(2008/09) Sep 2008

shazz,
yeah. i think so too. coz after the waxing, it felt really sore. then after that the bumps appeared. with pus some more. er xin! thanks for the link.

C-section: so no mommy here going for epi C-sec? All by GA? I am opting for LA only to allow hubby to be in the room together with me! Must say, it is kinda scary to be awake and have someone cutting me open, and to be able to feel the pushing & pulling...apparently, can even see the reflection of the surgery from metal pieces above! :p

alabone (alabone)
ya the only thing i hate is the after c sec feel..not really painful but can hardly move...
ya i think the nurse also abit surprise when i woke up even before they got ready to wheel me out..

Bigtoes,

I am going for epi c-sec. Did that for my FB too. It is kinda scary and surreal to be awake during the operation. The doc will tell you that you will feel alot of tugging and pulling, which is when they are trying to get the baby out. The whole procedure is quite quick though, and it over in a while. U will be trying to stop the chattering of your teeth though (side effects of the epi) and might not notice the tugging so much. Oh, they will also talk to you to distract you.

For my hubby, he was hiding behind the screen all the time cos he has always dislike operation scenes. But I have a colleague's hubby who actually watch the whole operation without fear and look at the insides of his wife. They even showed me photos when the baby's head is out, while the rest of her body is still in the tummy. Quite bloody though.

Bigtoes,

I am going for epi c-sec. Did that for my FB too. It is kinda scary and surreal to be awake during the operation. The doc will tell you that you will feel alot of tugging and pulling, which is when they are trying to get the baby out. The whole procedure is quite quick though, and it over in a while. U will be trying to stop the chattering of your teeth though (side effects of the epi) and might not notice the tugging so much.

For my hubby, he was hiding behind the screen all the time cos he has always dislike operation scenes. But I have a colleague's hubby who actually watch the whole operation without fear and see the whole operation (including the insides of his wife).

shazz,
nope. didn't apply anything. first time for me so was blur. first time i did, i only did the bikini wax and ended up having blue blacks!! it was done at jean yip.

bigtoes,
might be scary for epi c sec but you can get to see bb immediately and once back in ward, can start bfg. so there are advantages to that.

jen kate,
not painful for you?? it was terribly painful for me. i hate it when the doc tells me i have to get off the bed and walk... i am dreading it already.

Shazz,
Is urs boy ? Quite a good weight

Bigtoes, Alabone,

Actually after epi c-sec, cannot immediately nurse also. Cos i also concussed close to the end/ after the op and was in the recovery room for quite some time. Not sure whether this is standard, or just cos i have overdose of anesthetic maybe?
But of course I did get to see baby immediately.

<font color="119911">RXmom (ruixiangsmom) &amp; alabone (alabone) - yah, i am okie thinking about it now, but i suppose i would freak out abit when they wheel me into the operating room on that day! Wonder if it would be possible to faint from fright/anticipation! The first cut would be the scariest...btw, they use a scalpel and not laser to cut the bikini line right?
My hubby said he is brave enough to watch the whole surgery &amp; see my insides (which would put new meaning to the phrase "knowing someone inside &amp; out") but doubt he would...

What is the procedure for taking photos? Can only take photos of the baby after it is out &amp; not of the surgery itself? Is flash photography allowed, or would it be bright enough since it would be flourescent lights right?

On nursing - no rush really...I won't want to nurse till I am up to it. After all, the baby is not born hungry, and might not have colostrum immediately.</font>

rxmom,
not sure abt it at all. but i have heard of mums who went thru epi c sec and were able to nurse soon enough. they say that bb's sucking reflex is best after birth.

bigtoes,
yup. they use scalpel. actually, i've a whole vid on c sec... but not sure if it's a wise idea to let you watch now coz it might just frighten you more... and yes. your hb will really know you 'inside out'.

not sure abt phototaking. check with your gynae?

Hi All..

Been having strong contractions these three days, sore legs and back aches, and i thought it was quite unusual to feel like this all of a sudden, so i didnt wait further and went to my gynae this afternoon, i just felt strange..

Maybe it's maternal hunch, but i found out that my little girl has her cord one time around her neck, i was really freaked out, it was fine last week.. its really scary, since i have read about cord strangulation and stillbirths with complications to the cord, and i asked gynae if i should do my c-section immediately next week if the cord does not unwind itself.. he says its actually quite common and 15% of women has this happen to them, since i am going for elective c-sect, it should not be a concern unless the cord has a true knot.

Now i am feeling really blue, afraid that my little girl would come to harm.. i remember one mummy here is like me too.. should i not take the risk and go for the c-sect next week instead of the scheduled c sect two weeks later? Little girl is 36 weeks today..

Bigtoes
I am still undecided abt Epi or GA csection. Headache headache. I guess better not use camera with flash if u chose epi. Too bright for the bb

Kym Teo
Since u are already 36 wks, its not considered premature. Better be safe than sorry. Better ask the doc for advise n monitor the bb closely.

WE WON A SILVER MEDAL!!!!! Who cares about BB incentives on Sunday? Let's tune in at 7.30pm to watch our table tennis team on Channel U on Sunday!!!! YEAH!!!

<font color="ff0000">Olympics: First medal in 48 years for Singapore
Posted: 15 August 2008 1812 hrs

Photos 2 of 3

Wang Yue Gu (L) and Li Jia Wei (R)

Special Report

• Beijing Olympics 2008

BEIJING - A jubilant Singapore bagged its first Olympic medal in 48 years on Friday when its women's table tennis team made into the final of the team event by beating South Korea 3-2.

It has been a long wait for the city state which last made the podium at the 1960 Rome Olympics when weightlifter Tan Howe Liang won silver - Singapore's only previous medal.

"We will get a silver at least. I'm extremely satisfied and give my team full marks," said Singaporean coach Liu Guodong. "I feel that our mission has been accomplished because I treated today's match as a final.

"Having worked as a coach in Singapore for two years, I'm very happy to have helped the country end its 48-year medal drought."

Feng Tianwei was the heroine. She got the ball rolling with an 11-5, 11-5, 11-2 victory over Dang Ye-seo before world number six Li Jiawei lost to Kim Kyung-ah 5-11, 11-8, 9-11, 11-6, 11-9.

Li then paired with Wang Yue Gu, showing perfect teamwork to beat Kim and Park Mi-young 11-7, 11-6, 11-9 in the doubles.

But Dang bounced back to crush an exhausted Wang 11-8, 14-12, 11-9.

With the match tied at 2-2, Singapore's destiny fell to Feng, who displayed courage to beat a tenacious Park 11-7, 12-10, 3-11, 11-9.

"I had to be patient and wait for opportunities to attack," said a relieved Feng. "When everyone was nervous at the last moment, staying calm was my advantage."

Li added that it was a proud day for her. "After today's competition I hugged Feng Tianwei and cried. I have never cried after any victory before. But I cried because we led this team to victory and we have fulfilled Singapore's expectations of a medal."

South Korean coach Hyun Jung-Hwa paid tribute to Singapore and said his side would now target bronze in the play-off. "It's pity that we lost, but we will try to get a bronze medal," she said.

Singapore will face China in the final on Sunday, after China beat Hong Kong 3-0 in the semi-finals.

Semi-final results: Singapore beat South Korea 3-2

Feng Tianwei (SIN) bt Dang Ye Seo (KOR) 11-5, 11-5, 11-2

Kim Kyung Ah (KOR) bt Li Jiawei (SIN) 5-11, 11-8, 9-11, 11-6, 11-9

Wang Yuegu/Li Jiawei (SIN) bt Park Mi Young/Kim Kyung Ah (KOR) 11-7, 11-6, 11-9

Dang Ye Seo (KOR) bt Wang Yuegu (SIN) 11-8, 14-12, 11-9

Feng Tianwei (SIN) bt Park Mi Young (KOR) 11-7, 12-10, 3-11, 11-9.</font>

Kym Teo (pebblez): yes, our maternal instinct is the strongest indicator for us! am sure you'll be on your toes to track baby's movement. If you don't have peace to wait till 2 weeks later, then it's better to go for your c-sec next week to have peace of mine. We're so close to our delivery date already, would be so unfortunate if something happen now.

kym, when's your next appt? think it's best to speak to your doc again if u really feel v ill at ease about sticking to the original date. i hope it'll all turn out well for you and your baby. take care!

babies and dogs
those of you with dogs, how do you plan to introduce the two? i'm thinking of having dh bring home a hankie or something that smells of bb prior to my discharge from hosp for dear dog to sniff and letting them meet outside the house in a neutral territory when bb comes home from hosp. if you know any other useful things to do, do share! mine's an anxious little terrier who seems to know that her days as an only child are numbered. v v manja now. keeps coming to sit next to me and putting her paw v protectively on my stomach, as if to tell everyone, "MY mommy, not your mommy".

xuanting
I have a Jack Rascal. When I brought my girl home, he just went wild barking and jumping like crazy but he acts this way with all visitors. I let him stay around when I nursed my girl, make sure she's covered up nicely in her sling, never underestimate the jealousy of a dog. And I give him a treat for begin nice, so he thinks if he sits and stay quiet, there's yummy treats. They get along fine now, it's my girl who bullies him and he lets her. Maybe cos he's more of a 'people dog', he likes humans more than his own kind.

<font color="0077aa">Flos: Yah man, after so many years, finally a medal!! Was watching the game at my fren's place, it was an exciting match! Will watch the coming sun match &amp; google for the rally info after that! Haha!

Kyam: better seek your doctor advice, he knows best.</font>

sunnysunny
LOL Jack "Rascal"! My hb and I like that breed too...but we never got one. now we have a son who's as energetic and rascally as one tho

Photos in OT after c-section
The wife of a friend of mine just had her baby via c-section yesterday and sent thru some photos of her in the OT holding baby with the cloth screen up and nurses etc still working on her stitches (can't see this of course)...so I guess TMC allows it...her gynae is same as mine. Dunno if it's up to gynae's preferences also tho.

morning mummies ,
coconut , i drank from the hawker centre fruit store .... quite convenient ... just 1.50 per coconut and u have ice to go along with ..
Waxing .. hmm .. i did not go for waxing for my first delivery .. hmm ..the nurse will trim it off or shave it if too long i guess ... too excited to notice anything in labour ward. However , will go after the 3 mths maternity leave .

The table tennis match was so exciting last evening... too much for me... I gotta switch channel to calm myself down... lol
Really dunno who will win until the v last min. So gancheong!!

<font color="119911">alabone (alabone) - hah, no thanks! I don't want to watch any video clip that would freak me out more than i think i might be on that day. Hubby &amp; I are assuming that the post-operative pain would be similar to when I had my fibriod removed (like 1 on the scale of 1-10 &amp; no pain killers after that), but i know that would obviously not be the case!

Kym Teo (pebblez) - ur gyne is leaving the decision up to u? We have all come too far for anything to happen now - if ur gyne says that baby's lungs are developed enough &amp; weighs okie, maybe better to schedule ur surgery earlier? If nothing, for ur own peace of mind as well. Hugs!

Ava - think my hubby is more concerned about taking nice shots of the baby in the OT than comforting me!!
He wants to take photos of Kieran with the cord still attached, photos of him just when he is out (covered with vernix &amp; all that gunk) etc.. I better ask permission from Dr Tan first!
Btw - how do u handle all the movements by your twins in the womb? I can imagine that they must to 'fighting' each other and ur belly! Kieran is very strong now, and moves alot - sometimes way too much for my comfort! How can a 2.something kg baby be so strong?? Thank goodness i only have 2 more weeks to go!</font>

Thanks for the advice,

Limay,

I spoke to my gynae, he was concerned baby may not have yet matured her lungs and it may be wet still, but i am so WORRIED.. its really really so close but feels so FAR.. i think i am going to storm into his office and get my baby out next week!! I can't bear having to monitor my little girl's movement, you know, what IF!?!?!?

<font color="0077aa">Kym: understand the worries you have but it is important to monitor movements cos if there is less movements then yfaster go to gynae to have it check. Your schedule c-sec also have to be next week rite?

My Ameda breastpump is here! Hooary! Going to the hardware shop to ask if they sell the conversion voltage.</font>

hi there mummies

been too busy at work to log on to forum... and so tired too. Lack of sleep...
today went to gynae.
baby is 2.8kg now at 37 weeks. He says head is fully engaged now so i'm just waiting. But then again the last time it was like engaged for close to 2 weeks and still no labour!

cloud
u started ur leave already? I'm still arranging for lessons next week. I hope i only pop after i've tied up all loose ends! Hope I can hold on till at least end of next week!

And have finally decided to name my little girl Gabrielle!

Qiuling
so u're ok now?

Storeberry
yep i saw ur email some time back and replied u then. U got it?

bigtoes, alabone, RXmom,
my fren nursed straightaway after her epi C section. Actually that's the reason why she opted for epi. But whether she was groggy or not i dunno...

Ava
My rascal used to be very jumpy but now a little fat so jumps are not so high anymore. haha..

You are seeing Dr Paul right? Or was it someone else? I'm seeing him. I think the picture taking are kind of up to the gynae's call, ya? He's quite cool with pictures, my hubby was snapping me while he was stitching me up the last time too...

Bigtoes
Yea my friend took the "vernix pics" as well

sunnysunny
Yeah, Dr Paul too. Another mummy Angeline on this thread also seeing hm.

were you the one who tried adding me to FB? I dunno who that person was so I didn't add...

hi sunnysunny

i am also seeing dr paul...hehe..my next appt is mon...these 2 weeks quite a big difference...me got backache + rashes...so itchy!!my tummy originally nice nice now hor got all those red dots..yucks man...going to ask dr paul mon..hope its nothing complicating..

Angeline/Sunnysunny
My next appt is Wednesday and i'm on weekly visits now. you gals too? My tummy also majorly itchy...no matter what I put on it...Also VERY ugly cos my SM are now darker (redder) than before. I hope Strivectin can help me this time...!!

Bigtoes
Most of the time, i feel movements more on one side, and they can be pretty violent
if they move at the same time during meetings, I end up giving a small yelp and clients will look at me, smile and say "kicking?" :S It can be quite hectic at night too, but i think one twin is further behind so I don't feel her so much.

Isabelle
Nice name...purposely got a name that ends with "...elle"?
Glad you could finally settle on one !!

ava

dun koe lei...do u girls scan at every visit? coz dr paul did say up to us...hmm...my back quite pain lei...aching type..hopefully can sleep tonight..looking v forward to mon so tt i can get him to ans all my queries..these 2 days i tried medicated powder..hehe..took my girl's powder to try..at least i feel 'cooler' better abit...but my fingers joints/feets still v itchy...

Ava/Angeline
My appointment is on Tuesday, we are one after another. I'm still on a fortnightly basis, maybe after this coming visit it will be once a week. I don't scan every visit, just listen to the heartbeat. I'll be doing my strep B this coming visit, hopefully it's negative cos I discovered I was positive months back. Negative, then I can sashay to the hospital otherwise once waterbag burst got to go in for antibotics, argh... no drugs.

The itchiness I guess is due to our skin stretching, I use my girl's California Babies cream or the Clarins for moisturizing. I'm not the diligent type.

Ava
You going natural for your twins?

Hi mummies! I nw at kkh..hehe..last thurs nite i nt feeling well..tummy so pain..headache..faint spells n back aching so badly..fri nite went 2 delivery suite n kena admit 2 ward cz doc said i hv some contrations..yeast infection has juz been cured by inserting è tablet @ vagina.. Tot 2day can be discharge but i failed my CTG..still contractions dere..doc scared i will deliver prematurely..36 wks plus consider premature meh?? I tot preterm labour??

I have the following items for sales.

1) Bumbo seat @ $45. Very good condition in box.Use less than 10X. Color: Aqua.

2) Hanging mobile for baby cot @ $8.

Self collect at Serangoon (weekday), Sengkang or Punggol(Weekend) MRT station. Interested buyers, pls text 96510417. Thanks.

1643960.jpg

<font color="0077aa">Isabelle: Yes, I replied you back, you received it?

Take care Sri Leo!

Back pains &amp; pelvis pain are increasing! I am seeing gyane on Mon!</font>

storeberry
no leh. I din receive. Hmm... dunno why sometime i cannot receive msgs from ppl who reply me. So weird!

Ava
Thx. Partly that's the reason. But mainly cos I like the name and it's as meaningful as Isabelle (consecrated to God) while Gabrielle means God is my strength. I wanted to be fair to them both and plus I dun have to choose an extra baptism name!

sunnysunny
u a fan of california baby too? Me is a BIG fan! Love the calendula cream. last nite my wrist and fingers were itching so badly suddenly and after dabbing the cream on, it was soothed instantly!

mrs yap
sorry realised i missed ur post on the maternity and hospitalisation leave. Yah. Not entitled to both in the same yr under my 1979 medical scheme... I only found out when I submitted my super long MC earleir this year. But I got 30 days MC and after that 15 days extended sick leave plus 10 days special sick leave. So not too bad. So like that also got about 55 days...

bigtoes,
u mean c section pain recovery pain will be worse than the fibriod removal pain? But dun worry, my colleague is a huge advocate of C section. She seemed to recover quite fast from both her c sections (GA though) and she breastfed too, though not fully.

<font color="119911">Hi mommies - took some final photos of my belly before delivery yesterday:
http://bigfattoes.multiply.com/photos/album/135/Pre-natal_belly_shots_Album_2_-_2_weeks_before_I_pop and in Facebook.
Was thinking of going to some ulu field or beach to take the nice scenery, but it was raining &amp; ended up with a few photos at home

isabelle (isa_belle) - Gabrielle is a pretty pretty name
Am assuming that C-sec pain recovery would be worst! But fingers crossed it would be the same, then i would be a HUGE advocate of C-sec after that as well...will let everyone know in 2 weeks!

Sri Leo (sri_leo) - u take care okie
36 weeks is still considered pre-mature, 37 wks onwards = full term. But if the baby is delivered at wk 36 shouldn't be a problem.

Friso Milk Samples:
Don't remember when/how i contacted them last time, but this lady called me saying she would deliver a free sample - just came by our place this morning - and the free sample was a full sized tin of milk (Friso Gold, 900gm) for babies 0-6 months! Very generous of them. Try to get a sample

Thks bigtoes! Doc do CTG on me 2dae..hmm..contractions nw comes more often but cervix nt yet open..i'm so worry y is tt so...he said i maybe deliver in 5 days time.. He will only discharge me after i deliver..so boring here n i'm in so much pain!

angeline/sunny sunny
I do a scan every visit. I wasn't asked if I wanted one...but anyway, cos it's identical twins, safer to do scan every visit to make sure one is not growing faster than the other, as that is a big risk with identicals. my friend's cousin gave birth to twins, 1 was 2kg+ one was less than 1kg!

Nat/C-section: gonna try for natural. I brought up elective c-section option and Dr Paul shook his head and said, just keep them in there as long as you can! why you want them out earlier...hahahah!

well, on ML from this week, so can rest rest rest now

big toes
yep, u look great in that B &amp; W dress! Wow!
And ur house looks so cosy too!

ava
since ur gynae is dr paul, think u dun have to worry abt 69 breech position cos my doula works with him often and he has done drug-free breech deliveries before. He's so cool abt it when some gynaes are apprehensive. U r one lucky lady!

Mummies: sorry to intrude. I still have 12 units of Desitin Creamy and 1 unit for original. Per tube is $10.20 (4 Oz) Interested pls PM me. Thanks

sri, looks like you'll be the first to pop then! hope you'll have a smooth delivery.

ava, are you talking about the twin-to-twin transfusion thing? under 1kg is so tiny... how is that baby doing now?

<font color="119911">Sri Leo (sri_leo) - u have to stay in KK till u deliver in 5 days time? Is anyone there with u? Yah, at least u have internet connection - else would be bored to tears!
Think there was someone else in this forum scheduled for C-sec on 18th? Then she would be the 1st one to pop, even before Sri!

xuanting (xuanting) - yes! The worry will drive u up the wall! So when are u planning for the C next week? There is an injection ur gyne can give to hasten maturity of the baby's lungs right?

Ava - u are on maternity already? Lucky u! I still have 2 weeks to go, &amp; hoping that baby doesn't decide to pop any earlier....

isabelle (isa_belle) &amp; Ava - nope - the B&amp;W dress is not a maternity wear. Just one of thos roomy ones with a huge skirt - bought it months back &amp; wore it for the 1st time on Friday - but the top was really tight by then...</font>

Anyone out there bot the MEDELA breast pump from US? I remembered someone mentioned to get the adapter or transformer from SIM LIM.
Issit SIM LIM square or SIM LIM tower? Able to advice the exact shop name or post the pix of the adapter?
I have a hard time to get the right one. Went to DIY shop and was advised to get it from SIM LIM as it is quite 'complicated'
Aiyoh.. time is running short.. glupz

Bigtoes n xuanthng, I doubt so i'll pop out soon cz my cervix only dilate 1cm..it juz my contractions is so intense as day passed.. Tmr doc will do scanning 4 me.. Mum will only visit me in the afternoon till evening.. Argh! Nw i hv fever.. Wat a day..

Goldfish
Hb got the adaptor from Sim Lim Sq. Not sure which shop tho. Just bring along the pump to try out.

Bigtoes
Yea, I can't tahan working already as I get really really tired and distracted. hoping babies hold on for at least a week so I make it for sister's wedding, then can come anytime after that.

Isabelle
Yeah he's cool about delivering 69 twins. it was just when they were transverse that natural delivery was a concern...