(2008/09) Sep 2008

Sigh.. my right nipple hurts like hell today, so I had to express milk to feed my baby today. Could only manage 50-60ml per feed from both breast each time (3 hourly), and my baby is almost 3 weeks old! Wonder if I'm feeding him too little.. but everytime I latch, I only latch 1 side of the breast, and he seems to not want the other breast anymore after I burp him...

Really makes me wonder how much he's drinking...

Anyone has any good recommendation for food caterer for daily lunch/dinner? Will need to cater for food after confinement period

Feeling quite desperate now as I've jus gave birth to my son on monday.

Really need someone to advice me on these:

HOw often should I pump out my milk? every 2 hours?

If I feed my boy 4 hours ago, and I try to latch him and he kept falling asleep, do I insist to wake him up or only latch him when he needs my milk?

Please help.

mandy: the amt i express after i latch is also very little. I think it's normal rite? cos bb just finished sucking the milk from your breasts.

Rachel: mine keeps asking for MORE MORE MORE milk. We're all stressed. I'm not producing quickly enuff. I'm waiting for his full Metabolism report from TMC. Wanna know if he is like my DH, eat poop eat poop eat poop, and still remain lean.

poppy: u just gave birth on Mon? Congrats! u hv milk to express on your third day? That's great news!

Can't help u on your questions cos I latched on every 2 hrs in my first week. I never got enuff milk to express that time.

4 hours interval is a long time for a 3-day-old baby! I recall in the hospital, the nurses would push my bb into my ward even when he was not awake. We would wake him up to feed when time was due to feed. Same with morning wakeup call/bath and evening bath. Sleep also must force him to wake up. Trying to get him attuned to our routine, not us trying to get accustomed to his.

Hi,Flos

My baby is using S now. NB can't fit anymore for pampers.. As for Petpet, the S size can't fit him soon cos of the plastic fasterner, causing friction with his flesh. so i am going for M size liao for Pet pet.. I bot Nepia too to try but cutting is too big for M size so have to keep. Nepia does have a bigger cutting. Petpet is the most cost saving for babies that poo a lot in the day like mine.

I am using pigeon wipes. so far so good. I have some free bottle of Tollyjoy ones, will try that out.. komodo ones not so nice I feel, it is quite dry and not moist.

Isaac got spots is it? cos I saw your posting on the "jin yin hua" thingy.. I dun noe you heard of bathing with stout? I bathed my baby wih stout cos he has jaundice and spots..

How old is Issac? drinking 120ml? that is fast.. do you wipe baby's tongue everyday?

Hi,Mandy
think it could be that you do not have enough rest.. try to latch between 10pm to midnight. that is when the milk supply is the highest.

Hi,Poppy
If you are latching every two hours (which might not be possible ccos at this point your baby will tend to sleep more abt 4-6hours) so try to express out every 2-3 hours. but dun be shock that you can only express very little cos your milk supply might not gace come in yet. For me, I feed on demand, meaning i latch my baby if he wants. though he tend to sleep after latching on one breast, i will try to burp him, tickling him to latch him on again. sometime, it get too comfy on the boobs so babies tend to doze off. i guess for your newborn, he tends to sleep more so you can just latch on demand. In fact more sleep is good for brain development.

sunny
o didnt know your gal's bday soooo close!!!!!hahaha...yeah, my boy too, want the CL to sit with him at the balcony everyday and stare at the park downstairs.now no afternoon outings liaoz...wonder when can i bring two bbs out alone???

xuanting
hahahha..i think all of us do that...the moment the stir..we are praying real hard they will fall asleep again!!!!!!youa rent he only one!!!

alabone
wah three kids at home!!! but finally they are together..it'll be fun!!!

CY ah...sometimes pretend the sis not there, sometimes will pat pat sister, sometimes will attempt to pinch, when caught red handed, will then pretend to point to different parts of sister's features and name them one by one....

how to wake sleepy bbs...

one method..strip the bb to diapers, and feed. best if you strip your top half too. bodily contact is good and will wake the bb...

another is of course to change diapers, coz the sensation of cold wipes or wet cotton on buttock may wake sleepy bbs...

<font color="119911">Hey Mei - saw your note at Kieran's blog - yes - please link our blog to Devon's "baby popcorn" site. I see you guys have tested out your stroller with Devon! Btw, why "popcorn"?

isabelle (isa_belle) - wow, so how did your 'ugly' cupcakes taste? Very "on" to bake cupcakes for 1st month.
Hehe, the only thing we are making is bear-shaped jelly to match the bear theme in our invite cards.

SarahMay (sarahmay) - how come you are almost at your pre-preggie weight (congrats!) and your belly button is still an outtie? Mine is a deep innie now - deeper than it was initially!!

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - yes, you need to wake up to BF or express or else the milk supply might drop. My CL is still doing EBM feeds at night, but I usually wake up at least 2X to express during the night when I feel the letdown or leakage. Luckily my milk flow is pretty fast - so I take just 5 minutes to express, and am back in bed within 10-15 minutes after washing up the bottles.

storeberry (storeberry)- think the problem with Pet Pet for Kieran is that there are gaps at the leg area, so pee/poo can leak out. The elastic doesn’t hold very well for him at the thigh area.

Ava (avalyn) - 3.4 and 3.5kgs are good weight lah. Girls better not be too "ba bak". I would rather have petite daughters!

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) - thanks for your diaper assessment. Am trying out Nepia now, and so far, so good. Let us know if Goo.N is any better! We have some Drypers from some hamper, but think most probably will stick to Pampers (night and outside) and Nepia during the day. Think Mamypoko is the most expensive of the lot?

chantelle sun (chantellesun) - jia you! I am sure with BFing, you will lose the weight pretty fast. Anyway, you are tall, so the weight gain is less obvious.
On 1st month - its pretty much up to you. We are having a buffet, and giving cake sets to people attending (1 per individual, or a larger set for families). Quite troublesome though, cos we need to order the right quantities of cake sets, and a lot of wastage cos of last minute drop outs.

alabone (alabone) - am subscribing to Mother &amp; Baby as well. A lot of useful articles ya... Have to be careful of how much alcohol can be taken directly though - cannot consume before BFing as it would go into the milk and might intoxicate the baby. Meanwhile, I had only 1 meal of pork trotters and it was so fatty, I had just like one bite and my CL ate up the whole pot!

xuanting (xuanting)- on feeding EBM with a spoon, we tried that for 2 days before the CL came, but used a bottle when she came cos it would be too troublesome to ask her to spoon feed.
Kieran is now 1 month old, and he doesn’t have a teat/nipple confusion (he treats the teat like a nipple and suckles very hard, with a big portion of the teat inside his mouth). If you are worried, maybe get the wide-neck bottles where the teats replicate the nipple (I know Farlin has it at Kiddy Palace).

Rachel Lim (rac_lim) - the sensation is the "let down reflex". Feels kinda sore and tingly, then the milk starts to leak. I get that during the night when the boobs are full, or sometimes even in the shower or when Kieran cries!!

Flos (flos) - the metabolic report from TMC doesn’t state anything. Its just a 2-pager with nil, nil, nil to indicate that all is fine.</font>

Today a bit stressed. thought I heard my poor baby wheezing. He makes this strange toady sound when suckling at the breast. And i saw two BIG pieces of mucus stuck in his nose. Tried the nasal bulb syringe. managed to extract 1 side. the other one disappeared...hope i didn't hurt him. Should I take him to the PD? i read that it is normal for babies to have nasal mucus.

Aiyo...and I had to keep feeding him almost every hour this afteroon. Sigh....

how long is each feeding interval? elisha's 13 days old...still latching on almost every 2 - 2.5 hours. How to stretch him ???

BM baby poo: Is the golden-yellow mustardy paste ok? Today he had A LOT of poo.

Bigtoes: Congrats! confinement over! I dunno if my weighing machine is accurate or not... but if it is..then i have 1.5 kg more to lose. Dunno why my outtie is so BIG still.

EBM: I still dun hav such abundant supply. can I ask what is the colour of your EBM? Is it like two layers - one watery, the other one creamy? Mine is just one consistency - creamy white. My SIL's EBM has two layers though.

Leaky Boobs: Tell me about this! My milk seems to leak the most at nite! The reusable pads don't seem to be very absorbent at all. I tried the Avent one. In the end i had to get out of bed to change it twice in a nite efore finally using the Pigeon one.

sarah!!!
you are back!!

forget about those reusable breastpads. have got loads and they arent cheap...and totally useless.

if youa re using breastpads, then your ss should be fine. dun worry about not being able to pump, maybe your body just doesnt react to your pump...

ebm..
when you freeze it, it becomes two layers...

SarahMay
2 - 2.5 hrs between feeds is very very normal for first (or even first few months)...don't thnk about stretching the time between feeds if u want to continue bf for a few months to a year, as u need the frequent feeds now to build supply...unless u have a supply issue like me... :p Baby will stretch the time between feeds himself as he gets bigger.

Bigtoes
Yeah, petite is better...just that I'm used to bigger babies, so they seem so small; they're smaller than adan was at birth, so imagine the comparison!

Isabelle
How was your party?

Hi Flos,

Thanks for your reply.

The nurses told me that he only needs to be fed every 4 hours. I do not have any milk supply yet. Only colostrums. Do you think I should supplement him since he only has my colostrum? During your first week, after every latch, did you simulate your breast using the pump?

Flos,
I seldom have the habit to express after latching cos i'll be dead tired after battling with my BB. Cos sometimes he still fight with me over which side to latch on and in the end both of us will be sweating n knock out after BF. He'll be full whereas i'm hungry n tired....
What i meant was even at night when i express, the amt i usu can express has been lesser n lesser these 2 days. Some say u nid a lot of fluid n rest in order for breast to recover. So i'm thinking maybe i din hv enough sleep.
So just now i took a good 1.5hr nap and pump and i really got back my usual amt lor....

chantelle,
mine is not the IQ warmer. i normally switch to No.3 and then every now n then will tk out the milk bottle to test temp. I find it does not waste so much water as i dun nid to get up and pour hot water from airpot everytime and then discard the hot water. I find it does warm up the milk bottle a bit faster.
I think is best to anticipate when BB will wake up at nite (btw i use the warmer at nite as i fed him with EBM) and warm up b4 he wail and wake the whole family or even the neighbourhood up! Haha.

Harlo!!

L'l CY: Thanks for your reassurances about my milk ss.

Ava; thanks too for your reassurance. i was reading abt training the bb and it said not to feed every 1.5 hours to 2. But sometimes my bb just cries and i know it is cos he needs to eat. So i feed. he doesn't throw up milk...so am guessing i'm not overfeeding. but still worried i might be spoiling him by becoming his boob snack.

Bigotes: the pig trotters and vinegar can be done with lean meat. Mt Alvernia served it durin my stay with lean meat and was uterly delicious!!! And that comes from me not being a fan of it. Hehe.

Nasal mucus: My baby has quite a bit of this. Removed two big lumps from his nose today. one is white. the other is a bit yellow. Should I take him to the PD or is this normal?

HUNGER &amp; Growth Spurts: Does anyone know when their growth spurts happen? I feel as if he is going through a growth spurt. feeding so often today. or does having a blocked nose affect feeding? So maybe he cldn't feed as efficiently today cos of blocked nose?

Harlo!!

L'l CY: Thanks for your reassurances about my milk ss.

Ava; thanks too for your reassurance. i was reading abt training the bb and it said not to feed every 1.5 hours to 2. But sometimes my bb just cries and i know it is cos he needs to eat. So i feed. he doesn't throw up milk...so am guessing i'm not overfeeding. but still worried i might be spoiling him by becoming his boob snack.

Bigotes: the pig trotters and vinegar can be done with lean meat. Mt Alvernia served it durin my stay with lean meat and was uterly delicious!!! And that comes from me not being a fan of it. Hehe.

Nasal mucus: My baby has quite a bit of this. Removed two big lumps from his nose today. one is white. the other is a bit yellow. Should I take him to the PD or is this normal?

HUNGER &amp; Growth Spurts: Does anyone know when their growth spurts happen? I feel as if he is going through a growth spurt. feeding so often today. or does having a blocked nose affect feeding? So maybe he cldn't feed as efficiently today cos of blocked nose?

Jo: I was discharged on a Mon, stayed extra day. My hubby was lugging our orange suitcase. Was it me? I was looking super tired then. haha. and I think i still do. How are u and bb?

bigtoes: ok, so far only received a call from TMC to tell me the test shows NEGATIVE 2 days after the prick test. The paper report has not reached us yet.

SarahMay: my bellybutton has gone back to normal. Not innie, not outie. Just normal!

BM poo: yep, mustardy yellow is the right colour.
Nasal mucus: Mine also has one big piece inside his right nostril. Waiting for it to grow larger to pick it out with the cotton bud.

poppy: I didn't supplement my bb with FM for the first 4 days. I was 'forced' to latch every 2 hrs by the TMC nurses, though I only had colostrum to offer my bb then. Are u with TMC too? We only fed him with FM when my CL arrived on Day 4. You're lucky that after discharge your intervals are 4 hrs. My DH and I couldn't sleep cos my bb kept wailing every 2 hrs for my colostrum...

lilboymom: why did u say breast pads are useless? I find them very useful!!! It prevents my nipples from rubbing against my bra.

Mandy: I suppose rest and plenty of fluids help. Good to hear that your ss has resumed
But dear, I think my sufficient hours of sleep (plus afternoon nap) has contributed to my weight gain lor...haizzz...not to mention those pig trotters skin I eat!

LC: Bathe in Stout? Oh no...I won't do that! So stinko right? I was told it's alright to get those zits during the 2-4 weeks. I think I'll wait out first.

You're no longer using Pampers? I want to use the next Pampers size. Is it the purple packaging one?

Isaac is 21 days old. The first CL didn't wipe his tongue the first week cos she said no need cos I was BF then. Only did that when the second CL came. cos we were feeding more FM then...FM gives the bb's tongue a layer of milk coating, so must clean every day.

STRETCHMARKS: Just curious, do u all hv stretch marks?

Flos &amp; Goldfish - at lest i know i am not alone in the dwindling of ss of BM in week 3. I attributed it to antibiotics, but you could be right about fluid intake. Strangely, i have leaking boobs, but ss does not exceed 80ml and that is if after 3 hours and half an hour on the double pump.

my CL now is asking me to supplement with FM, but hubby and i refused. Hbby just ticked her off just now. Don't know if all CL after 1 week do the same thing. My bb now needs to be cuddled before sleeping,all thanks to CL who keeps cuddling him to keep him hush.

Today, i decided to latch him, then she went and heat up my EBM, end up now its in the warmer. So pissed off.

breadmum: why r u on antibiotics? My boobs leak too cos the pads are always fully soaked. If I had been more hardworking in the middle of the nite to wake up to pump instead of allowing it to leak and get absorbed by my pads, maybe I won't get so little lor...sheer wastage...

my bb is the opposite of yours. my CL chides me for cuddling my bb too much in the daytime and causes her to suffer (she ends up having to mimic the mom's cradle) after I go to sleep at midnight. My CL is really knackered cos she is 51 yrs old.

I'm so lazy that I switch off the BB monitor after midnight to have my quality sleep.

U cant blame these CL for forcing to feed bb with FM or EBM. My CL was super stressed whenever my MIL comes, cos my MIL is always checking on the bb's progress. Weight gain is one of the Key Performance Indicators of CLs and that will impact on her month-end bonus (red packet) from you! She cannot hand over a scrawny bb to you nor cause you to get thinner or fall sick (that's KPI #2). If she leaves u with a chubby bb, you are happy, she will get a good reference from you next time too.

just wanna check with you girls regarding pacifiers.

Are you all giving your babies pacifiers? Cos sometimes my boy seem to fuss even after given his milk and starts trying to shove his fist into his mouth. My MIL saw that and said that I should give him to pacifier. I really don't know if I should cos he's only 22 days as of today and I dun want him to end up with nipple confusion and all.

Any advice?

Flos - Had emergemcy c sect - and the wound got slight pus and blood, so doc gave me antibiotics to ensure no infection. Read the side effects and realised it affects lactating mothers.

i also have leaking breast at night and i feel very warm, so i have to crawl up and express for fear of fever. that explains why sometimes i am up and typing on the forum at 4am:p

cuddling
LOL totally opposite of me huh. my hubby's theory is that he don't want bb to lose his voice so cuddling will help.

dseptkon - wisdom tooth extraction - u better check with your dentist. He will be able to advise you best.

kyrieleison - my CL started my bb on the pacifier at 12 days. Cos bb tend to out his fist and mittens into his mouth before sleeping. So see the habits of bb first. my take is dont encourage unless for safety.

Does anyone sponge themselves with hot water before sleeping? the weather these few days are driving me sweaty, plus all the tonics and soups.
I now bathe every 3 days with the herbs, else its hot water wipe down. can't wait for wound to heal.

Hi, Flos

Wun stink lar..haha.. just a suggestion.. can use half a can of the stout in warm water.. this mtd is more for jaundice.. if for spots, i would reckon to wait cos it will usually goes off..

I dun have stretch mark but my flabby tummy is there.. how? how?

My wonderful CL is 64 years old.. she dun like us to carry baby so often too.. she said babies will wan to be carry now and then.. which is really true for my baby cos now he want to be cuddle before putting him to bed at night..

I am not using pampers cos more expensive. I use mamy poko which is slightly cheaper and equally good.. but thst is for night use..

Hi, SarahMay

My baby kanna blocked nose almost every day.. haha.. initially I also freaked out, heart pain to see him breathing very hard.. but now more or less use to it.. I brought him to the PD initially and he gave me a spray which I use only a few times as I find the strength of the spray like too strong even though it is quite effective. I was advised not to use cotton bud as it will end up pushing the mucus further in. you can try getting the nasal decongestion. most PD will recommend that but dun know why my PD gave me the spray. I dump the spray anyway. is your baby sleeping in aircon room? if so, better get your baby out of the aircon room for the time being.

<font color="0077aa">poppy tay: The 1st 3days I only have colostrum as well &amp; don't supplement cos the 1st few days baby do not need much food. Its only the 3rd night when my milk ss kick in.

Flos: thanks for the maid levy info!

Sarah: I don't think you need to bring bb to see PD cos of blocked nose cos think its normal. I just use a thin cotton bud to remove the mucus. Yday night bb didn't really sleep, I think cos of his blocked nose. And Gosh! I am so tired! End of the day I have to lay him tummy down on my body so he can sleep! I am his body mattress liao!

I also feed on demand &amp; this is Zane 5th week and sometimes he can feed like 2-2.5hours. But he latch on like 5-10mins on one breast only.</font>

breadmum, my massage lady said for c section can only massage after a number of days.. but i feel the massage is not so much of slimming for me.. it is more for relaxation and pushing back my womb.. so now really dun noe wat to do with the flabby tummy..

Mommies, any good suggestion?

Hi breadmum,

my baby always stuff his fist (with mittens) into his mouth and in his hysterical state will rub his hands all over his face resulting in zits and pimple like thingy all over. Sigh.. so my PIL have been tellin me to give him the pacifier despite my refusal. Anyway, they tried today but he spit it out after a few sucks, much to my relief.

Regarding zits on the face, read that it is quite a common problem among the babies. Any way to remedy it? His full month celebration is on Sat and I dread having to explain time and time again why his face is so pimply. Sigh..

Hi LC,

my baby also seems to have blocked nose at night. I can hear him 'snorting' sometimes. The aircon temp's set at 26 deg cel, so it should be fine right? He also breathes quite hard sometimes.

me too, storeberry.. my baby loves to be laid on my chest n there was once I was lying down with him on my chest and both of us slept for 4hours or so.. buti must say the feeling is marvellous :p

by the way, how do you use the cotton bud to take out the mucus?

Hi, Kyrieleison

Haha.. my baby has a pimly face on his full month, bo bian leh.. cos we dun wan to apply any cream, we want a natural healing so leave it.. they will be gone but wun be so fast. if you really want, can go PD and they will prescribe you withe special cream..

sometime, it is the dust in the room that baby sleeps in so have to be mindful.. tot aircon toom has no natural air ventalistion, will worsen the blocked nose..

Kyrieleison - my bb also spit out the pacifier. so looks like they are all the same. mine too, he sniffs his mittens, plays with his hands, and its all over his face.

As for the pimply spots, my mum says its normal. old wives tale says use porridge broth water, let it cool and apply over the face. Most PD says just leave it and it will go away.

My PD says most bb should sleep in 26 degrees aircon rooms, most times. else heat rash will appear.

kryieleison- my boy breathing is also loud. i have ask my doc he mention that it is normal.

LC- he will get used to it. then next time he want to sleep on your chest. now my boy like my mum pat him to sleep

my boy no poo today again hai..
yest spend $20 butt to see doc. doc put his last finger in to his anus to check

LC, but i don't see any mucus in his nose leh.. but he still snorts.
He was prescribed this rash cream for his neck (for heat rash) but doc says not to apply on his face in case he eats it accidentally.. esp with his hands constantly brushing against his face and then into his mouth. Do you think that its heat rash on their faces or could it be dirty?

Blocked Ducts
I think my son has blocked tear ducts. Have googled and found some info on it. It's when the tear ducts are blocked and the tears cannot be drained. He always wakes up with lots of eye dirt and sometimes he can't even open it. Any one with the same prob?

Flos
no lah, not that breastpads arent good. just those reusable ones arent good. even as prevention from chaffing. i used the avent reusable ones and after it's soaked the pads stuck to my nipples and OUCH!!!!!

cuddling bb
dunno leh, im for the idea that cuddling makes bbs more secure and less edgy when they are older...anyway bb still small.

pacifier
not used on FB and not using now. CL never asked me to use...not yet at least...

breastfeeding and sweating
normal. think mentioned before that breast glands are modified sweat glands. so when it starts to work overtime, so will your sweat glands...

PACFIERS: actually, what's the issue with pacifiers? Will they cause bbs to hv crooked teeth, concave palates, over-stimulation of the saliva glands on the inside of his cheeks? If these are not the issues, I dun mind shoving him the pacifier either!!

storeberry: I'm already a human mattress for my son! I think it's my body warmth, heartbeat and flabby tummy that he likes
My DH is scolding me for giving in to the boy's whims!

1756231.jpg

LC: 4 hours and u slept with him in your arms? Is that hazardous? I only allow 30min time with my boy cos I dun want him to give up on his cot, like my 12-mth-old nephew who now sleeps in between his parents.

Me got no stretch mark but the flab is hideous. It was flat after my jamu sessions, but now it's bulging out again

I'm using the leftover Clarins oil and stretch mark control cream after my shower.

How to pick the mucus? U wet the tip with some warm water and knead it to sharpen it. Just pick it out when he is caught unawares.
once his mucus was hard, so I used my finger nails to pull it out in one swift move during his sleep! HE'll wake up sneezing! hahhaha

kyrie: I set his aircon to 25 degrees. I cld hear him wheezing when I BF him this morning. I felt so sim tia to hear him wheeze and heave when that unblocked nostril is blocked by my breast. I had to press down my breast to allow air to get into his unblocked nostril.

breadmum: u bathe every 3 days? Do u hv that waterproof plaster to prevent water from getting into the wound? I feel so hot from all those tonic soups too. I hv to turn on my aircon everyday, else will perspire like hell....drip drip drip down my boobs.

Pacifier: I read from babycentre that pacifiers are better given after the baby has settled into nursing in case of nipple confusion. Pros of pacifier - lowers incidence rate of SIDS. While cons would include higher chance of the baby getting ear infection. Hmm...

Flos, I think orthodontic pacifiers would be a good choice if we're talking about crooked teeth etc. I've actually gotten the Avent ones but I'm still holding back from giving it to him.

Yah lor.. it's so heartbreaking when I hear my son snort too. Like he's having a very hard time breathing. I have tried using a cotton bud to clean his nose but he absolutely hates it and will squirm and turn his head away.

<font color="0000ff">Rachel Lim
Me Me Me!!!!!!!! I get this very farni sensation when it's leaking... unable to describe it. I get a sensation when I got let-down oso...

Bigtoes
lucky u!!! I take 1 hr to pump n onli can get 100ml, now 120ml coz i'm pumping every 6 hrly instead of previously 4 hrs. so it's v time consuming for mi n not to mention, tiring</font>

BABYSAFE MATTRESS: anyone bought this? My bb seems to find it warm. I hv placed a rubber bubble mat over the mattress to conduct the heat away. Just now, I found his back a bit damp. He must hv perspired. Maybe I shd lower the aircon to 24 degrees??

dseptkon: Is your bb still finding your Mothercare mattress hot?

CHANGE COT BEDSHEETS: how often do u change the cot bedsheets? every 2 weeks?

kyrie: I hv the Avent pacifier too, cos it came free with my steriliser. I wonder if I shd take it out? My CL doesnt know I hv a pacifier in the drawer!

Chantelle, yes, turn to no. 3, and time manually for 3-4mins. Make sure you test the temperature of the milk first before you feed your baby.

flos
have given up on the mattress. Jonathan has been sleeping on the pink bouncer till now *lol*. in fact we ahve another larger bouncer, also handed down from FB for him to graduate to. goodness knows whats going to happen to the mattress! will try moving the cot nearer the aircon but i lay on the mattress myself and it really was very HOT. seems like a very expensive mistake...

we change the sheets every week even though he doesnt sleep in it, just lay him in there for about 10 min playtime after changing into pjs.

snorting bb
Jonathan has been making these snuffling noises too n sometimes he doesnt drink properly cos of the boogers. was worried that he had some nose problem but thanks for the reassurance that this is normal.

carrying bb
anyone's arms/back ache after carrying bb for a while? we went out today for 3 hours without the sling and by the end of that time there was this nreve/muscle across my back that was screaming for help.

Blocked tear ducts, Mucus in the nose, Pimply face, Heat rash, Sometimes no poo poo, Perspiration:

Scarlett's got all these one time or another! Lol

Blocked tear ducts: Wakes up with so much eye dirt, sometimes cannot open eyes ; i usually just use sterilised cotton wool with water to wipe eye clean, PD says as long as eye does not become inflamed (whites of eye not red) it is normal, just massage the inner edge of the blocked duct eye and it will go away soon, only happens on right eye

Mucus in the nose: Scarlett makes snorting noises almost like she's got a blocked nose, sometimes i see big pieces of nose dirt (sometimes yellow, sometimes whittish) inside the nostrils ; i bought this pigeon nose 'sucker' that comes with a long tube to help suck mucus out of baby's nose, Scarlett hates it but it sure clears the nose :p

Pimply face: Scarlett gets small little bumps on her cheeks and PD says they are heat rashes ; i will use sterilised cotton wool and water to wipe her cheeks every time after feeding to prevent any milk or dirt from sticking onto her cheeks, i also make sure she is always in a room with a temperature of at least 25 degrees (Told MIL about the rash, don't understand why Scarlett ends up in the living room again)

Sometimes no Poo Poo: Around last week, Scarlett did not poo poo two days in a row! And yes! it was uncomfy for her, she could not settle, and her tummy looked like there's a watermelon in it ; I find that it helps to feed her some gripe water between feeds (at least 2 hrs before next feed, with one teaspoon to 100ml of water) and doing baby yoga for digestion helps, and after 2 days, WAALAA.. so much poop it overflowed her pampie :p

Perspiration: Scarlett sweats a lot too! I tell my MIL not to put her outside so much.. the heat makes baby sweat a lot and is very uncomfortable, and even wakes her up from her sleep sometimes, so i am very strict about putting baby in a room that is at least 25 degrees, keeps the heat rash, pampie rashes away :p

Hi chantelle,

For me, I have show at 3am at 21 sept. So I wait till 10 in the morning then admit to hospital as there is a big blood clot flow out and I can feel the mild contractions..

I was discharged on the 23 Sept at 11am plus. Haha that's y I'm wondering if you are there..

Haha.. My bb choose to come out on the exact edd date. Therefore she's a virgo bb..

I live at Sengkang. u?

Btw how's everything? For me, due to latching, I have bleeding nipples from the 4th days on and was very depressed during that time and somemore due to not enough sleep.. And bb need to be latch on every 1hr..

But now everything is okie.. As I latch her in the day then night time either me or my hubby will take turn to take care of her and we will warm EBM for her to drink.

So.. I can still rest my nipples..

How's yr confinement? You follow the rules? I cant stand mine.. Lucky my mum still let me bath with herbs every alternate days. 20days to go..

qqq : I never really latch on bb also , onli in the hospital den i latch on cause really too tired , cause when latch on she drink very long , keep falling asleep and i dunno how much she have drink also. once i fall asleep , she cry and find milk , totally cannot slp , but when i use EBM its much more better. can monitor how much she's drinking , and at least is 3 hrs interval for every feed.

haix , MIL always so headache de , jus dun bother bout them la , let them say wad they wan. Keep hiding in ur room with bb lor , tat's wad i do also , hide in the room with bb , except for makan time den i come out. if not i stay in the room slp. U try to let her win lor , dun agrue with her if not ur hubby really will be struck in between de , and if u let her , ur hubby wil feel guilty also ma , will help u fight for ur rights , But mine i more headache or consider perhaps lucky , cause my hubby is a hongkie , his mum onli know how to speak cantonese , and i dunno at all. so sometimes when she nag , even when i manage to catch wad she's saying , i pretend i dun understand =X Regards to confinement , I'm not really into it wor , went out for coffee with my friends , go out buy bb item , drink cold drinks , haha , but all behind my MIL back.

Koras, yah I can even see his chest heaving up and down. Looks kinda scary sometimes.

Last night my boy slept alot during the day. Woke up at 8 plus in the evening and refuses to go to sleep after that. Both my hub and I tried so hard to coax him back to sleep but to no avail. He only finally fell asleep close to 1am. Sigh.. any babies also like that? Sleeps alot in the day and gets cranky at night? I'm wondering if I should only bathe him in the evenings (set a routine) so that he knows after bath it's bedtime) instead of the mornings. I realise he tends to sleep well after his bath. (But you know lah.. PILs will say don't do that..they'll catch a cold etc..)
And also, should I try to keep him awake during the late afternoons to evenings so that he'll be knocked out at night?
On the other hand, I have read that babies should not be awake for more than 1hr or 2.5hr at a go. What a dilemma!

As much as I want to have him close to me all the time, I've finally given in and left him with my MIL in her room for the next feeding so that I can catch a 2hr nap in awhile. Now expressing so that I can sleep on.

Flos, I was really really soooo tempted to just shove the pacifier into his mouth last night when he was cranky. In fact, I did.. but he spat it out after awhile. He wailed so loudly for his milk so I gave it to him in case he wakes the rest up.

Kym, so the PD didn't give any form of medication? My boy has it on both eyes. I keep a close watch in case his eyes turn red but it's so stressful.

Nose sucker can be used even on hard mucus? or only those runny nose kind? If we don't see anything there, can we still use it?