(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos,
i think the new baby bonus incentives will be effective from Aug'08, cos the last baby bonus was effective from 01 Aug 2004. Just a guess. anyway, let's all keep our fingers crossed..

Mummies, me too been feelin so hot.. perspire alot even when it rains or the fan is on.. haiz.... body feel so itchy but no rashes...juz feel itchy for nth...

Aiyoh, I'm in HR but also don't really know the nitty gritty details...let me go ask my staff and update all of u.

Flos - I thought you are starting ML on 8 Aug? How can they put u in a project? One week must finish? That's no good right?

Also agree with you that must ren until the effective date for new baby bonuses!!!! I hope they effect it 1 Aug ... is your source reliable?

Goldfish - Yoga is about stretching so we do a lot on the legs to stretch and strength both the hips, the thigh and a bit on the back. It's quite relaxing coz at the end of the session, we get to lie down and rest for 10 mins haha... re pilates, using the reformer helps in strengthening the arms and shoulder area + legs / butt as well.

BODY PUMP?!?!?! That is more surprising to me coz won't ur heart-rate go really high? I can only walk on the treadmill these days at a speed of at most 5.5! hahaha

abalone - thanks thanks. I have no maid as yet (coming 2nd week aug - passport taking a long time) so have to wash myself. It's just that my sis and hubs both "prophecized" early delivery so I'm like....OMG! :D

Glad ur MIL has moved out and left on good terms. This should help in your BP levels! Hope you are doing ok and having enough rest!

Lanolin, u are in HR.. let me ask u a question. Do ur company recognise the Hospitalization leave issued by Gynae even the person is not being admitted to hospital? Does the company have to recognise it?

Sorry to interrupt your discussion

I hv a Brand new Philips 3 in 1 steaming centre for sale. Warranty card unfilled. Bought in Mar 2008
It can sterilize bottle, warm milk and steam food when baby is on solid food
A good long term investment. Save space since it serves 3 functions

If interested pls pm or email me [email protected]

Stef&Sean.. i see.. I better go and check with my sch admin mgr soon to see wat i need to produce. Don wana be sued for AWOL..haaa..

lanolin and those super "on" mummies.. u girls are determined to exercise til the end man! haa.. my only exercise? hmm.. prob exercising my tummy with food ba! Actually got lar.. walking about everyday in school and climbing staircases. I hope walking is enough exercise.

alabone, when's ur hosp leave ending? think for your case, u better continue your leave after that. Just in case the kids bring up your pressure again. Or maybe can ask for medical leave from ur gynae..

dseptkon, I have no choice leh! no work = money not enough. and plus I'm getting my connect plan this dec! YEAH! actually I'd also informed my mama tat I wont be inviting any relatives (my side). Will just be giving them cakes. HOPEFULLY nobody says anything. But I did have a fren who gave a cupcake as door gift. Maybe shiong a bit but to keep the mouths zipped up lor.

Bigtoes.. cannot throw chalk at kids.. Coporal punishment!! ahhaaa.. the teachers will get punishment instead!

Qiuling, like tat i give birth on sat a bit lugi right?? haa.. but i guess i don have much of a choice then!

mobilesuitegal.. how come u need to work until 7plus?? Nowadays I'm cheonging my marking! aha.. must make sure I finish marking all my stuff before I pop. Don wana have the relief teacher cursing at me!

for the gym goers, i used to attend body combat classes religiously. There was this preggie lady who did combat and pump classes all the way up to her 39th wk!!! I really peifu her.. But of course hers was of pretty much lower intensity lar.. she agar agar herself..

Jaymickey - HR is actually a patch of grey coz it does depend on the style of HR that the company practices. For me, I am the "liberal" type and honestly, I would recognise it coz it comes from a certified doc. But other HR will dig deeper and probably call doc up on why is the person given leave when not actually hospitalised?

crayonshinchan - I guess I am compensating for NOT moving at all in my job. It's a desk-bound job and I don't climb stair and not even walk much except to and fro to the Loo and getting water / snacks. If I had to climb stairs every day, I probably won't be so on. anyway, I've been real slack the last 3 weeks....maybe only go for 1 session per week. in my second tri, I tried to exercise 3 times a week.

crayonshinchan- haha, i know. It was so different during my time - i think some classmates were even forced to eat chalk! I also remembered being hit on the kunckles with a wooden ruler a couple of times!

Bigtoes/crayonshinchan
Eat chalk!!!??? wah...my dad said in his time, the boys were at risk of getting their testicles pinched....just try that now!

My primary school (chinese chinese type)practiced public caning - so I've seen quite a few bare bumps with cane marks post that. *gasp*

<font color="0077aa">Thanks sasa &amp; jaymickey for the links! Think I will submit when during ML..

Missk: MY Indo CL never mentioned about the amt I need to pay her. Maybe will ask her again...

I am feeling hot usually in the morning!! I think our body temp is up!

Flos: yes!! It was me who tried The Patissier cakes! Its very good!</font>

hi all, still around? Me just finished that stupid meeting and one stupid post-event report i was talking abt the other day. now must schedule another stupid session...everything is stupid!

lanolin: no no it's 15 Aug. Do u all hv National Day-off in lieu? yah lah...torture...before i vanish, they must pile all the stuffs over my head.

storeberry: did u try the strawberry shortcake? Or the meringue? YUMMY!!! They hv full month cakes too, but they are EXPENSIVE lah!

Body temps up? How come I'm ok with my temps? oops...

Body Pump: wow u mommies are really active. My pelvic area is really tight and achy. Can't walk too much and too long...let alone kickboxing and combat exercises?!!! pei fu u all...

Eat chalks in primary schools? That's common in the 1980s lah...I kenna whacked so many times on my knuckles and buttocks, thrown chalks at, knelt down with hands on both ears, carried all the textbooks to school becos I forgot to bring one silly textbook, etc. TYRANNICAL TEACHER lah...

Luckily such punishments are not meted out in Sec Schools anymore...

storeberry (storeberry) : for self-employed like us, we can submit via SingPass. Think we have to submit our IRAS assessment and the govt will pay us our average monthly pay when we're having our maternity leave.
hope it helps!

flos, storeberry, i like the cakes from the patissier too. yum. been craving them for a while now but haven't got the chance to go around there to buy.

pri sch torture
this idiot chinese teacher made me stand on the chair cos i couldn't finish my writing assignment in class. kept insulting me with these stupid limericks he made up some more. my classmates all laughed along and i was so close to crying.
will always remember him although i can't for the life of me remember his surname now liao. he forced me to write with my right hand knowing full well that i was lefthanded. wa lao, none of his business lor. stupid old donkey!!!

Super hot these days...cannot tahan also.

So you gals mean that kueh and red eggs will be part of the buffet, but we can still prepare gift package (like those choz, melrose,etc) for guests rite ?

Dseptkon,
U also prepare a cake as part of the buffet ? Wow...cos i heard fm some mummies tat it's not really necessary to prepare it ???

Mei: I also went to buy the Crabtree and Evelyn Nursery Tales drawer liner!! smells really nice. Actually, the Nantucket one is also very nice

Millie: Do Choz, Melrose deliver the cakes to your indiv relatives/frens' houses? Do we collect the cakes on our own and deliver them ourselves?

I think my fridge has no space for all the cakes. I rem my uncle's manyue cake had turned bad by the time it reached my house several yrs ago. I think they left the boxes of cakes in the open carpark in the hot, stuffy car as they drove from house to house to make the delivery...

I'll find a bakery which can give out collection cards to colleagues and frens who gave me angpows. Only those close relatives (no more than 5 married "next of kins") will I give very exclusive cakes, like those from The Patissier, on actual manyue day.

For red eggs and kuehs, I will leave it to my MIL to settle. If they want to stuff those eggs and kuehs into the cake boxes, I hv no qualms. If they want to place it with the buffet spread, I dun care either. Cos I dun like red eggs and kuehs at all...

<font color="0077aa">Flos &amp; Xuanting: No I only tried the chocolate one, yummy! Yah, full mth cakes will be evry ex!

Shazz: Thanks!! Think my fren told me we can also submit our mthly income statement &amp; they will accept, she just did it in Dec last yr.

I will not prepare the cakes, maybe some collection cards for frens who didn't attend the manyue.

My breastpump is shipped!! Yeah, so happy, feel so accomplished!</font>

when Choz says they will deliver if above $200order, do they mean to your house only or each and every one of the relative's house?

So my DH still needs to lug the boxes to office to distribute lah?

Millie

Thanks for helping to jog my memory. I think i did also order one huge cake at the buffet for no.1 as well. hmmm that's something to keep in mind. i read in the forum that some people also gave out the manyue gift packages as door gifts and that is what i was thinking of doing this time

Flos
won't people compare why some got The Patissier cakes and some didnt?

frankly, my decision to be more "contemporary" with no.1's manyue packages was wasted on the older generation cos the ones who can't make it to the buffet still want to see the red eggs etc. They thought that the cakes i sent were too ang moh!!!?

Millie

ya..u still can give out those gift package to your guest but abit shiong on $ lei...i prepare a cake coz haha...i am the 1 whos greedy for the cake...last time i ordered a cheesecake from Getel...very nice!!!!

Re : Herbs for Confinement..

Have you all gone to buy your red dates/black dates/longan/dangshen etc already?

<font color="0077aa">Angeline: I will get hubby to buy it mid Aug, cos I don't want to buy too early also..

Alot of Aug mummies are popping!! Seems like quite alot pop earlier! I hope my bb will be "guai guai" to tahan till government announce the bb incentives!! Haha!!</font>

dseptkon (dseptkon):

Of course, the next of kins would hv gotten their "better cakes" on another day already. On actual day, the aunties and uncles and friends will just get the cards or doorgifts
Your idea of buying a large cake, like one from The Patissier, to be shared by all guests is quite good too.

stef&amp;sean: it is true that back in 2004, the bb incentives were effective 1 Aug 04, but I dun rem the exact background to the announcement. Was it announced by PM during the NDP speech and then he backdated it to 1 Aug? Or it was a culmination of the 2001 Baby Bonus Scheme as the website says?

storeberry/xuanting: I think the Patissier cake designs are very pretty. But the location is a bit off lah...To go to collect, u need to enter CBD and parking is a headache. Of course, there is another outlet at Mohd Sultan. How come we didn't see it that day when we were at Robertson Walk har?

missk
hmmm..am thinking of doing it at kids kampung...the bday parties there are nice for kiddoes to kiddoes, boring like hell for adults tho...

how did you celebrate your boy's bday? so you in the june thread?

teachers!! wooohoooo!!!!
-------------------------
i was a teacher too. missk, you are still teaching?

wow, didnt realise so many teachers...sweating out in the furnace. was quite ok for me when i was teaching coz the classrooms were airconditioned.

alabone
explore kids ok but cy is pretty small for his age, and if the kiddoes there get rough, i cant save him leh.

just the other day, a kid knocked into him and he practically flew!!! did a sort of tumble too...poor guy but think he's pretty used to it lah..haiz...just this week he did two head over heels tumble..once at home and once at the park...

actually carrying him is ok. coz he is sooo light. keekkekeke..i thought he is eating loads, but when i checked with some forum mummies, their kiddoes at this age eating like one adult bowl rice and one adult bowl porridge for just one meal!!!!!! and can finish one pack of kway teow soup and such on their own somemore...now i know why cy so small cf to his friends!!!

dseptkon
so you on taitai life now?hahaha...or salted veggie life like moiz?

hi fellow teachers,
really sayang all those who are still teaching. hang in there ok??

lanolin,
i'll continue with my hospitalisation leave until sept. my doc is adamant abt me staying at home to rest. my bp without seeing the kids is already so high. i cannot imagine going back to teach. think i'll literally throw a fit during class...

l'lcy,
i just went to check out explorer kids... not cheap leh. we go safra better. hehehehehhee. poor little cy. but at least he can learn to take it in his stride right? and dun worry abt his food consumption lah. nat nat hardly eats also wat. her portion is quite large but half of it is spat out. but weird thing is she still grows quite fat. hehehehhehehe.

shazz,
thanks. i don't really think she was the cause of my high bp lah. but it's also good not to live in the same household. xiang jian rong yi xiang zhu nan.

flos,
your company really squeezing you dry before you go on ML man. horrid horrid!!

Hi L'l CY
My girl is the same age as your boy, Oct 06. She's a duracell bunny, boundless energy from the moment she opens her eyes. She loves the bambini and explorer play structure too but I can't go in with her now. Boring, right? But I still bring her for swimming every week. Now I stick mahjong paper on the walls and let her paint to her heart's content and we bought an inflatable pool for everyday water play since the weather is so hot now.

Hi Rachel
I have a birth plan too, have you submitted yours to your gynae?

Confinement
I don't eat confinement food, just that my mum added ginger to some dishes. I bath and wash my hair everyday, basically I don't observed anything, except the longan drink cos I love sweet stuff so almost as good as no confinement. I was drinking 100 plus the moment my baby came out, so thirsty, end of the race must celebrate with 100 plus.

sunny
hiiiii...hahah, they must meet each other one day. but my boy isnt the most gentlemanly of tots lah...

yes i do homebased activities now, but kiddoes dun like to be stuck at home leh, my boy will go siao if i make him stay at home the whole day, so die die everyday must bring him out a bit.

he still doesnt like painting one bit. he doesnt like dough, doesnt like craft. doesnt watch tv either...boring old man...

your girl learning swimming? my boy is with marsden now...

L'l CY

Ok, they can play together... I have a very gung-ho and not the least ladylike girl. The kind who says 'Share, pease...!' and yank open the push car door to pull the poor guy out. haha...

My girl must go out to let go some steam otherwise she will kick up a storm so nearby playground or the swimming pool.

She doesn't like painting and dough initially. I just showed her how fun it it to paint with fingers and the fun of washing up, she's hooked. She likes to paint her body cos more washing, can play with water, happy like monkey. She's not taking lessons now. We took lessons when she was about 8 months plus. Now I swim with her in the big pool, sandwiched her under my armpit and walk. Exercise for me too. Which location do you go to?

Flos,

the baby bonus scheme in 2004 included the $400 infant care subsidy (instead of $150) and the baby bonus co-savings and also the additional 4 weeks maternity leave paid by govt. Think it was announced sometime during National day that yr, but the effective date was 1 Aug 2004 for the co-savings scheme and for the 4 weeks additional maternity leave, it was effective from 1 Oct'04.. I missed the baby bonus co-saving and also the additional 4 weeks maternity leave paid by govt for my first child as she was born in March'07. but that was quite sometime before thay announced the new baby bonus scheme. So the pinch was not that bad.

I really hope this time they make the scheme effective from 1Aug'08 too..

l'l CY (lilboymum) : could you PM me or email me? your gummies from the 1st drugstore spree is still with me, supposed to pass to you during the gathering but you didn't come.

alabone (alabone): totally agree that "xiang jian rong yi xiang zhu nan". Thank God she parted on amiable grounds

shzz
youve got mail. sorry i forgot...

sunny
you sahm?

my boy has this really bad habit of biting and pinching when he is losing in a fight. that is why im always apprehensive about bringing him out to meet other tots unless i know the mother well (or the mother knows cy well...)

hahah..okok...i shall try to show him how dirty he can get, think he'll be happy with that...

boy started with marsden at around 8mths too. was at avondale then now at turf city. am most likely going to transfer him to nearer places like safra once he is older. turf city timing not very felxible lah...where do you live?

Thanks all for your advice.

Flos,
I guess the confectionery like Choz, etc wil only deliver to your hse and you will distribute to guests/relatives on ur own.

<font color="119911">Wow, so many posting overnite.

Eating chalk - I was in a convent school in KL, so maybe they were more open abt metting out such punishment in Msia? That was in the mid-late 1980s, and parents then were totally different from the pampering parents of today.

On another topic = STRETCH MARKS!
I discovered a couple of red lines on my sides
Sigh...after 8+ month of pregnancy &amp; thinking I can escape without getting any. Think cos Baby Kieran grew 800gm the last fortnight!

Anyway, want to ask what cream would be good to prevent new marks/lighten the ones I have. Ava - I think u mentioned Strivec Tin???? Where do I get this from?</font>

storeberry, maybe she has already absorbed the fiskal

i'l CY, we just have a really simple celebration at home. Bought a nice cake and that's abt it. Not in the June thread. ACtually I hardly surf the forum until recently cos I was working mah. Wow..you are a tr too! Pri or sec? Do you have MSN?

Bigtoes.. talking abt stretch marks, all these while i have been asking my hubby to check for me and he says dun have... but after the photoshoot, i discovered a few under neath my tummy.. so sian already...

jaymickey,
i just found out i have potential stretchmark forming behind my thigh...reddish streaky type..or it could be varicose vein...v sian...v sad...dont think can wear shots next time...v ugly...sigh

Flos,
u could try "awfully chocolate" cakes too..
http://www.awfullychocolate.com/ if you are thinking of buying 1 whole cake to share during manyue party
i am thinking of doing that for my colleagues. For relatives &amp; frens, will have manyue party at my place with red eggs and kuehs as takeaway..

Bacon&amp;egg, i don't know where else will they start appearing... i am also v sian v sad.. Now i am worried whether it will go off after giving birth anot.. haiz...

jaymickey,
me too! it just appear! I think for both stretchmark and variose vein, they wont go off..maybe stretchmark will lighten, variose vein...tough! mine stretches from butt to lower thigh (back of the knee)!!!

bacon&amp;egg, urs sounds quite bad.. recently i saw one of my colleague's, hers the veins all custer together after she give birth.. and pertruding... she said must go for ops to remove it..

<font color="0077aa">Aiyooo... I just saw a few little red lines on my tummy. Asked hubby &amp; he said its not stretchmarks &amp; its blood veins... Maybe trying to comfort me but it sure look like SM!!

jaymickey,
yes...it looks quite bad to me..
If need op, i got plenty to remove..veins, sm, flabby tummy after birth (needs to go for expressions)..lasik for my eyes..sigh...or maybe then, too preoccupied with bb to care??!!

storeberry,
if its SM, i will turn silvery later and pales off..if its blood vein..it wont go away..i have a couple of small ones off my ankle (pre-preggie)

Lanolin
Which gym are u from? When do u intend to ‘suspend’ ur membership? I still tinking manz!

Bigtoes
Ur stretchmarks just popped out liddat?? Opps.. currently my tummy skin is OK, bt now I am worried tat mine will appear in ‘no-time’

Variose veins
Are u all referring to the green/red blood veins? U mean it will not go away one??!!!

Singapore Cord Blood Bank
HAIZ… I realized that I cannot donate liao cos HB is a HEPB carrier.. sobz!

bacon&amp;egg, i also thought of going for lasik.. but i scare leh.. my friend who went say can actually smell the burning smell when they do it.. imagine ur eyes on fire.. hahaha

Goldfish, u need to check the bottom of the tummy... some hide there..

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - i guess they appeared progessively over the last 1-2 weeks? Usually don't bother to inspect (have to use a mirror to see cos its on the underside of the belly). There are a couple of small red lines on the left/right side now

So what cream should i be getting that actually works?