(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0077aa">Wow, the questions are coming fast &amp; fury!! Think let the dust settle 2st &amp; let us enjoy our pregnancy now since its already backdated. The mechanics we an always check later...

Another one more plus week, we will reach Sept liao!!!</font>

storeberry: no cannot!!! Those of us who work FT must settle certain HR stuffs now cos some of us are already on leave. Diff HR interpret and tweak the policies diffly and there must be mutual agreement between the expectant moms and her employer. Self-employed moms need not mind all these arrangements!!

Also,the daddy needs to check if he can hv 6 days of CCL for 2008 and another 6 days CCL come 2009 or not!!!

Some of them like Karen needs to know if she is now able to take her ML since the new ruling allows employees who work less than 90 days.

Rachel: only part-timers can pro-rate CCL. I'll ask my DH to check with his HR if he can take 6 days this yr and be given another 6 days the next yr.
http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/general/Marriage_and_Parenthood/Enhanced_Childcare_Leave.html

Oh yes...i am confused. So sorry just now couldnt find the details.

Paid Maternity Leave

Currently, working mothers are eligible for 12 weeks of maternity leave.

Maternity leave will be extended from 12 to 16 weeks for all Singaporean births on or after 1 Jan 2009.

For the first two confinements, the first eight weeks of maternity leave will continue to be employer-paid. The last eight weeks will be funded by the Government (capped at $20,000 per confinement, including CPF contributions). For the third and subsequent confinements, the full 16 weeks will be funded by the Government (capped at $40,000 per confinement, including CPF contributions).

The last 8 weeks of maternity leave can be taken flexibly over a period of 12 months from the date of the confinement if there is mutual agreement between the employer and employee.

A mother is eligible for the scheme if:

The child is born on or after 1 Jan 2009;
The child is a Singaporean;
The child’s parents are lawfully married;
AND

She is a full-time, part-time or fixed term contract employee who has worked for her employer for a continuous duration of at least 90 calendar days before the birth of her child;
OR

She is self-employed and has been engaged in a particular business / trade / profession for a continuous duration of at least 90 calendar days before the birth of her child; and she has lost income as a result of not engaging in her trade, business, profession or vocation during the maternity leave period.
In addition, from 1 Jan 2009, if she is

dismissed without sufficient cause within six months before the birth of her child; or
retrenched within the last three months of pregnancy,
her employer would still be required to pay her maternity benefits

Q&amp;A:

Can I take the 16 weeks of maternity leave flexibly?
Yes, where there is a mutual agreement with the employer, the last eight weeks (9th to 16th week) of maternity leave can be taken flexibly within 12 months of the delivery of your child (refer to example below). You should discuss with your employer and come to an agreement on the arrangement that will best suit the needs of both parties when you go on flexible maternity leave.
Example: Number of Days that can be taken flexibly
If Mrs Tan is on a five-day work week, the number of days of maternity leave that could be taken flexibly is computed as follows:
Number of working days per week x 8 weeks = 5 x 8 = 40 days
Thus, she could, after eight weeks of maternity leave,
a) return to work on a half-day scheme; or
b) be on a shortened work-week e.g. two or three days
until the flexible leave of 40 days is exhausted. Whichever form it takes, both the employer and employee must agree to the arrangement.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Mummies, I'm back at home. Paiseh took awhile to come online coz gotta settle back at home. Sneaked online now while my boy is sleeping after latching 1 side onli. He's a sleepy fella. Always gotta disturb him to wake him...

Anyway, my birth story as follows
:

1am: Waterbag burst while I was sleeping. Just my maternal instinct to wake up when I felt something flow thru my V. Tot it was discharge (felt really like discharge since I've been getting alot of it the past 2 wks or so). Feel my bed - Not wet! Feel my pants - Wah wet.. so decided to go toilet. As I was sitting on the toilet bowl peeing, juz felt this gush and uncontrollable. It juz kept flowing n flowing. N it felt really warm... So somehow knew my waterbag burst. Gotta sit there for awhile to let it finish flowing b4 standing up den woke hb.

1.30am - Reached TMC and placed on CTG. Waterbag still flowing (Impt: Please wear a pad on ur way to hospital else u will wet the car). Contractions were noted abt 3-4min apart. Dilation: 0.5cm only

1.30am - 11.30am - Nurse quite perplexed as to how come I still can tahan the contractions when they were abt 2-3min apart

11.30am - Cannot tahan anymore. Monitor showed pain level of abt 110. I was going to cry already so asked for epidural. Each time contractions came while waiting for it.. i was literally squeezing bed till got no strength. Dilation: 3 cm (Can't believe it. 10 hours and I only dilated 2.5cm. very demoralising)

1pm - Dilation: 6cm... Epidural is really well-known as happidural. Felt relieved after that and I could finally sleep and relax

1pm - 1.30pm - My V felt very painful each time the contractions came. Nurse say it's normal coz shows cervix is opening and bb descending down

1.30pm - felt the urge to shit during each contraction which was abt 1min. told nurse and I was so worried I would really shit.. but she say normal wor.. coz bb pressing there.. couldn't take it so told her to increase my epi dosage

2.30pm - finally they wheeled me in to delivery room. Was about 9.5cm le... Each contraction push 3 times wor...

1532hrs - Baby Max finally made his first cry
I teared too...

Long story hor
But to cut things short, he's finally OUT!!! muahahaha</font>

My doc told me tat i must fast b4 my c-sect but not sure must fast for how long... intially i scheduled my c-sect in the afternoon but after knwing tat i must fast, i changed to morning instead cos i dun think i can tahan going hungry till noon

Experienced mommies or those who r going for c-sect, did ur docs mentioned anything?

<font color="0000ff">Baby is home with me already. No jaundice but gotta observe.

His super cool hairstyle was styled by the nurses after bathing him, hehe

Am latching him on now and my nipples are damn painful already. Today breasts start to swell le and can feel the pain. While latching, the other one starts to leak already. It's still colostrum and I dun have enuff to fill my boy so gotta supplement with FM.

Waterbag bursting
Some of u were asking about it. I'm thankful I didn't wet my mattress else I will have to change the whole mattress coz there's this 'pungent' smell from the water in the waterbag.</font>

sasa: congrats n rest well during ur confinement. Baby Max is really adorable

btw, did u try applying nipple cream? does it help wz the pain?

sasa de mouse

Congrats to U! Read your story, you made me teared too.. so touching when you heard bb Max first cry..

God Bless

Sasa: Congrats to you! It really make me hurry to see my boy ...but still CAN'T now, not full term yet!

Flos/Lanolin: I have to clear the 6 days CCL before 1/1/09...Sure my boss black face..come back to work after 3 months still take the CCL..

Maternity Pad
the loop one good? or should buy the normal type har?

How about breast pad?

My HR's advise was the 1st 8 weeks is based on calendar days, so should be 8x7=56days. if the 3rd month is taken together, then it will also be based on calendar days. It will only be based on working days if u come back to work after ur 2nd month..

<font color="0077aa">Flos: Ok Ok, pls go &amp; settle it with HR then... Haha.. Relax la!!! Just thought that mummies are abit panicky now, not gd for bb!

Blackberry: The 6days CCL is not for us rite? Cos by the time we give birth, this yr our bb is not going for CC...

Sasa: Glad that everything is fine for you &amp; bb Max!! Take care!</font>

child care leave
think we can use it simply to spend time with our child; doesn't matter if child is in child care as long as it's below 7.

Alamak, CCL is granted to you regardless of whether your child goes to Childcare centre.

It can be used to spend quality time with your bb, bring them for innoculation etc etc. Just have to note that it is to be used within the calendar year and cannot be brought forward (unlike your own annual leave, so use this first!!)

sasa, is your boy already crying for more milk? wow, i thought they won't be v hungry the first few days. are you storing the colostrum from the other breast for a later feed?

Storeberry: The 6 days CCL per year is for parents with children under 7yrs old, regardless of whether the child is attending any child care centre or not.

milky (lyn06)
ur company is right..
govt is still doing the paperworks for this law to be mandatory..
so from now till OCT 08, it will be subject to ur company's approval
for the extra 1 mth leave and childcare leave..
hope ur company will be nice and approve it.. =)

Childcare Leave
quoting from MOM,
"Working parents will get 6 days of paid childcare leave if one has a child aged below 7 years old.."
therefore, ur child don't have to be in CC in order for u to claim for the leave..

xuanting: I also have same thinking with you, on the class, the colostrum can last long and baby won't be hunry for the first 3 day?

Lok: not sure my boss allow to take 6 days for this year or not...as per Milky link, is only encourage!

So envy those of you who are already on maternity leave. I am still desperately looking for someone to replace me while I am on maternity leave and LOA. If any of you knows of anyone who is jobless and don't mind a 6-month temp job, please pm me the resume, ok? If possible, interview on Monday and can start work as early as next week! Haiz... I'm that desperate now!

blackberry, xuanting...
the bb has a need to suckle as part of their reflex. they can get hungry when milk doesnt come in, but they wont die from it. coz they have a lot of fats stored for this period.

sasa
jia you on bfg. just keep latching on now when the bb cries. after a while, it wont hurt anymore. check your latch is ok...

update on alabone
pray for her. she was warded yesterday (i was too busy to come online) at mt e under observation. high bld again...dunno if she is comfortable if i say too much but just keep her in your prayers...

yes.. i chk wif MOM too... it is nt compulsory at all for co. to extend the 4th mth maternity leaves &amp; 6 days childcare leaves wef 17th Aug..

luckily my mgt jz agreed to extend the 4th maternity mth to me since im the oni preggy staff.. but the 6 day childcare leaves, my co. will oni implement from 1st jan 09 onwards cos it actualy effects the whole co. wif kids less than 7 yrs old mummies!! Phew...

anyway... my girl has engaged herself since week35 plus.. im gng into week 37 nw.. so gynae estimated can happen anytime nw till my edd 17th sept..

<font color="0077aa">l'l CY (lilboymum): Thanks for the update, will pray for Alabone. Hope she &amp; bb will be fine!

Milky: Thats good news!37 weeks is consider full term liao.</font>

juz talked to my mum n sis abt the planning to induce..
all don't agreed with my idea.. say wat if doc got advise den can..
my plan for induction is juz 3 days earlier than my EDD..
spoil my mood n plan.. =(

milky (lyn06)
but if the official law is out on OCT 08, ur company will have to give u the 6 days childcare leave for this year..

karen.. oh.. then i gotta inform my HR on the official law out in Oct 08...

blackberryB, tik u gotta ask ur co.
for me, i anxiously check wif my HR jz nw(since my maternity leave starts on 25th aug, &amp; today is my last wrking day!) and they discussed wif mgt and finaly said they agreed to grant me the 4 mth then..

Milky: I'm not work at big co. is family business..sometime even my boss agree, but can come back to change tomorrow if the wife not agree .. sigh! so fast you take your ML ?

yup...wanna rest soon @home.. cos cnt stand the pain @pelvis, back etc.. since gynae aso est dat i may deliver early ard 1st week sept..

everyone is so eager to see their babies..me too!

Now, feeling more pre-labour symptoms. swellings, joint pains, pelvic pressure, and constantly going to toilet.
hope these going to end soon!

I hope to see my baby end of next week! so exciting. next week, i will be working from home. looking forward to that.

gonna pack my house for baby. haven't packed my hospital bag too! ;P

me back frm checkup.. bb 2.7kg at 37wks.. i can barely walk now.. really so xingku.. yday frm kovan mrt walk to home, i rested awhile at hawker ctr b4 cont my journey home.. buay tahan.. the pelvic area damn pain.. 1wk more of work n im on ML frm 1sep onwards..

haah my fren whos due in dec most tui liao when govt wana implement it frm 01-01-2009 n shes one of those who marched dwn to see AMK MP on wed nite.. shes most happy now..

Hi,Ladies

Have been MIA for awhile cos I delivered last Friday 15 August 2008, at 36 weeks.. Woke up with wet panty and thought it might be a leak only so tot of going back to sleep cos it was only 6.30am.. but hubby insisted we called the emergency line.. I tot "OK lor.. might just be a false alarm..." but thenGynae called back 15minutes later and asked me to admit hospital immediately after shower..

So, I took my shower and wash my hair for the last time (I have not washed my hair till now and only manage to wipe my body once a day).. hahaha...

I admited at Mount A at 7am, gynae came at abt 8plus and checked me and she announced " YOU ARE GOING TO DELIVER TODAY!!!!".. My goodness!! Hubby and myself are shocked cos baby is only 36weeks.. so much of the conditioning of getting the baby to listen to me to comein sept.. it din work eventually.. so I happily get my hubby to go organise my hospital bag while I waited with drip on and the injection to nuture the baby lung..

Then come the horror... I was in contraction every 1 min.. from 9am oneards till 3pm.. and guess wat??? My dilation was only 4cm at 3pm.. I was in pain as I watched Li Jiawei got beaten on the TV for the olympic games... and nurse came in to stick her finger in every few hours to few the dilation and goodness me!!! It is PAINFUL... at the end, I took epidural at 5.45pm given that dialation is too slow and my water bag has already burst with fluid coming out so frequent.. And it was a breeze after that, I mean the contraction pain was much reduced..

Then about 7pm, I was fully diated but my gynae said she would deliver the baby at 10pm instead.. i was like "huh"???? but have not much energy to ask y cos my last meal given by MountA before the removing the bowel is fish porridge and it was around 7am plus..

So waited and waited and finally two nurses came in to ask me to practice pushing.. hahaha.. so I have my legs wide open.. the private part is no longer private with nurses walking up and down in the delivery suite..hubby was tired too...I was like really practising.. so when gynae came, I was already out of breath.. All shouted "PUSH PUSH PUSH".. and out it comes - Baby Jayden at 11.05pm, 16 hours of labour...

Ladies, Jia You!!!!!

By the way, when is the extended maternity leave and baby bonus taking effect?? 17 August??? Sigh.. my baby came 2 days earlier than the effective date.....

Thanks, Sri Leo, Shazz and Xuanting..

Sri Leo - Dun worry.. things wil be fine.. by then you will be very confused and before you know it, its over.. and dun be stubborn, if you need epidural, go for it..

Shazz - Baby is 3190grams and 49cm in length.. head circumference is 34.. how abt yours?

Xuanting - I slept in hospital cos really physcially drained.. but woke up every 2-3hours to bf baby.. wan to latch him on in the first 6hours. then after discharge, did not manage to sleep well cos CL was not here yet when we were discharged so both hubby and myself gar-ran-gar-bo a bit.. and I woke up every 2 hours to feed baby.. can't sleep actually also bec of the heat..and also have been walking up and down, just not me to lie there on the bed.. but thankfully, I have a good CL.. I am doing my massage too..

Yes, I am still around!!!!

Totally no labour signs at all!!!!
Sigh, looks like I have to go through the destiny of induced labour liao...

congrats to Lc! doctor came to check on me in the evening. tomorrow have to go for second detailed scan. check if baby is growing. doctor says if no improvement she'll have to deliver me by end of this month. won't know if i can be discharged yet. hope my bp gets better. baby is really too small... very worried.

congrats LC! So you've the first one in our thread to pop!!!

sasa de mouse: u rem all the hour-by-hour details? A stupid question: were u wearing a watch or there is a clock in the labour ward? Did LC rush down to attend to you in the middle of the night or he just ask the nurse to continue check your cervix until the following day?

congrats LC! you did great!

sasa
remember to check that baby is latching correctly and either apply the nipple cream or just smear some breastmilk and allow to air dry naturally so that you can avoid sore or cracked nipples.

alabone
hang in there! we are praying for you and bb