(2008/09) Sep 2008

on my 1st preg i gained 22 kg ...keke but doctor said it was no good for me and i had placenta abruptio.

this time i very kwai, only drink plain water every day ( so miserable right? no MILO or soft drinks) and so far at 36 wk gained about 8 kg. ok so i feel good about not gaining as much weight and not putting my baby at risk for polyhydramios again but really must CONTROL. e.g. eat only 2 or 3 seeds of durian when everyone else is stuffing their faces!

sori to interrupt, Sept mummies. I have a medela swing breast pump lightly used for only 2 weeks. letting go cheap cos I no longer need it as my baby is on full formulae milk. Warranty till end may2009.Pls PM me if u r keen. thks.

dseptkon, i also dun stuff myself with durian... not that much craving. my hubby ytd bought one durian home meant to surprise me. i guess he is afraid bb not big enough. cos bb weigh 1.645kg at 32 weeks. i ate 2 seeds still ok, third seed feel abit sick of the smell. then 4th sead abit nauseous, 5th i gagged, but did it discretly dun let my hubby see in case hurt his feeling. then keep gently reminding him i dun really take bitter durians. only mild bitter but sweet ones i can tahan lo.

Sri, i gained 16kg total from this morning. haiz... feel so pek chek about it.

sri:
i'm a stay at home mama.. quit my job in 1st tri coz my MS was affecting me v badly.. so when i fart n hb looks at me, i point to my dogs lor.. kekeke...

i was 56.5kg @ qst visit at gynae.. just now weighted in @ 63.8kg.. total gain of 7.3kg ...
v depressing... coz i put on 3.5kg since last visit.. other than soft drinks which i take ev other day, i dun take anything which i see as fattening ley... i oso never touch durian (i am a oddball, never eaten any durian in my life.. lol) so i really dunno y my weight again this time is so much..

Rachel: OIC, then I've already completed my "Birth Plan" with my TMC caregiver.

SarahMay: what's this Flower Show thingie that u and Bigtoes are visiting? are they real flowers?

farting: think its a common sign? Me too but nowdays better..

Weight gain: clinic nurse also hinted me..'mummy others gain 2kg in one mth you gain 2kg within 2 weeks huh' so i guess no more desserts for me..

Durian: had one box to myself when 5mth preggy, since than been craving but dare not touch at all..haiz..keep eyeing on mangosteen instead..

Good luck all mummies, our dates are drawing vvv near now..all take care and have some discipline ok?....

flos
yes...real flowers. youve been skipping your morning papers eh?

sarah
you take care ok! pity dun get to meet you at all

gosh i forgot about the pollen thingy. hope it doesnt trigger any allergies to anyone...arghhh...

my son sees the advert every morning and will excitedly point to the pic and exclaim "bee", "bugs"...so die die must bring him there...

dseptkon (dseptkon)
placenta abruptio: related to weight gain? Me too experienced that for my first preggy but i gain about 10kg for that preggy leh...

Hi Taslyn, considering the fact that you take soft drinks every other day, a total gain of 7.3kg is already very little!!! Soft drinks has very high level of sugar content... and hubby always forbid me to drink too much as it does not have any beneficial gains for the body..

Here's a guide for a 3.41kg baby:

Maternal:
Ulterus 1.28
Breasts 0.53
Blood 1.65
Water 2.22
Fat 4.43
Subtotal 10.12

Fetal:
Fetus 3.41
Placenta 0.86
Amniotic Fluid 1.05
Subtotal 5.32

Total gain: 15.44

Oh yes, another thing... I just met up for lunch with my insurance agent... anyone thought of buying insurance for their little ones yet? My agent was suggesting buying 1 life policy, 1 endowment (education/savings), and 1 hospitalisation plan (deductible from medisave account). Any thoughts.. and also, how much do you think we should set aside for the monthly premiums?

Rachel, my insurance friend approached me to get it.. but i will only get it when baby is here... depends on how much u want to set aside for their education next time.. i havent really look into that yet..

lilboymum: u mean the Singapore Garden Festival exhibition by NParks? Eeeee...I dun fancy such exhibitions!!! I visited once the CNY flower exhibition with my DH at Sentosa. We both thot it sucked!

Maybe my mindset will change when I've school-going children next time. I'll go to Singapore Discovery Centre, Mandai Zoo, National Museum, etc. hahah!

<font color="119911">storeberry (storeberry) - I also booked an Indon-chinese CL. But FYI, there are some hidden cost as well, so pricing would end up about the same. Like u would need to pay for her flight to/fro Indonesia (limited flight times also, so she is arriving 2 days after I am discharged from hospital), and on top of airfare, there is an airport exit tax of S$200+. Also, not sure if this is the case for your CL, but mine speaks in weirdly accented mandarin (mixed with some Hokkien)&amp; peppered with alot of Malay words. I can still understand her cos I speak Malay, but my hubby gets abit confused about what she is saying. If I have another baby in the future, would just opt for a CL from JB.

alabone (alabone) - hope it is not pre-e!!

Flos (flos) - haha, i went to the Spore Garden Fest the last time as well, and to all the CNY flower exhibitions, plus whatever else that is on-going... - always end up taking loads of photos! Guess we have different taste, as it is, I am already a regular visitor to places like Sentosa, Museums, parks etc! Not like there is many other things to do in Spore right?

l'l CY (lilboymum) - the Garden Fest thingie ends this Friday, so better bring your son there soon
Anyway, I am still cleaning up my photos - will load them in FB soon if u wana have a look.

Smelly fart - i don't think i fart anymore than usual (which is very little, ahem), but hubby claims that my poo is smellier now that I am preggers. Anyway, I just blame it on baby Kieran
hehe....after all, babies have smelly poo, and I am now pooing for 2!</font>

Jen Kate

My gynae claims that becuase i gained so much weight for the 1st bb(3.84kg) it was a great strain on the uterus and the placenta and i actually had like massive bleeding in my 5th month. i mean blood just gushed down my legs and they sent me to hospital in an ambulance. It was all very drama and people at church were praying for the baby and my safety etc. I guess God is good
cos by the time i got to the hospital they could not find where the bleeding came from. I did all sorts of tests n my kidneys etc and was on mc for a week but no cause for the bleeding. only when i delivered the placenta did the doctor show me the part where it had torn partially away from the wall of the uterus.

so this time, my husband has been hounding me about the weight and eating since day 1. Very sian sometmes when i can't eat esp since i love ice cream, and cheesecake and u get the idea...

dseptkon (dseptkon)
oic..mine happened at 36wk4days..so my gynae ceaser and bring the bb out. It was really a bleesing indeed as you bleeding managed to stop and safely delivered ultimately.
At least you know whats the reason, but for me i dunno...only hope that everything will be smooth this time round..

Ya i love to eat too..esp durians..but have to curb and control too..btw how many weeks are you now?
All the best...

INSURANCE
I am thinking abt that as well. I think it is cheaper to invest on a life policy for bb cos it has a lower premium.
However, for education/endowment plan, I am quite skeptical since it will be like keep paying and paying till 25 years later.. or am I wrong?
If earlier withdrawal, may not break even or wat depending on the rates of returns.

Bt I wonder 25 years later, we will be like close to 55 or 60 years old liao… still got so much cash to keep paying for insurance and stuff for ourselves and children mah?
:S

I heard from my sis-in-law that during pregnancy its better not to make up and use masks, afraid it might harm the baby . Is that true ??

goldfish,
I just happened to see your post about paying premiums for the entire policy period. As I'm in the line, I probably can share with you some info.

There are plans out there, whether for life or endowment/savings plan, limited premium-paying periods. i.e. have those whole life policies to cover for whole life but pay premiums for only 10 or 15 years.

Similarly, there are endowment plans that you pay for certain number of years for the 25-yr plan.

Of course, upfront you will pay more on a per month or per year basis, but cumulatively, you could end up paying lesser as compared to if you were to pay for the entire policy period.

You are right to say that if you do an early withdrawal or surrender of the policy, then the cash value/policy value may be less than the total premium outlay or projected rate of return.

Most important thing, is to do your sums and budget to suit your needs.

Anyway, I'm sure other fellow Sept'08 MTBs such as shazz and storeberry who are in the line, can share their input with you

blue roses: how far along r u now? isn't it too late to ask this question abt make up now?

i wear tinted moisturiser and lipstick. on special occasions, i wear eye makeup too. also, i went for a few facials, incl wearing masks.

rachel..
hmmm that is like 3 plans.. which company is ur agent from?
it is better to compare diff plans..instead of taking all from 1 company :p

most basic will the health plan.. the rest can wait awhile... endowment is long commitment.. 18/21 yrs depending if u r having boy or girl..

Blue roses,

Ya most of our bb here have probably engaged into the birth canal, ready to meet this world...

mask, facial, make up..we dun ingest them so i dun think it matters right??

jessi: dylon dye remover? okok! thanks for the tip! will be heading down to spotlight later!! (means..more shopping!!)

INSURANCE:
we recently met up with a few insurance agents...just to compare what they have...cos was thinking may not have time to do it once baby arrived....so far, we decidded to take out hospital/medical insurance for the whole family, including baby (u can deduct from CPF). cos medical bill is really expensive. u have no choice but to see doctor if really sick right? so, i would say this is very important lor.

as for life, i guess the person who needed to have life insurance is your hubby/yourself..whoever is the breadwinner of the house la. just in case something happen (touch wood), we still have support. so, we may increase our sum insured on that. as for baby, hubby said if something happen to baby (touch wood touch wood touch wood!), we dont want the money frm that too...so what's the point of buying? will only consider this if have extra money lor...

endowment wise....we think the return is not that great...only 3-5%. might as well u buy aussie dollar now about 8% interest. however, AIA has a product that u only need to pay for 12 years but insure you for 21 years...we are quite interested in that. will get more info from the agent when meeting up with him soon.

<font color="0077aa">Alabone: Oh dear, yes, pls keep on monitoring &amp; see a dr if you don't feel weel ya? I kept the cheese in separate container so I don't need to struggle with the cap everytime I need my nachos cheese fix!!

Ava: Both of us bought this Ricos nacho cheese from BP.. Keke.. COuldn't resist! But the cheese portion is HUGE! So if you could share with someone, its better, but very yummy!
Below is the thread, you can email the organiser to keep you in loop for the next one:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1532195.html?1217252744#POST5382626

Limay: My CL is from a place near to Batam so she will be taking a ferry here. She didn't asked me for the transport fees when I asked her about the cost.. But she did say she can help out with the housework if have time.</font>

<font color="119911">storeberry (storeberry) - oh, okie. If ur CL is from Batam, then no problems
Mine is from Medan, so quite a hassle to fly her in to Spore...haven't even booked her flight back home cos I am not sure if I want her to stay for 4 weeks or 6, am assuming the tixt don't run out

Anyway - mommies interested in the Garden Fest - I have load up my photos (was trigger happy, so quite abit of photos!):
http://bigfattoes.multiply.com/photos/album/133/Singapore_Garden_Festival</font>

think make up is not a problem. If we can't use make up, then all the actress no need to work, also those working counter sales selling make up also no need to work

hmm... for me.. seems like i gain alot.. 21kg... but till nw doc nvr say anything abt my weight... shldnt she advise me to diet??

Make up tink can use ba... I always use it when I'm out.. cant live w/o it as i hv very bad complexion..
I only heard of No dying hair while preggie...

Insurance i nvr tink of it nw.. cz unemployed.. cpf oso less than $2k.. hehehe... cant afford la...

Insurance

Agree with Mrs T....the 1st plan i will get 1st is the hospitalisation plan coz its very important. &amp; touch wood if the bb got admitted because of something, its very hard to get covered later if u buy. Currently, our whole family is under PruShield..&amp; we bought the extra riders so that we need not fork out any single $ if admitted. for the education/other policy...tink will wait till i go back to workforce then will consider...coz hubby alone working so dun wan to tax him too much...

storeberry, shazz, bigtoes,
thanks. i think it's mild pre e. so gotta monitor and if i have any swellings or bloatedness then must alert doc. so for now, just rest and rest. nothing much doc can do. if my condition does not worsen, i can deliver bb as per the date i selected. else, it has to be earlier, which is NO GOOD!

storeberry,
really so hard to pry it open huh? think will get hb to do it instead.

shazz,
i cannot eat durians??? i'm sooooooo craving for it man...

weight gain:
to date, at 30 weeks, i've only gained 6kg. this is the least i've put on for all the pregnancies.

Jen Kate
am in my 36 week now
but hopefully will deliver in the 38th! feeling really hot and clumsy...like elephant or something!:p

INSURANCE

yah think the most impt is the hospitalisation and medical benefits one first. i took an edowment one for number 1 and am regretting it now cos the payments are heavy and i have recently stopped work.

Sarah,
Take care and rest well.

Switch to another topic :
Full mth celebration
When we order buffet food for the full mth celebration, do we still need to order the red eggs/kueh for the guests to makan ? Or we just give the relatives the gift package in the form of red eggs, kueh to bring back home ?

hi millie..
i went to several full mth celebrations, some still prep red eggs/kueh coz they dun give the cakes and red eggs to evone mah...
think they say it is for heng heng

Hi, Ladies

At this hour, I am still in office..really "salted vegetable life" (in Hokkien).. Boss does not seem very empathetic that I am pregnant..

Sri Leo - I am farting too :p hahaha..not smelly but loud enuf.. pai sei.. my baby also head down but not engaged yet...

Blue-roses, I have been using make up and go for my monthly facial.. but minus any machine treatment.. I go for pedicure too but minus the massage..

Sore pain - Anyone feeling sore pain at the two inner thigh near the V? And also a "blue black" pain at the belly button area?

alabone (alabone): my daddy got protein in his urine too cos of ghout, too much rich food and his body can't break down the protein and they form crystals in his joints. One of the no no in his list of things to avoid is durian. In your case, I'm not sure if it's advisable to take now. Perhaps if you really need to satisfy your craving, can stick to what the other mummies recommend, 2-3 seeds per week. I think better to play safe lor. Priority now is to keep Cadence inside till 37 weeks.

<font color="0077aa">Sri Leo &amp; LC: My fart is those bubbling kind.. Keke... you know but no sound &amp; smell..

Shazz: Thanks for the call, appreciate that! See if this first time I am successful!

shazz,
ya... i know. i tot avoid durians only if i have GD... anyway, will avoid. priority is of coz cadence.

LC,
what are you doing so late in the office?? poor you. lousy boss you have. so advance in the pregnancy liao still make you work OT. i also have the pain where you describe. can't turn around in bed very well and can't stand/put weight on it. super painful...

blue roses,
i've also been using makeup when i go out. i think make up is ok.

millie,
i never ordered the kueh and red eggs when i have the buffet. my mum makes the red eggs herself and i order the kueh separately from bengawan solo. however, not red eggs she dyes does not turn out even. very patchy...

LC..
wahh ur boss so nasty.. make u ot til so late... zekark... i oso have pain where u described..

red eggs:
if u wan the eggs to be dyed evenly.. add abit of vinegar to the red ye mixture... the color will turn out nice..

millie, taslyn
some buffet will give red eggs. especially if they know it is for bb full month celebation.

i rem for junior there is a huge basket of it but no one took any..end up bring home make egg mayo for picnic...

alabone
see, dun go early early grab durian now cannot eat liaoz...tsk tsk tsk....(*kakakakakkakakaka*)

dseptkon
just ask hb he said he only got AIG income shield and life insurance for the boy.life insurance will include hospitalisation.others not so worth it. endowment no point since there are better ways to save money for kiddoes...

coming to term...
im so bored and sian of this pregnancy now. i may be one of the last to give birth i think.but i buay tahan liaoz.so tired of being big, being inconvenient, cannot go on obstacle course with my boy, cannot play on the long long slide with him...wish this will be over soon!!! arghhhhhhhh

taslyn,
thanks for the tip! will let my mum know.

l'lcy,
not that i dun want to buy and eat durians earlier.. but i really can't go out of the way there to buy mah. then i dun know how to choose durians also...

i'm also sian of being pregnant. cannot run after my kids, cannot eat this and that... so immobile. wish i can give birth like RIGHT NOW.

Morning, Ladies.. I am back in office again.. so sianz.. tot of taking leave..Stupid boss lar.. know how to delegate and we suffer.

Storeberry - I know what you talking abt, the bubbling kind.. and I am reading your post as I am eating my bread.. eeeeee.. :p soemtime I also have that bubbling fart as I walk.. haha!!!

Abalone - so late and you are still online..You dun sleep early? try to rest as much though we dun sleep well at night due to toilet visit.. did your gynae say anything abt the sore pain? I told my gynae abt the blue black pain at the area surrounding the belly button and she said its bec tummy stretched and expanded so the muscle also stretched.. but I dun think anyone also feel that pain.

Body temperature - any one feel that they are warmer now and tend to perspire a lot these days?? I cannot tahan and need the aircon. dun know how to take it during CL. Anyone really not bathing during CL?

MAKEUP
It's ok to use makeup when we are preggy... just for skincare, certain stuff we got to avoid like retinol.

alabone
Do take care!

LC
Hey, same for me.. I perspire so much more lately.. yesterday when I went for a hair trim, I was also perspiring while they were cutting my hair in the salon.. then they gave me tissue to dab coz can see my sweat roll down my face... so paisey lor. At home after my shower, I can still perspire even though I am in an aircon room... super jialat. I not only need aircon, I need it at super low temp &amp; full blast!

dseptkon (dseptkon)
Congrats, wk 36 you are really drawing near to the full term of 37 weeks. It will be a relief for you soon.

Blue roses
I think the bb engagement part will very much depend on your bb, some engage early but may tourn up again when near but some guai guai will stay down and engage when time is near.

LC
Ya bubbling kind..vv paisay leh esp inside a lift...
Ya me too pain on the V area, so difficult and painful to walk nowadays and of cos body temperature..im sure i feel hotter than my hubby at least...

body temperature:
yes. i do feel warmer these days. what i do to keep myself cooler is to drink lots of cold water. it helps

As for bathing during confinement, i will start bathing and washing hair as soon as i come home from hospital

Hi, all 1st time working mum.. just a reminder, there is document to be filled up by us and submit to HR to be submitted to CPF Board for company to claim the maternity cost from the govt.. so rem to fill that in and send it back to ur HR at least 1 week before Maternity starts within 1 mth after Maternity starts.

Storeberry
Thanks for the info on the SCCB! I am arranging to mit up wif them as well!

LC
I feel the same soreness at the V-area. I think some mama oso experienced the same ting oso wor. I think Stef commented tat it is the bb pushing head-down something liddat?? Mine get worst after my treadmill session yesterday lo.. :S

Oh, initially l thot I wanna to observe NO BATHING practice, bt I tink I will still bathe lo.. bt maybe restrict to ONCE A DAY nia… since I am aiming my massage lady to BIND me up like a mummy and I am supposed to retain the binder ALL THE WAY till the next day something liddat .

INSURANCE
The whole game of insurance is so ‘complex’ :p
Bt I remembered something tat if both parents get Aviva medishield something liddat, the bb will be automatically covered. Still waiting for more information from agent. Kip u guys posted if it is indeed tat good lo

FART
Yah, I find that my fart stinks BIG TIME nowadays… and sometimes the ‘air’ seems be coming out from ‘mei-mei’ tat side oso

FULL MTH KUEY/RED EGG
Actually issit majiam like ‘door-gift’? Pple want den pple take and eat something liddat? I dunno whether shld do it or not lo… I tink my friends not into red egg one lo…

Goldfish,

That aviva plan u talking abt yes, if both parents get it, its able to cover for your kid and i think no matter how many kids u have. Currently it covers for my gal so when my bb is out he will also be covered it seems. However the price is a little bit higher i think.

Pain
At V area, bb pushing down? ooo...really makes me walk like a penguine nowadays..