(2008/09) Sep 2008

crayon: OOOOOHHH!! Ray-ears!! Reyes is the name of a famous Filipino pool champion!!! LOL.

xiaohwa: NATURAL w/ epi @ one-bedded shd be $5K+ before CPF deduction. After less, it's slightly over $2K. This does not incl the pre-delivery consultations which amounted to $1.2K.

shazz: I just scolded my nanny for feeding my son another 10ml behind my back! I was attending to a visitor just now and didn't notice she wanted a peace of mind and went to make another 10ml to shove it to my son! He was just fed 100ml at 2.30pm and at 4.15pm, barely 2 hrs later, she went to feed him again.

My nanny keeps attributing it to my son's need for the pacifier. At first, she blamed it on the sore gums and made it sound like only jingfengsan can solve the problem, so my DH got her the jingfengsan.

After applying it for 1.5days, we stopped her cos we dun really know how trustworthy TCM powders are. So now she changes her strategy and keeps saying I need to latch him to pacify him. I relented and let him latch on to stop him from crying. As a result of my latching, he ends up drinking additional (leaking) BM from me and pukes after that!!! Grrrrr.....

I thot cranky and crying babies are nothing new to them? They are paid to calm the babies right?!! Why must they resort to feeding all the time? It's messing up my bb's feeding routine.

wingkei.. maybe i can suggest that u try to latch on more instead of pumping every other hour.. maybe pump every 2-3hrs? Maybe u'll get more tat way..and ur nipples and urself can get some rest..

Ava, I can imagine its going to be a massive operation to bring the whole family out. I guess ur maid doesnt mind carrying him ba..

Shazz, when do u know u need to feed him with jinfengsan? It sounds like its good for everything..So far my CL didnt use the gripewater oso.

StefSeanShar, I can almost visualise them giggling away at their own antics..both of them are so cheerful.

<font color="119911">shazz (shazzerlyn) - you are one of the lucky ones with a good CL

Jingfengsan
Mommies since a couple of moms here are using this to calm baby down I was asking hubby what this is, and he went to research online.
Just to be safe, pls check if the Jingfengsan u are using consists of zhusha and xionghuang (the "xiaoer jingfengsan" in yellow powder form).
zhusha contains mercuric oxide (HgO) and xionghuang has As2S3 (arsenic trisuphide).
These two substances are ok in small quantities and will calm baby down, but just make sure not to overdose when self-administrating medications okie.

To read up more, here are the links he sent me:
http://baike.baidu.com/view/49684.htm
http://baike.baidu.com/view/82978.htm

Ava (avalyn) - Gina Ford's methods can be used from birth - as long as babies are not underweight or premature. I have been totally laissez-faire with the CL also, cos she is here only for 1 month..but yeah, I really hope its not too late for us to "reset" Kieran once she leaves (after some tears and sleepness nights)</font>

Flos
your CL very xie2 ... machiam like having Exorcist played out at home like that. scary!!!

my CL malaysian, so far so good. good cook, clean enough, and is dying now coz training my maid who hasnt a clue even how to mop the table or floor...CL is also ok with bb. will take it upon herself to soothe bb to sleep at night when she wakes up too often..but then she's been here for only a week...

and really im worried sick how to take care of bb and tot when she leaves. so i dun mind it if she passes the bb to me as often as possible. now slowly takng over changing diapers etc from her. then next week will start bathing her...else how to get used to life without her...

Ava
you are right. think even most hyper scheduling books recommend we start when bb is slightly older. two weeks at least?

demand feeding
am still demand feeding since bb is only a week old. still need to flush out the jaundice from her body. also try to cuddle her as much as possible coz the first couple of weeks into the world is actually very traumatic on them...need to get them slowly used to being on earth..

crayon: jingfengsan is like a 'dope'. it knocks out wakeful babies and calms bawling babies. mine slept so soundly after we applied the JFS on his sore gums (btw, it's healed!) over the weekeend.

I hardly let my CL use the Ridwind...

lilboymom: tell me abt it, I find it very 'xie2' but shrug it off if she doesn't pray with her hands on my bb. Just now, I thot I hear her humming what sounded like those Buddhist tunes to my baby. Wanted to barge in to scold her, but didn't cos I can't be sure if they are religious in nature.

My DH and I are very uncomfy whenever she takes out her Tibetan prayer books to read. Just now, she was like facing my son, as though she was reading him the scriptures! I was damned pissed, so I carried my son out from her bed. Try to hynoptise/indoctrinate my son with these religious chants? No way!

F1 : SOB. I wanted Kimi to win. SOB SOB.

Stef- I stay within walking distance to Holy Fam (opposite!) near Still road ut this is a rented place. Will probably find a bigger place to rent from next year onwards but will only start looking maybe in Dec coz my lease due in March! U bought a place at Tembling?

Feeding - I also don't know if my baby is eating enough but there are growth spurts (normally on 3rd week adn 5th week I think) where they will demand more and therefore latch on more. He's taking about 90ml per feed lasting about 2.5 to 3 hours. I think I'll up it to 100ml very soon.

Gina Ford / Baby whisperer - My friend claims that the Gina Ford method made her rather depressed as it is very stringent and scary!!! So just use it as a guide but maybe don't have to follow it to the core. After flipping through both books, I find the baby whisperer methods a little more flexible. I think I will only start training him from week 7 onwards (after 40 days). Let's see....

Ava - how do you train ur baby?

Alabone / Isabelle - NFP .... hmmm....some catholics really follow it but some don't la. I know my catholic friends who use condoms but then feel very guilty about it. I don't think I am even thinking about second kid so need to speak to hubs to come up with a way. Not a easy topic to tackle!

Jin Feng San - where to buy huh????

Meie - I think u are damn solid!!!! I know it is not easy yah? But u must be a super mom to have coped with the crying and all. Is he better today?

Flos, reyes seems to be a common name in the sports arena. i know there's one pool player, one soccer player and one basketballer.. hee. hope he'll be a sporty boy in future..

haha.. and its a dope u still give to ur son!

I actually wonder how my CL does it at times.. Baby can be bawling their lungs out..but she can settle him and calm him down in just a mere 5mins whereas for me, i'll be so damn stressed and baby will be struggling in my arms..

lanolin
Not supermum lah.. I was forced to deal with it, no choice! &amp; phew.. my son finally slept for 2+ hours just now.. he has not been sleeping at all in the afternoons for the past few days! I can't imagine myself being so happy just because my son slept in the afternoon.. how parenthood has changed me!

crayon
My exact sentiments.. but we are 1st time mummies mah... CL has been handling so many babies, this is second nature to them. I'm sure we can calm our babies as well very soon!

Jin Feng San
I got it from Eu Yan Sang.. my CL rubs it on my baby's gums too.

Yippee! 2 more days to the end of my confinement!

Lanolin
I havent started with the twins yet. With Adan we did "controlled crying" technique. Allow baby to cry for 5 mins, go in and pat. cry for 10 mins, go in and pat, cry for 15 mins, go in and pat. etc until 20 mins then after that 20 mins, 20mins until stops crying. no talking, no eye contact during patting. just in case, can check diaper in case baby is crying due to poop.

Can be quite trying and hard on the parents...as i posted earlier (some months bck), hb and I were holding hands under the blankets in our room...wondering out loud if we were doing the right thing while he cried...after 2 days of this (about 30-45 mins per night), he stopped crying when going to bed. and just fell asleep himself, no crying.

Jin Feng San
Hi mummies.. Been reading that a lot of mummies are using this. Wat is it actually, and where can i get it?

Baby's feed
My boy will be a month soon and im currently feeding him EBM and FM. I'm still feeding him 60ml at each feed. Any mommies have increased their baby's feed b4 they turn one month? Is it really necessary to wait till they turn 1 mth old then we up their milk capacity? how much are u all feeding ur babies by now?

Gina Ford
I looked this up after seeing many postings here anbout her, and found it quite interesting leh.. Can learn a lot from her methods.
Anyone noes whether her books are sold in Singapore?

I am from the oct thread, but was hoping if any kind mummies here can help to recommend good and responsible massage lady to me?

I feel more at ease if the recommendation comes from u mummies as you all had engaged the services and will be the best judge

And roughly how long after natural birth can I book her and how many sessions? And how much is the cost per session? thanks a million!

angeline goh- mine seem doesnt really touch near the wound that part
thou my upper part slim down, but stiill that 'spare' tire still there

missy: my boy who's turning one mth nxt week is drinking 100ml now le. And im now thinking like mad hw to increase my ss to keep up with his intake.
Currently trying now GNC's fenugreek, 2 caps per meal to see the effect.

yday my boy just wanted to suck to sleep...from 1215am to 1240am! even my CL has already slept and he only just fell asleep oni. Sigh..

Mandy
Wow.. Ur boy quite a drinker.. Hehhehe...

Im thinking of increasing the amount my boy drink.. But rite now facing one problem... How to mix the formula milk?? One scoop is mixed w 60ml water rite. Then if i want to increase his feed to 90ml how to mix??
Rite now i think im feeding him too little. only 60ml and he needs to be fed every 2hrs. Initially, 1st 2 weeks it was every 3 hrs. Now every 2 hrs, very tiring leh... Esp at nite.

Any mummies have suggestions how to mix the formula milk?

missy: u can get it at any medical hall.

小儿惊风散

中成药组成:

全蝎、僵蚕、雄黄、朱砂、甘草。

中成药功用:

镇惊熄风。用于小儿惊风、抽搐神昏。

中成药剂量:

散剂:1.5g/袋,口服,周岁小儿1.5g/次,2次/日。周岁以内酌减。

if your intervals are short (1-2h), i suppose 60ml for a one-mth old bb is sufficient.

mandy: i'm also racing with time. my boy's appetite has grown so much but my ss is not meeting his demand. i'm starting to take fenugreek pills, but so far only taking 2 pills/day. I need to increase the dosage soon.

ava: wow, u r soooo strict! I wonder if I'll be like u...ignore bb completely. I always establish eye contact and tal to my baby. He cries even louder when he hears my voice!

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: my bb also don't like to be hot! He even perspire in a air-con room!Aiyo!

Ava: really pei fu when you bring your family out!! Not easy leh!

I finally gave in to pacifier! Ohhh.. but seem to do the job to stop bb's crying. But if bb cries, I shove the pacifier then how do I know if he is hungry??

Flos: Your CL is really weird!</font>

Flos
Hehhehe.. Im Malay lah... Cannot Mandarin at all.. ;p

I was thinking that if i give my baby more, than he'll sleep longer in between feeds.. So mummy can get some rest.. Hehheheh.. Bad leh this mummy..

storeberry- when he spit out the pacifier. and when ur hand tap his lower or side mouth he will start to turning here and there. that what i did.

ava- you really very strict. i cant bear to do that

missy: oops!! Then it's best u buy from modern medical halls like Eu Yan Sang. "Jing Feng San". It's an anti-shock powder for newborn babies!!!

storeberry: my CL has many interesting life stories to tell me...drama mama...

which brand of pacifier did u give to Zane?

i think by now we cn gauge if bb is hungry or not. E.g. mine is 3 hr interval, so if he wails earlier than the normal feeding hour, I know he is just being cranky and wanna chew on sthg.

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum)
wow! u re homeschooling your son? that's awesome. i can't get mine to sit still for longer than 20 min to do those kumon books.

sarahmay
good to have u back!i think u will do fine without the CL cos of your spunk!

ava
thanks for the detailed desc of controlled crying. will attempt it when jonathan is a bit older and needs to sleep on his own. any guidelines about what age it is appropriate for?

flos
your CL is pretty freaky. how much longer to the end of confinement?

ava, how old was adan when you applied the "controlled crying" technique on him?

jinfengsan
so tempted to try also. my bb has been cranky the last 2 nites and nothing seemed to work. she was up from 2am to 1pm today and dh and i had to take turns to handle her. wonder if it was something we did wrong or if this is just one of those baby things.

ava, u actually did tat "controlled crying" method? I can imagine the heartache u and ur hb must have felt then! Heartpain to hear baby crying their lungs out.. HB and I will be discussing soon if we're going to do that once CL leaves end of this wk..

Meie, I SURE hope I'll be good enough to calm him down soon.. haa.. and good for u that confinement is ending soon and mine will be one day after u!! yeahness!! Anyway, I guess this is the period whereby our babies will stay awake for longer period of time.

shazz: I went to tmc parent craft centre regarding my breastfeeding problem just now, then found out i had some blocked ducts. so the nurses there taught me how to massage the blocked ducts away and how to get Alyssa to latch on the breast. Managed to get her to latch on for about 20mins there. But now she's admitted for jaundice.. so can only still pump out and bring my EBM down. feeling very miserable now..

crayonshinchan: yup after clearing the blocked ducts in my breasts i managed to pump out more just now. from the previous 20-30ml from both breasts, now i can get 50ml.

missy: sigh i dunno but maybe cos my boy is turning a mth old and it seems like its the growth spurt now. so increase to 100ml n it oso seems to stop him from crying, so me n my hubby thot that 100ml is his normal feed for now lor.

AH! i wish there's such machine tat can decode BB's cries, so we dun nid to try tis and that to pacify them le... haha

Ava,

I'm also interested to know when u introduced controlled crying for Adan. Mrs Wong once told us during class that bbs younger than 6 mths should not be allowed to cry excessively. They need the cuddle for security and brain devt.

We did the "uncontrolled" crying method for J when he turned 13 mths i.e. put him in the room, close the door and that's it.
1st day: after 2.5 hrs, still crying and we gave up.
2nd day: he cried for 45 mins and then slept.
3rd day: Only 5 mins and he zzzz..

qqqmissheng : doubt u gt see me , hee ... cause 23sept 730am went into hospital for induce , went straight to the delivery suite all the way till evening , urs 21 sept , means ur bb virgo lor , urs decided to come out on its own or? which part of singapore u staying?

Flos: ABC soup is ok for confinement! I've checked with my mum and even my CL says it's ok. So I'm having it for lunch today!

Jessi: am glad u managed to clear the milk ducts. use hot towel to compress breats, then massage before pumping or latch on.
pray that Alyssa will be home soon

How to increase milk supply besides fenugreek and soups? I have been yielding 50ML each pump (10 mins) for the longest time. Hope to increase supply.. any suggestions? Can i pop 4 fenugreek instead of 2?

Have u all tried hanky panky wif hubby liao huh? HB not interested in condom and i am not interested to take a risk leh. My SIL kena preggie then when she is still doing breastfeeding lo and went for abortion then. Aiyoh.. phobia sia

shazz: I know it's fine to drink ABC soups, cos she and my DH also need to drink normal soups. But we being Singaporeans hv the mentality that if I pay so much to get a confinement nanny, u must get to drink something special/something u otherwise dun get to drink on normal days, e.g. Si Wu soup, Ba Zhen soup, and other tonic soups!!!

stef&amp;sean: ABC soup is a classic soup that overseas students or busy working adults will cook (and easily learn how to cook) using the slow cooker. A=potato, B=tomato, C=carrot. Feel free to add pork ribs!!

bacon&amp;eggs: I'm facing the 'imminent drought' problem. I popped fenugreek 4 ytd. This morning pumped 125ml from both breasts.

xiaohwa: u r welcome. but actually, TMC is already the second cheapest in town. how come u (an Oct mom) only start picking your hospital now?

goldfish- hm..that time my sis in law also the same. give birth to the FB then notlong she preg again. think cox menes not here yet so chances of getting preg again is high i guess. previously preg keep getting the horny feeling, now think too tired to even want to hanky panky with him

<font color="0077aa">Thanks Flos &amp; Koras!

Cos I fed on demand so sometimes he can cry for milk at intervals of 1,2 or 3 hours. So I don't want a situation where he is hungry &amp; I keep shoving the pacifier to him...

Yday gave bb pacifier &amp; he did not cry hysterically from 630pm-8pm. Guess it did h=its work..

Goldfish: No hanky panky yet leh.. Both of us tired &amp; more interested in bb... Aiyo..

Stef&amp;seanbabes: ABC soup is the potato, tomato &amp; carrot soup.

My CL also cook ABC soup but with lots of ginger &amp; pepper! Love it!

chantelle sun: No need to sterilise milk bags.

Jessi: Hope Alyssa is fine soon! Take care!</font>

Flos,
Sounds encouraging..will try to pop another 2 fenugreek this evening

Goldfish,
I told HB to stay off any hanky panky for a while..i dont think i am ready...worried the wound might tear..plus we are too busy doing our nite shift (feeding)

morning ladies.
went to the suntec motor show with hb, jared and nat yesterday. never seen suntec so 'uncrowded' before so good thing we went.

i already used up my ebm in the freezer and didn't pump so whenhb decided to bring us out, i succumbed to fm. so got him to buy a small tin of similac ut he got the big one instead. then when i saw him at home with the fm, i broke down for the first time and bawled!

and i felt hypocritial for consoling mummies when they used fm. coz when i used, i felt so bad all over again.

yesterday cadence was again up for her hourly feeds and i really was so super duper tired... but still didn't think i would give in again so quickly...

sarahmay,
glad to see u online. when u can, come here to rant ya? your cl sounds really horrid. good thing you got rid of her and hv help now. wound healing fine already?

crayonsin,
you're catholic too? i love st marys. it's such a hip and beautiful church. and i like father john paul but he's not always there on sundays. we used to attend mass regularly before jared came along. then after he was born, we could leave him with my parents and attend church. but when nat came along, we had to bring jared and leave nat at home. then nat got bigger so we brought them both. but it was sooooooooo tough handling two todds in church so we've stopped going regularly. we also dont practise the nfp... and now i'm planning to use iud...

Flos (flos): I'm opposite of you manx! I love ABC soup and although I'm ok with the dang gui and black beans soup, ba zhen and the chick essence with DOM / Martel, I welcome the ABC soup anytime! It's a refreshing change for me.
So am glad when I asked and she said ok to take!

alabone: I know how you feel, it's like your perfect record is now broken yah? *hugs* so long as Cadence is growing well yah?

ABC soup is with tomato? i always just cook with potato, carrots and onions and pepper. nv tried tomato before. isn't it sour?

goldfish,
i think it's better to take some precaution. coz i was like you where my hb didnt want to use condom... then look where i ended up... why did your sil abort and not just give birth??

shazz,
yeah something like that... more like i really wanted to tbf her coz she's a preemie. anyway, she only had two feeds of fm yesterday while i was out. then when i came back i continued to latch her. i hope i wont give up so soon again. but u r right too. as long as she grows and is healthy, it is not so impt if she drinks bm or fm.