(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa de mouse: only the bulk antenatal package ($1K+ receipt) can claim from Medisave - $450. All other med, strep B, DS, OSCAR, nope nope

I asked him to estimate lah...the sonographer told me LC & WC doesn't do that for patients. Firstly, he is not trained in sonography. Secondly, his machine is not like the one used by Dr TC Chang. TC Chang is the head of the L4 Diagnostic Imaging Centre leh...

He measured my tummy (along the linea nigra) and said the size of my bump is proportionate to my no. of weeks. My BP is also good.

He told me it's ok to take cold drinks wor...

I can't flip and turn in my bed anymore...it's really hurting, I mean the pelvic area...

Mrs Yap: I think the guestimation are just FYI lor. As long as you've no pain no ache, it's ok. My priority is to maintain the current progress and deliver in Sept. Don't ask for anything more!

<font color="0000ff">Springz
hey welcome!!! omg.. u started to feel tightening from 1st tri onwards?? tats so early... did ur gynae mention how come u started feeling them so early??

Mrs Yap
juz rem to take ur med on time k

<font color="0000ff">Flos
sob sob... when i saw LC 2 wks ago.. he measured my tummy.. n did mention my tummy abit smaller den wat its supposed to be lor.. hence he commented i will have a small bb

I came on once or twice many months ago... the thread is too fast for me!

Yeah baby girl..

funny thing is my sis who gave birth 3 months ago, also had a small baby girl. Doc said its in the genes that the weight doesn't go to baby.. my mom comforted us saying that like this easier to deliver then after that babies grow very fast. My sis' 3 kids were all about 2.5 at birth but now very big.. the 2nd one is only 15 months but 12kg already!!

Hi Sasa! Actually my gynea said tummy is always supposed to be soft. Once hard, must eat the pills. In 1st tri it was just some parts that felt hard now and then.. but in 3rd tri it is whole tummy 'kek'..

u also dun worry abt small baby ya.. gynea say mine is 'underweight by 2 wks' but i think should be ok.. strange thing is my tummy is huge.. think baby happily doing water gymnastics inside!!

aiyoh...

girl girl small small nice nice...kekekek.. i like pint sized girls...hope my girl wont be a jumbo like mummy...

i know many small sized girls (when birth) are smart and very advanced. so dun worry...girls too big i scared next time bigger than hb...like me

just went gynae yesterday at 32 wks n my gal is about 2.2kg, is she gonna be big? gynae said bigger than expected leh.
any1 who did c-section 1st time going to try natural tis round? i'm still thinking if i shd try or just settle with c-section. cos last round its emergency and bills shot up quite alot..haizz.

<font color="0077aa">Mrs Yap: Actually I find the 1st song cute!! Haha!! Especially the "mamma"!! Keke...
Yah the crying abit irritating!</font>

mrs yap,I can really empathise with your situation. Ds1 was also 1.6 kg at 32 weeks. I was really upset then cos it's quite small lor. I wondered what I did wrong. Anyway to cut the long story short, I think bedrest will help very much cos it helps in the blood flow. So dun move too much except to go to the toilet and the dining room. Sounds boring right? Well, I guess no choice ..rest well till 36 weeks, I am sure the bb will gain sufficient weight. I am satisfied as long as e bb is not below 2.5 kg
In e mean time, eat all you can ...be positive! Take care!

milkmilk..
my ger is oso 2.2kg @ 32weeks... dr did not mentioned that she is bigger than normal. he oso never mentioned c-sec. my ger was 1.6kg @ 28weeks though. dun worry yeah... see wat dr says..

i m also thinking if i shld go natural or csec.. dr says no need, but say ultimately my choice...

mrs yap:
dun worry too much, as long bb is healthy,n still growing, it shld be okay. you can still fattten her up when she comes out... wat most is to keep her in u til 37-38 weeks

Hi, Milk milk

My baby was 2.1k at 32weeks and gynae conmmented baby is bigger than expected.. and might hit 3.7kg when full term. goodness. how am I going to push?? and I have been piling kilos last few weeks though I did not indulge in durians and a lot of sweet stuff.. I have gain 13kg so far and there are 6 mmore weeks to go.. looks like I am hitting 15kg extra soon.. sad sad

hi milkmilk

my gynae told me mine 2.4kg @ 33weeks+ is average only lei..so i guess it all boils down to individual gynae ...btw, i am going for vbac thise time round..hope i am successful..dun really wana go csect again as the recovery takes sooooo long..sometimes my wound area still got itchiness lei...tts y i say natural is the best..me too worried abt the cost if ended up emergency c-sect..keeping my fingers cross..

mrs yap

dun worry..just try your best to rest well as after bb's born u be very bz &amp; tired..dun worry abt the bb weights...u can still breastfeed her to make up for it...

Good morning, Ladies

I have a weird dream last night and ended up I woke up early, making my postings here. I dreamt that I delivered on 3 Aug 08, today!!! and it is a fast delivery.. I wanted a sept baby actually so in the dream, I was shocked and could not really take it.. hahaha...

Hi,Angeline
Agreed. different gynae has differnt views.. for mine, she said bec both myself and hubby are tall so baby tend to be bigger too, though it is above the normal average size of an asian. she often joke that the bed in her clinic cannot cater to my height cos my legs are always out of the bed frame
) I asked if I can still go for delivery given a big baby and she said possible cos I have a wider hip to start with.

Hi, Mrs Yap
Slippery for lady fingers so easier to deliver? hmmm..I have not heard that :p Well, you try to maintain a positive mindset and eat more proteins, it will help. what is more important is baby is healthy, size can be built up thereafter.. smaller babies are easier for natural delivery too.

Nursing bra - anyone getting nursing bra at this stage? how do you all buy? Get one size bigger? most part of my body grow bigger except for the two boobs. they have stayed the same size till now..

Mount A - Those who are delivering at Mount A, my friend who recently delivered there late July, mentioned that dun need to bring diapers as the hospital will provide. She suggested to use maternity santiary pad instead cos the usual ones do not last that long (abt 2-3hours) only. She also mentioned that dun need buttoned-down sleep wear but must at least have a half button to the breast line for BF. Hope this helps in your packing. I have not started mine yet.. hahaha..

Pigeon sterlizer - Those who bot the pigeon rapid steam sterlizer, I have a question. According to the instruction, the water to be put in is just that volume of one measuring cup. is it really sufficient? I am thinking of sterlizing the breast pump funnels and storage bottles and breast shield too.

Hi everyone!!

Mrs Yap
Glad things are looking better with this gynae. Dont worry or stress ab out b aby weight too much...just rest rest rest and eat weel ok?

Angeline
When is your next visit? Mine is two Mondays from now...you are on fortnightly visits too? Paul says mine still cannot go natural at the moment...am hoping they turn by next visit!

Shazz
Nice Pics!!

LC
For the sterilisers, based on what I needed to put for my previous steriliser (can't remember the brand) they dont need much water. but dont overload the steriliser. just do in 2 batches if you have a lot of stuff to sterilise other than bottles etc.

Mrs Yap:
Dr Loh is quite careful, giving me whole week medical leave even when I had flu.
He used to say my little one is a little big..guess it was because I had self-brewed chicken soup weekly. But she is now under normal range after I stopped for a while. He will normally give some multi-vitamins etc. Do not worry since he is monitoring you every week.
He also tried to re-assure me when he told me that I may have to go for operation instead of natural.

Koras: thanks for clarification. Hope you feel better. My vomit also comes and goes even now. Try to take smaller but frequent meals and see if it helps.

Sasa: yes, I am so happy after the exam (hope I did make it, but the brains are really not functioning too well these days). I think at this last stage, it is really great to be able to rest and just wait to deliver ;)

Went for my week 35 check up and the gynae suspect that I might be popping soon. He mentioned that my constant weight could be a sign that i am be popping sooner than my edd. Hence he has schedule me for check up weekly now... Looking forward to my son arrival ! This is really exciting....

LC:

I bought nursing bra oredi.. i heard muz buy one size bigger cz ltr u breast will be much more fuller due to production of milk..

Jo Jo:

tts great! I'm so excited for u.. hv plenty of rest k b4 u going for 'battle'... hehehe..

<font color="0077aa">LC: For nursing bra, one SA asked me to buy bigger bra size, the other SA from MIM asked me to buy bigger cup size. I also not sure.. but for both I still have room to grow...

For Pigeon steriliser, I haven't even open it yet! Haha!!

I just packed my hospital bag yesterday! At least one thing off my mind!

Diaper bag: My friend bought for me a Skip Hop bag (Spark) from US, love the prints! Also biught two Lasinoh breastmilk bag.

Ava: Yah, Shazz's pix are really sexy!! Wooolala!!

Jojobar: Must be so excited yah? Alot of Aug mummies are popping in July!

Told my fren that bb must stay inside till govt announed the baby incentives. haha!!</font>

Hi, i m a may 2008 mumi and was reading thru the recent threads. had wanted 2 post if any1 of u interested in a 2nd hand medela PIS metro. used onli 4 2 mths. if interested, pls pm me.

but after seeing mrs yap worryg abt her small bb, i 1 2 share my experience of small bb. i had contractions in my 3rd trim n wen i wen 2 c my gynae, he was also worried becos tummy real tight n bb seems 2 b b 2 smal.

on e 33rd wk, he stil say tat bb nt putg engh weight, make me stay in bed becos e fluid oso seems low. on e 35th wk, he gt worried, made me go 4 detailed scan again. e result is also 2 monitor closely as fluid on e low side n bb oso on e smal side. so i diligently keep eatg especially durians.. wen i c my gynae on e 36th wk, there is improvement on e fluid level but stil nt gd engh. bb stil nt putg on much. gynae even warn me tat he might 1 2 induce on e 37th wk becos he is worried tat if e fluid level is low, bb wil nt hv engh oxygen. but 4 him 2 induce on e 37th wk, bb must be at least 2.1kg. i was so worried den as my husband was nt in spore. if reali need 2 induce, i hv 2 go thru it al aln as hubby reali cant cm bac.

by mid 37th wk, bb herself 1 2 cm out. there is spotg n wen i check myself in2 e hospital, oredi dilated. so i went thru labour alone n my bb was onli 2.2kg. so heartpain wen u c her. she so tiny. especially wen u c her in e nursery. she was so obviously much more smaller den her 3 over kg neighbours... but now, she is a chubby bb n i almost 4get she was tat small wen she was born.

so dun worri abt e weight as long as she is healthy! Jia You!

thanks to everyone for compliments of bloom shots!
hubby so proud of himself after I told him the pictures are well-received! hehe

Bigtoes: hubby is pretty good with cameras, but he usually take nice scenery pictures when we go for holiday, this is his first try at portaits.
am impressed with the way he set up the lights to make one area of our bedroom, the studio!

I got the Pigeon sterilizer too but have yet to set up or read the manual.

Jo Jo (jojobar) &amp; skinny_pig: so excited that you'll be seeing your baby soon! Guess you gals must be the first 2 to pop.

Baby Size
I have slightly small tummy as compared to conventional preggies. Bt my gynea keep saying bb growing normally lah etc. He can just press press my tummy and concluded that the bb is of a good size before he do the scanning lo. I am still skeptical lo bt I oso abit bochup liao

LC,
I will be delivering at Mt Alvernia and understand that they will give us a bb bath tub. And as for the maternity pad, issit tat ‘good’ huh? I haben stock up on that.. glupz.. I think they dun come wif ‘wings’ rite? WIch brand is better? Any1 knows?

As for button tops, ermm.. thot mothers will be wearing those hospital attires? Must bring our own clothes during our stay there one??... I dun haf those button ones manz -_-

Mrs Yap,
Glad that you have a careful and detailed gynae now.

Maybe you should fill yourself up with more protein like eggs, omega 3 fish (salmon, cod fish, etc). I suggest not to eat too much sweet stuff in case your sugar level goes up. Less carbo if not u'll be the one to put on weight.
Can oso take durians to boost bb's weight, but not too much too cos the sugar level is high.

I feel so long as the bb is healthy, the weight doesn't really matter. Many pple also grow up to be of good size during adulthood even though they are premature bb. Urs should be ok, dun fret too much on the weight ya

Mrs Yap, dun worry about bb's weight ok, my bb gal is also 1.642kg at 31 weeks 6 days. so its more or less the same. maybe as everyone says, bb gals are smaller. my next check up will be at 34 weeks 2 days. i also wondering if bb will reach 2kg or not. anyway, if doctor say bb is healthy, then no worries already.

<font color="119911">jojobar - your gyne "mentioned that my constant weight could be a sign that i am be popping sooner than my edd." Wanted to check with you - how long has ur weight been constant now? I also have not gained weight the last 1+ week! Now abit paranoid that baby might decide to pop earlier than planned!!

Skinnypig - WOW! You are into week 37 already!

Thanks for reassuring abt baby's weight. Yday 1 sister spoke to me in church. She was saying her boy was born early n at 2.2kg. Now the boy about 3 yrs old le.. really cant tell is premature cos he is so cute n chubby.
My new maid is here. She make 2 hard boiled eggs and french toast for me this morning. I swallow down eveything le... keke
looking forward to appt this fri too

Skinnypig
wow u are 37th week le... can see yr bb real soon. All the best to u and update us yr visit later ya.

Bigtoes &amp; Mrs yap,

Yup, 37th week liao.. Tummy getting heavier and heavier.

Mrs yap,
Just rest and eat well. Everything will be fine for you and little baby...

I've 15 bottles of concentrated birdnest for sale.

Each weights 230ml.

Price : $55 /= bottle.

I've got them from my uncle, however too much to finish.

Please PM me if you are interested.

1606509.jpg

skinny pig, gratz you going to see ur baby soon!! i wish mine would come earlier at ard 38th week also.. but another worry is that all my baby stuff not washed n tidied yet, and my hospital bag preparation is only 20%!! hehe!

Mrs Yap, your hard boiled egg suddenly reminds me of egg mayo sandwich my mum used to make for me in my first tri! *drool* cos nowadays for past few months have been eating 2 soft boiled eggs almost daily at wang cafe, and starting to get tired of that style...

wow, some of you are going to deliver soon!!! so nice....but then..welcoming the sleepless nights..yikes!!!!

hospital bag
think wont pack much, maybe some toiletries and a change of clothes...wont be like last time lug big bag there also no use...also hoping to discharge asap..gotta boy at home...

am going for 32 weeks check up later....sooo sleepy ...dunno why my boy is sooooo awake and active today...

Yan,

I quite kiasu.. I washed up all the baby's clothes and packed the hospital bag when I was around 31 weeks..

I am just left with the bedding set, but too lazy to wash nowadays leh..

yan (bbfam) - can preggy women consume soft boiled eggs? Though the eggs have to be hard boiled to be on the safe side?

Flos,
Cleaning with Dettol - i mix water and tiny bit of dettol to clean the cot..for sterilisation purpose. As for toys in the cot, i heard from friends not to leave cot empty..in case "unwanted visitors" decided to "occupy" the cot...so i was advised to place teddy bears in it..to occupy it!

Shazz,
Nice bloom shots! V professionally taken...really motivates me to take some DIY myself...to remember the preggie body
But again...always procrastinating lah! haha...

PIS Medela Pump
Finally got mine after months of decision...hopefully it will motivate me to BF for a long time to make the investment worthwhile.. Not sure if I got it at the best price..$680 with Free Valves and Teats

LC,
Nursing bra- i got mine based on the size i am comfy with now..with a little room for insertion of breast pad. Didnt get a size extra cos I worry my breasts might not grow any much bigger from now...and ended up with a loose fitting bra..

Bigtoes, sure no problem. At first, my mom told me she ate soft boiled eggs everyday when she is pregnant with us, (that was more than 20 yrs ago) then i double confirmed with my gynae if eating 2 soft boiled egg with tea everyday is ok, he said no problem also. So i dun worry so much. anyway, for singapore, i think the eggs are 'pasturised' so safe for consuming half boiled.

taslyn,LC,angeline, thanks for sharing on yr bb's wt. looks like its quite normal too for e size. got to agree it depends on gynae's perception too. ok, shall take things easy.

saw some of u already packing hospital bag. any1 has a list here to share? hv long forgotten wat to bring since my eldest is 3 now :p

btw, will u gals get yr hb/family to prepare the 'red dates/longon' drink for u during yr stay in hospital?

l'l CY, i haven even thought of what to put into the hospital bag. i dun even think i have a designated bag to bring to hospital... OMG!!!

skinny pig, i kind of freaked out everytime i walk by my future baby room, its like a garang guni room, full of baby stuff thrown everywhere. gives me such a headache and worry that how on earth i am going to wash EVERYTHING and tidy up EVERYTHING in that room. i think i'm just going to start packing my hospital bag, and leave all the tidying and washing of bb stuff to my mom whose coming on sept 8. haiz...

btw, another worry is that sept 8 is just 2 weeks before my edd at sept 24... hoping to deliver at 38th week but most likely things are not gonna get ready by then!!!

Yan,

Just do the packing up one by one lor.. I also threw all the baby stuff into the baby bath tub and left it lying on the floor..
Later after the check up, going to do the packing and finish them up once and for all!!!

skinny pig, i got loads of things to wash n pack! all the baby clothes, towels, cloth diapers, bedding set, urgh... yes... i think i better start doing it one by one! cos my boss is expecting me to work till i pop, getting worried for all the washing and packing. Initially tot of starting ML 2 weeks earlier at sept 8. but now... haiz...

milkmilk
dun think need anything right? if second one will usually discharge much faster. just a change of clothes and toiletries will do. o yes and a change of clothes for bbs and swaddle even though some hospitals provide clothes for bbs and toiletries.

for those delivering at nuh they provide toiletries lah. for bb clothes, their nuh bb clothes quite ugly, but if you dun mind, can actually let bb wear home...

dun think i will have mood to read then. most likely just stone in front of the tv with the epidural pumping away...kekekekekek

yan (bbfam) : don't worry, my baby's room also like garang guni room! we clear up bit by bit and making space to store baby's stuff instead of keeping them in the transparent IKEA storage boxes. Some baby items are under the single bed meant for the CL and some are in the chest of drawers. I've only washed the new born clothes and bedding, the rest I have not washed yet.

Hospital bag also 30% packed nia ... briefly told hubby in case I panick till I dunno what to pack, please remind me etc! He told me to write a checklist for him on what to do when I'm in hospital too ... things like setting up the steriliser, which bottles to sterlise, which bedding to use etc

shazz, my 20% is that i have finished buying everything needed to go hospital. hehe! i have bought ALOT of ikea transparent storage boxes... but haven think of wad to put in them. now they are stacking in the baby's room. anyway, the bb stuffs, so many of them are hand me downs and everyone is bringing their 2nd hand bath tub, bb rocker, bb cot to me, (i too paiseh to refuse) so the room looks extremely like a garang guni man's room. i dunno if its ok for me to throw away those that i dun like... lol!

shazz &amp; yan,
1 impt thing to do - remember to key the CL and hospital admission telephone numbers into your handphone and hubby's handphone..just in case

I have packed almost 80% except for toothpaste, toothbrush, facial wash..i made a checklist and paste it on the fridge...so that hubby can read them! Remember to start reading installation instruction for your carseat..

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): you're so efficient!
yeah, hubby got both hospital's emergency number and my CL number in his mobile already.

car seats etc I'll leave it to hubby ... I won't even be packing hubby's clothes and toiletries, cos my place is only 10mins drive away from the hospital, so he's likely to go back to bath and pick up things.

bacon&amp;egg, hospital admission telephone number is for? cos i dunno need to call them, i tot just go to hospital when going to the time is here? CL number = my mom so its no problem.

okie, i must start making a checklist for the things to bring to hospital ASAP and stick it to my fridge. just wondering if by that time my hubby can get it right or not. he's v blur to what i need and the exact thing that i need.

car seats - i din buy any, not planning to, maybe will get it after baby is 1 or 2 months old.