(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">Morning mommies - my hubby just sent me this article to 'explain' why he has been suffering all the pregnancy symptoms &amp; my pregnancy has been smooth to date (cos he has been taking up all my 'suffering')

http://www.shortnews.com/start.cfm?id=63069

<font color="ff0000">Expectant Father Might Suffer from Pregnancy Symptoms</font>
According to a research carried out at St George's University (London), expectant fathers can suffer from pregnancy symptoms including morning sickness, food cravings, depression, fainting, insomnia and swollen stomachs until the time of birth.

The research involved 282 men who ranged in age between 19 and 55 whose pregnant partners attended St George’s Hospital. While experts could not identify why some men had "Couvade syndrome", they related the condition to pregnancy anxiety.

Men who visited a GP to check their symptoms found they had no physical causes. Dr Brennan said some might think men are pulling an act but that is not the case as Couvade Syndrome does exist and was seen by many midwives but has no medical diagnosis.

A comment following the article "Have been known to feel the pain of birth as well it happened to a couple of friends of mine, he got the pain then she screamed.lol. Truth!" hehe...</font>

Millie

That time for my #1,we only give cakes to relatives only.as part of buffet,i got prepare kueh &amp; 1 cake also...red eggs is given free by the caterer...but like wat L'l Cy had said, i left with quite alot of eggs as only a few handful will eat it...

alabone
haha...im still eating watever lah. just sian coz went to bambini playclub yesterday and realise i shouldnt go up the obstacle course with him in my state.used to bring him out to different places. farms, beach, playland etc in the afternoon and now i miss those times coz im so lethargic.pity my boy stay at home the whole day super bored. he can only go playgroupnd hopping in my area

most likely celebrating his bday with something special this year. some compensation for the boy loh.

goldfish
think you can just treat it like door gift tho older people think it indispensable.

Thanks for the reminder, Jaymickey.. I almost forgot abt that form.. Probably I will fill up after birth and get one of my colleague to submit for me when she comes and visit me during confinement.. I dun think I will start my maternity leave earlier, prior to the delivery cos I will also be alone at home.

Mei – That happened to me too when I last have my hair cut.. somehow, dun know for what reasons, I started to perspire at my seat as I waited for my stylist to cut.. then started to have beads of perspiration forming.. next thing, they started to roll down.. the stylist gave me tissue too.. so ma-loo…

LC
Hee.. so it happened to you too... super malu hor.. I felt so hot.. coz maybe there was a towel wrapped round my neck &amp; I was covered with that plastic hairdressing cloth... no ventilation lah.. lol.

Re: Indon CLs
Yes, you need to pay for their exit tax aka Fiskal. It's 1 million Rupiah. So you can convert using the current exchange rate which is to our advantage. If CL is taking a flight, fiskal is 1 million. If she's taking the ferry, fiskal is 500K Rupiah.

l'lCY, how old is your boy? Mine is about 2 yo. It's so tiring to look after him esp when he's kinda active. Like you, I also feel so bad about spending less time with him. Where are the places you can recommend to bring him in our state?

<font color="aa00aa">LC/Mei
Same thing happened to me too..the moment they put that cloth over me and another plastic thingy on my neck, i started to 'melt'..as my hairstylist started to trim my hair, told him i'm feeling so hot..then he passed me a hairdryer..set to cool air setting then told me to put it underneath the hairstyling cloth to 'cool' myself down, he is so funny.. i did tat abt 10mins, it helps!!

LAST FEW WKS OF FINAL TRIMESTER
Looks like most of us here are 'suffering' abit frm the discomforts..pain,fatigue, sleepless nites...think the anxiety of delivering alrdy kicking in! 2 nites ago,I dreamt i was peeing in the loo then I almost couldn't differentiate reality &amp; dream so almost peed in my pants..u knw the feeling where u almost wanna pee in reality and then u wake up in a jolt? For a while, i also thought my water bag broke!!

NIPPLE CREAM
I was told to start applying nipple cream from now...most of my gfs advised me to do so..from their experience, applying before we pop helps to prevent sore/cracked nipples. But these few days, i realised my nipples are really sensitive..can't say it's painful but quite uncomfortable when i apply cream on them.</font>

Feeling hot? I don't feel very hot leh! HOW HOW HOW??? I think I drank too much barley and iced lemon tea liao...HELP!

Jaymickey: Got form to fill in? I only filled in internal maternity leave application form to go on early ML. I need to submit my bb's Birth Cert within one month after bb is born.

Manyue kueh and red eggs: Give as door gifts? Why not, if u can pack them with the cakes. Just let them take it home on the spot. No need to go from house to house to give away.

sunrays
Your stylist is more like your friend, so can do that... I was actually thinking of doing that too.. but cannot lah.. so paisey...lol.

Actually it's true.. we only have a few weeks more to go &amp; it seems like just yesterday that we found out that we are preggers.. times really flies!

Flos
Good mah.. I wish I don't feel so hot.. I take a lot of cooling stuff also no use.

morning all

it's almost lunchtime actually ...keke
anyone got recommendations for full month package and caterer? am thinking of having buffet at home and giving cakes/ cupcakes as doorgifts. The discussion on the red eggs also interested me as i think we (me, hb and CL) DIY the eggs at the buffet for my 1st kid and i think that people did take them. But just might want to cut the hassle and get them all in one box this time for ta-pao. Just means more $$ right?

missk
my boy is coming to 2 end october.yeah, he is also all over the place kinda kid. very boy lah.

now i only go playground hopping. go to those playground/playland that dun need you to go up with him. like those in paragon or forum playground lo...

brought him to the beach recently, but he was grouchy then so didnt manage to do much...have you brought your boy to the flower fest?

other things like zoo or fish farm im too tired to bring him now liaoz...coz many times he insisted on being carried when he is too tired from walking

so when was your boy's bday?

Re: Indon CLs
Yes, you need to pay for their exit tax aka Fiskal. It's 1 million Rupiah. So you can convert using the current exchange rate which is to our advantage. If CL is taking a flight, fiskal is 1 million. If she's taking the ferry, fiskal is 500K Rupiah.

l'lCY, how old is your boy? Mine is about 2 yo. It's so tiring to look after him esp when he's kinda active. Like you, I also feel so bad about spending less time with him. Where are the places you can recommend to bring him in our state?

Hey i'lcy, thanks for your suggestions. Sounds great! Gives me some ideas what to do with him. I think sometimes he can be quite bored at home also lor
My son's bday in June. How are you going to celebrate his 2nd birthday?

LC, so happy u also mentioned abt the blue black pain at belly button. It's been bothering me for 2 weeks. I was quite afraid something is wrong with the bb. Then I realised it could be quite common. Checked with gynae ..she said that area can be quite sensitive.

so sorry for the repeated post..now trying to delete the post. You can all see how "good" I am with the comp.

hi LC,
yeah i sleep late coz i really cannot get to sleep... because every position i'm in is not comfortable and at times painful... so i either surf net or read books. i dun have the pain in the belly button area. only near the V part. it's troublesome coz i cannot even toss in bed properly...

l'lcy,
wanna bring cy to explorerkids?? must pay money but you can become member before that. not too ex lah. i'm thinking of bringing my two todds there to exhaust their ever abundant energy... http://www.explorerkid.com/index/index.aspx

i also cannot carry nat and jared... then this silly jared keeps asking to be carried. no amt of explanation will get him to stop bugging me. then nat see him being carried, also wants me to carry her as well!!!! how i carry THREE AT ONE TIME????? but everytime i have to reject them, i feel so bad...

mei,
thanks! we feel very hot now because our little darlings inside also has their own temperature already. on add that on to ours, we're a walking FURNACE!!!! i also cannot stand being in a non air condition place for long... else perspire like crazy. so go on and do whatever you need to cool down!

bathing during confinement:
like stef&amp;baby, i'm definitely bathing everyday. else very icky. and if you bathe with the herbs, shouldn't be a problem. just remember that if you wanna wash hair, you must use the skin of the ginger to wash. what my mum does is to peel off the skin of the ginger (quite a lot anyway the ginger will be used for food), then put it in a cloth, tie it up to boil in the water. if you do it this way, can help to 'qu feng' (get rid of wind). for my first pregnancy, i wanted to wash my hair and my mum didn't know that she had to use ginger. so everytime after i wash my hair, i end up with a bloody headache and that's with me blow drying it immediately after. so second preg i scared liao. told her i dun dare to wash hair. then she said she'll try the ginger method and really, it didn't even happen once.

perhaps what happened was only unique to myself and you ladies won't. anyway, doesn't take much to do so can try ok?

hi hi lovelies!

so i see today's topic is abt being H.O.T

Can someone please emphatise with me?? haaa.. and prob cloud and the other teachers here.. The classrooms are practically like furnances now and it doesnt help that we are beginning to feel hot now!
To add on, the school is actively saving energy and only 2 air conditioners are switched on in the staff room meant for 70+ pple!!!

feeling HOT HOT HOT..

regards to bathing, the idea of using herb bath is bcos we shdnt be in contact with water or something right? So meaning we can still use shower foam and then the herb shower to wash off right?

dseptkon, you are having buffet and giving cakes also ah. isnt it a bit shiong on money side?

At first I was thinking of giving cakes to those not invited. But now coming to think of it, its a hassle cos we'll need to bring baby around when giving out the cakes. dilemma.

have u all informed ur office when you'll be starting the ML?? I haven.. I better do it soon..
A silly question here.. My edd is on 6th Sept (SAT). As I am planning to work til the last day, do I begin from 7th Sept (sun) or 8th Sept (mon)?

ONE MORE QUESTION!!!
Whats the growth scan? Does everyone have to do it? I think I haven done it.. its supoosed to be done during 30plus wks right?

(heee.. as u all can see now, the usually bochap crayon is super gan jeong spider liao!!!)

crayonshinchan

i can understand how u feel, cos i am a teacher myself. even my students are asking me, Mrs Goh, why are u sweating so much? are you feeling hot??

haha, cos my forehead shows beads of sweat! best solution is to get a mini fan to put at ur desk, like what i did. somemore i got the metallic type one, really gd...even if i sit near the aircon. I don't think i can survive without switching on the aircon, even if i am sneezing away...

btw, are you taking ur Maternity leave early? me taking frm 18th aug, cos gynae pushed my EDD earlier to 28 aug, he says need to rest cos of my stressful job!

crayonshinchan, the classroom is like a furnace for me, can't wait to return to staff room, luckily i sit in HOD room so i have my own aircon... now quite stressed, P wants to observe my lesson on Monday..

my edd is sept 11 but i intend to start my maternity leave on aug 25.. starting to have difficulty walking..

goldfish,
huh. .treadmill session ? u mean u still running on the treadmill ?? or am i mistaken ?
yup,during the massage period of like 5-7 days, i bathe once a day cos got to leave the bind on the whole day. but once massage period ends, i will bathe 2x a day
more comfortable la.

Alabone,
my 2 kiddies are like yours.
Sean keeps asking me to carry him, and when Stefanie sees that i'm carrying him, she too wants to be carried. Best part is that they dun want their father to carry them. hiaz.. but how can i carry 2 of them with a big balloon infront of me ?

ML:
i will be starting my ML on 18 Aug. should be submitting the form with EDD letter by next week.

<font color="119911">mobilesuitegal - what job are u in?

crayonshinchan - i would assume that they would count maternity from the 1st working day? So if u deliver on a Sat, maternity starts from the following Monday (+84 days).

I am delivering on 30th Aug (Sat), and planning to work all the way till the day before!</font>

jaymickey, I just called my gynae's office.. they said if doc doesnt order me to do one, then i don have to ;-) (gan jeong for no reason.. haa)

missk.. the system? need I say more?? haaa.. I guess the motivation to work comes from the kids ba! and nothing else! heee...

mobilesuitegal, these few days I'd been perspiring soooo much that there'll be some dark patches on my top at the chest and armpit areas. YIKES! and when i am hot, my face tends to break out in rashes. I guess today was exceptionally bad cos everywhere I go, students and coll will ask wat happened to my face!!! ARRGH..

cloud, I dono if i shd take early leh. I feel like it but I don want to lugi my 1 wk hols leh.. very calculative hor! hahaa...

stef&amp;sean.. wat EDD letter?? from gynae?

bigtoes

i am a primary sch teacher..i really dunno understand how teachers can survive being pregnant and teaching and scolding the children, until i am pregnant myself. the job is too demanding, having to walk and stand a lot...

how about u bigtoes? if ur job is not so demanding, it is gd that u have something to do to distract u, for me, i have no other choice. baby must come first

hello everyone and hello to all new mummies!!!!

Been another siao week so I've only had time to go through all your posts today - haven't been reading since the weekend!

Goldfish - I too try to exercise and I go to the gym to do a bit of body conditioning and have pilates / yoga sessions once a week. Yoga teacher said can actually continue till the day I pop so I'm going to try though it is getting tougher coz the body is tired and sng.

Speaking of Sng - I had my first "SUPER SNG" day yesterday....it's at the V area and at one point, there was even a bit of a sharp pain. Was v grumpy and quiet the whole night. Fortunately, it was better this morning...if not I would have gone to the gynae's immediately.

HOT HOT HOT - I think the weather is partly to blame : it was blazing yesterday wasn't it? But I haven't been able to sleep without aircon since the start of my pregnancy and now, the temp control must be at least 24 degrees.

Coconut juice - I drink 2 (without eating flesh) a week now. It's yummy and my sis says the baby will be less likely to have jaundice! don't know true or not.

Going to have my check up tomorrow at 34W6D - let's see how it goes. Both my hubs and sister think I will deliver before my EDD (which is on 7 Sept) ... so now I'm trying to rush out everything that I need to do!!!! ARGH!!! I hope my bosses and team are prepared! Mentally, I don't think I am yet.

Have you all packed your bags?

Baby's room only 50% ready ... I think the clothes can be washed by this week!

as you can tell, I am starting to panic! :D

crayonshinchan , sasa de mouse,
the EDD (Expected delivery date) letter is just a letter from gynae saying how many weeks i'm pregnant now and when is my expected delivery date and her signature.

Regarding the form
My HR already gave me few weeks ago, i have already signed and passed to her.. She asked me to let her the date when i'm going to start my maternity leave.

I'm going for my checkup today. =D

cloud, crayonshin,
i can totally understand how you must feel still having to teach. it's crazy!!! classrooms don't have air con and the fan is simply useless. what i did previously was to stand/sit under the fan to teach.

if i were still working, i also won't wanna take ML earlier coz got the one week sept hols. lugi leh. now i'm wondering when i should start my maternity leave after my hospitalisation leave ends...

lanolin,
don't panic! still have a bit of time. slowly start washing when you can. i also have not gotten maid to do all that...

GOOD NEWS:
my mil just shifted out today. we parted amicably. said i'll bring my kids to visit her when we are free.

CPF Form
I was told by my HR to submit the form, together with a copy of my child's birth cert. The CPF form is to be submitted, so that the Company get reimbursed for the 3rd month of maternity, as Companies typically pay only 2 months, and the Government will pay for the 3rd month.

crayonshinchan

having both buffet an cakes is an idea i am toying with cos there was sooo mcuh gossip for my 1st kid when i only gave cakes. even now when my son is 4 already i have well meaning cousins reminding me to do the "expected". but yes, agree that it will be very siong that's why i'm hoping the ladies here can give me good suggestions.

i also used to be a teacher but quit this year in May
haha. hats off to all of you who are still soldiering on!

cloud
why is your P still intent on oberving you? they should give the preggers teachers a break man.

alabone (alabone) : so happy for you! at least the main source that triggers your high BP is out of your place!

I'll CY: could you PM me or email me? your gummies from the spree still with me, supposed to pass to you during the gathering but you didn't come.

<font color="119911">mobilesuitegal - kudos to you! My SIL is also a teacher, and she seems ultra busy! Don't know how you guys can stand dealing with primary school kids...I won't have the patience...would end up throwing chalk at the kiddies! hehe.

As for my job, it is demanding, but manageable
Am in business/strategy consulting (to the banks and IT vendors)...mine is an American firm, so we have pretty flexi work arrangements...no one really cares if you are in office from 9-6, as long as u deliver &amp; my boss is pretty cool. So I am planning to work from home more towards my delivery date. I guess I manage stress pretty well, thou I am subconsciously more stressed than i realised it (like yesterday, i dreamt of exams &amp; not being able to complete them(again) - a sign of stress!!

HR form - my HR lady said to just fill the form after I come back from maternity. Didn't even realise that there is a govt cap on the reimbursement for 3rd mth

hi mummies ,
so much posts to catch up ,, keke .. i only managed to read this page .. gg for lessons in a while again ..

YES .. it is VERY HOT nowadays ..

Just some updates from my visit to gynae on Tues :
BB is nw 2.05 kg est ..
no change to EDD : 17th sep
Not engaged yet .. keke ..
ML : Will take them only when bb pop ..

Crayonshin ,
if your EDD is 6th Sep .. think ML will start the day bb is born .. u cannot take on 7th sep even if bb is born on 1st sep , ML start that day .. even if school holidays ..
That is what happen to my first born , it started last year on the first day of June holidays.. so I have to forgo the whole month of ML for holidays .. then JC system work in cuch a way that after june holidays , mid year exams for two weeks .. so i actually forgo 1.5 months of ML for my first one .. hmm ..

Crayonshinchan
I just informed my boss that I will work till the day I deliver, cos if I stay at home, I will be helpless cos I am at loggerheads wif my Indian neighbour :p
I quarreled with them cos their UGLY SKINNY CAT strolled into my living hall one day (w/o pressing the doorbell!!) and scare the wits out of me!!!

My sympathies to all the teachers out there.. I can imagine the agony of teaching the notti ones and stand the whole day! Bt nowadays u all dun use white chalks bt marker liao rite? :p

Stef,
Kekek.. I am doing brisk walk on treadmill only. I feel so tempted to run on it when everyone is running on treadmill except me!!!

Lanolin,
Ermm.. I am quite puzzled how to do yoga and pilates with the tummy protruding out? For now, I still doing bodypump.. hopefully can do until cannot tahan

DOCUMENTS TO SUBMIT
Ermmm… I am working in a small company.. no HR dept leh
So any HR pple out t here can give a quick summary wat nid to be done etc.. I lazy to read up.. beri CHIMZ liddat leh

bigtoes, goldfish

yup, nowadays no more chalkies, so cannot afford to throw to students cos markers are much more expensive! haha...

i am really envious of those who have flexi-time at work, i have been working since 7am this morning cos of the p1 registration exercise, and still got to teach until 7pm + dismissal duties. Really feel like getting a wheelchair to wheel myself around school, i am feeling really heavy now. back ache, the boney part below my abdomen really hurts too.

dunno if any mummies out there got sleepless nites like me, i wake up like 2.30-3.00 and cannot sleep liao in the nights, for 4 nites liao, even if i am very drained out at work..

just now went to Kenko for my 60min massage...shiok...

Who was it here that tried The Patissier cakes before? Storeberry, was that u? I went to the bakery at Ang Siang Hill just now. I love the cakes!!! Will buy some...

Jaymickey: OIC, that's for employer to claim the $$ back from MCYS for the 3rd mth ML.

crayon: yeah, if growth scan is not required by your gynae (diff drs hv diff protocol), then no need to pay extra lor!! I did mine liao at 32 weeks, even though I got no problemo.

mobilesuitegirl: u poor teacher. classroom got no aircon? Which floor at u at? I'm also hving diff in walking...I take cab to and fro office daily now.

Big toes: someone told me the slew of bb incentives will be effective 1 Sept 08. I hope it's wef the day PM announces leh... Wait give birth in Aug 08, how how how?? lugi sia...ENDURE ENDURE ENDURE....BB don't pop so soon...guaiguai...No more durians!!!

lanolin: I'm also going to see gynae tomorrow at 33W5D. Can't wait to go on ML...So much work to do. Now they are launching some new web portal. I need to be involved too?!! gosh, gotta attend that meeting now at 4 pm.

Ciao ciao!!