(2008/09) Sep 2008

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) ,
Come join us too lah.. since u in the east..

Gathering in East
I don't really stay in the East, but I love Parkway...been shopping and taking piano lessons there since I was a kid...it's also the place my dad took me on a "date" to teach me about what to expect when a guy dates me!!! Ahhh, years ago! Count me in!!!

Am recovering from bringing the babies out wit hb alone to malaysian high comm, great world city and ICA yesterday...we were out from 1.30 to 7.30pm!!! Damn p0ooped when we got back! Furthermore my pump adaptor gave up (or so i thot) at iCA...so engorged...luckily Anais latched!

bb2609
Take it easy. A lot of First time moms always beat themselvews up...heck, 2nd time moms do too..about not doing enuf..blahblah. combined with tiredness, sure stress one. relax. enjoy your rest and you'll hve time to get used to the babes soon enuf.

My CL is leaving on Monday (I extended her for 6 weeks in total - maybe u can do the same?) So hbs and I are going out to town alone today before she goes!!! I feel kinda guilty about it, but I need the space and I know it's the best time to do it! *hugs*

hi Jas and l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) ,

i oso wan to be a SAHM but my work still need to be handed over to someone. plus im working for my relative so dunno hw to bring up this topic. and my mom will quit her job to help me look after my boy.
If now then i say i'm going to be a SAHM, think she'll kill me. So i might look for some part time job, preferably those late morn start work (so i got time to send my son to my mom's place) and knock off afternoon say 5pm. Haha, very demanding hor my wishes.
Sigh so I guess i'm going to work 1st and see how.
l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) ,
how's life as a SAHM? in terms of financially and the pressure to look after the kids. stressful?

Baby Bjorn: I hv that too. How many kilos must bb be to be strapped up in that carrier? I am too lazy to read the instructions, I just bought the Air blindly cos the colours matches my stroller! hhheee...

isa: u r really talented!! r u a Home Econs teacher? Some one in this thread is a home econs teacher rite?

jas: just tighten your belt lor. E.g. I am going to buy a fan cos I can't be using the aircon 24/7 now that i'm out of confinement. My CL has been wasting a lot of my electricity. And becos my DH's clothes are washed separately from mine during my confinement, we gotta spin the washer 2X (luckily not daily)! And we also waste a lot of elec tumble-drying bb's clothes and towels. In the first few weeks, I left my water heater switch on 24/7. Now I dun really need lukewarm water that often (I used to wipe my boobs a lot when I was direct-latching in the first 1-2 weeks), so I turned it off.

sarahmay: FFY is at Paragon level 5 or KKH.

lanolin: 6-in-1 is so scary! I'll ask my PD.

Gathering

1. stefseansharbabes / Sharmaine / Parkway
2. momoko76/Chloe or Cayden (only either 1) / parkway
3. Rachel / Kydric / TM or Parkway is fine.

Ava: u also took your piano lessons there? Yamaha is it? maybe we were in the same class? kekeke! I was there in 1982, then switched to home piano classes later.

I love Parkway too! Always going to PP (besides Changi airport) during my school days (studied many yrs in the East) with my ex-classmates, ex-bfs, etc.!!! When is the PP gathering?

Ava: u left your super twingals at home wit the CL? I feel like leaving my son with the CL to run to the mall to colour my hair. But just cannot bear to leave Isaac alone with a stranger.

Baby Bjorn: I just bought the Air over the weekend. Found it very easy to use (compare to my pausik pouch). Highly recommend
. I bought it at FFY as well.

StefSeanSharbabes,
I replied to your PM.

Parkway near my in law place (Macpherson). Can drop by and maybe deposit my maid to help her or else deposit both jonas and maid! Btw, u likely to org the outing on weekday or weekend?

mummy's nick/baby's name/preferred place of gathering
3. lok/jonas/Parkway

Baby Bjorn:
I thought Air and Synergy are both suitable for NB from 3.5kg onwards. Still too big for our babes huh? I think J is slightly above 4kg now.Does Robinsons hv BB Bjorn? What abt Kiddy Palace?

flos,
J is fast catching up with Isaac, he's now guzzling 120-130ml too! Can really tell he is putting on weight in just 1 week.

My confinement ends today!! Yippee!! Kinda sad that the CL has left (she's really nice). My maid is doing ok with infantcare. The only problem now is she sleeps pretty soundly at night, so dunno whether can wake up for J's nite feeds or not *faintz*

Lok
I saw Baby Bjorn at First Few Years, Mothercare and Motherworks. Don't think it's at Robinson or Kiddy Palace. Bjorn in upright position, I'm worried about the spine. I put my FB in a Bjorn when she is about 5 months plus.

mummies...

3. lok/jonas/Parkway
4. lilboymum/ch? CY?/parkway

Ava
wow! you pap is real advanced! we never had that as a child!! kudos to daddy!!!

flos
yeah parkway kid too huh!!i only rem ice cream treats at PP when i was young...and some kiddy rides thingy....hazey memory of my childhood

Lok
my maid's never ever held a bb in her life. so not safe to leave bb with her. plus she's never done hsework, never ever wake up when bb cries etc...haiz...

die when cl leaves!!!

Gathering in the East:

4. Avalyn / twins?? / parkway
5. lok/jonas/Parkway
6. lilboymum/ch? CY?/parkway

most likely will be on a weekday cos weekends are super crowded at Parkway.

Lok, i think Robinsons sells baby bjorn.

I am an easterner too!! Used to hang around Park way back in KC days.. 9 years ago!

I stay like 2 blocks away from crayon in pasir ris now keke :p and we just bought our new flat two days ago! Blk 865 tampines~~

I also wanna go for coffee ~~

Am going to punggol for baby swimming this afternoon, anyone wants to come^^?

5. lok/jonas/Parkway
7. Kym Teo/ Scarlett / TM or Parkway is ok

Looking to buy a lighter weight stroller to go out with baby alone, My P3 is simply too heavy to lug out myself! Anyone wants to sell their extra combis/mclaren ^^?

Thanks Lok , Flos and alabone on the FM tingie! I will experiment with it.

Mandy, my bb is driving me nuts as well. He woke up at 4am for a feed and has been crying and fussy all the way till like 1.50pm??!! It really make me beri PEI-CHEY leh!!! Grrrr... U all bring the bb to see PD after that? Wat did the PD say huh?

Isabelle, ur bb look very smiley in the pix! It is hard for me to snap a pix of my bb when he is smiling away!

GYNEA CHECKUP
I am going for my pap smear tomorrow at the gynea clinic. It is supposedly the last check up liao loh. Anyone has been to their check up so far? What else did the doc check as well huh?

Wow tat's great..
So many of us yeah.. Ava coming too.. good.. can get to see the twins yeah.. lol

Kym just bought a new place in Tampines ah?? so shifting in 6 months time lah.. hmm why from Pasir Ris to Tampines.. still same area wat rite.. lol

Stroller
It's alwas better to get a light weight one.. it's easier to travel around with ur bb.. especially i no energy one.. kekeke.. cannot carry heavy stuff.. i'm using a combi one.. so quite good lah.. about 4.2kg?? around there..

Rachel: my confinement food (incl eggs, veggies, meat, fish, herbs, pots and pans, slow cooker, milo, biscuits, etc!) was all bought by/paid for my MIL and mom. They delivered to my doorsteps 1-2 times a week.

lilboymom: hahaha! u rem those kiddy rides thingy outside the current McDonald's and hawker centre, yah? THat time, PP was still under construction

My helper is a 26-yr-old single and has only taken care of a 2-yr-old todd in the Philippines. I'm also not going let her take care of my NB. She'll just cook and clean my place, jaga when I'm in the shower/toilet, or go to the neighbourhood stores to help me grab a thing or two (hopefully dun befriend any construction workers!).

I'll die too when CL leaves cos last nite, my DH insisted that we push the cot into our masterbedroom to sleep with the bb. HE wldn't let my new maid sleep with the bb! That means I'll hv to bring all my diaper changing barang into my room and wake up to feed and change him

Hahha, maybe that way, I'll lose weight?

Lok: Taka sells too. I bot mine at Taka. My son is currently 4.7kg, but I'm not sure if it's ok to strap him upright now? Great to hear that J's appetite has improved!!! Congratulations!!!

Ya :p Still in the east.. Can't seem to move away too much, just an east person all the way!

Economy Downturn:

Looks like there are going to be retrenchments and wage cuts.. Oh dear, I have yet send my resumes out! Any mummies looking to go back to the workforce?

I'd better do it quick.. and secure a position first..

<font color="119911">Jas (mobilesuitegal)- I haven’t been swaddling Kieran since the CL left. He doesn’t like to be swaddled when he is struggling thou – his hands would pop out of the cloth in seconds.

On the milk supply – I think the best way to stimulate MS is still to latch on direct. I latch on during the day and hubby feeds EBM at night and when we go out with Kieran. The more u latch, the more your supply…right now, my boobs get engorged within just 2 hours.

isabelle (isa_belle) – Gabby is a cute little chubby baby! So smiley somemore.

Btw ur cupcakes are really pretty and elaborate. So much effort for her 1st month! Next time when she is older, you need to show her all the effort you put in! Isabelle is also another cutie!

Lok (lok) – baby carrier – we are getting Lascal. I compared Lascal to Baby Bjorn and preferred the former. I just called the shop at Kaki Bukit – they are selling it for $268, with 15% discount now. Will buy my Lascal over the weekend.

bb2609 (babybaby2609)- take care of your health okie? It’s a huge responsibility raising a child, especially more so since you have twins.

Gathering: I am also at the Eastern side, but at Seng Kang. Would love to meet up with mommies along the NEL during weekdays to grab coffee with babies in tow.
Mommies nearby let me know and we can organize a separate gathering for people in Hougang/Seng Kang/Kovan areas.

goldfish,
PD say he's having colic. Cos ryan had those sharp n high pitched cries on and off for 4 hrs lor! PD tap tap ryan's stomach n got a hollow sound means got wind. his stomach also qte tight, these are symptoms of colic lor.

If your bb also have those sharp n high pitch cries for more than 3hrs, better see pd le.

haa.. ok.. i dont know that PP is child friendly ;-) .. now I think we need to compile a list of malls/eateries which are more child friendly.

. stefseansharbabes / Sharmaine / Parkway
5. lok/jonas/Parkway
8. Crayon/Reyes/both places are fine

momoko, yup.. Reyes' manyue was over last wk.. but stuck with bb at home.. want to get used to him first before bringing him out.. not a nice sight if i had to struggle with a screaming baby in my arms..haaa..

kym, u fast hands fast legs leh.. u bot a flat within such a short span..

Flos, haa.. u better get used to having Isaac in ur room and crying for milk at night. Last night, Reyes only woke up at 2am after his last feed at 9.30pm.. So I tot yeahness cos the next feed shd be at 5am..But who knows that lil bugger suckled for only 5mins and REFUSED to wake up. Ended up, I was woken up at 4am and 6am. %@%@^%#$^@!!!! 3 times in a night! HMMPH!!

goldfish.. hee.. i m actually due for pap smear today.. but i still cant bring myself to open up my legs for anymore checks..hahaa.. so i postponed it..

storeberry,
i stay in woodlands. we are near enough! hehehhe.

isabelle,
your cupcakes are so pretty! y was your hb still so critical of it? can he make better ones?? and gabbie is so adorable. is she able to smile already?? and isabelle is so sensible ya? can help to clean up! cute girls you have.

hi jojobar , am nt veri sure also.it's brand new. mothercare sellin 600+ , if u r interested u can come for viewin also. but i stay ubi area. wad price u offer?

crayon: yeah, I experienced that twice: once when Isaac was first discharged (CL not here yet) and another time when my first CL stood me up. Really can go mad!!

Was contemplating of asking my CL to leave tomorrow (cos manyue is already over and she has nothing left to brew/cook since Wed)...Wondering if I shd just continue to let her stay till next Fri (per our original agreement)? One more week will cost me nearly $500 which is more than the mthly salary of my future maid!!

my CL is not literate, so she cannot read my wanbao or magazines to keep herself occupied. She is not very interested in tv soaps, but will watch with me when she is feeding or taking a breather. After my manyue, I've been ordering food and eating out, so she is rendered 'redundant'. She is now only taking care of the baby. Even then, she passes the baby to me to carry and latch very often, when she eats or does housework. So I end up with Isaac half the time...I might as well terminate her?

I prefer PP to TM cos the latter has more places to eat and shop, but when is it? Weekday is better than weekend definitely.

Insurance: Which one is better? Any recommendation?

Lok: hv u received oyour $750 baby bonus instalment? u registered Jonas' birth a day earlier than my Isaac rite?

When must we open the CDA a/c? Come to think of it, we're quite fortunate that they backdated the maternity package effective date to 17 Aug 08 just before MTI announces today that Singapore economy is in recession.

Gathering in the East
5. lok/jonas/Parkway
9. Lanolin / Declan / Parkway

I love Parkway too!!!! FLos - I bet u and I were hanging out at PP during the same times....hahahaha...

Re article on 6-in-1, I'll ask my hubs to scan it and I will post it here next week. Pls ask ur PDs clearly....

Went to Cheong Choon and Ocean today!!! bought a few more things for baby and was tempted by the Combi baby carrier (coz can carry him horizontally as well) so spent more money though I already have slings (which I haven't succeed in using for him yet). Very easy to spend money on BB lor.

Sasa - have u weighed ur baby??? I wonder if mine is OVERWEIGHT!

Gathering in the East
5. lok/jonas/Parkway
9. Lanolin / Declan / Parkway
10. Flos/Isaac/Parkway

lanolin: must be lah...maybe we were on the same bus!

TBF moms: r u all still eating fish, after confinement? My hind milk is decreasing...almost zilch! now my bb is not full after drinking my EBM! OH dear...

flos,

I only received a letter from MCYS to say that Jonas is eligible for bb bonus and they will notify us when the $750 is credited into my a/c.

I sent in the application for CDA a/c at the same time I applied for BC.. One-stop service provided at the hospitals..

Hi Chantelle Sun,
I will bring my mum to taka and see if she like the model. Then we decide, I will let you know
However if you have any offer from someone else, do go ahead. Cos i do have some taka voucher to subsidies this purchase. Hence i might not be able to offer a good rate for you.

Bigtoes, I am at potong pasir which is NEL line as well. I am keen to meet up at kovan or hougang area for the gathering, let me know. Are there any baby friendly mall or restaurant we can meet up at Kovan, hougang ? Can you propose ?

Hi Lok,

I reread my posting. Realise that i type too fast and asking you to organise for food. I am sorry about it. What i meant is Are you intending to organize any food or drink for the gathering. If you are let us know the cost to chip in.

If you are not organizing, it is cool too ! We can self prepared some drinks or snacks for the gathering which might be easier for you

Jo Jo,

Yes, I will be catering some finger food. It's easier for me to settle the food so u all hv less things to carry.

Bigtoes:Which shop in Kaki Bukit you going? IS it the best bargain around? Can share contact?

OCEAN: ANyone has their contact and address? DO they have bb bjorn?

Crayonshin: AIyo..he wakes up 3 times a nite and you complain? Mine does that all the time la...sometimes 4 times a nite!!! He's 3 weeks old today... hope it gets beter soon! I've gotta seeDoc SIm too for pap smear i think.

Goldfish: HOpe your bb gets better soon.

Gathering in the East: WHen will this be? I would love to go...but i must get a user-friendly bb carrier first. my wrists are hurting!!! what kind of wrists guard can we get? from where?

I am a first time mum, gave birth to a baby boy last week. would like to check if you ladies here (who is oso a first time mum) feel stress when your confinement lady leaves and you need to handle baby yourself?

I am currently trying to pump out my BM every 3 hourly. Now with the CL around, am still able to concentrate with my pumping session. (hope to increase my BM with regular pumping). however, now I am kinda worried that when CL leaves, I'm not able to cope with my regular pumping session and taking care of BB.

Thus, how do you ladies cope if you intend to TBF and yet able to take care of baby?

<font color="0000ff">lanolin
haha... max was 5.07kg at 6+wks when he went for his 6-in-1. how heavy is ur little one? think should be ok bah. The babies in our thread here like quite big leh...

sarahmay: kaki bukit must be Baby Hyperstore (69, Kaki Bukit Ave 1, Shun Li Industrial Park, Singapore 417947 Ph : 6844 1123) or Baby Kingdom (a few stores down the same row). They dun necessarily offer the best bargain. I got my BB AIr cheap at Taka during the Bb Fair. Even FFY is selling it at a lower price, at atas Paragon, in the heart of Orchard some more leh! Baby Hyperstore is in the middle of Kaki Bukit industrial estate, u need a car to get there.

My left shoulders hurt too. I find the slimming binder very good. acts as a guard/brace for my spine.

thx for ur kind comments abt my cupcakes
I had fun doing them but i must say it was tiring! Hence I gave up the idea of doing 100 of them (I must be mad!!!) to send to school for my colleagues and ordered cupcakes from cupcake momma instead!
Will post pix of cupcake momma's cupcakes.

flos
thx but no, i'm not a home econs tr. I teach geography (that's why i advocate organic food! hee hee)
I still eat lotsa fish, just bought calcium supplement and prenatal/lactating mothers supplement for myself fr GNC too. I dun take fenugreek. MS still ok. In fact it's like more? But when I dun eat enough, can see that it drops. So no dieting!

alabone
isabelle was just mucking ard but we thot it made for a nice pic! As u can see fr the photo, everything has already been cleaned up! haha
Anyway i told hubby off and he apologised. I mean I'm really open abt constructive criticism and I dun mind him picking on the design but his tone and expression were like my cupcakes "yi wen bu zhi" and he didn't even appreciate the EFFORT. That's what made me mad!

BB BJORN
GEt the air! If u have budget go for Synergy!
Like sunnysunny mentioned, this is great esp when u gotta go to the loo!
Went to IMM today (with maid this time) and I cld carry isabelle on one hip and have baby in the BB bjorn at the same time! But not recommended of course. Just that she asked me to carry her and i humoured her for a few min. Bad for my back if i do that for too long.

goldfish
that's like the only pic i have of her smiling! It was pure luck.

Ava
Wow! U've got a cool dad!

poppy tay (popcorn_tay): welcome! My CL left last friday and it has been a hectic week for me! First few days I was coping well cos baby was still manageable. But last few days he decided not to be a "guai" baby anymore and bully mummy! I only manage to pump twice a day now after CL is gone. My boy demands a lot of attention now, need to be carried all the time and it can take anything from half hour to 2 hours to get him to sleep! He would cry and cry and I won't know how to pacify him him, gave him everything, changed diapers, fed Infacol, JFS, gave milk etc. I broke down twice with him before cos he cried till his voice is hoarse cos I felt that I was incapable of soothing him while the CL could. Come to think of it, I was too reliant on CL cos I basically just rest, eat, pump milk and jaga baby when CL is cooking, bathing or eating! Should have been more hands-on when CL was here, so baby not so sticky to CL.

crayonshinchan: I know how you feel! I had to call my mum and ask her to come over to take over the afternoon shift cos I'm going crazy liao! after I had good rest, I felt so much better and more adequate to care for the notti boy! indeed, family support is veyr important. Does your hubby help out too? My hubby works late most of the time, but I still look forward to his return, at least he can take over the 11/12 feed and I turn in early to get ready for night feeds and all the crying at night.

Sasa: i know what you mean manx! am losing my sanity with Eamon's crying and me not knowing what to do to soothe him or coax him to sleep after trying for hours! Am due to be back at work on 20 Oct, so am kinda looking forward to that. But am also not sure if I can cope with crying baby at home and working at the same time. Your maid helps to look after baby at night? Am thinking of getting a maid now too.

angeline: PM you my contact no. and address

poppy
im worried too! hahah..i have a maid, but shes new and is absolutely clueless about hoursework and taking care of bb or even todd.

now CL is here still ok, but when CL is gone im dead duck lah..

yesterday night, my elder boy decided to have anightmare just when sis is waking up for her feed. he didnt wan daddy, didnt wan anyboyd, kept calling out for me, so i had to go into the room while latching sis. then realise i cannot hug him, crawled to me pathetically, crying along the way, came up and pawed at me, wanting me to carry him. so end up daddy has to bring girl out, still not fed much...

prob also hb is not home many a times even at night. so how..haiz..

today ask maid to play with boy, he cried like hell. ran away from maid like she abused him before like that (shouldnt be coz im at home all the time)

can you imagine my problem when CL leaves??!!!!!maid cannot cook, said she is scared of cooking,said never taken care of kids before though initially claim she works as a teacher in childcare centre back home...she has never done hsework prior to this too...

i wanan cry man...

flos, shazz.
hope you have better luck with your maids...