(2008/09) Sep 2008

MrsYap
Yup, they have the ready-opened coconut that is sealed.. all you need to do is to pry it open & stick a straw in, that's the thai coconut. I think only selected NTUC carries it & most cold storage supermakets have it too. If not, can also buy from those fruit stalls & get the uncle to chop the top open for you.

Bigtoes
The horrid weather also plays a part... do take care!

Mrs Yap: yeah, I oso saw many unopened coconuts at NTUC last night, but my DH told me not to buy...firstly, he says too liang for me; secondly, hard to pry open. sigh...

bacon&eggs: hey, when will the jamu massage sessions typically begin for natural birth? a week later? Your CL is really 'on'!! I need to ring mine up. She mustn't 'tua' me...

jaymickey: i think it'll be geared towards the fathers...secondly, it'll benefit those IVF couples cos there was a writeup in ST on the costs of IVF in various countries...

some of my colleagues are not happy that they are extending aid to IVF patients cos they argue that it's their fault for procrastinating marriage and TTC until their late 30's. They should target at the younger adults and get them to tie the knot earlier. Dunno lah...just gimme the childcare benefits, infantcare subsidy and tax rebates...for maternity leave, 4 mths is too long already lah...if u run your own small/family business, u'll not support this incentive at all!

Also, I dun really look fwd to paternity benefits cos I believe longer paternity leave'll jeopardise our men's ricebowls, esp if you DH keeps consuming childcare leave and passing his duties to other men to cover...

Limay
I went to a homeopathy centre to get something for my flu. it works, but not everyone is comfortable with "alternative medicine".

more recently, I took those yellow pills too. yes drowsy, but my runny nose dried up pretty quick (1-2 days).

Meie...
Thanks... I will look out for the opened ones diligently.

Flos
Yup... if u wan to buy unopened ones, u need to hv someone to pry it open. I also dare not drink the whole coconut by myself. I drank half n hb half... else too cooling.

National day rally
young adults getting married later due to expensive banquet n flat. You know la... chinese pp cannot live a day without "face". No banquet like no face. So they postpone wedding just to find that the prices increase even more

Paternal leave
Think shd increase. 2 days is too miserable.
Anyway its a once in a while benefit. Cant be bothering his colleagues too much.

Jaymickey
ya cant wait for sunday for the rally

Flos

I called my CL abt 1 weeks ago to 'remind' her & also took the chance to ask her what to buy for those red dates/longan etc..for massage,have u get in touch with them already beforehand? that time i already cfm with Madam rohaya & i only need to call her after i give birth.

Finally have the time to log in liao.
Wait a min.. the rally is when huh? This Sunday wat time huh??

PLACENTA
I called my CL to ask whether she knows how to cook placenta or not. And she gave me a tone of surprise lo, and concluded that she dunno how to cook.
Argh.. there goes my vanity dream… anyone out there are planning to do anything with the placenta?

for massage, if u r having natural no point calling now, cos we dont know when we are actually popping and also, in case there is a need for csection, the massage date will have to be postponed to a couple or 3 weeks later anyway...

storeberry & bigtoes: yeah, baby eamon is growing well. Thank God!

Flos: I went for waxing yesterday, did the Sphinx, means totally off. ;) It was my 1st time but the pain is tolerable. Thank God the lady who did the waxing is quick and the whole ordeal was over in like 10mins! She advised us to use hard wax. Initially, she didnt want to do waxing for preggies, but since I was already there, she just did it. Those who're going for waxing, do let them know you're pregnant when you're making the appointment. Best time to do waxing is after week 36.

<font color="119911">National day rally speech - I am hoping that they would extend the paternity leave (think even the 2 days now is not govt mandated &amp; depends on the company). Would be good to have 1-2 weeks paternity leave, since most mommies' main grouse is that hubbies are not involved enough with taking care of the kids. Since the govt pays for reservist anyways, make sense to not have reservist for men who's wives are giving birth &amp; use that money to pay for 2 wks paternity leave.
Then again, some irresponsible dads might take off &amp; go play golf or something!
Flos - i also don't think extending maternity leave makes sense, same with subsidy for IVF for couples who procrastinate having babies. Am all for more income tax rebates &amp; childcare relief. Lets see what the goodies are - and more importantly, if these take effect from Aug 2008!

Ava - okie, since the yellow pills worked for u, I'd most prob take them at nite - can help me to zzz better

shazz,
i hope bb gets a growth spurt too. but from previous experience, none of my babies did... so they all end up pretty tiny. plus i'm delivering when bb is 37 weeks old. bp is still on the high side. but that day at gynae's, i only had trace protein.

storeberry,
yea, i'll try not to worry too much. will eat some durians and see how.

paternity leave:
the current number of days fathers can take for leave is rather pathetic. so i think if they can up that just a little, it'd be really useful. i mean in my case, i really need my hb with me coz after surgery, he's a great help while in the hospital and around the house. the miserable three days could only allow him to help me around in hospital then he's gotta go back to work liao... so all our dates for kid's delivery were kinda planned around weekends so he can have more days for me.

shazz,
i also went to do a sphinx waxing last friday... then after that, i had so many tiny little bumps and realised that i had like little pimples nearly all over. sooooooooooooooooo gross!!! they've much healed by now but it looks scarred!!! hen er xin. is there any aftercare that i should have done? and how come your person recommended hard wax instead?

flos,
my massage lady says she will start 1 week later if i am giving birth via natural. I called her cos i was worried she might not take any appt since it will be ramadan mth for her. But she assures me that its biz as usual for her.

alabone (alabone) : I wasn't told of any aftercare notes as well. She recommended hard wax cos she don't want to yank too hard, she said preggies have more sensitive skin and to pain, so hard wax is better for us. where did you do yours?

shazz,
i did mine at little india... called rupini. the lady was ok only. after she did, i came home and kinda checked and realised that there were bits of hair still here and there. not totally clean leh... so disappointed. but was cheap lah. $35. i think i'll go to strips before my surgery. how long does it take to grow out?

alabone (alabone): I paid $40 for mine, done at D Wax Room. Mine is totally clean at the bottom, but because I shaved 2 weeks back, some regrowth that is too short were not picked up by the wax. So the area near my tummy, wasn't totally clean. But the lady was very nice, she plucked the stray ones that were not picked up. But those very near my tummy, she didnt dare to pluck! haha

Hi Goldifsh,

Actually me and 2 of my colleagues have been helping mummies to process their placenta into capsules but since im due soon my 2 other colleagues will be doing if you are interested. We have been doing for 20 over mummies and you may wish to visit our web for more info. Do feel free to let me know if you need more info.

www.mommycozyhaven.com

Hi Shazz, if we do the brazilian wax after week 36, will it trigger contractions?? Where did you do yours, and how much was it?

Jen Kate (mommycozyhaven) - ur website mentioned "Placenta can be taken during any time of transition or stress, but is believed to be particularly useful for menopause or during confinement to build up the 'lost' during delivery." Can you explain abit more what it means by 'build up on the lost during delivery'? Is there any medical documentation to support the consumption of placenta?

Shazz - pluck the hair? Ouch! Pain lah...I have never got for waxing &amp; don't think I would be able to tahan the pain.

alabone/shazz: what is the diff between sphinx and brazilian waxing?

Strip uses hard wax on me all this while. I think it'll be extra sensitive down there now.

Even my pedicure 'hurts'...esp when they trims my cuticle. ouch!

Bigtoes,

'Lost' refers very much in building up our health to the pre-preggy state. Alot of things happens during our pregnancy and our body undergo alot of changes and it usually takes a period to recover to the pre-pregnancy state e.g. menstrual cycle and thats also y some of the website sugg to have a break of at least 18mths for the body to recover before we conceive again. Hmm..there are link from our web to research papers and experiment done so far with regards to placenta and alot of chinese medi does contain traces of animal placenta. As far as i know placentas are also added into the cosmetic we used.
So far we have received positive feedback from the mummies whom we helped. The common feedback we heard from them is that it really revitalised them which enables them to handle stresses and bb well..some even say it helps them to recover from illness faster..

Jen Kate,

Read from your website that the placenta can be processed into powder form. Is it used to apply on our skin or for consumption as well?

skinny pig,

Its for consumption, i believe alot of us could not take the sight of eating that placenta in pieces( not even me, keke) thats y we deicided to make it more acceptable by grinding it to powder or to capsulate it where is less gross. It works best when consume it seems..
Its added in cosmetic as well as its also believe to improce our complexion too but it works the same when consume..

Oh I oso din see opened coconuts before.My hubby used to use the knife n keep chopping for minutes...but oni a small hole...hehehe
so poor thing...might as well drink canned ones.
I will keep a lookout for opened coconuts...

alabone, it takes a few weeks for the hair to grow sufficiently before your next wax. shd be at least 6mm. usu before and after waxing, you should avoid hot showers/saunas etc for a day or so, and after that, should apply a soothing moisturiser on the waxed skin. after a few days, when the skin is less sore, u can start exfoliating to prevent ingrown hair.

flos, sphinx means completely botak while brazilian means almost all gone, something like that.

Coconuts:

Carrefour used to sell fresh young coconuts where u can just poke the straw to drink the juice. It's like Yeo's packet drinks but of cos with the real coconut husk. Not sure whether they still hv it.

Jen Kate,

I don mind grinding my placenta into powder form and apply it on my face for better complexion. But the thought of eating them in capsules or powder form puts me off..

Waxing: I did mine at D Wax Room. $40 after discount for first timer. But she don't do preggies! Re-growth will take about 3-6 weeks, which is just nice for me cos I want the area to be bare during confinement in view that we'll be having lochia. No, it doesn't trigger contractions, have already checked with my gynae. But please tell your baby in advance, in case they get a shock too when we scream in pain! lol

Flos: here're the answers to your questions! http://www.dwax.com.sg/brazilian_faq.shtml

JenKate: are your excited about your delivery on 18 Aug? Got everything ready?

shazz (shazzerlyn)
im both excited for the arrival of my bb and the consuming of my own placenta..keke..

Anyway stretch marks are getting more and more out of hand so maybe its also good for bb to come out earlier..i think i have got everything ready..hopefully i din miss out any..when r u due?

Jen Kate: that's great! feels so excited for you! Am due 9 Sep but depends on his growth the next few weeks, may induce if he gets too big for my frame to deliver him naturally. Gynae dun want to cause mummy and baby stress in case he's too big to be delivered naturally and then have to go for emergency c-sec after the ordeal! haha

shazz (shazzerlyn)
yaya..no fun going thur emer ceaser..thats what i went through previously..i was not the only one in shock..i think everyone including my bb is in shock....then the ppl around me also start to panic..exp my colleagues and in laws..haha
After which pocker also got a big hole...

hi xuanting,
thanks for info. wished i knew that earlier. was my first time doing the sphinx and it was actually really painful. think 5 weeks from now i shd be able to go for another round before delivering.

shazz,
wah. your lady so nice ah? still pluck for you?? back at home, i was trying to damn hard to pluck my own... really difficult coz of the big tummy...

JenKate: that's why my gynae is sweet enough to say to monitor the weight of baby, she's really very nice to consider my body frame and baby weight etc, guess she must have seen enough of cases to suggest this. I'm ok to induce if baby is too big, cos I dun wanna c-sec if I can. Dun want to go under knife lah! hhee. But of course if he's really too big and there's no point going thru the labour pain and then cant deliver naturally after like 12 hours labour, then straight away decide on C-sec will be better.

alabone: yah she's very nice, helped to pluck. If I can still see, I will pluck on my own too! but now my view is blocked by my huge tummy! lol

2nd round should be less painful for you, cos it's maintenance!

shazz (shazzerlyn)
agree with you on the knife part..i was also very scared with the knife thats y im opting for GA ceaser again..cun stand the sight of ppl around me moving here and there with watever barang barang, not mentioning the 'balang knife' in hand..

Yes induce is a good choice..

Marriage Certificate: Does anyone know if marriage certificate is required when we register for baby's birth? I dunno where hubby kept it! Wanted to pack it for hospital bag.

jenKate - u are delivering on 18th? wow, thats even earlier than sunrays....

Shazz - yes, u need the marriage cert to register. If not, have to go to ICA at a later date and queue up, troublesome. I am getting everything settled in the hospital, at least with the birth cert, can apply for insurance etc.

shazz,
yea. i was told subsequently not so painful also. just hope i won't kena the pimples with pus again. damn gross!

jen kate,
you are also going for c sec GA? me too. when's your scheduled date? i've booked 18 sep.

alabone (alabone): it may be clogged pores that you had that caused the infection.

Bigtoes: thanks for the information! will get hubby to dig it out when he's back. Dun wanna go through the hassle of going to ICA!

hi all.. i'm so happy, finally can start my maternity leave.. my feet are really killing me. i bought 2 soft soccer balls today to use as stress balls for when its time for me to deliver, going to squeeze them whenever i feel pain..

Millie (millie22): am now 36 weeks 2 days preggie, baby was about 2.6-2.7kg yday. EDD is 9 Sep

Cloud: now is the time to rest! ;)

hooray! found my marriage cert! phew!

Bigtoes (limay)
mine is 19 sep...GA c-sec

alabone (alabone)
Ya GA c sec..din have the guts to go thru epi c-sec leh..my hubby also dun have the guts to go in..the whole process took abt 30mins for my previous one so i thot its pretty fast..i managed to gain conscious even before i left the OT so hopefully i can gain conscious fast this time round to start the BF..urs 18? Ooo..one day earlier than me..good luck..

<font color="0077aa">Have done waxing once before, was quite painful but still can tolerate. Think I will just trim there &amp; not go for waxing...

Shazz: You resting at home today, not working?
My brestpump is here!! Speedpost delivered yday afternoon but I was not at home.

Cloud: I forgot all about the stress ball! Will pack in inside hospital bag.

So mummies, you all bringing trolley bag to hospital or just a big bag?</font>

storeberry (storeberry): me working from home, going for appt later
that's the beauty of our job. cos my company encourage the use of electronic submission now for cases, so it's easier for me. only thing is heavy to lug laptop plus all the stuff around, but I usually have a trolley bag, like those business trip laptop bags.

Hospital Bag: As I'm packing, my original Gucci tote is bursting as I'm always throwing in more stuff when friends reminds me ... so now I waiting for hubby to be back, then I'll transfer the items into the cabin bag!

shazz,
clogged pores ah?? how can i get rid of it now? and why would i have clogged pores there?? weird!!!

jen kate,
wah. you woke so soon? i was in recovery room for 2 hours before nurse woke me up to send me back to ward. i also prefer GA. damn frightened. but i really am so scared of going through the c sec pain...

storeberry,
i'll be just bringing big bags. one for me and one for hb coz he is also staying with me in hospital for those days.