(2008/09) Sep 2008

Thx Ava

GATHERING
I'm gg back to work on 29 Oct

storeberry- mine is from this morning 6+ am till now ar..
. pat him to sleep he sleep less then an hr wake up. then after dirnk milk pat to sleep again an hr wake up. cry loud

Mei: for a moment I was thinking, wow, Devon bathed in bird's nest! haha ... cos that is Jin Si Yan! haha ... so it's Jin Yin Hua. ;) hehe

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
4. Kieran + Li May (Bigtoes)
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
7. Sharmaine + stef&seanbabes
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz

sorry have not been posting.. after seeing CL feed baby while sleeping I've been doing the night shifts. Last night I let her try and ya baby gave her what she has been giving me.. sleeplessness! She'll cry after each feed and it is the wailing sort. Only stops if carried and keeps wanting more milk. I don't think it is growth spurt coz when we give in to her and feed 10-20 ml she can't finish it..

Anyway.. please count me in for the gathering!!!

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz
14. Shauna + Springz

storeberry, is your baby heaty? Mine was like yours yesterday, rather cranky and refused to sleep much and also doesn't really want to latch on to drink. Her whole baby was like rather red from crying. My mom said she felt a bit warm, not fever or anything, but most likely from heatiness cos of the heaty food I eat. So we gave her Jin Yin Hua today and really can see that she's much better and sleeps better too. Also not cranky anymore. Maybe you can give it a try?

wingkei- other then drinking jin yin hua what else can we give baby to drink. coz my mum don't like the idea of giving him drink

mei- mine is keep crying. just checked that he doesnt havent fever. so haveto monitor see tomorrow how. if still the same might bring him to my family clinic for a check. kinda of worried

** Gathering**

if at Lok's place.. can i join? cz i live nearby bishan park too.. but i'm mly if u all don mind.. will it be awkward for some of u?

burping
i usuaaly try to burp even after he falls asleep at the breast cos otherwise he will wake on his own and cry and the milk comes back out. sometimes he does wake up after the burping but most times i pray real hard that he sleeps through it

change of diaper
the CL would change it about 2x in a night. Jonathan can even poo while sleeping so sometimes he will poo, get changed, feed, all the while semi-sleeping at 3am.

Will try to be at the gathering
Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz
14. Shauna + Springz
15. Jonathan + dseptkon

Jin Si Yan! Ya~ I thought you bathe baby in premium bird's nest man WOW! keke

Constipation:

Little Scarlett had constipation today, from 11am yesterday she had not poop and was crying on and off in pain since 4pm this afternoon.. tried all sorts of method- massaged her tummy with tummy oil, gave her water+ gripe water, gave her more milky, even massaged her poophole with moist cotton.. and her tummy was so round..big and hard.. finally she let out a loud explosion around 10pm.. relief... Anyone got good idea on how to prevent constipation? Jamu lady suggest giving Scarlett water in between feeds (since i am on combi of BM and FM, trying to work a routine so i could plan going back to work around the milking..)

hi storeberry/ shazz

thanks for the contact..

Count me in for the gathering..but abit paiseh as most of u have met b4 already..will be there unless my elder ger didn go to CC

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz
14. Shauna + Springz
15. Jonathan + dseptkon
16. Carine + Angeline

Hi everyone - have been following the thread and am enlightened by all your experiences.

I gave birth to Baby Ethan on 16 Sept 2320.
My story as below:
3am water bag burst
7am 2nd surge of water
no contractions and seeing doc at 11.15am
Saw Dr Lee I Weun at RH and was admitted immediately. No more water.
12.15pm admitted and augmentation begins. Cervix was 2 am dilated.
3pm - epidural administered by Dr Chew
6pm cervix only opened to 3cm
9pm cervix only open 4.5cm
10pm Dr Lee advised Emergency C -sect an dif i wanted to try for another hour
11pm wheeled into OT room and
11.20pm - Baby Ethan arrives

Have been home since 20 Sept. Now am facing CL issues. My CL just told me after 6 days that she needs to go home as MIL is in ICU and will find me a replacement. She has already taken $300 deposit and now is asking for another $300. And she told me that her replacment need only get $1.4 K. Need your advises on what steps i should trust and take as i hope i am not taken in as a scam.

My CL name is Ann from Seremban.

hi guys, i've finally popped and am now back home with my precious little darling.

shazz/jessi: could you pls help update the table? thanks.

natural delivery with epidural and forceps
bb head circumference: 34cm
bb length: 51cm
bb weight: 2.88kg
hosp: tmc (dr m tan)

mine is a baby girl and she hasn't got a name yet so she's known as "baby yeo" for now.
we don't have a cl so dh and i are v hands on with baby. so far so good – parenthood is so wonderful!

Just to add to the table:

Emergency C section
BB Head - 33cm
BB lenght - 55cam
BB weight: 3.18kg
Hosp: RH (Dr Lee i Wuen)
PD : Dr MC Tan

flos,
your confinement thingy is really dramatic! and put so much dong cong cao in the soup??? how big a bowl does she double boil for you??? dong cong cao very ex now leh!

mei, crayonshin,
yeah. very happy to see cadence put on weight. even her fingers are slightly fatter. but she's still lighter than full term babies. but i'm so sure she'll catch up soon!

yeah! my confinement is coming to an end! in fact, if i count it as 28 days, it is officially OVER!!!!!!!!! just went out to IMM just now with my hb and the two todds. then went to a friend's place to pick up preemie baby gap clothes i bought for cadence's first mth. it can last till she reaches 3.5kg! so now she won't have to wear those 'oversized' clothes...

CATERER for manyue:
initially i ordered from angeli as recommended by sunrays... then they called me to say that they were fully booked on monday!!! so i changed to neo garden. and now i read that their portion is small?? how small huh?? i've got abt 35 guests but i just ordered for 30. so how??? shd i add more??????

xuanting & breadmum,
congrats!!!

mei,
devon fits so snugly into the carseat. when i put cadence in, her head is all lopsided and funny... so i'm slightly apprehensive abt putting her in yet have to.

ava,
love your daughters' names! cadence's chinese name is Kai3 Xuan2.

isabelle,
i'm due to return to work on 21 oct... am so dreading it. tempted to take the 12 weeks one shot. when does sch hols start? in the second week of my confinement, my hod called me to prepare me for a bad rank during ranking... am so demoralised...

Gathering:
would like to join in for the gathering too.

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz
14. Shauna + Springz
15. Jonathan + dseptkon
16. Carine + Angeline
17. Alabone + Cadence

lok,
i would also prefer the gathering to be on a weekend, so that hubby can be my chauffeur. if on weekday, hopefully not during 1st week of nov, cos starting my FB gal on her childcare. me want to attend CC with her, to see what activities they have & also to slowly transition her in.

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz
14. Shauna + Springz
15. Jonathan + dseptkon
16. Carine + Angeline
17. Alabone + Cadence
18. Laurent + twendy (+hubby & FB?)

This morning Devon gave me a fright! He moved so much in his sleep until his body turned 45deg & his face was stuffed into the side bumpers of the cot. Luckily, he's smart enough to wail to let me know.

My milk has been good flow except for a shivering spell 2 nights ago, believe its engorgement, but it went away, after i express the milk out. Averagly i get 110 ml. However, baby don't seems to latch on my left well so both mum and son struggle each time. It can get frustrating. Plus my little one moves a lot for a week old baby.

alabone- thanks. catering tip, always either invite more guests by 10% or less the quantity by 10%. As this will feed enough people. I have used caterers at work when having events, so that has been the rule of thumb. Should not go far wrong.:)

ava - how did you come up with the chinese name? went to yu longzhi and he gave a list of names to pick, plus HB and i are not well versed in mandarin, so its based on best sounding name. is that how it works. So clueless, being a first time mum

Ok, since alabone is amongst the earliest to return to work (due to return to work on 21 Oct), can we try for 20 Oct? Apologies to those mummies who might still be in confinement.

Sri_Leo,

Sure come along.

Ava,

Feel free to bring your whole family and maid too. There are 2 pools/water playground/playground within the compound if Adan wants to have some waterplay.

twendy,

My very active boy gets terribly excited with new things and I'm really afraid he will "bully" the babies, that's why I prefer weekdays.

Date: 20 Oct (Monday)
Venue: Lok's place (near Bishan Park)
Timing: Lunchtime till about 5pm? (Can't stretch too long as I will need to pick FB from CC)

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz
14. Shauna + Springz
15. Jonathan + dseptkon
16. Carine + Angeline
17. Alabone + Cadence
19. Nur Shadiyah + Sri_Leo

mei: mine already turned 80 degrees yesterday! He is a very active boy!

alabone: 18 stalks => one fishball noodle bowl size lor...very disproportionate. My MIL told her to use 5-6 stalks will do.

breadmum: ICU? aiya, dun believe her lah...My CL's mom is in ICU too. One of their friends told my mom they like to tease each other in Malaysia, "Oi, XXX, so how many times have your mom died ah?" They can say anything they like to get the hell out. Mine even said, "If my mom is dead, I also can't do confinement for u anymore!", then she wept and wept and wept. When I paid her $450 for only 5 days work, her eyes automatically sucked back her crocodile tears.

CONGRATS to xuanting and breadmum!!!

Jessi: I got some colostrum before giving birth. I tried squeezing it in my shower. Did u see something oozing out? You can request the nurse to bring your bb to your ward every 2 hours to let him latch 15min left, 15min right. I latched in this manner (ie 2-hourly basis, on demand) for 4 days before my real milk ss kicked in.

breadmom: ava and i went to the same chap. it's based on both parents' bazi plus ur bb's bazi & five elements, apparently.

Gathering: I need to know when my filipino maid is coming in and when my DH is travelling again. best to cfm later.

lok,
my FB gal also very active, in fact, she's a devil in disguise!

my hubby will be taking another 2 weeks' leave. let's hope it coincide with 20th. since in the afternoon, maybe i can bring my gal along too, after her half-day CC. i hope my gynae appt in the morning dun take too long!

Count me in for the gathering..thanks

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz
14. Shauna + Springz
15. Jonathan + dseptkon
16. Carine + Angeline
17. Alabone + Cadence
20. Kaiden + Mommy Bacon&Egg

Flos
Then does Isaac's face get stuffed in the side bumpers when he turns? Really scary man..

Gathering on 20 October.. I'm fine with it.

Me: I am going .... just nice .. a week after bb first month party ... keke ..

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz
14. Shauna + Springz
15. Jonathan + dseptkon
16. Carine + Angeline
17. Alabone + Cadence
20. Kaiden + Mommy Bacon&Egg
21. Zenneth + Qiuling mummy + maid

Alabone
I like Cadence's name too! And congrats on your graduation from confinement

Breadmum
I chose from the list Master Tan Khoon Yong gave.
as flos said, names are based on parents' birth dates (to calc bazi), babies' birth elements (bazi) too n from there they will determine the no of strokes for each charatcer.

flos
did u know u can combine any of the second characters with any of the third characters in the list?

Hi ladies, sorry to interrupt,

Wondering if any mtb here would be interested in getting a Medele Electric pump?

My friend just gave birth, but decided to formula feed, thus she is selling her Brand New, In Sealed box for $150 inlcuding a Brand New in Box, 3 pack Medela bottles.

The Pump itself retails a pack $193.90 and the 3 pack bottle retails at $31.90 so total, would cost $226. She is letting go at only $150 for the whole package. Thats almost 50% off!

Pls sms me on 93223995 if you are keen, as she is also posting on other forums.
1742388.jpg
1742389.jpg

All is 100% Brand new and still sealed!

Breadmum, your baby is very long!!

What is this jin yin hua for?

Mummies, are you giving water to your babies? I thought 1st 6 months, we do not give water?

AVA: Yep, we hv already mixed and matched but didn't fancy any of the combis. We tried pronouncing them in Canto as well (cos the grandparents will be calling him in Canto sometimes, so it mustn't sound too weird). In the end, we picked his No.1 recommendation.

Sasa de mouse: hey, why dun u count the no. of packages u hv left? Sometimes, some lazy maids can 'cheat' on feeding amounts and times too, so do monitor on and off.

My CL has 'ta pao' all my Drypers samples into her luggage for her pregnant daughter. As long as she doesn't take my Pampers, I'm ok to let her pass the hospital samples to her daughter. She is also eyeing on all my milk samples in my kitchen cabinet!

Qiuling: I dunno if my CL is a greenie, but she shocked me by asking me for the plastic cling film that was used to wrap my Babysafe mattress, plus the plastic cover for my Mothercare changing mattress! I told her they cannot be used to contain anything but she just wanted to lug them back to Malaysia.

WASTAGE:
Although I bought one dozen packs of Pigeon wipes, am still a bit ngeow about her using a lot of my Pigeon wipes...sim tia!!!

Mei: nope! (PHEW!) He doesn't know how to roll that far to the side bumpers at 2 weeks. It's just his body position was at an angle (80degrees) from the bedhead. Yours sounds like a close shave! I do peep thru the door occasionally to see if he is alrite.

Rachel Lim
My first check up was a week after birth, then Pap smear 4-5 weeks after 1st check up.

Flos
We are spelling the names in the BC as:
Summer Leong Chiann Yu
Anais Leong Chiann Rui

This is called the Avalyn-Dany system of naming... which includes checking numerology web sites to see the meanings of the names with these spellings...LOL!

chantelle,

If I recall from my biology lessons donkey years ago, it can be different. E.g. if u are A and your hubby is B, then it's possible your bb will be O. Because A blood group actually consist of A and O blood while B blood group actually consist of B and O. Your offspring will then be one of the possible permutation (A+O = A, B+O= B, A+B= AB, O+O=O).

Sri_Leo,

I'm staying in one of condos near Bright Hill Temple.

Sri Leo, I delivered at EastShore on 14th Sept, but do not have any appts with gynae..

Blood group, my boy follows the same blood group as me. B+

ava: LOL...u r cute! numerology? how?? it'll tell u how to spell the name?

oi, did the Way fellas ask u for the full name? was quite puzzled why they asked me to provide them with the english name too (this is for my 17 Oct debrief with Tan). thot they only care abt the Chinese name?

rachel: my first appt was one week after my delivery. Next one is 6 weeks - pap smear, etc to close the loop with the gynae.

chantelle: my Isaac's blood group = dad's one. (O+). U can consult a Bio student or google the Blood Group chart on the internet.

LEAKAGE ON THE OTHER BREAST: When I am BF-ing on my left side, the right side leaks like mad. I usually use a breast pad to soak up the spilt milk. What do u all do? Collection shells?

Hi people...

presenting bb qihui...fresh from the womb.the long overdue pix due to my laziness...

1742552.jpg

Like her brother, she has no hair. think she has even lesser as a newborn...

regarding bloodgroup. well if like my hb and i which is AB+ and O+, our children will never have the same bld group as us. theirs will be either A+ or B+ (and the chances of getting blood incompatibility jaundice is higher..kekekeke..)

Hi Flos,

I used to get the collection shells or BB food container to collect the leaked milk.

BUT! my BB has a bad habit of giving a sudden kick or stretch his body when he's done latching and TWICE he has kicked away the shell and spill on me n my bedsheet. Now i just use breast pad to soak it up le... dun want to risk washing the bedsheet le.

Mandy: that's my point! when I soak with the breast pad, not much milk ss is left when I swop side to BF him with the half-leaked breast, or pump that side later. So sayang...

Lok: I'm A+ and my DH is O+, my son is = O+. So A+O does not necessarily give u A+ right? dunno lah...

lilboymom: cute! she has a great complexion. so radiant she is!