(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa: grunts when sleeping, yep. quite often. CL says it's nitemare. When he smiles, it's a nice dream I guess?

Aiyo size 32, I'm way bigger than that man!!! I'm fat mama now

Luckily my DH is very good at feeding. He will help me finish the entire bottle. then again, he only feeds on weekends, unlike the mother who must face the bb 12-14 hours per day at home.

sasa: pay is peanuts? no welfare? u r really a 'xiao nuren' wor...is your place very near to Tuas? Can drive home to visit your bb some more! That's a consolation

<font color="0000ff">yingflo
I'm starting to feel anxious abt resuming BD again. hhhmm... already b4 preg i was dry. think now drier le..
hb has been asking for it a few times le. but juz no mood to do anything. after settling my boy, i would rather get my beauty slp

Flos
hehe... juz a tot, do babies actually dream? wonder wat they dream of since they have not seen the world yet.

Envy u have a DH who's good at feeding. but den again, I should give my hb a pat on his back. he has been doing very well.

n i realli salute those who can handle more than 1 kid ALL BY THEMSELVES. I've been looking after my boy by myself these days and am starting to feel so frustrated. Think my patience is wearing thin so it might be a blessing that I'm back to work. At least i'm getting my sanity back.

Home is juz 5 min to office

by the way Shazz,

Little scarlett had a week's episode of fussing, incessant crying, and no amount of car ride, gripe water, patting or singing, pacifying helps, until we brought her swimming and massage, all the air, the burps, the farty wind came out! she burped at least 3,4 times, farted at least 4 times, and her tummy looked so much smaller too, maybe you'd like to try bring eamon?

<font color="0077aa">My baby make lots of noise also &amp; sometimes I gotta jump out from bed when I heard him cry out &amp; then see he sleeping peacefully. AFter I went back to sleep, his noise will come again.. Haiz..</font>

<font color="0000ff">storeberry
the same thing happen to us. he make us jump out of bed onli to see him sleeping den when we fall back to bed, he will start his nonsense again. so after awhile, I juz ignore him.. haha, so bad hor :p

yingflo
think my hb can't be bothered ah. u noe, we haven BD ever since we found out I was preggy and he didnt even release it himself. always telling mi he's tired from work and such so no mood even to release it.

Trying for next kid
haha.. any one alrady planning when to start trying for ur next one? juz a tot

Hi,Koras

Strong lady you are.. trust is not there but can try to build up the trust again.. monitor your hubby and see if he is sincere to make it up with you..if yes, then you need to forget the incident, if not, it will always be something that might remind you whenever you two have a tiff..

I remove the mittens occasionally to "air" the fingers.. but still put it on most of the time cos I realise my baby's fists turn cold easily.. so keep him warm with the mittens..

breadmum - I will try sending the details to you again after this post! Hope it helps. She's not SUPER clean but it is good enough for me so I hope she can be of help to you!

Flos / Kyrie - I got my package today!!
Haven't tried on the tops yet. I tried the sling though and my boy REVOLTED!!!!! I think i was not doing it right. Will try again when he is in a better mood later. Sigh...hope we can succeed - if not also money down the drain!!

Yingflo / Koras - very sorry to hear what you have to go through....esp when you need more support. Jia You!!!

sasa - my hubby same same as yours when feeding the baby.. they dun know how precious our EBM is and said baby dun wan liao when baby is not sucking..so i told him - "either the little one finishes it or you mix with your coffee"..

Breadmum - done!

Shazz - Did Mdm Shariff help at all??? How long did Eamon cry before you gave up? It's so trying isn't it? Sigh...

Making noise - my boy also make a lot of noise when he is sleeping. I suspect he doesn't go to deep sleep very easily!

GF method - my friend just gave me more encouragement to try to get baby into routine. He still wakes up twice a night for feeds so hope it will go down to 1 by week 8 and sleep from 11pm - 7am by week 10. any one else trying it?

sasa - my boy is about a week younger than urs and he doesn't drink more than 100ml ... never had 120ml before. I don't have a weighing machine but I think he is putting on decent weight so I'm not going to force him to drink more.

Eczema - my boy has eczemaaaaaaaaa!! His ears are read and it is peelinng. poor thing. Husband thinks it is either the beer I drank or the crab I ate. Are you all avoiding peanuts as well? I have peanut butter almost every morning lehhhhhh

Weight - aiyah, u all don't say already. I stll need to lose 6 kilos ... and was lamenting to Ava that I didn't lose any weight after being discharged!! Sigh..... I love my food so cannot stop leh.

Lanolin/Flos, I also just got my package!
Hee.. just tried them on. Luckily the size fits. But the tops look better on the models in the webby leh.. hahaha

Sasa, mine does that too. Guess it's normal with all babies then.. but it can be so disruptive to our own sleep isn't it? Sigh everytime I'm about to fall asleep when I thought he is, he makes some funny noise and I leap out of bed again.

My boy's been missing his afternoon naps these few days. He wakes up about 9plus and refuses to sleep anymore all the way till evening about 5pm and he dozes off. He's tired today but some stoopid renovation in dunno which unit in the same block has been drilling and drilling, frightening the little one everytime he manages to sleep! So frustrating!!!!!

Expressed Breast milk
Do you store it in bottles or milk bags? My bottles are running short soon so i'm thinking if i should store in milk bags. If i do, is there a plasticky smell?

<font color="0000ff">Autumn
my boy is at my in laws house. Maid and MIL looking after him. MIL is resting at home so she can help keep an eye
but i'll bring him back every nite so i can spend some quality time with him. hopefully he doesnt forget my smell after some time

LC
haha.. good one. think ur hb would rather 'force' the little one the down the milk

lanolin
now tat i'm not looking after max myself.. think it's kinda impossible i try out the GF method.

oh.. my boy is putting on weight. PD saw him n commented he's fat. so these days if he doesnt wanna finish his milk, i wouldnt force him too. pains mi too much to see him feel so uncomfy when wanting to vomit.</font>

Oh dear lanolin!!! My boy's ears are also red and peeling alittle!!!! Gosh, dun tell me really eczema ah? Think i'd better bring him to the PD tomm. The rashes on his face is clearing but his skin appears dry leh..

sasa - yah, I think the GF method is easier if there is an extra pair of hands and eyes to entertain him during the periods when they are NOT suppose to fall asleep. Is ur maid good? If so, she can tag-team u MIL to try out the routine?

Kyrie - Ooooo...I want to try mine too. I'm also NOT model so will be happy as long as they fit. Curious to what u and flos bought though!

Kym - massage: did u bring ur baby for massage or do u do it urself?

thanks lanolin- got it.

just for info on my allergy/rashes:

fenugreek is used with other herbs that affect blood clotting, bleeding may occur. Some of the most common herbal products that might inhibit blood clotting are:

Danshen
Devil's Claw
Eleuthero
Garlic
Ginger
Ginkgo
Horse Chestnut
Panax Ginseng
Papain
Red Clover
Saw Palmetto

Shazz
Wow, Eamon is so heavy!! Amazing man! Hope you are taking good care of your back! Remember to bend knees when you pick him up if he's on bouncy chair or floor mats etc!

Shaved our girls' heads today (my hb shaved them...CL said, his hands were not shaky with the second one, but was a bit shaky with the first LOL)

1773486.jpg
1773487.jpg

kyrie- no choice as i have to find myself a job. and sometime he got to study alt day. by the time he back home is around 11+.if things happen again i will not consider to give him one more chance.

yingflo- sometime i did told him off. and sometime i also ask him go marry his mobile phone as he will carry or put near to him.
my breast also feel soft sometime can feel that the milk is there, but when now i pump getting less. TMC doc mention to drink hicken soup, papaya with fish or more protein soup.
today my mum cook give me hope it will help

sasa de mouse- that time when my boy is so cracky that he doesnt want to sleep for few hours at night. when happen that my hubby came over to stay, he carry him then in one one position. then after that my boy cries again he also give me the duno what to do look. my boy when he stretch he making very loud sound.

flos- i duno. he keep saying his study and work stress la. then need someone to look after the house also. i was so fed up. sometime even need me to ask him when is he coming over my mum plc then he will say.

autum- i actually told his sis in law that time when i found out he got a fling outseide that i do not want the baby. she told me better don't go for aboption since the baby is so big le. so no choice that even though is give him another chance to change but seem that ater baby out he doesnt seem to care also..

LC- i am not strong de.that time my friends really accompany me a lot during that time
that time keep on crying and cant sleep and eat well. hard to really see if he is sincere to change anot. but still that incident will always be in my mind.

Kyrie!!!!!! Don't panic. Mine's peeling very badly and I know it is eczema coz both hubs and I have it. So I just moisturise it 3 times a day with the calendula cream from california baby. His face still have the "heat rashes" though.

Yingflo - I also haven resumed sex yet.. I bot the medicine from my massage lady for shrinking of below.. but have yet to take.. really har, women needs to take care of baby, need to work, need to check if marriage sex life is fulfilling etc, really super women we are..

Gathering,
Could the organiser PM me the home address? I cant remember which mommy's home we are going to..sorrie!

We are still planning for Monday or weekend gathering where daddy also can join in?

BB Hair
Anyone not shaving their bb's hair? I am hoping those bb hair will shed on its own..What the pros and cons of shaving n not shaving?

Flos,
I used to be a size 7 - 7.5. After pregger, i grow into a size 8-9...now I cant fit into any of the shoes i bought during pregger..I had to "hold" my shoes with my feet muscles instead of the shoes holding my feet!!
Good excuse to buy new shoes..

Clothing
Anyone fitting into their pre-pregger clothes already? I am contemplating to give away all my old clothes n start a new wardrobe cos most of my bottoms cant go beyond my hip!

<font color="0000ff">bacon&amp;egg
ME!!!!! I'm not shaving my boy's hair. he's now 7w+ le and we have realised that he's 'balding'. seems like there are bald patches here n there leh... so wonder if it's a wise choice

Clothings
haha.. good idea to start on a new wardrobe. good excuse hor. mayb i should contemplate it too :p</font>

bacon &amp; egg
Don't sell your old clothes too soon (unless u WANT a new wardrobe...not because u can't fit anything now)!!! You will be able to fit into them in months to come....

baby hair will drop on its own, just may be a bit uneven...depends on baby to baby how it will look as it drops.

i think eh, able to resume sex life is one thing, resumed and not being able to complete is another lo.. damn sian, super woman becoming shacked and tired woman liaoz..

Ava, your gals, very lovely

koras, i understand hw you feel, the scar will always remain, but should try hard to forget,
said is easier than done though.. jia you babe

baconegg, there are no pros and cons ba for not shaving bb's hair, just that chinese believe that bb's hair gotta be shaved as they are "dirty" lo.. but was thinking, their hair so much softer before shaved lo.. wasted..

bacon&amp;egg, I did not shave too.. din know need to shave..

FREEZING BREASTMILK - can anyone advise how do you freeze your EBM? and how to thaw thereafter? can we re-freeze after thaw before warming it up?

bacon&amp;egg,

U are coming to my place! I hv PM u the address earlier today... If change to weekend and include hubby, think will spill over to the corridor or to my neighbour's unit.... keekekkee

LC,

NEVER NEVER re-freeze thawed breastmilk. I freeze using milk storage bags. Usually use hot water in a mug to thaw it and once thawed, must use within 24 hrs. Some pple will use running water, or bring it down from freezer to the fridge to thaw it but I find that it takes a long time and waste the 24-hr lifespan..

LC - i freeze mine in special milk bags, pyo pyo. or even bottles.
Just bring it down to the fridge to thaw for a few hours. And do not refreeze them, consume them within 48 hours

Hi Sasa.. like ur bb, I oso dunno y sometimes my bb can drink 120ml of milk, sometimes 50ml then stop. Waste alot of FM, heart pain. Can u share your bb's intake for the day? When I prepare 120ml, she doesn't want to drink then when I prepare 90ml the next day, she cries for more like 1 hour later. sigh..

Massage:

I brought my girl to the swimming place for massage, after her swimming, i opted for massage, or you can opt for massage alone

Cost: i bought the package for 10 times, $296 in all (10 swimming, 10 massage)

Shiok! I just finished my massage session this afternoon.

bacon&amp;eggs: mememe!!! I didn't shave Isaac's hair!!! Only trim a bit, yi si yi si...He is also losing hair! Horrors!

Phew! At least I found one more kaki whose feet is still big like mine. Before pregnancy, my size was 6, now probably 7? Those pointed heels are too small for me now. I gotta throw them away! I'm soooooo sad!

I can only wear my spandex maternity jeans, man! To pull them up beyond my hips is a wishful thot! The greatest pain is my business suits! They are non-stretchable and therefore, I can't fit into any of them anymore!

I've already packed aside some old clothes for the rag and bone guy to pick up...They are no longer in fashion, so no point keeping them in my wardrobe. I look fwd to buying new clothes that are in vogue now, albeit in larger sizes!!! HAHAHA!

And, still can't fit into either my wedding and engagement rings. MORE HORRORS! Time to buy a new ring!

Shazz: u shoe-queen, can u fit into your heels yet?

lanolin/kyrie: I need to open my letterbox to check but I think I shd receive them today like u 2!!! I bought 2 tanks and 1 tee. how abt u? kekeke!!

Lanolin: PEANUT BUTTER??????????????!!!!! I hv been eating that throughout my confinement!!!! What the %^$#%$&amp;?????? Eczema? I hope mine is not eczema. Still botchy and red...We hv been wiping his cheeks, ears and neck whenever he pukes milk out. Poor bb

ava: oooh so adorable! those botak heads u hv there

Lok:

Was reading about dmbb's post #106...Can we place the unfinished FM into the fridge and take it out after 1 hour later to warm it up again for bb to drink?

Lok - Thanks..

a) can i freeze the EBM a day after pumped or it must be freezed immediately after expressed out?

b)when you say hot water, you mean boiling water? will it wipe out the nutrients?

c) can use storage bottle instead of storage bags?

d) how long can the frozen milk be kept?

you mentioned that thawed milk need to be use within 24hours, assume if baby can't finish the full thawed milk, can I leave the thawed milk in the fridge and warm it later or should I just leave it in room temperature?

today lazy to make my dinner, so ordering Mac later..

lok,
sso (singapore symphony orchestra) baby prom is a 1-hr introduction to classical music &amp; musical instruments for infants &amp; toddlers. my SIL went last year &amp; she was full of praises for it. that's why trying v hard to go for it this year, mainly for my FB gal lah. at least this "show" is confirmed suitable for toddlers and they dun restrict entry for infants. so i can bring both my kids along.

flos,
before sso baby prom tickets were released to public sales, there's a period for friends of sso to "pre-purchase". i dun have any lobang to buy the tickets early. on the 1st day of public sales, i login at 3+am (when i was expressing milk in the wee morning), all tickets for saturday were SOLD OUT! darn, should have login at 12 midnight sharp, but i was too shacked out then, needed my beauty sleep.

later, sso decided to add another showtime @ sat 2:15pm. this time round, i login the minute (or should i say, second) the sales started. woah, i managed to get seats at the front block! so...yes! i'm going for the baby prom!

not going for disney live show, precisely for the same reason that mickey mouse is not the main character. my gal is not familiar w the other characters, so will be a bit wasteful to go for this exp show. ever went for disney on ice last year, my gal only showed signs of "recognition &amp; enjoyment" when mickey &amp; gang were on-stage. she doesnt know little mermaid, lilo &amp; stitch, lion king etc... for that few minutes that mickey &amp; gang were whizzing past us, her mouth was wide opened &amp; eyelids didnt even batted.

Flos - peanuts are very er....what's the word? It is a very common allergen (I think that's the word). Lots of people are allergic to it so the baby might be too. I'm stopping peanut butter (though I LOVE IT!) and seafood for now (even though it is after 40 days) and see if his rashes gets any better.

Maternalove - I bought 3 tops (all with sleeves - my arms are flabbbbbbbby) and 2 slings. :D Go check!

wah -- even rings need to buy new ones? I haven't had the courage to try my old jeans.....will do so after I go back to the gym!

Koras: Hugs. HOpe things get better for you soon. Stay strong for the sake of ur bb.

AIyo...my bb seems to be getting fussy. After drinking, he seems to fight sleep. Cries and cries until he looks like a fiery tomato...try o latch him on thinking he is hungry...but then. he spits out my nipple...argh

Funny Noises: Yes, My baby makes all sorts of strange sounds...even when drinking sometimes.

Shazz: Your bb is 5+kg and you got wrist pain. Mine only 3+ and my wrists hurts! Sometimes, my forearms are 'frozen' cos carry him to long. Ouch! How ah?

GF method: Seems like a few of your bbs already settling into routine. Mine is Day 20 already but still at nite and during day....feeds are not regular. Help!!! Should i panic at all abt not having him settle into routine? All this bb training thing very stressful le. And I wonder if it is cos my BM flow not sufficient enough for him. Sometimes he drinks chop chop and other times almost 1 hour. How come?

BB Swimming: Pricey lei. Can do one session and not sign on package?

Intimacy: I don't know whether my wound has healed enough. THe thought of resuming BD makes me cringe a little...scared of tearing or something. Ouch ouch ouch.

Lochia: When will this clear? Mine has been like the tail-end of period sort of spotting for the last week...does it mean my lochia is finishing?

Sasa: Looong time never see u online. Your max is alread 6wks plus?!!! Time flies!

Gathering: I wish i could join you mummies...but I dun dare venture so far yet on my own.

Kyrie: Hey! My son also has been fighting his afternoon naps...not sure why. How old is your son now? SO how do you cope with his sleeplessnes?

flos,

unfinished FM or EBM? The general conservative stand is not to keep the milk for too long as it will introduce bacteria.
FM --- I used 1 hr as a gauge.
For EBM, the IFC told me 1.5 hrs (but suggest 1 hr to be conservative). I just leave it at room temperature, not in the fridge to be warm up again. Other experienced mummies, what do u do?

LC,

a) that's what I do sometimes.
b) I use the boiling water to thaw the milk. To me, so long as the thawed milk doesn't heat up to boiling water temp, it won't wipe out too much of the nutrients. Do note that freezing will cause some of the anti-bodies to be lost.
c) yes, provided u hv that many storage bottles!
d) frozen milk can be stored up to 2 mths

I suggest room temp. The change in temp --- cold, warm, cold, warm is more likely to introduce bacteria than just room temp.

LC,
here's how i "treat" my frozen milkbags. the nite before, i will place my milkbag in a cup of water &amp; leave the whole thing in the fridge. in the morning, it would have totally thawed out. then, i will pour the correct volume into the milk bottles for baby consumption. since all this while, the milkbag is always in a cold environment (within the fridge), i have no issue with the loss of nutrients or thawing at high temp.

the volume u have stored in the milkbag will definitely not match the volume ur baby is drinking. cos i dun think u can predict when u are going to use the frozen EBM and how much ur baby will drink weeks or months down the road. so, for my case, after pouring out for 1 bottle, the excess can go into a 2nd bottle for the next feeding. if need be, can top up with thawed EBM from another milkbag. just have to make sure the thawed milk are used within 24hrs.

so, my method, no wastage of my "precious gold". one possible bad scenario, leaking/damaged milkbag - u would have to dump the whole bag, since water in the cup would have contaminated the EBM. this shouldnt happen often if u have used good quality milkbags &amp; are careful when storing them.

thanks, Twendy.. I am trying to pump out and freeze some EBM for rainy days.. hahaha... and also to let my boobs rest a while.. my supply is not fantastically high but still sufficient for my baby..

My baby is vry sleepy today, especially.. have been sleeping and drinking very little. and today there is NO POO POO so far!! aiyo.. dun know what is wrong..

lok: unfinished FM. sometimes my boy falls asleep and there is still a balance of 50ml. such a waste to throw it away. After all, he wakes up in less and an hour and begins to look for milkmilk again.

twendy: ah, that is the matinee run I see...Its gonna be rather cramped in the concert hall, plus that flight of stairs from the main entrance. can't bring stroller there I guess? I am a fan of any SO...

lanolin: I think it might also be the butter prawns I was taking at the manyue buffet...sigh...

40 days abstinence? I am new to the new deadline. LOL. I thot I'm liberated today, Day 28 of my confinement.

I just checked with Karen of Maternalove. She just exchanged one of my tee and posted it today. I will receive it in 1-2 days' time. Can't wait to try the size. I selected M, not sure if I can squeeze in!! FLABBY ARMS? me too lah...I intend to wear cardigan/jacket over those basic tanks cos I wanna use the jacket as my 'nursing poncho' to cover my modesty if I do BF in public. haha

Fussy baby - my baby is ALSO very fussy and can hardly sleep for like 15 mins! AHHHHHHHHH!!! ... because he is so fussy, he has gotten the habit of sleeping on CL's tummy!! I've told her to put him down which I know she does but he will then wake up within 5 mins and CRY CRY CRY.

Maybe I should bring him swimming and massaging soon!!!

LC - my baby sometimes doesn't poo poo every day....once in like 1.5 days but it seems it is ok. Then he will poo poo A LOT and become very very hungry.