(2008/09) Sep 2008

thanks, alabone, flos & bacon&eggs! u know, while pushing for like ever in the delivery suite, i really wondered if i would finally be able to hold my little one in my arms - it seemed so impossible then! was even thinking, "next time should just c-sect". am glad all turned out well in the end.

am now at day 5 and trying v hard to cope with bb's demand for milk. tried expressing but it hurts like crazy! like nipple getting torn off like that. she also seems to HATE my right breast. each time i position her there, she'd turn away and then scream. does anyone else have this problem?

flos/ava: i' also thinking of going to tky for bb's chinese name. the 2nd & 3rd chars given are all the same strokes right, eg 2nd char all 14, 3rd char all 11. wonder if it'll be ok if we replace the chars with other chars of same no of strokes? we still haven't a clue what her eng name might be. she seems like a feisty little person...

o ya, jessi/shazz, my actual delivery was on 20 sep. left that out in my earlier post. :p

breadmum (breadmum) : congrats! Dr Lee was my gynae too and I used Dr Chew for epidural too.

My son is seeing Dr MC Tan too. He's very nice, my hubby likes him alot so we're taking up RH's vaccination package!

l'l CY (lilboymum): Qihui is so pretty! Love her double eyelid which is so prominent!

xuanting & Jessi: congrats on your bundle of joy!

ava: I love your girl's names, so nice!

xuanting
I also have low ss for bf. i didn't properly latch them till day 4...! and yes, they do scream at the breast, cos they find it hard to latch on short nipples.

TKY
Yes, the 2nd and 3rd character options will each have the same no of strokes (based on the trad character, so may not look like the same no of strokes on his form).

Flos
No idea why they want the eng name leh...we havent set our appt with him yet.

For other side leakage, place a bottle there to collect la.

flos,

My explanation must be unclear: if u are A (which is actually A and O blood) and hubby is O (which is actually O and O blood), the 4 possible permutations are A+O = A, A+O = A, O+O = O, O+O= O). Both my kids are A+ while I'm A+ and hubby is O+.

Flos - I also use breast shells to collect coz my milk not a lot so every drop is more precious than gold!!!

L'lCY - ur girl is very very very very cute!!!! really....very wellformed and so sweet!

Pacifiers - I bought a few pacifiers (just in case Declan rejects it) but I just discovered that my hubs is a anti-pacifier nazi. AHHHHHHH!!! He told CL to not give in and give it to him. Poor CL, stuck between the both of us.... so till now, we haven't used it yet.

I finally bought an electric pump (Ameda) and it is really a God-send! For mothers using manual pump, it really made a difference for me using the electric one. More comfy and more milk! :D

Mrs Yap - sorry I couldn't wait for your reply re the PIS - I was very frustrated so went to Parkway and got a electric one oredi.

Flos - what's the name u picked? My boy is called Yu3 Yang2!

Shazz - Baptism - when do you plan to do it? My hubs says wait till 6 months but I thought it was a bit late. Not sure if u baptise baby early in christian churches

Kym - I'm also member of CSC!!! :D :D :D We can meet there.

Gathering - let me see how confident I am with my baby by mid Oct...Lok - thanks for opening up ur place! :D

Man Yue - all ur preps puts me to shame man. I have no cake, just got a caterer and put up a marquee at my mom's place. No fancy cupcakes and stuff. He's also just wearing something simple (but new) that someone gave and I'm wearing some old breast-feeding top and bottom. ARGH. BUT! I got a pedicurist to come to my place yesterday so at least I have nice toes. HA HA HA

flos,
i have read a similar article in ST too. i was telling hubby over dinner last nite that i want to volunteer myself as a wet nanny too. RMB18,000 = S$3,000+ extra income leh. then, mummies with good education & personality can also fetch a higher price. hmm...comtemplating... crazy me...

Flos, yes, mine leak quite alot too. and i use breast shells, but will discard the milk after that. If u want to feed baby with the milk collected, u can use a feeding bottle to collect.

Xuanting, my baby also don't like my right breast cos my right nipple seems shorter than my left nipple. If u have the same prob, try massagibg first and pull the nipple longer. My ss also came in like the 5th day. Need to persists and keep latching. I was like screaming whenever I'm latching cos nipple was cracked and really hurts!!

<font color="119911">Rachel Lim (rac_lim) - how do you define your baby as being colicky? Cries in distress for hours at a time and pull the legs towards the chest? Kieran doesn’t do that, but cries more in the morning and evenings for short spells at a time - not sure if its discomfort/colic or just want the attention - thou I suspect its attention cos the CL has a habit of picking him up and rocking him to sleep whenever he cries.

Going back to work - how come most mommies are back to work so soon (late Oct, early Nov)? I am not back till mid-Jan.

breadmum (breadmum) &amp; xuanting (xuanting) and all the new mommies the last few days - congrats!!

Mei - Kieran turns his head a lot as well and likes to look at stuff almost behind him. Kinda scary to see him contort himself sometimes, but his neck muscles are pretty strong already. Cant wait to carry him and not have to bother about supporting the neck.

Flos (flos) - on the milk leakage - I just stuff tissues between my boobs and Kieran, so that his clothes don’t get soaked. Am going thru tissues like nobody's business.
Meanwhile, I think my BM supply is increasing to meet his demands. Have to express 2X every night now or else they would be rock hard and start leaking *yawn* - luckily the flow is fast. Did 2 sessions of 5 minutes each last night and expressed about 250ml in total.

Question:
Does your baby make a lot of weird noises when he suckles? Kieran does when he first starts drinking and goes "huhhh...errr..." Hubby made a recording on his phone and it sounds like this
Heh, is that normal?? http://smallfattoes.blogspot.com/

Gathering - am okie for 20th Oct, though still prefer a weekend so hubby can help handle the baby. Am also not sure how okie I would be taking baby out in a cab with all this barang-barang!!
Lok - thanks so much for opening up your place. We need to decide on some finger food as well…!</font>

Meanwhile, the china woman has 2kg of excess milk a day!! wow....what is she consuming!

lanolin (lanolin) - after 1 mth of confinement, am going to get all prettied up for baby's 1st mth as well. Going to color my hair, and do my own mani and pedicure

Btw - mommies - there is a baby fair sale on at NTUC. Their diapers look pretty cheap. Kieran is using Pampers now, but thinking of stocking up on cheaper brands like Drypers.

<font color="0077aa">Mei: For a moment, I thot: Wow, use bird nest to bathe!! Like those dam* rich people, use bird nest to gargle their mouth! Keke..

Wingkei: Thanks! Yah, I think my boy is heaty cos he has heat rash all over his face &amp; yes, h cried till he is red &amp; voice hoarse. I see also heartpain! Jin Yin hua can be consume by bb?

Jessi: My colorstrum came right after birth cos when I pressed the nipples can see.

liliboumum: Qi Hui has deep double eyelids!! Pretty!

COngrats to xuanting &amp; breadmum!</font>

bigtoes,

yah, have to think of food but will settle that later. maybe order pizza or fastfood? need to be halal too for sri_leo. Don't bring too much barang2. I should have most things u need at my place. I'm sure u can manage alone --- if not, there are 20 over mummies (including my domestic helper) to help u.

Manyue
I think I am lagi more no frills than anyone else for the Manyue party! Catering, but no cake, no pedicure, no new haircut/colour, no new clothes for ANYONE...my attempt at baby dress shopping yesterday was not very successful (did not go DPAM as wanted to avoid closed roads area, dresses at Pumpkin Patch were nice but too big). Sigh...CL is making red eggs and we've ordered angkukueh but that's about it!

Lanolin
Pity we can't go to each others' party hehe...

<font color="0077aa">Hi bigtoes, is there a 20% discount at NTUC? The staff told me its for household products but she is not sure either. And I don't have newspaper at my house. Anyone knows? And the bb fair is at every NTUC?

Just brought Zane to shave his hair with my Cl. Aiyoo.. the hairdresser's hand is shaking lo, so not professional! Zane looks so cute with his botak head!</font>

1742830.jpg

storeberry
LOL what a cute pic! LOL!

I'm shaving the girls AFTER the party - for boys botak is OK, but girls...hmm. I'm also going to go get hats/those stretchy hairbands for them so they dont look too "botak" after.

In case anyone is wondering why we're shaving...i've seen how adan's hair fell out in patches and how ugly it was (we shaved him at 4months instead)...so shave earlier for the gals ..then they'll be prettier by 4 months (we hope)

Lok, which PD are u going in Bishan? I am still considering wor!

For the gathering, i have to wait and see how confident am I in the ‘bb logistic’ wor. I wonder how will I react when my bb start crying in the public stuff liddat :p

Talking abt shaving bb head, issit reallie necessary?

just now so pai sae. after my massage lady massage my boots, then when upon wraping my right boots leaking milk. lucky abit only. if not there goes my precious milk

Anyone can help?

I want to make a serious complaint about Stemcord.

My sister who is currently storing with them recommended me to store with them too. To my dismay, they said they have changed their storage method to bags too (like CordLife). They have changed to bags because the tubes are known to CRACK!!!??!!!

At that time, they painted such a rosy picture that they're much much better than CordLife but now I realised that they're full of lies.

After I told my sister, she jumped too because she felt very misled.

I feel that their advertisement in Straits Times today is also very misleading. In the advertisement, they mentioned that they have as much as 80 transplants but in the fine print, it was stated that they didn't use any cord blood for these transplants.

How can they prey on pregnant women like us? They're simply treating us like idiots.

Think twice before you sign up with Stemcord. They are really full of lies.

Do you think we can seek any recourse from Stemcord?

Wow.. so man updates to go thru.. I took 2 days to go thru the past few days thread.. lol
Coz in between always be disturb by my FB and Little cayden.. got to TBF him... Guess all those 2nd time mummy will agree with me.. to handle both at the same time not so easy.. And i hardly can find my own time now...
Yo .. talking about gathering.. count me in man... lol Can Lok house accommodate so many of us or not?? :p
Shall put my name in and some one can update the table for me?? sorry did not give the birth info for my BB..
Cayden
Head: 35cm
Weight: 3.205kg
Length: 54

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
4. Kieran + Li May (Bigtoes)
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
7. Sharmaine + stef&amp;seanbabes
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz
14. Shauna + Springz
15. Jonathan + dseptkon
16. Carine + Angeline
17. Alabone + Cadence
18. Laurent + twendy (+hubby &amp; FB?)
19. Nur Shadiyah + Sri_Leo
20. Kaiden + Mommy Bacon&amp;Egg
21. Zenneth + Qiuling mummy + maid
22. Cayden + Momoko

ya.. I need some advise too..

For those mummies who have admitted their bb for jaundice .. wat's the level like??

Coz my bb have jaundice and the level is 258 for the first blood test.. and we went for another one this morning and it is 251.. so we need to monitor him again.. really concern about it.. hehehe.. having been consulting Sasa.. she first time mummy already still need a 2nd time mummy to consult her.. sorry to trouble u ah.. can share anyone?? tys..

<font color="119911">storeberry (storeberry) - looking at the NTUC advert now. Yes, its applicable to all NTUC outlets. 20% discount for these brands - Avent, Pigeon, Tollyjoy, Safety 1st. Also got promotional prices for diapers, milk powder, body wash, wetwipes etc
Sale is till 8th Oct

Heh, u cut Zane's hair for man yue? My CL told me to shave hair and eyebrows for Kieran and bathe him in some flower water…!

Ava - the baby hair will definitely drop out? I have no intention of shaving Kieran's hair.

Mio Mee (miome)- yes, I saw the advert by StemCord on their 80 transplants as well and was wondering where that number came from. I donated Kieran's cord blood to the public blood bank instead.

Meanwhile, I suspect that my CL is drinking my Enfamama!!! I am not a big fan of the milk powder and only drink it when I run out of HL (like today). Noticed that my Enfamama is nonetheless getting lesser &amp; lesser by itself and the scoop inside always changes position…hmmm…hubby told me to tell her not to drink milk for lactating mommies, but she is leaving in a week's time…so just letting her be.</font>

thanks, shazz, bigtoes &amp; storeberry.
i wonder who else is still waiting to pop/may have just popped these few days.

the gathering sounds like a lot of fun but i won't be able to attend cos i will still be in confinement then. have fun everyone!

finally managed some sort of breakthrough with my right breast just now. was hovering over a small plastic bowl whilst massaging in order to collect what precious drops there might be and after a few miserable droplets, one small squirt actually shot right out! i believe i've unblocked something! yay!

jaundice
momoko, my bb's jaundice level was 12 (dif unit of measurement) and we were told that she would have to stay on for phototherapy but we were reluctant to leave her there so we rented a lightbox back to diy instead. she wore only her diapers and a mask and had to be in the box all day except during feeding and changing. she was much better when we brought her back for her blood test one day later. did your doc suggest any form of treatment besides asking to monitor your bb?

Huh, i dun believe in shaving hair lor. My BB already not much hair le if shave hor, i also dunno he'll take how long to grow back.

Ava, why 4th mth then shave? My MIL just told my CL that Man Yue can just cut a bit of hair as a symbol but 4th mth will shave botak.

I was like 4th mth then shave botak???? So ugly. So i told my hubby die die cannot let her bring Ryan shave botak. If shave botak, i wun let her carry Ryan. Very bad hor me...

Congrats to Xuanting and Breadmum

Alabone,
My friend said 2 hours her guests finished all the foods,only 80% of the guests, another 20% guests having KFC and Pizza Hut!ordered 40pax and actual guests around 50pax included kids. My hubby's colleague said Neo Garden quantity is ok for her. Now I don't know who to believe

Rachel,
My gynae 1st appt is 2 weeks after give birth

Flos,your ss is good!when is my turn le

congrats to xuanting and breadmum and jessi.. i saw jessi's baby girl's pic on facebook. she has popped..

we are nearing the end of sept.. we shd be abt done with the poppings ;-) yeahness! Congrats to everyone for the smooth and safe deliveries of our babies... of course those who are still waiting, JIA YOU!!

bigtoes, my sis did not shave hair for my 2 nieces and erm their hair were kind of like in patches and very uneven. But my elder niece outgrew it and now she has beautiful soft hair. My younger niece is still early to tell cos she's only 1 and still waiting for the hair to grow.. As for my bro's 2 sons, they shaved their hair at 4months and now, my younger nephew is kind of still botak at the age of 1.. soooo.. I guess its really up to you ba...

I don think i'll be cutting reyes' hair cos he has such a beautiful head of black hair..

Hi momoko,
my boy was warded for jaundice too last week. His results showed 273 thus PD decided to keep him for phototherapy. From what I understand, the cut-off point is 260 after which they will ward the child.

blackberry, a fren catered for neo garden and the quantity seems like a lot leh.. by the time i left, there was still quite a fair bit left. But then again, it still depends on the guests and the type of food ordered ba... fingerfood usually will be the first to go...

nowadays, caterers are not so generous as before.. in the past they'll give heaps of food but now, its prob just enough..

bigtoes, huh? shave eyebrow?? my boy has no eyebrows liao leh.. how to shave?? And sounds dangerous oso! I hope my in laws and parents will not insist...

heee.. u can ask ur CL to help u breastfeed if she suddenly gets milk supply..

I'm definitely not shaving no eyebrows or cutting lashes! But head hair ok lah. just bought some headbands

Bigtoes
Adan's hair dropped out...i dunno if it happens to every baby tho...other second/third time mommies can share?

shaving hair:
i'm not shaving hair for cadence. never shaved for any of the kids. all bbs will drop hair by their third mth as do the mummies. so be prepared!

blackberry,
my friend also say their portion quite big leh. so i think i'll just leave as it is.

bigtoes,
your cl doesn't know that's for lactating mummies??? later she start leaking milk... hehhee

manyue celebration,
ava, i also never do anything special leh. just cater buffet. and only got body suit for cadence. she can hardly fit into anything now. then i so lazy to go out to shop. hair everyday bun up so messy also never go and cut/groom...

dspetkon,
today jonathan turns one mth right??? happy one mth to him!!!

bigtoes:your milk ss is really good! 250ml in 2 sessions of 5 min ea? wowow...

My CL has been munching on my Jap snacks and Ritter chocos I bought from Candy Empire

Last nite, after BF-ing, I went round my apartment looking for my missing CL...When I pushed open the toilet door, I saw her shitting in there in the dark, with the door unlocked. I ticked her off for not locking the door and turning on the lights (my doors are frosted). So grossed out by the shitty sight I was that I ended up cutting the kiwifruits myself last nite.

Storeberry/Ava: must we shave the bb's head? I thot I heard my MIL talking abt it, but I'm an Anti-Skinhead Nazi (oxymoron there!). I like bb's to hv hair leh... u noe, was telling my DH about the lil girl Nicole in the 9pm serial on Channel 8 (Adrian Pang as the single dad). It's a pity she has short boy's haircut, else she'll look prettier

xuanting: I quote my jamu's explanation: "LEFT breast milk is said to taste better than RIGHT cos all the waste matters/toxins in our body are flushed out from the right side (liver is towards the right side too). Besides, the bb likes to snuggle up on your left where he can listen to your familiar heartbeat."

Lanolin: getting a manicurist to come to your place? I am thinking likewise too! My manicurist is my neighbour one busstop down the road
I hope she can drop by.

I picked Zhi(4) Xian(2) which means Ruler/Healer &amp; Leader/Title.

Ava: you didn't manage to get all that dresses at Raffles City? I'm also quite lazy to get the party going. I feel like ordering the cupcakes someone posted here a few days ago. They look very pretty! As for caterer, I'm thinking of Fostre or Purple Sage. Is Neo Garden really good. I think I'll just ask DH to go to Bengawan Solo to grab those cakecards!!! Lazy to order from The Patissier already. YAWN.

Am more desperate to colour my hair. HOw are you all going to the hair salon? Leave bb with the CL or DH? Am afraid the smell will frighten bb...

Bigtoes: my son also makes strange noises when suckling. I also find his voice pretty hoarse from wailing.

NURSING TOPS: where can I buy nice and chic nursing tops? I realise I dun hv any! I can't bring bb out if I dun hv a decent nursing top to wear!!!

STOMACH CRUNCHES/SITUPS: When can I do situps? My jamu sessions have ended and what's been passed out has already been passed out. There is still a bit of flab here and there, so I need to exercise to tone up my tummy. Are u all exercising at home yet?

is anyone's lochia continuing after 28 days? its day 31 and i still have to use pantiliners! is it because i'm still drinking chicken essence each morning?!

flos,
i like to look out for your updates to hear abt your cl's antics! she's got so much up her sleeves! why doesn't she just lock the door?? weird...

abt hair:
i dont think it's necessary to shave lah. and that nicole on tv, she probably is growing out her hair that's why it looks like that. all bb girl's hair goes through that process of looking boyish. next time i put up pics of nat in that phase.

NURSING TOPS: i like mothers en vogue. they have rather nice ones.

exercise: a lot of us here went thru c sec so i hardly think we can exercise yet. but for natural delivery, shd only really do those exercises in abt 3 mths time in case of womb prolapse.

Flos - yah, try to get the person to come to ur place coz it is more convenient and u can feed while she does ur nails! I signed a package of 5 with this lady so I don't need to travel so much and disrupt my baby's schedule.

Purple sage is v good - I've used them before but they are not cheap la. No sure re Fostre.

Nursing tops - I think Spring maternity has decent stuff! Ava and I went to Moms in Mind and got a couple.

Ava - ya lor ... hahaha...we can't go to each other's parties but will be there in spirit la!

CL - how come these CLs so weird one????? Drink lactating mom's milk powder and poo in the dark!? EEEKSS!!!

momoko
Jaundice level...
actually it really depends on which day after birth it is and how high the level.

a simple math that PDs do...

no of hrs afr birth------risk (admission)
48-----------------------220
54-----------------------230
60-----------------------240
66-----------------------250
72-----------------------260

something like that. then there are different kinds of jaundince. for breastmilk jaundice, must keep onservation until maybe day 7 and after. coz the level rise slowly. for jaundice caused by blood group incompatibility, the level tends to rise very fast within 72 hours.

for day 3, admission to ICU for jaundice is 380 if im not wrong...but my son's signs were very good so they just kept him in normal wards...

my son's level then hit 398 in day 3...admitted but only double light...for my girl now, we are still monitoring coz the level is still rising but too slowly for ABO incomaptibility...so just going to do prick test every few days...

Re exercise, am thinking of going back to some light pilates after 6 weeks but I need to figure out how to sneak out of the house...hahaha...I think have to start pumping enough milk out while still latching him on most times first. :D

May also start going back to gym but not very vigorous exercise la. Need to shed off my CONFINEMENT fats. HAHAHAHA ... I'm been eating a lot a lot.

thanks alabone!

we had a pretty easy time with Jonathan unlike for FB. No party, just cakes sets and bengawan solo giftcards. and if anyone is interested, the sweetest moments gift sets that we ordered went down very well with everyone, especially the older folk.

baby haircut
we didnt cut samuel's hair at all but for the first 6 months , he had a very impressive mohawk. it was quite a conversation starter...hehe.

xuanting: yes, Tan's 5 second characters share the same no. of strokes, so do the 5 third characters he recommends.

Besides taking into consideration the meaning of the character as a whole, he'll also choose the characters based on their unique graphemes (the parts '边' that make up a Chinese character) such as the Five Elements (金木水火土) or some special elements that are impt to bbs born in the particular year(e.g Rat). E.g. some masters say Rat bbs must hv 'rice' part, or 'mouth' part.

I know what u mean, u want to stick to the no. of strokes per the report and pick your own character to replace his recommendation, is it? Then u must be prepared to forgo some vital elements here and there.

dropping of hair
will the regrowth be anything like what we see at birth?

flos, serious? can't be gwa... i don't want to feed my bb toxins! must google for more info.

episiotomy wound
how long does this generally take to heal? mine still hurts and it's hard for me to sit down/get up/shift my weight around. confinement would've been a lot more pleasant without having to deal with this.

cls
quite glad i didn't get one. am v tired and sometimes lost but at least i am in control. must ask dh to buy me something with that $2k saved!

<font color="0077aa">Ava: I find the photo funny too!

Limay: Thanks!! Aiyah... My MIL lo, asked me to shave bb's hair but not doing man yue for bb.

Nursing top: I only got one top from MIM, am looking at trendy &amp; chic ones too!</font>

alabone, when is your manyue? my hair very messy and oily even I wash althernate day, but with the herb water..

Baby Hair Cut,
My parents and MIL also want having the hair cut after baby manyue. I don't want my boy become botak

l'l CY,
My boy also admitted hospital for jaundice, tomorrow will go to PD there for review. Is it my breastmilk cause my boy have jaundice? He have same blood group with me B+. I'm not dare to drink papaya fish soup worry the papaya will cause the jaundice...

XuanTing,
My boy also prefer my Left breast, he will suck longer on left
my boy jaundice level very high at day 8, the result is 18. After the phototherapy he drop to 9 and have to monitor and sun bath everyday. Too bad that after 5pm , my house area no sun ! arg!

l'lCY, Kyrie and Xuanting,
Tys for all ur advise now.. at least now i know which level are my bb in ..

PD only tell me to monitor him and keep on suntaning him everyday and also feed him well.. Am on TBM.. but they never say whether my BB is under BM Jaundice or wat.. since they know I'm BF'ing than should be ok rite..

flos, ya that's what i meant. got to discuss with dh if we really want to go ahead with bazi compatible names cos if not, my fil will prob want to pick a v chinese mainland sounding name for my bb (one char type). how long more can we drag? given 42 days to register bb's birth right?

blackberry, do you need to bring your boy back for blood tests frequently? mine doc saw her yesterday and said no need to go back anymore. think i should continue to try and sun her a bit at home also, to be safe.

momoko, doc mentioned something about my blood grp being different from my bb's but he said there is nothing to be concerned over. is your bb drinking enough bm to flush out the biliburin?

Lok, ic.. quite near i guess..can juz walk my way dere.. hee..

Rachel, maybe diff hosp hv diff procedures? y nt u check wit ur gynae?

Btw we both hv the same blood grp so does my DD &amp; ur boy..

**SHAVE HAIR**

hmm... at KKH gt such services or nt? i heard one of the retail shop (chinese shop) gt offer such service..