(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos,
i think if u bring your maid to restaurants, then it's inevitable u have to pay for her. But u can order a cheaper dish for her.. say u eat steak, u can maybe order a chicken chop for her.. something like that.. or if in a chinese restaurant, u can order a separate fried rice for her, while u and your family will eat the main course/set meals.. something like that.

hmm, if u go to Starbucks for afternoon coffee, i think it's ok if u don't order a drink for her.

Ok.. cranky baby finally went to sleep & I have time to log on.

BRINGING BABY OUT
I have been bringing baby out every weekend since his manyue, want baby to get used to going out & sitting in his car seat. I am his portable milk bottle so we don't need to pack any bottles for our outings. I am comfortable nursing in public, I just throw on my nursing bib & nurse him anywhere. The great thing is I can have my meals while he is having his so everyone is happy.

SLING
I tried using the MIM sarong sling today while shopping at Suntec & it's great.. baby sleeps so soundly. It's also great for BF. However, I got hubby to help me place baby in & adjust the sling so if I'm out on my own, I'm not sure if I can put baby in myself & adjust the sling well.

Tomorrow I am due for my checkup, so I'll be bringing baby out for the checkup with me, all by myself.. hope I can survive the trip!

preggie
Initially I was like you.. afraid to pump as I am scared baby won't have enough for his next feed (I am also latching on nearly every 2 hours on demand). During his 1st month, I was on total latch. But after his manyue, I started trying to pump as I did not want him to be too attached to my breast & refuse the bottle. So I tried & there's no problem at all, in fact my supply seems to have increased. Now I have about 6 packs of 90ml frozen EBM as well as 4 bottles of EBM sitting in my fridge & still trying to build up supply. So right now I still latch on but for 2 feeds at around 9pm & 11pm, my hubby will feed him EBM where I'll also pump out my milk. So not to worry, baby will have enough to feed.

shazz
I guess Eamon & Devon are both going through the 6 week growth spurt.. Devon also cries a lot & is so cranky. Hang on ok?

On MIL's comments.. what's new with all these MILs right? So try to ignore her. For me I'm staying with mine & I 'cannot' let my baby cry.. when he cries or wails, she'll rush into my room & ask me to pick baby up immediately & tell me cannot let baby cry. Sometimes I want to try to train him, let him know he'll not be picked once he wails but with my MIL, it's pretty hard to do so. So sometimes I just lock my room door.

storeberry
Hehe.. yeah coz I want to buy a second nursing cover so have been surfing around. I just ordered one yesterday from pinkcream.

SarahMay
The teat that Bigtoes was talking about.. Tommy Tippee sells them.. the teats are shaped like mummy's breast. Mothercare sells this.

http://www.tommeetippee.co.uk/product/closer_to_nature_150ml_bottle_twin_pack_with_slow_flow_teats/

Bigtoes
I wish I could train Devon like Kieran but for Devon, when we feed him, he only takes what fills him up at that point in time, which is around 80 to 90ml, he won't take anything more than that.

Flos
it depends on how often you go out and where you go. for example if you go to hotel for hi tea, you are not thinking of paying for her food right?

a few options here that mummies i know work out with maid:
1. like what autumn says, pay for her but choose the cheapest one (this works especially you dun go out that often for meals)
2. ask her to eat at home first, her job during those times is to take care of bb anyway
3. if you are going to be out whole day, and dining at restaurants, you may need her to take care of bb when you eat anyway. so what some mummies do it: the maid takes care of bb while you eat, after that, you bring her to foodcourt, then you and hb play with bb while your maid eats.

I know of mummies who bring their maids out everyday, so these are some of hte things they do. but rem yours is filipino maid, so you need to explain things to her. coz they are usually more demanding and may expect you to treat them anyway...

hi mei
ay ... i gave in to FM for his last feed today at 12! after almost 7 weeks i finally gave in. i fed him almost hourly since 8ish and then 11ish he was wailing at breast coz no more milk! then hubby comforted me to say dun feel bad about giving FM. so finally gave in . He finished 120ml at one go for his first time! mighty guzzler! this is considering he been nursing the last 3 hours.
i will start to express to store hopefully i dun depend on FM too much from now on ... altho it seems very tempting hehe

thanks, autum, isabelle & crayonshinchan. am feeling loads better now. postpartum emotions are so scary!

sarahmay/flos: my bb normally feeds once every 4hrs, which is pretty infrequent already. that's why i'm a little concerned that she might be one of those lazy ones who prefer sleep over feed. she actually continued losing weight till the end of her 2nd week and it freaked me out (that's why feeding ebm to monitor intake now). she's now gaining weight but still skinny – she's froggie shaped from top view with a round torso and no waist, and skinny legs. i wonder if i should start waking her up for feeds at shorter intervals.

breastfeeding in sling
sarahmay, i haven't tried that. have u? i tried feeding myself with bb in sling though, and later found crumbs in her hair! luckily dh didn't see it. otherwise i won't hear the end of it. i'm already known as Queen of Crumbs at home; can't imagine what new and more powerful title he might give me.

guasha:
flos, i do mine at this tiny shop in midpoint orchard. it's a one-woman operation and the therapist also does foot reflex, tui na, cupping and other holistic treatments. she was studying to be a tcm practitioner the last time i saw her.

crayonshinchan, the bjorn can wear on the back instead? not easy to eat with bb strapped to us, unless u're a v careful eater, and no hot soup or things like that!

shazz, i hope your mil won't overfeed eamon when she starts taking care of him. she sounds like she'll feed him at the faintest whimper.

confinement
is it 28 or 40 days? i'm wondering when to end mine since it's kind of ownself-do type.

hey xuanting,
i m only 2 weeks into my confinement n I m already thinking of ending it, cos mine is also DIY.. i will still try to eat heathily etc.. but i m not really following any 'rules & regulations'.. i have went out so many times already (to nearby places).. but i don't bring my baby out..

u don't be too hard on yourself. just do whatever is comfortable n happy for u.

Carseats:

Anybody looking for a car seat with base? I actually got the exact same car seat as a gift yesterday!! how coincidence.. its a peg perego primo viaggio SIP in red + grey seat color..

storeberry, how come your hubby couldn't come home? mine kena reservist tomorrow but he said can tell them i just had a bb and they'll prolly arrange for him to go back another time. otherwise will be 2wks away.

autum, i haven't stepped out of the hse except for doc reviews (bb's and mine). think this sat/sun i will go jalan jalan.

btw, how is manyue calculated? one mth to the date or 4wks?

Goldfish: oic :p

shazz: nevermind, trust your maternal instincts. After all, Eamon is growing very well, so your MIL need not worry too much. I'm wondering if my MIL will try to impose her methods on my bb next time. So far, it's been good, cos she doesn't interfere...

you r kind to give her your leftover diapers. I still can't get over the fact she allegedly didn't see those opened packs sitting inside the wardrobe....Can she be so blind and blur? I tend to think it's an integrity issue. She was also trying to hint to me by placing some of those NB size clothes, mittens and booties aside to see if I want to offer to her grandchild due in Mar 09.

xuanting: midpoint orchard? Is she from China? Recently a few TCM practitioners at Beijing Tong Ren Tang were fined for not having accreditation. Must ensure she knows the right spots to 'gua', dun 'gua' the wrong 'sha'! Or ba' the wrong 'guan'!

autum, lilboymom, storeberry: tks for ur advice. I think I'll stick to food court to cut costs
I'm more 'concerned' about Scenario (3) painted by lilboymom, i.e. if we go out the whole day and need to makan outside...Or well, will try to figure out how not to make her feel bad or embarrassed if I skip her for the desert or coffee/tea after the fried noodle!

xuanting: I followed by the 28 days rule, 4 weeks, not calendar month. Isn't that how maternity leave is calculated by your HR too?!! heheh

I believe u can extend to 40 days if u want to. I know Malays are confined for 40 days. U can 'break confinement' after 28 days, and continue to avoid certain food like seafood, etc. until u hit 40 days lor. I've already eaten my crabs, prawns and raw fish even before reaching 40 days.

I will not carry bb in a Bjorn when I"m eating! He will be disturbed by all the chomping noises and swishing sounds from your stomach, won't he? so far, we put Isaac in the stroller and lower the canopy to let him sleep...

xuanting, if u carry him at the back, u can't lean backwards on the chair already

Mei: Whoa! very nice nursing bibs u hv there. How many do u hv now? Some of them do look like aprons!

morning mummies ,

Flos ,
hmm CL sounds suspicious ..I think you better check your house stock and CL bag before she leaves .. haha ... who knoes she also " ta bao" and hide other things ...

Isabelle ,
the guiness stout is good for bb skin .. i found it good for my first born so using it again for one whole month for bb Zenneth . Actually my zachary skin is very sensitive and he kena a lot of rashes in the first month , after bathing i find it better .. JUst to share that u have to dilute it with water before bathing .. little zenneth is still bathing it till 40 days ..

i'm selling away my Medela PIS-Shoulder Bag that purchased on 1/7/08 from First Few Year (paragon) at $530. Warranty till 1/10/09. Reason to sell, and when the babies arrived in end Sept 08, decided to stop breast feeding completely after a few days.

For more info, please email me at [email protected] or sms 93664880

I will also be giving away my - :
-breast milk storage bags (75pcs)
-a pair of 30mm medela breast pump funnels
-disposable breast pads 6 boxes

Gathering in the East
mummy's nick/baby's name/preferred place of gathering
1. stefseansharbabes / Sharmaine / Parkway
2. momoko76/Chloe or Cayden (only either 1) / parkway
3. Rachel / Kydric / TM or Parkway is fine.
4. Avalyn / twins?? / parkway
5. lok/jonas/Parkway
6. lilboymum/ch? CY?/parkway
7. Kym Teo/ Scarlett / TM or Parkway is ok
8. Crayon/Reyes/both places are fine
9. Lanolin / Declan / Parkway
10. Flos/Isaac/Parkway
11. Dmbb/Jilliane/TM or Parkway is ok
12. Breadmum/Ethan/ either TM or Parkway is ok

Sunnysunny & Shazz - my rash broke out before i took the chicken wine leah. Am heading to the GP shortly as its my fastest access to cure. Am also stopping massage and staying off all confinement food till the rash disapates.

yesterday, i had my manyue lunch and here's the feedback:
ecreative - food aplenty and ok, but pineapple rice turned bad by end of the session.
Previously, i've used neo garden before and everyone is right, the food taste better but portion is small.

Mei: Thanks for all the links on nursing covers. I want to go look at Tommy Tippee stuff esp the teats cos i read about their pacifiers too.

Crayonshin: YOu are so good la..bring bb out already. i wonder when i will muster the courage to bring him out. BFing in sling not easy lor. I am sure i wil expose myself unwittingly somehow if i don't practice more. Intend to fly with him in the sling...so BFing him in it is an impt skill. Hehe. I think i will still buy nursing tops cos dun you find regular tops very cumbersome? I trid wearing big tees over my nursing bras but got so iritated with the excess fabric in my way tt i stripped it off in the end.

Xuanting: You aren't alone! I also dropped crumbs of food on his face cos i ate while carrying him. hehe. Yday my mobile dropped next to his face...dunno how...but gave me a fright. thank goodness didn't injure him.

Storeberry: I know what you mean about the blood circulation. Me also a bit worried. Think it can get a bit hot.

shazz: yeah think it cld be his 6 wks growth spurt.

<font color="0000ff">Wah.. so many posts.. i actually took 30min to read them all, oops :p

Flos
hhmm... think my EBM still ok bah. not diluted. but i realised, they are super oily...

SarahMay
Max has been waking up about once or twice every nite since he was born. So i'm just glad that he's been such an angel so far. But just after I mentioned his feeding pattern here, he decided to be a little monster on Sat nite waking up at 1am, 4am and 6am to fuss. Realli stoned me out manz... wonder why he was so cranky. Could it be becoz he was out the whole day on Sat attending my couz's church wedding. hhmm...

And yes, I just bot washable breast pads, used once and now they are stowed in my cupboard. Dun think i'm gonna use them again. It's not able to 'hold' as well as disposable breast pads. Tell me about it gal.. i've already used up 4 boxes of breast pads. gosh... waste $$$$

MIL problems
just wondering, how come MILs can never be as nice and wonderful as our own mums?? They juz seem to make us irritated at some point in time...

Baby attending Weddings
If u all have got wedding dinners or church weddings to attend, would you bring the little one around??? My mum insisted tat i bring Max for them, but my hb refused saying we should respect the couple coz he's afraid bb would start crying thus making so much noise. Wat do u all think?

Bottle Feeding
Personally I think it'll be good to start introducing bottle feeding early so that ur babies have got time to adjust. I've got a fren who didn't introduce the bottle and when she went back to work, bb juz rejected the bottle. In the end, she had to take urgent leave to go back to nurse her little one.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: Yeah, am so happy cos today I didn't cradle baby on my tummy to sleep! He was making lotas of noise this morning around 6plus, I pat him then put him beside me to sleep. When he make noise I just pat him &amp; he slept!

Xuanting &amp; Sarah: Aiyoo.. I also drop crumbs on my bb as well.. My hubby call me "fan shu".. Keke.. My hubby couldn't come home cos his biz is in Malaysia so he had to stay there sometimes when he needs to wake up early in the morning when when there is alot of orders.

My BIL's mother just recommend us to a auntie who is willing to come over my house to help out to look after baby. She told us to quote her a price, we are intending to ask her to work from 12pm-6pm, don't know if can quote her $400? I know whole day 7am-7pm is around $550... Or should I hire a maid? Cost will be $700-$800 ($350 salary + $170 Levy + $50 insurance + $150 - $200 Living expenses = $720 - $$770)... But if I share with BIL, his cost is almost the same cos he will not be paying for the maid's living expenses... Decisions...</font>

Baby Carrier : Sarah-May - were u asking re my combi? I bought the Ninna Nanna Magical Compact Fast model (don't ask me why the name is so long - it's Jap ... hahaha) I tried it at home yesterday with the cradle carrying method - he didn't really like it. I think it is again something to get used to.

Maids - Flos : I usually just order something cheaper for the helper ... I think if u are going out with the baby during the weekend, u can ask her to stay at home since u have ur hubs with you? My sister just lets her helper order what she wants la....just like when we are at home, I just ask the helper to cut whatever fruits she wants in the fridge

Meie - thanks for the links - I'm also looking for feeding bibs. I will order a few as well!! Internet shopping is ADDICTIVE! hahaha...

Sasa - my boy at 6+ weeks is 5.4 kilos. That's why I am wondering if I am over feeding him but for EBM, he only takes about 90ml and sometimes is able to last him about 2.5 hours so I'm a little perturbed...anyway....

MILs - Shazz, I know u mean. That day my MIL came to visit ...granted she's great at playing with the kid but once he cries, it is ALWAYS - I think he is hungry. MY hubs has the same attitude at times which pisses me off. I think it's their EASY way out of managing the baby. When he cries, chuck to mother. She ALSO said "aiyah, I think u don't have enough milk" ... WAH LAO!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm glad she comes like once a week or less than that. I cannot tahan.

Flos - heehehe...boyfriend in JC? he was 4 years older than me so he was 20 and in the army.
That boyfriend very nice lah but I don't know what's wrong with me...I think I got caught up with the whole JC thingy (was v active in ECAs) that I told him no time to pak tor la. Plus my parents very strict so cannot go out at night one so how to have boyfriend? hahahahha....those were the days.

storeberry - WAH! 7am to 7pm is only 550???? That is at ur place or her place? I asked agency and the one who comes fromm 8am to 6pm for 5 days is like SGD 1500 per month!!!! May I know where u got ur rates from? I think mine very salah leh....

sasa: your max wakes 3 times at nite and you call him momnster? then what is my elisha? His standard is 1/2am, 4am, 6am. NOt to mention feed at 11pm. If he goes back to sleep after 4am feed, i'll be v happy. the last two nites he kept awake till 6+am before deciding to sleep!

stoberry: Your boy also very guai. I just put it down to my ELisha having to eat more. and he's being more alert in the daytime now. I try to tire him out with stories, games and exercises. But tt means i get tired more also. Dunno what i wil do being alone with him.

Lanolin: How come ur combi model sounds so strange? Ninni nanna? Haha..sounds almost vulgar. You got it from Japan. I realise that Combi China has models we don't see here. And I am prob buying one from CHina. SG300 and has big basket and suspension wheels. HEhe.

<font color="0000ff">SarahMay
haha.. by my standard lah.. coz all the while he has been very 'guai' mah :p

wah... Combi China so cheap??? Should have gotten China biz associates to bring one over.. haha</font>

Flos - I also have the same stroller as you....did u say tht ur baby doesn't like to be in it? u are going to buy another one? Why and which one are u eyeing?

<font color="0000ff">Restless Babies
Seems like EVERY SINGLE ONE of us have got our fair share of restless babies (sleep while we are carrying them, but wakes up n starts making noise once we put them down). Wonder why all babies are like that. Is it really part of their growing up process?

It's really irritating when it happens</font>

SarahMay - oops, mine is a baby carrier (a la baby bjorn synergy type) and NOT a pram / stroller. I think mine is below SGD100.

sasa...did u read my link on babywearing? seems tt research shows bbs are tt r carried or held close by a caregiver fuss...n apparently become brighter. of cos bb were in us for 9 mths...now sudenly out in this big world...caan b scary for them la

storeberry,
i got a bbsitter (8am - 7:30pm) for $600 , bb put at her place.
Reached 6mth, increase another $50 but fish/solid food we supply.
I think i ask a few agents, is all about this pricing lei.
If come to my place for the same timing, i hear is 1-1.2K now.

BreastMilk Supply
=================
Can i chk how many do you pump per day ?
For me i only managed to have 100-120ml per pump every 4/6hr...
if that enough or should i do something to increase it ?
I am not latching on, cos my bb cant latch on very well. My cl say is alot liow, i wonder is it she lazy to cook the fish/papaya for me or what :p

sarahmay: I think lanolin is talking abt the bb carrier, Ninni Nanna 4-way Magical Compact carrier that I nearly bought from China. They also sell it at Cheong Choon.

lanolin: so u r one of those with army bfs

Nah, dun want to leave maid at home. She might bring men home!!! Anyway, the reason for hiring the helper is so that she can help me with the bb when I'm out. Of course, the maid can take any fruit she likes from the fridge.

you've been telling stories, playing games and exercises to Declan who is only 6 weeks old?!! How hardworking! I'm only talking to him, not engaging him in any games yet. Just let him grow fat for the time bring!!

storeberry: u r getting a live-in or PT nanny? thot u wanted a live-in maid too?

sasa: why is your EBM oily? didn't wash the pumps properly?!

breadmom: neo gardens portion is not small in my opinion! The Fried bee hoon, etc was a lot man! We couldn't finish at all!!

- Found this ... in case any of you need a list:

CENTRAL

DEPARTMENTAL STORES

BHG (previously Seiyu)
Bugis
Level 3, children’s department

Isetan
Scotts Road
Level 4, children's department

Takashimaya
Level 3, Children’s Department

Other Services:
Children’s toilets at Level 3
Shopping Bag Deposits at Customer Service Centre at Level 2
Free rental of baby prams by depositing of identity card at Customer Service Centre at
Level 2

Tangs
Baby Care Room at Level 3, next to washrooms

SHOPPING MALLS

Centrepoint
Family Rooms on Level 3 and Level 6
Diaper-changing stations at Level 2 Ladies' washroom and Levels 2, 3, &amp; 4 Men's washrooms

City Link Mall
Near Godiva shop

Funan DigitaLife Mall
Baby Rooms on Levels 1, 2, 3, 4 &amp; 5

Other Services:

Urinals for little boys in the Gents and children toilet bowls in the ladies. Both with sinks at
kids' height. Facilities can be found in all levels.
Baby strollers at Customer Service Counter on level 1 for loan free of charge

Forum The Shopping Mall
Level 1 (next to Watsons &amp; washrooms)

Great World City
Level 1 and 2

Junction 8
Basement 1, next to washroom

Liang Court
Nursing Room located on Level B1, equipped with a changing station, wash basin and power
point in the room

Marina Square
9 family rooms equipped with a baby changing station and a small couch to provide parents with
an area to make diaper changes and feed their babies

Paragon
Level 3, near Metro

Plaza Singapura
Nursing room on Level 3 complete with nappy-changing facilities and water supply

Other services:
Free pram service for children below two - no deposit and available from 11am-8pm daily

Raffles City Shopping Centre
Baby's Room located at Level 3 (next to Lift Lobby B)

Other Services:
Baby strollers available for loan at concierge

Robertson Walk
Diaper-changing stations are available at male &amp; female washrooms

Suntec City Mall
Level 3 Family Link (besides Kids Mall)
#02-006 Les Enphant

Other Services:
Free buggy rides provided on Level 3
Loan of prams and strollers at Entertainment Centre Service Desk

Tanglin Mall
Level 3

Tiong Bahru Plaza
Nursing Room at Level 5 equipped with is a changing station, wash basin and power point

Other Services:
Rental of baby strollers, subject to availability
Rental of umbrellas with a fee of $3, refundable upon return within 3 days

United Square
Nursing room at #01-52A (next to carpark lifts)

Valley Point
Diaper-changing station available at Level 1washroom

Velocity @ Novena
Nursery at Level 3

OTHERS

Borders (Wheelock's Place)
near Office Tower entrance

Westin Stamford and Westin Plaza
F&amp;B and Convention Services
Milk storage services available upon request; private room subject to availability

EAST

DEPARTMENTAL STORES

Isetan
Katong
Level 2, children's department

Isetan
Tampines
Level 2, near the washrooms

SHOPPING MALLS

Century Square
Nursing Rooms on Levels 2 and 3, each equipped with changing station, a wash basin and power
point

Other Services:
Rental of baby strollers, subject to availability

Parkway Parade
Basement: Two nursing rooms located near Hello! Singtel and Gramophone.
Level 1: Located near Topshop/Topman and Dorothy Perkins (new fashion precinct)
Level 2: Within the ladies washroom, near Jean Yip Hub
Level 3: Within the ladies washroom, near Robert Piano

Other Services:
Kiddy cab, stroller or pram available for hire at $3 per hour

Tampines Mall
All levels next to washrooms

Other Services:
Baby strollers available for loan for free at Customer Service Counter on Level 3 (Outside
Toys 'R' Us)

WEST

SHOPPING MALLS

Anchor Point
Diaper-changing stations are available at male &amp; female washrooms

Vivo City
Nursing rooms in restrooms in Lobby A and Lobby G

OTHERS

Ikea (Alexandra)
Nursing room opposite Level 2, opposite the Cafeteria
Diaper-dispensing machines are available in some of the ladies' washrooms

NORTH

SHOPPING MALLS

Causeway Point
Parents Rooms on every floor (next to the washrooms)
Nursing room on Level 3

North Point
Diaper changing room located on Basement 1 (near washroom)

NORTH-EAST

SHOPPING MALLS

Compass Point
Nursing Room on Level 4 (near Kopitiam)

Hougang Mall
Nursing Room at Level 5, furnished with a changing station and two nursing stations

Other Services:
Free use of strollers &amp; kiddy cabs, subject to availability
Kids’ Area - Seating area at Level 4 where the kids can doodle with Hougang Mall Fun
Book obtainable at the Customer Service Counter at Level 3

lanolin: P3 is really bulky and huge...I brought it to the malls and kept bumping it agst other shoppers' ankles! ouch!

also, isaac needs to feel assured. i had to walk in front of the stroller as my hubby pushed it. never knock into pple as my head kept turning to smile and talk to him!!! maybe he is too young lah...

<font color="0000ff">Flos
dunno leh.. I realised pumps n milk bottles n teats are oily after feeding EBM. Prob all the fats from EBM bah.. i dun get this oily feeding if i fed FM wor</font>

Lim (Xuanmummy) - how old is your baby? At seven weeks, I can only pump that amount after 4 hours anyway so I think urs is plenty. I latch him though...in the day so pumping is only at night. I keep it for his night feeds ... I wish I had more milk to start stocking up in the freezer as well but at this point, I only have just enough.

Flos - heh heh ...I've totally lost touch with him. It would be good to see how he is now. I'm in touch with all my other ex boyfriends. They are all good friends now.

Er, I don't think I'm the one who said I'm playing with Declan. I think it is another mummy. I leave him under the mobile...read to him maybe once a day and then sing songs when feeding. That's all.

storeberry
Your son's 'pattern' is like mine. Every morning at 6+am, he'll wake up for a feed &amp; will refuse to sleep in his cot.. he'll sleep when I place him beside me &amp; we'll both sleep till 9am.
So now I'll BF him lying down for the 6+am feed &amp; we'll both doze off after that.

Flos
Yup.. those nursing covers do look like aprons.. lol. Just don't choose such mumsy prints lor.

Like sasa, my EBM also seems oily, must be the fat content in the milk. When I wash my bottles, got oily feeling.

sasa
Agree on the restless baby issue.. but I'm comforted knowing most of us here face the same issue.

Lim (xuanmommy)
I latch throughout the day but pump twice at night, once at 8+ &amp; another time at 10+, I'm able to pump around 90 to 120ml (depending on when was the last latch).

Shazz, my boy also sama sama lar.. must carry all the time. I get super duper happy when I can put him down without him waking up. Then I'll run abt like a siao char bor to get things done lor. Else I'll wake up earlier then him to shower/pump and do all the washing of his clothes and our clothes etc. Then I'm all his for the entire day. Super Tiring.. Lunch is usually previous day's dinner and is usually gobbled down..haa.. sounds pathetic hor..

Flos, bring EBM out is very mafan one lor..Must bring icepack,cooler bag,measure the correct amt of milk,thermos flask and a mug.. These things takes up 1/2 of the space in my bag!!

at least now Meie has provided us with nursing cover links. I wouldnt have to worry abt exposing my big, black nipples in public.. haha..

Bringing stroller out to malls seems to cause obstruction leh. And somemore singaporeans tend to walk without looking and when they knock into u, they tend to glare like its our fault.. unless the mall is huge and not crowded.. otherwise, carriers and slings shd be easier..thats my opinion la..

sasa/Mei: fat from mama? I must examine my EBM too!

lanolin: I've lost touch with all 5 bfs. Found one thru facebook, but he blocked me after hearing that I'm married
hahha.

I hv no energy to read to my boy. Sing some songs during feeding maybe. Just now, he took 30min to finish 100ml milk. I was almost falling asleep at my chaise lounge.

Anyone bought bobux shoes for their babes? I saw one of Mei's links selling bobux shoes. They are cute, aren't they? But $42 for a pair of bb shoes?

Mei: some of the prints are really very nice. I can't get the full pic of how to wear the bib. Do u loop it over your head like how u'd wear an apron?

Nursing bibs/shawls: If I BF in a public nursing room or in a car, I dun need a shawl or bib already, do i? Actually, I find nursing tops are designed such that we can BF discreetly and 'civilly'. One can hardly 'chao geng' if u wear the right nursing drop cup bra.

Shazz,
MIL - Just listen to whatever they say but dont have to follow...it is good your hubby stands up for u. Last Sunday, my act-smart MIL covered Kaiden with a diaper cloth up to the chest area..ended up the cloth covered his face during his nap...my FIL spotted and chided MIL off..I am happy secretly...now they know they are not always right in their child raising methods..

Storeberry, Isabelle,
Not many westerner in this thread..hmm..when we meet up at Lok's place, we can check if the Westerners want to meet up still

LC,
I finally went to MC to purchase a travel cot to be placed in my bedroom...now i rotate between my cot bed (day use) and travel cot (nite use)..i could sleep better knowing that my little one is sleeping in the same room as me..
Also bought the Fisher price rocker chair..I would place Kaiden after his feeds on the chair..seems to help in his burping and digestion..instead of lying down straight after a feed.

BF,
Shazz, took your advice to monitor the best pumping time...for me its 10ish...i seem to be able to pump out more during that time..thanks for the tip!

Outing with BB,
Took Kaiden to Robinson Centrepoint...the nursing room on the 5th floor is terrible lah..located near the staff toilet..imagine feeding bb and listening to toilet flush...how hygiene is that??!!!

Robinson Discount,
Anyone gg for the 13 Oct onwards sale? I am gg to stock up on detergents, breast pads etc..

Driving with bb,
My 1st attempt went well...2nd attempt was bad..Kaiden cried really loud...i couldnt stop cos i was on AYE highway..ggrr...neither could i pacify him cos his carseat is behind me..i am quite worried about driving on 20 oct to Lok's place now...from west coast to Bishan, quite a long drive rite??

crayon: Even when a dept store like Taka is so huge, we find it difficult to manoeuvre the Peg Perego stroller! A few times, the elevators were full or jam-packed. We had to wait patiently for the next one, cos we dun want to take the escalators. The basement food court and food hall aisles were quite narrow. Plus my CL was a bit kampong and zombified, so we kept losing her AND my son (she carried him sometimes) in the crowd.

Feeding FM also requires me to lug a thermal flask of water of the right temp, the milk powder dipenser, the diaper mat, the diapers/wipes, milk bottles...Already quite heavy IMO!

<font color="119911">COMMENTS ON BABY CARRIERS:
Hi mommies, went to Baby Hypermart yesterday to check out Baby Bjorn Synergy ($299 less 10%) and Lascal ($268 less 10%) baby carriers. My comments if you are looking to get a carrier:

1) Best to bring your baby along to try out the carriers. These are not the easiest to use, especially if its just one person fitting baby in, and if the baby's neck muscles are still not strong yet. Have to support the head, and simultaneously fit the arms and legs into the appropriate holes.

2) These 2 carriers have 2 sizes for the leg hole (buttoned up for smaller babies, or button opened for bigger babies). Kieran is 6+ weeks, and even then, the hole is small. Maybe he has chubby thighs, but i doubt the holes would be comfy for babies up to 12kg. We had to struggle abit to fit Kieran in, and he ended up with red marks on his thighs

3) Baby Bjorn has a plastic buckle thingie at the groin area where the baby rests on. Not the most comfy, esp for baby boys!

4) Baby has to face mommy until the neck is strong enough. The position of the face is quite low, and Kieran's face was partially squished on my boobies. I had to slouch to make some room for him to breath! Would be worse for mommies who are more busty.

5) Even with the air mesh material, the carriers are still quite warm.

So anyway, we ended up not buying any brand, cos i doubt i would even be able to easily fit Kieran in and out, and we both were not comfy with the carrier. Might consider after 3-4 months, when he can be carried forward facing, and if his chubby thighs can even still fit into the leg hole!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Lanolin: I did a search in the forum for nanny &amp; the rates got from some mummies are $550 (going to nanny's place) after 4mths when you want to introduce solid food then will be $50 more. Wow, your agent quote you very high!

Flos: I actually intended to get a maid alr, looking thru some resume to choose. But today my BIL's mother called me &amp; gave us the recommendations so now have to choose between part-time nanny coming over to our house versus a live in maid... But seems like my MIL prefer a maid.

Autum: E Vee is a unique name! She looks chubby!

Mei: I want to try BF-ing him while lying down! I think it will be good rest for both of us! Yah I sleep till 9am also.. Keke...

I also get the oily feeling when cleaning the bottles.</font>

Storeberry,
thanks.. do u always have people in the house? if yes, then maybe get a maid is better. for me, when i return to work, my maid will be alone in the house with baby.. so i m going to take a risk. but i will monitor her for these few months while i m at home.. So far my maid has been a great help..

Hey Bigtoes: Thanks for the detailed analysis of the cariers. Looks like i shall skip the carriers for now and concentrate on getting a good pram and mastering my sarong sling.

Crayonshin: BIg black nipples! HAaha...mine also. BUt I think BM has some bleaching power cos my nipples look fairer after 3 weeks of BFing. Hehe.,I think i flash in cab before already cos the little one wailed for milk when we came home from the hospital. Aiyo...

PEG PEREGO PRAM: My friend has also commented on how bulky it is to manouevre it around Orchard. She ended up not taking it out...and using her MIM sarong sling which she swears by.

Mei: Your boy is so guai. Can sleep 3 hours straight.

Autumn: Your girl is so cute and chubby!

Nursing Shawls: Actually, i think we can just make our own nursing shawl...cloth and one ribbon for tying around neck. Seems pricey to be paying so much for an apron-y looking thing.

Bacon &amp; Egg: RObinsons got sale ?!!! Started already? Which outlet? Bb stuff got sale ah? I need a LOT more breast pads and wipes.

Hi Flo,

I have the same stroller Peg Perigo as you. I agree it is bulky and hugh. It is really heavy as well when i pull it out of my car alone...

So far, I have yet to bring my son out to the crowded mall during weekends. We only go to Taka and paragon on weekday. For weekend, we go to tanglin mall, novena sq which are more kid friendly. Cos there are many baby related shops there, hence lots of parent with kids and strollers.

To be frank, I think weekend shoppers in taka paragon are not very pram friendly, In fact, they don;t care if they kick your pram. Cos they are so concern with their newly painted pedicure which might be ruin by the pram. I have many single friends or childless friends who share these sentiment. Hence i really don;t dare to bring my baby out to the crowded mall on weekend. So you need to be very careful with the crowd when you are in town on weekend ...

sarahmay, i'm not that good yet.. hb's with me when we brought baby out..i nurse in my normal tops n i find them ok leh.. not so cumbersome.. could it be bcos u used oversized tops? Not that i wear tightfitting tops lar! hahaha..

Flos.. hahah.. i just don want to spend too much money on nursing tops which i'll only be wearing for 6mths odd..

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) – oh, I have Avent as well. The bottle is wide, but the teat is still small right? I was actually referring to those with teats that resemble the breasts. Think I saw Farlin brand carrying these.

Autum (autum) – yes, do join us for the NEL gathering. Lets confirm at Lok's place on 20th. Are you coming as well?

xuanting (xuanting) – leaky breasts are not fun okie!
I have to wake up 2-3 times per night just to express, or else my whole T-shirt will be soaked. Also have to deal with the left down reflex when I am out, and hope that the milk doesn’t stain through!

I am still on TBF, and my body is producing milk overtime to keep up! Last night, Kieran drank a total of 300ml in between 11pm-5am….i look at him now and realize that he looks like a 3 month old baby!

Flos (flos) – ur CL wanted to steal some of the diapers for her own daughter lah! Tough luck for her that u caught her!!!

preggie (preggieblues) – yes, I latch on exclusively during the day (unless we are out or if there are guests in the house, then Kieran takes EBM so he can be fed in public). I pump for sessions that I miss (like after I come back home), and during the night cos hubby feeds him EBM from the 11pm and 3am sessions.

Flos (flos) – yes, the chilli crab is the one at the ulu place along Punggol 17th avenue. Not Choon Seng but the other one, Punggol Seafood. On the stroller, are prices in Baby Kingdom cheaper? I still think that auntie at Cheong Choon offers the best prices. We got both the Combi stroller and our Safe and Sound car seat from her. The Combi stoller you were looking at in Taka has the push bar that can be both forward and backward facing.

You went out for 5 hours with baby? Does he sleep most of the time, or is he wide awake looking around, or crying half the time? Kieran has a rather short attention span – would look around abit, then get bored and cry and sometimes want to be carried. Else he would poo in his pants or want to be fed! Quite troublesome bringing him out for more than 2-3 hours. Too bad the doesn’t like the pacifier, so we have no 'secret weapon' to keep him quiet other than to feed him!

Somemore, we realize that there are a lot of KPO aunties around. Was in AMK Hub yesterday, and when baby cried, aunties would come by to comment or offer help!

preggie (preggieblues) – how long did you BF at the changing room at Robinson's sale? I don’t think I will ever BF outside – how to find a place to sit and carry him for 30 minutes? Not unless I can master carrying him and BFing and still walk around and not have people stare…

Goldfish (goldfish1395) – final night feed is based on baby's weight and number of feeds a day, plus his own appetite. At present, Kieran needs about 130-150ml for the 11pm feed.
During the day, I latch on every 3 hours, so no idea how much he is consuming. I usually feed for 30 minutes until either he or I get bored!

Btw, don’t need to wake baby up every 2.5 hours to feed during the night. Best to feed on demand, and have him drop the middle of night feed when he is capable of sleeping though. Right now, Kieran sleeps for 4-5 hours after the heavy feed and usually only wakes up once in the night. We feed him another 60-80ml at the 3/4am feed. The next session would be 7-8am when I latch him on already. The whole point is to train baby to eventually drop the 3/4am feed as well, and sleep from 11pm-7am.

CHEAP DAY TIME DIAPERS: Mommies, what brand are u using now? I want something comfy and relatively cheaper cos Kieran can dirty his diapers within 1-2 hours sometimes. We are using Drypers during the day and Nepia/Pampers/Huggies for outings and night use.

Mei (meie) – Kieran is like a bottomless pit most times. He will just finish whatever EBM portion we feed him.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Bacon&amp;egg &amp; Sarah: I bought the pigeon breastpads from this webby, think she import from Thailand that's why its cheaper...

http://www.***********.com/Promotions.html</font>

sarahmay,
thanks.. but my girl is chubby on the cheeks only.. body not chubby le.

bigtoes,
i m still in confinement. altho i have gone out a few times, but i don't bring baby out.. think not that advisable to bring baby out of the house since she is less than 1mth.. so dun think i can go to Lok's place. That's why hopefully i can join the next gathering.

Flos/JoJo
I also using PP stroller but mine is the pramette which can be converted to P3 when bb is bigger. If she is sleeping, i let her face me but when awake, i let her sit up facing outside. I must agree it is bulky and heavy but it is DAMN sturdy lor...i go out with baby almost every other day and with a handbag + heavy diaper bag + shopping bags all hanging on the stroller but still very sturdy!!! Wun topple!! Agree with JoJo it is really heavy when I have to lift it up frm the car boot and I'm doing it almost everyday!! Very soon, i'm gonna develop biceps liao...

sasa
I am intending to bring baby along for a wedding dinner end of this month leh... anyway wedding dinners are kinda noisy wat, so even if baby shld cry, doesn't really matter rite?

bigtoes
Kieran is not the only 'big' baby...Charlotte also looks like 3mth old baby cos my gf wanted to pass me some of her baby gal's clothing but changed her mind when she saw Charlotte..realised she wun be able to fit into them as well,hahaha!! I dun even knw how she became so fat..considering she only drinks 80ml per 3/4hrly...her full day consumption only amts to 480-550ml!!!
1786424.jpg
<font color="ff0000">"i need a B-cup bra soon,mummy!!"</font>

sunrays,
your comment on your Charlotte's photo is so funny! she is indeed a chubby girl.. nice le, i like chubby babies!

sunrays
ur comments on lil charlotte r so funny. And charlotte is so alert and adorable!

bringing baby to wedding
Depends on how close the person is and whether anyone gg with me or not. If close, bring. And if I'm there to catch up with frens, I won't bring cos i wun be able to eat and chat in peace!
Church wedding I'll think twice cos I might be stuck outside the church pacifying baby, then what's the point of gg? unless hubby is there and the person is close fren or relative.

PEG PEREGO
I so loved this one for a long time but never bought cos it's so bulky and I can;t even lift it myself... worse if baby goes into it and it gets heavier!
So my fav is still maclaren xt!