(2008/09) Sep 2008

hey shazz,
count me in for 1 tub. will try out this miracle cream. i seldom apply cream on my FB gal. Even for desitin, one year i also cannot use up 1 tube. i use more of sebamed lotion on her.

jasmine,
my gynae also seemed to take a long time to stitch me up. i could also feel the pain when she was stitching, so much so i was going "ouch, ouch, ouch". so she injected more LA, but the sensation of thread-pulling was still there. i have forgotten to ask her how many stitches during my follow-up appt. but she said i took care of my stitches well :)

Morning all!
Have learnt a new trick of latching one baby, pumping the other side (after she's finished on that to see what's left) and eating breakfast!

Alabone/other bf moms
I guess it should be OK as long as they latch on one side for 20 mins+ then switch over once they start nibbling rather than actually sucking milk right? should not be deprived of hind milk by then...? I'm so rusty!

BTW those videos were good for seeing if the gals are latching correctly or not
thx again l'il CY & Alabone!!

Gabrielle can go home today! Yay! Idun really wanna stay in TMC anymore. The aircon is so cold that I woke up shivering on two nights. I already increased to 28 deg and asked for extra blanket! If i switch off, room is stuffy and no ventilation. And the air con also gave me a headache yest and bodyache too! So was wondering mebbe it's true afterall, that wind thing and aches...

goldfish
wash with tap water only? Thot they shld give u sth called chlorohexedine or sth like dat to clean ur wound? Oh, the salt water helps. It's not painful at all. In fact, it feels good. I used warm salt water. Ahhh.... Shiok Shiok

bacon
i bought a sitz bath. It cost less than 20 bucks fr TMC. And it fits onto the toilet bowl so u fill it with salt water (just regular salt), place it on the toilet bowl, and sit on it! Very easy!

<font color="119911">Hi mommies - okie, that is reassuring to hear.
I was wondering if Kieran was normal to be sleeping like 20+ hours a day! He is either sleeping, crying (meaning he pooped, or wants to drink, or sometimes just cranky). Was even sleeping like a log when my parents came by to visit. These couple of days he has been more cranky though - and everytime he cries, if its not diaper changing, then my CL would say he is hungry - even though he just drank like 2 hours ago! To her, crying = hungry!! Haiyoh…

lemon (lemon1000) - I am doing my malay massage 2 weeks after the C-sec. I think ideally, the massage lady would say wait till 3-4 weeks if you want to be on the safe side.

alabone (alabone)- thanks. I think I am producing more fore milk on one side, and more hind milk on the other, cos I tend to latch Kieran more on one side since its easier. I better make sure I rotate both sides and feed for at least 15 minutes. I am doing just about 15min each side now (total 30 min, which I already think is too long!) and have been switching sides even when he is still nursing, so I better stop and let him decide….

MINUTES PER FEEDING SESSION?
But if that is the case, how long are mommies' average feeding time for both breasts? Like 45min? 1 hour? Cannot be feeding 1 hour out of every 3 hours right?

When it comes to pumping, I am worst - I pump for like 10min and get a decent about (enough for 1-2 feeds at nite by the CL) and then decide to stop…

CL - hah, for my case, I am the opposite. She is good at what she does, and I am thankful to have her around, esp when baby cries and have to get diaper changed, but then I am also looking fwd to her leaving!! Just not used to having a stranger in the house, and the lack of freedom. Like now, I have to BF in my room, but once she leaves, I can just close the curtains and BF at the lounge or baby's room…also, she has weird (old wives) theories sometimes, and she can be quite forgetful or careless (like leaving lights on, burning my shorts with the iron) etc…
Am trying to not be so dependent on her, and do as much of the baby stuff as I can, so it won't be so bad adapting when she leaves.</font>

my gynae oso commented that i did not clean my wound properly leh.. but she did nt ask me to use salt bath.. n my next appt is 1mth later leh.. by then, will my V rot?? oops! I dont feel pain or sore liao leh...

breastmilk
sigh.. the happy go lucky me has finally broke down. The past 2 nites i'd been kind of emo - crying. My breastmilk doesnt seem to be enough for reyes. I latch him on for at least 30mins and he cries by 1hr30mins later.. And when we feed him ebm, 50ml also cant last him 2hrs. 50ml is all that i can produce per 45mins pump now. Its oredi going on to the 7th day! demand greater than supply. ;-(

Im loving my CL too! She's been wonderful and very encouraging.. very pro breastfeeding..and yummy food.. I believe I'll be sad to see her go!!

Bigtoes, I saw ur pic in facebook! way to go! u've lost ur tummy.. i still have one big lump though i'd lost 9kg..

crayonshinchan
hang in there! all of us experience these feelings cos our bodies are trying to increase production to meet bb's demand. remember to drink lots of fluids and rest whenever possible so that the supply and quality will improve. you can do it!

goldfish/bacon&amp;egg
my doc also prescribed sitz bath with ice for my piles
but sitting in it also helps clean the wound. my doc says that her indian and malay patients have less probability of developing infection cos they use water to wash after peeing or pooing. So i also follow that example and so far has been good for #1 and this one.

bigtoes
sometimes at night jonathan can take up to an hour to finish both breasts, depending on how many times he has to relatch and be woken up by diaper change etc

been MIA for a while, and saw so many hv pop liao..CONGRATS to all :p

re : massage
those who had c-section n hv done yr massage, any recommendation? can share contact n cost too?

thanks ya.

<font color="0077aa">Thanks alabone for your advice! Will do that! But do we need to make the milk abit warm before feeding bb?

Sarah: Your hubby is back! Happy for you!

Goldfish: From my breastpump book, it state to pump 20mins only. Oh dear, must take care of your wound! I also like my CL, she does the housework &amp; cook really well! She also have a way with bb. I told my hubby if CL goes off after this, I don't know if I can take care of a crying &amp; screaming bb!

My c-sec wound suddenly fle painful yday, maybe I exerted myself, today is better liao.

Yday bb only fed on one breast around 3am &amp; by 6am my left breast was so engroged that bb refused to latch on. In the end gave bb 70ml of EBM. He was screaming &amp; crying away, aiyoo. I nearly panicked! Thank GOD for my CL &amp; hubby!

I am giving my CL ang pow before she leaves, is $128 good enough?

Preggieblues: I am goin work in NOv as well &amp; am pumping to store BM now. Will intend to give bb EBM once / twice a day &amp; hubby can help to feed bb too. But even with EBM, still gotta pump out BM to keep supply going.

Isabelle: Glad that Gabrielle is going home today!</font>

hai.. my boy recently like got scared in the night when sleeping. don't know what happen and after milk he doesnteven want to sleep. tried to give him 60ml de milk he also dun sleep. his tummy also a lot of wind. do i need to bring to a doc

California Baby's Calendula Cream Spree - only for mummies in this thread!

http://www.newlondonpharmacy.com/california-baby/calendulacream.htm
Cap at 32 tubs
shipping within US is $16
Exchange rate: tentatively at 1.47, will charge according to actual credit card rate
Collection: self-collect at Toa Payoh or mailing after confinement period is over in early Oct 2008
Calendula Cream at US$8
1. shazz – 7 tubs
2. Mei - 4 tubs
3. dseptkon- 4 tubs
4. isa_belle - 4 tubs
5. storeberry – 3 tubs
6. Ade – 2 tubs
7. cloud – 2 tubs
8. Jaymickey – 2 tubs
9. twendy – 1 tub
10. sunrays – 3 tubs

Spree CLOSED! Will place order today and PM the mummies for payment etc.

Bacon&amp;Egg
U can use Pumpinpal from www.mumsfairy.com like what Shazz recommended. I am ordering it for my Medela pump as well.

Btw, anyone of u out there started bathing with NORMAL WATER liao huh? My CL told me if really have to bathe, use the herbal water to bathe loh. YUCKS. I have been wiping myself with herbal water liao and it is such a disgusting tingie and now ask me to bathe with it!!!?? I know she mean well loh so I dun dare to ‘reject’ her but feel like doing it secretly loh cos she will not supervise me when I m bathing with the door closed. Bt wonder what is the risk level of reallie kena all those whatever whatever. Anyone out there has ventured into NORMAL BATHING liao huh?

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): try using warm water to clean your wound instead of tap water. best is to use cool boiled water.
As for handsfree kit for pumps, I just ordered Pumpinpal from www.mumsfairy.com as the US site rejected my order, want me to order from their Singapore distributor.

Goldfish (goldfish1395): I also cheated! I used the herbal water first to splash all over my body, then I rinse off with the hot heater water! ;) they won't know lah. Anyway, I personally feel that so long as it's hot water should be ok. The CL's concerns is that cold wind gets into our body cos our pores are more open now and can absorb cold wind easily.

Bigtoes: my boy cries in between feeds and also not due to need for diaper change. Turns out he needs to be burped, so he cry cos he feels uncomfortable. Once we pick him up and burp him, he'll be happy and drift back into sleep.
try it!

I hold him in a sitting position, left hand supporting his neck (in a strangling position) gently, then right hand moving in circular motion or upwards. I will also have a hankie on my left hand, where I let his chin rest on and to catch his vomit!

California Baby Spree:
Order placed! Found out it's more economical to use the International Economy as it's US$25 as compared to US$16 + vPostUSA charges. We may incur 7% GST but it still works out to be cheaper than using vPostUSA.
Will update on payment soon!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The exchange rate for this purchase is 1 SGD = 0.679434USD
This credit card transaction will appear on your bill as "PAYPAL *NEWLONDONPH".

PayPal Shopping Cart Contents
Item Name:California Baby Calendula Cream - 2 oz
Quantity:32

Total:$256.00 USD

Cart Subtotal:$256.00 USD
Shipping:$25.00 USD
Sales Tax:
Cart Total:$281.00 USD

herbal bath,
best to bath in those herbal bath. i have been washing my hands using tap water, can feel the ache and pain ard the wrist. So i tried to wash with the herbal water during one of my bath, the pain went off!

Pump Strapper
Thanks Shazz &amp; Goldfish. My hubby found out that Mums &amp; Babes sell the medela strapper so off he went this morning to get them for me..really need it cos my wrists not taking too well to the holding of the bottles..

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): your hubby is so blessed to find the strapper cos I saw on some websites that it has been discontinued. My poor wrists can't hold out any longer too! Waiting for my delivery between 2-6pm
can't wait to pump hands free!

koras: if you must wash your hair, please dry it thoroughly with hair dryer. my friend suffered bad migraines after she ignored the warnings and washed her hair at night and blow drying it but still it didn't help!

Isabelle
So your first labor was a short one too? Lucky you.
I wanted to beathe baby down but Dr Paul says the baby was stuck at a bend and can't seem to be out. I kind of lost it and started pushing like a mad woman. But managed to calm down to breathe the rest of him out when his head is out to prevent tearing.

Hope your little girl is jaundice free now. My boy seems to start having jaundice now, can see the yellow tinge in his eyes. We are going for his review tomorrow, if jaundice is high, I'll rent the bed back to sunbath him.

Ava
You are famous ah? Which national papers are you on? Which day?

shazz (shazzerlyn) - ya heard my mum say if hair not dry can get migraines.lucky i din sleep in the aircon room. only with fan on

ava,
glad that you've found a way to handle breastfeeding and pumping. the videos are good hor? i also referred to it to check if i had been latching bb on correctly. trust l'lcy to be resourceful!

storeberry,
yes yes yes! after you thaw out the milk, warm it and give it to bb. don't give cold milk hor!!!!

goldfish,
i'm the one who has bathed with normal heater water. i turn it to the hottest though. but so far, i still don't dare to wash hair with the heater water. coz for previous pregnancies when i washed my hair without the ginger water, i immediately get a bad headache afterwards. so scared liao. but when i shower with normal heater water, my body is fine. so aches or such. but varies from individual i guess?? coz bacon&amp;eggs had aches.

sarahmay,
yooooo!!! remember that time i told you about the aluminum tin tub i have and i said it's about 5-7 litres??? I WAS WRONG!!!! it's a 20 litre tub. i asked hb for an estimate the other day and he said about 15litres. then i was like 'HUH??? i told my friend 5-7 leh!!!' so he brought out the weighing machine and held onto the tub and weighed. turns out when filled to the brim, it's about 20 litres...

C SEC MUMMIES:
when you cough or sneeze, is the wound there so superbly sore and painful?? have so much phlegm in me i keep needing to cough... soooooo painful. sob sob...

<font color="119911">shazz (shazzerlyn) - Kieran cries sometimes btwn feeds cos he needs to pee. Very weird - he cries BEFORE he pees, and cries after he poops. If he wants to pee and starts crying, my CL takes off the diapers and makes he pee into a brands essence of chicken bottle!!
She said can toilet train earlier like that wor…don’t think I would bother to stand there with the bottle and go "shi shi shi" once she leaves….! Anyway, think my CL is very bored at home. She just went out for a walk to the market.

Yes, I have been burping him after feeding on each side as well, using the same method you mentioned.
Sometimes he suckles too fast that be burps out some milk again.

Herbal bath - I have been washing my hair and showering using the herbal bath. Don’t find it yucky really.

storeberry (storeberry) - is $128 the going rate for angpow for the CL before she leaves? I didn’t give her an angpow when she came (didn’t know suppose to!), so was thinking of $208 or whatever the rate is suppose to be….

dseptkon (dseptkon) - wow, 1 hour to finish both breasts at night? How many times do you wake up to nurse Jonathan then? I usually do one feed at 8.30pm, then on demand after that (about 11+pm, 3+am (EBM given by CL) and 6+am). I keep each feed to 30 minutes cos he either gets sleepy or I get sleepy and bored!

crayonshinchan - not bad what, you already lost 9kg! I am down almost 10kg now, so just 2kg to go to pre-preggy weight and alot more to pre-wedding weight! I still have my tummy lah, especially from the side view! Hopefully the malay massage would help, if not I have to start getting 1 piece swim suits!</font>

Hihi! So many of you have popped!
I'm patiently awaiting my Prince's arrival. Meanwhile, my feet are beginning to look like Princess Fiona's....

Ava, your twin girls are really sweet. And to have made it to the papers...whoa!

For those non-first-time mummies, how are your elder ones taking to their new siblings? I'm a bit worried about my twins getting jealous of their Didi, though the pressies for them have been prepared (from Didi).

Anyone underwent a VBAC (Vagina Birth after C-sec)? I delivered my twins in Jan last yr and am trying for natural delivery this time round (gap of 21 months). There's risk so my gynae is only saying that there's 70% chance of me undergoing vagina birth (she also warned me if BB is above 3kg, she will be reluctant to have me push).

Any advice?

bigtoes,
ya ya. better to let bb decide when he has had enough rather than when he is still latching, we switch him. hindmilk very impt for making them FATTTTTT!! hehehehhe.

alabone (alabone) - it doesn't hurt as much when i sneeze anymore (coughing is okie). But when you feel yourself going to sneeze, try pressing the area btwn your nose &amp; mouth - suppose to be some acupressure point and the sneeze will go away! Works maybe 7 out of 10 times for me

California Baby Calendula Cream Spree
Total in US$281
Amount charged S$413.58
No of items: 32
Amount per tub: $12.95 (round up to nearest 5 cent, excluding 7% GST)

Please transfer the amount to my DBS Savings Plus 0010062525 and PM me, together with your contact details when done. Thanks!

<table border=1><tr><td> Nick</TD><TD>No of Tubs</TD><TD>Amount in S$ </TD></TR><TR><TD> shazz</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>90.65 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mei</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>51.8 </TD></TR><TR><TD>dseptkon</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>51.8 </TD></TR><TR><TD>isa_belle</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>51.8 </TD></TR><TR><TD>storeberry</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>38.85 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ade</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>25.9 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cloud</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>25.9 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaymickey</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>25.9 </TD></TR><TR><TD>twendy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>12.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunrays</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>38.85</td></tr></table>

hi blackberry
about 60 - 65 i think depending on where you stay
yeah she massages my boobs and she makes it a point to wash her hands before i think so that boobs wont have the oil smell

gals,
when do you express your milk ? after feeding or between feedings? from the last breast he fed on or from the other. will it affect the amount of milk bb feeds on next?
intending to start expressing soon so that once i am not in confinement will get mil to feed him while im out.

Sunnysunny
No lah not me...the babies were in the papers as models for a shoot...cos we were there at the time of the shoot!

Keke.. I just secretly poured away the pail of herbal water away and bathe using tap water. SI BEI SHIOK LEH!!! It is so heavenly esp after i just wiped myself wif the smelly herbal water for the past 8 days!

Bigtoes
Haha.. ur CL actually ask Kieran to pee into essence bottle? LOL!! It is so interesting leh! So did Kieran hit the bulleye so far?

STIFF FINGERS
Btw, are u gals still suffering from the stiff and painful fingers tat u all kena during pregnancy? I still kena it leh.. wonder issit the side effects of ‘disobedience’ leh!

ANG-POW
On the first day, we gave a $100 angpow. Was told by peers that actually ard $28 can liao lo bt my hubby was saying it is good to give a big one to give a good first impression. As for the departure angpow, i guess it will be ard $188 or wat bah? I find her beri motherly.. dun mind give her more just like majiam giving it to ur mother tat kinda wor.

DIAPERS
We are still using pampers leh! We wanted to get the confinement lady to use cloth diapers but she said hard to wash cos of the poo.. erm.. dunno leh.. anyone out there got anything interesting to shed on this?

WEIGHT
Okie, I am starting to think I am fat or wat liao loh. I onie shed my baby weight leh! Aiyoh.. I cannot tahan the thought of it liao. And wat makes it worst is that I start take out my office skirts and ALAS, I cannot even pull it up any closer to my vagina area leh.. onie midway to my thigh nia! OMG… can someone tell me whether is it a PERMANENT damage or wat cos’ it is the bone structure??

Adan may be coming home today! He asked my dad to call us then he told us he was going to see the doctor today and ask to be brought back to SG tonight

Diaper/Nappies
We use disp diapers. Can tahan longer without changing due to the absorbency so less headache.

Goldfish
It's a little early to try to squeeze into your old clothes now. Give yourself 2-3 months or u'll get depressed!!

<font color="0000ff">Milk SS
I'm still struggling with my milk SS.. still can only manage 60-70ml which is slightly up from the last time I 'complained'. but of coz, i'm pumping for a longer period of time now - abt 45mins. so time consuming manz...

lanolin - we muz jia you k. i've started feeding my boy with ebm again, tho at nite, i feed him with FM so he can slp longer. even den, not enuff to satisfy him, coz i onli pump every 4 hrs whereas he wakes up for his feeds abt 2.5hrs interval.

How much are ur babies drinking?
just wondering, my boy is about 23 days old now and drinking abt 90-100ml. wondering how much are ur babies drinking? haha.. i'm thinking if he's drinking too much or too little.

And the weird thing is.. he's nvr full after pooping. can juz drink n drink.. like a bottomless pit after he poos. gosh...

Bathing
I'm one of those notti ones, tho this is with permission from my mum and MIL. Am supposed to bathe with herbal water but I'm allowed to rinse it off with warm water after that, so I dun smell of herbs

But i think i will suffer later on, coz I still do washing (when the maid juz PRETENDS not to see the empty milk bottles and my pump lying in the toilet). no choice, coz need the pump and my boy was gonna wake up for his feed already, so had to wash them and sterilise them. sighz... washing so much with cold water...

Disposable diapers
gosh.. i juz bot a pack of Drypers for NB and seems so small for my boy already... sighz... so wasted leh...

Jessie
I'm letting my boy wear nappies in the day and disposable diapers at nite

i am new here. i also just gave birth to my baby girl last wednesday, 3-Sept @ Mount E

baby is 3.1kg, head 35cm n length 49cm.

Goldfish: your CL take good care of you ya

My mum will be my CL, shall I give her ang pow too? I don't know want to give her more allowance for this few months or give her 1 time like CL fee?

massage
can i ask what the benefits of the post natal massage are? now looking at everyone doing their massage am wondering if i should have signed up as well
hvae lost my bb weight already and only 1 more kg to get to my pre-preg weight/pre-wedding weight.

bigtoes
well, i wish jonathan was as organised as your bb! he sometimes feeds a couple of times in the late evening (about 10-11pm) and then in the worst case scenario at 1 plus, 3 plus and 5 plus. he doesnt take an hour to finish everytime but often enough cos he falls asleep so easily

my delivery process is not as good. supposed to have C-Sec with Epidural but somehow Epidural does not work due to spine problem, cannot find the fliud? tried few times and keep hitting my nerve, feels like electricity on my legs, so painful. so have to go on GA.
was so sad about not able to witness the arrival of my little princess.

but most impt, she is out safely.

goldfish,
aiyooo, don't try pre-preg clothes yet lah. will cry one. you've only just given birth so give yourself some time to get back into shape ya?

i also only shed bb weight after delivery. you're not the only one so don't be too upset.

diapers:
i'm also using disposables - mamy poko. saves the headache of having to wash those cloth nappies.

herbal bath:
how come your herbal bath is smelly?? mine doesn't smell bad leh. after i bathe with it, i can still smell my shampoo and also the shower gel on me.

bigtoes,
yes same. i also do that to prevent sneezing. can't stand the thought of a full blown sneeze. sure pain like crazy though if it happened the second or third day post surgery would have been worst!

ava,
yeah! adan can finally come home!!! you must have missed him very much?? and he must have missed you like crazy too. glad to know that he's finally well.

yan,
my friend told me gap has got clothes for preemies leh!!! me happily shopping online now. else she won't have clothes that fit her properly on her first mth celebration!

green_baby,
congrats to you! i also gave birth via emergency GA c sec. and so were my two kids. a bit sad like you to be unable to witness their birth first hand, but then again, the most impt thing is that they arrive safely and healthily. i also gave birth in mt e.

dseptkonnnnn,
you lost your preg weight already??? so fast!!! how much weight did you gain?? can you fit into pre preg clothes already?

green_baby,

Then when u concious after the labor? I got funny dream last time tat i not remember my labor process.Just know i being admit to hospital. Then by the time i open the eyes, the baby is with me. Hahaha! Hofepully not happen in real. I hope to witness the arrival of my princess also!

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - sbuff fingers i still encounter haha. keep using tap water to wash my face la, etc
as fot the ang pao- we just put $8 intwo ang pao. then upon finish confinment then give my mum another angpao.
my mum keep saying wan to use cloth diapers(in the day) end up we keep using pampers. *faint*
talking about weight, don't know isnt my home weighting machine spoil a not i weight myself yesterday i actually lost 9kg sia. think when i go back for my par smaer test next month i go weight myself again

bigtoes- mine starting few days also trying not to cough pain sia.. everytime i feel like coughing faster go drink some water it will help