(2008/09) Sep 2008

Lok - I really have to relook at my breakfast menu - hmm..maybe this gives me a chance to go to Cold Storage and buy some yummy things later!

bacon&egg - I think there are a few like Zion Christian book store etc...I bought mine at the catholic bookstore of my church. Sorry I am not familiar with the west so only know the east!

Flos - Maybe I'll have the vegetable spread and buy soy milk to eat with cereal + cook oats (with water and honey - no milk) once in a while. V heart pain to see his rashes and I am wondering if some of his fussing is because he is itchy???

Nanny - (I use this interchangeably with CL ...) she's the one who is soothing him most of the time and will bath him and cook nice meals for me and my hubs. I think u are a lot more handson with ur baby than I am so that's why u CL is a lot more ENG. heh heh .....

Lok: no, 60 degrees according to my CL is still too hot. Suppose it's 130ml, we'll add 100ml of 60 degrees hot water, followed by 30ml of room temp water, then FM.

autum: really? i think it's cos i sleep a lot at nite, plus my afternoon naps!!! unlike some hardwkg moms, i dun wake up at nite to latch...

i can feel the fats around my hips, so i guess if i burn them, i might be able to squeeze into my jeans? my pant suits are gone case liao

goldfish,
you have to add the desired amt of water first then milk powder last. if you add in your hot water, then powder, how do you know how much more water to add in later unless you use another measuring cup??

flos,
don't worry about the extra weight you are carrying. sure can lose it once you start exercising. what your massage lady said is a pile of nonsense. i gave birth to jared and nat and when i started exercising last end of the year, i was even lighter than pre preg weight.

alabone/kyrie: she really stressed me up! Must lose it all by the second mth, not even 4th!

kyrie: i got my maternalove goods today! very pleased with my purchase
but one item's colour appears rather diff from the pic on their website...

Lok: Thks! gt ur PM..

Juz nw went to Private Children Clinic @ KKH for bb checkup.. Shadiyah nw (1mth) weigh 4.7kg.. she gain 1.0kg.. Doc gave her Infanol for colic.. Hopefully it working.. She hv been crying & wailing tis past 2days... haiz.....

Rachel ,
i'm also staying in Tampines .. but am thinking to drive but my car seat are not meant for newborn infant so still having 2nd thought about driving .. which part of Tampines go U stay??

Weight Loss..
For me, i have already stop at 54kg for e past 2 weeks already .. ever since i stop my massage, e weight Loss also stop.. can those mummy who have loss some more weight after the massage advice?? Just bought a toning Lotion from guardian.. not sure it works or not.. wat are U mummies using to tone up those inflated tummy ??

Hi momoko, I stay behind the stadium / swimming pool.. at street 82. Yourself? So your car seat is meant for how old babies??

Wow so many mail in one day. Went for check up today at gynae office. My uterus has shrink back to almost original size. Happy me !

Lanolin, I went to plaza singapura branch as it is new and not crowded. In fact, I am the only customer... Beside, there is a nursing room near to the shop so is very convienent.. The carpark at plaza singapura is also very stroller friendly.

Sunray, i also having the same problem about the position of the carseat. The recommended position is to put behind the driver as it is the safest. Cos when in danger, driver first instinct is to protect himself.herself. So will steer the car away from danger based on his position. What i do is to feed Marcellus full and he slept throughout the whole journey when i drive alone.

Sunray, Marcellus cry initally when we put him in the tub... Guess he just woke up and is not ready to swim. I bought him up for the massage. While massaging, the lady said he has woken up fully, maybe can try swimming again. So we put him in the tub and this time... he enjoy... paddling around for about 10 minutes. WHen i took him out, he cried... Guess he like swimming...

The similac hamper : I register via a link based on someone recommendation in this thread. After which, i recieve a phone call sayng i will be receiving the hamper.

Bigtoe, i think the water is regulated as the lady spend time to regulate the water in the tub. However, i did not ask her what is the temperature

Lok,

I activate the private message already. Please pm me your address.

Can you organising or catering food for the gathering ? Let's us know how much we need to chip in for the food if you are organising or catering food for the gathering

Any mummy bring their baby to Gymboree classes ? I am thinking to bring marcellus for the trial class at tanglin mall branch. Any feedback ?

hi , am wondering any of the mummies here has'nt brought the stroller for baby? thinkin of selling my maclaren techno xlr coffee brown and blue. totally new , has'nt use before cause haven get to bring baby out yet cause less den 1mth old. still in box. collegues gave a bugaboo bee so i end up with 2 stroller. =(

Ya Lok.. let us noe hw much we muz chip in... but can i do transfer? I don carry much cash.. hehehehehe....will only hv min $20 in my wallet... whahahahahaha...

Hi Chantelle sun,

How much did you paid for the Marclaren stoller ? How much you are selling it ?
I am looking for second stroller as my mum find my peg perigo is too heavy for her to lag around. Hence i am interested in your marclaren

lanolin

had PM u..sorry for the delay...

lok

me may not be able to make it on 2oth liao..coz my FB childcare ctr close due to HFMD cases...n will be reopen on the 20th..not sure if sending her back on 20th or 21th...if she didnt go CC,then i cant go to the gathering liao coz cant jaga 1tot + 1 bb alone..

Kyrie/Limay

My Rachael has been facing the same problem last week too, keep waking up in the day and cannot sleep in at all. I tried to re-swaddle her again after not doing so since a few weeks back. It works! She is now back to being swaddled to sleep again... at least she likes the sense of security when her hands are not exposed.. she gets better uninterrupted sleep
You can try it with ur BBs..

MILK SUPPLY
Mummies, how do you keep up with ur milk supply when you are only pumping exclusively? Pump evey 3-4 hrs? Cos when I latch Rachael on for one whole hour, she still gets hungry, ended up drinking more FM!! I plan to pump EBM to feed her only from now, cos don't want to stop BF. DH told me to change to FM totally, but I refused. Do advise me, thanks!

My boy had colic yday...
Driving me crazy... after i bathe him at 1130am, he never sleep. Feed n sleep a while, n feed again. Come1pm is the worst. Started his wailing, those sharp n high pitch cries were making me nuts. And all this last till 530pm! Rub oil, change diapers, feed, cuddling... repeat all this for 4 hrs. buay tahan.

Finally HB came home n see a PD, given med. Hope everything is ok today. God Bless Us.

some pics of gabbie and her first mth

gabbie says hi!
1777684.jpg

the cupcakes i baked for the celebration

1777685.jpg

1777686.jpg

scrumptious food from mum's kitchen. Try it sometime!

1777687.jpg

red eggs nest table centrepiece decor suggested by a kind neighbour
1777688.jpg

And finally, Isabelle volunteering to clean up after the party!
1777689.jpg

But we were so busy with isabelle that we forgot to take pics of gabbie only in her first mth gear! HAiz...

BABY CARRIER:
Is Baby Bjorn good for our NBs? Which model is recommended -- active, air, synergy? And how much is it? I intend to get one but have never done any research on this, so clueless.. Help help..

Rachel & Momoko : I stay Tampines too! Rachel I am near you! St 71! Actually dunno if i should go gathering... i want to go..but worried abt going out ALONE wiht bb for first time!

Lok: I also am thinking of getting Bb Bjorn. My friends rec active. I think Air is cooler...and synergy is the latest model. BUt only comes in white if I'm not wrong. ANyone can advise? Also where to get the best bargain.

MIM Sling: I managed to use it like thrice so far...the snuggle hold. Bb sems to calm down and fall asleep like that. BUT i feel like i'm using it wrong...bb not supposed to be lower than waist level..but i can't seem to pull it any higher already. My boobs in the way! ANyone got advice???

Pre-Preg Weight: I think the 'BIG ' tummy my masseuse commented on was my tummy before I was preggers. Hahaha...so that one cannot really blame pregnancy lor. HOwever, i think the flab is really MORE flabby now. I got an abdominal binder that I try to use after i remove the massage binding. I got the lady to bind tighter today. but feel tt i got love handles on the back sticking out. And while my weighing scale says i'm back to pre-preg weight...i think i cld do with figure shaping. Drinking red dates and longan tea conscientiously now...dun dare drink my cranberry juice and water liao.

isabelle: gabby is soooo cute and happy!!! and your cupcakes are BEAUTIFUL! how do u have the energy and time with two kids to do all these?!!! envy envy. go join super mummy contest. sure win!

man yue catering: i just confirmed meihao99 for my party next sat. so sad that my original caterer cannot make it. sniff sniff. and i am too tired to go hunting for another.

Post-natal Depression:
Anybody kena this? i had twins 3 weeks ago and now due to over worry/stress I'm losing my appetite now, eat very little confinement food now for 3 meals and feeling hot and cold all over my body. Also feeling very tired all day and after getting up several times at night to help CL with feedings...I know i'm suppose to rest during this one month (and MIL is around too) but i can't help wanting to learn about caring for baby so i kept volunteering to feed/bathe them..really feel very bad cos i should be eating a lot now to regain my energy but i simply want to puke at the sight of food now....sorry need to rant...

Sarahmay,

Really huh? Then maybe Air or Synergy which is cooler will be better for our climate. Checked the BB Bjorn website: Synergy comes in all-white or all-black.

Do come to join us if u feel up to it. Just give E a good feed, hop onto a taxi (the trip usually sends them to slumberland) and come over.

bb2609,

recommend u rest. u hv a lifetime to look after your twins!

<font color="0077aa">Lok: Think you take me out from the gathering cos I might not make it. DOn't want you to cater too much food. Sob sob...

Isabelle: Gabby looks so happy! Keke.. The cupcakes are lovely! I want to make the mashmallow cake for the longest time, haven't gotten down to it.

bb2609: I think we can get depressed when there are so much new responsibilities for us!! But take it easy &amp; leave more work to CL. I was like you wanted to do so much things but end of the day I decided since I pay CL to help then might as well let her do the work! Even though I still get up &amp; fed bb in the night.</font>

hi all.. been sooo busy with reyes since CL left last friday.. Its been a week and I'm glad I'm still sane! haa..

We have quite a bit of Easterners ah.. rachel, momoko and sarahmay.. me ish in pasir ris.. prob when we're more apt at bringing out our babies, we can go shopping or la kopi together (in tampines lar).. I'm itching to go out for a while.. been stuck at home with baby for the whole of this wk. Trying to get a system up and running.

Postnatal depression
Yesteday I was just telling my hb how easy it is for pple to get depression. With the constant crying and screaming blue murder and endless latching and changing and all. Support from family is really impt.

bb2609..u really shd rest at this time.. u'll have a long way to go once CL leaves.. Prob now u can just observe.

Lok/Sarahmay, my frens got us a bjorn synergy as a gift. We've not used it but we've tried it at home and it seemed quite easy to attach and use. Just that like the MIM sling, might need a bit of practice in putting baby into it. And it comes in white and black..

isabelle, ur cupcakes look professional lor! haa.. Both gabby and isabelle look so adorable!

Isabelle
Wow! Your cupcakes look so yummy... Gabbie is so cute and chubby.

Lok
I'm using the Bjorn Air. I bought it at 'The first few years', $169 with 10% discount. I love it! Definitely easier to handle than MIM sling. I used it only when baby is older cos it is in a sit up position. It can get a little warm if you are using it outdoors. Can even use the toilet if you are out with baby alone.

1) Went to see PD for baby's rash...got medication to put on 3 times a day...it is heat rash and he is not suppose to be swaddled in non aircon places....pampered boy!

2) This PD is very safe type - showed me a study re 6-in-1 vaccination which caused 6 deaths in Europe. No such cases in Asia yet but he wrote to the drug company but didn't think their reply was good enough. So he says he doesn't do 6-in-1 ..only 5-in-1. He even photostated the study for my husband to see..... food for thought!

The upside of going to PD is that Baby Declan got weighed - 5.4kilos!!! Which means on the ave, he put on 420g per week -- which is OVER the recommended weight gain. ALAMAK!

Crayonshinchan - I am also easterner!!!! I stay around still road area.. :D

Lanolin: Whch PD di you go to? Wah! Can share the article?

Crayonshin: Wow! Nice gift eh? I also hope for such a nice gift...but prob no such luck. SO buy myself. hehe. I'm like u...i want to GO OUT too...and my confinement not even over..not tt i have been doing much confinement stuf. hahaha.

Sunnysunny: How did u get the discount? Btw, where is THE FIRST FEW YEARS? is it the cheapest around. Use in toilet? eek a bit gross right? germies germies.

BB Bjorn: Seems like synergy marries the best of AIr and Active. V tempting. Air is cooler but only up to 10kg. Active is up to12kg. can use longer. SYnergy uses best of the Active and Air models - 3D breathable mesh and up to 12kg. Dilemma.

Lok: Hmmm i go cr and let u know by this weekend ok? my hubby coming back for next weekend, flying off on 20Oct. So maybe i go send him to airport then go to your place from there...but i have no carrier...arms may break by then. hahah

Sarahmay/Lok

I am using Infantino for my NB..It's a very good carrier that comes in a small yellow box. From the States if I'm not wrong, it's small and compact, and colling for our climate. My BB can fit in nicely, as it is most suitable for infants only (3.6kg-9kg max). Moreover, it's more economical than baby bjorn, costs only $40
You might want to consider it...Just my 2-cents worth

SarahMay
If I go out alone with baby and have to use the toilet with the sling it's possible cos hands free. Er, germs... no choice heehee, I'm inside for less than 5 mins, in and out. I have the first few years discount card. I think one of the mummies here bought hers online, cheaper.

If you intend to use it for a long time, I think Beco can carry up to 18 kg, if I'm not wrong.

JAs: Infantino? So cheap ah? If that price then I may buy it from Tangs cos i've got about 200 cash voucher from there but dunno what to get.

BECO? Where to get that? For BB Bjorn what other places sell them? Trying to see where I can get discount.

Just to share, read online and realised that Spore's economy is back into a recession again after 6 years. Wages gonna be cut, back to retrenchment issues again. Looks worrying...
Think I have to cut down a lot more on unnecessary expenses and watch my spending carefully. Anyone is considering being a SAHM after ML is over? Looking at the declining economy + high inflation , it's definitely going to be a tough choice..

Sarahmay

I bought mine from a shop in Bukit Panjang plaza cos the other carrier that I am using is not suitable for newborns. I think Kiddy Palace sells it, you might want to try Tangs too. Me also got some vouchers from Tangs, still thinking what to buy with them. Maybe a Pigeon steriliser
I think Mothercare @ Harbourfront sells Baby Bjorn carriers too

Sarahmay
Yeap, there is a small bib attached in front of the carrier to catch baby's drool. Once you remove it, you can easily BF. For me, I have not tried it yet, cos mostly feed her on FM

lok,
i've used the baby bjorn original for my SB. v easy to use, just that when my SB urned abt 1 yr old, he outgrew it. so i sold it away thinking i was not goign to hv anymore kids..
then came along #3. so i bought the baby bjorn active cos the weight limit is up to 12kg vs air/ original is 10kg.
but Sharmaine is still too tiny for the baby bjorn. so thinking of getting a 2nd hand MIM sling or babyrock sling.. not sure which is better though.

As for the baby bjorn, i think the best model to date is the synergy. but it cost like almost $300 i think.. if you hv budget for it, then get the synergy.
i got my 2nd hand Active for $100. Active is same as synergy, just that the material is not the cooling type. but back support and weight limit are similar between the Active and Synergy..

btw, the MIM sling that u hv, which mterial and color is it ?

Wow, so many easterner!! We can arrange for lunch some day!

Sarahmay, it'll also be my first time bringing baby out.. and I havent figured how to use the sling! I tried, but seems like baby is in an awakard position?!?

Confinement food
Ladies, can I know roughly how much you spend on confinement food?

hey, i'm also staying in the east.. since it's our holidays now, we should hv a gathering in the east, say maybe Parkway or TP mall..

anyone wants to organise gathering in the East ??

Rachel,
I still in St.82 too.. small world.. kekeke.. Which blk?? i 842E... my car seat now is for my FB one.. think for 6months and above one.. Will try out bringing my Cayden out next wk after this wkend Manyue.. than see whether he can settle in tat car seat only or not.. If not, we can always take a cab together..
SarahMay,
Ya, i know tat u stay in St.71.. at the last gathering.. u did mentioned before.. so how?? going or not?? worse worse all 3 of us take cab.. think the driver going to faint.. hearing all the bb noise.. lol

Crayonshinchan,
you already done ur man yue already?? can come out already rite.. kekekeke.. yes yes.. let's go for coffee session.. since we not going back to work yet...let's work t out man...
Who else wanna join us?? lol

Momoko, I'm St 842C!!!! hahaha.. I'm also having my manyue party this weekend (Sat)!

Haha..can't imagine 1 baby cries, the rest will follow, and it'll be a nightmare for the cabbie! hahaha..

Hi Limyg,
you also "ON" for the gathering.. kekeke... dun mind to organise.. yes.. we see how the respond.. lol u full month already??

Rachel
im easterner too!!! stay near Macpherson!!

yes gathering in the east, parkway's quite bb friendly!TP a bit crowded lah...

isabelle
your cupcakes look real good!!! shame on your hb who picked on it!!!! he should feel so proud of you!!!

jas
im a sahm and going to be one for the next four years at least. you considering that?

the market fluctuates and there are highs and lows. we cannot possibly choose to sah or not based on market. if market is bad, just tighten out belts and do alternative, less money spending activities wiht the kiddoes lo... :p

momoko,
yup. me full month already. even if not full month, can also go out le..
okie. i'll be the organiser for east gathering!

lol.. this thread is really happening. already organising the next gathering when one has not passed.

Gathering in the East:
choice #1: Parkway Parade
choice #2: Tampines Mall

mummies interested, pls use this format:
mummy's nick/baby's name/preferred place of gathering
1. stefseansharbabes / Sharmaine / Parkway

StefSeanSharbabe
I tried the babyrock carrier. Not very good cos the netting is 'fixed', you can't adjust like the MIM sling and the padding on the shoulder is very thick. It's just not right for me (maybe just me), so I sold it.

Limyg,
Haha.. our next gathering.. we must also go one.. than for the east gathering.. if for whoever finds convenience lor.. lol

Think Parkway Parade also not bad... Crayonshinchan.. Parkway can?? or u prefer Tampines Mall.. lol

mummies interested, pls use this format:
mummy's nick/baby's name/preferred place of gathering
1. stefseansharbabes / Sharmaine / Parkway
2. momoko76/Chloe or Cayden (only either 1) / parkway