(2008/09) Sep 2008

crayon:
lol.. i can imagine opening 10-15 pressie n all mugs with name.. dunno where to stock them also right?

re: naughty kids
maybe i just bear with them for these few days. moving out on tuesday. just hope no accidents the next few days (school hols next week right?)

shazz: yeah lor.. 1st sept is on Monday liao woh...

i still cannot believe that pregnancy is coming to an end soon... it just seem like ydae that i knew i m pregnant.. hehehe

crayonshinchan, the mugs come in handy when u're having a home party/crayonshinchan appreciation party ma! no one will dare to nick them also. haha... i still remember the childish things my friends and i used to give our teachers in pri sch: cutesy pencilboxes with lots of compartments, stickers, sweet-smelling erasers, sanrio character wallets. can you imagine? we just imagined that since these were so precious to us, our teachers would be equally thrilled to receive them too.

qiuling, your students are having some sort of rehearsal for teacher's day celebration at the track now. you're on ml already right?

jaymickey, you only have 4 more days to edd??? wow, did doc say when bb might be out?

<font color="0077aa">Koras, I PM you my hp, did you received it? Sms me once you get it..

Shazz: Very suspicious hor.. Aiyoo.. guess I will not think so much liao..

Crayon: I sms you my number liao. Don't know Mon if I am discharge alr. Will keep in touch yah?</font>

To the mommies who are popping, jia you. May u have a smooth delivery.

Congrats to alabone..! Can't wait to see Cadence's photos being uploaded here.

Chicken essence
My male colleagues said that their wife drink dat before their delivery. Claimed that it gave their wives the extra energy after so long in labour. No harm trying, but agree dat the colour kinda a bit turn off leh. I personally never tried them before.. Hehehhe.. ;p

Taslyn, at my school, when we received a complaint about some of our kids making nuisances of themselves in the public bus.. my principal went all out to find out who these kids were and she called them out during assembly and made them stand in front of the whole school. So it all depends on the school, see whether they want to do anything about it.

I just bought some Chicken Essence, actually the first time I tried it was when I got pregnant, I used to think that it would taste horrible so I never wanted to try.

For teachers' day, I've received many cups/mugs and photo frames... sadly I won't be in school tomorrow so can't meet up with my ex-pupils.

storeberry
All the best and God Bless!

chicken essence
I drank that before i went to the hospital last time. I love chicken essence too!

hi gals, today went for 38wks checkup n bb is engaged oredi.. juz hope she gives me some natural signals nxt wk coz i v scared to induce!

last day of work tomorrow n i will start ML frm 1sep.. my legs cannot take it..

It seems that everyone's popping one by one even before their EDD!! CONGRATS TO ALABONE AND JAS...Who else is next?

Storeberry, koras: Maybe shazz's suspicion was right. YOur gynane wants to make one single trip to TMC to deliver both your babies!!! heheehe!!

CHIKCEN ESSENCE: YUMMY! I've many bottles at home.

CONFINEMENT HERBS: I guess my mom has bought all the herbs for me already
Grrrrreat! I'm all ready

WAXING: I just went to Strip this morning to strip off most of my pubic hair from my sides, labia and "a", leaving a bit of forest in front!! Feels much cleaner now.

SarahMay: I agree with those mommies...I really dun think the BB jab vaccines contain mercury lah! That's MURDER! I think you're too 'hardworking' at home liao lah...reading too much and watching too many educational DVDs!!! Are you a virgo who analyses a lot...from food ingredients, to herbs used in essential oils, to...what hv u
Ms WIKI, dun worry sooo much! Enjoy your pregnancy!! And share with us your Bloom Shots soon!!! kekekek!!

Cloud: "ex-pupils"? I thot you shd call them your "pupils"?

Jaymickey: U are almost due and no show yet? Hasn't your gynae said anything during your last visit?

My BB is almost like yours...very comfortable in his private pool. I didn't overwork myself...I ate moderately and skipped most housework so that I can 'tong' until Sept. I think my son is really enjoying himself too much inside mommy's tummy...My gynae says he'll still wait for nature to take its course until I reach week 40...Who knows? I might pop on my EDD, spot on? ha ha...

MOONCAKES: Went to Taka Mooncake Fest to buy mooncakes for my parents and inlaws...tasted over 20 kinds of mooncakes...I hope I dun get a sorethroat tomorrow...

Taslyn: I think wef 17 Aug 08, the $4K bonus instalments are $1K every 6 months until your bb turns 18months. I'm not sure if you can use the BB cash gift and CDA deposits right away though to offset your delivery charges. You might hv to fork out some $ first as such applications will not be effected immediately, if I am not wrong...

sasa de mouse: Thanks for your update!!! So actually no need to bring all those bb apparels lah? I prepared 2 rompers in case theirs is ugly!

Hey your balance of $1.9K...how much did u tell me the last time u paid to Dr Cheng? I paid almost $1.2K deposit already. How abt u?

Why did u pick Nan HA? I was thinking of Enfalac... Is it cos TMC fed your Max with Nan during your stay, so u have to continue with this brand?

shazz: u r bringing your entire Steriliser, bottles, etc. to the hospital?!! Why not buy Medela Quick Clean wipes instead? You place all these electric items and bag into your boot and continue to drive your car around...wow! Wouldn't the heat from outside be conducted into your car boot and to your appliances?!! And must we bring milk bottles to the hospital at all? Aren't these provided by Raffles Hospital?

taslyn
i think it's prob more effective if u just tell ur neighbours directly. Though they may be in sch uniform, but this is outside their own house, and there's really little the school can do if their own parents dun even bother when they see it! Educating children should still and always be the primary responsibilty of parents.

But i do agreee that schools shld be informed if these kids r making a nuisance in public places (like on the bus, my sch kena complained a lot of times and it's only right the sch does something)

I just feel very strongly abt this issue (parents' role) cos i can't stand it when parents try to blame the sch when things go wrong, when hello, did they as parents teach their kids the right things or were they too busy with their own lives and expect the sch to do all this for them?

crayonshinchan &amp; Taslyn : i know 1 sep is just 3 days away! but somehow to me it just haven sink in yet, still feels like like I still have time! haha, dunno why I still so cool about it. It's really weird lor, even when I was lying in the labour ward this morning doing the CTG, I was still so cool. I even wondered if that's where I gonna deliver? gonna see my child for first time? and then I was surprised I wasn't excited! haha

Flos: the hospital bag and steriliser is only in there from this morning. my car was in indoor carpark, so doubt there's any damage done by any heat. Would be driving and parking at Raffles Hospital itself, so just bring the steriliser along. Cos I learnt this from experienced mummies. When I visited a dear friend at TMC, they didn't bother to sterilise her pumps or bottles and she couldn't pump but only latch on. My objective of bringing the pump is to stimulate supply, just in case my boy don't latch on. As for bottles, yes the hospital will provide if you let them feed with formula. But in my case, if my boy can't latch on even with the help of nipple shield (i have inverted nipples), I can still pump and feed him. Only brought 2 bottles, cos I doubt I'll have overflowing supply for a 2 days stay. ;)

Mooncakes: I'm so glad I got that over and done with! I simply went for what I got every year, from Raffles Hotel for my in laws and parents since they're happy with it. I was very tempted to get Home Favourite's durian mooncake though! I get that and the RH's champagne truffle mooncakes every year, but I have to skip both this time round.

Shazz: The hospital usually provides the pump and steriliser. All hospital grade, plus the nurses may even sterilise the breastshields for you if need be. I brought my pump along last time but didn't use it at all.
My hospital is MT E. So you shd check if your hospital provides the same.

Flos: Aiyooo...I already said. Not mercury per se la. Of cos mercury is poisonous. It's Mercury-based preservative. Anyway, just asking sos my friend told me to double-check so thot would check with mums on this forum. I'm really not very hardworking as compared to someone like Shazz. hehe. My bloom shots? Not chosen yet...hehe

Storeberry &amp; Koras: Pls don't worry about a thing. You are already on the last leg of this journey! Your doc has seen you thru this far...so I'm sure if you didn't trust him, you would have dropped him. Jia You! We're looking forward to hearing your good news and seeing the pics of your darlings!

Crayon: Tell me abt it lor. HAve to sit thru meetings just cos some parent wrote to MOE. Sigh. I'm seeing Dr Sim trow! Can't wait. Was actually supposed to be Mon...aiyah...if I didn't change wld get to see you probably. You excited?

Taslyn: How the school handles it is really up to them. But I think still worth a try to give feedback. I've been meaning to do the same abt the kids from the sch nearby.Some of them really are pesky. Nearly got knocked over by one of them riding their bikes the other day. It's a 'popular' sch..the kind where face is q impt. So for this sch..think writing feedback will help. The schs I've been with take this kind of thing q seriously one.

janf: Yay! You going to get off from work next Mon! Rest rest rest!

isabelle: Are you a teacher too? I agree that schools always get blamed for not teaching kids...but actually shd be the parents. But sigh...this is SG lor. So many parents seem to shift onus to schs.

Sarahmay
the mercury in in combined jabs are there as preservatives, but the combined jabs nowadays no longer contains them. the concern was first raised i think in the MMR jabs. but nowadays they are safe.

if you are concerned, can take the separate jabs but poor bb lah..painful siah..kekekke...

there is also a difference between the 5-in-1 jabs and 6-in-1s. poly does not offer 6-in-1, only private GPs and pds. the 6-in-1s are better as bbs tend to suffer less fever after taking it.

mooncakes
o dear..i was telling sarahmay i must must must go get some mooncakes before i deliver...RH's champagne truffle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!my yearly must haves!!!!!!little alcohol mah, cannt eat also ah..kjekekekek

about pesky kids...

once had quite an interesting experience. will share with you mummies...

ok one fine afternoon, heard some kiddoes raising a rcukus downstairs. my block overlooks the carpark so i peered down to seesee looklook. and to my surprise saw a group of boys (in uni) beating up another student from the smae school!!!it started with some bullying then culminate to them hitting him and pushing them onto the carpark ground ...then i cant see much coz they were around and covering the action (

anyway, i rushed to call the school. the secretary (or some office personnel) picked up the phone and upon listening to my recount, immediately claimed cannot be their students. must be from the secondary school. then i said, hey from primary school lah, their tshirts are different..the she said o, in that case, i have to contact a teacher to go down, but they are all in teachers meeting, and no one to go down. so advise me to just leave it!!!!!

can you believe it...

then she added she will inform the teachers once they are done with the meeting but she doubted they will still be there...

shazz: OIC, I do understand breast shells do crack under tremendous heat wor!! I think I'll latch, latch and latch...Too much things to lug to the hospital. But according to some of the mommies, there is nothing to pump in the first 2 days...hmmm...

Hey, what is Home Favourite? I was quite curious with this bakery when I saw their booth at Taka this afternoon.

Raffles Hotel, Marriott, and St Regis are not participating this year. I find Fairmont's assorted snowskin mooncakes very nice

Ritz Carlton &amp; Conrad snowskins aren't that great. There is this jackfruit deepfried mooncake that Ritz Carlton was selling but as they didn't offer allow for sampling, I didn't buy in the end.

I already received the Raffles ones from my folks so I'm quite sick of the champagne truffle white chocolate snowskin flavour!! I nearly bought Royal China's mooncakes but didn't after I tried their samples. Royal China, though located inside Raffles Hotel, sells different mooncakes from the Raffles Hotel ones.

In the end, I bought the traditional ones from Hang Heung from HK Yuen Lung, because HH are specialists in making the white lotus paste, which is the main ingredient used in their 'lao po bing' (wives cakes). I find the crust, the egg yolk and white lotus paste very tasty. Of course, my taste bud is a bit diff lah.

There are others like TaiPan (I ate in HK last time and didn't like them), Maxim's (so-so), WingWah (too much hype) and KeeWah (same std as WingWah). You can try THE LEGENDARY HK Peninsula Hotel's mooncakes. Many Singaporeans overlooked their booth becos they dunno anything about HK Peninsula Hotel.

For durian lovers, there is Four Seasons booth as well...

Jaymickey: meanwhile, eat some mooncakes before you pop!! LOL

hello ladies,
a BIG THANK YOU to you all for the prayers for me and bb cadence. I never expected to have to deliver her at 34 weeks because my previous two pregnancies were relatively smooth going.

gynae came to check me at about 230 and from the CTG done in the morning, she determined that bb was having a consistent sleep pattern which was a great concern to her. therefore i was scheduled for the emergency c sec.

i only managed to see cadence juat now at 630pm and she is soooooo tiny. It's rather upsetting to see her on drip and tubed up but according to gynae and cadence's PD, she is actually doing very well coz she's able to breathe on her own now.

my bp is currently still a little on the high side so i'm still being closely monitored. c sec wound is hurting quite a bit and movement is slow. presently, i'm trying to express bm every three hours to feed bb coz she cannot latch directly, in case she chokes. the latest according to PD is she may have to stay until she reaches 36 weeks before she can be discharged. i cannot imagine the exorbitant bill here...

here's a picture of my little fighter: Cadence Faith Goh Kai3 Xuan2.

1673057.jpg

1673058.jpg

1673059.jpg

Sarah: So will u be letting your son take the 6-in-1, since u will be flying of to Macau pretty soon after your confinement?

lilboymom: Can lah...I've already digested the champagne truffles mooncakes from RH...it's very mild...

Today, I even bought 2 tins of Cova's Milano Expresso ground coffee, and Hot Chocolate powder. I really cannot tahan liao! The aroma of coffee...oooohhhh...I'll make a cuppa expresso for my hubby tomorrow morning, and I'll sniff the whiff in the meantime...

Can BF-ing moms drink coffee?

hey, alabone! u r strong! U can still log on and post Cadence's lovely pics for us to view. Thank you so much!!! She is most adorable...

What is your BP now? I"m terrified cos mine has shot up to 140/90 on Wed. I think I hv been too mangzang and excited watching the Olympics Games...

God bless!!!

mickey (bbmouse): i prefer to use my own pumps! ;)

Flos: I didn't bring any breastshells along. I know we probably won't have any milk, but I need all the help I can to stimulate milk supply, so no harm using the gentle manual pump to stimulate baby's suckling. hehe. hmmn, think hubby will bring up the steriliser when he comes home later, we're going out tomorrow, so may park the car under the sun.

SarahMay: me hardworking? haha ... you must be mistaken! haha ... i think when it comes to baby research etc, you're the Queen lah! hehe, you can google or wiki so well and provide all the links for your research to support your cause. perhaps when it comes to work, I do put in more effort, wat to do, me self-employed, no work no income. ;) that's why I'm still working till I pop!

alabone: Cadence is so adorable! Love that sharp nose! definitely looks like you! pretty girl! she's a fighter indeed! So glad she's breathing on her own. hope your BP comes down soon and your wound heals fast! *hugs*

Had cramps since late morning till evening when i'm over gynae's clinic.

Gynae do a VE. 1st time doing that.. So uncomfortable plus feel a little painful cos got mild cramps too.. Doc say not dilated yet..

Baby is 3.2 kg at about 37/38wks..

Hi mummies, i'm back from my check up. same with xuanting, my ger also never put on any weight for the past 2 weeks! my hubby scolded me so much!
so worried now. Dr told me to go TMC tml morning for growth scan!

Jasmine, ur baby 3.2kg at 37/38 weeks is so good! ENVY!! mine now is still ard 2.3kg at 36weeks1day which is same weight as 2 weeks ago. no increase at all!

T.T!! feel so sad now.

Jasmine (piggy_jas): poor thing! i experienced the same thing too! first VE check was painful cos cervix not ripe yet, but today when gynae checked again, it's ripening and not painful liao. Did your gynae mention anything about your cramps? mine only surfaced after she did the first painful VE. I'm still bleeding now from the 1st VE! but she said it's normal.

yan
my baby gal is on the bigger side le. haha..

shazz
1st time doing VE so nervous. Nope he didn't mention anything. Just say if i got cramps v intense and painful call him and admit hosp.

hi sri_leo, flos and shazz,
yes. to me, she's like the super cutest. you shd actually see her in real life, the pictures simply magnify her like 10 times... her head is so small it is the size of my palm...

nurse just came round to measure my bp. it is 160/107. super high right?? it kinda still fluctuates a lot. with medication it comes down. but i think i'm starting to be stressed over bm already so that could be one contributing factor...

flos,
you must learn to relax also. you wouldn't wanna be caught in my situation where your bp goes even higher. it's very very scary coz it can suddenly worsen. relaaaaaaaaaaxxxxxxxxx!!!

alabone: relax ... dun stress over bm, it would affect supply. just think of cute little cadence, am sure your MS will kick in soon!
jia you! you've done so well already!

shazz: i dunno how to explain that plastic part. It's the funnel or shell?!! The part that Crayon's ones' have cracked u know?

alabone: I know...what is the cause of high BP? Mine said it's just anxiety of visiting the doctor...But I had ample sleep before I visited my doctor and was most relaxed cos it was a rainy day on Wed...

little cadence is so sweet! hope you're feeling loads better, alabone. don't think about the bills for now – things turned out very well for both you and bb cadence in the end!

yan, i also had a growth scan done by dr tc chang on the same day and blood flow, oxygen supply, fetal heartbeat and liquor level etc all looked good, so still can't understand why bb grew so little. really hope everything will turn out well for bb in the end. do keep us updated about your scan tomorrow. all the best! hugs.

flos,
high bp is a pregnancy thing for certain pple. like myself, even while i was in the hospital, and doing NOTHING but SLEEP, my bp was like 160/100. It can only get worse and not better. some do get better with medication though. i think you shd look out too and make sure your gynae checks your bp and protein level. look out to see if you have got swellings too.

of coz what your dr said could be true. some pple do get the white coat syndrome, where they know their bp is to be checked and get more worried, thus increasing it.

xuanting,
thanks. am trying not to think abt bills. i know we can settle it but it's gonna be such a huge chunk... but the most impt thing is cadence's health!

xuanting: what is "liquor level"? I wonder whether my liquor level is high cos I ate some champagne mooncakes

what is your baby's weight? Mine is only 2.7kg at 37weeks3day. I checked Babycenter. It should be 6.25lbs now, but mine is only 5.9lbs after conversion.

Alabone: swellings? My swellings hv gone down since I started my ML last week...I can feel my feet bones now...As for protein level, I really dunno cos my gynae didn't tell me.

I think u shdn't think abt the bills now. U hv the angpow from govt, remember? Rest well and sleep tight
HUGS...

flos, not that kind of "liquor" la. this is the "lai-qua" that nurse chong has been talking about lor, the amniotic fluid. my bb's weight at 36wks is only 2.290kg. she put on a grand total of 90g in 2wks (from 2.2kg at 34wks). that's why i'm so concerned. they should be having growth spurts now, not stagnating... am trying to eat, sleep, eat, sleep now to see if there will be any improvement by next visit.

<font color="0077aa">Thanks for all the wishes, hopefully I am able to sleep tonight!

Sarah: Yah, I think all doctor wants the best for bb so I shall trust him. Hubby says I was the one who wanted tmr when Dr suggested tonight..
Thanks for the reassurance!

Alabone: Cadence is such a strong &amp; brave gal!! She will pull thru this! God Bless!!</font>

xuanting, my hubby just now almost shout at me outside the clinic. cos i told him today had a v late breakfast, then i didnt eat lunch. only had four biscuits and chocolates. before check up, he din comment on me no lunch. after come out from dr room, he keep questioning me and blaming me for drinking cold drinks and issit i anyhow eat.

Flos (flos): i know which one you mean, the funnel thing that cups the breast right? yah, that one may crack! hubby brought the steriliser back home already. But the cabin bag is still in the car.

storeberry: oops, sorry for throwing doubts about your gynae. Dun worry, he's not the one who's gonna do the job, it'll be our Abba father who is the one. You gynae is just a vessel ;) have a good rest!

isabella:
yeah i know wat u mean when parents throw blame to school. the reason i say i wanna write to school is coz i talked to the parents already, they blame school. i m worried that the ball flies down again from 14th floor the 2nd time or when i get out of lift so get school to gently remind them again.

yan:
aiyo.. it is not ur fault that your girl is not putting on weight wat? y ur hb scream at u?
fyi: somedays i only eat 1 meal a day coz i really got no appetite or that i puke evthing out. n i have been taking cold drinks like nobody business too. my girl is also on the big side. 2.7kg @ 35w. when she was 28w, she was 1.5kg. then i cut down on sweet stuff n soft drink, @ 32 weeks she was 2.2kg. wat matters is that bb is healthy, all organs are developed. weight can be put on later. i guess my ger is big coz her daddy is big bb (5kg) i was only 2.6kg.

alabone:
cadence is so cute.. dun worry, she will be well enuff to go home soon.

xuanting! OOOOPSS!!! I also dunno what Nurse Chong was talking abt..was she referring to "lochia"??? hahaha!

I hv been stuffing myself now. TOday, I had Tonkichi's katsu set for lunch...yesterday, I had a slab of beef at Angus House. I think I'll enhance my diet from now on. I've been skipping breakfast since I stopped working on 16 Aug. I've been waking up late at noon and only managed to eat bread and drink milk for lunch...I think it's causing my bb not to gain weight as fast as I had hoped. I'll now wake up earlier like I used to to eat three proper meals.

But you're not due yet, so dun worry so much. Actually, my gynae says if there is no complication, let bb stay in there till full-term :) why force it out early? But he did give me a deadline, by week 40 still no show, he'll intervene, due to my escalating BP.

Lilboymom was right abt the durian season ending...Went to cold storage today and find the durians dun look so delicious anymore.

yan: my DH also nag at me for drinking cold juices and cold milk.

Storeberry/koras: how is your Dr A going to deliver u two tomorrow? Back to back? Who first? that is quite exciting leh!