(2008/09) Sep 2008

yingflo:

I do exp tt... doc said its the muscle n ligament stretching as our bb grow bigger....its normal.. but ah.. the pain can be unbearable at times....

hi storeberry,
hehehe. you're very cute leh. yeah. i just had nachos two nights ago with hb. he absolutely loves it! did you have problem opening up the package??

l'lcy,
eh, can you get your hb to buy some durians then i go over to eat huh??? i craving for it like CRRRRAAAAZY lah!

Flos,
Private country clubs? I think some of the clubs do offer their function rooms for seminar and other functions...can be considered for manyue. Eg. Orchid CC

Names
We decided on the English name long long time ago..been calling junior his english name whenever we talk to him...as for chinese name..still searching...v tough as we are not fluent in our mandarin.

sarahmay,
do rest well..could the bleeding be "show"? hmm..not likely cos your due date is mid sept..hope you find out the cause of bleeding and get a remedy soon. take care

So mummies,

hv u all decided to take epidural? or u juz wait n see if can tahan the labour pain, u juz went for the gas mask w/o epi?

hi mummies! has been very busy to keep up with the thread. so much happening!! how are we all?

hubby and i just started to decorate the baby's room. in the meantime, getting ready with all the baby's clothing. speaking of that, stupid hubby washed all the white cloths and linens with a red blanket. and now all my fav baby's cloths and bedsheets(including some bought from overseas!)turned into pink colour (and we are having boy!)!!!!! was soooooooooooooooooo mad at him! i just went nuts when saw all the pinkish colour (maybe because of the hormones too?!) and baby started to kick madly.

what should i do to turn it all become whites again? tried soaking in napisan and also NTUC bleach product...still no use leh....sigh! stupid stupid stupid hubby! just hope his son wont has his stupid gene!

Sri,
I will go with the flow on the birth day...if can tahan pain, will go with epi..if really cannot, hope then not too late to administer epi cos i heard it takes a while for hospital to get it ready..

Mrs T.
Can try bleaching for a couple of days..it might work...but again too much bleaching will cause the material to deteriorate and not good for your bb's skin.. dont be too upset...maybe use those pink stuff at home? cool down okie

SarahMay: hope you're resting well and Elisha is well too. did your gynae managed to find out why the bleeding occurred? if so, you can do preventive measures.

I had a scare myself over the last few days as my boy decided not to move too much! I was monitoring and realised that his movements were once or less than 5 times a day over the last 2-3 days. I tried all sorts of ways to make him move, esepcially at his usual active hours. Played sermons, music for him, and finally he decided to move when I went to Kenko for foot massage! Before that, called RH and receieved crappy service I got so mad with them! Thank God by then, the boy decided to make one movement and I decided not to go to RH for the CTG.

My pelvic bone hurts like mad and I'm waddling like a limp penguin when I get out of a chair or bed, but I'll slowly ease into a not so awkward waddle after waddling around for some time.

I suspect the boy's head could be engaged or so, which explains why the movements are much lesser now as compared to last week. Will know when i see my gynae for checkup on Fri.

Anyone else experienced lesser movements too?

<font color="119911">Mrs.T - OMG!! Can understand why u are super pissed!! Maybe if you wash a couple more times with bleach, the pinkishness would eventually fade off? Just make sure the colored portions do not come off as well....

FLOWER SHOW
We went to the flower show at Suntec last evening after work....surprisingly, it wasn't too crowded. Worth a visit - but the space is quite big, spread over 2 floors, so be prepared to walk abit....we spent about 2+ hours walking &amp; took 100+ photos!</font>

Shazz
I also had fewer movements a few weeks ago hence went for my CTG..but after that movements picked up for no particular reason..guess they have moods too...

shazz,
i also feel lesser movement during the day as compared to 2 weeks back..in my Week 34 now. Junior is more active at nite...alot of pushing..
painful pelvic bone...same situation like u..its a drag getting out of bed and house..

alabone
you mean you havent eaten any??quick go grab some, the best will be over soon!!!we go joo chiat eat lah...kakakkaka...die i just said i will refrain

Sri, bacon&amp;eggs
yeah i agree with bacon. i had wanted an epi free birth, waited and endured for 8 hours still no sign of bb, bo pian took epi loh...bb came out after 22 hours...

so think if dong for 6 hours still not much dilation, i would say go for it man!!!!

shazz,
just to share, nurses at NUH told me to monitor at least 10 movements from 9am to 6pm. If less than 10 by 6pm...should call the hotline..always play safe..thats what they told me.

sri..
think i will try not to use epi.. my gynae is not an advocate for it.. tells me most of his patients do fine with gas..
will see how.. if really painful, then will go for epi..

mummies with experience..
if it is the 1st bb, normally labour takes how long? i m trying to psyche myself for the pain and the hours that i will be in pain...

bacon&amp;egg
Regarding bb movements, my doc told me to monitor bb's movements from 9am to 9pm, 10 movements within this period. But I am finding it pretty difficult to track as I don't really pay much attention while I'm at work &amp; my bb moves more in the wee hours of the morning as well as super late at night. I guess I'll just monitor any changes in his movements as I know more or less his pattern. It's rather stressful for me to track his movements as advised leh.

Sri
I'm going to try to go w/o epi &amp; see my pain threshold.. if really cannot tahan, then will administer. I want to feel the labour pain, see how it's like.. heheh.

i'm at week 36 and had a daytime confinement nanny for my 1st bb. This time i've engaged a live-in CL and according to the agreement she takes a nap every afternoon. can anyone tell me- do i wake her if my baby needs tending during the nap time? how long is it supposed to be? i also plan to BF direct same as my 1st baby at night.

Mrs T
Sorry but I really Laugh out loud when I saw yr posting... u are hoping yr son won't inherit yr hubby's stupid genes. Really strike me cos I was thinking i hope my baby wont inherit my hubby's bochup genes. Can understand how u feel when yr favourite things got messed up by yr hubby. Dun be sad k... think yr hb is trying to help n lessen yr work by washing them for u. But of course u ended up with more work to do lah... My hubby also like tat... u are not alone

dseptkon,
this is the 1st time i come across any CL saying she needs afternoon nap.. usually what they will do is sleep with the baby and when baby wakes up, they will have to wake up to take care of all the needs.. if not, why hire them?

dseptkon
this will be my first time dealing with CL too so can't help, sorry. My intention of getting CL is to take care of me actually (food, bath etc) and i will latch direct as far as possible instead of relying on her to feed
...just wanted to say "nice nic"...

Mrs T
Hahahaa! been thru the same thing...it's OK, just use pink stuff at home as someone said earlier..at least your hb tried to help...

l'lcy,
really ah? you'll go with me to eat???? when when when???

i'm leaving soon for my appt at TMC. hope i'm just paranoid.

Hi all..

Yup..me too hoping to deliver w/o epi cz tis will be my 1st n last pregnancy...wanna get the feel of true labour..but if on tt day i really cant tahan ah...den will ask for epi.. Hopes i'll do juz fine wit the gas mask...

Mrs T:

I gt exp tt b4..but its my G2000 shirt tt my ex bought for me..heee... careless me.. wat i did was use Vanish powder + liquid detergent(don use liquid ones..no gd..).. Soak it wit warm water &amp; leave it dere for one day.. after i see the colour gone, i washed it again wit detergent.. Hopes it works for u...

Flos
Re: "no more heartburn" ...I've learnt my lesson never to say "I haven't..." or "I dont seem to be having..." anymore on this thread. last time i said I hadn't needed to take, MRT, I had to that same day. last time i said i had no more MS, I puked that night ...sigh...

rachel...
i dun think i will write a birth plan.. coz i think in the end, i wun follow it, but it serves as a guide for the person accompanying u..
a sample can be found here:
http://www.huggies.com.sg/BecomingAParent/YourPlanningAids/Your_Birth_Plan.pdf

Mrs T,
dun be too upset.. ur hb just trying to help.. men will be men after all... i think he is feeling bad after all the stuff turned pinkish too.. many u can try vanish? think it is not as harsh on fabrics as bleach...
if really cannot remove, then dress ur boy in pink at home.. guys in pink oso quite stylo mah

dseptkon..
i got no experience with CL and not having one this time round either... anyway maybe she is worried that she will be tired after taking care of bb at nite? check with her wat time she intends to take her nap and how long lor...
after all, CLs are human beings too.. they need rest and when she naps, u use the time to bond with ur bb lor...

hi bacon&amp;egg, mrs yap, ava, big toes, sri leo and other mummies:
thanks for your replies. will try to soak the garments few more days to see if things get any better....i know hubby was trying to help, but it wasn't the first time he did laundry maa...everytime also reminded him to separate colours and whites...sigh! maybe it is really something in the mens' gene... i was so angry that i think baby can feel it. so baby started to kick like mad (can see 'earthquake' movement on tummy), at one point i thought my tummy was gonna explode!

sri: is vanish powder same as napisan (the pink colour bottle?)

dsepton: maybe you and CL can take turns in the afternoon to take care baby? i guess it is also reasonable to let her have a rest in the afternoon so that she can be awake during the night? my sis's CL never woke up during the night, even the baby cried very loud. sis had to kick the CL to wake her up! eventually, she didnt have enough rest and fell sick. make the situation even worse 'cos she wasn't allowed to be near to the baby. so, basically she was being paid for doing nothing!

BB movements: oh dear, I'm soooo busy that i've forgotten to keep track of the movements...But I know it's always moving and kicking and punching! notty notty...

My parents chided me for being so feisty and loud during my pregnancy. I still speak loudly and scold people, when I'm supposed to behave in a dainty, feminine, motherly and docile manner!! They said my bb would be very noisy and notty when he hears mommy raising her voice outside his lil 'cocoon'.

Ava: yeah lor, I will not say NO MORE HEARTBURN, NO MORE MS, NO MORE MIGRAINE, NO MORE CRAVINGS...urrrrggghhh...

Mrs T: Your DH is like me...blur blur! I always discolour my DH's shirts and shrink his woollen tops by mistake.

Jessi: Why Orchid Country Club? Quite far north leh...It's some NTUC compound right?

Since preggie til nw 34 wks.. I keep farting... sorry to said tis, sometimes smelly lei... n oso my tummy keep having wind...

u all gt exp tt or nt?

<font color="119911">Mrs.T (mrst) - i guess as long as ur CL doesn't have a regular nap time every afternoon (like a baby herself), then it shd be reasonable to expect her to rest when the baby is sleeping. I have however, heard of horror stories where the CL eats and sleeps more than the recovering mommy herself....quite pointless paying $1800 for nothing then!

Ava/Flos - Very true! Another instance - The only time i had heartburn during this pregnancy was the day my brother in law asked me if I had any discomforts from the pregnancy, and I proudly told him nope. That was during a buffet lunch we were having, &amp; i promptly had heartburn from overeating that same afternoon! Moral of the story is - never be "lansi" (think its a hokkien term, loosely meaning arrogant)....don't say things that will come &amp; bite u back in the butt!

Hi Mrs.T, best is to put the laundry to wash yourself and let your hubby hang the clothes to dry. I always do that cos never trust a guy to do woman's job. my hubby will automatically hang the clothes when its done washing.

bacon&amp;egg, avalyn &amp; mei: thanks for sharing and assuring me!
was counting his movements just now, phew, he clocked 10 moves in 2 hours when I was sitting in a meeting just now. Ava, you're right, perhaps they have their mood too. But it sure scared their mummies when they don't move as according to their usual habits!

mei,
i dont track daily..as long as i know there are 10 movements a day..somedays i track on paper..just bring along a small paper with pencil..whenever bb moves, i write down the time and 1,2,3... once i was talking to colleague face to face and most of the time i was jotting down nos...he stopped suddenly and exclaimed "what are you doing"!! He looked quite annoyed...

CL,
any of your appointed CL call you every other month to ask you how u r? Mine kept calling me..i know she is concerned but a bit funny to be asking me when i am due and i repeat the date to her every other month!!

Sri Leo, i have this problem! luckily its stopped being so smelly since a month ago. its so jialat until my hubby will ask me if i am the one who fart when he smells something bad when we are at the supermarket. and my siblings avoiding me and giving me that look whenever i fart. nowadays no more problem.

deseptkon
if the bb sleeps with you at night (since you are bfg) then she shouldnt need the afternoon nap.How long is her afternoon nap?

my CL was quite confused when i told her i will sleep with bb, the first thing she asked was "then why need CL huh?"

taslyn
it really varies leh. ive heard of first time labour which is 3 hour long from very onset and some which are 3 days long and in the end have to go for emergency c section...

one guage is how long your mum and sisters took to give birth. it usually runs in the family. my mum and all of my sisters have short labour. even for first birth, non of the kids more than 5 hours (my mum has five, and all my sis add up to 6 labours)...

but eh, dun wanna dampen your mood, mine took 22 hours. dun ask me why.

<font color="0077aa">Alabone: the opening of the cheese was terrible!!! My hands were all red! I used the spoon method &amp; it works!! Yday just managed to packed all cheese in the fride &amp; threw away the package alr. But I think I mixed the nachos cheese with tau sau piah &amp; kena stomachache.. Keke..

Mrs T: Don't get too upset about it k? Nowasdays boys also wear pink!! I am intending to get some pink polo tee for mt boy! Keke...

I finally decided to go ahead with the Indo-chinese CL cos my SIL gave me another M'sia CL contact yday, she told me we can negotiate her pay around $1600 but when we called the CL yday, she said now mkt rate is $1900-$2k (suddenly her rate increases..) &amp; she request Ang Pow when she comes &amp; leave &amp; I felt she wasn't very pro-BF so decided just to go ahead with the 1st confirmation as the CL was much more easy going. She said she will help with housework if have time.
Thanks Mrs Yap!

Sasa: Glad that Max is of a good weight &amp; head down!!! Pls continue to rest well yah?</font>

Mrs T, you can try Dylon's colour run remover as well. i'm not sure if you can get it from supermarket but it's selling in spotlight. my hubby is also helping me with the laundry washing now and i'm keeping my fingers crossed. :p

Flos, hmm.. i don't think Orchid country club is under NTUC. ya north area is definitely out for me cos i'm staying in the west, anyway it's just another club suggestion if intending to hold it at a venue out of home.

yan:

mine nvr stop lei...arrrr... the feeling of having wind in the stomach is worst... soooo uncomfortable...

luckily i hv stop eating durian..if nt ah...the smell can mske everyone faint..kekeke...

Mrs T
Vanish and napisan are different. Vanish is the bright pink bottle for stains. napisan...er, I can't remember the colour of box, but it's more for baby clothes, altho some pp use for towels/bedding too. it sanitises as well as keeps whites white i think.

Rachel
Birth plan is only if u have specific requirements about the kind of birth u want - pain relief, doula present in ward, use of birthing ball, baby to be put on chest once birthed, etc. If you dont have specific requirements and are happy to leave it to doc to do their usual thing, u dont need a plan. And in emergency case (*touch wood*), the plan is thrown out the window anyway...

jessi: yes lah, Orchid Country Club was opened by the then NTUC chief Ong Teng Cheong. It's not named after our National Flower for nothing!!!

"In August 1991, the late Mr Ong Teng Cheong, then Secretary-General of NTUC mooted the idea of developing a golf and country club for workers. He wanted our workers to have "a fair share of the fruits of Singapore's economic progress" in recognition of their contribution. He envisioned a golf and country club which would be affordable to workers, so that "Golf will no longer be a game for executives only" as he put it."

Majority of the members there are NTUC Comfort taxi-drivers and union workers. "Workers" are defined by the Employment Act as those earning < $1,600.

But it's a great place for family gatherings and corporate retreats. The resorts are very affordable too!!

Are you from NUS? Try the NUSSU Club at Suntect or Orchard Cineleisure. It's pretty good too.

Storeberry: yes, $1,900 is the market rate... I also dun mind lil boys to wear pink/red polo tees.

Sri Leo: farting problem still persists in your week 34? Could it be your diet? Those deepfried shallots and spring onions over your mee rebus, mee siam,,lontong and mee soto?

just got back from the visit to dr chan at tmc. i've protein in my urine and bp there was 150/98. so high that the nurses were shocked and took my bp twice. think i have mild pre e. will have to monitor my situation over the next few weeks...

storeberry,
i've not opened up the one i just received. am finishing my last pack from another bp then will open up the new one. i didn't put it separate containers. just put the whole pack in my chiller. can keep like that right??

alabone
Aiyoh...do take care...!

what's this nacho and cheese thing u and storeberry are talking about...mkaing me hungry!!

Flos:

Ya..i still hv it...but nw seldom..i do burp mst of the time.. no lei..don like spring onions..hee..if drink cold water will fart or nt? i seldom drink hot water...

Hi Flos, the birth plan is actually a guide of what you want during the birth of your child. Eg, epidural, or you can even state that you want to breastfeed your baby immediately after birth... etc.. It's for the doctor / midwife to know exactly what you want, so they dont have to keep asking you during birth perhaps...

alabone (alabone) : I'm so glad you went to another gynae for 2nd opinion! Thank God you discovered early and take the neccesary precautions! No durians for you already dear, cos got protein in your urine. Did they advise you on what else to avoid? In the meantime, dun fuss over it, in case your BP increase. Stay cool my dear for Cadence sake.

lilboymum:
omg.. that is long for labour.. my mum has terrible labour, more than 20 hrs each for me n bro.. i got no sisters so cannot compare...

alabone, storeberry...
try the cheese with wedges.. v shiok!!

sri: i used to fart alot.. but i blame it on my dogs.. muahaha... but i no longer do it...

just went to dr for checkup..
bb is 2.225kg @ 32-33 weeks... but i put on 3kg... faintz.. no more soft drinks.. :p

Hi Mummies! Thanks for all your concern!

Now feeling much better but telling myse]lf to take things easy and rest. Thank God no more blood and contractions. Doc doesn't know why. She said the bloody discharge (i showed her the soaked liner) and said it might be show. So I must guai guai stay at home and rest. Now on medication - duphaston and some high blood pressure pills - to help relax uterus. Aiya...i suspect the pollen at the flower show might have overwhelmed my hormones and triggered something. Hehe.

I can't chat long cos cannot sit for too long.]

But hope all you mummies are doing well!

Will pop in again soon!

thanks for the suggestions

jaymickey
the nap thing is supposed to be about 1-2 hours and it is in the T&amp;Cs that i signed when the CL agency person came to my place. She said it was a standard thing. My fear is that like Mrs T's SIL, she will be asleep in the day AND in the night as well since I am planning to latch rather than EBM.

ava
the nic is from my childhood fave- the transformers- i use it everywhere

Mrs T
think that napisan is available at those chinese medical halls

Taslyn:

LOL... blame ur dogs?? whahahahaha.. y lei?

Btw all of u gain hw many?

Me alot........on my 8mths checkup, i weigh 76kg!! b4 preggie i was only 55kg...can see wat a big difference hor... bb on my 7mths checkup only weigh 1.3kg while me weigh 74kg... haiz....... my body full of fats la...hehehe