(2008/09) Sep 2008

Who is not hiring a full-time maid to take care of your NB after CL is gone? Big toes? SarahMay? Shazz? Sunrays? Sasa de mouse? Ava? Storeberry? Goldfish? Momoko? Lok? Isabelle? Crayonshinchan? wingkei???

I hvn't never heard u mention about your maid(s). Who's looking after your baby? Am panicking now...I wonder if I should hire a maid soon...After my CL leaves, my elderly MIL will hv to take care of my bb...she has requested for a maid to support her...Sigh...

Ava
Thanks for highlighting on e maximum claim on maternity bill! I just realized that my hospital oso have similar version as well!

Mrs Yap
Ur maid seems to be in a ‘bad-shape’… I tink u shld change ur maid wor! Though she is in a pitiful state, bt I tink wif a newborn at hand, better dun take chances leh!

Bigtoes
OPPS.. I totally forgotten abt the urine catheter leh! I nearly wanted to pack my shorts into the hospital bag leh!!!! I tink it will look gross wif urine catheter exposed!!! Diaoz… thanks for highlighting it and will check out the robes tat umentioend though I find it abit ex :p

Does anyone knows whether the IUCD tingie can be inserted during delivery huh?
I haben brought up the birth control tingie to my gynea yet.. abit paiseh leh.. :p
It is onie recently then my SIL told me she got herself preggy 3 mths after my niece was born and she went for abortion thereafter.. it was a secret until she let me know recently lo.. to warn me tat breastfeeding no guarantee that not fertile one!!!????

<font color="0000ff">Flos
I nvr hire maid, nvr hire CL wor... MIL's maid will be helping mi during confinement and when i go back to work, bb will be left to her
She's been with us for the past 8 yrs le. so kinda trust her lah. but am still having 2 minds whether to install a cctv at MIL's house wor, coz that's where bb will be when i go back to work...

it might be good to hire a maid to help ur MIL esp since have to look after bb and handle household chores. is it too late to hire a maid now? not sure wats the transition time for them to come after ur selection wor...</font>

Flos
After my CL lady gone, It will be a one-man show for me loh
Hopefully I can maintain my sanity.. if cannot take it, I will request to place in infant care earlier
OMG
I dun sound beri motherly I know…
:S

How elderly is ur MIL? My MIL CMI
My mama is elderly.. she cannot walk well and haiz.. abit skinny nowadays
So, she is out…

My MIL will be looking after baby once I resume work. No maid to help her.
Anyway my MIL is in her early 50s, still quite strong &amp; healthy..

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - me! Am not planning to have a maid, at least not till we have baby no. 2 and find that we cannot cope. Don't like having a stranger in the house, &amp; having to deal with all the nonsense that comes with having a maid.

When the CL leaves, it would be just myself &amp; baby for 3 months, till I return to work. Thereafter, we will drop baby off at my MIL in the mornings &amp; take him back home for evenings &amp; weekends. My MIL seems ok handling the baby on her own fingers crossed), though my sister drops off her son at my mum's side &amp; my mum would never consider taking care of a grandchild without a maid in tow!

Goldfish (goldfish1395)- not sure how long the catheter stays in for natural birth, but i guess about 1-2 days till we are okie to walk to the loo to pee? On birth control, I am also assuming that I won't get preggers when BFing, but will speak to my gyne on going back on the pill (was on combined pill, Diane 35 prior to trying for babies). Effectiveness is about 99.something percent.</font>

SarahMay: thanks! you take care too!

JenKate: I also have the same question as sasa! hee, your EDD is 1 day after mine, but I wonder why you opt for c-sec so early. my gynae may induce me on 27 aug (38 weeks) if my baby is too big. I dun think she'll want me to pop earlier, for the reasons that dseptkon mentioned earlier about the full development of the lungs.

updates from gynae visit:
yesterday went for my gynae visit @ 36weeks 4 days. Sharmaine is at 2.45kg. i'm now 51kg (up 7kg in all). Doc says she may have over-estimated baby's weight the last time @ 34weeks 2days cos that time baby was 2.3kg..

she says this baby will be like my daughter's size- skinny baby... *_*

i packed all the baby's stuff already.. washed her clothes/ towels, packed the room, packed my hospital bag too.. so now, i'm all ready.

Flos
I have a live in maid already. However, when Adan was born, we had no CL or maid or in law or parents. I looked after Adan myself for first 3 months, then we brought him to day time nanny from 3 months will he was almost 3 yrs when we moved house. Got a full time maid onnly last yr when Adan turned 3 yrs.

limay ,
the cather will be removed within a few hours after natural birth and we are supposed to go toilet after the first few hours ourselves and wash up the V area ... that is some sharing...

Bigtoes (limay)- bb was 2.2kg at wk33 so my gynae anticipate he willbe ard 3kg next week..

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) &amp; shazz (shazzerlyn)
- haiz..i dun have much choice, i had a placenta abruptio at wk364d for my gal previously and according to my gynae hes supp to operate one week before my last incident this time roung of which will be wk354days..but its too early..so to minimise the risk of the happening again (5% reoccurence) he will ceaser me at the earliest possible date of which will be wk37 (next thurs). However he only do ceaser on wed and fri i have to go for 20 aug..but hubby decided to choose an auspicious date cos its lunar 7th mth and since we have the choice, so we seek the advice from our regular fengshui master and she chose 19 Aug..my gynae thinks its ok cos since i was given the boost to mature bb laung at wk32 liao...and agrees to it with a surcharge of $1500...lor...

goldfish ,
ya no gurantee for BF mummies although they say 90 something percent safe ... That is how I got preg with my micky nw .. cos I thought i am still BF and the conceive dates are a few days away from the " fertile window period" and i still kena preg ... best contraception = NO SEX at all .. keke
I am getting quite bored at home nw ...... thinking of gg out .... but i cannot walk far .. backache and scared contractions will be triggered again ..
Anyway office called and said that MC totalled taken for the year is 8 days .... Haha .. so I calculated wrongly .. that means 4 days due to my accident in april in hospital , 2 days of eye surgery and another 2 days for pregnancy backache/appt visits .. so after adding up .. i only exhaust 16 days of MC.. highest i have taken in my 7 years of working .. haha ..

Still date no sign of labour... Getting bored at home... Think I am going out for facial and a hair cut... To tidy up and a bit before the big day... Else sure cannot go out during the confinement....

If nothing happen tomorrow, I think i will go back to work on thursday leow...

Qiuling
ya..cos he needs to close his clinic so its a surcharge..and is not his scheduled date for ceaser...he must be damn rich man...

Ya second bb..my first one is emergency and my gal was in NICU for abt 5 days..i only rem the bill is super high man..cos all unscheduled..hopefully this time round wont be so high..still pondering epi ceaser or GA ceaser though..

<font color="119911">Qiuling (chewy_ring) - oh, the cathether is removed so quicky? That's good to hear. It stays on longer (at least overnite) for C-sec mommies i guess.

Speaking of hosp charges, i didn't realise that there were seperate charges from the room fees until Ava posted this link - http://www.thomsonmedical.com/maternity_pkg.htm. So blur.
So for TMC, ours would be ($410+75 companion charges + $100baby care + $50baby cot) X 3 days, plus C section by epidural $3,083. Plus GST of 7%. That is assuming no complications, and on top of Dr WKTan's fees of about $4k. Adds up to like $9k+!</font>

Jen ,
he is super rich ..... U can actually calculate from his full appt everyday .. keke .. and morning rounds in MT A ... per visit is $250... that is 2 mins = $250 per visit he charge for these few days i am in hospital. keke ...

can share the bill cos i am still a bit panicky how much it is gg to cost me to deliver a premie ... and Dr Ho reassure me that even if i go for delivery nw , the BB is safe cos he injected the steroid for lungs maturity already in hospital ... and I am still worried that if premie , my son will be in NICU for quite some time ... keeping my fingers crossed now .. haha .. staying positive .. rather keep the money for son's education

rainy day ... would be so nice if I can stay home to sleep! haha ... but got appts lined up today, so gotta stay in office

Hospital Charges: think there will be more things as well ... those consumables etc ... dread to see the bill manx!

qiuling..

i rem that time for me the cost all came up to abt $5k (emer ceaser + its a sun) so have to add in all his surcharges too... and for my gal its abt $2-3K (5 days in NICU)..i was given the steriod this time rd at wk 32 too..according to him bb should be ok to live in with me cos his lung is already matured..unlike my gal shes consider a premie eventhough shes only born 3 days before her full term cos her lung was still not quite ready but as far as i know shes ok after one day in the oxygen box..its her jaundice that keeps her in the NICU..cos she also ingested some of my blood from the bleeding placenta for at least 2 days liao....

limay ,
your DR cost so much for C section ????? 4 k ... I remember paying a deposit of 1250 for Dr ho natural delivery deposit .. hmm .. the rest claim by Medisave for my first born ... hmm ...
the total bills for my first one is about 5k plus for natural delivery in Mt A with epidural .. and then a lot of costs already paid for, like doctor 's deposit, the antenatal 450 claimable ..so the rest claimable by medisave is 4k plus ..so i paid an outlay cash of $700 for my whole 2 days stay in Mt A even if the bill is 5k plus.

gynaes are rich but....

actually O&amp;G not a very hot speciailisation. think about it, you are practically 'on-call' 24/7. coz mothers can have emergencies anytime, deliver anytime. your family life is practically thrown outta window.

coupled with the fact that the insurance is very high...dun think gynaes have the 'life' to spend their money...

Jen ,
thanX for the info .. it will lessen my panic if i were to deliver nw at 34 weeks 5 d .. at least the cash outlay is a few k .. not a heafy 30-50k i heard from the nurses ... an Dr ho says bb is safe to come out nw .. lungs should not be a prob after the steriod ..thank goodness the contractions sop that day and dilation did not carry on ..

Jen ,
i think Dr ho si generous with u because u have past history of "frightening" him with emergency c section .. haha ... that is y flu also can get 4 days MC .. usually he is really " niao " haha
This time he gave me a 8 days MC i also get a shock myself cos i knoe he is niao with MC but he gave 8 days .. maybe i have not taken much MC with him and he knoe i have spare MC to exhaust .. keke

Qiuling (chewy_ring) - Dr Tan's cost is about $4k in total, including all the scheduled visits from when i signed up for her package (think week 16 onwards?) The gyne fees are actually reasonable - its just that TMC has alot of other changes (like the C section by epidural $3,083 - which is billed by the hopital - guess for using their facilities etc..., and like shazz said, not including incidentals and consumables. At least can deduct some from medisave

Last year i was admitted to remove my fibroid, &amp; the bill also came to about $9-10k. At least this time, i go home with a baby, and not empty handed!

qiuling..

no problem..but as far as i know..dr ho is those play safe type..so i think ur bb will be fine even if hes born abit earlier..but may i know y are u given the steriod as well? Complication dor the first one too?

Jen ,
i agreed with you . I am sticking with Dr Ho because i feel safe with him and his professionalism and expertise .. cos I think we are all okay with normal gynae if there are no complications .. but if there is really any complications , specialist and more experience gynae can save bb life..

I am given the steriod on 080808 last friday cos i was admitted to hospital due to regular contractions that happen for a few hours .. then he prescibed the steriod to mature the lungs and give me a patch to stop the contractions .. cos only 34 weeks and bb is premie .. he says the striod will take effect in 24 hours .. so inject first to mature the lngs , just in case I still deliver the next day .. 2 injectiosn in total and 24 hours patch to stop contractions ..

Flos,

I looked after my FB on my own for 10 months before I return to work and sent him to a nanny. Got my current maid in Nov last year to help me with my son in anticipation of my hubby going away for 4 months this year. Now my FIL and maid looks after my FB.

Thankfully I have a pretty good maid. Hope to keep her for at least 2 contracts. My son likes her quite a lot (but I'm still his no 1 favourite

If you want to get a maid, do find one now. You will need time to wait for her to arrive, interview her on the phone, etc. Also, to give yourself some time to assess her and if really nec, to send her back to the agency and re-trains another maid if she's not good. All these before you officially 'hand over' your baby to your MIL and maid.

Bigtoes
I think the maternity package on the TMC site already includes the room, so dont have to add the per day rate again. just your gynae's fees.

shazz (shazzerlyn) - ya hes super duper safe lor..i wana try natural initially then he told me super duper long thoery of why he dun encouraged.. asked him can delay or not..end up kena lacture by him again..hes like a father to me man..

Qiuling..
contractions..oic..but how it feels like har..that time for my gal the ctg show got contraction when my placenta bleeds but i dun have any feel at all..
Dr ho is rec to me by my pal, dr ho is the mentor of her clinic doc. my pal miscarriage twice..her first gal also a difficult preg but dr ho managed to keep her..now my pal is preg again and is with dr ho again..

About Maids: Thanks to all for your feedback!!

Most of you are really "OMO"...It seems to me that the norm is to let your MIL take care of the bb without giving her a maid.

My SIL (i.e. DH's elder sis) is dumping her bb with my MIL daily (she is a property agent who has no fixed working hours) and I'm not sure if she is giving her own mom a token allowance for leaving her bb there.

I wonder if I should do likewise and leave my bb there when I return to the workforce next yr? After all, it's her "internal grandchild" right, she shouldn't be so calculative with me...

Why should I hire a maid for MIL when her own daughter doesn't need to hire a maid to support her own mom? I'll become the sucker if I hire a maid to support my SIL's 1YO bb?

My DH seems very inclined to hire a maid to support her 65YO mom. Honestly, she is not physically weak. Just biologically old.

Hospital bills: Bigtoes - yes, for c-section w/ epi at TMC, it's about $8K for my SIL last year. This year, coupled with the fact yours is Dr Tan, it should be $9-10K.

Qiuling: Forgot to ask u...is your DH back from China to keep you company last Fri? You were admitted on 080808, dun tell me he was watching the Olympics games at home?!!! *JOKING*

Flos, me oso not getting maid.. HB not very keen with the idea. After CL leaves, I hope we'll be able to handle on our own. Else I'll be running to my mama's.. she stays just a few blocks away.. haaa..

bigtoes, u are good leh.. hee.. haven taken any MC yet.

And as for braxton hicks hor..
how does it feel like????
Up til now, I dont have any crampy feelings or anything of that sort.

Am I normal?? Or rather, is this normal?

Could it be that I do not even know that i'm actually having braxton hicks?

Flos, u are damn funny leh.. the way u desc ur MIL.. not physically weak but biologically old!

Hosp bills.
And as usual, the very "bo chup" me has not enquired / checked upon hospital bills. Just assuming that everything will be falling into place on their own! hahaa.. dead piece of meat.

Hello Mommies,

Just came back from gynea's, Junior is now 3.2kg at Week 36! Big bb and might need to c-sec..will see gynea again this fri to determine...

Anyone's bb has the same weight at Week 36?

Pelvic Bone
My junior is not engaged yet but pelvic bone hurts like crazy..i could no longer drive..cos i cant get up the car with feeling the pain. Gynea says it is normal but doesnt affect every preggers..only some...some lucky ones dont feel any pain at all...try to sat down more often and pee as soon as there is an urge...else the pain will worsened..

<font color="119911">Ava - u said "I think the maternity package on the TMC site already includes the room, so dont have to add the per day rate again. just your gynae's fees." Don't think that is the case, cos doesn't make sense. Their charges for natural/C are a fixed flat rate, whereas room charges depends on whether u opt for a 1/2/4 bedder/VIP/suite rooms. I think these are seperately billed.

Anyways, whatever it is, not like we can negotiate! Just wanted to be prepared on how much it would cost roughly &amp; not get a shocked when the bill comes!

crayonshinchan - yah, no MC todate! Not even one day of leave cos all my travel has been for work so far &amp; not holidays
! If i feel abit sick, i usually just work from home. Quite sian to be on MC with nothing to do also, unless i really am ultra sick.

SnowWhite80 (snowwhite80) - welcome
Nope, don't think ur baby is big at 2.9kg....has ur gyne said anything? Mine was about 2.6kg at week 36.</font>

Bigtoes
I heard abt those pills.. bt is it true tat reallie no side effect mah? If I am not wrong, nid to pop pill everyday one rite?

Btw, anyone experiencing sore or stiff fingers? I am not sure whether my sore fingers has anything to do with my pregnancy or not loh

Lastly, any housewives out there that can share with me what is the most IGENIOUS way to remove blood stains on MATTRESS??

SnowWhite80 (snowwhite80) - welcome! think your bb's weight is normal.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): I suspect my boy will be around 3kg when I go for checkup this Thur too. Gynae suggested inducing at week 38 if he's too big. You may want to check with your gynae if 37 weeks is safe enough, if not, have to inject to make sure lungs are fully developed.

Waterproofing Bed:
Hubby supposed to help me change bedsheets and use the waterproof mattress protector I got before he left, but he was so busy packing we forgot about it. Anyway, I'm afraid to spoil my expensive mattress, so I laid a piece of the disposable waterproof protector under my bedsheets. Hopefully waterbag wont break so soon and not when I'm in bed! You gals should start laying the waterproof pads soon too!

Goldfish,

I experience sore or stiff fingers when I was about 30 weeks.. Its due to water retention..
I cannot even bend my right 3rd finger, can't even write properly nowadays.

Goldfish (goldfish1395): me not housewife but I do the housework! ;) my hubby have a bad habit of scratching himself when he's sleeping and his legs are often bleeding from the awful scratching! My expensive bedsheets are often dotted with his blood stains! I used Vanish O2 to wash it and it removed them totally! But it's really strong, and can damage delicate material. Can try spot cleaning it first, especially when the blood stain is still fresh.

My gynae said head havent engaged yet.N i told her my bb kept pressing on my bladder, she said its normal once the head is engaged then will feel less pain and urge leow...:>
She suggest that i induce if bb hits 3.5kg. Wats all ur stand??
Hb also having reservist...haiz...hopefully bb not so urgent to come out.if not i dunno how to handle it alone.

shazz.. I'm planning to put the waterproof sheet under my bedsheets too! I think I read somewhere or some1 has mentioned that it's not so easy to clean off.. as in the liquid from our waterbag.

Which is more painful?
mummies who has given birth before, can i just ask which is more painful or uncomfy? Maybe in order of "pain"?

1) Inducing labour
2) Checking dilation
3) Bursting waterbag

Cos I'd been hearing different things. So I want to get myself mentally prepared first.. heee

SnowWhite80 (snowwhite80): my gynae suggested inducing at week 38 if my baby is too big too. The estimate weight of my baby at full term is about 3.5-3.6kg. Most gynaes will recommend what is safest for the mummy and baby. If baby is too big, mummy and baby may be in distress if baby got problem passing through the birth canal, and mummy may be tired out.

crayonshinchan: hehe! Some moms/MILs are biologically young (in their 50's) but actually physically weak/frail mah...right or not?!! Mine still can work and travel around the world.

WATERPROOFING mattress? Thanks for reminding me about this. I should grab it from Robs now that the Bed shop is having a sale...

Bigtoes: U dun need to take MC cos you can telecommute
I wish I could work from home, dun need to exhaust my paid sick leave...sigh...time to change company

bacon&amp;eggs: whoa, 3.2kg...that's a wonderful size bb indeed!!! I wonder how heavy my boy is now...I dun want him to come out so quickly. My pelvic bone hurts. Hard to get up from the bed and get out of the car. Sometimes when he kicks, I feel as though my urine is leaking...