(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0077aa">Goldfish: I posted before, my CL don't say this kind of things but one evening, its my MIL who said this nonsense! Like bb like auntie's smell that's why stop crying.. blah..blah..

Sarah: All the best!! GOD is in control!! So exciting that you will be holding little Elisha soon! He will be another champion baby!

Jessi, next week is coming soon!</font>

<font color="119911">Haha, who is pinching their baby's nose bridge?
Don’t think it would help, else how come most of us Chinese still have flat noses!! My hubby's auntie does that for her granddaughter as well (2+ now), and I don’t see any difference!

emotional rollercoaster - I haven’t had any episodes yet…thou I suspect that once the CL leaves and its just me trying to pacify Kieran when he cries, I would also get weepy!!

Springz (springz)- are u swadding Shauna when she sleeps at night? Babies need to feel wrapped up and will sometimes wake up crying like what you mentioned. You need to either swaddle her, else use the bean sprouts pillow to lay it across her chest.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - my gyne said no exercise till 6 wks after delivery…but I think I will just go down to my apartment gym from next week onwards (3+ weeks after delivery) to use the stationery bike. An excuse to get out of the apartment as well!!

SarahMay (sarahmay) - wow, so its one of these days now! Come back soon with your healthy bouncy Elisha and birth photos!!

Flos - how can leftover bad blood grow into fibroids? Blood is blood, and fibroids are tissue layers in the uterus. My gyne said my fibroid was caused by too much estrogen last time…don’t think it has anything to do with menstrual blood lah..</font>

hello everyone!

SarahMay - GOOD LUCK!!

Bacon&amp;eggs - did u call the caterer? ARe u going to use them?

Flos - U are so productive ..I think even ur boobs are workaholics! :D hahaha...it's very good. I'm only pumping out at most 60 -70ml per time. Many have told me to change to electric pump so may go down to Cheong Choon to get the PIS.

Ava - my camera is new la so have to upload the programme into my comp before I can get the photos on FB. V lazy. Feel lik napping most of the time...like now. Zzzzzzzzzzzz

btw, I think I am PUTTING ON WEIGHT from all the confinement food I am making myself eat. I eat more now than before - hoping it helps with my milk production. Was weighing at 58.6 at gynae's and now after 2 weeks, my home scale is saying that I am at 60kilos!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AHHHHH!! Like that how????????

lanolin think sometime our home weighing scale not accurate rate 1. last time when preg i weight myself at gyane and home is different. so now just weight at my is 58. i c next mth when going for my par smear check up going to weight how many kg i have lost. but tummy havent lost much yet

Hi, Ladies

Need your help..

My baby boy has sticky mucus in the nose and PD gave the nostril spray which I feel it is too strong for baby's little nose..

Anyone has good solutions which you have applied before to remove the sticky mucus?

My baby dun sleep in aircon room but still get this blocked nose, I heart pain to see him breathing very hard..

Pls help.. Thanks..

Jonas' jaundice is down to 14.9. Much more manageable than yesterday's 20.4. I'm quite relieved. But his drinking is very erratic (sometimes, ranging from 30ml to 90ml). Now trying very hard to express milk for him.

Isabelle,

Guess what you said works for mild jaundice. But not in this case lor. Almost at the level where we need to do a blood change. And I read in Wong Boi Boi's book that too high level might cause brain damage, deafeness and even death. So I just give in. Some PDs/hospitals in Singapore will even ask for a 48 hr stop to bfg and go on total FM to bump up the calorie intake and hence, make them poo it out.

Storeberry,

We found out at the 1-week follow-up check. Thankfully, I decided to go 1 day earlier (maybe maternal instinct). If u are worried, just bring to PD for a check. Better safe than sorry.

i have bought the medela-avent conversion kit too. anyone of u interested? i intend to let it go, together w a BN box of pigeon breastpads @ $20. have to do self-collection, cos dun think convenient for me to do postage. the boxes might be crushed too if send by postage. i'm happy pumping str into medela bottles. and my "control valves" in my breasts are working so well that they never leak on me, for both my pregnancies. pls PM me...

yan

i just went to get antibiotics for my breasts inflammation..gynae say its safe for bf..but on safe side,i eat after i feed bb.

any of u hv bm leak problem? My bm is leaking like a tap. Especially when baby latches on one side, the other side leaks so much like a tap. I use my palm to collect the milk but it spills out.
and my breastpad is soaked with sticky bm. i din experience such bad leakage for my 1st 2 babies. Just wondering wat can be done to stop the leakage. And my t shirt gets wet and sticky and i really cannot stand the feeling. So i keep having to change my tshirt.

stef,
can get a nipple shell to collect those leaking milk or pump one side when your bb is latching the other side.. Good problem to have...I dont have enough milk!

LC,
My suggestion a bit disgusting but was told by experienced mom to suck out the mucus using your mouth. It works!

Btw, any mommies experiencing a weird odour? I seems to have milk odour on me all the time..the moment i carry bb, he will automatically search for my breast...i am feeling sweaty with milk smell all the time..any remedy?

my ger was admit to hospital due to not eating well. she won't wake up for her meal, told the doc what happen when having routine check at polyclinic, so doc sent her to KKH, at hospital, her jaundice level also kept on going her, so we just give her FM, i do pump out BM to feed her, so it was a mix. what doc worry is if she kept on sleeping, and don't eat, her jaundice level will went up. lucky during the stay, she was quite disturb by the measuring of blood level and taking her temp. so she will woke up and look for milk, on the 3rd day, her jaundice level finally went own, and she was allow to discharge.
so now her intake is abt 60ml each feeding for FM, and i try to out BM, but each pump i only pump out 50ml. so sometime she will wake up or her feeding after 2hr if she fed on BM.

<font color="0000ff">stef&amp;seanbabes
yes.. i second bacon &amp; egg's suggestion abt gettng breast shells to collect the leaking milk. at least after tat u can feed this 'leakage' to ur little one as well. It's really much better and neater to have them collected in the shells. I had to suffer from bm leakage and wet bras, soaked breasts pads and shirts before I knew of such things as breast shells.. haha.

I bot Avent shells... http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2403352

HTHs

LC,
Just put your mouth near to your bb's nose, take a deep breath and suck! Thats how my colleague taught me..a bit disgusting..but i guess when u do it for your bb, u wont feel disgusted..u just want to get the mucus out..to relieve bb's discomfort...

thanks, Bacon&amp;Egg.. I tried just now but think my "suction" is not strong so the wet muscus still got stuck there.. will try again later when baby is in better mood.. feel so heart pain to see him breathing so badly.. and the PD gave me that spray also causing him discomfort cos of the strong spray into his nose..

Jessi: good weight! enjoy your freedom and treasure your sleep now!
go on dates with your hubby before baby is out next week!

LC: I use the Pigeon boogie picker (white plastic tweezer with rounded ends) to pick Eamon's dried mucus out from his nose. Sometimes the sticky ones takes a while longer. My CL told me it's normal to have them, and sometimes it comes out when baby sneeze. If not, i twist my tissue into a sharp pointed shape and try to soak up the mucus.

LC,
I bought the pigeon baby nose cleaner to suck the muscus out. Go to http://www.galtak.com/k560.html to take a look at it. saw my sis using it for her bb &amp; it works wonder. I bought it from Isetan at $6+ only.

Shazz,
I PM you a few days ago on the transaction for the cream. Did you received it?

thanks, bacon&amp;eggs. i've already bought some stuff for a nice breakfast with dh on sat.

jessi, did the doc say how open your cervix is?

lc, there's this suction thingy that you can use to suck the snot out. have seen it around a fair bit am not sure if it works though.

Koras - orh .. I hope you are right but
i do suspect that it is all the good food at home. ha ha....my tummy looks around 3 - 4 months pregnant. The massage lady said after the massage sessions are over, I should still use the binder every day to force all the wind out. ALAMAK!

Ava - we both love our food! :D what does your confinement lady cook for your typically?

Bacon&amp;egg - oh I see. No probs. I just ordered the cakes from Choz. My sis used them and they were ok but not very fancy. We preferred the traditional type so their spread suited us. By the way, how many feeds do u supplement with FM?

Weird Odour:

I do become a bit smelly when I perspire a lot (the weather these 2 days have been so hot, I'm in airconed room most days but after drinking hot soup, still perspire!!) and when milk leaks onto my clothes when Declan is feeding. SOmetimes his latch isn't so good, milk will leak out of his mouth and wet the nursing bra / my top.

Breast-shell - question: How often / how long do you wear it for? Do u wear it to sleep? Quite uncomfortable right?

stef
i hold baby with one hand, (baby also supported by pillow on my lap) and with the other hand, I use milk bottle to collect the leakage. (Abt 30 ml of foremilk which i accumulate over feeds to add to #1's milk powder. After feed, I hand express whatever leftover there is on the breast she has fed on to the 30ml of mostly foremilk so that I can add some hindmilk for #1. Or I may hand express a bit more from the leaky breast at my own discretion)

If I dun wish to collect milk, then i press onto my nipple with my spare hand or thumb. This stops the milk produced during let-down from coming out and also supresses further production while bb is feeding.

Lok
Glad that little jonas is doing better now! Yes, PD meant the mild case. I'm sure u're doing the best u can for jonas. Take care k?

sunnysunny
i was there from tue to thurs! Guess u went in the day after me other wise mebbe we cld have chatted! Hee...

goldfish
dun be too kan cheong to exercise. For my #1, my gynae said can only do sit-ups after one mth. He said can kenna womb prolapse! (womb dropping down) And this time, I was worried abt womb prolapse cos I carried #1 the day i was discharged and cld feel sth pressing onto my V. He told me not to carry her anymore and that our ligaments and muscles r very weak so they must regain strength first. If not, not only can womb prolapse happen, the other organs ard that area can also prolapse! Luckily when he checked me I was ok! What a relief!

lanolin,
for my #1, my milk flow was like a fountain and too fast for baby so i resorted to wearing a bib on her before each feed! This time, I just put a cloth on #2 before the feed.

sri
i only lost 3kg plus...

bacon&amp;egg, sasa de mouse,
Thks for the suggestion on using breastshells. But i was hoping to use something to prevent the leakage instead of collecting the leakage.
btw, can the breastshells be used in lying down position? Cos i also leak at night while bf lying down.

Crayon,

LOL.....!!! Pat!!! i'm Kym.. Tracy's sister-in-law.. Only knew it was you when she mentioned that your boy boy's name is Reyes! HEHEHE, such a coincidence!!

isabelle, i do find that if the nursing bra is loose, more milk tends to leak. But sometimes, even with a fitting nursing bra but v full breast, nothing can stop the leak.
maybe i'll try ur method. I dun wish to store too much EBM, cos my 2 olds kiddies dun like the smell/ taste of my milk even though they had been drinking bm before and i hv not much storage bottles or freezer space to store the EBM. Good thing ur older gal still takes the bm without complaining.

Isabelle

Really?!! Womb prolapse from carrying heavy stuff? No wonder I feel this numb feeling in my pelvic area when I carry my girl. And I carry her up and down the stairs some more... hope all my organs are still in place.

Exercise
I started doing light exercises like the step machine, crunches and sit ups about 6 weeks later. It's safe but best to get clearance from your gynae. My gynae knows I can't sit still.

<font color="119911">lanolin (lanolin) and Ava - with all that BFing and lack of sleep, cannot be putting on weight lah. Maybe it’s the clothes that you are wearing or time of day you weigh? I am still losing weight - albeit slower now - about 0.1-0.2kg per day.

LC (faintz) - my CL uses a cotton bud tip to remove mucus from Kieran's nostrils. Have to do it with a steady hand thou, cos can accidentally poke inside. I also have one of those tube thingie with a rubber suction at the end to insert into the nostril to suck out the mucus. Maybe u can use that instead? Else, I think shazz's mthd of twisting the tissue into a pointed end would be the safest way!

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - oh, u are going with e-creative for catering? I haven’t tried their food ya…hopefully its good! I am also getting my cakes thru them - have some malay guests and their cakes and food are all halal. When are u doing the full month?

Milk leakage - I ended up not buying the breast shells. Usually just stuff tissues between my other boob and Kieran to soak up the leakage so that he doesn’t end up with wet clothes! However, he drinks too fast sometimes, and milk leaks from one side of his mouth, so my Breast Friend pillow already has numerous milk stains!

Sri Leo (sri_leo) - I lost 6kg when I weighted myself after coming back from hospital. But mine is C-sec, so I think its more than normal cos most of the lochia was sucked out as well.</font>

<font color="0000ff">chantelle sun
replied ur PM le

lanolin
i dun wear the breast shells for long period wor.. coz it's stated on the Avent box that cannot wear for longer den 45mins..

stef&amp;seanbabes
dun think the shells can be used while lying down

agree with isabelle: dun carry heavy things, dun walk/stand too often, lie down, dun sit down too long, etc.

sri: for me, only 3+ kg, not much amniotic fluid and placenta weight, I guess?

bigtoes: that was what the jamu lady told me. if not flushed out completely, lochia/bad blood can develop into cysts/fibroids/endo. i suppose if it's part of my pregnancy gunk, i can't wait to flush it out and cleanse my womb, boy!

lanolin/ava: i was told i've gain wt too during my confinement period. I'll weigh myself tmr when i visit my gynae to check my episiotomy stitches.

stef&amp;sean: I also bought the Avent breast shells to collect/protect my sore nipples. I wore it inside a nursing bra (not loose) when my nipples bled on Sun. It's my Saviour!!! However, I do not pour the leaked milk into my milk btl to feed my boy cos I dunno how fresh it is!

I no longer wear the shells now cos my nipples hv healed. I'm only wearing breast pads to soak up leaked milk. I noe it's a waste leh...but it feels more comfy that heavy the shells sucked onto your boobs. it actually collects your body vapour too...if not worn properly, the collected milk can leak out too!!!!!!!!!!!!

LC: are u out of your confinement period yet? 15AUG right? hv u done your manyue?

i saw those suction syringes at kiddy palace, maybe u can buy them since u can go out of the house now?

I've been latching bb on today, so I dunno how much milk I've fed so far...

sri leo, i'm down 6 kg (now at 46kg) 2 weeks after delivering. Lost 4 kg right after delivery. So losing abt 1kg per week now. Hopefully the weight loss maintains at this rate.
left abt 2 kg to get back to prepreg weight. Hopefully can lose another 1kg or 2kg to my desired weight of 42/43kg.

stef
we r the same weight now!
But i still got 3kg more to lose!
Only consolation is that the tummy is gone...

oh yes, applying pressure on the nipple will help if u dun want anymore milk.

sunnysunny
ooh better take care!

Stef, gd for u.. 46kg seh..slim hor.. i'm 76kg.. hahaha...

Bigtoes, we in the same boat.. C section.. me too shed 6kg.. izzit due to lochia?? but i still fat...hehehe..b4 peggie 55kg.. few hrs b4 labour i weigh 82kg... after discharged weigh 76kg.. btw u peel off the plaster oredi? ur stitches is the type tt can dissolve??

isabelle,
My tummy is gone too after the post natal massage. I was happy after weighing myself and seeing my tummy and happily tried on a bustier dress i want to wear to my sis-in-law wedding on 1oct. Everywhere is fine except the bust area! I cannot zip up the bust area.
sob

Ade (littlepea): yes got your PM. thanks

Sri_leo: right after delivery I only lost 3.5kg, but my boy weighs 3.88kg! So I felt so cheated! haha ... but the weight is slowly dropping off as we breastfeed. I lost about 10kg in 2 weeks, so now left about 7.6kg to go to my pre-preggie weight. tummy is still very jelly like and flabby

Nursing bras
Who finds their bras v comfy...i.e. doesn press against the nipple, easy to take off the cup etc? Need new ones as the ones I got are too small and no sure if I should just go back and get a different size or try something else...

ava,
mine are super comfy from mothers en vogue. i just pull them down and voila, breasts spring out and i'm ready to feed away!!! looks like those yoga bra tops. i've one in dust pink and one in dark grey.

will expressing BM help to lose weight, I wonder?

Ava: doesn't press on nipples bras? try those unpadded bras

Hi Hi.. whoa thank you all for yr advice! Had shared about sudden frightened cries - Bacon&amp; Eggs, I also suspect some nightmare! But for 3 days at same time is quite strange...

Bigtoes- yup yup she was swaddled and had beansprout pillow on her! (Most of the time she is sweaty coz of these hee) nobody touched her and no loud sound etc... puzzling hor y she cry so loud out of the blue.

Flos - yeah her cord dropped off but a few days ago!

Hi goldfish - yeah doc say heavy breathing is blocked nose but did not give medication. CL finally noticed that baby has difficulty breathing as well. This time she commented not just breath but chest heaves up and down. Sigh think GP may not know.. will go see PD tomorrow or day after.

Actually Shauna's breathing has somewhat worsened. Also she perpetually seems uncomfortable and struggling unlike 1st wk. now keeps crying for no reason also... suspect colic

Sarahmay - Jia you!

Stef&amp;seanbabes - yup I also use a breast shell to collect leaking milk.. useful invention!

Baby shauna just just had another fright cry again. It is super short per sec loud cries. very heartbreaking...

On exercise - my massage lady just told me no jogging and sit ups and squatting for 3 months if not prolapsed womb. Any comments? She has v strong views and chided me for not maintaining personal hygiene (i.e. taking baths). But I must say after 1 massage I farted so much and pee is super stinko (apparently all the toxins..)

Flos
I have padded and unpadded and they both press on nipples...maybe it's just a size issue for me then...already on 38D for my MIM bras and I don't think I look that big leh!

Alabone
Are they available online??