(2008/09) Sep 2008

eve: didn't receive your email leh. I forward u the email again. oops, just checked my IB and saw an ATM transfer of $20.06, must be from you yah? ok, will mail your items on monday at the Post Office, cos I won't be free to go PO tom.

koras: keep me posted, cos I mailed on tue evening
u rec the refund hor

I remembered someone posted about SCBB before, and met up with their consultant... can you please advise what's the process like, and if there's a cost to it??

Just read this article...hilarious! I forwarded it to my sis who wants to name her kids Wyld Stallion and Hibiscus something...

Parents lose custody of girl for naming her Talula Does the Hula From Hawaii
Barbara McMahon in Sydney
guardian.co.uk
Thursday July 24, 2008

A nine-year-old girl whose parents named her Talula Does the Hula From Hawaii was put into court guardianship in New Zealand so that her name could be changed.

A family court judge, Rob Murfitt, gave the order after hearing that the child was embarrassed about her name and had refused to reveal it to friends. "She told people her name was K because she feared being mocked and teased," the child's lawyer, Colleen MacLeod, told the court.

The judge criticised parents who give their offspring bizarre names, saying it exposed children to ridicule among their peers.

"The court is profoundly concerned about the very poor judgment that this child's parents have shown in choosing this name. It makes a fool of the child and sets her up with a social disability and handicap, unnecessarily," he said.

He said the child had a better insight about the situation than her parents, who had apparently not given any thought to the implications of their actions. The judge criticised the growing trend of parents choosing out-of-the-ordinary names for their children.

In his written ruling, he said names such as Stallion, Yeah Detroit, Fish and Chips, Twisty Poi, Keenan Got Lucy and Sex Fruit were prohibited by registration officials. Others that were permitted included twins called Benson and Hedges, other children called Midnight Chardonnay, Number 16 Bus Shelter and, the judge added, "tragically, Violence". Another mother tried to use text language for her child's name, he said.

The ruling was handed down in February but only came to light in law reports issued today. The girl, who had been at the centre of a custody battle, has since changed her name, but it was not revealed in order to protect her privacy.

Brian Clarke, the registrar general of births, deaths and marriages, said New Zealand law did not allow names that would cause offense to a reasonable person. He said officials were usually successful in dissuading parents from giving their children embarrassing names.

Ava:Wah...what are these parents thinking?!

Stef&Sean: Yes! We should go have durians! Haha. but you are petite...so of cos afford to eat a lot. I better watch my weight cos i dun want to get fat! Bb grow big can already. Hehe. Btw, that link you posted is written by my family doc. Other than the durian cafe, do you know where we can go for good durians? Geylang?

L'lCY: I was plannning on washing every 2 days. So looks like that is feasible.

Alabone; Mine is not lower back , more mid-back. Very strange.

Hi Shazz,

strange leh... cos i actually bcc the email to myself n i received it. anyway, i've jus resend the email to u again. yup, i've alrdy transfered $20.06 to ur acct via atm on 21Jul le. anyway, looking fwd to receiving the items soon. thks again

hi Mrs Yap,

Sorry to hear about your case..hope you are feeling better and have plenty of rest.

My gynae is Dr SF Loh. He is a little busy but alright..will give medical leave, medication whenever he feels that there is a need for you.

<font color="0077aa">Rachel Lim: I only called the consultant, haven't meet up with them yet, planning to meet them next mon at my gynae office. Basically they asked me a few questions to pre-screen whether we are eligible for donation then they will arrange to meet up with you at your gynae office to tell you the procedures. There is no cost for donating but if in case you need to retrieve the cord blood you will need to pay $26K retrieval costs.

Hi Rabbit, you are back! Where have you been hoping to? :p</font>

Dear Flos,

Am in those threads because i was trying to sell off my zapp, happen that mil bought a stroller set for us, so paiseh not to use the set she bought you see. Edd is Sept 13! but will be opting for c-section to happen end of august, bb is 2.2kg now in my 33rd week, cephalic and dr says my little girl has a bigger head and belly, 2cm more in diameter :X

Dear bigtoes,

I saw it in Face book, anymore updates?

And every mummy~

Any ladies here experiencing hard tummies? Mine is like stone hard, and nope, have yet pack hospital bag~

welcome Kym! Did u manage to sell your Zapp off in the end? I notice that there are many moms helping the forum moderator police the WTS and BP threads!! I wonder what we can do and what we can't....*scratch head*

l'l CY,
Oh.. i thot it will take ard a week+ of bb laundry in order to justify a half or full laundry load :p
Issit ok to 'spin' bb laundry? My washer lowest spin is like 400 :S

Ava,
Thanks for ur email!!!

Skinnypig,
How does ur contraction feel? Sometimes, i oso feel stinging pain at one side bt it will disappear shortly.

Hihi mummies,

am back from gynae! Baby is now 2.06kg at 34 weeks. Luckily i didn't put on any weight from 3 weeks ago. Was expecting the worst considering all the rich food i've been taking in the past few weeks. Suddenly feel a significant increase in appetite and for sweet stuff.
But Dr Chang said I'm not to eat too much sweet things, including DURIAN... and cheesecake. So sad!!! He said even now still can kena diabetes...

ava
thx for the link

I found a new thread for the bobux shoes.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1579522.html?1216971147

They're selling discontinued designs at $26, current ones at $33. The mummy selling is called Beng'sMa (poohbaby1223). Is that the same person? U mentioned that u bought two pairs at abt $25 each. Is it cause it's discontinued design?
But am so happy to see it cos I think I'm gonna get the toddler shoes for my girl!

And yep, I don't mind having a look at the lady's designs. Can email me? Thx!

sarahmay
sorry missed ur post.
GP did the pricking for me. It was ok actually. Didn't really hurt. But I had to put antiseptic cream on it after that, and had to clean it off everytime before i bf, so that was the troublesome part...

STRANGE NAMES
hmmm... what on earth were those parents thinking? I'm still undecided on a name and only 6 weeks left!!!

Took my bloom shots with maryann based on storeberry recommendation (if i did not remember wrongly). It was fun and i like the pictures ... i selected them mostly printed out in black and white .....for those who are planning to go with hubby, you might want to color coordinate your clothes... My hubby and me not very coordinated for the light color wear, hence effect is not ideal. But the second outfit, we both wear black the effect is better ...

Jojo: Ooh! Do share your pics with us! I'm doing mine on 13 Aug! Can't wait.

Isabelle: No worries! Your bb is a good size! And you didn't even put on weight!!!

Kym: Your bb is growing well too!

Goldfish: Spin dry is fine. Helps clothes dry faster. Put in laundry net to protect clothes.

<font color="119911">Hi mommies,

Think my laptop was acting up - couldn't get
into the forum whole od yesterday!

Kym Teo (pebblez) - nope, no more photos of my baby's room. Its actually quite a mess now, with all the large items (playmat, bouncy chair etc) tucked at one corner.

Hard tummy - mine feels solid as well...but more like a fully inflated basketball underneath, rather than really hard. Can still see the ripples when baby moves, thou this is suppose to get lesser as the space becomes more confined towards the end.

isabelle (isa_belle) - wow, baby is now 2+kg? My next appnt is on Monday - Kieran was just 1.6kg at 32 weeks, so we are hoping he has grown to about 1.8-1.9kg by now.
Btw, thought u have shortlisted 2 baby names for your little girl already? Maybe finally decide when u see her for the 1st time!

Jo Jo (jojobar) - have to show us ur Bloom photos when they are ready okie! Do they do any photoshop touch ups?</font>

shazz- receive le hehe.
bigteos- same mine hard too at certain plc. can feel more baby hipcups and whenever i eat my meal he tend to push upwards make mi hard to eat sia

isabelle
i think mine might be the discontinued design...pM me so i can send u the designs...

prenatal
just had a prenatal massage (malay type)..lady says from the looks of my tummy, birth may be as early as 3 weeks' time!!! ARGHHHH! not prepared!!!

Hi SarahMay &amp; Bigtoes,

The picture will need 3 to 5 weeks to be printed ! I guess by that time, I may have pop... SarahMay, you would have taken yours
Remember to colour coordinate clothes with hubby hor. Maybe one set of white and one set of dark color might be good... Mine in white did not turn out well as hubby in grey... So we develop mostly the black outfits picture in black and white color photo.... ( i am a big sucker for black and white photo) ... I am blowing one of it into 12R and framing it to display in my living room ..... To be put right beside my black and white wedding picture.... But that was taken like 5 years ago.... so can tell both hubby and me have aged ...hahahhah
Bigtoes, they do touch up for the photo
in fact, i ask them to touch up the line on my tummy.....

SarahMay, I am sure you will enjoy your session ! how many weeks will you be in 13th Aug ? I am currently in week 34-35...so quite tiring for me sitting in a some pose ....
But for sure, I am going back when i pop to take picture for my son

By the way, anybody got good suggestion for first month celebration venue ? I want to do buffet style kind and most of the hotel are offering at 45++ per person, which is really steep.... Any good suggestion to share

Hello mummies hope to join u guys here. My edd is 4th oct but since I am doing csec, it'll prob be in Sept

Jojo, for my first child, I did a high tea for immediate family members at Hotel Phoenix. I think I paid no more than $20 for each pax. Food is not too bad. I am sure there are other hotels offering hi-tea for a reasonable price. Like you, I am probably going to hold the celebration at a hotel but I will go for hi-tea since it's cheaper

Jojo, are you the one in Grey &amp; White strips today? Did you buy the cd today?

Oh, i have done mine at the loft studio this morning too.. posted some my pics in Facebook cos some are the semi-nude ones (SHY)....

<font color="0077aa">Hi Jojo, yes, it was me who recommend you!! keke... But I think I am not doing the shots though, might do one when bb is older.

Hi missk! Welcome!

Jaymickey: Will go &amp; peek at your photos!

Just met some galfrens at Vivocity to eat German sausages &amp; pork knuckles, its was not bad but abit too much meat liao! And everyone is like at Vivocity!!! There are so many people!</font>

hi jojo,
wah. i can't wait to see your pics and i can't wait to take mine too. i'm only in my 29th week now so still have about 4 more weeks before i take those pics. i hope by then i won't have to be confined in a wheelchair liao. these few days, my slipped disc pain is so bad i cannot barely stand, walk or sleep properly...

jaymickey,
me too me too! shall go and look at your pics. not sure now if i have you on my facebook. what's your name??

Hi Missk,

I am keen on hi-tea as well. But the hotel offer package seem to be at the high side like $35 to $45. Hence if you have any good lobang, can care to share ? oh hotel pheonix is already no longer in existence so one choice lesser

Jaymickey, I am the one in grey and white strip
with a tall hubby. I did not buy the CD as I do not intend to spend so much on it ...and i am not exactly the photogenic kind loh, not all the pictures turn out well for me .... By the way, how much you pay for the CD har ?

Alabone, take care of your slipped disc pain.... So make sure you rest a lot before the photo session.

Storeberry, thanks for your recommendation. WHen I was at the studio, i saw couple of friends and my boss picture there as well... It seems like maryann is really popular !

These days, does everyone feel very tired ? I am no longer the active preggie in tri 1 and 2... I felt like a heavy elephant....cannot walk far....To be frank, even i enjoy the pregancy journey, can;t wait for week 40 to arrive ...

morning everybody,

haiz i ate durian again, for breakfast... i think I'd better stop this durian eating thing...

Yesterday went for pre-natal refresher class. Saw a video of a dutch home birth and saw the baby coming out from the mummy's vagina. She was in a squatting position. Looked really smooth and easy. Once the head was out, the baby just popped out! No tearing too! I was like wow, so fast?!! Really encouraging. I hope I'm like that too! Very keen to do the squatting position!

ava
pm-ed u already. thx =)

anyone interested in the bobux shoes? Check out the cute shoes on this webbie
http://picasaweb.google.com/babesnbabies/BobuxCurrentDesigns33
think the BP thread will close on 29 Jul, tuesday.

I love Bobux!
Even the boys' shoes r so cute too.

alabone
ouch u poor thing... R u on leave already? How to teach like this?

bigtoes
hmm... that's a good suggestion
Yep, mebbe should shortlist as u said and decide when we actually see her!
Dr. Chang said from now every two weeks average wt bb shld put on is abt 350g.
I asked Dr. Chang how heavy she was at 31 weeks (that's 3 wks ago) and he said 1.7 plus kg.

sarahmay
yep i'm so relieved i didn't put on weight. Otherwise I'll have to think twice abt indulging in blueberry cheesecake! And u know how it is, the more we have to control, the more we crave for it. I hate that... cos i know in that case, I'll prob end up eating more!

morning Ladies.. I have not posted here for awhile but have been reading the postings.. Have been very busy at work and my superior is like handing me with projects though I am going to due in abt 7weeks time.. Sighz..gynae said my EDD might be earlier in August. Finger crossed it will not be.. have been talking to baby to arrive in 1st or 2nd week of Sept..Last scan at 32weeks, baby is weigh about 2.1kg but head size is far bigger (at 35weeks)..
And, my weight is escalating like nobody business these few weeks. I should cut down on my suger intake.

Jo Jo - I am feeling the same too.. very tired, especially towards 5plus in the evening and its like dragging myself back to home from work.. lower legs and feet are like tied with kilos of water.. Can't do much shopping too, cos really need to rest after some walk.. and the irritaing spider veins appears on one of my legs

Strep B test - Anyone did this test already? Usually done for MTB who are going to deliver naturally. to check for any inflammation/ virus. want to check usually at how many weeks do we need to go for this test. I am scheduled to do it on the 34weeks but tot it might be too early.

Hi LC,

Ya.. I understand how you feel..especially i work till 7 plus on average.... My last scan is week 33, and baby at 2.5kg... GOing for check up next week, will see how much the baby weigh... The funny thing is i have not been putting on weight for the past 3 check up... So the additional weight from baby is tiring me out ....

I have no idea what is Strep B test ... need to extract blood a not ? scary for me....I will check with my gynae for the next check up.

Going for my weekly prenatal massage now.... lazy to go out but bought the package leow so must try to finish it ....

hi storeberry,

I have not posted for a while, but have been silently reading all the posts and still trying to catch up

BB growth is alright but I may have to go for csec in 2nd week of Sep instead of end Sep as bb head is still not down. And also been busy doing some shopping, getting maid etc since there is just a couple more weeks to go...

how are you getting on?

hi LC,
I am currently in 31 weeks but gynae did not propose Strep B test...guess maybe i will be going for ops so he did not propose. He just propose to go for a CTG is 3 weeks time.

Jojo: ur bb is big! Will be wk 35 i think. I;m doing nudes n hubby not with me. So less headache on the clothes. Tho I have to crack my head on accessories n props. Hope they can touch up my uneven tan. What poses were hard to do?So how many pics extra did u choose?

Alabone: ouch! my back is also hurting. So u decided to do bloom w maryann? cool!

isabelle: durians for brekkie? yummy! yah, but watch the sugar!!

LC: i think the strep b test is just like doing a swab from vaginal area. not sure. i shall ask dc trow at check-up.

ava: how can she tell?

rabbit: isn't it too early to decide on c/section now? actually, what does it mean by bb head down?

welcome missk: are u having a boy or girl?

Hi SarahMay,
I think i chose about 6 to 8 extra. cannot remember leow. But i top up on the 8R into a 12R black and and white... The poses are not hard to do lah...just that my posture is not good, i tend to slouch...so when need to straighten my back for long, i felt tired

I am the shy kind in photography, only do semi nude but not nude... but i kind of like the semi nude quite artistic ...
My gynae mention that the baby is slightly bigger than average to comfort me... But i can really feel the strain... Anyway, I will know next sat for my next checkup, what is the latest weight of my son

So anyone thinking about the Manyue celebration already ? Or i am the kiasu one ...hee hee...

hi SarahMay,

BB is still in breech position (has been in the same position for a long time) so gynae doubt she is going to change her position, thus preparing me mentally to have a c-section.

Ava: Wow! your malay massage lady is a trained midwife? Will she be doing your postnatal massage?

Jojo: did you have to pay a lot more? I hope I don't go overboard with selecting the pics. Hehe. It is good thatyour bb is abv average right? Shows that he is growing healthy and strong!!

Rabbit: What kind of breech? I don't know if my bb is in breech or not. His head is down...but not quite sure if it means that he wil engage by the time he's due. Anyway, I've read that you can do some exercises to try to get baby to turn.
1. The knee-chest position: Kneel with your knees slightly apart. Lean over with your chest touching the floor, belly barely touching. Maintain this position for about 10 mins.
2. Pelvic tilts.

Have you tried these?

isabelle: u had durians for breakfast? aiyo, today I succumbed to temptations again...after abstatining from durians for 6 weeks...I took 3 seeds at my parents' place...very good durians. Sultan ones.

LC: Hey u r back!!! I already did my Strep B test or culture test, whatever u call it...it's for vaginal delivery. check for virus, etc. It's my gynae's routine at week 32.

I really cannot walk for long anymore. My feet are swollen and everyone is prophecising I'll give birth earlier. Ahhhhh....Pls pray that bb will pop in Sept...feeeing kinda tight at the pelvis area...

Jaymickey! Saw your nude shots and they are well-taken!! I asked if my DH would mind if I take those nude pics. He doesn't approve of it...Hmm, i never knew my DH is sooo conservative one...He cited the edison chan's case...wondering what's nude preg pics gotta do with that womaniser....haizzzzz...anyway, I'll do it when bb is born!!

Hi SarahMay,

Due to the top up of the 8R to 12R, there is already $50 extra. Plus the additional 5 or 7 pictures of 5R at $15 each. I need to top up another $100plus. Do not need to pay the top up till u collect the picture. So i do not remember the top up amount.

But i was very cost conscious during the whole selection...
You will be doing nude picture or semi nude ? The effect of semi nude by maryann is really nice. I think you will enjoy it

Ya. On one hand, i am glad that bb is growing but i am getting more tired by the days...

Flos, I feel that my pelvis area is tight and heavy as well...does it mean, i am going to pop... Oh no, i must taha till the new baby bonus package announced..... moreover i really want a virgo baby.....

Jaymickey, did you do semi nude or nude picture ? how much you pay for the CD and when you collecting your pictures har ?

heard cant eat too much durian liao if not baby born the face will have rashes ler. haha yest had durian only.

talking about the strep B test - need blood to test. cox scared to see needle sia

jojo

Jaymickey's already collected her semi-nude and nude pictures leh...she even posted them on her FB and we all saw it liao
hv u not collected yours from the same photographer?

I want a Sept 08 bb, not so much a Virgo. Leo is ok for me. ekekek!

koras: yes, but i reckoned since i stopped eating for 6 weeks, it should be ok to consume 3 seeds lor!! I will down more birdsnest and barley this week...

flos - er haha yest i think i consume around 5-6 seeds ba. hehe today went to MIL plc eat durian ice cream whaha.... by the way can consume chicken essence

hey ladies, i think i am experienceing BH contractions. Baby is also active at the same time. is it BH contractions or just the tighness of the tummy

Jojo, i paid $250 for the CD and i didn't pick any extra.. stick to my 5 5Rs and 2 Super 8R cos i signed up at the fair so i got 1 extra Super 8R...

I did both but the top is covered by ur arms and bottom is cover by the post... my hb, just stood there and see lor.. i feel so paiseh.. but just do it.. hee hee..

SarahMay, yes, Maryann did it for me.. she is quite funny during the photoshoot.. so is easy to play along..

hi,Sarahmay/ Jojo

Flos has mentioned abt the Strep Test. i believe it does not apply to C-section ba.. will be something similar to pap smear.. hate it mann but wil have to go through cos I am going for natural (finger crossed that baby wil be cooperative)..

Hi,Flos

Yes, I am back.. can't keep up with the posting.. you still diligently using the clarin oil? I am into my fifth bottles already.. hahaha..are you drinking coconut water already? I haven touch one yet.. have been delaying to buy one.. :p I wan a sept baby too.. hope baby will stay with me still 39th or 40th weeks

Hi,Rabbit

ya, would it be too early to decide for a C-section? I heard many cases whereby baby in breech position and mommies have to talk to the baby and they do head downward a few days before the EDD..

<font color="0077aa"> Hi rabbit: I am in my 34 weeks now, don't worry about bb not head down, when I went to check in my 31 weeks, bb is still head up. I am seeing my gynae tmr, hopefully bb would have head down. Your gynae so fast ask you to consider c-sec already? My sister's bb head down like few days before she gave birth so don't give up!

Yday couldn't sleep till 3plus... Aiyo...

Jaymickey: Nice shots!!</font>

I'm unable to breast feed my baby so want to sell my one month old PIS breast pump.

It is a Medela PIS Advanced 2008 version. I bought it in March and it has 12 months warranty (8 months left). My baby was born end June, so it has been used very few times and only for less than a month. I bought it at about 650 and want to sell it at 400. It is in good condition and comes in original state.

I am also selling the following brand new items
1) Tollyjoy breast pads 48 pieces 2 boxes, each box at 8 bucks or both boxes at 15 bucks. Each box retails at 11.90 outside.
2) 1 pair of reusable cotton breast pads . Forget how much I bought these for, but selling them at 4 bucks.
3) 1 pack of Medela 6 piece membranes and 2 valves for breast pump. This retails at 38.90. I'm selling this at 25 bucks.
4)2 tubes of Medela PureLan 100 breastcare gel.

If you are buying the breast pump and also want to buy the above items or any of the above items, do let me know. I will give you a further discount.

If you are interested in any of the above items, please email me at [email protected]

good morning mummies,
went for my gynae visit on sat. bb is growing well - 2.3kg @ 34week 2 days
baby put on 600gm during past 2 weeks, and i put on only 0.1kg
really surprised after eating having all the sweet stuff at Canele on 19th July
and best part is that baby's head is down. I hope she remains head down position.

Also settled my SCCB cord blood donation on Sat

MSW durians at Joo Chiat:
Went there on Sunday evening to buy some home, but the durians had not arrived yet
many pple were waiting around the stall for the arrival of the durians. well. we couldnt wait as we had to rush to MIL's place for dinner.. sob.

Twendy,
you were mentioning your MIL could get good quality MSW durians ? where to get those ??

Storeberry
When is the correct week that bb will be head down? My bb is already in head down position at week 28...

Preggie
BH contraction is the tightening feel of yr tummy which last for abt 10 to 15 secs. It shouldnt be too frequent or painful else it will be real contractions.

Hi Mummies.. I'm single mum to be... Abit younger than u all perhaps.. I aged 22..

My EDD is on 12 Sept.. BB head faced dwn oredi on my 7mths checkup..

I hope my bb is out b4 23 Aug cz I want him/her to be Leo juz like me... hehehe...

Nw having insomnia.. Back n waist aching so badly.. bb so active... keep kicking me.. move here n dere...

Oh ya, do u all exp like migraine &amp; feel like wanna faint? Recently, I been vomitting too.. hee.. feels like i still in my 1st trimester..

When can we start booking of ward? I intend to deliver at KKH.. If B2 no need to pay any cash rite? all pay thru medisave?

havent been posting here for a long time...just popped in to take a look and saw all these discussions on durians..

Bro bought 3 MSW durians from four seasons last week...$120! I didn't know they are so expensive!...anyway..find the taste so-so only...

I've only put on 7 kg from my pre-pregnancy weight..and i'm now in wk31...bb was only 1.1kg at wk29...i think she's going to be a really small bb...so eating durians help? This is my 3rd pregnancy...my last 2 preg i put on abt 15kg.