(2008/09) Sep 2008

Bigtoes - yeah- think its post effect of c sect. but stitches were removed yesterday. now just have to move with care. i guess its all about resting, yesterday, i rested a lot and felt better, that is why i never came online.

Flos/SarahMay - i had my fair share of untidy CL. My new one is much better but still hygiene seems not to be their priority. Mine uses a nappy to cushion the washable mat to change baby when he poops, then use it to swaddle him. if i am bb, i will scream yucks.

ABC soup - i had that too, in my first 6 days. I even had sweet and sour pork.

Milk supply - Am feeling a bit sad cause bb always fight when latching on. In the end i express out. And everytime i express it is a 2 hour interval with only 80-90 ml. But at night, it can go to 120ml. i cannot seem to find a way to increase it despite taking fernugeek

now must find out how to increase it. now going for lunch.

bacon&eggs: I'm starting to suspect it's due to my lazy routine that is causing my milk ss to dwindle. Remember I said I dun latch/pump after 12mn till 7am? In my first week, I latched religiously thru the wee hours. Perhaps my breasts are no longer stimulated nowadays, so the milk ss automatically drops?

shazz: me too!! Love it and can cook it well! It's very nutritious.

alabone: with tomatoes it's not very sour. Oh u reminded me of those onions!! I also add them sometimes to make ABCD soup.

Hey, dun feel bad succumbing to FM. I think FMs are a godsend cos my boy is a big eater. I shdn't hv programmed myself to pump 100ml now, so my milk ss cannot increase beyond 140ml now! SOBSOBSOB

Goldfish: My DH and I are too tired to get hankypanky
Better to abstain cos this is the period we're most fertile!

NAIL CUTTING: When did u first cut your bb's nails? My bb's nails are getting longer. Shd I clip them now?

PIMPLES!! Oh dear, my boy's face is full of pimples these 2 days. Neonatal acne.

PUTTING ON WEIGHT: R u all putting on weight during your confinement? My CL commented that my face is very round now, as compared to 1.5weeks ago when she first arrived at my place. HELP!!

<font color="0077aa">Flos: I cut bb's nail when he was a few weeks old. I use the rounded sissors cos its easier &amp; I cut when he is sleeping.

Aiyoo.. my bb also has a lot of heat rash on his face &amp; back. My MIL ask me to buy the don't know Jin wat hua to bathe. Later will go medical hall &amp; buy.</font>

pumping breastmilk
how can we tell if the breasts are emptied?

nail cutting
flos, i've been meaning to cut bb's nails too, but keep forgetting. they're growing into talons now!

hankypanky
daren't even think about it. my down there still stings now and then. only been able to sit without squirming since yesterday. doc said 6wks to completely heal so i guess there won't be any action till after.

putting on weight
flos, maybe your cl was trying to hint that she's done a good job fattening you up with her cooking?

linea nigra
does anyone know when this will go away?

flos
read in the babywise book that if we don't pump/latch in the nights, the ss will drop. so if u have been slepeing through the night this might affect your ss. so i guess the thing to do would be to start latching/pumping? most of the mummies have commented that the ss seems to increase at night. i noticed that too for myself.

xuanting: u r right. She was trying to brag abt her good cooking, cos she said both my son and I look like 'hamburgers' now. She said both of us looked so gaunt when she first arrived, indirectly hinting the ex-CL did a poor job. I'm quite offended by that remark! hamburger for my boy is ok, but not for mama! grrrr...

linea nigra: heard it could be as longas 6 mths. My DH got me the Africa Spa scrub to use, hopefully, I can scrub about some dead skin on my tummy, then apply some whitening lotion, per my jamu lady's advice.

storeberry: u getting the jin yin hua water? hey, u try then feedback to me whether it's got use of not, ok?!! I dunno if it's for bathing or drinking. Check this link out on neonatal acne: http://www.babycenter.com/0_symptom-guide-rash-or-skin-condition_1196431.bc

Was told it's cos of my heaty diet also.

I might clip his nails soon, but so far, we've made him wear mittens so he doesn't get to suck his thumb nor scratch himself.

dseptkon: oh dear, how abt expressing my milk in the middle of the night, will it help to increase my ss? I am usually very sleepy to latch and carry the bb after 12mn. I just carried him the whole morning, my back is breaking!!!!!!!

Flos: I'm a Dec Mummy..... Alr pick TMC as my hospital, just tt not yet decide the room type la. Think maybe i will consider if want to choose 2 bedded instead so tt can cut down cost.

breadmum: my boy oso fight when i try to latch him on n his face will turn red, so nw i call him Red Bull haha. He really behave n sound like a bull when he's "fighting", with all those " umm umm " sound.

May i ask wad bottles n teats are you all using? It seems like NUK is qte a good brand, has anyone use its bottles n teats? It seems like its teats are created to simulate BF.

ABC soup...
my CL never cook that for me. coz...i cook that nearly every other day for my son/fb!!!think she see oredi oso sian...

so far my menu quite varied. even got modified sweet sour pork rib and pork chop. yummy though strong hint of ginger lah...

flos
i lost 10kg so far, even with all the food ...but then i wouldnt tell you how much i put on lah..too embarrassing to reveal here..it's more than any of you here!!!

breadmum
if bb fights, it may be due to overfast flow or under ss. latching is the best solution to stop future fights...if your flow is too fast, try lying down so gravity will prevent milk from spurting right into your bb;s throat...

deseptkon
if my boy is as old as your boy, i will have difficulty getting him settle down for kumon books too. i have very very short sessions, like a 10 minutes sessiont he most before switching to other activites. today's phonics took longer than usual and he got bored half way through...grrrrrrrrrrrr......boys!!!

mandy/breadmum: mine also! she keeps rejecting my breasts and instead arches her back and roots for some invisible nipple on my arm or something, and when she cannot find it, she wails and wails. my bb's nickname is Jaws cos when she does latch on, she bites!

flos, your cl is so zi4 kua1, can't stand her. eek! think she's prolly hoping for a big fat shou1 gong1 angpow from you.

Cutting baby's nails
My CL told me we can only cut baby's nails on his manyue, so I am holding off till then.

Pimples on baby's face
Big breakout on my baby's face! Darn, just when his manyue party is a few days away.. sigh.

xiaohwa: dun worry, it cld be less cos I stayed one extra nite at the one-bedded plus my labour ward hours were pretty long. That's why it was slightly over $2k after medisave deduction.

Another mommy, sasa de mouse, paid only balance of $1.9K. hers also natural w/ epi @ one-bedded I think.

flos,

Don't need to do anything abt the bb acne. It will heal on its own.
I'm eating a lot now. Not putting on wt but not losing much either.
Will trim J's nail when he's abt 1 mth old.

Iilboymum,

Change activities every 10 mins??? That's a lot of work right? No wonder u are so stressed!

Mandy,

I used NUK Premium for FB (not the regular NUK cartoon series). Find it quite good but u also pay a premium for it. It's wide-necked and the silicon teat can last quite long. The latex teats are soft, meant to simulate the nipple but like I said, quite high maintenance as it needs to be changed very frequently. Now for Jonas, I'm using Pigeon mainly cos it's BPA-free.

You guys really put me to shame on the effort of breastfeeding. When i read the posting, i felt so guilty...
My son has breastmilk jaundice when he is 5 day old so doc recommend to replace two of his feed to formula...

Since then i have been supplement with one feed a day. I received free formula which actually tempted me further...
FRISBO send me a big can of baby formula (think is a gift when i register themselve during the motherhood fair) Similac send a small hamper with formula as well ( register on the website based on someone recommend in the thread).... So have been supplementing and my milk supply is only about 120 ml from both breast when pump out on average....i really need to buck up after reading all of your effort pumping regularly every three hours...

Oh by the way, did anyone bring your baby to swimming ? I am looking at the baby swimming place, any feedback to share ?

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - why do you say we are most fertile now? Risk of getting preggers is lower when we are BFing right. Anyway, gyne told us to use condoms and I cannot go back on the pill until I stop BFing. Don’t remember the last time we used them!

Nail cutting - our CL just cut Kieran's nails today. Also took a "flower bath" cos its his 1st month today. Will be having my parents over for red eggs and ang ku kueh during dinner as well….hehe, and my mum is bringing curry - no more confinement food for me!!

Weight loss - my weight loss seems to have plateau. Lost about 11kg post pregnancy, still 1kg left to my pre-preggers weight, but seems to have gotten stuck here! Must start exercising soon, but too lazy.

Jo Jo (jojobar) - think the earliest babies can go swimming is about 3 months, depending on when their necks are strong enough? I bought the cutest swimming tube already - waiting impatiently for Kieran to be big enough to bring him downstairs to the pool!

DIAPERS:
Just tried Pet Pet yesterday, and Kieran happily pooped thru the diapers and onto my bed!!
1st and last time we are going to buy Pet Pet. Is Drypers any better? If not, it seems like the only options are Pampers/Mammy Poko??</font>

Lok: thanks, so it'll disappear. I've the same concern as Mei cos he won't look handsome on his manyue

And btw, yours truly here also has a big pimple on my chin!

I'll trim after his first mth too.

I didn't know there is a Premium series for NUK. How high is high? gotta change every 4-6 weeks?

lilboymom: 10 kgs is a lot! Dun worry I also gained more than 10 kgs during my pregnancy. We hvn't bought the weighing scales yet cos my DH didn't want to go to town over the last F1 weekend. I will find out soon how heavy my baby and I are. My CL told me to go on diet after my 28 days of confinement. I should stop eating the fatty skin on the pigs' trotters from now on. Was hoping to get some collagen from there

xuanting: I dun intend to give a big shou gong angpow cos I already need to top up $200 for her housekeeping duties. She hasn't done a great job in keeping my house clean, just so-so only.

My son roots for an invisible nipple when my hubs is carrying him. U should tease her by bringing your nipple to her mouth. Otherwise, she might bite the wrong thing like your bra, your breast pad, her bib, your hair (mine bites my tresses!), etc.

bigtoes,
wat size did u use for pet pet? jared and nat used pet pet since young to now and we dont hv probs with it. it's for day use though. they use mamy poko at night.

bigtoes: was told by frens, relatives and colleagues to stay out in the first few mths or so cos we're the most fertile now. I've no idea either...

"flower bath"? We've to do it for my son tomorrow cos my MIL says it's an auspicious date on 1 Oct. Hey, your confinement shd hv ended last Fri rite? You gave birth on 30 Aug, which was a Sat, so if u count 28 days, it should hv ended on 26 Sep?

<font color="119911">alabone (alabone) - was using size S Pet Pet for up to 6kg. Bought 1 packet to try. Don't like that it uses a sticker fastener as well - prefer the velcro type. Trying out Nepia now, will see if its better.

Flos (flos) - hah, I guess so. Was just taking the 1 month mark (30th Aug to 30th Sept) as the end of my confinement. Anyway, here are photos of Kieran's "flower bath" from this morning - http://smallfattoes.blogspot.com/ (site updated by hubby who is on leave today).

bigtoes,

Petpet cutting is quite big. That could be the reason why it leaked. As for the last 1kg, based on #1, I figured it is the milk ss in the boobs. It should go down once u stop bfg.

flos,

Correct. For latex teats, need to change like twice as frequently as silicon teats. The bottles are not fanciful (no cartoon) and the cost is ~$18 each (if my memory didn't fail me).

Flos
you funny lah!! collagen from pigs trotters!!!

lok
actually most of my activites are pre prepared oredi (spend the last few months of my pregnancy preparing materials)..so not much stress there. the only stress comes from coordinating the two kids' feed, nap etc...and letting them bear with one another's presence...

used to have outdoor activities in the afternoon, but now have to think of alterntive plans liaoz...

limay
wow, kieran looks like he's put on quite a bit of weight!!!! good job!!

jojo
120mls per pump is quite decent isnt it? i mean your boy isnt even a month yet so 120ml per feed should be ok right?

deseptkon
o i rem reading somewhere that milk in the wee hours of the morning is the most nutritious and contains the most fats.

bigtoes: your breastmilk and all probably is more than 1kg! means you've already regained your pre-preggy weight! congrats on the end of your confinement! I'm looking forward to mine on Friday, when the CL leaves and hubby gonna bring me out to pig out with baby in tow! haha ... so many things I wanna eat ... pasta, german sausages ... yummie

I'm using Nepia, Mammypoko now. Nepia cutting is abit big, my boy is still wearing NB size.
Find that Mammypoko is the best cos so far no poo leakage. When we were using Pampers, poo leaked too cos my boy had a explosive splatter that shot out of his pampers! We had same thing with Nepia, cos the cutting is so big it's abit loose. Huggies NB was great during his first 2 weeks cos of the smaller cutting but he outgrew them.

Have not tried Drypers, but was told it's very plasticky like and the tape doesn't stick well once you open it up to check.

Bigtoes
A relative gave Petpet as gift... i let bb try it... and yes it leaks... and somemore PetPet smells terrible... got a funny chemical smell... dun u think so?

Jessi
Your feet still swollen?
My finger joints still pain... I read that sleeping with yr fist clenched will greatly reduce the swelling in morning... one way clench yr fist during sleep is to wear socks over them. I haven try it out yet.. cos the weather is jus too hot!!

bigtoes: how heavy is kieran now? he does look like he has put on qute a fair bit of weight! Good good!! I like the posting dated 24 Sept. How did your hb create that animation?!! teach me!!!

lok: i'll stick to my avent first. will go to kiddy when i'm out of my confinement next Wed.

flos
well, i think at the very least expressing at night will mean that you have one more feed ready for bb. also perhaps latching during the day first then pumping to ensure that the breasts are fully emptied will encourage your body to produce more gradually. am not sure about increasing supply myself cos am latching exclusively so don't even know how much Jonathan is drinking but now i have started hand expressing after he feeds to store some BM for when i go out without him.keke

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum)
haha at least u are doing things like phonics with your son. mine is more interested in playing playing playing...

lilboymum
u r such a good mother. I am so darn lazy i cld not possibly plan for such activities with my girl. Already as a tr I have to work so hard to plan my lessons to keep the pupils' attn, I can't imagine doing that at home too for my own kid! Sad rite

Bigtoes
enjoy ur baby's first mth celebration and the curry too!

Just to share sth i found really weird. The other nite, i went out for sushi and sashimi (supposedly illegal food rite, cos it'snot only cold, it's raw too). I happily lapped everything down till suddenly I felt this strange cold feeling in my gut area. Never felt this way b4, and certainly wasn't psychological. Then I started getting worried and felt a bit guilty abt all this cold food I was eating as I thot, ok, mebbe it's true that we shouldn't be eating all this raw and cold food. So I quickly lapped down half a bowl of hot soba, but the cold feeling still remained for a while.
Conclusion: I was fine after all that raw food and my tbf baby was fine too! So yay! If i have another kid, I'll still have the sashimi!

DRYPERS
is certainly NOT my fav brand. I use the frypers samples fr TMC as an in-between diaper: like when pampers/mamy poko is dirty and there's another 1 hr to go b4 i bathe her. So i use it for that hr. But currently using the cheapest version of huggies for that purpose...

Isabelle
huh?!?!?!!!! planning for another kid so soon!!???kekekekek...

well, faced it, if i were still teaching, i wouldnt bother too! but since im sahm, cant possibliy just stare at him daily without doing anything...

talking about it hor, had a bit of icey cold drink the other night..okok close to midnight and immediately felt cramps coming...

deseptkon
boys will be boys. my son too
that's why my activites are all darn short. then let him play a bit..then come back for activities then let him play...in fact, now during my confinrment...whole afternoon is his playtime...too lazy to bother for afternoon now, and too hot man!!!phew..

my friends with girls could actually go through real stuff with their girls and they will sit through it..eg entire crafts session including painting, threading beads etc...my son cant even sit still enough for his handprint to be traced!!

Diapers
any one tried GOO.N? heard many positive commnets on it. am thinking of ordering it...heard it's as good as pampers but at only half the price...(price same as huggies)

liboymum,

agree, boys are boys. how old is CY? Only when j is in the right mood, we can do storytime for 30-45 mins, play his toys, help me with craftwork... he likes to go for outdoor play and also watch tv!

dseptkon,

they learn thru' play as well. in fact, they learn better in a play setting.

isabelle,

is gabby's still looking yellow? especially the eye area. my hubby and mil have been nagging me to bring j for another check. but his poo and pee frequency is normal and of right color too.

isabelle: really? we cant take sashimi after giving birth? It's only during pregnancy that we shd avoid raw fish rite? I've not touched sashimi for 10mths! Also, I need to drink that cuppa coffee real soon. ARGH!

deseptkon: but i"m really burnt out by 12mn. can't bring myself to wakeup when my hubs is sleeping like a log...my previous CL made me wake up every 2 hrs to latch. Really really burnt me out after the first week.

Swaddle: Notice my new CL no longer swaddles my boy cos he kicks his legs all over as he fusses. Are your bbs swaddled still?

lilboymom: yep, collagen, or so I was told

drypers? my new CL took all my Drypers samples.

lok
u make me feel better. All isabelle does all day is play! heehee
Yep, her eye white's r still a bit yellowish. But I'm just leaving it as that. Has jonas done the liver fn test yet? If he has and results r normal then i think no need to go. If haven;t done mebbe just go to be safe. Otherwise if anything happens, ur hubby, MIL and even PD might say it's cos didn't test to be sure! Must protect urself!

flos
hmmm i dun think cold raw fish is suitable during confinement, after that shld be fine though my colleague avoided it for 6 mths when she tbf. But I dun care and i just told my mum (she din protest anyway) salmon is high in essential fatty acids and good for my baby! Anyway, I ate sashimi and salmon sushi at least two to three times a mth after first tri...
Wah, ur CL is very zi dong hor?

SWADDLING
i stopped after one and half to 2 weeks. Didn't even bother much with mittens and booties unless her extremities r cold.

isabelle,
i also dont like drypers. it leaked when i used it previously and the tape just didn't work. so switched to petpet and it worked for the kids.

if you are a bad mummy, i'm worse. i hardly do anything that lilboymum does with her cy lor. i just chat with them and we do a lot a lot of imaginative play. you know like, pretend to cook and serve food, pretend we are camping (coz we bought a tent from ikea) and watch thomas and friends and elmo's world. lilboymum's schedule will put me to shame...

dseptkon,
my boy also has short attention span. recently, i'm trying to get him to start writing his 'abc'. but i have to limit it to like 5mins and let him do something else, then come back to it again. so it's like writing: 5mins, playtime: 30mins!!!!

flos,
actually, once you get past the first one/two weeks, you'll learn to survive quite well. motherhood is like that. you learn to survive on as little as 4/5 hours sleep.

i've already stopped swaddling my girl. pointless since she keeps trying to get her hands out.

Hi liboymum,
My boy is already seven weeks ! he is born at week 37.... so born before his EDD in sept. I am working hard now to increase my milk supply, after reading all your posting.

bigtoe, the swimming thingie is a shop which say its suitable for baby from birth. www.babyswimming.com.sg. I have a free session from similac hamper... so was thinking to try it out... anyone had try with any faadback to share ?

Mandy - i used NUK teats to fit the glass bottles. but my preferred is avent bottles, which i bought 3 of it, for general use. In case FM is required. Sometimes i give BB a small amount of water, since he sleeps in aircon all day.

Electricity tariffs is up - sigh - means bigger bill for all of us:-(

l'l CY^^l'l CH - the "fights" make me cry, cause he wails and i feel like am not doing it right. cause when lactation nurse came, it looked so easy peasy. Now its not the case.

My milk dwindle- maybe due to the antibiotics i am taking

Wahh how can you all not tahan expressing at night? I need to express every 3-4 hours at night or I'll wake up with buzzing boobies!

Goo.N
My hb wants to try these too as he came across them on diapers.com.sg...we are still on our Nepias and Huggies NB "handmedowns" from Shazz (thanks again!)

I think there were some postings about this earlier but I'm too rushed to search. What teats can we use with Medela bottles?? Nuk?

alabone, isabelle
woah wowo..hold it there. we dun follow schedule that strictly lah. it's planned but with a boy...how much can you plan...i most only finish a couple of planned activities before he tires out and demands his playtime...now even lesser time

different kids learn differently. one mummy friend tried GD programme on her daughter but it never worked. but she is such a advanced reader at 5 years old now and ti doesnt matter anymore...what most important is our kids get to do the things they like while they can (before they go to school

breadmum
that sounds like my FB. lactation nurse of course makes it look easy! it's their job. dun despair.is your boy the impatient sort? maybe at the first latch, squeeze your breast to bring out the milk more quickly then he will stay on track??

lok
my boy is coming to two years end next month!!!2006 bb...think there are many 2006 korkors and jiejies here...

30 min is long for story time!

<font color="119911">l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) and Flos - just went to weigh Kieran - and yes, he is putting on a healthy amount of weight. He was discharged from hospital weighing 2.8kg, and he is now 4.4kg, thanks to all the BM he is consuming!

Flos - on the posting on 24th Sept, hubby used Adobe image ready (not freeware though) to create the animation. He is into graphics, so he is the one maintaining the smallfattoes website.

Lok (lok) - guess the Pet2 cutting is too big cos the watery poop came out from the leg portion. Maybe wait till Kieran has chubbier thighs before using the rest of the pack!

Drypers - meanwhile, seems like consensus that Drypers is not the best brand. NTUC has a diaper (and baby stuff) sale till 8th Oct - so want to stock up on stuff before then.

GOO.N diapers:
l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) - found GOO.N online at: http://www.diapers.com.sg/manufacturers.php?manufacturerid=6
Price for S is about 30.4 cents each, not any cheaper than Pampers leh… is this available at any supermarkets?

1kg in milk supply in the boobs?? Hah, abit too much right….i don’t mind keeping my boob size after I stop BFing though!

shazz (shazzerlyn) - it’s the end of my confinement, but then my CL is still here till Thurs. So I guess she will still be cooking confinement food for me for 2 more days

Swadding - recommended to full swaddle the 1st two weeks, and half swaddle (i.e. just the legs) from 3 weeks onwards.

Jo Jo (jojobar) - oh, so cute!! They have a float around the neck to support the baby. If baby has a free session, then you guys should go!
Someone from Similac called me about the free hamper as well cos i took their milk samples from TMC - if we get the free trial, will definitely bring Kieran to try it!

Ava (avalyn) - am using Pigeon teats with Medela bottles, but these are standard sized, so can fit most teats.</font>

isabelle,

His eye white's r still a bit yellowish too. That's the most obvious thing abt his jaundice.

Iilboymum,
Yah, lots of 2YO jie jies and kor kors. My J is a jul'06 bb.

Wow, your manyue bbs all doing very well. My little J still looks so scrawny !! Weighed him at 2 weeks and he was 3.4kg (when discharged = 3.115kg). I can already imagine my MIL and others blaming it on my BM!!

l'l CY^^l'l CH - glad am not alone. was wondering if these 2 days, if i dont latch him on, will he reject next week, when my wound heals. Honestly, expressing seems to lighten my depression. But i miss the bonding.

Now am planning manyue celebration - dont know if should have a buffet or just distribute cakes.

Diapers - Anyone tried EQ? and feedback?

Also, anyone has the contact number for the shop at peoples' park, since they do delivery. Am thinking of buying a pram.

Lok - Dont worry abot BB size - i know of some BB who grow fat on BM after 3 months. My mum just made the same comment cause my niece was on partial BM and FM, so she grew much faster. Sometimes its about how much they consume.

alabone - am a Catholic too, but i go to OLPS. Am planning for infant baptism after 1st month. with FM, its a tough choice which one is better. I know of a friend whose bb fed on Enfalac and doing well. Only that he does not have strong antibodies, so tendency of falling sick.

wah 2006 babies
i bo liao complie list for fun. hee hee

isabelle jun'06
missy jun'06
lok jul'06
lilboymum oct'06
alabone oct'06 (correct?)
sunnysunny oct'06 (correct?)
momoko ??'06

Anymore

Finally finished baking my cupcakes for tmr's first mth celebration! Can enjoy my dinner in peace now. Gonna ice them tmr morn. Hope they turn out ok... At the most my guests will eat Ugly cupcake, just like NYDC's ugly cake! Hee hee

Meie
gabbie also has major rash outbreak on her face. Esp when she's feeling too hot

flos

no..bb not swaddled liao..coz she kept kicking it off..no point...

isabelle

me me... may 06...my FB