(2008/09) Sep 2008

Internally I'm screaming for my own personal space. Meaning having my own place with my hub and baby. I've been staying with my ILs since I got married in '06 and things have always been good. My BTO place will only be ready either next year or 2010. Sigh.

Eversince baby came, I just long so much for a private sanctuary of our own. Here, my MIL does everything for me.. from cooking to washing. I basically don't have to lift a finger so I really don't know why I'm feeling this way. I want my boy to spend equal time with ILs and also with my parents but it's difficult cos I'm stayin with them.

If only I have my own place ready. Not only can I have my pte space, baby can also spend equal time at both sides..

Sigh. I just need to rant abit.

LC

me oso left with a big tummy...so flabby..haiz even after the massage..my fren were telling me she got a colleagues who after the massage the tummy went flat liao..envy envy...

flos

i change the cot sheet every week....

Sob sob...CL just left...starting to miss her liao... haiz..she mentioned tt she wun do anymore stay-in type of confinement liao...she say her frens does but rate will be $2800! damn ex man...

<font color="119911">kyrieleison (kyrie) - pacifier: we have bought the Avent orthodontic pacifier, but yet to give Kieran.

This is my "secret weapon" to use after my CL leaves tomorrow. Will resort to it when he bawls his eyes out and if I cannot seem to pacify him otherwise. Like yours, he is also a "sucky" baby and tend to chew on his mittens or need to suckle for comfort sometimes. Do feel kinda guilty succumbing though cos I initially was against using pacifiers. However it is quite poor thing seeing him cry till he is red sometimes, and would be quite embarrassing going out in public and not being able to calm him down if I don’t have a pacifier.

Flos - don’t think pacifiers are an issue if they do not become over dependent on them (easier said than done) and are weaned off before their teeth appear. The orthodontic pacifiers are really flat in anycase, so I assume these would not affect their baby teeth. I am more concerned that a pacifier would hinder Kieran's speech development! My family are all early talkers (before 1 year old) and I want him to start talking young!

Pampers - there was an advert in the papers today for Pampers with discount of 30% in October. No other details, but look out for their sale!

qqq (missheng) - sorry to hear about your MIL. Just pretend to understand and give in like what chantelle sun (chantellesun) mentioned and your life would be easier.</font>

hello everyone! Have been MIAing as well coz I have been out of the house almost every day but it was mostly to hosp (physio for bad neck + to check on my toe) but hubs and I went for Italian dinner last night - how I miss ang mo food!!! :D

Flos - I also change cot sheet every 2 weeks. Anyway, my tummy isn't flat and I put on 1.5 to 2 kilos during confinement. Tummy still v flabby and I have in total about 6 more kilos to my preprenancy weight. Not too concerned right now coz I do want to rest and eat well because when confinement nanny leaves, I am sure the stress of taking care of baby will make me lose weight! (I have my confinement nanny for 8 weeks. heh heh)

Hot boobs - do u boobs feel extremely hot sometimes? I think it is part the the making milk process but not sure leh. This is when he is NOT latching usually.

Milk supply - aiyah, I can only pump out 60 - 120 ml MAX so have to be very conscientious to make sure he has enough for his night feeds. I stll supplement (alabone - don't be sad ... I supplemented from Day 7 onwards) 1 feed a day with FM.

Ava - controlled crying...month 3 onwards? I'm quite apprenhensive coz now CL carries him a lot to put him to sleep (he was awake for many hours last night!!!) and I wonder if we have to do the same. At this point, I still can't soothe him properly and she still has to take over from me.
AHHHH!!

nipples - another question for those nearing / just over 1 month ... are ur nipples still sensitive and sore a litte? Not as bad the first maybe 2 weeks but mine are still quite sensitive. That is why I need to swaddle baby when feeding coz he will fling his hands everywhere and when he hits my nipples ... OUCH OUCH OUCH!

<font color="0077aa">LC(faintz)&amp; Flos: Yah man the feeling is awesome with bb on my tummy! But 4hours?? Wow, you are good! The most I can sleep with bb on my body is 1hr &amp; most of the time my hands would be numb!

I saw how my PD did, just put the cotton bud (must be the thin kind) in &amp; stick the muscus with the bud &amp; try to dig out. Quite successful then the nasal decongestor.

Flos: MIL only use Jin Yin Hua yday to bathe bb, will let you know if its good.

cuddling bb
I am also for the idea that cuddling makes bbs more secure and less edgy &amp; the book also wrote you can't spoil an infant. The 1st 3mths is the most important cos they are just out from the womb where they are cuddle &amp; feel warm 24hours a day &amp; now once they are out we want them to fend for themselves when they are just one mth old?

My bb also perspire when aircon is 26 degrees, but now I try to on the fan cos of his blocked nose.</font>

Hi mummies!! I have just gave birth to my girl last monday. I so stressed with bf-ing now.. need help please!!

Roughly how much is a 1week+ baby drinking for bm? I tried to pump out every 3-4 hr and at the moment i only can get around 40-50ml for both sides that is before feeding baby. If i latch baby and pump after, roughly can get only 30ml. Issit too little?

My baby doesn't want to latch... and I always can't latch her properly. Can cry!! I really very stressed! Most of the time she will only latch on for 5-10mins den she will fall asleep! I'll tried to tickle her chin but no use.. den when I put her down in her cot, she will be awake! SO i'll try to latch her again and most of the time she will fuss and doesn't want to latch at all!! I'm so worried that she doesn't get enough milk.. for the past few days she really drink very little.. and I got to spoon fed her to make sure she drank.

Can mummies can help me on latching problem? My girl doesn't always like to open her mouth big.. den when she does, i push her mouth to my breast, in the end she will struggle n push it away. Or she will latch on incorrectly and start suckle for 5 mins den sleep! Instead of areola, she always suck my nipples only!!! hOw?

lanolin

envy envy..yesterday was my 1st day out with my hb alone n its to get some bb items n ran errands..doubt the 2 of us will have a chance to go out alone soon...coz when i got #1 alone already no chance liao as my inlaw will sometime make comment n they cant handle my ger...wats more with a bb now add on...my boobs oso feel hot + itchy!..maybe because i am perspiring...n got abit of rashes..

bigtoes: where can i buy an orthodontic pacifier?

"a pacifier would hinder Kieran's speech development!" Does it? Dun frighten me! I am almost going to give him my Avent pacifier liao

OK, I"ll ask hubby to keep a lookout for those discounts.

lanolin: u hv your confinement nanny for 8 weeks? I'm having that for 5 weeks until my maid arrives. Are you still eating confinement food after your 28 days? You really dun need to u know
When I hit Day 28, I won't bathe in herbal water or eat confinement food anymore. Just drink the red dates/longan drink will do. Confinement has turned my kitchen into a mess!

Hey, change sheets 2 times a week sounds reasonable. I forgot to change the bedsheets for 3 weeks; only did so ytd. OOPS...

LAnolin: my nipples hv 'acclimatised'...no more ouch ouch like first week!

storeberry: yes pls, let me know yah? It pains me to see those bumps around his eyes, machiam like milia seeds! His manyue is this weekend, hope they are not that obvious by then.

Angeline, LC,
My tummy looks flat when I'm standing but when I sit down to eat or express my milk, I can see the fatty folds.
My massage lady told me to continue massaging my tummy when i'm bathing. Using both hands to push from pelvic area towards belly button, from the sides to belly button and from the top also towards belly. Says that'll 'put the womb back in place'. Dunno how true that is but I still follow la..

Bigtoes, I also felt guilty when I saw my boy sucking on the pacifier for awhile yesterday! Me too, not an advocator of pacifier but when he bawls, I have no choice but to try it. He actually looks quite cute sucking on it but still my heart feels weird..cos it's like he's supposed to be sucking on my breast or either the bottle but not on something that has no 'benefits' except to shut him up. Guess I got to see it as 'comfort item'. Actually I was also on pacifier (in fact up to quite old!!! Too paiseh to say how long I had my pacifier with me ehehhe) but my teeth are fine and I talk alot. Infact too much.

I dunno why I keep having the feeling that the 'old' methods of caring for a child no longer works although we were all brought up that way and turned out well. Maybe it's my stubborness.

Hi littleger,
at 1wk+, my boy was drinking about 60mls. But it depends on individual babies. Then cos of his jaundice, doc upped it to 80ml to 90ml since then. He's now 3 weeks plus and still drinking about that amount but the intervals are getting shorter so I might up it to 100mls soon. Some babies here are already drinking 120mls to 130mls at around 3 weeks too.
I think it takes a lot of practice to get the correct technique. Sometimes I still struggle too. Esp when he gets all kan cheong and demands his milk right away. He just can't seem to go for the breast correctly, instead he goes for my arm, shirt etc.

PACIFIERS:
both my todds use pacifier. for jared, he didn't use the orthodontic one coz it was short for him and he'd always 'pui' it out. then my mum bought those cheapo kind from market and he'd happily suck away.. in any case, his teeth is nice and straight. no speech impairment! or anything the like. for natalie, she uses the avent orthodontic one and is ADDICTED to it. but i'm slowly weaning her and not letting her use it unnecessarily. her teeth also nice and straight. nothing crooked. speaking fine too. so don't worry mummies. pacifiers are OK.

SLEEPING ON TUMMY:
i thought i was probably the ONLY one doing it!!! so there are so many of you putting your babes on your tums?? anyway, it happened that one morning, cadence refused to sleep in her bed. so i carried her in my arms and there she was, happily sleeping away. i was so afraid of putting her back to the bed and she'd wake so i carried her and make her lie in my arms, supported by the bolster. and she slept to her next feed. then somehow, this seemed to develop into a morning routine for her. after her morning 6/7am feed, she'll wriggle and grunt and the moment i pick her up, she'd IMMEDIATELY fall asleep. haiz... virgoans and their routines. anyway, i don't mind it coz i get my sleep, she gets hers and i'm sure we'll have an even stronger bond. heheheheh.

STRONGER NIPPLES:
yeah. it will be toughened up as time goes by so no worries. if it's still painful means perhaps baby is sucking nipple still instead of the areola.

FLABBY TUMMY:
i'm pretty sure my uterus has kinda gone back to it's normal size. my i've this really flabby bulge lor. and i'm sure no massage will help coz it's PURE FATS! it's like 2 inches thick when i squeeze it... argh!

lanolin,
me too!!!!! after confinement, i've been going out like EVERYDAY. so shiok to be out. yesterday went to vivocity, then on monday went to suntec to catch the motorshow. busy catching up with my two todds.

qqq,
poor you... totally understand what you mean. if you don't want your hb stuck in between, i suggest you calm down and try to not be bothered by your mil. if you don't care if your hb is stuck or not, then go ahead and tell her off!

flos,
i change my bb's sheets every two weeks too. but shd she have poo or pee on it then gotta change immediately lor. so i've like 3 other spare ones.

kyrie,

60mls? my girl oni drink half of that ley!
sigh... my girl will turn her head away when i put her close to my breast! I had difficulties "forcing" her to face of breast! Pains mi when she cries out loud when she doesn't wan to latch and i still kept forcing to suckle... i felt so bad!

Alabone, at how many weeks did you introduce your kids to the pacifier? Glad to hear your experience with it.

I just tried putting isaac on my tummy just now. He managed to fall asleep for awhile then began to stir. Had to put him back to lying on his back on the bed.

Alabone, you're a primary school teacher? When are you going back to school? Am still thinking if I should clear my 4 mths in a go and go back only next Feb.
Think I also read that quite a no. of you are also catholics. Me too! Now thinking about his baptism. Will prob do his at St Francis of Assisi in Boon Lay but have yet to contact the church to find out more. At how many months should babies be baptised?

littleger, I think as long as your girl is pooping and peeing well (meaning about 5 to 6 wet nappies at least i think), the amount should not be a problem. Anyway, I don't think it's accurate to gauge how much she drank by the amount you pump out before she latches and after that. If you wanna be sure, then the best way is to express and bottlefeed so that you know exactly how much she's drinking. That is what I do. I only latch my baby on about twice a day. I express my milk every 3hrly.

pacifiers
think pacifiers are ok. whatever you use on kiddoes, there are bound to be certain problems attached...think the most difficult part about pacifiers is weaning them from it. other than that...dun see anything wrong. in fact when you travel with bb, pacifiers are useful on the airplane...

qqq
tell your mil that you went to see doc and that the doc diagnose you are nearly deaf. cant hear anyone except bb's cries. then ignore all her stupid comments and live like she is not around...

going out...
was thinking how on earth do i go out after confinement!!?!??!?! with a bb and a tot in tow!!! ahhhhh......even with bb in sling and tod in stroller and walking...that is some logistical nightmare lo....

changing sheets..
i change twice a week,s oemtiems three times a week...by cot sheet, you been bedsheet of the cot or the sheet you lay bb on (on top of the bedsheet)?or the one under the bedsheet???

latching frustration
CH now has very bad latch. just like my boy.i know eventaully will still be ok but i cannot stand her latch. i'll try to pull her mouth wide open and she will grunt and snap her crocodile jaw...

littleger
you tried asking lactation consultant liaoz??

alabone,
I was out at Vivocity yesterday too! Went for pedi/mani and tried shopping for a dress for manyue party..cant fit into anything...Tried to get a skirt at Esprit..cant even fit into a Size 40...and strangely their Size 42 out of stock!

Milk Supply
Bigtoes, I am only able to pump out 100ml per day...sigh..but i do latch on in between..so maybe its not so bad afterall?

Cake for Manyue
Anyone ordering a cake to be cut during the manyue party? I am thinking to get one..but who is going to cut the cake, any candles needed?

Sleeping on Tummy
I just discovered that letting kaiden sleep on my tum works wonder...he will doze off quickly and i could then put him back to bed..

Confinement
Two more days to go...yippee...still got flabby tummy and all the brown pigmentation..can we start swimming after confinement?

Nipple confusion
Kaiden has no problem with that..we have used Bfree and avent bottles as well as latch-on. In fact, after using the bottles, he seems to know how to latch-on better. I had a hard time in the hospital trying to latch him on...the nurses were practically shoving my breasts into his face!! Results were a pair of sore nipples, frustrated and crying bb and v stressed out mom..

kyrie,
issit normal for their poo to be very little sometimes? i dunno how many times she pee daily cos i only change her nappies when she poos. it seems like she poo more than pee ley!
If u only latch once or twice daily den how u increase ur supply? Sometimes 1 or 2 hrs after my previous pump, the pump i can oni get 20ml!!

lilboymum,
yea.. i'm thinking of calling sister kang from mt A but i rem she told mi she will be on leave this week. Just now called her but can't get her on her mobile phone.

Lanolin, me!!! My nipples are still very sore after 2.5 weeks of latching. Right side is very very painful, and when I latch, I'm like biting myself to bear with the pain! I'm also wearing the "collection shell" so that my nipples wont brush against my shirt!

Avent Pacifiers - mine is transparent colour.. comes free when I purchase the Avent steriliser (I think)..or the Avent breast pump..

Guess what? I kind of miss going to work instead... drag when confinement is over, I'll be all alone with baby at home!!!

baconegg,
Hey! i agreed on the part u said the nurses in the hosp simply shoved our brast into our baby face!!! And it hurts!!! Obviously they just dun bother whether bb got latch properly not.. so long they see baby got suckle the moment their mouth on our breast they just simply tell u baby is drinking!

sarahmay...

i thinu hor... is u..... u wear a pink top.... we r in the nursery room.... picking our bb..... i was sitting on a chair... i think u drop something.... den i find u so familiar... hee hee

shd hv call u hor... hee hee wasted..... nv... we wait for next gathering

kyrieleison- i notice that my boy have a pattern. always from around 10+ till 2+ doesnt want to goes to sleep. 2-3 hrs later hungry again
about the pacifier- what we did was everytime he want to spit it our use ur hand to hold on to it so that he will still suck it.

bigtoes- mine when hungry will also nib onto his mittens. he cant wait for us to make milk for him, he will start to keep on crying. even sometime when he cry i shove my nipple into his mouth he still seaching for it.

recently seem like my milk flow is getting low. heard from my sis in law that drinking milo isnt good as they contain malt and that will decrease the level of MS

storeberry- mine after drinking FM for 15 min. Burping him 10 min. pat him to sleep depending if he is very sleepy. by the time my hand shoulder and hand or aching sia

anyone stil having their lochia on. my still flowing and my par smear test is tomorrow guess i have to postpone it.

rachel,
When u have sore nipples, u should try to apply some nipple cream and let it air..after a day or two, the soreness will go away and for my case, the sore part form a thin layer of skin and it peels off..after that the healed nipple is back into action again!

Littleger,
Patience is the key word..latch on slowly and find the most comfy position for yourself..your bb will know how to latch on eventually..and will catch your breasts like jaws!

morning mummies ,

Breadmum ,
What is the name of your antibiotics ? maybe you chouls tell your gynae u are brest feeding so that he can give u antibiotics that is okay ... I was on antibiotics for two weeks for my hematoma too ..I told my gynae i am brestfeeding so that he gave me the appropriate one ..

Koras ,
My bb is very very sleepy too .... can sleep like 5 straight hours and must wake him up for feed .. like this morning , he whimper at 630 am for feed and drink closed eye , back to sleep straight and refused to wake up at 930 am .. so bath him to wake him up for feed .. feed at 10 am again .. and nw still sleeping ... it has been like that for three weeks already .. so different from my first born who can wake up every two / one hour for feed ... Nw my milk supple is dwindling as he refused to come up for feeds and wake up only to feed for 5-10 mins KO again.. i used to pump 120 ml first week .. nw can only pump 60 ml .. i pump once a day to give bb to see how much bb is drinking per time ..

littleger ,
try calling other lactation consultant ? sister kang is off ?? mybe u try the brestfeeding support group .. to find another one ..

Nipple confusion and pacifier , i am not worried about that ... my first one can adjust to both .. so as my micky .. he just close eyes and suckle ... keke .. I am not giving pacifier yet cos there are no crying yet ... my bb just give a "wail cry" and stop and wait for me to feed him... his cries are not persistant

koras
malt actually increases ms accoding to lanolin who downed a bottle of beer...kekekek...for milo, coz it contains cocoa, it has caffeine, diuretic..that's why may decrease ms..but shouldnt be so drastic leh. hospitals always serve milo!!!!

rachel
trust me, after two more months of maternity leave, you wouldnt want to leave bb to go back to work liaoz...kekekek...

littleger, in the first week or so, my boy poops very often too. Like 5 to 6 times but sometimes just a little bit. It's normal esp when they are on BM. Well, anyway after I reported this to the PD, the next day my boy didn't poop at all! When i brought him back to the PD, he gave me a medication to be inserted into his bum should he still not poop within the next 24hrs but he did.

Now on average, he's pooping 1 to 3 times a day. When it's only once a day, it's a huge huge amount.

For increase milk supply, I take Fenugreek from GNC. You may want to try it.

Koras, my boy's having pretty interrupted sleep today. He keeps stirring and falling asleep and the next min, he stirs and whines again. Dunno what's wrong. Guess I'll use the pacifier tonight if he refuses to go to bed after feeding *keeping fingers crossed*. He doesn't have a sleeping pattern but does sleep quite alot during the day except wake up to feed. How I wish day was night and night was day. It's easier to get him to sleep in the day.

Lochia - I'm still having it too. It's been 3 weeks since I delivered. Is it normal? I heard from my massage lady that once lochia stops, our menses will then come. But what if we are breastfeeding? Would we still have menses after lochia stops?

kyrieleison- mine has already past one month le
still not yet over. my doesnt seem like menes but more like lochia. hope faster finish so i can don't need keep going to the toilet to change my pad. mine is like day sleep normal, a night is like 'working OT' not sleeping for few hrs. me and my mum slim down a lot and panda eye so obvious. now i am so attached to my boy as he is sleeping together in the same room. i sure going to miss him when i am going back to my home. cant bring him home during weekday as my hubby working and studying,hard to handle my boy myself

Bathing in the evening: Little Scarlett's bath time is scheduled to be in the evenings, to associate bathing with the nearing of the end of the day and sleep (in the day, curtains are always open, and we'll try to increase activity around her to make her understand the diff between day and night), so during her bath time, the lights in her nursery will be dimmed and light music will be played. On top of that, Scarlett will always be given a 120ml (increased) feed to settle her down, and it seem to work, because she sleeps most and sleeps better during 7pm to 7am

Pacifier: Little Scarlett don't really like her pacifiers, I read a book about babies and pacifiers and they suggest pacifiers should also be given to babies when they are good and quiet (as a reward) rather than giving only when they become cranky, since pacifiers give a sense of security, we can condition them to be a form of reward and reduce a child's reliance on it to soothe themselves

Dear Kyrie:

Block eye ducts and medication: PD says that infant eyes are much too delicate for us to use any form of medication on, even the normal saline water or salty water is too harsh for babies, so we've to stick to plain sterilised water and massage

Hard mucus: I'll drip one drop of sterilised water into each nostril before sucking, i think it'll hurt if we simply suck without softening the hardened mucus :p

Sleeping on tum tums:

Yes yes! Sleeping on tum tums work wonders, little Scarlett loves sleeping on her tummy, compared to sleeping on her back, she wakes a lot lesser, sleeps longer and sleeps better, i think it has to do with an increased sense of security, i mean since little babies feel comfort from having their tummies full, sleeping on their tummies probably increase that sense of closeness :p but of cus, make sure baby is always under supervision, since the biggest turnoff of sleeping on the tummy is that babies at 1 n 2 months tend to be stronger and could lift their heads and face down which could cause SIDS..

After milk time, i find that making sure she sits up at a 45 degrees angle on a slanted pillow for about 15 mins before turning her down to sleep also helps her to sleep better, since Scarlett tends to regurgitate some milky after each feed, so putting her down on tummy immediately may make baby slightly uncomfy at first

My ger also like to sleep in my arms. She must sleep at least 15 mins b4 i can put her down. As for in the night, sometime she get cranky, I will have to carry her and let her sleep in my arm, just like i was hugging her to sleep. In the way, then i will get to sleep. cos she like to sretch herself, sometime she will oversretch and start crying.

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - one of the mommies here recommended the Avent orthodontic pacifier, so that is the one I bought. There are several brands carrying the orthodontic ones though - no need to be Avent - think the difference for orthodontic is that the teat is smaller and flatter compared to the cherry bulb (rounded) teats from olden days.

kyrieleison (kyrie) - yah, maybe we worry too much! Our generation all grew up with the pacifier, the "you you" (hammock) and the walker with wheels - usually not recommended nowdadays - but everyone turned out fine.

alabone (alabone) - thanks for the reassurance that pacifiers wont affect the teeth and speech development.
How old should we allow babies to use them until? The Gina Ford book mentioned weaning them off by 4 months - which I think would be ideal but quite an impossible task in reality? My plan is to use it sparingly and only as a last resort…so hopefully Kieran wont get too addicted to it.

Meanwhile, I am planning to try her structured timetable for Kieran once the CL leaves tomorrow….but knowing me and Kieran, we wont be able to stick to the timetable! Its quite unrealistic and assumes that mummy and baby are home like 24/7. is anyone here using Gina Ford's method now? Kym Teo (pebblez) - you are roughly following her method right?

SLEEPING ON TUMMY: this is fine under supervision. Nowadays people don’t recommend only cos of the higher risk of SIDS, but if someone is keeping at eye on the baby, it should be okie during the day.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - 100ml a day is decent lah. I only express during the day if I miss feeds (like if I am out and the CL bottlefed EBM) and 2-3 times during the night now cos she bottle feeds. Honestly, the engorgement is a problem - have to wake up every 3+ hours to express or else everything gets soaked with milk! I am wondering if I need to bring my pump out for trips longer than 3 hours next time.

Qiuling (chewy_ring) - lucky you! I wish Kieran would give a "wail cry" and wait patiently for his milk or to get his diaper changed.
Hubby thinks he is more like me, personality wise (i.e. impatient) - if he needs milk, he needs it NOW. Very drama, like is he starving to death or something.</font>

PACIFIERS- What are orthodontic pacifiers? Is it used to imitate the mummy's nipple? Cos I am so guilty too, finally succumbed to giving my gal the pacifier yday for the first time. She has not been sleeping well at all in the day time, and she wants attention all the time. Once i put her down, she will cry again... my hubby gave in first and told me to give her the pacifier...haiz, i actually cried cos i am really against pacifiers, and even argued with my MIL as I refused to give my 6-weeks old BB pacifier. Now dunno how to make my stand in front of her...haiz...

BM SS
My BM ss is still on the low side despite taking the Fenugreek from GNC. I drink loads of water but every pump still yields only 60ml the most. Luckily, my gal is able to switch between FM and BM, but I can see tt she loves BM more and hates water.

INFANT CARE CENTRE
Is anyone planning to send your BB to infant care centres when you return to work? Although I have a maid at home, but I don't really trust her at all. Moreover, my MIL is so cunning, she asks the maid about what my HB and I do at home!And they both bad-mouth abt each other to my HB and I.. If I leave my maid with her, conflicts will fly for sure..So it seems that infant care is the only way out. My HB is against nanny/babysitter too.

Koras, Kyrie
My gal behaves exactly like ur boy, except that she sleeps well thru the night, but does not sleep well in the daytime. That's why yday, I finally resorted to giving her the pacifier cos she keeps whining and crying very loud despite me trying to coax her. I used to latch her on every time she crys, and it works wonders. However, I dunno what to do if she goes to the infant care centre. Headache...

SLEEP - My gal jerks very easily in her sleep, and it becomes worse these few days. She will wake up and wail loudly. My aunt suggested putting her to sleep on her tummy, so that she can be cushioned from sudden shocks and interrupted sleep. Anyone has any advice as to letting my 6-weeks old baby sleep on her tummy? Will it cause SID? Getting worried...

flos, your thigh (in pix) looks v slim leh, where got han bao bao?

kyrieleison, mine gets cranky and refuses to sleep abt once a day too, since a few days ago. a lot more manageable when it happens in the day but twice, she was up all night. each time she stays awake past the 2hr mark, dh and i knew that's it liao – a long night of rocking, cradling and nodding away (us). was also wondering what i might've done wrong but chanced upon a website yest that says that some fussing now and then is normal and it could just be part of their growth spurt. i certainly hope mine is! how old is your bb?

diaper changing
mommies, do your bbs wail while having their soiled diapers changed? mine screams every time we change her. wonder if it's cos our makeshift changing table is too hard or perhaps she likes all that warm mashy poop rubbing against her buttocks (don't seem to cry for soiled diapers).

flos/alabone, u r rite. my nipples do seem to have acclimatised to all that nibbling and clamping. also feeling much better than last week now that the swelling and stinging at my wound have subsided.

bfg problem
my bb sometimes spits out the nipple and then frantically roots around for another one – is this normal and what does it mean? mine keeps doing it and it frustrates us both! she did it again this morning, repeatedly spitting out the nipple that was offered to her and i just couldn't help yelling, "there's NO other flavour around here! no chocolate and no vanilla!" makes me wonder if something might be wrong with my supply. it does seem to be dwindling according to "not so reliable" indicators like reduction in levels of ebm, perpetual softness in breasts, etc. have just bought some fenugreek pills; hope they'll help.

soup for increasing bm ss
as anyone heard of a radish and oyster (dried) soup?

Alabone,

Do you bring ur BB out with you when you go out? I was told that babies should not be exposed to the outside environment too often, in case of falling sick. My gal is about 40 days old already, but I've only brought her out less than 5 times. Anyone has any ideas on how to go out with BB without much hassle? Haiz, I noe its a silly question to ask, but I am so tempted to go shopping everyday!

bigtoes/rachel: ok, mine is also the transparet free pacifier that came with my Avent steriliser.

Kyrie: Yours is the orange colour one? I've never seen that before and will try to resist purchase until I buaytahan the wailing. I'm sure if my 4 nephews and nieces dun need pacifieirs, mine can too!

CONFINEMENT: I hvn't left my house since 17 Sept! I'm an obedient girl. Dun hv the urge cos I've no nursing tops and no FM dispenser yet. Hate to pull out my nipples in nursing rooms at shopping malls to let bb suckle. My son takes a long time to suckle, so I will sacrifice a lot of shopping time.

HOT WATER to take along when u go gai gai: how to mix FM in public places? Do u lug a thermos flask in your diaper bag or simply as the restaurant to offer u some warm water to make your FM?

Bigtoes: how do u ensure your EBM is fresh and warm when ur CL feeds Kieran ourside?

bacon&amp;eggs: I'm not buying new clothes for my manyue. Just wear something I wore in my first trimester. I can easily fit into some of them
I think I'll skip the manicure cos I handle my bb with my fingers a lot, esp applying those creams, unlatching him, etc. Might consider pedicure though.

Alabone: how do we know if our uterus have contracted? How do u know yours has?

kyrie: in our time, nannies use powders on us too. that's why so many of our generation's kids kenna asthma!

sleeping on tumtum: my CL slipped up ytd during our little afternoon chat that she has been letting my son lie on his tumtum whenever he can't sleep at nite. I told her not to cos it's dangerous for a nb!

littleger: yes, try GNC fenugreek pills. It makes me leak the whole nite last nite! My bedsheets, jammies are all soaked with BM...

Hey how old is your bb now? I think it's meconium that your bb is pooping out now, that's why it's kinda frequent in the first couple of days.

qiuling and koras: u lucky ones! 5 hrs of sleep? Wish mine can sleep as long as 5 hrs.

lilboymom: avent has disposable pads? stuck onto nipples? What kind of pads are they?? VELCRO PADS?!!! LOL

dseptkon: your bb now sleeps in a bouncer? Is that recommendation by PD, I mean is it good for his spine devt etc.? I intend to buy a bouncer too, but it'll be for him to sleep on when he fusses in his cot.

As much as my DH and I dun like the 'look' of sarong slings, I might well get a sling to carry my boy around at home cos my boy is getting heavier and heavier by the day and giving me a lot of back and arm problems. My boy needs me to carry him around the house when he stirs, and wants me talk and sing non-stopv to him. Really shagged out!

Hi Koras, so you not bringing your boy home during the weekdays after your confinement? I can't even tahan being away from my boy for a few hours needless to say weekdays. I dunno if I'm too possessive / attached to him. I know I should let go (well, I have to..esp when I'm going back to work next year) and I have to learn to trust that others will take good care of my boy too. Am learning to 'let go' and constantly psychoing myself. Hee

Lochia - when I wipe after going to the toilet, I don't really see much but dunno why the pad still has stains. Brownish..not red like menses. So I assume that's still lochia.

Kym, I think it's a good idea to bathe in the evening. Will try that out today despite I know my ILs are against it. Have been massaging the inner corner of his eyes too. Sure hope it'll clear.

xuanting: slim? jeeez, my foot lah (or erm, My Trotters!)! It's only but an optical illusion
...My DH just bought a weighing machine at Taka over lunch today. I'll weigh bb and myself tonite!! yippee...

jas: I was also told bb might contract common flu/colds if the public places are too crowded. That's why I'm not in a hurry to go shopping with a bb in tow. I hv not stepped out of my house since 17 Sept!!! I'm so disciplined...and perhaps, boring...I dun hv any nursing tops to wear. I am wondering how to leave bb with my DH for 3 hours so that I can disappear to the hair salon to colour my hair. But 3 hours is not enuff to do a good job. I need 5 hours to colour my whole head properly...

oyster soup? is your wound fully healed yet? Do you dare to drink something as potent as oyster soup now?

My boy is very quiet and tamed when we change his diapers. He is like, "Thank God, mommy u found out I pooped!"

I think bacon&amp;eggs is right. I rested my cracked nipple for 48 hrs by sterilising it with nipple wipes and lansinoh cream, waited for the skin to form over the sore parts, then it'll drop off by itself, and u will be back in biz soon!

jas: me considering IFC too, cos my MIL has the strangest practices that I dun want my boy to inherit. Sekali I dun recognise my own boy next time...

Flos (flos) - other than a trip to the PD, Kieran hasn't been out anywhere else. Even then, it was for about 2 hours and we bought a bottle of EBM along. He finished that and was wailing for more so we had to hurry home.

For future excursions - his 1st one would be this weekend for Hari Raya visiting and to go to my ILs - i am thinking of bringing a thermoflask of EBM to keep at the right temp and feeding that first with the first 1-2 hours. Thereafter, will supplement with FM (just bring the powder and ask for water since its at relatives' place), or just latch on at my ILs.

Not sure what the logistics would be when we go out to other places (shopping etc). Maybe just make do with FM and bring out a flask of hot and room temp water to mix for the FM?
Experienced mommies??

Sarong Slings: Any experts here on how to use it? I tried it...but think bb is still too tiny. It's dmn hard to use la.

Jo; Ya...think that was me. Can't rber what I wore exactly but shd be me la. Hehe. I think i recall u sitting on the chair feeding your bb right?

Flos: I think i am getting a bb bjorn or ergo. The sarong sling a bit hard to get a handle on.

Storeberry: Aiyo. My little one also being a bit fussy past two days. I dunno why today and yesterday afternoon need to feed like almost an hour!!! Wah piang. I also super tired. At least urs latch on only 5-10 mins. Mine every 2 hours feed but at least 30 mins. Somtimes, 15 mins only and he knocked out for next 2 hours But those times are rare. could it be a growth spurt now?

BB GRunting: Any of your bb grunts? Lately he's been squirming at the breast mid-way during feeds. Pulls back head with nipple inside mouth (major OUCH!) and then start grunting. Also, someimtes when he is drinking , he makes funny sounds. Normal? Or shd I take him to PD?

Nasal congestion: thanks for all your reassurances. I think my Elisha doesn't have a major nose blockage cos he breathes normal when asleep. it is just when he feeds, got this funny deep throated sound or grunting going. Sometimes also sound like he's got phlegm. Is it cos he's not latched on properly?

So many things to learn about NBs!!!

In-Law Relations:
i'm thankful for my MIL staying over at nite. But am thinking of asking her to stay only till this weekend. Then next week try managing myself at nite cos i dun want her to get over tired and then get upset with me. found out from my mum yday that she compared me to my SIL...suspect she thinks I'm not as good as her own daughter who looked after my niece on her own.

I wld rather i get help from my own parents than in-laws really. That day, I also found out that my SIL passed not so nice comments abt me via SMS. She meant it for her friend, but sent it to me by accident. She called me to clear things up...but still after that incident, i think i better not count on them for help in case they find me troublesome. Sigh. In-law relations can be so complicated. I don't dare tell my hubby these stuff cos he may get the wrong idea that i m not appreciative for their help (i am)...it is just i find it easier to get my and friends to help than in-laws. Like i can never know how they might feel.

Jas, well at least you can take comfort that your little one sleeps well through the night. Just that you'll have to settle for little time to do anything else during the day. I also disagreed just last night with my Father-in-law on giving pacifiers but I just shoved it into his mouth after that in my room. Don't care liao.. as long as it makes baby happy.. so will I be happy. Hahaha

My baby jerks quite a bit when he's sleeping too. Wonder if it's cause I didn't swaddle him.

Xuanting,
my boy is 23 days old as of today. I also agree on the 'awake for 2hrs and that's it' theory. My boy is also like that. He stays awake at 6 plus, plays with his grandfather and then that's it. He won't want to go back to sleep even though I could see that he's really tired out. Like you, I hope it's part of growth spurt and won't last long. I can't wait for him to pass the 6 weeks mark. Heard it'll be easier to train them to sleep through the night. I was laughing when I read how you told your bb that there's no other flavours around! Hahahaha sometimes it's really hard to figure out what they want.

Flos, the teat is transparent but there's some orange at the back of the pacifier. Yah, if you can hold off, I think it's a good idea too. But I know I'm going to try it out tonight and see if it soothes him.

Yah I heard the powder thing too. But I still do apply alittle on the folds of his neck, arms and legs.

Bigtoes, yah walkers and the 'yao lan' not recommended now. Says it hampers walking progress lah, without the yao lan cannot sleep anywhere else lah.. Sigh. But we all still turn out great.

SarahMay, I agree with you that inlaws relations are complicated. I know my ILs have been taking many steps back and allowing me leeway to do what I want. Still, I am not happy. I sure hope this is only temporary and will pass once confinement is over. Although I know I'll still be stuck in the house. Where can I go with a baby in tow and my hubby working?

Angeline - heh heh, the few trips I took during confinement out of the house was all to run errands. Less than 5 trips definitley. Twas after my confinement that I go out more frequently but also because I supplement 1 feed with FM that I am able to do that.

Flos - I have stopped having confinement food for every meal but I still have trotters and chicken wine if CL cooks! :D I've had my alcohol / seafood and stuffed my face with pasta and pizza yesterday! heh heh

Pacifier - my sister did some research and it showed that it increases the risk of delay in speech and there are some examples of this that she personally knows of. I don't think every child who has had a pacifier have the same problem (alabone's children ok mahhhhhhh) but it is just whether u want to take that risk or not

Nipples - I think Declan doesn't always latch well which causes my nipples to still be savaged by him. Need to be more disciplined and delatch him I guess. ARGH....

Malt - I don't think Milo has malt leh! and my info re malt is from a gynae so it should be true. I had beer 3 times already and the milk supply maybe not have increased dramatically but it def did not decrease MS.

JAUNDICE:

My little J is back to very severe jaundice level again. Tested today and he's at 27 (vs. 11.1 after his photo-therapy)!! Most likely due to my BM, so have been issued stop-order for bfg. No BM for him. Go on total FM until the level comes down. Thankfully, liver function test results are quite normal.

He's now 3 weeks old and weighs 3.58kg (vs. 3.225kg birthwt). A bit slow on the weight gain. PD is concerned abt his high jaundice and low wt. gain, so we have to do more test next Monday (thyroid, another liver test etc.)...*sigh*

Bigtoes,

I didn't bring hot water when we went out. Just room temp water in his milk bottle (if using FM). Usually just ask for boiling water from restaurant. At least I'm confident the water has been boiled. If u ask for room temp water at restaurants, they might just give u tap water!

kyrielesion - notsure yet. so got to see how as i need to find a job. so kinda of troublesome if i need to go for interview then carrying my boy to my parents hse before going.
lochia- mine still a bit red. but doesnt seem like is menses

sarahmay- i dont dare to use ler but my mum say dun need to carry him just put into the sling easier. baby making noise while drinking i think its common ba. mine also seem like making noise like having phlegm in his thoat.

SarahMay
Which sarong sling are you using? I'm using the MIM one. It's quite difficult in the beginning cos of all the cloth but with practice you can slid your baby in and out easily. When my baby is older, like 4-5 months, I'll switch to my Bjorn.

I have tried the Ergo but don't really like it cos of material and thick shoulder padding, very warm. Bjorn has this air mesh one which is airy for the baby. Beco is not bad, like Ergo can back carry, and they have nice prints.

Out with baby
Just diapers and wipes. I BF wherever baby wants to nurse. I don't like nursing tops and bras... er I think most of them very obiang. Just flip up shirt, pull up bra and bf.

Kyrie, you are not alone. My MIL is really a headache too since I gave birth until such my CL also can't take it and ask her to wash her hands and legs after entered the house, ask her to go back bec me and baby need to rest, ask her not to carry the baby out of the cot when he is sleeping, ask her to talk softer etc.. hahaha.. I was amazed but glad that my CL did these as she can see that I dare not tell my MIL off.. Really miss my CL.. later will give her a call

Hi, FLos and Storeberry
No joke.. I really carried my baby and he slept on my tummy for 4hours cos that night he was really refusing to sleep.. so I have to lie on the couch and with him on my tummy.. surprised he did not land on the floor :p

Hi, SarahMay
your baby's grunting is it funny sound when baby stretch even at night? Mine somtime can heard funny sounds, something like horse sound etc..I also want to know if this is normal..

STIMULATION - a mommy posted something on stimulation recently here but I can't seem to locate the posting.. it says about baby should not be sleeping for a certain hours in the day.. can any kind soul help to post again if manage to locate it?

I'm so glad my boy's 1st manyue party is over! Wat a day, we had more than 100 people who came to our place! Thank God the area outside my place is big enough to accomodate everyone!

My boy slept thru out the day and night! But he didn't poo yesterday, probably due to the fact that he was mostly on FM cos I only managed to express twice yesterday!

2nd party is coming Sat, for hubby's relatives, my neighbours and some of his friends. Smaller and more manageable, am so glad we broke up the celebration into 3 different sessions, if not I'll surely breakdown!

Review on Neo Gardens: comments on food is that it's good, but the portion is small, eg, the wing is small, drumlet is really tiny! but overall their presentation, customer service is good. Will use them again.

Oh dear Lok, I sure hope your bb's fine. Did you notice that he's yellow again that's why you brought him to the PD for further check? Does he have to undergo phototherapy again?
Are you going to continue with BM after he recovers, if you are, should continue to express and store them. Also avoid ginger or any DOM, rice wine if pos.

Hi Koras, actually my hub and I are also studying part time in UniSIM. I really don't know how I'm going to get through this semester but I'm doing it and struggling to stay afloat. I know it's very silly to still take on the full load (2 modules) despite knowing that my hands will be really full with bb.. but cos I wanna to complete my studies by 2010, I have to grit my teeth through it.

LC, my PILs are not the problem. I think I am. Dunno whether it's still the hormones or I'm just becoming a very difficult person to please. I seriously think all I need is a place of my own. Seems like I have begun to value my personal time, space etc suddenly after my bb is born.

wow shazz ,
100 pple .. good that the manyue is over ..must be super tiring smiling ... mine will be on this sat ... equally about 100 guest .. my place not big enough .so will be at my mums place .

shazz/qiuling: u all using neo garden too? my DH also picked neo garden! most of the "atas/angmoh" caterers I've shortlisted were rejected by him... But the salesperson emailed the wrong order confirmation to me! so blur...did u fax your bb's birthcert to them? I didn't, cos my DH doesn't want them to hv our details. So i'm not enjoying the 15% discount.

Flos: their selection is pretty good. We had high-tea so we didn't want those typical lunch/dinner spread. Their finger food selection is not bad, but would have prefered Lavish but they're too full on both days to take in my order. the 15% discount is only for certain packages and above, do ask them for the details.

Quiling: yupe, super tiring manx! having to answer questions, and repeating the same thing over and over again. I wish I can paste my birth story on the wall and ask them to read instead! haha ... But it's something we have to get it over and done with. ;)