(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi all.. been MIA for some time.. adapting to life with baby. Won't be able to join you gals for the gathering, not too confident about bringing out baby on my own yet.

Manyue - anybody used Manna Pot Catering before? I need to find a halal catering coz several of my colleagues are muslim.

Bigtoes, do you think that I could have the template for your birth announcement - the Star Wars one.. I really like it...

To all the other teachers.. when will you all be going back to school?

LC
the anaesthetist must have hit a nerve or something. ask him for a waiver!!! kekekekek...shouldnt have pain after epi tho sometimes it can happ

cloud
think most of us first time mummies arent confident about bringing bbs out too!!! so just hop on a cab and go for the gathering lah..all likeminded people hahaha..
eih but i may not be able to be there coz it's my last day of confinement...so see what happs lah...

lilboymum

not sure too, mybe he loves to watch & do at the same time, tats y i say no need me liaoz.. but come to think abt it, i tried to do.. quite pain sia.. so dun dare to do.. u gals no prob?

Wld like to attend the gathering too cos haven't had a chance to meet up with all of u yet. But if weekday I can't go cos I wun b able to handle bb alone.. so it'll be good if it's on a weekend so my hb can come along too..

Limay, think if me, I'll juz carry handcarry bb.

Flos, read b4 in the papers i think, tt it's ok not to 've car seat in cab. tt's one of the few exceptions.

Lanolin, cld be me but tt was sometime ago.. anyway cld i have the PT cleaner's contact pls.. btw, do u know her charges..

storeberry- i also have a bit discharge was thinking to go TMC. Then i think better to wait till completely finish then go better

Lok- that y i feel strange when my hse clinic mention that to inject 5in1 on his 4mth , then 6in1 again in 6mth. think i bring my boy to
polyclinc c better

Flos - seem like i ate fenugreek not much different. not help in MS. went TMC tdy coz of my son constipation, doc say drinking chicken soup or papaya with fish soup help in MS.
now after 6 hrs then able to pump 100ml which is not enough for my boy

Angeline Goh (angeg)- if on FM need to keep sterising bottles. Coz i bought NUK brand they mention can sterlise up to 6 hours.

tmc doc mention today that his bcg injectoin that mark is a bit red. so given mi cord powder to apply.

If we want to stop MS, what is the best way to do?

sarahMay- i have check out with the doc, she mention that if baby doesnt want to sleep at night, try to keep the room dark so that they know when is day and when is night

LC
I don feel any pain at the epi area....

Gathering
on Nov? so tt the rest will finish their confinement by then?
So hw much per person need to contribute?

Thanks for the advice, Ava.

LC, I try to stand up for myself, but like I say, everytime I tried to give my stand, we end up quarrelling. And I always end up losing.

My MIL is driving me nuts. First she comes to my house without informing me first and unlock the door herself. I got a shock when I saw her in my house. Then she doesn't allow me to rock my baby to sleep in her rashule. Instead, she just keeps saying "sui jiao" to the baby. Then when baby closes her eyes, she gave me a satisfied look, but baby only closes her eyes for a while. As her mother, I know when she needs to be rocked to sleep. Worse still, when baby is crying in her rashule, she doesn't allow me to carry her too! When baby cries, it means she needs us, rite? She thinks carrying baby will spoil her. But it's not as if I carry her all the time. I find that she can fall asleep with her tummy upset if I carry her at the beginning. Babies needs to be pampered sometimes too! Urrghh.... She's totaly driving my crazy with all the can't dos. And now, HB is also not allowing me to carry baby when she cries!

bigtoes,

How come not easy to get a cab to my place?
It might sound daunting to go out alone with bb but it's really not that difficult for NBs. Don't bring so many barang --- I hv mamypoko diapers, Pigeon wipes, diaper cream, sterilizer, hot water etc at home. U just need to bring yourself and Kieran. Like what lilboymum said, just hop onto a cab and come over. At least, it is easy to call a cab from my place as Citicab Service Centre is just round the corner.

lilboymum,

Try to join us. Will be very pleased to meet up with you, CY and CH.

flos,

Sorry, i blur blur. Yes, 20 Oct not 20 Nov..

Sarahmay,

Can really tell there's something wrong with your keyboard...

wingkei- let them know that they baby need milk or need to change diapers then lock up the door. if not when you and your hubby alone at the home with the baby, you go downstair to get sometime when you know your baby is about to wake up. don't bring your mobile phone with you. go down for around 20 min or so. then let your hubby have a taste that taking care of baby is not easy

haiz.. i think i have a prob having sex.. haha.. thats y sians lo..

ya la, MIL always gives problems sia.. mine worst, she is sick yet still carries my boy, so buay zi tong lo.. yet hub dun care, coz his mother wants to play with my boy.

just pray hard that he dun get infected by her virus, if not, i will start to BLAME her liaoz.. haha.. so evil..

wingkei, yalor...some parents hv tt old thinkings... wat doc told me, when bb cries muz check why she cry..den carry her cz bb need our comfort...bb will feel secure tt way

Flos , violate traffice rules if I dun buckle seat belt? i din know abt that.. so far the cabbies never say anything.. din manage to watch the movie lar.. i cannot feel balanced leh, my relationship with hubby is really like boredom, its always baby baby baby and our topic is all abt baby.. sianz..

Ya, Yingflo.. I roughly know wha you meant you have prob with having sex.. me also got a mental hurdle.. hahaa.. and my hubby like ok with it and can wait until I cross the hurdle which is dun know when..hohoho... my baby has mucus every night.. haha.. I use pigeon mucus cleaner.. not everytime it works.. sometime I fed up of "digging gold" so I just give up lor.. or wait till he sneeze. :p

pigeon mucus cleaner? whats that? me too, helps him to dig gold as well.. but he sneeze, nothing comes out de lei, think its harden in his nose liaoz.. btw, what's mental hurdle, i think ah, not surprise if he dun comes back at nite liaoz.. u get what i meant? haiz..

Yingflo - you can get in those shopping mall.. It is pigeon brand, got two kind, one is to use your mouth to suck and the other one is like a pump. or alternatively, you can buy the nasal decongestant fr Guardian..its for infants..

Goodness! you dun think so badly of your hubby? paranoid lar..

koras

"If we want to stop MS, what is the best way to do?"

Don't latch baby. Just pump out your milk. Try to pull the hours longer to pump. Slower day by day your milk supply will drop.

Example:
1st day: Pumping interval is 4hrs apart
2nd day: Drag till 5hrs

Continue to drag..

I'm doing this since 4th oct. Now only manage to pump out 60ml and is after long hours. Don't eat too much fish..

If this won't work, you have to consult doctor to give you medicine to stop milk supply. But i heard is not a good choice.

Sri Leo - ya, give up liao lar.. cos jayden also cannot stand me disturbing his little nose.. Last night I manage to do a "manicure" for him.. goodness, his nails are so longgggggggggggg...

ee... use mouth to suck, gross sia.. haha.. but the pump type, oni for watery mucus? what if its like harden yet dun quite dare to dig deep.. wondering if there's something which can desolve type..

well, i guess so la being paranoid, perhaps with such figure, he see liaoz oso turned off lo, coz i oso gets turned off when i looked into the mirror.. :'(

anyway, its a real blessing to have a understanding hub, not like mine.. go straight to porn site..

LC, do you trim ur bb's nails when he is asleep or awake? is it a must to get a nail cutter for infants, or juz the normal type will do?

yingflo, the suckinng one got a tube one lar.. it will be collected in a container.. last time i used my mouth to suck directly fr baby jayden nose.. hahaha... u go guardian to buy.. got one nasal decongestant for infant..u might wan to try..

i trimmed the nails when he is sleeping..i use clipperd for baby.. got it fr mothercare..

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: Yah, ur keyboard really got problem.. but still can understand except what is send the passport via APPLES?

Thanks mummies! Flos, that is actually a cloth diaper tied at two ends to put on his tummy one...

Ava: your hubby ultimate!! So farnie! MAyb I will try that.. haha!</font>

Yingflo
long nails?? since Shadiyah is born, no more long nails for me.. i scared ltr i hurt her soft bb skin..hee... I use cotton bud.. hahaha... gd... but muz hold her face firmly..scared ltr dig so deep...

LC
opps...i nt yet trim Shadiyah nails..mum oredi told me her nails is long..but i totally forgotten abt it..hehehe

Koras
Yup..i strgly agree wit u.. Husband tot we only gd at complaining but they dunno wat actually we hv been thru..

Baby mucus
Sometimes I also find it hard to get it out. I use both the pump and cotton bud. I find the pump works only if his mucus is wet. Anyway he hates me touching his nose.

yingflo,
don't feel so bad. Think majority of us here have not resumed sex with our hubbies too. Me neither. Is yours c-sect or natural? If natural, at most 6 weeks right?

Jabs
My PD asked me to go back to him next Friday when my boy is nearing his 6th week. But I'll most prob not go back to him but to a GP for the jabs instead.

Shazz, the Sebamed lotion works? Cos I realise that the pimples on my bb's face have lightened but his skin is also very dry.

Wingkei,
Rem the child is you and your hubby's de. Not your MIL and her son's.

You do not need to "try" to make your stand. You JUST MAKE your stand will do. Repeat wad you want to do with your BB and repeat again until your hubby fed up. But u dun need to raise your voice. Say in a calm manner you want (not wish) to do such and such... Let him know you are very firm with wad you've decide. Hope this will work.

Anyway by law you have the rite to take care of BB. Yes tell them nid to check if got poo or urine or not and take chance to carry BB. And yes, BB does nid to be carried cos they lack of security mah.Tell them many books say the same thing but i perceived they'll say books are books, theory oni.
Wingkei, you must be strong ok! We mothers here support you all the way! You can give your ILs cold shoulder also, heck care them lah. Jia You!

hi xuanmommy,
I just joined this thread last week, and i saw that you delivered your girl on 28 Sep.. me too!

Storeberry,
the cloth-bolster u put on your boy's head looks very cute, like the Star Wars character..

Yingflo,
don't have to wait till 4mths.. but wait till 6 weeks or something.. most impt is to let your stiches heal.. else if abrasion, may lead to infection. try to talk to your hubby to make him understand.

hi cloud,
for muslim caterer, u can try www.delihub.com they are a subsidiary of Neo Garden. I like their food. nice!

lilboymom,
Agree that most first-time mummies will feel scared abt bringing their baby out for the first time.. but after a while, most of you will feel it's ok. :p

yingflo
re: restarting the sex engine...remember you may need to use lubricant esp if bf'ing as vagina wall will be quite dry...!

bacon &amp; eggs &amp; Bigtoes - thanks for the feedback. aiya, i just changed from bo bo cha cha to fruit longan cocktail. prawns not so fresh and tarlet runny huh..hmm..ok let me see if i can adjust the menu. they sure say i fickle..ha ha ha

Lanolin - me..am looking for a part time cleaner in the east. do pm me. thanks. i really need to clean up my place when CL leaves. now my nice home is like a msian hostel and toilets not cleaned well. sigh.

As mentioned, did any of you buy a stroller or a pram. cause hubby bought a stroller but CL commented that its not appropraite for bb. This sent him fuming mad.

Also, i have finally started wearing my shorts and t-shirts at home but my CL says i must wear long pants. as i will get "wind rashes". she claims the rashes i have are "wind rashes". anyone any ideas? doc says its heat rash. so conflicting.

Also, CL is suggesting my family bathe in pomelo leaves the day before my manyue celebration. anyone of you did that?

lilboymom: eventually, i'll buy a COmbi, cos Peg Perego is only for my DH. I can't carry baby and open that bulky stroller myself!!!

LC/dmbb: Actually, my parents have always violated traffic rules. They handcarry their grandchildren and dark out the rear windows!!!

You are still hv pain at your spine? That's not right!! call your gynae to check!!

wingkei: hv u had your manyue? Did your mom and MIL talk during the party?

yingflo: how many more kilos hv u to lose? when did u give birth? has your lochia finished flowing?

koras: yes, they will tell u the same soup. but frankly, after our confinement, who has the time to cook papaya soup. Anyway, i'm sick of papaya fish soup. I'm only taking Fenugreek pills, more convenient.

EXPRESSING will reduce milk ss? Why? If one expresses as often as one latches, the ss shd remain the same rite?

Lok,
what is the address of your place ?

Yingflo,
dun be sad. I totally understand how u are feeling. my hubby used to surf porn websites ocassionally too till i caught him one night and got really really mad at him. from then on, he did not dare surf porn websites.
why dun u have a talk with him and tell him u dun like him surfing porn websites ?
i feel surfing porn websites is more of an addiction, not so much of a desire to have sex. So even if u hv sex with him, he might still go back to those websites. If u really dun like him surfing those websites, u need to tell him.

breadmom: Msian hostel? LOL.

bathe in pomelo leaves before manyue? Both me and bb asked by MIL to be bathed with a few pomelo leaves in bath water. why ah?

what is your stroller brand?

have been reading the thread.

I am a September mummy too! My boy is turning full month by end of this week. Hope to share experiences with you guys here.

My CL also ask for us to bathe with pomelo leaves not before but AFTER the man yue celebration. she says it is to mark the end of the confinement. People believes that we are "dirty" during the confinement month.

After my confinement, need to go to temple to "apologise" cos 1 week after delivery, i went to temple with hubby to pray. and my mum + CL nearly freaked out...:eek:(

Hello! Been busy with Devon so have not had much time to log in... Manyue party was on Saturday &amp; after that have been busy bringing baby out.

On Sunday, Devon got his hair shaved &amp; it'll be made into a tai mao bi. We also got his umbilical cord made into a seal. Here's my little botak.

1771578.jpg

I also managed to put him in a car seat &amp; drove him to my mum's place on Monday all by myself.. luckily I managed to survive the 30min journey. I was so afraid he'll scream &amp; I can't soothe him as he's at the back seat.

lok,
i'm not sure if i can make it on the 20th. my hubby not taking leave that day. and i'm not confident of handling my boy alone - cos he dun like me to carry! maybe i'm too bony, so hurting him. maybe he can smell milk on me, yet i dun give him the milk. or maybe simply i dun have the correct technique.

i'm not going for disney live show. though my FB gal did look interested when she saw the ads on TV. the tickets are so exp!! but i'm going for SSO baby prom instead. i find it much more "educational" and worth the $.