(2008/09) Sep 2008

caryonshin,
i also been eating liver like every meal since the first day and i read from some thread yesterday that lover reduces supply of breast milk!!!!!!!!!!! omg i think i going to stop just in case. STreessssssssfulllllllllllll

caryonshin,preggie (preggieblues)
- i been eating kidney that till i get sick of it liao. think next that eat bat kut teh i dun even dare to touch on that. i also think that eating kidney will also lower the level of milk supply.
caryonshin- as for washing my hair argh i havent wash for 12 days.. but got use towel to wet my hair and scalp. today finally i able to wash my hair liao.

MILKING
I think I've abused my breasts too much! I yielded 200ml of milk yesterday after pumping for 2.5 hours! Managed to clear the engorgement and breasts are so much softer now, even though I know there's more milk to be pumped out! But my poor nipples can't take it anymore! I can see that they're sore and can see some dots of blood.
But no choice, I had to massage and pump, massage and pump. My right breast is darn weird! In the first hour of pumping, only a few drops came out. It's only after an hour of massage and pump then the milk starts to flow! And then it caught up with the left breast's production! Quite funny, the left is consistently dripping, then the right caught up but it still lost to the left side in the end after the 2.5hours "race"! hehe ... I must have emptied it pretty well cos when I woke up this morning, breast is soft and not rock hard! phew! all the hard work is worth it when I see Eamon feeding on my hard-squeezed milk!

I applied Lasinoh on the sore nipples and it felt much better today.

MASSAGE
I just had my 2nd round of massage today and I'm so pleased that my flabby tummy and uterus went down by 2 inches! yippee! weight wise I still have 10kg to lose to get back to pre-preggie weight.
But with the engorgement of milk and all, we may not see the scale dropping. My massage lady said my uterus is still very big, but it shrunk a little since yday's session. She saw my boy for first time today and went, no wonder your uterus so big lah! But she complimented me that despite having such a big tummy and baby, my body is relatively stretch-mark free!

CONFINEMENT FOOD
My CL said liver can cause inflammation of the wound and cause pus! Please stop if your CL or mum is cooking that for you. Kidneys are fine, I only had it once since I got home. Been eating pork for every meal, my CL cooked them in various ways to make it more appetising.
Chicken should also be avoided if your wound have not healed completely, as it may slow down the healing process.

<font color="0077aa">Koras: Milk ss is great!!

Sunny: your bb also heavyweight champion!! Wow, natural without epi!! Superb!

I took out the binder &amp; was surprise to see my tummy shrinking!! SO happy!

Crayon: Yah man, your story super funny lo! I also have not washed my hair for 10days liao. Its starting to itch! Your milk ss is good yah, don't worry the supply will increase very soon!

Lanolin; jia you in your BF-ing! Yes and take a break t go for some shopping to relax!

Shazz: Aiyoo. 2.5hours of pumping?? Power! Great that your milk ss is coming! You are really persistent!! My nipples surely can't take it! </font>

Preggieblues, i think u might want to stop eating liver for now in case its really true.

koras, I think kidney is fine (its yo ji rite?) its zhu gan that we're not supposed to be eating..

But yes, I'm officially sick of kidney liao. But I'm enjoying all the steamed fish and soups. I'm a lover of these 2 dishes.

And imagine my ecstacy when my CL announced that I'll be having CHICKEN for dinner!!! haa.. cheap thrill...

Storeberry, at least u only have 2 more days to go to wash ur hair.(tats if ur CL allows on the 12th day lar.hee) I still have a long way to go.

SHAZZ!!! pump for 2.5hrs??? My goodness! ur poor boobies!Dont stress urself out with the milk supply ok? But its a damn shiok feeling when the milk SS is out and the boobs are soft again...

one qn on breastfeeding to ask.
When pple say that breastfeeding can help us lose weight right, does it include pumping?

crayonshinchan: i'm not stressed about the milk supply! in fact, I wanna slow it down so my breast won't be so engorged! haha ... I was dilligent in pumping cos i desperately needed to get rid of the rock hardness in my breasts, if not I feel like it's gonna explode!

On losing weight, my massage lady said that the fastest way to lose way is to latch baby on, when they suckle, the uterus contracts faster. Pumping generally helps to loose weight too cos we burn calories too, but we need to eat more as well. If we diet, the body produces toxins, which will be harmful for the baby to consume. So it's important to continue with our supplements of multi-vits, calcium etc.

One massage session and I can now pump 50-60ml from both afte 20 mins....better than the 25ml previously! but still some way to go man....60mls is only enuf to feed one!

crayonshinchan (crayonshinchan)-o ya they say liver better dun eat too good when breastfeeding.
preggie (preggieblues)- after they massage can we bath or need to wait till the next day
storeberry (storeberry) - me also put on the binder think got shrink a bit but not much like that.. think i will find massage lady

Sorry to disturb.
Anyone uses Bliss confinement agency before? Any feedback? Appreciate with sharing ur experience with me. Pls PM me. Thanks!

I bot 2 many tins. Now my baby is back on formula.

So any mummies need it for their babies?

I bot from NTUC, costs ard $11 (if i rem correctly). Willing 2 sell CHEAP.

Expiry Date till 06/09/2010.

Pls PM me if any mummies interested.

Esther

1703328.jpg

yan

i not sure lei..so long as water didn seeps in the bandage shd be ok ba..

crayonshinchan

ya..my CL was saying tt we couldnt eat liver now coz will cause infection...'pus'..wow,u solid lei..i can only tahan till 1 week without washing hair..then after tt i alternate day wash liao with the herbal water..the hair damn itchy man n got those dry flakes falling so cant stand already..

yan (bbfam) - the bandage is water proof de.. i try bath b4 i remove the stitch. no water seep in ler.. doc also no say cant bath. sian today finally able to wash my hair, then my mum say baby full month then can wash my hair again i was like 0_o. think when my hubby come over to stay i so sneak to wash my hair with warm water. relaly cant stand sia during full month friends and relative coming over c my hair oily oily de i feel so dirty

Hi gals..

Too many posts, can't catch up at this moment.
Just reached home from hospital.

And yes, my baby was popped out on 7 Sept at 4.21pm!
It was an emergency c-sec in the end!

But, most importantly, we are both good and healthy now.

My baby birth weight is 3.475kg.

I was in long labour for about 17 hours, and my cervix is still not opening well. Only at most 4cm dilated. So, no choice but to c-sec.

Will update you gals of my birth story later! Am going to breastfeed my baby now.

Good luck to all who is going to pop....

I have a surge last night and following by cramp..the cramp go away this morning and come back now..the cramp quite light now.Is it a early sign of labour?

Any mummies can share the massage ladies contact to me? I called my massage lady this morning, her friend told me that she back to Indo, don't know when she will come to Singapore..really play me out!

Hi Lemon: Congrats to you!take good care!

kinda of sian when my mum asking me to drink dom(taste horrible) and she using the dom to steam chicken and after that ask mi to drink the soup(dom + liquid dripping from the chicken). yest she put 3/4 dom and when i smell and drink i want to vomit sia

Congrats to sunnysunny and lemon!

sunnysunny: your birth story is just as amazing at isabelle's! power manx!

lemon: I was back at RH on 8 Sep, at level 8 too, but dunno which room you're at, if not can pop by!
hope you're resting well!

I'm allowed to eat KFC &amp; MacDonalds during my confinement.. that day I asked my CL, she says it's ok.. hehe.. going to get my hubby to tabao back for me one of these days.

I just had mee hoon kuey for lunch.. hand made from scratch.. my CL's cooking skills is amazing!

koras, but my bandage is torn otherwise i also wan to bathe. cos i keep scratching the pubic hair there trapped in the bandage very itchy!!! and the 2 bottom corner is like pressing into the skin also very itchy!!! that's why i scratch until the corner there torn...
i told my mum that my hair so oily and flaky, is even worse if i keep scratching the oily and flaky hair then later touch the baby how? so she allow me to wash but the most twice a week. she initially say once a week only.
my hubby also keep asking my mum to use the liquor to cook for me. but i dun dare to drink it!

lemon (lemon1000) : brought baby back for follow-up cos he had jaundice. Was there on 8 and 9 sep. Then I went to look for the Lactation Consultant at the Nursery on level 8.

hi sunnysunny,
goodness, you pushed until vessels burst?? has it healed by now? how are your piles? aren't you glad to hold bb in hands now? and i think after shazz, your bb is the second in line champion weight bb! post bb's pics soon ya?

ava,
i see! so now after massaging your breasts the milk has come in? was the massage painful? take a pic of yourself after massage and show us leh. hehehehhe

shazz,
pump for 2.5 hours???? oh dear. the most i've ever pumped was 1.5hrs for the last pregnancy and it was soooooooooo sore!!!! if the lumps/blocked ducts are cleared, then i think you don't pump so long since you mentioned you saw dots of blood. later on too sore you can't latch bb on. what about pumping 15-20mins for each side?? in any case, i'm glad your ducts/hard lumps are cleared! you're sooooo wei da!!!

hi yan,
did you manage to try the avent manual pump again? did it work? don't worry about water seeping in. when i was in hospital, on the third day, the nurse changed my dressing and right after that, i went to bathe. but i was bathing with reaaaaaaally hot water so the waterproof bandage kinda came off and water went to the wound. i was quite worried and after the bath, immediately told the nurse who changed my dressing again. a week later when i went to see my gynae to change the dressing again, the nurse said my wound healing well. so signs of infection and such. so don't worry about water getting in. when did you have your c sec? i had mine on 27aug and by now, 2nd week, shd not need to have the waterproof dressing already.

angeline,
yeah.. i steal things to eat all the time. i also took cold drink. cannot tahan lah...

washing hair:
you all really can tahan not washing hair for sooo many days?? i wash my hair on alternate days...

confinement food:
anyone experiencing ulcers and pimples? i have ulcers in my mouth and pimples on my chest area... sooooooooooo heaty the food! can't stand it.

flos,
haven't heard from you for two days. you busy unpacking your packages? or spending quality time with hb now??

crayonshinchan,
you're a teacher also right?? finally see another teacher who is equally foul mouthed as me!!!

alabone, but if the water seep in i have to wait till sat for my next review. my c-section is on 3rd sept. the nurse didnt change my dressing in the hospital. she just took off the bigger bandage, then put the binder on for me. urgh. i have to tahan the itchiness for another 3 more days! btw haven try the method. evening time cos will feed baby fm then, now daytime i latching her on demand.

yan,
in that case you'd better not shower for the time being. just wash down there. i'm also itching like crazy!!!! and i can't even scratch properly coz of the waterproof bandage!!! good that you're able to latch bb on. let's jia you together. like shazz mentioned, latching on helps in getting the uterus to shrink faster too! i'm latching cadence exclusively now and after weighing her, she's now about 2.3kg. so after her discharge from hospital, she's put on about 400g. but not sure if my scale is that accurate. will be seeing her PD this sat and i'll know if she has put on weight.

i'm so stressed over her weight gain that i write down all her feeding schedules.

alabone,
I took a bath on Day 6 (full bath with shower and washing of hair). Other time, I only sponge bath with the chinese herb. So far ok, intend to shower alternate days now..

bacon&amp;eggs,
wasn't it nice to take the bath then? i shower everyday and wash hair on alternate days. sometimes i wonder if only chinese follow these confinement rules. what about the causasians and those who give birth in winter then?

koras,
i also don't drink dom or much of the rice wine that my mum makes. i have really low tolerance for alcohol so my mum already knows. in any case, you are bfg so it's not advisable to drink alcohol. if you have to, make sure that you don't bf immediately after taking the alcohol ya?

yan(bbfam)- no wonder.. if really torn i think better to ask them if you could go there early a not. if not hard to bath also. At least mym still able to let you wash hair, mine today wash le have to wait till baby full month then able to wash. kaos.. but going to sneak to ash hair when hubby coming over.today after wash hair i feel so good

Xuanting
I did not kanna scolding from midwives. I have a birth plan that states that I want only a max of 2 VE, so most of the time they leave me alone in the room. They dimmed the lights too.

Shazz/storeberry
I was quite shocked when hubby came back and told me baby's weight after weighing baby cos I can hear the nurses and him making a commotion outside. When I walked into the delivery ward, my tummy looked too compact to be harbouring a 3.77 kg inside.

Shazz
You are a 'marathon pumper'. 2.5 hours straight!

Abalone
When I hear the gush and the sensation of the baby flowing out, the feeling is super good. And they put baby on my chest with cord intact. Piles have healed with the help of suppositories and cream. The red dots on my face have subside too. Thanks!

Crayonschinchan
You steal potato chips... haha, I walked down to the pharmacy to buy Pocky and Jollibean. When the nurse came into my room, she was commenting 'Wow, so fast eat junk food.'

lanolin, alovera,
we had the chinese name ready. Didnt ask any shifu to calculate, we bought a chinese name book and did it ourselves..

NUH charged us $30 for registration. And I could get the cert within mins. The chinese characters are also typed out nicely on the cert.

Fenugreek,
My bottle from GNC says 1-2 capsules per day, i might increase the dosage to 2 tmr.

hi mummies ,
i pop on 8th sep ...
Can update my bb ..
BB Zenetth Lim
Birth weight : 3.14kg
Length 48cm ..
Assisted Natural with epi..

Developed some complications .. blood vessels burst during delivery .. so there was cloting at vaginal area and have to be wheel to OT after delivery to have a second operation .
I am still in MT A nw ... keke ... have to stay extra two days ..they just took of the drip and my catheter..... so a total of 5 days .. wonder how much will the cost of the stay be .. hmm .. mummy and bb is okay .. will update the photo of bb once i get out from hospital .. getting really bored here ..

supplementing my bb with formula milk nw cos cannot move much and it hurts .. so will breast feed when i am home .. anyway those mummies styaing in Mt A can rent the pump to stimulate milk flow .. cost 20 bucks regardless of no of days of stay ..

congrats, qiuling! glad all turned out well for both you and bb zenetth. hope to see your pix soon!

alabone, do u think flos could've popped liao? the pattern seems to be like someone goes mia for 2–3 days, then return to announce that they've just popped!

Alabone, i like latching her, it gives me a feeling like i can make it. lol! cos initially she dunno how to latch on and keep screaming for FM. now she actually drinking from the breast i very happy!! Yup! let's all jia you! breast is best~
For celeste she is 2.31kg upon discharge. wonder if they will weigh her tml when she goes back to check the jaundice level.

Koras, i was telling my mum that i used to tie my hair up when wet and also sleep without drying my hair in the past. issnt that worse than washing and blow dry hair immediately now? lol~ she also dunno wad to say, only that she hope that she will not regret her choice of giving in to me if it affects my health in future.

Congrats to Qiuling and all new mummies~!

hi qiuling,
congrats!!! oh dear, you burst vessels? hope you're getting better. update us with your birth story and bb's pics when you're better ya?

xuanting,
ya lor.. was wondering too if she'd popped.

yan,
me too!!! for my previous two pregnancies, i was unable to breastfeed for a long time. so i'm very glad that this time round, i can breastfeed her exclusively! i really need her to put on weight and also for her to be healthy. i guess i'm extremely stresssed this time round coz she's a preemie...

Alabone, can understand ur stress. cos mine also not taking in any nutrients that's why need to come out at 37weeks sharp. and very stressed in the hospital cos even wrapping tightly and everything, she keep shivering until when we hold her then the shivering stopped..

yan,
aiyoooooo... i totally understand. when i take off cadence's clothes hor, she has absolutely no fats one. super skinny. then her siblings' clothes when they were nb do not fit her at all. hb was joking we need to get her clothes that fit those dolls and doggies... so NOT FUNNY!!!

<font color="119911">Hi mommies,
Went for my gyne appnt yesterday - changed the waterproof plaster, and I will still have to go back again next week for a final change (hehe…excuse to go out again). Gyne says we still have to continue with Obimin as long as we are BFing. Also saw the wound - its just a faint dark line, not too bad.

Went out for dinner yesterday after my gyne appnt. Although my CL's cooking is pretty good, its nice to not have to eat confinement food once in a while! Ended up eating yummy Italian pasta.

We also went to OG Orchard to get an electronic weighing scale - baby Kieran has put on 300gm (10% of his weight) since being discharged last week!

NUMBER OF HOURS YOUR BABY SLEEPS?
I read that some mommies are saying their babies don’t sleep enough. For us, Kieran is the opposite - he sleeps all the time. Am wondering if there is such thing as too much sleep for babies? Like he falls asleep on me when BFing and sometimes doesn’t want to latch on the other side! On an average 24 hour period, how many hours does your baby sleep?

Angeline Goh - yes, I am still using the binder, except when I go out. Figured I might as well get used to it, since I would have to put on an even tighter one when the malay massage lady comes for the jamu session.
Btw, ur baby has chubby cheeks - so cute!

Pumping BM - I thought I can pack up the Medela pump for good, but sometimes baby doesn’t wake up for hours during the night, and I start leaking after about 5 hours! Last night expressed 120ml in 5 minutes - think my BM flow is increasing….my CL however, claims that it is too "light" and "not yellow enough"….!
Mommies who delivered about 10 days ago (i.e. mature milk is in), what is the color of your BM now?

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - yes, my other breast leaks whenever I BF as well…usually I just stem it with tissue paper so I don’t stain Kieran's clothes, but I have milk stains all over my bed now! I also don’t like to pump cos I have to hold the 2 bottles. Mommies who express a lot - you might want to get a strap to hang around the neck to secure the bottles during pumping.

sunnysunny (sunnysunny) - congrats on your baby! He is also a good weight!!

yan (bbfam) - Celeste has rosebud lips! Like those mei-nu from olden day paintings!

Qiuling (chewy_ring) - congrats as well! Zenetth is such an unusual name</font>

Alabone, yeah all the newborn clothes that i bought are all like dresses for her. only have 1 piece(see the pink one in the pics i posted) that is slightly smaller and the one that tmc dress her when discharged is of her size. and also she cant wear mittens cos her hands are too small and the mittens just slip out whenever she move her hands so until ytd, she get scratches on her face from not wearing mittens. my mum have to sew all the mitten openings smaller but then become difficult to put them on her.

Hello.. COngrats to all mummy who have popped..

Shazz, can help me to update, James out safely on 2 Sept at 10.51am, Gynae : Goh SL, w/o epi, natural birth.

Many thanks.. din have much time to read your posts..

koras,
i bathe in the morning before the massage lady comes by. She puts some herbs and wraps the cloth around tummy area after the session and i leave it on until just before she comes the next morning.

lanolin,
did you manage to get her?
i hope your engorgement is better

bigtoes, yah i like her mouth the most! but the crying and screaming coming from it is frightening! everybody get so kan jiong the moment she screaming for milk. lol~

Number of hours: mine sleeps like 23 hours a day? she is even sleeping when i latch her or she is only awake(as in opening her eyes) when bathing and evening when her daddy keep disturbing her. i feel like the total time she's awake is even less than an hour? =X

hihi mummies,

me now at TMC cos Gabrielle has jaundice so I have to stay with her as I'm on tbf... Din rent the sunbeds cos I dun think I cld cope with both her and baby at home! Plus my mum is kinda stressed preparing all that confinement food and having my tantrum throwing girl ard, so i thot i'd give her a break. And hubby can go back to work too.

qiuling
gosh, what do u mean by ur blood vessels burst? U mean at ur perineum area during assited delivery? Do take care and rest well!

yingflo
COngrats!

sunnysunny
Congrats to a fellow hypnobirthing mummy! I'm always happy to hear of successful hypnobirthing stories cos they r so inspiring! And woah, 3.77kg too!

U know what, ur birth story reminds me so much of my first birth story. Cos I also got up at ard 520am, went back to sleep till 630, muck ard e hse, reach hospital at 9am and 1051 isabelle was born! Timing so similar!
And wow, at 8-9cm u can still go toilet to poop? Aren;t u worried baby might come out too since the urge to bear down is similar to pooping?
Oh dear, u got the piles from the excessive pusing or u already had it? How come u pushed instead if using the J breath? Hope u recover soon!