(2008/09) Sep 2008

dseptkon, there is a powder spray dry shampoo. The shower wash is a herbal one from the Chinese medical hall.

But hor, I took a normal shower the very next day after I deliver. I cannot stand not bathing lah... plus weather so hot nowadays.

isabelle: actually, my mom also told me most pp dun bathe during those 2-3 days one...cos your body is still very, very "xu"/weak...plus the full aircon environment, etc.

of course, I do agree that you need to wash your face, clean your buxom, armpits, perineum area.

xuanting,
i will bath in the hospital with hot water. Should be quite a mess after birth..but wont let my mom or MIL know..in case they nag!

Sorry to intrude.
Anyone wanna buy Desitin Creamy 4oz? Expiry date Feb 2010.
I ordered extra. Selling at cost $10.30.
Pls pm me. Thanks!

thanks, jessi. have you tried them out yet? i've so far only been able to find this non-rinse shampoo (gel-based; not for confinement but more for v sick ppl who can't take showers) but it leaves a residue in my hair which i don't like.

thanks, guys. methinks i will just take a sponge bath and wash the more critical areas if it isn't too unbearable in the hosp. haven't seen the tmc bathrooms before. hope they're comfy enough.

xuanting, i haven't tried them before cos don't think can use it now. i can't stand sticky hair, so i will wash my hair during the hospital stay.

anyone knows if tmc got provide hairdryer in the room? hehehe.. starting to think hospital like a hotel :p

Sorry to interrupt.

For those who intend to breastfeed, I've Fenugreek for sale at $15 a bottle (incl postage)

- 100 cap
- 500 mg
- "NOW" brand
- expiry: 04/2011

Price nego if you intend to purchase more, let me know if you're interested.

1618102.jpg

<font color="119911">xuanting - wow, thanks for letting us know. I am signing up for the SCBB donation next Monday just before my gyne appnt, better check on the $500 charges.

Bathing in hospital - what is the function of the herbs anyway? I am planning to bath and wash hair as per normal during my confinement...don't really care for herbs unless my CL asks me to use them. What is worse, she is only coming on day 6 after my delivery (no earlier flight after discharge), so hubby &amp; I would have to cope on our own for 2 days after being discharged from TMC
!</font>

hi xuanting,
i also just bathe as per normal. just that i will bathe in super hot water and blowdry my hair right after. cannot don't bathe coz very icky. plus will have lochia.

jessi,
i think they will have hairdryers. just ask the nurses.

dry shampoo,
my friends who used it previously said it was no help at all and in fact, caused more itchiness and messiness...

wingkei,
i really feel so sorry for you. for the situation that you are caught in and that you seem almost powerless to do anything. i know i'm gonna sound really mean to suggest this but isn't it about time you stand up for yourself?? you have a baby now and to put it quite negatively, the bb is now your trump card. unless your hb doesn't give a damn. do the confinement your way, get the cot you have to, get the baby clothes you want to. scold him and tell him to wake up his freaking idea!

paiseh lah. i really cannot stand your husband.

Where can we read up on breastfeeding? Like how to breastfeed, etc? After seeing what Isabelle has written, I'm starting to get worried. I too have the impression that it's easy to breastfeed.

sri, me too in clinic C.
just went for check up yesteray and my next check up is 4 week later, which will be my 37 weeks. after the payment, we were wondering y no more scanning, cos my mum said since it near to birth, so the check up will be more close. so we decide to go back and ask the doc, before we went in, the helper came out and we ask her, y no more scanning and the visit seem a bit far, then she told me after my next visit, should be more closed, like one week once.
maybe what u say, we are under subsided case

alabone, I know what you mean. Cos sometimes, when I really get into serious quarrels with him, I will tell him what I really feel and try to stand up for myself. Then after that, I will act "stomach pain" and "faint". ;p To let him get worried for a while and to let him stop being so overbearing. And usually it will be peaceful for a while. But I just hate to keep quarrelling with him like this every time, I don't think it's good for me mentally, which is why i always try to tahan. But I still don't have the feeling that the baby is my trump card though.

<font color="119911">wingkei - there are tons of materials online on BFing...just google them. You might wana check out sites like Baby Center, or http://www.pregnancy.org/breastfeeding.php. Also, if you are with TMC, they have 3 free books by one of their consultants, BB Wong, one of which is dedicated to BFing.

Meanwhile - it is POURING here at my place. Finally, after so many days of hot spells. Mommies travelling home after work, do take care!</font>

jessi/babysage

thanks for the info about the shampoo and body wash. the littledreamers stuff looks really nice and am tempted to buy quite a few items so must have a little self control and think about what to buy

Bigtoes and TP/Raffles Pl moms
I am in office next Mon, Tues and Thurs...maybe not full days. Lunch then? Cos after that I'm on ML already

<font color="119911">Ava - i am on leave on Monday (National Day leave in lieu), and WFH (working from home) on Tues &amp; Thurs, so next week is no good for me
Guess we will all catch up face to face again after the babies arrive?

xuanting (xuanting) - nope! My CL is in Medan and on another job currently - I can't even contact her! First &amp; last time I am going to get a CL from Indonesia. My MIL is taking 1-2 days off to help out after I am discharged thou...she can help out with the baby, but not like I intend to BF in front of her!</font>

Bigtoes
Pity...never mind..there will be opps after birth to meet up!

You may not care who sees you bf after a while. If you are as bochap (and tired/desperate/harried) as me, that is. You'll do fine without a CL for a few days as long as u have someone around..or even if you didnt. Woman powerrr!

Sri, i am not subsidised patient and going clinic B. but no scanning every visit.
last scanning week 32 growth scan . i think if doc. feels every thing fine then don't ask unnecessary scanning

icic... so i guess subsidy patient nt always hv scanning..

so Jasmine, 36wks checkup only consultation rite.. will they check bb heartbeat or check our vagina?

bigtoes
same here. I refused to let my MIL see me bf. She's not my mum after all. How can i show her my boobs???

wingkei
yes, bigtoes is right. There's lots of material out there. Just that i was too complacent the last time...
And r u working? If yes, then u dun have to be so submissive towards him. Like alabone says, just go get the cot u want! Anyway, I guess u must have known that he was like this before marriage right? But u still decided to marry him! So he must have some good qualities! Mebbe u can look back and think of how and why u could tahan all this back then. Mebbe u'll feel better then.
When I'm really irritated and angry at my hubby, I'll try to think of all the loving things he's done for me (and my parents!). And the times when I've been unreasonable too. Then i rem that nobody's perfect... And i chose to marry him, so i have to live with his quirks!

Sri, yesterday the doc just check the haertbeat of the bb, she put there less 1 min, then she took away. me don't even get to hear the heart beat.
think different ppl have the check up at different week

icic... so my upcoming checkup will be the same juz like last mth (32wks)...

wah...u nvr get to hear ah... nxt time muz ask doc is tt my bb heartbeat.. hehehe... i did.. n she'll find the heartbeat...i can hear it so clear...

ACtually I completed my shopping during the GSS period.... Just that curious to shop shop and see see. The only thing i have not bought is the nipple shield i think.... I am such a laidback mum, i did not attend any parentcraft class at all... Just bought some books to read about BF. Worry, I will not be able to BF my son successfully after i hear the obstable share by you guys... I have bought a medala PIS style pump, think i will bring to the hospital loh...and see if the LC can help me.

Hi Mrs Yap,

My hubby bought it at First Few Years..It was really expensive
SUppose to be the 2008 version and it come with the Metro bag (cos i hate haversack)...he paid about $715 or $688 I think..we cannot remember.. We are a bit pressurized into buying by the agressive sales staff there...Hubby also lazy to shop around... we bought in May i think... Now much cheaper....

hi jojo...
thanks... i will let her know. Well since u already bought it, make good use of it. I think its worth while if it can extract more milk w/o wastage. If its yr first child, then even better cos u can use for 2nd or even 3rd child.

I cant wait for tml's National Day rally.

<font color="0077aa">Jo jo bar: I also didn't attend any pre-natal lessons. I am also worried not able to BF but I am determine to do it!

Just now MIL was telling me to get a small tin of milk powder just in case no milk &amp; bb will be hungry. I told her No No No... Must not think of no milk &amp; must think have milk so cannot even buy formula! Hope she will understand &amp; not force me to buy milk powder.. Kekek...

My breastpump is on its way to S'pore! So happy!</font>

mrs yap: it's not the NDP Rally, it's the Message...

storeberry: why must u bring your own FM? The hospital will hv.

ava/big toes: i'll also be taking my day-off in lieu and medical leave for my gynae visit. it's a bad week and final work week!! Nevermind, u all can still go ahead and meet until u pop!!! I'll be waking up late and watching Olympics everyday at home after 15 Aug liao
Hehehe!!

<font color="0077aa">Flos: No, my MIL say must buy one tin at home not bring to hospital... Wow, you will be having tai-tai life soon!! Me will work till I pop!</font>

morning mummies! dunno why I've been waking up at 3am and 6am for the last few days. Body getting ready to meet baby's needs at night?!

storeberry: I got a small tin of Nan 1 on standby, just in case baby screams his head off and my milk supply have not kicked in yet after being discharged from hospital. Anyway, I do intend to supplement with FM during night feeds. I know I'll be stoned by the die hard TBF mummies but I'll just do what I deem as fit for my family's lifestyle - no screaming baby, no frustrated mummy, nagging hubby, anxious grandmas and CL! haha

Went to Taka Baby Fair yesterday with an angel to KPO. I've done all my baby shopping and is more than ready to welcome the little one. But I ended up spending $210! I got the Advent IQ24 promo pack with a cooler bag and 3 feeding bottle + free Advent pillow, all for $168. Pretty worth it IMO. Intend to use this at home and the previous Pigeon set I got at my MIL's place cos she'll be looking after baby when I get back to work.

Also got cheap sleepwear from Pigeon, soft and ok looking long sleeve shirts and pants at 3 for $9.90, Medela Nipple Shield $14.60 (after 15% discount) &amp; Pigeon air filled rubber mat.

Offerings at Taka Baby Fair
- Pigeon 20% off
- Pigeon Rapid Steriliser + food warmer + newborn starter kit $159
- Advent 20% off selected items
- Medela 15% off (various pumps at special price, can't remember price though)

morning shazz,

you're not alone in waking up at ungodly hours. same here. i can't sleep in the night and by the time i can doze off, which is like close to 4am, i find myself waking soon after to pee and being woken up by hb when he leaves for work... then i can't get back to sleep. my timing is all off...

wah. your avent IQ24 promo pack is very good leh. i so regret buying mine during isetan pte sales now... damn... why didn't i wait????????

regarding supplementing with FM in the night, don't worry about it. no ones gonna stone you just because you wanna supplement with fm! i just wanna share my experience with you.

i also did what you are intending to do. coz my boy was an impatient feeder and i had little milk. so ended up he drank more fm than my bm and after two weeks, he was on total fm liao. my girl was slightly better but my bfg only lasted one and a half mths.

supplementing with fm in the night is a good idea coz it can keep bb fuller and they won't be waking up crying so often. but do take note that if you do not feed in the night, you might have to express your milk in the night instead. coz those times i remember i didn't latch on, i suffered from engorgement. then bb didn't empty breasts totally so i kinda ended up with mastitis.

in any case, do what you deem fit and don't worry about opinions from anyone. when i was supplementing with fm, i had pple who kept asking why i didn't wanna bf totally and why i didn't persevere. i mean it's seriously not easy lor... bm is of coz good but if it brings to the mum much sadness such that she can't enjoy time with the baby, then i think other choices/alternatives shd be considered.

Sri
Like cloud, I also go to The Private Suite for my checkups &amp; my gynae scans me at every visit. My next checkup is on Tuesday, which is an interval of 2 weeks from my last one.

shazz
You've got a good deal at the Baby Fair! &amp; I agree with alabone, just do what you feel suits your lifestyle.

alabone,

I agree with u. No point getting so uptight abt TBF that it causes excessive stress to the mummy. Much as I believe in the benefits of TBF, the 1st 3-5 days were very difficult as the milk supply hasn't kicked in yet. In the end, I supplemented with a little FM and finally, when the milk supply was flowing, it was TBF all the way for the next 6 mths.

For mummies who intend to supplement with FM, my recommendation is to get HA formula (rather than normal FM). HA formula is easier to digest, so will cause less reactions for NB. 2 years ago, only Enfalac and NAN carried the HA formula. Haven't checked recently. In my case, will probably stock a small tin of Soy FM though as my #1 reacted even to HA formula as he's intolerant of cow's milk. *sigh* There's a very high chance J#2 will hv the same problem cause daddy/mummy/kor kor are all like this.

Thanks alabone, mei and Lok for the encouragement!
I intend to breastfeed for at least 6 mths and will make an effort to wake up to pump if baby doesn't latch on. ;) Last night I had a funny dream, that my boy can't latch on well but can feed real well from the pump attachment! Darn weird! haha

About waking up at ungodly hours, I think I suddenly got a surge of energy this week. Even when I wake up at 6am, I still have energy to last me through the day and can sleep at 11pm! Pretty amazed cos usually I will be so zonked out by 6pm! haha ... my colleague said the last surge of energy is to help u to push when you're due! And I thought we're supposed to be more tired during our last trimester! haha ... think I can really work till I pop then!

Lok: Nan still have the HA FM!

alabone &amp; mei: yeah, the Advent IQ24 is a good deal!
thanks to the angel who got me off my lazy butt to go to the fair!

Flos
We'll be on ML at the same time then. next week is also my final work week. hope i dont get too bored.

shazz
I get those energy spurts occasionally too, but90% of the time i'm dragging myself around
don't be too stressed about BF. I was and it really got my mood down last time. i hope I can be less "rigid" this time round...

Lok
thanks for the tip...must go hunt for HA formula as a standby...

morning ladies!

I was also at the Taka baby fair ytd.. the usual stuff, clothes, toys, cots etc. Like what Shazz mentioned, there were Pigeon, Medela, Avent counters.

There's also a Huggies counter. They have different sizes which range fr NB - L for Huggies Ultra and they are also selling Huggies Pull up. For the Ultra, the S size is $14 whilst M is $14.70. Is this cheap? I didn't buy though I was tempted cos I thought I had better check NTUC to compare prices 1st.

Johnson &amp; Johnson also selling baby wipes. Small pack going 2 for $4.50 and big pack going 2 for $8.90 (i think).

Sri, I'm like cloud and Mrs Yap, a patient from the private suite so have scanning every visit. From what I know, Clinic B, C or D does not have the machine so all scannings are done at the Antenatal Diagnostic Centre which explains why the docs there can't do scanning. For TPS, there is a machine in every doctor's room. Don't worry too much, I'm sure bb is fine which is why doc doesn't order scanning unless really neccessary.

Ava (avalyn): I'm not going on ML but am working from home more often now.
That's one of the perks of being self-employed.

Yeah, I know what you mean, sometimes I drag myself around the house or places too! Especially when I had to get up from the chair or bed! The pelvic pain is unbearable sometimes!

Huggies: I got the NB-24 pieces during the Motherhood fair at $7.70 per pack then. Not sure about the S and M sizes. So not too sure if the promo at Taka Baby Fair is good or not. I know that if you spend above $100, you'll get a nice Huggies Diaper Bag.

hi shazz,
you're most welcome! we must encourage each other. i also wanna breastfeed for 6 months.

can't believe my luck. took part in an online lucky draw from motherhood website and was notified that i won a pack of pampers! yeah!!! so happy.