(2008/09) Sep 2008

flos,
wahhh. curry chix with prata leh!!! me salivating now. waiting for my hb to bring me supper now... that's his atonement for making me angry just now.

sigh... my cadence will look like a newborn for the next 2 mths at least. i know these pple mean well but damn! they really ji po lor. cant stand it.

update from sarahmay...

Baby Elisha was delivered on 19 Sept at 4.39am.
Weight: 3.115kg
HC:34cm
Length: 50cm
Natural delivery without epi.

Because of some grunting, bb is now in NICU for observation.

Congrats sarahmay!!!

Congrats Sarahmay! wah... Natural delivery without epi....

those who underwent C section, i gt a few qns..

ur bandage izzit waterproof? Mine isn't...

stitches is the dissolve type? mine is..

after taking out the bandage, can the wound come in contact wit water?

can apply ointment/oil @ the wound?

sheesh...woke up late, bb hungry like mad, my CL fed him with FM...now got to pump out 130ml BM for the 9am feed...

CHIX: i hv no idea why we can't eat chix & eggs before the wound is fully healed...haha, just blindly listen, since i ate a lot of chix when i was preggers.

congrats to sarahmay!!!!

i'm hving a sorethroat now and feeling sleepy...gotta go to bed and rest...

Jessi, can make some amendments to the table for me. I delivered on 17 September (not 16 September) at 12:01pm, normal delivery with epidural.

Weight: 3.456kg
Height: 50 cm
Diameter: 33.5cm

My birth story:

Checked into KKH Delivery Suite at 7am on Weds, 16 Sept for inducing via insertion of pill into cervix (a very painful process). Stayed there for 2 hours then transferred to my Class A Ward Room.

Next pill insertion was at 6pm on the same day, by that time, only dilated to about 1 cm. Again stayed for 2 hours before going back to ward room.

Was starting to feel a bit depressed because cervix was barely opening and was very worried that inducing might fail and end up in c-section.

Went to sleep and woke up at 2:30am (on Tues) with very painful contractions and a lot of blood on panties. Was sent back down to Delivery Suite in a wheelchair (my first time!), gynae did a check and dilation was around 1.5cm so she decided to burst the water bag (has to be the worst pain that I've ever felt in my life!). It then occured to me that by hook or by crook I had to deliver that day, again started worrying that it might end up in c-section. Was given epidural injection around 4am and tried to get some sleep but couldn't sleep because of the blood pressure monitor fixed to my right arm which kept squeezing my arm at regular intervals.

Gynae came to check around 9am and said that I was almost 10cm dilated and could deliver soon, however my legs were so numb that I could barely raise them (epidural dose a bit too high), she lowered the epidural dosage and said that I could start pushing once I had more sensation in my legs.

Started pushing at 11:30am and baby Kieran came out at 12:01pm. I have to salute the nurses at KKH, they are all so friendly and dedicated. 2 nurses helped with my delivery and they kept encouraging and praising me while I was pushing. The epidural really numbed my lower half so I didn't feel any pain (apart from some contractions), I didn't even know that my gynae had already done the episitomy and I didn't feel a thing while she was stitching me up. The only other discomfort that I felt was her pressing hard on my tummy to get rid of blood clots.

I'm really grateful that my induction was successful.

Chix & Egg,
Been eating them since discharge..didnt know i am not supposed to eat...is that why i feel itchy sometimes?

CL,
Ava, Alabone, MummyYoko,
Thanks for the great advice. After a weepy nite, my hubby and i decided not to hire any CL for the balance 2 weeks but to fast forward our parenthood journey...will take up the job ourselves..MIL has offered to help but i declined...dont want another confinement saga...one is bad enough...i cried a bucket last nite...keeping gg back n forth if the incident was my fault... CL is leaving tmr..still thinking if i should give her ang pao? This whole confinement thingy is giving me more heartache than rest....havent been sleeping well for the past 2 weeks....ggrr...

Flos,
I trusted my Cl and left my bb and furkid with her for 2.5 hours when i went for my gynea's check-up...didnt even lock my room or drawers...guess i shouldnt have done that...should have been more wary...who knows!?

congrats sarahmay & cloud...u made it!

alabone,
there are just too many dos and donts offered by ppl..be it well meaning or just "ji po"...i have learnt to take it with a pinch of salt..sometimes v frustrating...was told cannot eat the salt egg yolk in the mooncake!

Sometimes i wonder if confinement is meant to let mommies rest or just to stress mommies on whats do and whats not to do!

Congrats Cloud and SarahMay!
Sarah, well done, you did it without epi! post pictures of your lovely babies soon!

pumping milk out now before I go for my gynae appt! yippee, time off from CL! haha

bacon&egg (baconegg): am sure you'll be able to cope without CL!

<font color="0077aa">My weight lost is stagnant these few days, guess its the increased appetite I have now.. Keke..

Sri: I am down about 7kg, still have 6kg to go... Seems like very long..

Limay / Mei: Hoe much did you get my brest fren pillow for?

Ava: Zane is also very noisy sleeper with various gurgles, grunts and squeaks. I always get awakwn by him when I let him sleep beside me.. Aiyo.. super noisy lo.

Flos: I have been eating sesame chicken, rice wine chicken &amp; egg from day one even though I had c-sec. My MIL says its ok.

Bacon&amp;Egg: YOur CL is one kind! Since she walked out on you, no need to give her ang pow lo.. Yah, agree that you should order confinement food to save the trouble.</font>

Congrats, Sarah!

Congrats, Cloud! Glad that everything went well for you. &amp; I agree with you.. the nurses at KKH are fantastic.. they also kept encouraging me &amp; praising me when I was trying my darnest to push. Without them &amp; Dr Tan, I think I would have given up.

bacon&amp;egg
I'm sure you can do it w/o your CL.. I am quite confident I can handle my baby too once my CL leaves.. just need to have patience &amp; once you know your baby's 'style', the job is made much easier. Do come in here if you feel stressed, we're all here for you.

storeberry
I can't really remember the exact price but I think I got it for $80+.

I'm counting down to the end of my confinement.. 11 more days more to go, can't wait to use my stroller &amp; bring baby out shopping!
I already booked my appointments for my eyebrow threading &amp; haircut on 1 October.. my brows are so bushy now.. yucks!

Congrats Cloud and SarahMay!

Flos/Bacon &amp; egg
Yeah for my FB it was me me and me...except for MIL for first week only. No maid, CL, MIL or Mum to help. No one to cook...I ate heated food that was prepared for me by my dad or hubby from the night before...we call this our "commando" days...hubby was working long hours too...14 to 15 hours usually...and not sleeping in baby room cos of his long shoot days...

Alabone
I sometimes wish people would just shut the hell up about other people's decisions...I mean, so what if u took cadence out during your confinement...sigh!

For me I personally dont like going out during confinement even tho I get bored at home...not cos I pantang, but just don't feel like seeing people...! dunno why I feel very unsociable in the first month usually...not even willing to go out and buy new nursing bra hahahah

alabone,
i used to put on the binder myself. not that difficult. but have stop using it now.tummy seems bigger

Sri_leo
had big bandage around my tummy after the c-sec. but complained to gynae it is itchy so she took it off and put the binder. there is still a small bandage just enuff to cover the wound. so after 1 week from delivery went back to remove stitches but still got to wear the small bandage for another week and finally took it off this wed.

had problem keeping water out of bandage while i was bathing. so stick a plastic bag over it to prevent the water. have been washing the wound area since bandage off. now apply a cream gynae gave me. some scar reduction cream which cost me $75.

Ava,
Me too! I even ignored my MIL's calls giving excuses that I am bf or sleeping...just dont wish to entertain anyone...plus my CL saga makes it worse..

Thanks Mei &amp; Shazz, I am trying hard to copy and not getting too weepy...this is what I have signed up for - motherhood...guess i have to get thru it myself
but not complaining...whenever i see the little one...its all worth it!...gee..getting weepy AGAIN!

Lanolin

U asked about my confinement food. here's a quick run down of stuff that I remember:
- Cantonese style fish dishes, usually cod steamed with ginger etc
- Turmeric chicken/pork chop
- spinach with deep fried white bait (yum!!)
- various veg dishes, usually broccoli/kailan/normal and red spinach
- Pork ribs (2 or 3 styles...VERY YUM)
- chicken in DOM sauce
- vingear pig trotters of course (only once so far, another time tomorrow YAY...I likes)
- various soups: fish n papaya, herbal soups, pig stomach soup, corn and carrot (usually when she's cooking for me and dany so she can't use the confinement herbs)

desserts/tong shui:
- apple soup with honey dates and white fungus
- sweet potato soup

bacon &amp; egg
Weepiness is like normal for me now...haha. I talk about my day *weep*, hubby says something slightly wrong *weep*, think about my son and how fast he's growing up *weep*, look at my girls *weep*, watch TV *weep*...,HAahah no wonder I am unsociable lah...too embarrassing to weep in front of people...already I have wept in front of maid, CL and massage lady...

Sorry to interrrupt, too long never log in...doing confinement on my own.. May i know where to buy the nose cleaner??

Please update the chart:
baby Regan born on 4th Sept.
Weighing 3.8kg
Natural wo Epi..:>

congrats cloud and sarahmay! sarahmay...no epi... wayto go!

alabone
i also ate chicken in the hospital. in fact, i ate everything i could including including nasi goreng there cos i know the moment i got home and confinemnet kicks in, sure got a lot of taboo food. hehe:p

bacon&amp;egg
don't worry so much about it. u are stronger and more able than u think. i also did it the hard way with my hb for FB. the first 2 weeks are the worst, then baby will start to adjust to sleeping and feeding. then look forward to manyue and once past manyue he will be easier to handle. (it seems that everything hinges on this manyue thing, sleeping feeding schedules etc.. strange leh) also by that time you will be a pro at caring for him liao.

ava
ya. also feel supremely unsociable. so the only interaction i am doing is on the net and on the phone. don't want to get out of my "confinement clothes" which are essentially pyjamas and T-shirts. definitely take my hat off to flos who is up to applying perfume.haha

mei
are u planning to take bb with you for eyebrow and haircut? am trying to figure out the logistics for doing this myself. am wanting to go desperately for my hair spa cos i can see my hair starting to fall out each time i wash already.

dseptkon
yeah boy...the only time i sprayed perfume was to show my friend what anais anais smells like, when explaining my daughter's name

Congrats Cloud!
I also delivered in KKH but how come mine was induced by drip and not insertion leh, hmm strange. The good thing abt drip i guess is the midwife can adjust the dosage to increase my contraction.

bacon&amp;egg
Actually I also had some CL drama last week.. nothing to do with my CL quitting or whatever but she swallowed a fish bone &amp; had to be admitted to hospital for surgery to remove it! Those 2 days she was away, I also had to cope with taking care of baby myself &amp; I also did fine, so don't worry too much about it. Sometimes when we are left to our own devices, we are much stronger than we think we are.

dseptkon
My CL will still be around so I am taking the opportunity to go out &amp; do all these stuff before my manyue party. Maybe you can ask your hb to take care of bb &amp; you run out for your hair spa for a couple of hours if you don't have a CL?

Mandy
I also delivered at KKH.. I was also not given insertion. I checked with the midwife &amp; she told me insertion is to open up the cervix. For me, that was not necessary as my cervix was already dilated so the oxytocin drip alone is sufficient.

Ava
Me too.. although my CL is not strict &amp; allows me to go out, I just don't feel like it.. with my bushy brows &amp; all that. Lol..

So sad.. I took out my wedding band to try &amp; I still can't fit into it... *cries*

ava,
glad to have found a "weepy comrade"! hee... i would weep even while eating at the dining table..ggrr...wonder if its post natal blues??!!

dseptkon,
thanks 4 the encouragement..will do my best..even if it means i pull my hair out!
I have also booked my facial, mani/pedi and haircut appointments to be ready for the manyue party...need to at least look presentable..esp when my hubby is tall n slim while i still look frumpy and fat...and smell of milk &amp; sweat all the time~ how depressing!

Lanolin,
I am also eating those dishes ava mentioned..but sometime it lack the kick! I still think my mom cooks better...more favourful...next week i will have to cook my own..hope its edible..haha

Mei
Hahah..bushy brows...yah I just plucked mine the other day (rather poorly) and shaved my legs this morning..hehe...

DO u have stiff fingers still? Mine are still stiff leh...wingkei...you've got company there...some mornings i need to pry hands open with the other hand still!

bacon &amp; egg
Yeah i weep at the dining table too...it is baby blues...but not bad enuf to be post natal depression...

Hi chantelle sun,

I am actually thinking of induce too.. but my hubby and I can't think of a date for her.

Cross my fingers n hope that she will pop on her own. Think will wait till 22nd before making any decision.

Haha.. wondering whether is she a virgo or libra?

Ava
For me, stiff fingers are gone after delivery! Phew...

Manyue party &amp; cakes all settled... now I'm writing out the invitation cards to be sent out.

<font color="119911">Sri Leo (sri_leo) - my plaster has been changed by gyne to the small 3M type. I am to peel it off myself in about 2 weeks time. And yes, stitches are dissolvable (think they are gone already).

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) and isabelle (isa_belle) - wow, u ladies are losing weight and tummy so quickly!
My tummy is not too big now - but still soft, though my massage lady is very nice and said its pretty good already. Anyway, I finished my massage today (5 sessions in total).

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - hah, our full month party is on the same date!

Btw, your CL very drama - just a couple of comments then she quits on you? So hasty!
Like Isabelle mentioned, if she is good in other aspects, then you might have to convince her to stay.

Flos (flos) - looks like you have another difficult CL as well!

For my case, I am counting down till when my CL leaves (2 weeks time) - she is okie, but like I mentioned before, abit careless (leaves lights on, food bits in the sink overnight thus attracting lizards and ants, she burnt my shorts ironing them, broke a couple of things around the house, etc…but most irritated with her carrying baby too much, even when he is sleeping - so now, he always hankers for her attention even when he is not hungry/pooed etc. I recently noticed that she has B.O. somemore and some of that gets transferred onto his clothes! Yucks…

Luckily it is for another 2 weeks only - now he is already clingy to her - hubby and I will have a couple of sleepness nights the few days after she leaves!

Flos (flos) - cannot take chicken and eggs for C-sec?? Then how come TMC also served boiled eggs for breakkie? I have been taking chicken essence, chicken and eggs almost every day since delivery - but wound is healing properly…

koras (koras) - food that cannot be consumed - my CL said no kang kong and cabbage, no seafood (prawns, squid, crabs etc). think anything else that is cooling (chin chow, ice cream, Chinese pear)…</font>

Mei, oh i see... no wonder . when i admit i was 3cm dilation but i really dun feel anything and the he burst my waterbag le. he say my pain threshold quite gd, haha but towards the end so pain..

but luckily its over now.

bacon&amp;egg
For my FB, I rough it out. I took care of baby all by myself from day 1. No maid, no help and hubby was so busy with his business that most of the time I'm all alone at home with baby. I was so weepy then, weep when I eat, shower and for no apparent reason. But thinking back, it's worth it,the experience not the weeping.
My hubby will bring back tingkat lunch from my mum's place and I just heat it up. My mum just popped in once a while to see look and bring some tonic soup. Now with #2, I have a maid but she just do the housework, I take care of the baby all by myself plus my elder girl. I don't trust maids with baby, no matter how long they have worked. It's tough and sometimes I snapped at my hubby for no reason, take it out on him a little.... hehee. Jia you!

Ava
Jockey also have the kind of nursing bra that MEV carries. They have it in black, beige and in tube too. Tumeric pork chop and apple with honeydates and white fungus! I'll try these. I'm so bored with my home cooked food, always the same few dishes, no time to teach my maid to cook other stuff, so either pan fried or steamed most of the time. What's the recipe for the apple soup dessert?

Sarahmay
Congrats! Post your birth story soon...

sarahmay
I've always believed u cld do it w/o epi cos u are so positive and full of spunk!

snowwhite
congrats to u too!

woah, think urs is the champion baby at 3.8kg!

grace
U need to get a smaller size i think... BAsed on what the mummies have said here, think the tummy comes back if u dun bind consistently. So must tahan... I'm still binding daily though tummy is gone. Cos I'm 1 to 1 and a half inches fatter all round my waist, butt and hips!

Ava
ur confinement food looks yummy! And I'm glad I got mas to massage cos I always have aches here and there!

<font color="119911">Ohh… Congrats to Cloud and SarahMay! SarahMay is another champion to deliver naturally!

SnowWhite80 (snowwhite80) - wow, another brave mommy without epi!

storeberry (storeberry) - breast friend sells for $75 in the pharmacy at TMC (1st floor). I got mine at Kiddy Palace for about the same price (after 10% discount for members), but the last time I went back this week, they didn’t seem to have it anymore.

Mei (meie) - do you have a maid at home, or is it just you and baby after confinement? I also have great plans to take baby out when I go shopping etc from 2nd month, cos there is no one else at home with us …but not sure how practical it is - like do i bring him into the dressing room when i try on clothes? What if he screams his head off and everyone stares at me?

Ava (avalyn) - hah, I think u are the exception in wanting to stay home! Everyone of us are looking for excuses to go out during confinement. Like I never looked fwd to my gyne appnts as much previously….

And thank goodness my Bday is next Monday - so I have an excuse to dress up abit and go out for a quick dinner with hubby.
Don’t like staying at home and being a frumpy housewife! Would be so sad if I had to eat confinement food at home for my Bday!

Stiff fingers - mine is not so much stiff fingers, but just numb-ish finger tips on my right hand. Not sure if its from washing hands too much with cold water….any solutions?</font>

congrats, sarahmay &amp; cloud!

bacon&amp;eggs, how's your furkid reacting to bb's presence? i'm starting to worry that mine might be a little jealous. i was taking out bb's stuff to wash and sun and furkid was like so interested in the moses basket so i let her climb in and play in it before sunning it. who knows immediately after she got in, she sat down and peed in it. she's normally not like that one lor. v toilet trained and she wasn't even urgent that day cos i just let her out for potty like 1/2hr ago. really really hope she will adjust well and quickly to bb.

hi mummies..
I'm back!! kekeke.. how?? any update??? anyone else going into labour?? hehehe.. think sarahmay it is... faster ah.. kekeke.. can't wait to see ur bb too...

Well, my labour story very short and sweet leh.. coz hor.. like wat i say.. here i go:

10.50am Went for my wk 40 checkup and of coz my luggage already in the car..
12pm Finally manage to see Gyna coz in between she went for delivery. Came back and Dr Heng ask how?? since full term already wat's my decision?? I say.. Yes we are ready for action.. so ask for induction.
DO VE and check tat i was 2-3cm dilated..

12plus -1pm Do Admission.

1.15pm In Labour ward.. Already can feel the pain down there.. oh.. coz gyna already inserted the pill into my virginal when in her clinic. Also ask for Epi straight away.. no need to waste time

1.30 Had my lunch.

1.45pm Nurse gave me a Enema?? something like tat to be inserted into my a**hol* for a very quick bowel.. really fast leh like wat crayonshinchan say..

2plus The pain came in already.. I've already confirm that I'm someone with very low pain thrashhold.. Doc came to do epi for me.. Hmm.. they ask my HB go out when they doing the epi.. but i remember the other time.. my HB was around when i do the epi..

2.45pm onward can feel the contraction coming in very fast.. 2 min interval..and i was ask to breath in oxygen thru the mask.. coz the midwife say tat not much movement frm Cayden so wondering it is becoz of the epi.. so make me take in oxygen to help him wake up a bit..

3.15 interval of contraction became 1 min or so..

3.30 another midwife came in.. and ask me why am i moaning so much when i am on epi.. i say dun know... so painful... than she check and press on my tummy and say.. i think the bb coming.. faster ask for Dr Heng.. than she started to do set up for the delivery..

3.46 Little Cayden is out.. HB was very touch too.. coz this time round.. Even though both time are natural.. but for my first one.. Chloe was vacum out.. so HB did not really see her coming out... but this time round.. He manage to see the whole process of seeing me pushing Cayden out... from the canal.. lol.. I also so happy tat I manage to feel and push Cayden out myself too.. coz the other time I really cannot feel it.. but this time round the dosage of the epi was not as strong as the other time.. i can feel my own leg.. and feel him at the canal.. so my piece of advise to mummy who have yet to give birth.. ask for a lower dosage.. if u feel totally no feeling than ask for lower dosage lor.. than u can really push ur bb out,..

Yap.. and all action was really less than 10 min... Did not expected it too.. short and sweet.. Really thank God that this time round my delivery was smooth and pain of coz was there but short lived one.. lol

Yeah.. got to take some time to catch up wat u mummies discuss these few days yeah..

/cyan{Ava: I also have stiff fingers now, don't know if it is due to my washing of hands with tap water!

My MIL was telling my SIL that I am so busy with bb, feeding, pumping milk, doing my work on my laptop &amp; cleaning the toilet! Can you imagine, I don't know why, just feel that the toilet very dirty &amp; have to clean it!}

Little Jonas is back home with me! Hooray!! His level is down to 11.1, so we just need to sun him at home for the rest of the week. He's now sleeping very soundly --- what an angelic sight.

Alabone/Flos,

I am quite skeptical of all these confinement rules. Have already flouted a number of them --- bathe and wash my hair everyday, drink plain water, have the fan blowing at me, running out to NTUC to do grocery shopping (cos they ran out of ingredients to cook), rushing to TMC to bring milk to Jonas, occasionally carrying my 12kg FB, going to Toys R Us to buy toys for FB and even thinking of going for a Children's Day excursion to Botanical Gardens organized by the childcare center (they strongly encouraged 1 parent to follow the toddler). You might now believe it but I feel stronger physically than when I obeyed the rules for FB (on the brink of post natal blues, stiff joints and even had ringworms cos of all the sweating).

I may have to pay for it in future but if i look at other cultures, they don't have the same absurd rules but stll survived.

isabelle/stef&amp;seanbabes,

I hope to be like the 2 of you soon. After 1 week, now at 48kg, another 4 kg+ to go. My jamu massage will start today, so looking fwd to it!

thanks mommies for all the support &amp; encouragement. We will let the CL go..unless if she wants to stay..then it will be another round of decision making.

Mei,
you are sending invitation for your full mth? I just sms..not sure if my relatives will appreciate nice invitation card..

xuanting,
My furkid is pretty ok with bb, i would let her sniff bb's toes whenever i bf or feed Kaiden. We also try to involve furkid whenever we are ard Kaiden..praise her alot and Hubby would hug her first when he reaches home...spent time walking her and she still get to sleep in our room at nite..thats when we spend quality time with her..whenever i work with my laptop, i would place her on my lap to nap..Furkid is v protective of kaiden, she would bark if CL attempts to carry kaiden or walk to his room..

one thing i notice...whenever i carry kaiden, and try to call out to my furkid, she will not response to me...maybe a bit jealous..

bigtoes,
i spent my 6th year wedding anniversary at home (last nite) weepy &amp; worrying over CL's resignation...we didnt have any celebration...hubby promise a nice dinner after we complete the confinement period..sigh...

<font color="119911">koras (koras) - yah, my CL just told me no mangoes and oranges until i stop BFing! Said will cause baby to have wind in tummy and get stomach upset wor...not sure if that is true. Also not suppose to eat cold fruits....

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - i am sure hubby will make it up to you after the confinement.
Btw, the lady from e-creative called me cos i told her a friend would be using their catering services on 4th Oct as well. She wants you to specifically ask for her (Florence) when you place your order for the buffet.</font>

big toes
yes yes i wld be so sian if i had to have confinement food for my b'dae!
I brought isabelle out shopping with me last time. I chose those bigger fitting rooms and push the entire pram in. If it's a shop whose room is too small, i leave the pram just outside the door but make sure I can see the pram from beneath the door. If baby screams, then u wouldn;t have gone into room in the first place so no worries. If bb screams halfway, at the most u come out quickly. Dun worry, no sweat if u have a car to get around.

Lok
I'm sure u'll be down in no time cos u look so slim when i saw u at Canele!
And u r one strong and active lady! I have an old lady's body now with aches here, there and everywhere!!! But I just switched to plain water last nite cos I think I'm getting too heaty!

momoko
ur kids names exactly the same combi as my niece and nephew. Chloe for older one and Cayden for younger boy! So qiao!

koras
cannot eat mango? How come?

alabone
Why cannot eat chicken? I've been eating it almost everyday! What is supposed to happen if we eat chicken?

meie
so which caterer did u take in the end? Rite now i just emailed mum's kitchen.

Anyone else besides sunnysunny has comments on mum's kitchen? Thx!

Chicken/egg:

I think someone did mention this: it might result in pus at wound site. But strangely, the hospital serves it, so up to individual to believe. I took 2 hard-boiled eggs in hospital and my epi wound is still healing well. If u want to eat egg, my CL says after 12 days. For chix, 2 weeks.

Congrats, Momoko! Wow, really short labour!

Bigtoes
I'm currently staying with my in-laws but they're practically not home everyday, even now during my confinement, I hardly see them as I hide in my aircon room all day. So, it's as good as staying on my own.

I've thought of the same issues as you..trying clothes, going to the loo, etc... think like what isabelle mentioned, just look for big dressing rooms &amp; for toilets.. just go into those disabled ones. I'll bring a sling along as well. I have a friend who is so desperate for shopping that she brought her baby out in a sarong sling &amp; she actually placed her baby on the floor of the dressing room when she was trying on some outfits... lol.

bacon&amp;egg
My hubby self-designed a simple invitation using powerpoint &amp; we printed them out on some nice paper.

isabelle
We are not engaging a caterer as we are holding the full month at a club &amp; not at home. As for cakes, we're getting them from Gobi.

bacon&amp;eggs: I'm in the ssame boat as u! My CL walked out on me this morning, after I went back to bed to rest! She cried and "lied" abt her terminaly ill mom in JB who is admitted to hospital just this morning. She had made arrangement with her sis who is also doing confinement in SG at the moment to take bus back to JB right away. She made me pay her one week's pay $450 and finshed the chores for the morning and left with her barang! AIYO! What a sob story! what a hoax! I checked with the referee, she is also in cahoots with her and has just arrived in SG to go shopping with them!!!

My mom gotta come and help me, followed by my MIL who is working (half day leave), and they took over from each other, while I left in a huff with my DH to see dr at TMC at noon. TSK TSK!!!

Now my MIL has to cook confinement lunch for me! Terrible CLs...

My wounds have healed and Dr told me to avoid alcohol (martell, DOM, shaoxing, rice wine). Chix &amp; eggs is ok. Looks like I wll hv a bland confinement diet liao.

Now meeting the maid agency rep who will show me the bios of filipino maids. I must logon to register for the test...

meanwhile, got my PT maid to come from Mon-Fri for half a day to help me, cos my DH will be on biz trip! ARGHHHHH!!! Told my jamu to quickly come back tomorrow so I could finish my sessions asap!

CONTINGENCY PLAN!!