(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi morning mummies...
Teachers are a very siong job to do.. hahaha.. also after the last gathering.. heard some from Crayonshinchan.. lol..

Flos,
So shiok ah u.. almost every week u going for ur leg massage..
Today i'm going for a full body massage too.. ehh. did i mentioned tat last monday i went too.. it was good.. coz if you gals remember tat i complained about the sharp pain i had from my lower back.. no more already.. since last wk.. kkeke.. so today.. wanna go again.. hopefully i can fly after today... hahaha

Are you mummies feeling a bit heavy?? wau.. yesterday just went out for a while.. was my off day.. for like 3 hours in the afternoon.. came back die tired... took a nap.. the way i behave like i'm going to give birth in another 2 wks time.. lol

hi sunnysunny,
ehh.. did i remember u came in here before.. sorry ah.. hehehe.. u also got a dd born in the year of 2006.. kekeke.. 2nd one for u too..
wow.. u got a inflated pool for u dd.. r u guys staying in HDB or private.. i like tat idea too.. but how to put the water in?? unless we play tat in the bathroom rite??? lol

l'lCY,
your kid how old ah?? sorry to ask..

BigToes
StriVectin can be bought at Tangs Beauty Hall and some of those discount type beauty shops like Sasa. But should only use after preg and if u r breastfeeding, dont use during breastfeeding either...some people say just dont use on breasts, but i'd rather play safe. the cream lightens old stretch marks too, so waiting till after u stop bf doesnt really matter...

Jaymickey..
Near ur place lah.. Tanjong katong road.. House of Balinese..
Today i will be trying the one who will do the post natal massage one.. so see if she's good too.. before i commit for the package as well..

Good Afternoon, Ladies.. Today I am in my 34weeks. Colleagues are saying that my baby bump is still high and not dropping low. I tot it will not be so fast unless baby head is engaged. I am taking leave next tues for Gynae check. can't wait to see baby again. i have not see the face so far. Baby is always facing inwards. Gynae also did not really make an effort to wait for baby to turn.

Variose veins - I have it even before pregnant so it is now even more obvious on my left leg. sianz! I am now using the treatment for variose veins bought from littledreamers.. so far still quite ok.. subside a bit but come evening, it pops out again.

Red dates - I am drinking some red dates with tang shan at the momemt.. Though this drink is usually taken after deliver but I was advised to drink a bit now to replenish the "qi" and blood to get ready for delivery. Haven stock up yet cos no idea where to buy good ones.. Those sold at established medical hall is quite expensive.. those interested can boil this drink for consumption (twice aweek):-

150g Red dates + 50Gblack dates +50g blue dates +50g dang shan (optional), boil in 1500g water for 2hours. Can keep in a thermal flask and bring to work to drink.

l'l CY (lilboymum)

Heehee. since i quit, want to live tai tai life but looking at my credit card bills a little heart-attack inducing so i think its more like salted veggie life. i don't miss the work stress but i sure miss the independent $$$
also the fact that i'm a recovering shopaholic doesnt help

Flos
The other Patissier outlet is not actually at Robertson side- its nearer the old Mdm Wong's and opposite Siam Supperclub that stretch at Mohd Sultan.

Bigtoes (limay)
Whatever you use for the stretch marks, avoid Palmers if you can. I used and kena PUPPP in my 29th week. There's a whole thread about not using Palmers. Clarins is quite good.

Hi Ava - thanks.
Okie, so cannot use StriVectin now at all? The how? Just let the SM spread?
I hope i don't expand alot more!

dseptkon (dseptkon) - okie, noted. I read about Palmers earlier & how several people ended up with bad rashes....Is the Clarins one really worthwhile getting?

Bigtoes
as dseptkon said, try Clarins for now. my gynae friend swore by Franche Oil which she bought from Mustafa! the other "preventative" cream u can try is Elancyl.

and speaking of Stretch Marks..mine look as bad as this: except mine go horizontally across my belly and go above my navel too!

1600734.jpg

momoko..
my boy coming to 2 end oct. and just realised sunny;s daughter is born same month too...

how old is your older kid?

we have an inflatable pool too. we use it on the balcony sometimes as we stay hdb. have seen people use it along the corridor too. have to carry buckets of water to fill the pool loh...

singapore cord blood bank
i met up with the rep a few days ago. think someone was asking abt this last week. from my understanding, if the donor should have a need for donor's own cord blood in future (assuming it is stored and still unused), it will be made available to donor foc. if donor's sibling should need donor's cord blood, the cost is something below $3k. this "incentive" stops here and does not extend to any other relatives in the family.

if donor requires a transplant but a match is found using someone else's cord blood instead (ie not donor's own cord blood), the cost will be $26k – same as what anyone requiring a transplant from scbb will pay.

however, note that above info are not contained in the forms. the rep only told me cos i asked. hence i suppose costs of utilising own cord blood will depend on prevailing policies at the time of need.

sarahmay, are u feeling better?

jaymickey,
the burning smell is true! my ex colleague went for it too..she got so terrifed that she moved a couple of times when told not to plus she was told to focus on a bright light during op..halfway she couldnt see the bright light and panic...the doctor and nurses had to restrain her and warn her if she continues to move, might have to cancel the op or face consequences!

Stretch marks
I used Clarins and Kiehls Cream De Corp for both pregnancies. More for moisturizing cos I heard that stretch marks are like 'inherited'. If your mum had it while she's pregnant, most likely you'll have it too, not sure how true.

L'l cy
Is your boy thrill about having a sibling soon? I'm just worried about jealousy cos heard some mums telling me how they 'bullied' the baby, like pinching and even biting them. She is just so clingy sometimes, wants me to carry her everywhere. Papa cannot carry, only me.

bigtoes,
i have watched some beauty salon sponsored program on channel 8 before, there is this lady who spotted the same type/amt of SM as what Ava shared above (in pic). The salon used alot of treatment on the lady and the SM lightened only slightly...

Jaymickey,

Lasik is not as jia-lat as you thought. I went for lasik about 3 years back - Everything went on smoothly and its true about that burning smell but I also heck care la.
They are using laser, so that explains the burning smell lor.
Don be afraid. We are in spore, not in some ulu countries with lousy medical technologies..

Ya, Jaymickey. agreed with Skinny pig.. Lasik is a quick process with quite a fast healing rate. I did one of my eye at JB 4yrs back and the other eye at SNEC 1yr back. i have very high "degree", ard -1500 per eye so make sense for me to have it corrected though not 100% corrected given the high degree.. left with ard 75to100 which is very good in my opinion.

<font color="119911">sunnysunny (sunnysunny) - yah, thats why i haven't been bothering. Cos my mom and sisters said they have no SM. Maybe their definition of "no" = a few lines here and there. I guess as long as i don't end up with what looks like contours on a map, i should be happy? The few lines I have now is quite low, would be covered by the undies.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg)-hah, since the treatment for SM doesn't really work, why did they show it on air? Just proves to show how much they photoshopped the "after" photos in the print advert for weightloss/acne scars/SMs etc...Even the chubbier TCS actresses like Olinda Chua etc..are never as skinny as their "after" photos!

Lasik - don't think its that scary really. My sister also just did hers last month - seemed like a quite painless procedure.</font>

dsepkton - What is PUPP from the use of Palmers? I am using their new organic stretchmark cream, my second tubes.. Oh no...

Bigtoes
Yes, that pic was from a website, but mine are only slightly lighter in colour, similar in extent...more actually, as it extends half way up my belly (to the base of ribcage)...long given up on trying to prevent already. I just use oil to prevent the itchiness which willmake it even worse.

Bigtoes, ur SM same as mine... haiz... ugly la... but i try to think positive.. i take it as a momento for being preg... kekeke...

I really hope it will lighten bit by bit after i deliver...

Ava, urs till like tt ah... mine quite obvious too esp on the side..waist area... hv it since i in my 3rd trimester..

Bigtoes (limay): I think you can get Elancyl's stretch mark cream, economical and good. My SIL was still using after giving birth to help to moisturise and tone up the skin. She maintains her skin very well, so no stretch mark for her. But unfortunately, SM is heriditary, and there's not much that can be done to remove it, can only lighten it. I think Elancyl got a intense potion/serum which can lighten SM, but we can only use that after delivering.

LC

just keep an eye out. apparently Palmers contains mineral oil which i think not suitable for asian skin.

however some mummies have used it with no problems. if you don't have any itch or rash don't worry about it
PUPPP is this dreadful rash thing that starts around the lower abdomen and spreads... it drives you crazy with the itching. you can find out more in the links/threads below. its something you wouldnt wish on your worst enemies:p

http://www.tcinternet.net/users/kritzerburke/naomi/PUPPP.htm
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/647834.html?1215999540
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/589970.html?1215589407

went for my gynae check-up today. Bb is now 2.4kg at 34W2D, head still down, his spine is facing the left side of my tummy, and his legs on the right side of my tummy, he's curled up like a prawn now! His feet was covering his face! Gynae said he got long legs
He's not engaged yet. Cleared my Strep B test but failed my urine test and got pricked to check my sugar level, thank God it's due to my breakfast of 3 slices of bread and decaf tea with honey! Result shows it's 5.4, normal range. When gynae was doing the scan, he was sleeping, even after poking here and there by the gynae, the lazy bum refused to move, only movement he made was to suck and can only see his lips moving! So I was sent to the delivery ward to did a CTG scan cos bb's movement is still not as frequent as usual. Thank God his heartbeat and all is normal. The lazy boy scared me over the last few days lor!

Mummy gained 800gms, baby gained 400gms, so am happy with my weight gain, been watching what I eat.

<font color="119911">SM - hah, i think i am just being vain. Have like 5 one cm small red lines on each side, and making a big deal out of it! :p Sorry to freak you mommies out lah.

shazz - ur baby is about the same weight as kieran (2.4kg at 33w5d). Forgot to ask Dr Tan if his head is engaged, but i don't think so, cos he is still wriggling like no one's business...doing alot of tae-kwon-do kicks and punches in my belly, sometimes kicking &amp; punching simultaneously.
Anyway, good that everything is well and your bb's heartbeat is normal!

Mommies on iron supplement - do you think this causes the baby to grow faster? Perhaps equivalent to eating beef everyday? Am wondering what Kieran's final weight will be. The last fortnight, he gained 800gm - at this rate - i would end up with a 4kg baby! (And my sisters' baby was just 2.5-2.8kg at birth, so we don't have a family history of large babies)...</font>

Have anyone heard that we cannot get any baby furniture and cot during the lunar 7th month? I have not gotten my baby's cot yet cos my hubby wanted to wait and now, he tells me we can't get it cos it's the 7th month. My baby has no place to sleep! sob.. I don't think I can wait til the 7th month is finished before we buy. Frantic now.... So feel like crying!!!

wingkei - have to be more practical rather than pantang lah. When is your EDD? Unless u are due in late Sept, I think best to just get the cot in Aug. Typical delivery of cots would be 1 week after you place your order (assuming they have stock) - u don't want to scramble for a cot &amp; to get the bedding set etc..when u are so close to delivering. What if baby comes early (unless u are okie with baby sleeping with you guys).

sunny
my boy very clueless. he will say hi to sister, pat pat sister, kiss sister...eh, but think he doesnt really get it yet...

but boys are different to girls lah. i heard many mummies mentioned at this age (Around 2) boys will treat the new bb as non existent. pretend it is not there and that their lives have not changed...

wingkei
your hb very weird. then you ask him to suggest what to do loh.

my suggestion:
1. get an taoist priest to exorcise whatever you've bought
2. the bb sleeps on your hb stomach since no where to sleep
3. the bb sleeps between both of you since nowhere to sleep
4. buy the cot anyway...
(btw tell your hb cannot buy bb things also cannot buy other things since the theory is the same, the ghost will stick to whaever furniture...also stick to whatever food you are eating, so best dun eat out...dun buy raw ingredients...best...ask your hb dun eat...wait got ghost stuck to food...)

stupid guy lah...(oops, sorry)

Bigtoes, I'm due in first week of September, which is why I don't think I can wait till end of August to buy the cot. Now, I'm not the one being pantang, it's him. And he was the one who kept on procrastinating about buying the cot.

l'l CY, he suggested we wait until end of August to buy. But where got time??? haha.. your suggestions are very funny... I should tell him that. I know.. really stupid guy, I really pissed off now, man. I don't want the baby to sleep on our beddings, etc, cos I remember someone, was it Alabone who mentioned about a baby getting asthma or something because the baby slept on the parents' bed or something.

Wingkei
Your hb just says what he wants to get what he wants...and u probably listen cos u dont want him to say "told you so" if something bad DOES happen ...right?

Frankly, it's no big deal if your baby sleeps on a mattress/sarong/your bed/basket etc in the beginning...don't stress about it just to keep the peace till u give birth.

Then after 7th month, just do what u want and learn to say what u want to get what u want. after all the "pantang" month will be over and he cannot blame you for doing anything that is pantang...

After 7th month, for heaven sake, just go buy a cot yourself. It's $200-300 for a basic one that can convert to a cot bed...i'm sure you can afford that yourself right?

wingkei
And make sure when you sleep with babyk, your hb sleeps on the floor. tell him it's bad luck for hb to sleep with baby and mother for first month cos old people believe that man's spirit is bad for baby in the beginning as too Yang or some crap (***this is bullshit by the way but i think you've pu up with enuf bullcrap from him to spin some of your own)...

in fact, tell him he has to sleep in another room for 100 days as its confinement period (this is actually practiced by some women)

and no sex of course...

Shazz,
Sorry for being ignorant. Your bb's head is down, but not engaged. I'm confused...as i thought head down means is engaged liao which is good for natural delivery ??

Bigtoes,
So good...ur bb and Shazz's bb are quite of good weight at 34 weeks. I went for detailed scan yesterday and bb is 1957g (i am 33 wks now).
Is this too light though gynae said its weight is ok ??

Millie
Are u havign a baby girl? girls tend to be lighter and at 1.957, baby wil likely be 2.5+ at birth which is quite average..dont worry!

millie,

Went for check yesterday. J is 1.8kg at 31w 6d. 50percentile. Dr Chan says ave of 150g per week is normal. Anyway, I checked for my #1. He was also 1.8kg at 32 weeks and at 39 weeks, he was born weighing 3.4kg.

He says just put the baby on a mattress on the floor. But how inconvenient it is to change the baby then? You get what I mean? Moreover, my mom and HIS mom will be helping out, ask them to squat up and down to change the baby? Luckily, I'm going for natural, otherwise, how to squat?

Flos - I was going to say ur workplace is bad until I looked at my schedule and have 3 night calls next week!!!!! WAH LAO!

Ava - mine was a mixed school and u're right, only boys kenna coz they are naughtier!!!

Goldfish - I work out with a trainer so I don't need to pay for gym membership - he's based at Orchard Hotel. Why don't u suspend for a while? No penalty right?

LC - I also just went for my 34W5D check up....doc said that for 1st child, engagement of baby's head typically only happens 2 weeks before EDD so mine's really high as well. Don't worry. My baby is 2.472 kilos!!! Gained 1 kilo in the last 3 weeks. half went to him and half went to me! hahahaha....

l’l CY
Hey.. ur suggestions abt the lunar tingie is so funnie!!! The ghost stick here and there
LOL

Breathing Techniques
Anyone tried the breathing techniques before? Issit tat effective? I haben read on that yet.. bt heard something like wat if pain comes, den duno breathe in or breathe out something liddat?

Saw in other threads that do squats will ‘facilitate’ delivery.. anyone knows zun or nt?

wingkei, if ur EDD is in early Sept, u might pop by late Aug! Then how, is he going to ask u to "hold the baby in" till after 30th Aug (the last day of Hungry ghost festival)? Can't be so unreasonable right? Like Ava said - just go get ur own cot.

Millie (millie22) - ur baby weight is fine, as long as the gyne says so. Don't worry too much about it...as long as >2.5kg at birth (not underweight), should be okie.

Ava, it's not that I don't want to get the cot myself, I don't mind forking out the money. He wanted to wait cos he said it will collect dust, etc. So better to wait til closer to the date. I'm so going to kick him out of the room/bed and make him squat up and down when he is around the house to change the baby to let him get a taste of it!

Bigtoes, I know.. I told him I don't think the baby can wait. Our gynae already said there's a chance that the baby will pop in end August. I'm feeling so mean right now that if I feel the contractions in end August, I'm gonna tell him I can't deliver yet cos baby has no place to sleep!

In the meantime, I can only keep telling baby not to ome out so early.

wingkei
good girl ...
anyway if it makes you feel better, even with a cot, you wont change baby on the cot...just change baby on changing mat on bed lah...and yes, get others to help u.

Goldfish, i dun know abt the breathing technique.. but what my gynae says is.. preseve ur energy to push eventually.. so take it easy when the contraction comes..