(2008/09) Sep 2008

limay
eh no lah, all grandchildren are cute in the sight of their grandparents...

yes and did you read today's paper. the director or who mentioned that the girl who sang, yang peiyi, has an extraordinary voice!but frankly, looking at her, she'll grow up fine lah.the other girl who was in the olympics might have a tougher time coz people around might know her as a bimbo now...

ava
ha..yes he is less cranky now. at least he doesnt cry for hours anymore!!! yeah...praying that my girl wont have big brother's genes...urghhhhhhh...

Hi all mommies!!

I have been following this thread for quite some time. My due date is on the 13 sept and my gynae kept saying that my bb girl is really small and was infact worried that the bb is not absorbing well.

For my 34 weeks check up, my gal only weighs 1.7kg... and I am the one putting all the weight. Really sad whenever I think abt it coz i tried eating so much but all the weight goes to me.

<font color="aa00aa">Flos
I wear socks to sleep everynite and with my feet elevated too, to prevent cramps. In the morning when i wake up, the swell subsides. But by mid-day once i get moving, it comes back!! The Kenko foot massage works for me so I am sure it wrks for you too, maybe u didnt notice? Mine seriously swollen, even my doc commented my water retention is pretty bad, she also commented my tummy is HUGE...2 reasons-to accomodate my porkchop Charlotte(3.2kg@ 36wks) &amp; also bcos it's filled with loads of fluid inside tummy for Charlotte to swim!

Anyway, she's been a good gal...half-engaged within a week...so hopefully by mon, she is fully engaged then the doc may go ahead inducing me on 19th Aug...and I shall pop on 20th Aug! *fingers crossed* In the meantime, have to do more squats, walking &amp; climbing of stairs!!</font>

Hi,Shazz

Saw your posting abt your baby's weight.. You gynae consider that weight big? My baby's weight was 2.6kg when I did my 34weeks scan but gynae never say it will be too big, she just say bigger than average.. she estimated baby to be 3.7kg at full term, give and take.. and natural delivery is still possible for me. Hmmm.. are you of smaller frame?

Thanks, Bigtoes for the contact number.. I need a refreshment course of BF.. what I learnt from the prenatal course all forgotten.. jalet!! hopefully memory will be back to normal after delivery..

Storeberry - Go grab some cherry tomatoes.. quite nice if it goes with red grapes. why is your mom stopping your tonic?

<font color="119911">Charlotte (lovebirds) - Welcome to this forum

As long as u aim for 2.5kg by delivery or even abit lesser, should be fine. Babies grows in spurts anyway, so maybe yours will catch up in the last couple of weeks? Might help to eat more red meat and durian from now till you deliver.

LC (faintz) - be seeing u at the talk then! (Assuming i don't pop 1 week earlier than expected)

Sunrays - ohh...so u wld be the 1st to deliver amongst us!! Have to give us step by step update after that okie!</font>

Water Retention and Coconut Drink - I used to have very bad water retention on my legs and fingers. My fingers would get so stiff that I tot I'm having minor stroke. *faint* Not sure whether is the coconut drink that works for my water retention, after taking the coconut drink on last thursday, both my legs no longer swollen even till now. Thou fingers still feel stiff in the morning but really get better now.

Flu and Cough - Having cough and flu for the past 3 days liao. Will cough and flu affect the baby? Each time when I cough I feel that my tummy also cough with me..hahaha

bb weight
this is so confusing. it seems like docs have differing opinions on what's big and what's small. mine was 2.2 or 2.4kg at 34wks and my doc was like "how come so small?". she then measured several times more and the weight still fell within that range. i wasn't too concerned at first but later couldn't help but wonder why doc kept remeasuring to see if she'd under-measured. like lc's 2.6kg at 34wks – seems quite close to mine, but her doc said that her bb is bigger than average. how do they actually determine that?

water retention
perhaps drinking lots of water and elevating the legs whenever possible really help (i sleep with a pillow beneath my feet). not entirely sure, but i still have my bony ankles and very visible metatarsals at 34wks. or it's still too early?

went for my gynae checkup yesterday. bb's weight is 1.8kg @ 32wks and i am still stagnant at 55. very odd.

so apparently she has put on 100g per week so far. i'm delivering in 5 weeks time so that means by the time she's delivered, she'll only be 2.3kg!!!!!!!!! So smaaaaaall!!!! so those of you who are stressed abt having small baby, think abt mine... she's like the tiniest here...

shazz,flos,
hb is apparently allergic to GRASS! after each soccer session he goes to, he comes home with lots and lots of scratches. then at night worse coz he'll itch so much so he'll scratch and scratch until bleed lor. bits here and there lah. annoys me quite a bit.

mrs yap,
your maid very brave leh. my maid also. there was one time she saw a lizard at my sink and she caught it with her bare hands, then turned to my daughter and asked her 'nat nat, want to see lizard?' i almost fainted!!! but good that we have got brave maids too. can save us!!!!

naughty corner,
i also put my two todds at the naughty corner. started training nat not too long ago and she has got the hang of it now. when she throws a tantrum and i put her in the naughty corner, she knows that i won't pick her up until she stops crying so she'll control herself. initially it was really hard coz she kept gg to the maid for comfort. after much hard work, she has finally learnt. same thing for jared...

sunrays,
aren't you excited?? i can't wait to see bb cadence yet at the same time, i dread to think about how active she'll be once she's out coz she kicks NONSTOP!!

I just came back from my week 35 check up and my weight gain of 400gms is actually my bb's
He has grown from 2kg-2.4kg in 2 weeks
I checked Babycenter and found that his weight is within normal range
However, my BP shot up this time 130/90, so the dr ordered that I come back in an hour to remeasure my BP again. Luckily I slept soundly in the ward, and as a result, my BP went down to 110/80. Phew! No need to take medicine!

sasa de mouse: Dr Cheng told me to leave the PD and Anaesthetist spaces blank on the admission form. He will assign when the time comes, cos we won't know who's available at the eleventh hour. He will recommend those he works closely with.

I also asked him if I could use a GP instead of PD. He says once u r out of the hospital, why not? He commented that SG parents are just being too Kiasu; they take their kids to see a professional PD for every other ailment

Sunrays: good to hear that you're back. Yeah, perhaps u r right. I didn't really look closely if the swell's gone down or not. Just irritated that every single colleague I bump into in the building would comment "Oh dear...you've badly swollen feet." I'm so tired of answering them u know...swollen swollen lor...what's the big deal??...I'll be popping soon anyway.

lilboymom: Your son is soooooooooo cute!!! Can I get those yellow sheets from TMC pharmacy?

LC: What is the benefit of eating cherry tomatoes? I've too stopped drinking all cordyceps and paoshen soups.

Grace: Does coconut juice help to alleviate the swell?

Bigtoes: I tend to agree with you that some grandparents will dote on the prettier and cuter grandchild, internal or external. My own parents prefer my sis' son cos he has very large attractive eyes/ long lashes/bushy eyebrows/high nose bridge, as compared to my bro's son, i.e. their internal grandson who has single eyelids/a little droppy eyes/sparse eyebrows, not too nice mouth and nose, based on the commoner's understanding of beauty.

I can see the 'pride' on my parents' faces when they push my sis' son out to to the malls as everyone would admire and compliment my handsome nephew. My bro's wife used to dote on this handsome nephew before she gave birth to her own son. Now that she has her own son, she comepletely ignores the handsome nephew at family gatherings. She also prevents/scolds her own DH (i.e. my bro) from playing with my sis' son, i.e. the handsome nephew...

I find this so sickening

LC,
i also enjoy eating cherry tomatoes with grapes..v nice combi!

Sunray,
My junior also 3.2 kgs at Week 36! Were you advised by your gynea to deliver before original EDD?

Flos,
You might want to give it a try. My colleague told me coconut drink can ease the water retention as it has detox purpose. It really works for me.

<font color="0077aa">LC: I don't know wor, just that my mum says no need to take tonic now.. Ok, will grab some cherry tomatoes soon!

Flos: Yah man! My mum is super proud when she bring my cute nephew out &amp; the aunties will cooed around him saying he is so adorable..
I hope mine will be as cute as well! Haha!!

Sunrays: You are back!! Been resting at home? Don't walk too much yah?

lilboymom: Your boy is so cute!!! Haha.. He is the focus instead of the waterproof sheets... :p</font>

<font color="119911">Flos - guess its human nature, even if people claim that they will not be biased cos every parent/grandparent thinks that their kids/grandkids are cute. Even babies (from birth) are known to stare at prettier people for longer, not sure how they are even conditioned to do so, since there isn't any external influence at such a young age!

Guess life is more unfair to the not so nice looking, and thats why parents pay for plastic surgery as graduation gifts for their kids in Seoul!

Millie, Mine is boy..

Xuanting, yeah...but last nite was only half an hour massage coz no cooking today.so nothing to exchange.
I had start drinking coconut drink since weeks 32..but once in 10-14days.

<font color="0000ff">Flu &amp; Cough
Oh gosh.. i feel so horrible and terrible now. can't slp every nite coz of my block nose and irritated throat. Practically losing my voice today. And i've been coughing out lotsa phlegm n mucus (oops, paiseh, TMI). Been taking vit c but dun dare to take too much leh... Any other remedies u all can recommend? It really sucks!!!!!

Flos
oohhh.. i juz saw Dr Cheng on tue.. he refused to measure bb's weight leh tho i jokingly asked if he would be measuring. Wasted my time in going leh. All he did was measure my tummy (which this time round he didnt comment was small, coz think he expected it le), use a doppler to hear n measure bb's heartbeat as well as press my pelvic area to see where bb's head was, THAT'S ALL!!!

If not for all the questions that I was asking him, think I would have been out of the room in less than 5 mins. Anyway, will see him once a wk now. Told him I've got a PD in mind so he juz told me to write it in the admission letter (of coz he did ask me who I was going to call). And also, asked him for signs to look out for. U noe lah.. 1st time mummy, abit kancheong, dunno wat r the labour signs to look out for.

But his comment "Anyway, if u were to give birth tonite, I wouldn't be worried coz ur baby was already 2.5kg 2 wks back" realli makes mi feel like he's so relaxed when i'm the kancheong spider here. Hope I can tahan till pass 37wks. Gambatte!!! Another 6 more days to go...

Oh btw.. next visit I gotta do the Strep B test again. According to his nurse, Dr Cheng will do twice de, once at 32wks another at 36wks. Supposed to do it on Tue, but he think too fast le, so will do it nxt visit. Nurse already tell mi to wear dress /skirt for tat visit wor...</font>

Flos
So drama one your family...haha all this internal and external grandchildren being doted on due to beauty...LOL

BP
Mine went down to 115/65 this last visit...more on par with my usual BP. dunno why also...havent been doing anything different..in fact, more stressed at work due to ML starting soon and needing to hand over stuff.

flos,
ya. agree with ava. i thought grandparents would dote on their grandkids no matter wat... what era already? still so feng jian...

just did my week 37+ visit today and bb seems to have plateau-ed at about 3kg. yay! so i will be trying for natural without epi. anyone else have that in mind or has gone through it? am a bit apprehensive cos my pain threshold not high

coconut juice

am drinking 1-2 a week liao
my MIL says its ok.

Grace: OK, I'll see if there are any in my neighbourhood...

Ava/Alabone: agree it's kinda feudal! But perhaps that handsome boy was my parents' #1 grandchild, so they doubly dote on him.

But lately they hv started to like my bro's son becos at only 18 mos, this boy is already demonstrating to his grandparents that he quite bright and has excellent cognitive power/linguistic capabilities/memory, much faster compared to the handsome cousin!

Sasa de mouse: I'm surprised he didn't tell u the weight. I waited for 2 hours because today's a Thurs when his appts start at 11.30am. There were a lot of spillovers from the Fertility Centre upstairs so I suspect the nurses placed my file at the bottom! I swear my DH &amp; I came earlier than all the other couples!

He wasn't exactly very free today either as he had an operation straight after my consultation. But he was kind to answer all my questions. My second STREP B test will be done at my week 37, 1.5 weeks later.

Anyway, I'm on MC today...had a great nap to bring down my BP...

Your BB is of good size. I feel 2.4 at 35w4d so-so lah...

Flos / Grace
I dunno if its coincidence of wat. I've been experiencing water retention as well for the past few weeks. But after i drank coconut juice, just once, surprisingly my water retention improves alot alot. Though it still looks swollen, it dun feel so swollen and tight! Probably coconut juice really helps. I was v surprise how come my swollen ankles so much relieved until i saw Grace's posting

flos
wow, what intriguing family tales of two cousins. bet they will be compared to each other in the future. but glad that all is fair here, at least the not-so-cute nephew of yours wont lose out too much :p

i should think you can get those yellow sheets in any pharmacy. go ask them...

koras

u live near kovan? i live around the kovan melody area. always wanted to buy from the durian sellers at kovan but not sure about the quality...so were the durians worth the $$? now inspired to get some tomorrow

yellow sheets
used to buy the blue ones from guardian pharmacy for #1 bb.

Experienced Mummies

I already set aside 1 set of baby clothes including,romper, booties, mittens, cap for baby to be packed into the hosp bag. But until now i still got no idea how to wash it cleanly.
I bought the tollyjoy liquid detergent n since its onli a few pcs of clothes i decided to handwash.
So my qs is...
1. How much detergent shd i use? Half a cap?
2. Shd i soak the clothes? if so, how long? overnight?
Thanks for helping

Mummies, any of u exp faint spells?? today i went to amk hub &amp; felt like wanna faint sia... giddy &amp; nauseous... I juz walk for a few mins only...

Sri Leo
me too... infact i always have faint spell.
Esp if i stand for too long... sometimes also felt nauseous... think iron tablets can help...
i got better aft eating. Can feel the diff b4 and aft. Try to sit down when u felt giddy

<font color="0077aa">Sri Leo &amp; Mrs Yap: I also have faint spells, I think have some sweets on hand, might be due to low blood sugar...

Mrs Yap: If a few pieces only I think less than half a cap should be enough. MY full load I only out 2 caps. No need to soak overnight cos not dirty also, maybe half an hour?</font>

LC (faintz): we met at Ava's place b4, think you forgot my size liao. I'm petite frame, 1.58m, 45kg pre-preggie. So when I already put on 17kg, and my boy's weight is on the higher side all along, except for this checkup, my gynae suspects he may suddenly have a growth spurt again. Cos she estimate that he'll be about 3.6kg by full term. Hence she would like to induce me if he's too big by week 38, she's afraid that the baby will be too big for my pelvic bone.

I remember you're definitely much taller and of a bigger built than me, so your baby size should be ok for you, so your gynae is not worried. She also ordered the glucose tolerance test pretty early in my pregnancy cos baby was big and I was gaining weight so quickly. Turns out I didn't have GD, but I did fail my urine test once. ;)

See his weight gain and you'll know what I mean:

24 weeks 3 days - 700 grams
28 weeks 2 days - 1.2kg
29 weeks 5 days - 1.53kg
32 weeks 2 days - 1.95kg
34 weeks 2 days - 2.4kg
36 weeks 1 day - 2.6kg

hihi...

RE : coconut..

hmmm,tink will go tekka mkt there buy the coconut n drink again..my legs n fingers these few days got quite bad n swollen... + i started to get rashes now...soooooooooo terrible n itchy!!!..my tummy,hands,legs,etc all got hose red patch/dots..nv expect me to gena at my 37weeks+..

alabone: I make hubby wear socks to sleep so that he won't scratch himself! lol. Make your hubby wear socks if he's been out playing on grass! haha

shazz,
how to make him wear socks?? if i do that, i'll have to make him wear soccer shorts all the way up to his thighs lor. coz his scratches go all the way up there leh. as long as he slides on the grass or falls and his skin gets into contact with grass, he'll itch like crazy afterwards. it's never too daunting for him to stop playing soccer though...

i hope my bb has a growthh spurt. i'm so worried she'll be underweight now and go to NICU...

alabone (alabone): I pout when my hubby leaves blood stains, then I suggested the socks, and he gamely wore them to sleep. Hmmn, in your hubby's case, kinda difficult, unless he wears long PJ pants to sleep.

Dun worry about Cadence weight. My gynae said the last few weeks, they go through growth spurts, sometimes up to 1kg per week! Which was what my friend's baby went through as well. Anything is possible!

How's your BP and protein level?

Shazz - your baby's weight gain is pretty much the same as Kieran's. He was last at 2.56kg at 35w5d. I am also on the smaller side, but at least I am going for C, so don't really mind if there are any more growth spurts.

morning ladies ,
Been staying at home and getting bored these few days ... i wannago out today .. maybe take a short walk ... hmm ...
I still need to go back to school today to settle/ complete the unfinish work and pass some stuff over .. hmm .. just in case i pop these few days .

Faint Spells,

Tell me about it.. I was Q-ing to go into a restaurant for dinner two days ago and I only stood there for 3 minutes before breaking out in cold sweat and had to sit down in case i faint.. My soles are also getting sore when i walk and my calves seem to be unable to support the weight any more, my tummy is contracting so much more too!

Pls, little girl, just hang in there two more weeks!!

mommies with CL:

hv u all touch-based with your CLs yet? I hvn't spoken to her since April. Wondering if I shd give her a tinker to standby?

How abt the postnatal jamu masseuse? Must I preempt her now? Or is it still too early?

BRAZILIAN WAXING:

sasa de mouse: sigh, why our gynae requires his patients to do a second strep b test leh?...wondering if I shd wax before the strep b test? so weird to let him see my deforested private parts! kinda kinky

flos,
my CL super on! she would call me every other week to check if I have given birth. I have also called my massage lady recently to remind her of our appointment...better to call them to remind them in case they take on other projects.

I am not gg for waxing anymore. For NUH, i heard only c-sec patients they will shave down. For natural birth, they will trim down.

coconut water
anyone know if it has high sugar content? ok to drink both water and consume the flesh? I love young coconut but worry it might raise my sugar level.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - coconut water has high sugar + fat content from the flesh....but the type from Thailand is pretty yummy! I guess if we take in moderation, it should be okie

I am just back from the Dr in my office building. Went to see her for my persistent flu &amp; ended up giving me some yellow tablets which hubby claims makes one very drowsy &amp; is useless. So end up with nothing I can take for preggers women other than panadol for flu. Sian...

I only drink the coconut juice &amp; as much as I like the flesh, I don't take it, not very healthy so must control.. lol.

Bigtoes
I was down with a sore throat &amp; flu 2 weeks ago &amp; I did not take any medication. I just rested a lot, drank loads of water &amp; also took honey lemon water daily. You can buy NuzeaBee Honey Lemon from the supermarket, just mix with water, it's very yummy too.

Mei (meie) - i had sore throat + flu a few weeks back also. Took manuka honey + lemon for sore throat...blew my nose till the skin at the tip became raw!! Then both went away, but now back with flu (nose blocked kind) again. Very irritating! Have to get well before delivery in 2 weeks time.

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Little Eamon is growing very well! He will be a chubby cute boy! :p

Alabone: Don't worry too miuch about bb's size, yah sometimes I will also get paraniod that my boy is smaller in size. But just eat normally, think too much also no use.

Seeing my gynae next Mon again.

Limay: take care &amp; rest well! </font>

Meie
There are opened coconuts from supermarkets?
We didnt see any in ntuc, so ended up buying those unopened ones.
My hb got a tough time opening it. He bang and bang with the kitchen knife so hard n loud. His actions reminds me of a Butcher. I think he will spoil the knife in no time. hehe

Storeberry
thanks for yr advise on the laundry. Will wash by today... hopefully

the new baby bonus package will be announced this coming sunday.. looking forward to see what it will be.. and most important of all, WHEN WILL IT BE EFFECTED..