(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ava
That sounds like a good way to discipline kids.. think I shall buy the book to keep for reference. It's the SuperNanny book?

Mei
Yeah, the Supernanny book by Jo Frost - i think there are a few books by her now. but watching the show helps demonstrate how to do it better...dont think they show it nowadays.

Oh and Storeberry
Must remember not to shout or scold during the naughty corner. just be calm and adopt the "tone of authority" - low voice, to show u r NOT happy with his behaviour (I find this part the hardest cos sometimes super angry lor!)

i decided to give the maid a chance cos after applying dettol wash and anti-itch cream her condition improves. As for her acnes, the pimple cream seems to take effect cos i can see that the red swollen acnes have turned to be brown now. So it is sign that the acne healing. As for her work, i am pretty satisfied at the moment and i decided to give her a chance. If change another maid might come with another set of problems and I really dread re-coaching one. This maid is doing just fine...
This morning, a cockroach flew into my MBR from the window. I cannot imagine if i am alone at home. Fortunately she managed to catch the roach with a pc of tissue though she is also v afraid... hehe... she saved my life!!

Storeberry
Ya.. i used to do hsework all my myself and ironing is one of the most dreaded chore! Those shirts and pants of my hubby are the most difficult to iron... i always ended up soaked with sweat and backache. 1 ironing session can last abt 1 hr. After tat really peng san. I have a habit of cleaning all my windows also... I gave it up after my 5 mth of pregnancy... too much for me le... Now with a maid its so much more relaxed. My hb taught her a few dishes and i got to eat home cooked food now.

mrs yap
good to hear that..better go get those specs for her too..dun wan her putting diaper on baby's face! or on a serious note, not cleaning baby bottom properly etc. check out the cheaper deals for specs lah...!

My helper's cockroach catching skills are also champion thank goodness!

storeberry
my son is 21mths old too..kakakaka..
but i think different kids respond to different techniques so it's trial and error. i didnt read super nanny...but i started naughty corner thingy when he was very young, like 15-17mths? coz i know even if he doesnt speak much he understands loads. the first few times i did it had to use play yard coz he doesnt want to stay at one spot. gotta let them get used to it then they know they have to stay in one spot, if he removes himself have to stay longer. first few times very troublesome but it's worth the effort lah.

people always commented that my son is such a good boy, will stay in his naughty corner. sometimes they fail to notice these are trained behaviour!

but i know of parents with kids whom you need to use cane. kids are just different. they are not bad parents or what, i know of tots who have very very little receptive language (can understand very very little) and are extremely active. these are the ones that maybe canes will come in helpful?

<font color="119911">Ava - think ur method of the naughty corner makes a lot of sense. I am leaving the disiplining to my hubby thou (who believes in sparing the rod = spoiling the child). He grew up with the cane, but my sisters &amp; i, on the other hand, weren't raise with the cane and we turned out just fine, so i am really anti-caning.

Meanwhile, didn't sleep too well last nite! Baby is getting stronger and impatient to come out! He was poking me in the left ribs with one of his foot :p</font>

Ava,

so ur twins are in '69' position ? don't worry!! i am a twin and my twin sis and me were in '69' position in my mum's tummy too.
We were delivered naturally.
i am the first twin and i came out buttocks first (breeched). my sis came out normally (heads first).

Hey Kym - my C is scheduled for 2pm on 30th Aug. Maybe you can PM me your mobile number, then we can arrange to meet up on 31st evening at one of our rooms?

<font color="0077aa">Kekek.. Thanks for the advice Ava! Yah man, really difficult not to get angry &amp; raised my voice when he keep repeating himself! He sounds like a broken recorder! Sometimes I feel so guilty when I beat him on his hand. I should really tell my mum to try the naughty corner. Do they sell the DVDs also for Supernanny?

Thanks l'l CY (lilboymum) for your advice! But the thing is old people tend to be more lax, so I hope my mum will follow thru the naughty corner thingy.

Mra Yap: Glad that your helper is getting better! Ya man, ironing is a chore!! Keke.. Even I live in high floor still kena flying crockroach! Even though I am afraid still gotta kill it myself cos sometimes hubby not around!</font>

Hi, Storeberry

My SIL is also using the mtd that Ava suggested on my nephew and it does work, provided that my parents are not around to be the angel which my nephew can turn to.. Of course, my nephew is tearing away when he was asked to face the wall but after awhile, he would stop crying..

Hi, l'l CY... Hope I can also "look open" like you when my IL take over to take care of my baby when I am back after the three months maternity leave.. now, the tot of my MIL coming everyday to my place after I deliver, (even with a CL around) worries me as I might be more stressful with her presence. And, if I am really peeved off, I might just ask her to back-off. this is very disrespectful I feel. I might not be able to control.

Hi, Goldfish

My scan has been simlar to yours since 28th week,, only can see the back of the head, the spine, the legs (occasionally).. I did not get to see baby's face and gender for a long a long time cos baby head is down since 28th week..

<font color="0077aa">Flos: Missed your post. My MIL will be staying with us once bb is out. We are not planning to get her a maid cos I don't like to have a stranger at home &amp; another set of problems to deal with. As my time is flexible, I will go to work around 12-1pm to help her with so she will have time to do other things.

LC: Yah, I will tell my mother to set up naughty corner tonight.</font>

LC
ah...me not relaxed at all...kekekek...i show black face now and then...but old people must tell them one thing at a time, today im planning to tell them not to feed cy outside food when he;s with them...whahahahahaha...must have tactic one, like going to war like taht...

Ava
does adan still behave at the naughty corner and after that? hmm...cy sometimes will give me a very cheeky smile after his naughty corner 'stint'.

storeberry
im impressed!!!!!!!!!!!!! you KILL flying cockroaches????????? wow!!!!!!! pei fu peifu...i will just spray insecticide on it till it drowns..

Hi mummies... Long time no "see".. Everyone ok?

Bigtoes: Read that you're scheduled on 30 Aug. That's so soon.. I'm so excited for you!

Mrs Yap: Are you feeling better now? How's the baby doing?

Naughty Corner: I shall start this with my dotter soon.. She's getting out of hand too. Sometimes what I do is to just leave her where she is to cry it out.. She'll some look for the comfort hug and bao bao after that..

Ava,

U used the naughty corner method too? J's CC use the same too but they call it the reflection chair. I don't use the cane but if he totally piss me off, he will know from the tone of my voice. If he repeats again, I will use the same firm tone again. He will soon realize it's unacceptable behaviour (at times, throw tantrum but I won't barge). So far, at 25 mths, I think he gets the message (usually won't repeat again.)

so most of you all wouldn't use canes is it? Actually if i intend to use it to "frighten" the child only, will it have adverse effect on the child?

dseptkon (dseptkon)
i think so bah...cos that time i only rem i lost alot of blood, they comes in gushes and one gush can wet the whole pad liao..but no pain at all..thats y rush all the way to MT A then within 30mins arrival of my gynae im in OT liao..

Kym Teo (pebblez)
Ya i only admit when i saw the gushes of blood in the toilet bowl. My gynae told me my gal should have been drinking my blood from the placenta for abt 2 days liao and i rem 2 days before the incident i did have an intense pain for about 15mins and i really mean intense cos cold sweat was really running down on me for 15mins for which i get to know its not normal at a later stage..so i think thats when the placenta start to bleed internally..i din rush to gynae cos i thot thats normal cos im already in my 36wks..lucky it bleed out finally else i really dunno what will happen to my poor gal inside..

ironing &amp; roaches
i am the opposite..i am good at killing roaches and hubby good at ironing.

Hair length
Anyone long haired mommies cutting away their hair to shorter bob? I have been trimming my hair but find it too thick...is it better to keep it thick so that we can tie it up or layer to get rid of the weight plus easier to dry during confinement if we wash our hair?

bacon&amp;egg
i recently cut my long hair to close bob lo...

didnt do it with my FB. now just wanna change. thoguht it better coz it dries faster when i wash it, important during confinement i guess.

storeberry,
agree with you on cord banking, i just feel right abt it..i pray alot these days too..esp birthing process

sarahmay,
i think i must have heard the sonographer wrongly but again my hubby said he heard 75cm too!! i told him cant be...we just look at each other puzzled...
will get the detailed report from gynea again..

Hi Bacon&amp;Egg,

I went for a hair cut yesterday. I have cut away my shoulder length hair to short bob for easy management. In any case, i will be washing my hair daily during confinement as well. I cannot stand not washing hair or bathing
I bought the confinemet shampoo and bath gel from little dreamer

Hi, good to hear that so many babies are already in the head-down position. Think my notti boy is still in his sitting-down position (tho in the 29th week, he was head down). Praying hard that he quickly gets into position.

As for notti corner, my twins walk there automatically to take their positions when I order them to (when they're notti). But I dunno if they understand the reason why they are being 'punished'. Most of the time, it's becos they refuse to take their meals, or play with their food. Sometimes, when one is notti, and we order him/her to go to the notti corner, the other, who didn't get into trouble, will gamely accompany the other to the notti corner *faint*. They think it's a game. But after a while, when they realise that we refuse to let them roam about and play, they start howling. Only after 20 mins, then I will led them away from the notti corner and talk sense into them. But really, I dunno if they understand what they'd done wrong.

hi bbmouse
really long time since u post
I am fine and resting at home now... Thanks

Storeberry
i also stay in high floor... kenna 3 times flying cockroaches in 2 yrs. 1st time i was alone n hubby overseas. It happened at abt 1030pm at night n the roach was v big! I ran out of the room slam the door and left my hp inside! I can do nothing but to go and knock on my neighbours door for help... fortunately he is still awake and feeding his 6 mths old boy.

Bacon &amp; Egg
i bought the powder type shampoo from cheong choon and the bath sachets from CC as well...

ava: really? I'll pack the stress ball into my hospital bag.

shazz: Oops! I'm still ironing my clothes. My HB does his own ironing, luckily!

wingkei: your DH is really funny!!! get used to the tiles knocking agst one another?!!! I play MJ leisurely too, but am never an addict. I still dun like the idea of leaving my poor bb there when she quietly sneaks out to play MJ. To quote lilboymom's words "wasting my bb's life away" under my ILs' care. He'll be watching all the HK dramas and picking up all the wrong moral values!

lilboymom: I think u r right. When my son is born, I might just want him by my side all day and all night long. Dun even want to leave him with ILs or Infant care centres anymore
I guess for teachers like yourselves, u hv the natural instinct to wanna educate and mould your own offspring even more? hehehe!!

Alabone: scratch until got blood come out? Is it some skin condition that he is having?

I went to Robs last night to check out the waterroof mattress protector. It's $99!!! SOOOOOO pricey...Din buy in the end cos I missed out the 20% NDP sale over the weekend. BANG.

steff&amp;seans: wow! you are a twin? Does it run in your family?!

storeberry: SEE? SEE? I knew it! When u only hv one kid, and a healthy pair of ILs are helping and getting a monthly allowance from you, u really dun need to have a stranger milling about in your house! I told my DH so many times and he insists on getting one to support his mom!

AMWAY: This is an American brand that is very popular in China. The CEO is an ABC. I was always hounded at public places by those MLM aunties/housewives to join their 'lines'. It works like Nuskin. I use some of their products I got from friends and associates. Too clinical for me, as u know I'm a sucker for fragrant toiletries...

Goldfish: I most likely will be giving two Christian names, followed by Family Name, followed by those Chinese characters. Dun hv HYPY nor dialect name on birthcerts...E.g. Walter Luke Pang (XXX)

My bro's and sis' kids all follow this naming convention, so I will be a copycat!!

I'll go for my pedicure today if my pedicurist is free and that there is no acrylic customers today, else the salon will be very stinko

mickey
Long time no 'see'!!

Cockroaches, insects &amp; what-nots
I'm the one who kill them! I dare to catch them with my bare hands too.. only thing that freaks me out is the cut-off lizard tail that wriggles on the floor.. lol.

bacon&amp;egg
I don't intend to chop off my hair, just going to pin &amp; bun everything up during confinement.

thanks for all the feedback on hair length

another question - can see that most mommies are getting waterproof mat for beddings..how about at work? what if waterbag burst in the office? How? Must we bring a big towel to office to standby?

<font color="119911">Flos - I can still reach my toes to do my own pedi

Hair - had long hair since I was 12...no intention to cut it short for confinement. Anyway, i find it cooler to just tie everything up &amp; keep the hair away from the nape area.

mickey (bbmouse) - yes, am due on 30th! Have been so busy with work thou, the fact that I am giving birth soon has not even sunk in! I don't think it would until the nite before...</font>

Hair
Keeping mine long too, cos i hate neck length hair that cant go up and is too hot when down.

stef&amp;seanbabes
Yep, 69. they were like that before too, but moved transverse till this check up.

Didnt realise u are a twin
good that they were able to delivery you breech
my gynae will probably do the same. i think he'll suggest c-section only if they are transverse.

Notti corner
Can't take credit for the ida, but seriously works wonders. adan doesnt guai guai sit in his corner now that he's 4, but we have to be firm and bring him back there.

J&amp;S mum, you leave them there for 20 mins??? wah...that's quite a long time man...they patiently stand there too (maybe because they have each other's company easier to tahan the "punishment")

Flos: I got the $99 waterprood mattress protector, got it when they had 20% + 10% off some time back. My sweet mum just helped me change them.
Hope it's worth it!

Hee, I just went dentist and kenko for foot massage after that! Wat a busy day running errands and keeping to appointments!

Housework: I think it's ok for us to do them so long as we feel fit and strong enough to do it. But for those who felt faint, dizzy etc, or felt the strain, it's best to leave it to helpers.

Ava: congrats! your gals are doing very well.

Blood Stained Beddings: I just soaked my white high threadcount beddings with O2Vanish and then washed them with Napisan! Hee, if it's good enough to remove nappy stains, it should remove blood stains too I guess! One word of caution though, never ever use hot water when washing anything with blood stains. It'll make it worse!

Alabone &amp; storeberry: I think it's a guy thing leh, they just can't resist stratching! and they're not aware that their strong hands can tear the skin and bleed!

I'CY: CY is very well-behaved indeed!

shazz, i pee about as often too! sometimes in dribs and drabs, sometimes in splashes and when that happens for like the 3rd or 4th time, i wonder where all that water came from.

had my 34-wk check up and doc said that my bb is small at 2.2kg. am not sure if i should be worried cos it sounds quite ok to me (was 2kg at 32wks). will be having some sort of a growth/detailed scan at 36wks to ascertain the position of my placenta as well as to obtain a more accurate estimate of bb's size before doc advises if natural delivery is an option for me. does anyone else have an anterior and low placenta like me?

bacon&amp;egg, i saw this gel type shampoo and body wash at a shop called mums' essentials or something. not sure if they're good though. i think someone has bought some warming shampoo and body wash specially formulated for women undergoing confinement too. it's from an online store and the link was circulating a while back.

xuanting,
are they those dry type for mommies who dont intend to shower? I plan to shower with herb..so those normal shampoo and bath gel we use daily should be good enough?

Talking about cockroaches, I've a funny story to tell. It happened one night that I saw a big cockroach at the basin cabinet, I screamed for my hubby to get rid of it, then I quickly went back to my room. After all the ding dong, I asked him whether he has killed the roach...he told me he spray at it but then feel bad, so he put the roach under running water to wash away the chemical until the roach back to life again...thou I feel relieve that the roach did not die but I almost "faint" after listened to what he said..hahaha

mei, i'm like you too! absolutely no fear of roaches but deathly afraid of lizards.

mattress protector
flos, didn't know they are so ex! perhaps u should try the cheaper stores like carrefour?

aches and strains
i find the prenatal massages no longer v useful for me. it's all nice and relaxing while i'm getting one, but almost as soon as i step out of the shop, i can feel the tensions creeping back and by night, i'm aching all over again. this morning got up feeling like someone has been beating me with a stick in my sleep and am dying for a massage now but the benefits are so short-lived it's almost not worth the money anymore!!! agh... but may still go for one later if really cannot tahan. anyone beginning to feel the same too?

Grace
That's the funniest and strangest roach story i've ever heard...LOL!! I hate killing roaches...dont like killing them too, just dont want them near me/in my house!!!

bacon@eggs: "how about at work? what if waterbag burst in the office? How? Must we bring a big towel to office to standby?"

Do we care about office?!!! Let it be stained!!! LOL... It's not my property!!!!

shazz: lucky u! I forgot all about it after shopping there last sat. The SA told me there's another sale on 28th Aug. Hopefully I'll STILL be very active by then.

Bigtoes: u practise yoga? I can't bend down anymore!!! I will not cut my hair too short either...

bacon&amp;egg, they are all gel-based. think it's for those who intend to shower like normal. i'm not sure if we still need special shampoos and body washes if we're rinsing ourselves with the confinement herbs though. the confinement herbs contain lemongrass right? i love the smell of lemongrass!

Ava,
Both my hubby and myself hate to kill, especially my hubby. When our house still under reno, I saw a spider in the living room, so asked him to catch the spider and throw away. But he refused, he told me later the spider cannot find it family..."faint". When he saw ants while mopping floor, he will also tell the ants to quickly hide away...double "faint".. haha, sooner or later, my house sure become insects get together place. I cant wait for my mum to move in stay with me, she will make sure no such insects in the house.

Hi Bacon &amp; Egg,

The confinement shampoo and shower gel is in gel form. For wet shower.... I don;t think i can tahan not bathing or using the powder or the herbal kind....

I got the shampoo and shower gel from little dreamer website. It was recommended by some mummy in this september thread some time ago

Hi Jaymickey

Really ! I have not hear from maryann. Mine not ready yet
. Probably due to my black and white photo request and the blowing up of the photo.... I will give her a call... Thank for letting me know

xuanting (xuanting): perhaps you can try kenko's foot massage. My legs feels so light after each session! And the benefits is very obvious for me. Before stepping in, my feet is swollen due to water retention, after 45mins session, they're back to normal with no swelling! heehee, all thanks to Flos and Mei for their recommendations! Now I go at least once a week, still have 3 more sessions to go before I use up my package.

Bloodied Bedding:
Mum just hang up the laundry. Verdict: Napisan + O2 Vanish works! the dried blood stains are gone!

thanks, shazz. do they do back massages too? my legs are fine; it's just my upper body that needs it.

grace, i hate to harm living things too. i usually chase them away or catch them alive and take them far away. if dh is doing it, i'd get him to do the same thing too. but i was an evil kid. i used to find ant trails and kill them en masse with a long plastic ruler, amongst other mean things like sealing up the entrance to their nest with glue etc. really bad hor.

Shazz.. Iam like a normal person in daytime.. only pee more in nitetime (especially after midnite)and sometimes can feel bladder very pain

Any Mummies has already start drinking reddates water ? my mum force me to drink...she said baby will be "ang ge" when born

xuanting
Yes, they do shoulder, neck &amp; head massage too.. I normally go for 30min foot &amp; 30min back massage but this weekend I'm going for a 90min session!

unless it cockroches, otherwise i leave the insect alone as long as they don't come disturb me. at the most, we both will just go back to our room and closed the door and leave the insects outside. hoping it will leave my house soon.