had rashes, i pump out every 4 hours, and sometimes i dragged it longer, if i am out at the hospital for check ups, cause my portable battery medela pump is not strong enough. At home, mine is a dual electric pump, so i pump about 15 mins and i get both fore and hind milk.

Agree that midnight expressing is a challenge. i dragged myself out of bed to feed baby before pumping out.

Today, my rashes is clearing up, so i alternated latching and pumping but bb refuses to latch on both breast, he always lached on one then falls into deep sleep after 20 mins. sigh. its been a one sided latching i faced. i hope to suceed in latching both breast in one feed.

With electrical bills up, i really wonder how much it will soar this month. i basically used the aircon, wahing machine, dryer, fans and water like no tomorrow - just to be hygenic.

Anyone any ideas how many times do we have to sterilised the breast funnels - i do it after every pump and my hubby thinks i am overly anal.
he believes that rinsing will do..hmm... but got germs rite?

I'm from the July thread. I have a packet of Goo.n diapers size S to let go. Price: $15.80 52pcs. collection @ woodlands/bedok mrt. Anyone interested, pls PM me.

breadmum

i don't sterilise after every usage...coz no time to do so...i will just wash with the pigeon detergent n tts it...roughly alternate washing will sterilise...

LC

ok! but me intending to go to the Plaza Singapura or the Harbourfront branch...u ok?

hi Qiuling (chewy_ring),

your baby is taking 400-500ml per day? mine is taking 800+ml per day and yesterday hit the peak to 960ml (4 week old baby)!

This kinda worry me if I am overfeeding him.

<font color="ff6000"> goldfish: i sincerely hope your baby will be alright. u stay strong!

alabone: bigtoes zoomed into the faces of everyone and told me who is who mah. u looked quite tiny in that pic. i take my hat off u for being able to handle three kids at the same time. even with one baby, i am already totally exhausted. last night, i actually fell asleep and even dreamt, when i was feeding the little monster! bigtoes was so super conked out that she didnt even remember i gave her a goodnight kiss last night...

Can anyone advise?

My bb used to be v accurate in her feeding time. Once its 2.5 to 3hrs, she will cry for milk. Even at midnight she is still v routine.
However for the past 2 days, her feeding pattern changed so much. As she is on total bottle feeding, i can monitor her intake. She seems to ask for more milk 4oz sometimes whereas sometimes she can onli finish 2oz. Then she will sleep thru 5 hours before crying for milk. I try feeding her 3 hrs later after she had her 2 oz milk but she keep rejecting the teat. She used to drink 60 to 80oz every 3hrs... tat means her frequency n amount of milk has dropped. Shd i bring her see PD? All of a sudden she like no appetite le.

sasa de mouse: did your supply dip when you reduce the number of pumping session after you gone back to work?

cos I have the thought of increasing my pumping session to 4 hourly instead of 3 but worry that my supply will depreciate...

LC ,
i have still 5 kg to pre preg weight... all the fats in the thighs and tummy area .. I am tall so happened to be spreaded out evenly ..

Flos ,
ya , maid take care at night .. she can sleep with bb at 9 pm ... that is my last feed to bb .. usually bb wake up at 12-1 am for feed , 4 am-5 am for next feed and the next at 8-9 am . maid wakes up at 630am to start household chores .. i have to close an eye on household chores . although i said mop everyday but cos she is so tired and restless in the morning i allow her to mop twice a day ( downstairs ) and upstairs once a week .. i stay in EM hdb ... hmm wondered if i am pampering her .. cos i told er my kids more imp , housework can leave it if unfnished and she really followed orders .. keke .. wonder if she would reject next time a not .. My MIL was saying how good life my maid is .. only take care of kids and dun have to cook .. and only mop floor twice a day plus wash clothes twice a day .. no need to iron clothes too .. blah blah blah ..where got maid such a good life ... she sit down and eat 4 times a day and eat slowly while MIL or myself look after the kids .. and her bathing time is 30 mins too ... unlike both myself and MIL who can bath 5-10 mins max ... i just turn a deaf ear .. keke . cos MIL is leaving mah and i need the maid to just follow my orders ..
Overall she is neat and clean la .. so just let her handle kids .. of course there is another bad side of things .. she might just abuse this area and do housework super slow so that we can ask her to just look after the kids ( easier ) and we wash up the dishes ... keke ... MIL is washing the dishes up herself cos she mentioned the maid took half an hour to wash a few cookery after she cooks .. and she cannnot stand it .. hmm .. next time my kitchen will be closed forever .. no cooking .. so not bothering me since i dunno how to cook as well .. i will only use the slow cooker for my kids meal ..

Mrs yap , think u feed on demand .. bb sometimes might be more sleepy ??

springZ ,
I sterlised after every pump . just to make sure absolutely clean pump and milk .. i have heard pple sterilised every two pumps ... but just to be clean i sterlised every pump and wash with detergent too .. cos brest milk is oily ..

How to do that :
1) use sterlization tablets .. u must have a clean container filled with water .. my tablet is 1 tablet to 2 litres of water . I just clean my pump and fully soak inside for at least 30 mins . just before using , i just removed from the water and shake dry .. cos no drying rack in office .. the water will smell of chorine.

2) microwave ... just add the appropriate amt of water 60 ml ( differ based on your microwave container ) and leave the btls in and on the microwave for 10 mins .. some microwave 15 mins .. depends on power watts of microwave .. the btls will be steamed and sterlised .. removed from container after it cooled ...

hope that helps if u are back to work...

poppy tay ,
just follow the guidelines based on bb weight on how much to feed .. keke .. cos my bb is still small .. not even 5 kg yet .. and he is very sleepy and not complaining of that milk intake .

<font color="0000ff">Goldfish
How is little Ethan today??

Ava
My menses too.... confirm!! coz it's fresh blood.. n gotta wear pad.. sianz!!

Shazz
oh no!! hope Eamon is better today..

Qiuling
that's very bad. I'm gonna insist off the yaolan for as long as I can. Hopefully ILs get the drift and give up forcing mi...

Flos
PILs always seem to cause problems for us hor.. whereas our own parents are so dear!!!

Breadmum
I sterilise my pump after each session too

Poppy Tay
oh yes definitely. My SS has dropped. Initially when i was pumping every 4 hrly.. i could get 90ml every pump, that amounts to 540ml per day. When I switched to 6 hrly 1 wk b4 i returned to week, each session I could onli get 110-120ml, which amounts to 480ml per day. Now?? I can barely get 90-110ml. 110ml is on good days lor... sighz.. but i'm still perservering lah. think i will onli stop when i have onli 30ml or so. coz now at least I can give 4 feeds of EBM per day. better den nothing rite..

sorry to intrude..

any of u who intend to continue bf via expressing bm n using medela pump, i hv the following brand new accessories to let go. reason being, i bot extras n i intend to stop bf soon, so no use for me..

1. quick clean wipes (1 packet)
2. bags, micro-steam disinfecting (1 packet)
3. soft-fit breast shield (2 boxes)

anyone interested, pls pm me or email me at [email protected]. thks

<font color="0000ff">Baby Carriers
I need some advice n comments. Am thinking of getting a baby carrier and have narrowed down to these 3. Need some inputs from u all. Have minimum budget hence didnt bother looking at Ergo or Bjorn carriers.

Infantino Gogorider
http://www.infantino.com/Carriers/151-565.php

Infantino Eurorider
http://www.infantino.com/Carriers/151-307.php

Mothercare 3 way carrier
http://www.mumcentre.com/index.php?option=com_classifieds&amp;act=reviews&amp;task=details&amp;cid=105

Dracwy
I noe u have suggested bringing bb to KP to try out the carriers. but den i'm unable to do so leh.. so I juz have to rely on recommendations.</font>

lok
my hubby on reservice so I can't transfer once i tansfer to u yet as he's the one with dbs account.
Apologies for delay and will update once i transfer

<font color="0077aa">Springz: You are really brave!! My hubby refuse to let me bring bb out alone now as he know I will "kalang kabok" when he cries.. Haha.. But I really want to try once bringing bb out!

I want to join in the gathering at Ava's house! But have a wedding lunch that day &amp; won't be able to make it.. Sob!

Breadmum: I have given up trying to feed Zane on both breast cos he is always satisfied with feeding one breast for 5mins. Sometimes I really wonder how much he has taken alr.. I want to feed him EBM but it means that I gotta to pump out &amp; extra work to do &amp; also my small freezer has no space for my EBM liao!

I also sterilise after every pump, I think its a must cos its our BM baby is drinking &amp; the funnels must be free from bacteria.

If I am going back to work, I will put the pumps in a lock&amp;lock box &amp; use the hot water to sterilise.</font>

Breadmum: I sterilise after each pumping session. Yes, I'm anal, cos the shields are so oily, dun u think?!

Poppy: Mine is the same as sasa de mouse. ~6-8 hrly now for me, each time yields about 120mlX4 per day.

LC: Hey how come u were not at the luncheon! YOu shd hv gone cos u were the first to get out of confinement leh!!!

R u on FB? Our names are all tagged there

I tried to follow your method, i.e. break the feeding sessions into 3 parts but it's a challenge to shove the teat back into his mouth every time I remove it to burp him.

It was 'Merlion' time again this morning and I"m pengsan already
So pengsan that I took half a cup of Lavazza coffee to perk myself up. I hope a bit of caffeine today is not harmful to my bb...

My boy drank so little in the wee hours and all he puked was clear gastric juice, not milk!

I was so pek chek &amp; helpless that I opened my Gripe Water to feed him, since Ridwind could not get rid of the wind...

Miraculously, he was at peace after taking 1 tsp of that fei zai water...I played w/ him until 11.15am and fed him 100ml again in case he is hungry after all the puking...he is watching CNA now!!!

So tiring...just taught my maid, amid all these, how to make ABC soup. A piece of cake, fortunately.

Qiuling
Just read your post re maid...My hb is going to be away for 10 days so getting maid to be on night duty with me. Just told her this morning dont need to mop floor every day...and hb said maid and i should take turns taking nap in the afternoon...I hope it won't become a habit aftre hb comes back tho...!

hi qiuling,
u mention ur boy wun sleep without yao lan, then wad happen if you all are outside? will he cry to have tat yao lan or will you have to rock n swing him real hard in order 4 him to sleep?

Qiuling,
your maid is really good life le! if she doesn't iron, then who does the ironing? hmm, how about setting a time-table for her to do the chores?

breadmum, storeberry,
actually don't really need to sterilise after every pump. If say you direct latch your baby, u can't be sterilising your nipples/breast right.. so don't have to worry too much. Sterilise once a day is good enough. when go back to work, somebody told me, get a tupperware box, put pump in the box afer use, then put the whole box in the fridge.. then next pump time, just take out to use. The idea is that you don't even need to wash the pump cos some offices don't have access to pantry/wash area.. and if must wash in the toilet, it's even worse.. so can consider this method.. but i personally didn't do this, i just heard from friends.

Flos: think your CL has been overfeeding him and he merlion without you knowing? I also have the problem of baby pushing out teat with his tongue if we take the bottle out and try to burp him half-way during feeding. He developed this bad habit of drinking slowly and rejecting his bottle after his grandparents took over the job of being his day time caregivers.

Have you tried dropping the amount he's drinking? My boy somtimes drinks up to 1 litres a day and my PD said I'm overfeeding him, cos he also merlion at times when I give him 120ml. PD said the average for babies his age and weight is about 750 to 850ml per day.

Thanks mummies! Eamon no longer having fever. But he's still not his usual self, needs to be carried all the time. Sigh, our wrists gonna break! I'm wearing wrist guards for sports on both wrists now, it helps!

the gathering looks fun ;)

i also do not dare to bring bb out without hubby. i am quite helpless whenever she cries.

like some of you, my bb does not wake up regularly for her milk. she also has the same problem to throw out like merlion..tried to burp her after some interval of drinking, but she will put up some resistance.

i have a maid too, but we have language problem as she is from indonesia...sigh

<font color="0077aa">This looks like the final legislation. Updated on 21 Oct 2008.

http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/ProFamilyLeaveScheme/GovernmentPaidMaternityLeave/

They did not back date the maternity leave for employees. 16 weeks of paid maternity leave will only be eligible for births on or after 31 oct 2008. For those born on or after 17 aug 2008, employers are still encouraged to grant the 16 weeks of maternity leave.

For self-employed will be eligible for the 16weeks maternity provided the conditions are met.</font>