(2008/09) Sep 2008

Bigtoes
I think what u said about growing up in M'sia is right. My mom's place with the doggies is in Penang and at least 15 kids have grown up in my grannie's place over the past 40+ years as my granny and two unmarried aunties were "foster moms" to my uncles' and aunts' kids since birth.

Flos
Yay...ML too...feel like going out to get stuff done, like pedi/hair/errands, but no eneergy to go by myself and hb has the car these few days as he has shoots. SIGH...ended up buying groceries online from Cold Storage so I can hve my sausages, yoghurt, and other stuff i can't get from neighbourhood shops

Just wondering if i'll get calls from the office for work stuff

thanks, sunnysunny. dh and i have agreed that while our dear dogter will continue to roam the house at her pleasure, all interaction with the baby must be supervised till baby grows much bigger. she will also continue sleeping with us in our bedroom.

bigtoes, it's not me going for a c-section next week.

bacon&eggs, the materials i have read online suggest that it's good for us (the mommy) to meet the dog first when we get home from hosp, and to spend a considerable amt of time sayang-ing the dog before introducing the baby (hubby to carry baby). having the dog get used to the bb's smell several days before it comes home also helps (hanky/an item of clothing from hosp). has yours ever met an infant? mine hasn't although it's met several toddlers over 12mths. it seems pretty gentle with them and curious about them. there's really no telling how either will react to the other and i'm keeping my fingers crossed for both to love the other.

wingkei, i'm not concerned about the health issues of having a bb grow up with a dog. some people i know did it without any of their kids suffering from asthma or other respiratory problems. i believe it's important to keep the dog's vaccines up to date and help it maintain a good level of personal hygiene. it's also useful if the dog is more or less trained and responds reliably to basic commands like sit, stay, no or drop.

mei & jaymickey, they say this pang-sai feeling is good indication that bb is coming soon wor. wonder how true... are you guys more or less prepared?

xuanting,
planned to cuddle and play with my furkid whenever i get home before i shower and attend to bb. This way, furkid wont feel left out. She will also be sleeping in our bedroom like before. Dont think she is good with kids..but will try my best and hope for the best that they will get along..cos i dont want to give up my furkid and we wont.

flos,
I am into my 4th bottle of clarin oil and intend to apply till after birth..i think it is recommended that we continue to apply after birth for 6 mths?

bacon&egg, my mil is also worried that my dogter will feel less loved and begin to get jealous. am making a list of things to buy for her to help her cope better. one of the articles said to get a pretend baby and carry it round the room, rocking and cooing as you would a real one, to get furkid used to you carrying something else so often. also read abt suggestions to play sounds of bb crying from now but i don't think i will resort to that.

wingkei, mine is also a poodle ;-) and you shd know they do not shed. So its oredi a plus point. Just that, they can get really barky!

bigtoes, ooooh.. gynae explained abt the birth canal hence I assumed that its not so much applicable for csection deliveries.. hee

Flos, I have almost the same stuff dumped into the e bag like urs.. So i guess we're pretty ready to go? hahaa

Brazilian waxing rite, Flos, I was thinking it might be too late now and we cld be super sensitive down there. And the most painful pull will be the big patch of hair in the "middle". So I guess I'll ask my waxer to totally skip that part and just do the sides and clean up watever stray hair!

I drool as well! And my hb says it cld be cos of the position we're slping in. We're all slping on our sides now mah.. so cannot control..

storeberry, try coaxing baby? See if it works ;-) Miracles do happen. Have faith.

xuanting and bacon&eggs, if doggy is going to be staying with baby, really must do a proper job of allowing doggy to get used to the baby. We did not do a good job of it and prob thats the reason why our empress dowager gets super jealous and starts barking NON STOP whenever we pick up any of the kids!

After 4kids, its getting better now but still barky!haha.. cannot stand her at times.

wingkei & bacon&eggs, what colours are your poodles?

bacon&eggs, i think it looks really ridiculous too! nonetheless, i tried borrowing a doll from my mom last weekend for the same purpose, and she refused, saying that my dogter will shred her precious doll to bits! and o dear, suddenly remember something: my dog hates it whenever i pick up another dog and will jump and nip at it. i think that's something i need to work on.

crayonshinchan, isn't this your first bb??? you don't already have four, right?

flos:
i oso drool when i sleep now... v weird.. never happen last time ley..

grace:
u got any preference for any characters? or just looking ard? i dunno any books though.. for my ger we have decided the name... but hb still wants to get his "master" to calculate n choose name lar

Flos
Yup, I drool now & never mind about being paisey.. only hubby see.. lol.

xuanting
Nooo... not yet ready.. want to tahan till baby is at least full term. My target is 1st week of September although EDD is 12 Sept.

storeberry
Don't stress... some babies do turn at the last minute.. but just to get prepared that he doesn't, what your doctor recommend would be the safest option, he knows best. What's most important is the well being of you & baby.

xuanting,
mine is a mini schnauzer (salt n pepper). Mine also cannot tahan whenever another dog comes close to me..v possessive.

Grace,
If i remember, its Best Chinese Name (author name cant remember off hand) you can go down and take a look, they have about 5-6 books on choosing names..there you can decide which book works for you.

crayon,
any suggestion other than holding a doll?

bacon&egg, me ish no expert at this. But what I know is, let doggie smell baby's poo poo and urine to get him used to the smell. Thats prior to baby coming home lar.
As for when baby is back, try not to "alienate" dog from baby. Doggie might feel confused as to why u are pushing him away from the baby.
When you come back from the hosp, doggie will def be sniffing away, esp at the baby. As much as we want to protect our nb, we have to try and let doggie sniff for a few seconds lor.
Involve the dog more often so he doesnt feel left out.
We did not do all these and it resulted in a barky and jealous dog.

Taslyn:
My hubby likes the character 恩, so my girl last name will be 恩. Asking a "master" to choose name for her girl is a no no for him. Left few more weeks before my girl pops, yet we still so clueless.

flos:
I also drool when I sleep, not only that, I snore too. OMG, what happen to me!!

mei, me too. i hope mine will stay inside the whole 40wks.

storeberry, there are exercises that you can do to help your bb turn, i think. try googling them?

bacon&eggs, do you strip or clip your schnauzer? no shedding problems with schnauzers right?

crayonshinchan, your nephews and nieces live with you? your bb will have lots of playmates then.

xuanting,
i do the normal cutting with razor (i think that what they call it). No problem with shedding unless we comb her, she doesnt shed.

xuanting, they don live with me but we're owas gathered at my bro's place where the dog and my parents are. And its owas like a mini childcare centre! ahha

bacon&egg:
schnauzers will shed when combing meh? i tot it is the loose fur that we will be combing out? my 2 monkeys dun shed even when i comb them de woh...

taslyn,
u r rite, shed is not the word..fur will come back as i comb..but occasionally i do see her fur on my dining table..strands of it..but no a problem cos i send her to groom/shower weekly

Dear LOk/Ava
Thanks for the advices! We will check it out once again. Good to know that u all are Medela user. I was abit spooked out by the medela pump. ABit chimz to use.. will try to figure out how to use and if dunno, will ask u gals 

Storeberry
Oh gosh.. breech delivery? :S
Bt full term delivery is at week 40 rite? There is still ample time for little berry to turn leh… how come gynea so decisive on C-section.
Bt I know some of my colleagues told me some gynea will keep persuade pple to do c-section cos they can charge at a higher fee wor.. bt sometimes oso beri hard to say leh…

DISPOSABLE UNDIES
Are undies provided by hospital? Anyone knows? I bot a packet of MATERNITY DISPOSABLE undies bt nt sure whether will it be loose loose or not after delivery….

bacon&eggs/taslyn: such a blessing when our dogs don't shed right. a lot less housework to do.

disposable undies
these are usually made looser to fit more sizes. think looser is better than too tight. we'll still be fat-ish after delivery so more room is good for us lah.

xuanting/bacon&egg:
yesh it is such a blessing that they dun shed.. else i will be pulling my hair out... tat is one reason y i chose to keep schnauzers... hehe... i cannot imagine cleaning after the dog evday for their fur... had bad experience with JRT shedding

disposable undies:
i think it is better coz it's been so long since our last menses?? lol... wat if pad leaks n all... :p

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>
I don't think it's advisable to attempt breech delivery. My 1st born was in breech position and I deliver her via c-section. Don't worry to much abt c-section, you'll recover fine.

Always tell urself, what matters is mother &amp; baby is safe throughout the delivery. The process (natural or c-section) is not really that important.

By insisting breech delivery or delaying c-section, you are actually risking the safety of your child and urself.

My gynae explained to me, if in the event your waterbag breaks, there is a chance or umbilical cord being washed out through ur cervix. If that happens, your child can die. I'm sure that is not what you want.

Not scaring you, but this is a fact. So I wld think it's better that u confirm a c-section date soon ok?

All the best!

<font color="0077aa">Thanks mummies for ur concern! I will continue praying that bb will head down soon, just that today when I heard gynae's advice, it came as a shock to me. Anything can happen from now till 40weeks, will choose a date 1st but believing that bb will turn.

Goldfish: I don't think hopsital provide disposable undies but I know they provide maternity pads but are super ex! So most mummies will bring their pads to hospitals.</font>

hi mummies..
Well at least most of u are drooling only. Hubby commented that im snoring recently!! Iyyeeeerrr.. So paiseh... Heheheeh... ;p
For those already on ML, enjoy and rest well. I still have 3 wks to go till my last day of werk!

goldfish,
i bought my disposable undies already. it's cloth kind so quite comfy. after we deliver, we will look abt 4-5mths preggie so i think still can fit.

storeberry,
yeah. continue to have faith. there are cases of bb turning later. but if not, as long as bb is out safely and healthily, it's good. don't be too worried ok?

Stumbled onto this website… http://www.lifesmoments.com.sg/our-1st-month-packages.html?page=shop.browse&amp;category_id=15
Quite cool wor.. bt keke.. something ‘extra’ nia

Storeberry
Yah. Be strong in ur faith. I think u are from NCC right? Remember God always deliver in whatever circumstances. So find comfort that no matter what, God is watching over u and littleberry

Will bring my maternity pad and undies to hospital then…
Everything seems like majiam packing for a vacation lo…. With camera and charger tis and tat

MILK POWDER
What brand of newborn baby powder are u guys stocking up (in case our breasts fails us?)
I heard NAN is good bt DAMNED ex leh… any other popular brand?

think the hospitals provide some stretchy/elastic type of maternity undies that are quite comfortable. you can ask for more than one pair but think they charge (at Mt e aniwae... they charge for everything there?!)

xuanting/bacon&amp;egg/taslyn
my 2 furkids are saltnpepa and black. the older one was quite possessive so we did not let him alone with #1 until he was able to toddle. Now samuel is almost 4 and perfectly comfortable with them both.

goldfish:
heard from many mummies that mamil gold is very good... alot of my frens are using it but aug thread using another brand... frisolac or sth...

dseptkon:
oo... s&amp;p n black...
my ger (10mths) is black.... my boy (6mths) is white... ger is not possessive rather she is v motherly to my boy and shares me with him... boy is more possesive but he knows his limits coz my ger will keep him in check... gotten the smaller kiddo so that she will not be at a lost when bb comes..

so far so good... they know how to sayang my tummy... i keep telling them got bb coming and they are good with kids... :p~~ but wil hv to monitor lar

i guess things that we can bring we bring... i heard that MT e charges for evthing.. one of the sahm who gave birth there... total bill with bb's was 10K (1 bedder), even less gynae fees of 4k plus... hospital fees still ard 6k?!

ava

i on weekly visit liao..the strep B test cost $35...next visit mon..sian,now 38weeks but he say not so soon..told him abt my rash + backache..haiz...

Mummies!!

Hehehe.. I'm back... but nt yet deliver.. Force my doc to discharge me as I'm feeling DAMN bored!! futhermore for 3 days stay dere, i dilate 1cm only.. if stay longer waste medisave seh... so nw i juz endure the contractions.. hopefully i can.. hehe

Today scan shows my bb weigh 2.8kg.. bb so active cz my amino fluid is sufficient.. bb can swim ard... Sonographer said my bb so curled up.. leg at my rigcage tts y i feel sharp pain dere....

**disposable undies**

Haiz... i tot i can fit in size 28-42 but to my surprise, i cant!! So i hv to buy a new ones...

Yup...

1) 16 weeks maternity leave
2) 6 days childcare leave
3) Some unpaid infant care leave for a child up to 2 years old (not sure about this)
4) Changes to baby bonus &amp; tax incentives

Wonder when it takes effect...

heard the national day rally .. keke .. 4 mths leave .. haha....
Taking ML this week at 36 weeks already .. keke ... and that means i have an extra month f leave if it takes effect immediately .. keke .

Rally

Yup, I followed the rally too, PM says its going to be 1 week leave for infants up to 2 years, but dunno if it is unpaid or not.

Baby bonus:
He did mention that the change in baby bonus is going to benefit first time mums, think he is going to increase the incentive to the 1st born, not sure abt subsequent borns. But since he say he is going to recognise those 5th child and above, should be quite a substantial increase this time.

I was telling HB, now we cheer so much, later the PM decides to implement this from Sept, then if my BB comes out in Aug, i will faint lor..*pray that it will be effective from Aug*

Dunno how much he is going to increase for the Baby Bonus...must wait for the news report now. Can't wait!!