(2008/09) Sep 2008

xuanting
Kenko does back massage too, and hand massage...was thinking of trying that. Mei, miss-crab-claws-like-me, have u tried their hand massage before??

Yun
What's "ang ge"?

JoJo
where do u work? if in town, maybe next time we can car pool and split car park and fuel costs since u drive in
hehe...

Hi Jaymickey,

Called Maryann, she said is ready as well. I will be collecting this sat ! so exciting leh.... I must go and buy a frame now... Cos I blow up one of the picture to 12R intend to display it in the living room !

Ava,

'Ang ge' means the cheeks will be rosy and red..
Actually not advisable to take red date drinks, especially during last trimester cos it's too heaty.

Ava
They do.. that day told the masseue about my crab claws.. that's why I booked the 90min session for this weekend.. he's going to help me ease the water retention in my fingers too.

<font color="0077aa">l'l CY (lilboymum): Kill as in spray insecticide until they drown lah!! Once in a while I will use newspaper. So end of the day the room will smell of insecticide...

Mei: You are the best!! Kill with your bare hands! I can't!

Bacon&amp;egg: Yah been praying for bb &amp; birthing process. Did you read supernatural childbirth, its very motivating! I also have round face &amp; yday cut short my hair, I cannot stand long hair now..

As for waterproof mat, I am only putting in on my bed, think office I cannot be bothered.. Keke.. And also our car seat?</font>

thanks, mei &amp; ava. do they massage you fully clothed and on a massage chair or in private cubicles and with oil? kenko at south bridge road right?

xuanting
I believe the back massage is fully clothes but cos we r preg cant use the massage chair. just sit on normal stool or something...mei/flos, can confirm?

there's a kenko at south bridge but they have a few outlets elsewhere too. check their website...http://www.kenko.com.sg/home.html

skinny pig, reddate drinks is heaty ? then should tell my mum, maybe drink in alternative day...better lor,i dun like the drink at all...hehe

Xuanting, yah...me agree too.. prenatal massage are no longer useful,will feel pain again the nxt day (waste money). Thats why I only ask hubby to do soft massage with lotion on my back then exchange with cooking the foods he likes. Last nite was massage me for almost 2 hours just to change curry chicken.haha....worth it

hi all.. went for my check up yesterday, bb is around 2.4kg at 35wk 6 days, compared to everyone else seems that my bb is quite small.. but i'm not complaining, easier to deliver. Mei what time was your appointment yesterday?

i'm counting down to my ML, just 2 more days to go..

ironically, i gave up my seat in the mrt just now to a pregnant Japanese lady. it was very obvious that she's pregnant but no one bothered to give up their seat to her.. i was already reaching my station so i asked her to take my seat.

yah Ava, should find more trading stuff to exchange.. scratching my head to think now....coz my back is pain again..

Cloud, I like your baby size... I also dun wan big baby, like what u said..easier to deliver. Mine was 2.5kg at 34wks which I find abit heavy.

by the way isnt ok to start drinking coconut like twice a week.. cox i heard my mum say during the last week b4 baby pop out can start drink everyday le

thanks for the link, ava.

koras, what's the coconut for? to cool the body down?

yun, chicken curry in return for a 2hr massage is a v good deal indeed!

Yun,

Red dates are heaty by nature. That's why during confinement, we need to drink longan red dates drink everyday cos after delivery, we lost alot of energy and nutrients, body would be 'cooling' by then.

cloud: your baby's weight is good! by the time you deliver, he'll be just nice at about 3kg, very good size for natural delivery.

Red dates tea: yes, this is very heaty, supposed to drink throughout confinement.

Fresh Young Coconut: supposed to help "cleanse" baby so that when baby is delivered, they're not so bloody. Was told not to take everyday, max of 2-3 per week, as it will be too cooling for baby's body to handle.

kenko body/back massage: hmmn, sorry, I didn't try anything else except for foot massage so can't comment. I was told to leave my shoulders and back alone by my post-natal massage lady. She did warn me that I won't feel shiok if I go for any pre-natal massage cos can't use much strength. I'll feel more frustrated rather than shiok. Seems like that's what you're feeling now.

shazz: how come my swell doesn't go down after the massage? It only makes me fall asleep, but I suppose that's good enuff!!

Oh btw, I bought the waterproof mattress protector from Metro which offers 20% + 5% rebate if u hv Metro card like I do. SO I dun need to wait till the next Robs sale already!!! hehehe!

xuanting: yep, ava is correct. Fully clothed and u sit on a stool. they will place some throw cushions on your lap so that you hv something to hug!!! Massage chairs are a no-no. I am like Mei: 30min upper body/30min foot.

Depending on where ur workplace is...south bridge rd outlet is nearest to my workplace. This outlet has many beds upstairs. Many angmohs working in the CBD area patronise this outlet. There are some walk-in tourists from time to time too.

I will go for my facial next week, as I'll be like cloud, on ML from Sat onwards!!! yeah!!

Me just did my pedicure this evening.

Ava
I'll let you know if my masseue is able to ease the water retention in my fingers after my session on Saturday. Actually I go to any kenko branch but recently found this masseue who can ease my water retention for days &amp; his massage is very comfortable.. not painful but the pressure is just right. He used to be at Tanglin but got transferred to Vivo. If you don't mind, he's a guy.. his name is Louis. He gives me lots of tips on what to prepare for the birth as he's a father of one &amp; his wife is currently pregnant.. so funny.

xuanting
Yup, we are massaged fully clothed &amp; as we can't sit on the special chair for back massage, we sit upright on a stool. &amp; no oil is used.

cloud
My appointment was at 430pm.

Flos
My swell really goes down.. I went on sat &amp; until today I can still see my ankles.

Hi Ava,
I am working in millenia area. But I am not a good candidate for car pool. I am constantly late and knock off late as well....
Becos of that hubby and me can never able to share a car as both of us keep very erratic hours....
Sian... nothing happen for the three days sitting at home.... Will be back at work tomorrow...

J&amp;S mum
yah, that;s my worry too. sometimes i just dun think he understands the implication...

but your twins sooo cute...

shazz
you are the first person who says my boy is well behaved...no mothers in the playgroup says that now....

flos
yah, maybe coz im teacher i get too anal about things...kakakak...totally agree w you...

<font color="0077aa">Tonight felt erratic sharp pain on my right side of pelvis, don't know why...

I want to go for massage but lazy!

Coconut: Yah, was told not to have too much, so far only had once.

Mummies, another 2 half weeks to sept!!!</font>

waterproof mat..
actually we didnt use any waterproof mat for our FB. what we did was to get protector sheets...(yellow sheets used in hospitals for patients). very cheap and just throw when you stain it or change with diaper change. very cheap too, think around 5 bucks for 40 pieces. we reckon it is better than using mat when the bb skin is still so delicate and sensitive.

mummies can consider this option.

Mummies, I felt a very sharp pain in my stomach at ard 1plus this morning that it woke me up from my sleep. I can also feel the pain shooting up my spine. It oni got better after i sat up and do some deep breathing. Was it contractions or something else to worry about? I can still feel baby's movement now. Was a bit worried.

JoJO
haha...can still consider lah...I start work only at 9.30, but go in anytime between 9.30 and 10. maybe just a one way car pool lor
but my office is at Club Street, not that far, but not in the immediate vicinity either... :p no worries, just a thought..

Ade
Call ur gynae office to see if they think u should go in. but if no moe pain and baby still kicking, maybe u were just lying in the wrong position and baby kicked up a fuss?

Morning, Ladies... I am waking up every two hours either to pee or just wake up for nothing.. and I am feeling sore sore at the adominal everytime I wake up.. anyone has the sore feeling? I guess body is getting ready for the two hours feed when baby is here.. hahaha..

Storeberry - I just bot another two young coconut from Marketplace yesterday.. haha.. so far I had two..plan to have 1 every one or two weeks.. I basically stop all my tonic since 32 weeks. no more bird nest or codecyps..but took a lot of fruits like cherry tomatos, prunes, kiwi, apples..

Bacon&amp;Egg

I ordered some warming shampoo and bath for my hospital stay. plan to bath and wash my hair after birth before my MIL and CL catch me. you can order from www.littledreamers.com.sg but the bottle is not big and it cost abt $10plus over and can deliver to you at extra $8 (non-cbd area). So far I tried their pdt for spider veins. quite good I feel.

Snowwhite &amp; LC,

You can get those waterproof sheet (used in hospital) at kiddy palace. They are sold in pack of 5s, can't remember the cost liao.

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - hah, nope. have gone for only one yoga class in my entire life! But am flexible cos I did tae-kwon-do since primary school, so no problem with splits and stuff like that. Hence can still reach my toes to trim &amp; do pedicure

Grace Toh (rain_toh) - hehe, ur hubby is so pro-life and gentle with all creatures!

Ade (littlepea) - maybe the pain is just baby acting up &amp; jabbing you with his feet?</font>

Breastfeeding Forum

LC (faintz) - the BFing forum article is in Straits Times' Mind your Body edition today. Have to call a lady by the name of Mary to register - 6258 8816 (limited seats)

mei,
kenko back massage
they will ask you to sit on a small stool in front of the massage chair, give you pillows to pop in front of your tummy. I enjoy the foot and hand massage but not so much of the back massage cos i have no support except for the pillows and i ended up supporting myself so that the therapist could massage my shoulders. But the foot and hand massage is good.

Try Spa House - their pre natal massage is quite good...(after i changed the therapist to this lady named Lucy) You will be asked to lie on your sides with a huge bolster for your legs and special stretchmark cream will be used to massage...i enjoy the 1.5 hours session..really good..1 hour too short.

LC, snowwhite..
hospitals pharmacy. in fact, any pharmacy i think...ask them for yellow sheets used in hospitals. dunno that's why hb calls them.

hi morning mummies,
think i ever mention tat i just went for a whole body massage 2 wks ago rite.. i went for my first try at the House of Balinese about 1 month ago.. and thereafter 2 wks later.. i must say it help me.. coz it eases my back ache which i had.. the sharp pain on my lower back.. remember?
Of coz, u mummies must be comfortable with the full body massage.. coz.. they will massage ur ah.. breast too.. so...
Well, just to let u mummies knw tat full body massage can be good too beside the foot massage.. kekeke.. rite FLOS?? kekeke

mei/shazz: oh dear...i think my swell is 'incurable'! I dun seem to notice that it's gone down after each session...Mine was quite bad since 6 months, almost like Sunrays. All the aunties I met at hawker centres or shops told me by the third time my feet swells, I'd be due! I just lost count of the no. of times the swells subsided...it seems to be swollen continuously and I've not seen my ankles for the longest time!!! hahaha!

Sunrays: R u giving birth on 20th?

Bacon&amp;eggs: Me neither. I felt KENKO's foot and hand massage was better than Back, which was quite 'tiring' for me. Next week onwards, I'll get the Malay masseuse to come to my house to massage me...

storeberry: Me too. ONly drank coconut juice ONCE so far...not really my cuppa tea. I drank a lot of barley though...

lilboymom: I think the waterproof mattress we were talking abt is for adults, not for the diaper-changing yellow sheets...We bought it in case of water bag bursting and lochia leakage!!! kkkeke!!!

<font color="0077aa">LC: I also stop my tonics alreasy, mum said not cooking now.. She asked me to buy tomatoes but no time to go supermarket.. :p

Yesterday had a good sleep &amp; didn't wake up or to pee at all! Felt so good!

skinny pig: Think what I'l CY say about the waterproof sheets is not the same, hers is only $5 for 40pcs. The waterproof sheets I got from John little costs $5 for like 4 sheets only..</font>

SnowWhite80 (snowwhite80) : i feel hot most of the time! cos got a little furnace in tummy mah!

Just came back from checkup: my boy seems to know mummy scared he too big, he slowed down his growth! haha ... he's now 2.6-2.7kg for 36 weeks 1 day. Gynae thought he would be bigger cos my tummy is so big now. But she's still concerned cos my boy is capable of growth spurts, so will monitor his weight at week 38, if he suddenly grow too big, will have to induce after week 38.

Flos: perhaps there's slight difference, just that you dun feel it. ;)

storeberry, flos
they can be used for both. hospitals use them for patients like us... :p then you can use for bb too. that's what i used when i had my #1...

it's actually very cheap...else hospitals wont be using it like it's free....

ok, may not be obvious, but look at the yellow sheet below my son. not very big maybe that's why it's cheap, but very convenient. you get some of these tucked under you in the hospital after delivery too...

1636828.jpg

l'l CY (lilboymum) : have not seen the yellow sheets being sold in the stores leh. Only saw the bigger sized ones in blue.

Flos and I got the waterproof mattress protector to protect our mattress, in case our waterbag burst, not so much to change the babies!

For babie's cot, I got the blue ones, but will be lining his bed with the Babysafe waterproof sheet as well. Me kiasu lah, dun want to ruin his expensive latex babysafe mattress also! need to pass on to his future siblings to use! haha

You can actually get these waterproof sheets from the phramacies at hospitals, they actually cost cheaper than getting from places like Kiddy Palace. They come in 2 sizes in the hospitals, you can buy the bigger sizes so that you can use them both for yourself and for your babies.

eih..you are supposed to be looking at the yellow sheet. not my boy. heeee...he wasnt very cute as a bb coz he was very cranky. in fact, i nearly sold him away...serious! after first few weeks, i was wondering if any couples who are desperate for child want my boy or not...terrible times lah...

<font color="119911">l'l CY (lilboymum) - heh, being cute helps offset being cranky &amp; alot of other things
(case is point: the cute Chinese girl who lip synched at the Olympics opening ceremony vs. the one who could sing but was "not cute enough"....poor thing, might end up growing up &amp; going for plastic surgery.)

Anyway, I am hoping that our baby would be decent looking as well - else my MIL would think twice about taking care of him after I return from my maternity leave!</font>