(2008/09) Sep 2008

koras: oic, u meant those confinement type of massage.

maybe lor, during confinement, the bones ae still very 'flexible' and tummy fats 'mouldable'!! Go ahead and finish up your sessions. I hv already finished mine and wearing a slimming binder I got from the pharmacy.

Sarahmay, I took 2 fenugreek pills daily. Bought from GNC, and it's 610mg per capsule.

Last night, baby was super cranky from 8pm till 11pm. Had to give in to pacifier in the end!

<font color="119911">breadmum (breadmum) - are you still suffering from post-effects of the C-sec? Actually I am a bad example of what not to do - I haven’t been resting much (less than the CL), and not taking Vit C (cant even eat citrus fruits according to my CL cos it would cause tummy upset for the baby - though its true only in large doses of Vit C). My gyne didn’t even prescribe any cream to apply on the C-sec wound. When did you deliver? The soreness from coughing/sneezing should dissipate about 2 weeks after surgery.

twendy (twendy) - wow, you had a huge man yue party!
We are only inviting 60+ people - mainly relatives from hubby's side and some of my colleagues. Will do another party for others at Xmas. Remember to share your photos!

mixing BM and milk powder in the same feed - I would think it is better to feed EBM, then if that is insufficient, top up with a separate feed of FM?

Mandy (forrestgump4) - think all CLs are the same, my CL also always thinks baby needs to feed before he can sleep. So anytime he fusses and cant settle down, she makes me BF or she tops up with EBM/FM again!
This is obviously not the best, cos feeding baby too soon between feeds (like 2 hours apart) can actually cause colic/indigestion. Last night, she ended up feeding him 130ml of EBM and 60ml of FM!

I want to try the Gina Ford method and not feed on demand, but with all the bad habits he is already developing, I am not sure if he can stick to a schedule anymore!

Btw, the nursing pillow is a good investment - I cant imagine carrying Kieran (almost 10 pounds) for 30+ minutes per session. With the pillow, he is very relaxed, and I can read or watch TV and allow him to feed longer.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - yes, I still have some numbness in my right hand (just the last segment of middle and ring finger). The hand is also abit stiff in the morning but disappears, though the slight numbness for the fingertips remain. I am assuming that this would go away with time…

Milk supply - my milk supply is increasing. Not sure if it’s boon or bane. Have to wake up 2X every night to express now (about 260ml in total). My boobs start getting hard within 3 hours and I start feeling the let down - not sure what to do if I go out for more than 3+ hours in a stretch. Cant be lugging the heavy Medela PIS…

Sri Leo (sri_leo) - on diapers, we are using Pampers NB now (the one in yellow packaging), but quite expensive and wasteful cos baby pees and poops a lot! Also have Drypers, Pet Pet and Nepia in S sizes - the Pampers are finishing so will move on to these and see how. Like bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) mentioned, NBs go through a lot of diapers, so can just get cheaper brands for now, esp for day use. Cheapest are Pet Pet and Drypers I think (16-19 cents a piece vs. 33 cents for Pampers), and of cos the home brands by NTUC etc.

SarahMay (sarahmay) - glad to see you are back in the forum.
Hugs - hope things are getting better now and yes, after all the horror stories on CLs here, don't think you need one if your parents are helping out. Don’t be too worried okie, as long as Elisha is peeing/pooping well, he is getting enough BM. Share your baby photos soon!</font>

bigtoes: your CL is exactly the same as mine. When my bb is cranky and can't sleep, she asks me to BF him, and when I'm running low on milk ss, she tops up with 20-30ml of FM/EBM. She also tempts me to use the pacifier.

The same with my MIL! At 3pm ytd, my son was fed 100ml of my BM and got a bit edgy. So she fed him another 30ml of FM, maing it 130ml. Last nite, my CL also fed him 130 at 4 am! Gosh! My son is drinking a lot of milk, not sure if it's really good.

Stri: me using Pampers NB too. I've used up 4 packs of 36 pcs already!

Flos, Bigtoes:

Oh no, so is our BB overfed by our CL or caregivers? How do we know whether BB cry/fussy is cos they are hungry or just wanna sleep?

Sometimes my CL will say,"oh he just wan someone to hold to sleep" then she held him and rock a while, and he really go to sleep!

Sometimes CL will say, "he just wanna BF to smell his mom to sleep." in the end i BF and he really sleep.

So now i oso dunno or rather, confused when do we really nurse him, and when not... will it spoil him if we always nurse him b4 he sleep?

<font color="0077aa">Mandy: I brought the Brest fren pillow, it was good but sometimes when bb is crying &amp; lazy to put on the pillow, I just grab any normal pillow on bed... The lying down position will have to wait till bb is bigger.

My normal fridge has a chilled compartment, not sure about yours.

Flos: You bb is drinking alot!! Not sure if bb is drinking alot, yday night after 3hours breasts were engroged so had to pump out 1st, gave bb 50ml &amp; he is ok.. Am my bb drinking too little? But he is gaining weight &amp; pooing so not so worried...

Sarah: Glad you are back in forum!! Come to the forum to let out if you are facing any issues yah?

Hubby finally bought the pacifiers in the end... Hopefully bb will not be cranky this evening. He has been like this for past few days crying hysterically!

Breadmum: Yes BF is tiring, lets encourgae &amp; cheer each other on!</font>

heee.. seems like we all have the same prob..

I also just feed on demand, even if last feed was only 45mins ago! Cos I usually latch on, and I really dont know how much baby is drinking.. Also, I find it very very difficult to make him sleep without feeding him.. as he usually sleeps on my breast...

Jessi (jessi): your MS will be increasing, don't give up yet! When I first started, I was also getting only 10-30ml at most! It'll increase over time. Now my left breast can produce 80-130ml per pump session but my right yields only 0-30ml for most sessions and some miracle sessions, it had like 100ml! So don't give up yah! Fenugreek and lots of hot fluid, soups helped me alot. Try it ok?

As for stiff finger joints, I had it too for a week plus, I suspect it's due to the drips! For my swollen feet, it lasted a week plus too and gradually went away after a few sessions of massage. The weird thing is that before I delivered, I didn't have any water retention, but it hit me after the dleivery! So i figured it has something to do with the drips and all! Hang in there Jess!

Flos, Mei &amp; Bigtoes: yes, our babies can do wonders! I must have been such a bad mummy, according to my mum, she saw him doing that 2 weeks back! *gasp* it took me so long to discover what he can do! My PD was the one who suggested letting him sleep on his tummy, once or twice a day after his umblilical cord dropped off, that was when he was about 7 days old. Sleeping on tummy is not recommended by most books cos of increased risk of SIDs, but if supervised, it's ok. I find that my boy sleeps longer when he's sleeping on his tummy and is not easilt startled.

F1: what an amazing turn of events! I feel the anguish for Massa! Poor thing, that ruined his race season.

SarahMay: poor thing, your wound sounds bad! hope it'll recover soon. Thank God you have your MIL and parents to help you out!

anybody did not register for birth within 14 days? I haven't done mine.. so it's considered a delayed application.. :p Haven't decided on chinese name for baby yet...

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum)
ya. same i have been scratching my head trying to juggle the FB. at least he attends school in the morning and then heads to granparents place in the pm but my brother and SIL are having twins in Nov so i need to find some way to relieve my parents who will be swamped. DH has been a superstar on weekends single-handedly trying to occupy FB's time but i also take time when the CL was still here to put FB to bed and have reading tme with him. now am thinking of signing him up for enrichment classes or golf lessons to give him things to do.

Sarahmay,

So happy to hear from u. Don't worry, u will be in God's good hands.

BFG in PUBLIC:

Bfg is tiring but as your milk supply establishes, things will get easier. I'm quite shy about bfg in public too. So for #1, I try to time my "getaway" immediately after his feed to buy 3-4 hrs of my own time. Otherwise, if the whole family is out, will latch him on in the privacy of my own car b4 we go gai gai.

Some bb-friendly places are united square, taka, tangs, paragon, Great World City. If still uncomfortable, consider getting a nursing shawl. Get a few nursing tops too, so any accidental expose will really be just that few split seconds.

COPING WITH 2:

I am very thankful that FB is quite a good kor kor so far. Loves to pat pat Jonas, will lower his vol if we tell him didi is sleeping and also shares his toy with him. Occasionally, will ask me to carry him so that he can see didi sleeping in the cot. In school, if his teachers ask him where is Jonas, he will reply " At home, sleeping". Made me feel so relieved and happy that my constant drilling during those pregnancy days has prepared him well
Hope he stays so sensible.

Some mummies asked how to cope with 2: our family strategy is I'll deal with FB while hubby (with lots of help from maid) will handle Jonas. Reason being FB is very attached to me while Jonas can still be trained. During the day, FB goes to CC so I can focus on Jonas. At night, bb duty passes over to maid/hubby (except feeding time). I will spend time with my FB. Maybe i don't feel as stressed cos of my helper (who is mother of 3).

For me, I have less bedtime struggles with FB cos he has been conditioned to sleep on his own since 13 mths old (now 26 mths). But for those mummies who haven't started this training, expert advice is not to introduce this now as your FB might associate it with the NB and hence, lead to sibling rivalry.

4D:

Jonas' birthweight struck 1st prize yesterday!!
My MIL and Grandma had mini windfalls. My hubby is banging his head though cos he decided not to bet on this number on Sunday. If only it was 1st prize for Saturday, we would have been $175K richer!!!!

arrgggh, just not meant to be... 3rd time unlikely for my hubby (missed out on DOB, Ward number and now birthweight).

today PILs came over. they have the house keys so help themselves in. and suay i didnt close the door while bfg CH. and FIL just walked in then loudly exclaim "o she is breastfeeding lah!!"...

scare the hell outta me. coz after shower today forgot to bring in breastpad then immediately latch her on after that. then exposed both breasts coz milk leaking onto bra....then came FIL....o dear dear dear...

but dun think he mind lah...wahahahahahahah...not that i mind that much...

deseptkon, lok
the problem is not so much with his sleeping. the thing is i can leave him in the room to sleep on his own with side lights on, but he doesnt sleep. he will talk to himself, sing etc...until an hour later...and this is especially pronounced now his sister is around.

fb doesnt go to school. i teach him at home myself. usually most lessons are in the mornings (am taking a two week break for now). so after latching QH, it will be lesson time (only managed some crafts today), interrupted by his sister waking loh...that's the difficult part now...the schedules all a bit off so am trying to find some sort of balance when CL leaves...

Rachel
I registered their birth on day 26-27 only. NO penalty for doing that as actually there is a 42 day limit for registration, not 14.

mandy

where got alot..dun 4get my bb already 1mth liao lei...haiz..i even bought alot of breastpad standby coz last time my breastpad always soak with bm man..now dun koe wat to do liao with so many boxes at hm..maybe keep 1st..

my CL oso everytime bb fusses n the mouth keep searching for milk will say bb hungry,not full enuff tts y cant zzz...these few days bb's feeding interval shorter..daytime can only last abt 2hrs n she will get hungry liao..nite time ard 3hrs..

manyue:
Had sharmaine's head shaved yesterday.
will post miss botak pics soon.

My older gal and boy had been imitating me bf and expressing milk. They will lift up their shirts and put a doll or teddy there and tell me their baby's drinking milk. Sometimes, they also want sharmaine to drink from them.

Lanolin,
which part of east coast are u staying? I'll be shifting to tembeling road in nov and will be attending holy family church then.

Help, my breast milk seems to be dwindling, what should I do? 2 days ago, I could express like 80ml of milk every hour but from yesterday onwards, I could only express like only 20ml of milk from both breasts!
I'm getting really worried.

My HB seems to think that taking care of a baby is easy. He actually says that the 4 months of maternity leave is for me to 'zuo-bo'. Even now, when I'm still doing confinement, he told me to clean the stove and blames me for doing nothing at home and not keeping the house clean!

Mandy.. haaa.. what u said is quite true. How do we know when we need to cuddle/feed him. But for feeding, I think more or less we'll know its time to feed. Usually its abt 2-3hrs. And my CL can even tell me : oh he just needs to shit and she'll do the ngg ngg sound and lo and behold! baby'll shit.. I pei fu them sometimes..

Twendy, by right, the CLs do not need to go "stamp" their passports every 2wks now. They can stay up to 1month. My current CL and my sis's ex CL did not have to stamp. Maybe she wants to go gai gai? And as for the counting of days, mine starts on the day she arrived (6/9) and leave on the 28th day (3/9). But we invited her to stay one more day for baby's man yue..

Sarahmay, glad to see u back in action and having things more or less settled at home. Post pics of Elisha soon when u have time okie?

Shazz, just read that you'd fever due to engorgement. Hope you are better now. Just do whatever we can and be happy mummies ;-) happy mummy = happy baby

jessi, ur MS will increase.. the first 2 wks is the toughest to get by.. Hang in there...

How do u girls put baby on tummy? I'm so worried that Reyes will struggle and end up he'll land flat on his nose during the process of me putting him on his tum tum...

Lok, so lucky!! haa.. Jonas brought u luck. So far, Reyes' numbers has not appeared at all.. ahaa.. my poor parents and hb all wait until neck long long liao...

Flos, ur boy is drinking a lot leh. Mine's drinking 90ml during the night feeds. And daytime, I've no idea and he's almost 1month liao. But I believe its ok right, as long as they're all growing and peeing and pooing..

EBM
For me, I latch on most of the time during the day and CL will feed EBM abt 3times in the middle of the night. So what i'll do is I will pump once at abt 11pm and wake up at 4am to pump again. And these 2 pumps will give me abt 360-400ml. Sometimes in the day, i'll also pump once when he feeds only on one side.

Abt 2 wks back, I had quite a bit of engorgement and had been pumping a lot so I'd no choice but to freeze some of my milk. BUT I dono if I shd feed him the frozen EBM cos antibodies wld have been killed during the freezing process and the pigeon bags that i bot seem to have the plastic smell leh. Wonder if its ok for baby.

stef&amp;sean, haa. even ur boy does it too? haa.. The other day I was bf my boy in front of my nephew too! And he was so fascinated that he actually stood there staring at my boobies for the longest time. lol.. wonder what went thru his mind then..

Quite a number of Catholics here ya. Alabone, hb and I got married in St Marys just after their renovation in 2003. And hor, we nv practise NFP method oso leh.. opps and worse of all, we rarely attend mass! IF we do attend, we'll go to St Ignatius.
Is baptism name and confirmation name similiar?

dirty CL
mummies who are concerned that CL is not washing her hands aftrer changing bb can try this. it is not hte best and cleanest but then if your CL leaves the bb on the changing mat and proceeds to wash her hands, you will scream too. so i guess what you can do is to leave abottle of sanitiser at the changing station. once she is done with changing the bb, can spray some on her hand and arms before carrying bb again.

i use it myself when i change bb.

crayonshin
lie bb on the side first, then slowloyturn the legs stomach down. then adjsut the arms and bingo bb on tum tum liaoz.

qihui sleeps on tum tum during the day. CL dun dare to let her sleep on tum tum at night, evne though hb and i big advocator of bbs lying on tummy...

<font color="119911">HI mommies,
Just back from another feeding session. Have been made by my CL to feed Kieran every 2 hours since this morning, and she has been feeding him EBM in between. So effectively, he has been drinking milk every hour or so!! Aghhh!! If i comment that he is full or its too soon, she would say "ker lian ker lian tar lah, mei you her nai pu nen sui deh". rubbish

Flos (flos) , Mandy (forrestgump4) , and other mommies commenting on CL and feeding of babies:
Was just reading the Gina Ford book and it basically says that:
<font color="ff0000">1) We should not feed at too frequent internals (like 1-2 hours), cos before baby can digest the earlier feed, they are fed again and might end up with colic. For colic, feed sugared water (they add sugar to boiled cooled water = would be the same as our gripe water).

2) Babies up to 6 weeks should not be allowed to wake for more than 2.5 hours at a stretch. This would cause them to be over tired and almost impossible to get them to sleep. And the more over tired they are, the more they would fight sleep, and the more cranky they get.

3) let them settle to sleep on their own. Do not rock them or feed them to sleep (which is what most of our CLs do). Over rocking and over cuddling would also over stimulate them and make it more difficult for them to settle.</font>

So basically, my CL is doing EVERYTHING that we shouldn’t be doing - like feeding and over rocking to sleep! I cant wait for her to go back in 3 days time, and hubby and I would have to try to have Kieran start again from a clean slate.

I think sometimes Kieran frets at his cot cos it is too hot. But when I remove part of the cot bumper to allow some air from the fan to reach him, my CL would say cannot, cos he would "Swallow air" and get tummy upset. Her reason for him being more cranky these couple of days is that "babies are like that one….cos he knows its almost his full month now". What nonsense!!</font>

crayonshinchan , from yesterday onwards, I keep feeling that she is not full as she would keep crying even after latching on. From her cries, it seems like she is not full.
I try to express milk as often as I could to keep for emergency purposes as I do not supplement at all with FM. I'm pumping more often today as I can't seem to yield much milk so I try to pump often to gather as much milk as possible so that it is enough for a single feed.

Lok: really? 3225?!! soo lcuky! I forget all abt weight, ward number; only focussed on BC #!!

stef&amp;sean: how cute, your botak sharmaine! My 'snip hair' ceremony is this Wed. Was told it has to be prior to my manyue. I've told my MIL no shaving for my son.

I wonder anyone's MIL gave u a stack of porcelain bowls and plates? I received one box of these crockery from her last nite. Was quite mad cos the plates are like so chingchong! Then my CL told me it's a Canto practise to ensure that your boy has abundant food next time...I was like, er...ok...

crayon: I hv no idea how come my boy is drinking up 120-130ml now. He is pooping and peeing normally. This amt lasts him 3 hours. I'm not producing enuff BM, so he is constantly hungry. Your 360-400ml / two pumps is definitely more than mine. I can only yield 100-120ml in 4hours!! I dun drink red dates/longan water as much as my first week after I started taking the Su He Wan...it's quite strange.

Dolly: My nanny is always dripping water all over the floor. Sometimes, I wonder if she's washed her hands before carrying my bb. Just now, I saw her reading her Tibetan scriptures in front of my son, whom she placed on her bed (he was crying in his cot so she took him out). I saw her scriptures under her pillow and know she is a devout Tibetan Buddhist cos she says her 'grace' before each meal. My DH and I are not very comfy to see her chant her prayers in the presence of our bb. I got the feeling she chants at my boy to hynoptise him to sleep!

I also happen to see two lacy sexy bras that she never wore (cos I never saw them hanging with the rest of the laundry) in her half-opened cabin baggage. Maybe I'm just paranoid, but do u think she uses them to perform black magic?!!

My DH also told her not to keep applying the jinfengsan on my boy cos we really dunno how 'poisonous' these TCM powders are. Twice or thrice a day is fine, but if she is using it to 'shut my boy up', then I must stop her. Her job is to carry him and make him stop crying, not to feed him with the 'sleeping powder', jinfengsan!

twendy: agree with crayon. my CL told me nowadays, they can enter SG up till one month, unlike before only 2 weeks. So dun be conned. She is only finding a chance to go home to gai gai!

lilboymom: your FIL saw you BF?! My overseas aunty and uncle dropped by on Sun to visit me. I just finished pumping and hadn't buttoned up my nursing gown! Was quite cross that my mom brought them over without alerting me first!

<font color="119911">Lok (lok) - wow, poor thing on the 4D!! how long are you guys buying it for? My MIL is also buying Kieran's birth weight until his full month but no luck yet

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum)- argh. Think u are the 2nd mommy who's FIL walked in when BFIng!!

wingkei (wingkei) - On EBM - why are u expressing every hour? Your body needs time to replenish the BM, so I wont be surprise if its 20ml. If you are not bleeding or not monitoring baby's feed, why not latch on direct? Baby's suckling is the most effective in stimulating milk supply.

green_baby (green_baby) - CONGRATS! Are you still sticking to any confinement food or stuff like red dates longan drink, or going all out to eat everything we have been missing?? My confinement is over tomorrow - having my parents over and ordering delivery rather than getting my CL to cook! Also going out in the day to get groceries and stuff!

crayonshinchan - 360-400ml in 2 pumping sessions is pretty good!!

Flos (flos)- you got yourself another weird CL.</font>

Past few days when i pump, i didn't pump as much as last week... mk me worried.

I'm also thinking of when CL left, me and my hubby will start the routine all over again.

Who's Gina Ford? Sorie i din flw all the posts. She seems very strict. hehe. some websites dun encourage so strict schedule and believe in letting BB determine when to nurse n sleep and it also mention eventually BB will outgrow tis period.

Hmmm, after hearing all the stories abt your CL, it really made me appreciate mine. She's quite the opposite:

1. If J cries, she will check the timing. Her immediate won't be to throw J to me for bfg. If it's < 2 hrs, will try to soothe him and actually tell me not time to feed yet. And it's true cos J will fall back to sleep after a while.

2. She will not rock him to sleep. Just carry (quite still) and talk to him.

3. When J was going to be admitted to hospital for phototherapy, she automatically helped me to pack diapers / wipes into the bag to save on "medical supplies" charges.

4. She never pinches any food/stuff from me. Even paid for chicken rice out of her own pocket (including giving my maid a treat) and used her own EZ link card.

5. She gets along very very well with my maid. So I'm very sure she will do a good job teaching my maid how to care for infants when she leaves.

6. She has her own pre-paid calling card and none of her family members calls my house number!

She's Singaporean but married to Malaysian and lives in JB. Very young too (only 47). For Singaporean CLs, their charges are typically > $2K but for her, she charges malaysian price (2K for direct assignment). I got her through agency so hv to pay more $2.5k. What I can't comment on is the quality of her housework or whether she will charge extra for doing housework cos the agency rules is that their duties do not include housework. Not an issue for me cos I hv a maid at home.

I will get her contact number and if any mummies need a CL in future, will pass u her contact.

bigtoes,
My MIL asked for my boy's birth cert so that she can go buy 4D...i was quited pissed cos we dont gamble..told hubby...please lah...dont let his mom do this type of things..

Bigtoes,

Abt 2 weeks. J's BOD is 11 Sep. My 87-year old grandma is ecstatic -- already struck ToTo twice (pte bookie) with this set of numbers... Now won $10K for 4D. Think J will get a very BIG angpow when we visit his great-grandma at Manyue.

Lok (lok) - yes, you are lucky!! My CL has relatives calling the place, and asked me to dial international to Indonesia for her to call her daughter. She also goes out in the afternoon (about 2 hours) on average 2X a week.

I am not so calculative about small stuff like that, but just more irritated with her silly theories.

Thanks for thewarm welcome back. I don't have much access to net and wiht what free time ive had, been trying to catch rest.

Shazz- My wound isn't that bad...just a bit inconvenient. Healing nicely. just being extra careful not to rip it. Hehe. And have to do a lot of Kegels to regain muscle tone. Thank God I've got a good gynae.

BM: Sigh...all of you have such good milk flow. I don't really bother to express...cos my yield isn't fantastic. I just express a bit by hand.

Gina Ford: I don't know if I can NOT do those things cos when bb cries, and i touch his cheek, he's got the rooting reflex. So i feed. But bb has been a bit erratic with feeding schedule still. Some days he can feed 10 mins and sleep 2+/3 hours. Other days like today...feed so long and don't nap for more than 2 hours. and must be carried.

Bigtoes: yes! My Elisha also gets annoyed if it is too hot.

CL and silly theories: I just couldn't take the 'suay' mouth of my CL. Dunno why she was highly rec by my friend also. Anw all she says whe bb cries is that bb is hungry or sick. Anw, once your CL leaves, you can still train your bbs the way you want.

Dolly: Your milk supply power siah!

ELISHA's photos: You can see some of his pics on my FB acount I think. If you can click on my hubby's site. Hehe. I dont have the pics on this laptop...and so can't load.

Tummy: HAve all your baby bellies disappeaa few weeks and after massage? My massage still had. She gave me a binder to use..but it hurts. Not sure if I used it properly cos I feel some discomfort when i pee.

Bigtoes, I'm latching on direct but also expressing. I see my baby seem to be having insufficient milk when I latch on so I express out for emergency purposes but I get so little which is rather unusual.

lok: i think it's cos your CL is from the agency and is a Singaporean, so she knows all SG parents' pet peeves. Mine is really from JB kampong, though she is a SG PR (her kids are working here).

bigtoes: I wonder if some mommies are also feeding up to 130ml already, cos they won't really know the amt unless they express? I latched my son on just now and he happily emptied my right breast. I tried pumping my right breast immediately after that and only yielded 10ml, so pathetic! My left breast, on the other hand, yielded 60ml. I can just guess that he drank maybe 50ml from my right just now? My average yield per pump from both breasts is 100-120ml only. I need 3-4 hrs interval to produce the same amt of milk on average.

I think some mommies here feed on demand on 1-2 hrly basis, so a short latch is possible to fill the bb's stomach. As I dun want to keep feeding my boy every 1-2h, so I gradually increase his milk intake to prolong the interval, and to let him hv enuff sleep. I dun want a wakeful bb.

Yes, my new CL is also weird, but like I said, lesser of the two evils. I will endure till my manyue cos I need her help.

bacon&amp;eggs: I just passed my bb's BC to my parents to let them copy whatever no. they can find on the cert. If it makes them happy, just let them be lor. I hardly buy 4D/toto as well...

sarahmay: my tummy was flat during those days when the jamu came by to massage me. I've stopped for 5 days and there is a small bulge still...

wingkei, now confinement period rite? shdnt have too many emergency cases.. Like wat bigtoes had mentioned earlier, if u do not have bleeding/cracked nipples or other issues, try to latch on directly. Its the best stimulation. Does ur girl cry every hour for milk? Its normal if baby cries for milk every 2-3hrs.

Flos, i think u shd ask ur CL to stop using the jinfengsan. I thot pple use it only cos baby got a fright or something?

Bigtoes, i think I get that amt mainly cos its at nite and w/o latching, more milk supply inside the boobies..

Lok, my CL will try to delay feeding to 2.5/3hrs for me oso! Sometimes I am the gan jeong one who wants to feed once he starts crying.. haa.. Earlier on in the beginning, she'll say "ke lian bu gou neh neh" but now, she'll try to make him slp instead of asking me to latch.

She packs my diaper bag when I needed to bring baby for follow up and to see PD. haa.overpacked though...

I think I'll suffer after she leaves cos I'll really be on my own then! *gulps*

I feel that getting a relatively good CL is really based on luck..

crayonshinchan,
My son will go like this,'sharmaine come come, kor kor got milk.' and he says this while lifting up his shirt.

Hey SarahMay
Ouch. your wound sounds painful..glad u r back here on the forum tho.

Latching on demand vs Gina Ford
I think her routines are not meant to be used right in the beginning but around 2-3 weeks onwards when babies can go for 3 hours between feeds...is that right those who've done it before?

I'm almost 100% expressing now, bu only providing 50% of their feeds. Hardly latch at all but will start again soon since they are getting bigger and hopefully that means they will latch more readily...my gals only take 70ml per feed. anymore and they'll posset.

Bigtoes/other moms looking to train babies after CL leaves
I don't think babies can be "spoilt" and untrainable withint 4-6 weeks. as in, even with the CL's methods u can still train them to your own methods after they leave...it'll take some effort tho...sigh, also have to train my maid to my own methods...I've been very laissez-faire with her since hiring her...i'm going to turn into some anal retentive monster (cos I'm like that with babies and routine...as in very particular about stuff) and she'll be all like "what happened to ma'am?"....already see it happening :p

stefseansharbabes
Like her botak look...we need to shave the girls too....maybe when we go out later...planning to go parkway again..daddy wants to bring his whole family out gaigai (maid and CL included)...this, after spending 3 hours at malaysian high comm this morning with the gals getting them registered! *tired*

crayon: yep, told her not to apply wef today.

I hvn't tried bathing my bb to date. Wonder if I'd be able to cope.

Hey, I just notice your son's name sounds a bit like 'Raisin'! Is that on purpose? Reyes Sin? heh heh

I'm a Dec08 Mummy w TMC. Can i check if any1 of u w TMC too in regard to the bill amount?

I'm considering to be by natural w epidual and to stay in 1 bedded room so tt my hubby can stay overnite w me. what will be the estimated bill amounts be?

Thank you so much.

FLOS.. *BISH* no lor! hee.. his name is "ray ears" so its ray ears sin.. but then his uncle's name is really raisin... shhhhh...

and bathing of baby.. I think CL thinks that I've got plenty of experience seeing i have 4nieces and nephews and how i take care of them. so, she did not ask if i want to bathe him. Instead, on Sat, she asked my hb if he wanted to bathe reyes. Surprisingly the vow-to-be-hands-on daddy gamely agreed. haa. i would say he's quite good for a VIRGIN..lol..

ava, so when the whole family goes out, do u use the twin pram? Or daddy carries one, mummy carries one and maid holds adan?

stefseanshar, hee.. so funny.. so what did u say to kor kor?

crayonshinchan, yes, I'm still in confinement. Emergency cases in the sense that she doesn't have enough milk from latching on, so I at least have something more to supplement her with. But otherwise, I will latch on directly as I do not have any of those problems you mentioned. Sometimes, she will cry every hour for milk but I realise that if I feed her every hour, she will have tummy upset after that.

crayon
So far we have not gone out with the girls for shopping...we'll try out the pram today and see if they can sit in it yet. Adan is more than capable of walking himself....dont encourage him being carried!!! altho he takes advantage of the maid and makes her carry him up the stairs...which we forbid him to do...dunno why she still allows him to do it...only makes him worse...

Bigtoes: my CL is opposite of yours! She's careful not to overfeed my boy, even though she also got this theory that, babies when not full, can't sleep. But she'll check and make sure the feeing intervals is not too near and whether baby had EBM the feed before, or formula, before deciding if she should give in to the boy's demand for more milk so he can sleep. She said baby's stomach very small, cannot overfeed, if not will be bloated, and they'll be uncomfy. My boy is not patient enough to latch on, but when he's awake and refuse to sleep, she'll encourage me to latch him! Yesterday I did that and he actually latched on without nippleshield! He can still suckle very well, much to my amazement. But he didn't drink much, cos he fell asleep at my breasts soon after!
But it made me so happy, to see my boy latch on directly without nippleshield, cos I have very seriously inverted nipples!

crayonshinchan: my CL also feed my boy with Jin Feng San. I think it works leh! Cos when he refused to sleep, she fed him that and he slept after that! She was telling me how it actually works wonders, like calm baby, remove wind, help them fart and hence no colic.

Dolly: wow, your milk supply is very good indeed!
jia you! for a young mummy who was unprepared for motherhood, I must say you're doing a very good job!
*thumbs up*

CL: am so thankful my CL is a very hygenic person. She bathes up to 3 times a day and change her clothes as well. I'm also thankful that when she's doing something, and my baby cries, she will always wash her hands first before rushing to my baby.

crayonshinchan,
I just let him be. And he will squeeze his nipple and will just laugh away. His sister will be watching and giggling away. V cheeky kids lor. Hiaz. But i will be smiling away too cos they are just so funnie!

Avalyn,
I actually like the botak look too. Looks v clean cut.