(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi mummies! If I remember correctly, Jen-kate is the first to deliver! =) Jia you!

#1 - Jen-Kate 19/08 (her c-sec is today)
#2 - sunray 20/08
#3 - skinny_pig or Bigtoes on 30/08
#4 - ?????

So exciting... Sept mummies are starting to pop... can start queuing already.

Hi koras.. mine is at Gleneagles.. though I went for Mrs Wong's class
Are you at 36 wks too?

Ava!!!! sigh i know where you are coming from la.. but but the last 2004 measures were backdated to 1 Aug u'know? In a way that line of reasoning sort did not apply then! Mabbe they 'wisened up'! Then again the 5th child policy 'every child matters' also goes against that grain..

Sorry skinnypig.. had the impression yours is pretty soon! Hang in there!

Mei - exciting hor.. but quite scary also! hmm.. dunno how to explain...

Anyway, just to check, is it necc to buy a head pillow for newborns?

Springz,

It's suppose to be this sat, my EDD one lor.. But who knows? My little one is too comfortable in my tummy liao.. Totally no signs of labour at all!!!

Have heard from a credible source that the start date for the longer maternity leave is on 1 Jan 09, not immediately. Guess they have to cut off somewhere.

<font color="0077aa">Sunrays is inducing tonight! Yah I remembered Limay is end of the mth...

Well, pls don't keep us mummies in suspense &amp; let us know when will it take effect! But I have a strong feeling it will be in time for us.. Kekek... Was happy for the 4 mths ML, at least for us self-employed we will get additional one more mth pay!

Jessi: I have been feeling more tired &amp; am afraid that I will be a lazy mummy when my bb comes out! I need my sleep! Haha!

Goldfish: Can consume rice wine, the wine would have been disslove by the time its cook. But to play safe, you can BF your bb 1st before eating then by 3hours later when you BF ur bb again, the wine is no longer in the system. (This is also the same if you take DOM.)</font>

shazz

think u r right. jen kate did mention she is having her c-sec today.

skinny_pig
jia-you! how r your rashes?

unpaid infant care leave
my hubby was also scratching his head and like, what's the point then? think that quite a few dads were disappointed that the paternity leave was not extended. it really seems that the burden still falls on mummies and THEN because they want us back in the workforce, they beef up the childcare cantres. cheh.

SnowWhite, Wong speech not today huh? Tomorrow liao huh? Gosh.. another day of waiting...

Yolk Sac, ur credible source is from those govt agencies issit? :p In that csae, we can start to dash our hopes liao lo... haiz... maybe like wat some of u all mentioend earlier on, let's go SPEAKERS' CORNER liao and voice out liao :p

Hello Mummies!!!

Been MIA for a few days but so much to catch up on.

POP FEST!
Yes! Isn't it exciting that the time for us to be popping and meeting and greeting our little blessings is nearing? All the best to Jen Kate, Bigtoes, Sunrays, Kym who are popping!

Have a really smooth and enjoyable delivery! update us with your newfound experience!

GBS TEST
Millie - Grp B Strep is a bacteria found in the vaginal passage of healthy sexually active women. http://www.childbirth.org/articles/GBS.html
Normally done during 35-37w. However, in some countries it is not mandated. Anw in SG we are a bit more the 'play safe' type so think most docs rec testing.

I got my Grp B Strep (GBS) test results back. I got some GBS infection so now on antibiotics. Have to be antibiotics drip during delivery too. So just pray that this course I'm taking now will KILL the GBS before delivery so bb will be healthy. Anyone here who has GBS too???

So sian to know I have. But never mind la...just take meds lor tho i read from the leaflet that my doc gave me that the antenatal meds aren't rec. Not sure why she prescribed them to me still. Oh well.

Crayonshin: Ps are all like that one la. They like to keep asking WHY ? WHY? WHY? when you take leave. If the P isn't a family person, it makes it harder lor.

Alabone: Have you fixed your studio loft appt yet? mine's this fri. v excited!

PM RALLY: I have yet to read all the details yet. But unpaid infant care leave is really a big DUH to me too. Anw sounds like the new incentives aren't really tt great.
BABY'S WEIGHT: I was in shock yday after my scan. I gained 1.4 kg in 2 wks!!! Bb grew 700 g and is now 2.9kg at 35 w 5 days!!! Yikes! I have to eat MUCH MUCH LESS. Think my gynae has nothing left to say to me except cut down carbo.

springz,
there is no need to get pillow for newborns. they are NOT supposed to use pillow. if you want, you can fold the cloth nappy and put it under their head. that's the most their head should be raised.

flos,
it's so dampening. hb and i were listening intently to what he was saying when he talked abt changing nappies and all... and then he totally didn't mention abt paternity leave. worse thing now is maternity leave extension is only starting next year...

SarahMay
So no more house arrest for you? goodie goodie? And i think baby weight went up cos of more rest lah. I should ask my doc about GBS tomorrow...

Springz
True lah...For all you SIngaporean mummies, I hope it's backdated to 1 Aug too

SarahMay, I have GBS too. Was kinda surprised to hear that but apparently, according to my gynae, it's not unusual. In fact, quite common for women to have GBS. What is the meds that your gynae prescribed to you that is not rec? My gynae prescribed antibiotics for me too, but no leaflet for me so not sure if we are having the same type.

Hi Alabone! Tks so much! Okies, yay don't have to worry about that or go shop for it oredi! (Getting too tired to walk around anyway). Totally agree abt dampener.. listen so intently and nothing much to cheer abt~

Tks Ava!

Wingkei - Yup heard it is common and after antibiotics it'll just go away.. safe for baby to come out.. my sis had that too.. all ok!

<font color="aa00aa">Hi all..
just an update, i'm getting induced today &amp; popping tmr! Juz had the 1st dosage inserted into the birth canal..now am at home trying to make sure i got everything prepared, later at 4pm will return to TMC for 2nd pill to be inserted, aft that the real painful contractions will kick in and my gynae told me to admit at 11pm so that it's considered the nxt day's charges. According to my gynae, if i dilate fast enough, I may pop around 6am tmr...so tonite will be a super long night for me!! Will update u ladies once i get the chance!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Hi dseptkon: thanks for the article! My bb is not in a breech breech position, his head is on my left side of the tummy, maybe that's why my gynae says cannot do breech delivery...

Yah so exciting that sept mummies are popping soon!! Update us with your birth stories! :p

Hi Sarah: Any good buys at Taka?

wow! few mummies here popping soon! feel so excited for u all cos i will be one of the last few to pop. still have to wait and wait...

sunrays, jia you! all the best to the arrival of baby charlotte

spring - mine this week 37 weeks le. gynae say anytime from today onwards will give birth le.. scared sia cox my hubby working mi alone at home. so this weekend then go over my parent hse stay le. now adays finger sore till pain when bending my finger le duno isnt normal sia. leg also start to cramp more often le

storeberry - mi also very very tired sia.. can sleep the whole day without eating ler..

sunrays - endure

Go sunrays go!!!!
Pretty mummy, praying for fast and smooth delivery for you
Btw, you do know that I have some pics of you in my blog right? haha..

Sunrays
Rest well and v soon u can see Charlotte!
Share with us yr birth story after tat.
Hope the hosp is not too crowded on 20082008

National Day Rally
If the effective date is gonna be Jan 09
That means we will also miss the Baby Bonus increment as well? How abt mothers with kids less than 7 yrs old now... are they eligible for 6 days child care leaves too? Or they are going to benefit those who pop aft 1 Jan09??

koras jia you too!! Whoa we are all like running our own Olympics!!!

Dun worry, with your parents around much better.. i'm not familiar with soreness in fingers but Mrs Wong taught us this exercise of using other hand to pull each finger upwards...

Ava: No more house arrest! Went out shopping w a vengeance yday after my check-up! hahaahh! Must exercise more. Make up for the last 3 weeks. Hehe. How are the twins doing?

Wingkei: it is a medical leaflet explaining gbs. On it, it states that the antenatal antibiotics treatment not rec as it doesn't necc prevent the GBS from recurring at birth. Hence the IV antibiotics drip is rec treatment. however, my doc still put me on antibiotics pills.

Springz: Thanks for the reassuring info abt how GBS isn't tt big a deal. Hehe.

Storeberry: Are you less worried abt bb position? Just kieep praying ya. Oh! You mean, bb is in cephalic/oblique lie? his head at an angle, but is actually down? pls also pray for my bb to be in right position too!

TAKA BABY FAIR:
It's my first fair in SG since I missed out all the others so not sure if I'm a good benchmark. However, I saw some wooden cots that looked good and were marked down quite a bit. Cheeky Bon Bon stuff were on 20% off. Got playpen mattress covers for 6.90. Thot that was cheap.

TOYS: Not much. Only, Sassy, Baby Gund, some Jap Disney stuff, Fisherprice stuff on sale.

FEEDING STUFF: Usual Pigeon, Medela, Avent. Didn't particular notice any good buys cos wasn't really in need of anything in this section.

CLOTHES: Pigeon separates seling 3 for $10. Thot that is pretty good as their material seems better than the regular 4 for $10 stuff they sell at neighbourhood shops.

dsepkton,
My rashes are better, most of them have already 'dried' up, left with only the ugly scars...
But I would still scratch them subconsciously when I sleep every night!!!

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: I am better today, yesterday was quite bad after the check up, I panicked! Dr told me my bb's head is on my left side so I kept feeling his head there. I am not sure if its down or up cos he moves here &amp; there. Yes! Will pray for you as well!

How much was the wooden cots? And do you remember if it can be converted to toddler bed? :p</font>

QUESTION ABT DOC VISIT: I'm 35w5d now. But my next appt is only in 2 wks time. Is that the norm? Thot I should be seeing doc on wkly basis already by the time i hit 36 wks?

koras, me too. sometimes i rather sleep than eat. but sleeping also can't sleep well. cos can only sleep on the side and i will feel pain after awhile. don't know is it consider hip area that's painful.

Sunrays,

Is your baby's head fully engaged for induction?

I would most likely be going for my induced delivery on 30/08. I am very concerned cos my baby's head only half-engaged. Even if induced, it would be a long process...

hi sarahmay,
so nice to hear from you. glad you're better. i have not made appt yet you know? so lazy. think i shall call again and make appt soon then. i do really wanna take those preg pics. my last chance.

taka bb fair got mark down ah?? then i shall go down again. still got some things that i need to get.

springz,
no prob. now you can stay home to rest.

sunrays,
jia you jia you!!! must upload bb charlotte's pic for us ya??

hihi mummies ,
Sunrays ,
jia you ! bb will be out in no time .. keke .. no worries ...

The speech is today .... keke . will read the night news after my visit to gynae today ..

Cloud ,
your ML starts today ?? My ML will start tomorrow at 36 weeks after that can carry on with the 6 days child care leave ...cos i have not taken the 2 days yet .... Your EDD is when?
16th Sep ?

On the Taka Baby Fair - I bought a Graco playpen (the basic one without music/ vibration) at $169. Usual is $199.

Then over the weekend, I saw the same one at Robinsons, usual also $199 but got storewide 20%, i.e. $159, and with Robinsons card (additional 5% off) meant it was cheaper la!!! But few bucks only...

For toys - I bought most of mine at the Toys Warehouse sale for Fisherprice several months ago.. was about 40% - 50% off (but dusty and torn boxes.. so last few weeks washing like crazy!!)

For Mustela stuff like stretch mark creams and diaper creams - Expo Baby Fair much much cheaper. (anyway Taka didn't have). I bought my SM creams there at $39 each, usual is $50 I think.. horror of horrors hubby told me I got SM on butt cheeks!! So much for diligently smearing on tummy, hips and upper thighs.. (ok la those areas really don't have

<font color="aa00aa">jessi/koras/mrs yap/alabone/qiuling
Thanks!! I hope bb is cooperative when labour starts...dun let me have a hard time!!

Springz
Hey!! I dun have yr blog...u shld PM me the link!! I emailed some time back but didnt receive any reply from u leh...

Skinnypig
My bb wasn't engaged AT ALL 2 weeks ago..then i was told to do more squats, walking to help her engage..it works!! She is fully engaged when I went for my week 37.5 chkup yst. For my case, I decided to induce her cos she is getting abit too big, as of yst, her weight alrdy 3.4kg...</font>

jessi - u still able to sleep on the side.mine is like whenever i want to lie on my side can feel my baby also turn sia. cox when i feel my tummy is hard.

sarahmay, after i saw dr sim at 35wks, she scheduled the next appt at 37wks. 2 wks apart. Now, i'll be going for weekly visits. I guess that's her norm sop ba

sunrays, good luck! Waiting to hear your birth story soon!

Sunrays,
I wanted to do more squats, but I have serious water retention - legs are super swollen and have problem squatting.
Guess I got to be more diligent and walk around more.

Sunrays -- hee PMed you!!!

Squats and walking? Yup heard more activity helps with smooth delivery.. but I get so tired and walk abit stomach always tightens and hardens.. not sure if should try that method..

Dear mummies - are all of you on leave already? I am so undecided.. still driving to work everyday.. but thinking of teleworking from Sep onwards, i.e. 37.5 wks onwards.. most ppl i know worked all the way lei, not sure what to do if I stay at home too.. hee..

Hi All, i think Sasa will be the 1st to pop.. she sms-ed me last night that her waterbag burst.. so i guess she is working hard in the delivery suite now.. or probably have given birth.. Let's pray for a smooth delivery for her.. and also for Sunrays, she probably gonna have a long night tonight..

God Bless

Qiuling and cloud, I have not taken my ML leave yet!! Still kind of in a dilemma cos of the hols and plus I dont wish to go back for meetings during the first wk of the june hols!! hahaha... but if the 16wks is implemented with immd effect, I'll go apply immediately! haa...

Maternity leave
I would be starting my ML from this thurs onwards, since my EDD is on 23/08.
Getting more and more tired as each day passes by.
Might as well have a good rest before hardships arrive

haha! sasa overtake without signalling! jia you sasa! =) you've fought really well to keep max in your tummy! can't wait to see his pictures and hear your birth story!

Jiayou all the mummies going to pop!

Meanwhile, I am bored to tears at home as I wind down from a crazy week at work last week, and am in major nesting mode, but no energy to do too much at a time...ARGHHH!

Sarah,
Wow ur bb's weight is quite good, which is what you've been hoping for right ?

Jen Kate/Sunrays/Bigtoes,
So fast !!! All of u will be seeing your bb soon and enjoying a new phrase of life

Gambade....wish you all have a smooth delivery...take care and do continue to update us ya if you have the time .

SnowWhite!!!
U really ultimate leh!!!!!!
Email them?? I am surprised they replied u...
Anyway... tonight we shall know... but dun bear too much hope to avoid great disappointment. God's Will...

Charlotte
I also cant wait to see Charlotte's pic and compare it against the 4D scan video.. She was so cute sucking her fingers.. remember to ask her if those fingers taste nice... hehe

Shazz...
After seeing Charlotte's pic, u can hv a good benchmark to know if the 4D scan really looks like the bb in real. Eamon is so chubby and cute

SarahMay
Next visit to gynae is tomorrow. hope they are growing well, as was disappointed with weight gain last visit...well not disappointed, but really want them to reach 2.5kg AT LEAST before birth...which may be next week for all I know. if they are 2.3-2.4 tomorrow then will be on track for that!

Meet up: Those on ML/not working
Wanna meet up tomorrow as I wanna hang out in town a bit after my morning gynae visit and use up my Robinsons vouchers?? Any takers?? Coffee/brunch anyone in Centrepoint/Raffles City??

Yeah...dun hope too much.Its God's Will now...
so sad if we cant enjoy it...

So many said the speech is tonite???Anyway, not much of a difference...wat they emailed me is they will post the details by 1pm tmr...