(2008/09) Sep 2008

l'il Cy
Yeah, I have gone up to max intensity already...it's quieter than the single electric...is it supposed to be?

SarahMay: RH's 6-in-1 for 1-6 mths package is $470 before 7%GST. PD we're seeing is Dr MC Tan.

Ava: thanks so much for the contact for the beds! may not need to admit Eamon then. Will discuss with PD and hubby.

Ade: Consultantion for PD is $50 and the Bilicheck is $35 + $7 for the probes. Sorry to have misled you.

l'l CY (lilboymum): I think the price for the package that Bigtoes stated is for untill 24 mths old and includes pneumoccol and rotavirus vaccinations.

Bigtoes: I had no choice, the engorgement is super painful, so I had to do whatever I can to relieve it!

California Baby's Calendula Cream Spree - only for mummies in this thread!

http://www.newlondonpharmacy.com/california-baby/calendulacream.htm
Cap at 32 tubs
shipping within US is $16
Exchange rate: tentatively at 1.43, will charge according to actual credit card rate
Collection: self-collect at Toa Payoh or mailing after confinement period is over in early Oct 2008
Calendula Cream at US$8
1. shazz - 6 tubs
2. Mei - 4 tubs
3. dseptkon- 4 tubs
4. isa_belle - 4 tubs
5. storeberry – 3 tubs
6. Ade – 2 tubs

Will collect money after I place order.

l'il Cy
Yeah, I have gone up to max intensity already...it's quieter than the single electric...is it supposed to be?

<font color="0077aa">Ava: I usually pump once a day now so that I will still have enough BM for bb to latch on. I pump like 10-15mins after one feed where I feel still have BM to be emptied. The book state that pumping should be around 20mins (I pump 10-15mins cos afraid if bb suddenly want milk then still have some left.

This morning at 5am breasts were engroged &amp; bb still sleeping so decided to pump out, 10mins could pump about 160ml. But wasn't too careful &amp; wasted some precious milk! Darn!</font>

storeberry
WOW....I must be doing something wrong...even after 4-5 hours sleep between night feeds and breasts feeling "full" I can only manage 40ml from both sides combined.....like my pump isnt working that well...will try my manual and see.

storeberry (storeberry) - wow, u are very productive - can get 160ml in 10min!

Immunization - yah, sorry forgot to add - the basic package is about $470 like shazz mentioned. Its the optionals that add up to a lot (like the pneumococcal is $170 each jab, and there are 3 jabs in total). All in, these add up to about $1300-1400. I called the PD near my place, and the price is about the same as the PD at TMC, just that the PD at my area doesn't charge consultation fees for the immunization appnts.

ava
tink i am starting on my 3rd week...for my FB,i quite hardworking...after she latch on.1hr+ later i will pump to stimulate the supply so that when my FB need to feed abt 2hr later,the milk will have been 'replenished'...that time BF was quite successful as my supply was quite good..haiz but for this time round, can see the difference in supply liao..tink not much,hope i can 'tong' as long as possible to bf.furthermore,bb likes to zzz at breast n her suction not strong so didn really get lots of milk..might try fenugreek later..

btw,everytime u pump,u got feel the let down coming? i find tt it helps to clear the breasts better with a let down..mus relax to achieve it..my supply v pathetic..get abt 40ml each breast only when i pump for abt 8-10min...

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
Wah... envious envious!! I'm still struggling with my bm.. so much so that i'm contemplating of giving up le. today is already day 21 and i only can manage 60ml from both sides combined. how pathetic...

oso.. Max is becoming very colicky le. tends to cry for no reason after feeds and dun slp. can nvr do anything to coax him. sighz.... now got phobia each time he cries...

my little one on day 19

1700767.jpg

thanks bigtoes and alabone for your advices and encouragement.. i tried to do some manual expressing and saw some thin milk-like liquid today!!! but my bb doesnt' seem to be liking it or maybe i can only produce a bit at a time so it is not enuff? cos after suckling awhile she pulled away and wailed...
i hope it is not due to the FM i have been feeding her... so now she finds BM not nice...

think i will get a manual breast pump first to try expressing... any recommendations?

Ava: Looks like the sunbed u rent is much better than the one my PD recommended from what kym have posted. The baby shield is attached to the unit, not like mine, got to put on the eyeshield, which is really annoying for bb. I got to get up every now &amp; than to make sure that he doesn't push the eyeshield to cover his nose &amp; mouth. Hopefully his jaundice will go down on his checkup on fri, if not, i will consider using this company that u recommended. I'm also using the PIS. noise level is ok, coz i'm not too sure how noisy is the single electric. Do you sterilize the breastshield and connector after each pump, even though u will be using it a few hours later? And is it air-borne to bacteria?

Storeberry: You are so productive. Mine is pathetic. Only 3ml from both breast after pumping for 30mins.

Sasa: Little max is so cute. Nice lips he have.

Sasa: Poor you. But is your MIL being less annoying about work? Hope you figure out Max;s personality soon and find tricks that will work with him.

Jessi: WHy do you want to wait till SAt? IS there something special abt 13 Septfor you?

Blackberry: Mucus plug is this clear jelly like substance that acts as a protective cork, plugging your cervix throughout preg to prevent infections etc.Some ppl lose the plug days or weeks before labour begins. Some don't.

Baby CDA: I'm very confused. Do those of us with firstborns qualify for the new CDA one-for-one matching amount of $6,000 from govt? HOw do we set up account for this? Just went to OCBC bank to check, and they told me" NO! Only 2nd- 4th child can have CDA." I was quite shocked so I asked them to double-check. They did with the branch manager, and they again insisted that I've gotten the wrong info.

But I just checked the www.babybonus.gov.sg, and it says children born after 17 Aug FBs qualify for the CDA $6k amt. Is it just that govt needs time to sort things out so we cannot open the CDA for our FBs yet?

Can those mummies here who've popped enlighten me a little bit? This is not the first time OCBC has given me wrong info. Think if they are wrong this time, I will just go straight to Stan Chart to do the account already.

<font color="0077aa">Ava: think your Medela suction might not be that good, try manual pump &amp; see the output?Jia you!!!

Only yday can pump so much, cos I pump before I feed Zane. When I pump after feed can pump only about 60-80ml.

Sasa: Baby Max is so handsome!! And so much hair!! He is a cutie!

Sarah: Limay posted sometime back that we can't open CDA account now cos govt have not finalised it yet, only in oct. So we can only open the account by then, now what we can do is to apply baby bonus only.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Ade
Thanks.. yes.. i love his lips too.. haha... kissable lips. n thankfully he has my hb's eyes. else like mine ah.. so small sia

Sarah
yeap.. she is. i hinted more than once to her.. i dun even have time to rest already, so now she doesnt bother me abt work. hopefully it will continue.. haha

I sure hope i can find ways to deal with him, coz it's really getting on my nerves and draining me...

Storeberry
hehe thanks
yeah.. he has lots of hair. and they are so nice to touch.. haha. MIL already tell mi to keep his hair if we do cut it to make brush for her.</font>

SarahMay: I have checked with the OCBC counter in TMC when i signed up for bb's certificate. The OCBC personnel said that we are only entitled to the $3k bonus 1st, till further confirmation from MCYS. When everything is confirmed, MCYS will send us a letter to inform us to apply.

CDA: Must have missed Limy's post. But anyway, I called MCYS to check. Yup, we cannot open now and not even in Oct...we have to wait till Jan next year. The govt will send us notice to inform us. I'm just annoyed that the OCBC product officers so blur abt what is happening in the market, related to the product they sell. If thy just told me that they were waiting for govt to further advise, rather than insist that got no such CDA scheme for first born.

BB and CDA banks: So which bank have you mummies chosen?

Sasa: Wow! Good that your MIL could understand your hints! Leaves you to enjoy motherhood!

Storeberry: Thanks!

Bigtoes: Yeah, I think immunisation jabs generally about same price. However, though the neighbourhood PDs incld consultation , it is impt to check what the consults include. I checked with one neighbourhood PD, and the consult that is incld w jab price is nothing more than check if bb is well enough to take jab. Is that the same with TMC PD? Or do they do more?

DEVT ASSESSMENT FOR BABIES
I've found a GP who does a 2,4,6mth package for 6in1 at $340 and that inclds 2 developmental assessment. I asked my SIL and she says that the only devt assessment in health booklet is much later like at 9 mths. Can anyone here shed light on when devt assessments need to be done for baby?

hi mummies, so long no update. have been resting at home now after the epi c-section.

babay celeste:
weight: 2.34kg
head circumference: 30cm
length: 45cm

just read a few postings, saw that some are having problems with babies sleeping. my baby also refuse to go back to sleep after we feed and change her nappy. scared of her crying so we used pacifier for her. but then, it's not the case for every feed, just 2-3 times a day and she usually suck the pacifier until she fallen asleep(>30mins) and the pacifier will pop out by itself. daddy is not happy about me and my mum giving the pacifier to baby, but when he hear her screaming in the middle of the night, he also give in already!

will try to upload her photo later on~

Hello - have been MIA coz felt really exhausted.

Ava - my milk pumping goes up and down as well ... frustrating and I'm on my 14th day!!
I am using manual pump and am very tempted to try electric one....

Bacon&amp;Eggs - I think what the others suggested (using nipple shield for now as it has same texture as a teat) might be a good idea. Declan isn't confused about the nipples (ie he doesn't reject my breast *pray*) but he is getting really lazy about opening his mouth wide so it gets painful when he just sucks on the nipple.

What I do is to have to re-latch him every time he gets lazy and pulls his mouth smaller. It's hard work!!

Kym - thanks for the long and very encouraging message!! Really, I think we each have our different journeys with our babies (I hope Scarlett gets better very very soon with the sunbeds at home!) and there's really no one way for all mothers! We just have to find our path with our little ones. I'm persisting with BF...my hubs is very pro BF (almost Nazi-like) so in a way, he doesn't allow me to think that there's another option. ha ha..it's good and bad at the same time! Jia You to you too.

Have you all registered ur baby's births yet?

Shazz - great to know that ur engorgement is getting better. A very conscientious mom u are! I have not heard about alternative methods of testing for jaundice levels so Declan was pricked twice!! Sigh..... I wasn't there to watch so still ok coz his dad went with him. Dad was very proud coz he said Declan was brave and did not wail.

Mrs Yap / Storeberry - I wish I were more like u...loving motherhood and all. I think I find it tough to adjust coz there is little control and now it is all about the baby and I find it rather restricting. I think it is all about adapting to this new life and I shall give myself a little more time to adjust to it. Maybe I should go out for a walk later to get some fresh air.

fa la la la la

Ade
Glad to be of help with the sunbed. It brought my kids' jaundice level down from 15 and 16 to 7 and 8 within 3 days of sunning. But as with all home based stuff u must be disciplined about putting them there long enuf. We clocked 40+ hours each which was av 15 hours a day.

PIS
I sterilise all the parts except the tubes after each pump. With my CL and maids' help of course ;)

sasa- I am in the same boat - also try damn hard at Day 14 and probably only 30 -60 ml combined. Yesterday was good and I got about 80ml for the whole day but today, I got zilch for now. Must think positive and drink more milo (as per the recommendation from mothers here).... let's continue to try and try. What kind of pump are you using?

My nipples are sore even from expressing so there isn't a huge incentive for me to pump but I must keep trying la.

Ade - you too : we keep trying ok? We're on the same boat and I understand how frustrating it is. BIG SIGH!

C-sect mummies

any1 of u still got regliously using the binder for the tummy? i getting lazy now n didnt put on since yesterday..feel more breatheable..hehe
1701175.jpg
1701176.jpg
1701177.jpg
1701178.jpg

Some bbies pic...finally got time to post..

<font color="0000ff">lanolin
u onli pump once a day??? i pump at every 4 hrs interval and tat's all i get.. am using the Medela single electric. gosh.. wouldnt recommend this pump.. coz it's super noisy. i can nvr pump in the comfort of my MBR dead at nite.. coz it wakes mi hb up, tho he doesnt mind. so now i've to tip toe to the study room to pump twice a nite. damn sianz....

how come ur nipples are sore?? u on the pump to max isit?? i usually dun. will try at min sunction first den gradually increase.

hhhmm... jiayou. but i muz say, i feel satisfying when i get the letdown. haha.. when i see so much trickling n shooting out.. i'm happy. yet at the end of the day, i see the final amount, it juz brings a sad face

u noe, i realli feel like giving up. but yet feel tat i'm not giving my boy enuff nutrients and antibodies.

oh, did i mention tat i haven been feeding him ebm for the past 2 days already. coz maid feels tat he becomes very 'notti' after drinking my ebm, so tell mi not to feed him with it. so i've been pumping n pouring it away. so wasted rite.. haha. will prob resume giving it to him tmr or so.</font>

Angeline Goh, does it hurt when you dun use the binder? i wan to try not wearing it but scared of pain cos i stopped the pain medication from yesterday. but feels sharp pain for a second whenever i get up from bed (if i'm not slow or careful) cos my whole house 3 bedroom are having platform beds. whichever room i sleep in i'm abit scared of getting up.

btw, my waterproof bandage is torn at the bottom corner is it ok? do i have to call the gynae?

Breastmilk: i have not started to use the avent manual breastpump cos the first time i tried - very painful nipples! so until today i hand pump the milk out at least it doesnt hurt so much! but i'm abit scared to feed baby the expressed breast milk cos she is so small and she stayed in hospital extra 1 day for phototherapy due to jaundice. i'm scared that the level will go up if she drink ebm. also having a leaking right breast most the time, it even leaks when i go toilet or taking hot drinks! but supply not really alot. maybe i'm lazy to express it out...

Ava: Wow, that's a lot! Today is the 4th day and i have only clocked 34 hrs only! bb level maintained for the 1st 2 days at 12.5 and only came down to 11.5 on the 3rd day. I had a hard time putting him on the sunbed in the night and it's only in the afternoon that he sleeps like a log, but my MIL will be the one who is afraid that it will be too hot for him, and keep taking him out of the sunbed. Really frustrating as i can't say much. In the end, got to extend another 2 more days. Told HB to tell her not to meddle so much, most important is to treat his jaundice 1st, but HB working in the day and it's back to square one. MIL said it's very common for bb to have jaundice and think that it's not necessary for him to stay in the sunbed. Just bring him out to the sun in the morning &amp; evening will do. PD even comment in front of my MIL that he is the 1st bb she ever saw that requires more than 3days on the sunbed. Hopefully his level will drop to below 10 during his checkup on Fri.
PIS: in that case, think i have to work harder in sterilizing the parts.

Lanolin: Yes! it's so frustrating! Hopefully i won't give up breastfeeding. have just called HB to help me buy the Fenugreek capsules from GNC. Hopefully it really helps as recommended by mothers here.

2nd time mummies: i'm giving bb Similac for the time-being. Thinking of changing another brand as it has a lot of bubbles as compared to Friso (sis using Friso). Hence, bb tends to have a lot of wind. Must baby have a transition period to switch or can i just do a sudden switch of the brand? Please advice! Thanks.

sasa - I pump about twice a day. Using manual pump but maybe coz my niplpes a bit short or something, I have to push the pump so to suck the whole aerola properly before it gets milk out. I also find it strange that expressing is painful but somehow that seems to be the only way leh.

I should be more conscientious and pump more often but pumping is tiring for me. Need to persist.

Why don't u freeze the EBM instead of pouring it away? Can store for like a few months. What does ur maid mean by being notti? Maybe it's just her perception and there isn't any difference?

Don't give up yet ok? We update each other every day. Are u taking fenugreek? I am taking 4 times a day and am drinking hot milo twice a day starting today....am going to try pumping again now.

Yan - I have the same feeling using the avent manual pump so I am very tempted to try the electric ones. Wanted to rent one (hosp grade type) but hubs asked and they don't clean the insides of the machines (just external tubings) so he is not convinced about the hygiene factor. Maybe I will just go buy a PIS. Nipples already sore and if pumping makes it more sore, not worth it right??

SarahMay,

Coz i plan to go back my hometown to deliver. And only will back this coming Friday. Will become panic if deliver here coz everything i prepare in my hometown only. Last week gynae check up bb not engaged yet. Btw, my EDD is 26/9/08. Hopefully my girl will out this Sunday. So i no need to waste my leave and it's a good day also. Mid Autumn Festival.

btw, is it normal to have more milk on one breast vs another? I pump and get like 30 on one and 10 on the other....hmmm...the one that has 10 is the smaller breast but it is damn pathetic man.

<font color="0000ff">Lanolin
hhhmm... manual pump i think is tiring. already using an electric pump is tiring for mi, haha, i have to hold it n keep positioning it on the different areas of my breasts to suck out my precious milk...

pumping more often is definitely tiring. am pumping every 4 hrs n i find it super tiring already. i dun freeze my milk coz freezer got alot of raw food, so dun wanna contaminate it. and besides, each pump i can onli get 60ml. dun wanna waste 1 bag to store 60ml when it can store more, haha.

oohh... coz my boy get very restless these days. juz keep crying for no reason and she blames it on my bm. now not giving bm already n it oso persists, so i always say her back, it's not my bm lor.. he's juz colicky. anyway, it happened twice and hb says it's more coincidental den anything, so he doesnt blame it on my bm wor.

ok ok.. will persevere. u noe.. i juz went to pump. juz 3 hrs interval. i can onli manage a pathetic 40ml. sighz... am taking fenugreek, but mayb coz i forgot to take it after lunch?? i drink hot milo in the morning for bf lor..

think u should try an electric pump lah.. den at least not so tiring for u wor. already so tiring looking after bb.. still gotta pump n pump.. i think its draining. perhaps dun invest in such an exp PIS lah.. unless u r pretty sure u gonna bf or express for a long long time...</font>

<font color="0000ff">lanolin
haha.. i was juz wondering abt the same question as u. coz i can get more from my RIGHT breast. and i often get letdown from my right as compared to my left. hhhmmmm...</font>

lanolin, i not going to buy any more pumps yet. cos the way i see myself being so lazy dunno how long i can last. i just went to hand pump out the milk cos breast are super painful and in the end only got 60ml from both breast after 30mins. dunno if its considered ok for 7th day. anyway hand pump is better than the avent pump!!!

lanolin
i hve uneven volumes from each breast too. right is more than left.

AngelineGoh
I use the binder almost all day and night cos it helps me get up and down from bed etc (and makes me feel slimmer when I go out for doctors' visits LOL). I only loosen it sometimes while eating and take off when bathing.

jessie, where is your hometown? i'm sort of like you too, waiting to move home before i deliver. my edd is 24 sep and i can only move back next week.

angeline,
i'm still using my binder. i don't feel the pain alrady but like ava said, it makes me feel slimmer too. at least the tummy is not visible.

those of you who did c sec, do you still have much lochia? what is the colour of it? mine changes in colour and amt each day... sianxx...

yan,
is the avent pump not working for you? i used the avent pump after i was discharged from hospital on 4th day and was able to pump a substantial amt.

lanolin,
when i pump, i also get uneven amts from each breasts. it's like that. nothing to worry over. now i dont know how much i have. latching bb exclusively. too lazy to pump and sterilise and wash...

our milk ss will only stabilise after a while. so hang on there everyone!!!

Alabone/l'il CY
interesting site. I don't think I wanna see the tongue tie release vids tho...the thumbnail looks a bit scary...

Lanolin: I also get uneven amount from both breast. Right side producing more than the left. Just finished pumping for an hour, and i only managed to get 20ml from both breast. But at least it's much better than ytd. Just fed bb ebm and it's so satisfying to know at least he is still getting some nutrients from me.
Now having backache from the pumping and i can imagine how tiring it will be for u using a manual pump.

hai.. today the 11th day i only manage to pump out around 50ml only combine both.

by the way any one eating other food other then confinement i mean tibbits hehe

Angeline Goh
V cute baby pics!!!!

Here are some new ones from my lousy phone camera:

1701589.jpg

Summer (Day 10)

1701590.jpg

Anais (Day 10) - with lips to rival Shiloh Jolie-Pitt!!

lol! i think all the babies are cute! except when mine have the habit of poo poo when drinkinng milk!!! haha!

koras, i'm eating chocolate n tau sar bia. had chocolate cake also!

Ava,

Your twins are so so cute!!! thanks so much for recommending the sunbed, clocking hrs now !!! i wish i wish it go down soon..

kym, u can "tong" so many hours between 11pm to 8am without pumping? i have to wake up every 4hrs to express out the milk, else will have lumps.

ava, why are u using the max intensity for PIS? isnt that very painful? i'm only using 30-40% intensity. not too painful and yet can get good yield. sounds like ur PIS is not working well somewhere.

shazz, will u be organising any spree for lansinoh milkbags soon? i'm starting to store EBM today. even after giving my elder gal 50% EBM for 2 of her milk feeds, i still have excess. i have never used calendula cream b4 - cos dunno what to use it for. have bought the aloe vera cream for scrapes and insect bites. hmm, should i try calendula cream...

Twendy,

Initially during day 4,5,6, it really hurts a lot if i don;t pump the milk out, but now seems my body clock is doing the control work, but at 8am, breast are surely very very full though :p

Kym
Just keep it on for the nights as well. but remember to put them face up at night cos not good for them to sleep face down if u r asleep! schedule it so they are face down more often in the day.

yan

no lei..not much pain now..didnt eat the medicine oso..i even feel that its more pain when i put on binder..maybe i put too tight n it squeeze the wound? they were saying put binder on 24hr daily to help ur tummy get flatter faster...hmm,ur is platform bed? must be careful then when u get up &amp; down..whens ur review to see gynae? if no water gets in the bandage,shd be ok..dry clean these few days..coz last time my gynae say can bathe as pernorm,the water wun get in..bla bla...end up,the water did seep in,lucky tt i was seeing gynae soon then..

ava

wah..u very good lei...i am 1 lazy mummy...haiz..tink tonight when zzz,will put on again..btw,u use the binder from tmc? or buy on own?

alabone

har..my tummy still big big lei..hubby was saying last nite my tummy looks like still got 1 more bb inside..
my lochia still got..not very heavy though..

Angeline
Haha...vain lah. I bot my binder last time from KKH when I had FB cos my massage lady asked me to get it from there. so just reuse lor