(2008/09) Sep 2008

Rinsing of Washing Machine
Sorry I rem someone asked how I did it, but was too busy to reply. My machine is top-load, so i merely use the hose and washed the area in the drum and changed the net that catch the dirty stuff

cloud
My gynae is also KT Tan.. she's very very good... there was once KKH arranged for me to go for a scan & it was 2 days after my appt with her.. when she saw that my scan was just 2 days later.. she said how can they arrange in such a way that makes me go down 2 trips to the hospital in 1 week.. so she made a call personally to the ADC dept & made them slot the scan in for me on the spot.. I was very touched by this gesture.. she genuinely cares. She can be friendly & crack jokes at times.. but what I like most about her is her no-nonsense approach & her professionalism.

Yes, agree on massaging of breasts, especially nipples.. it will trigger contractions as it sends signals to your brain that baby needs milk!

trigger contractions by massaging nipples:
ohh... that's news to me. i want baby to be born on 20/08/2008. so maybe i can massage nipples few days before 20/08/2008.

stef&seanbabes (limyg) : that's a very popular date! but be warned that the hospital may be shorthanded and won't be able to give you and baby the attention you want if you choose to deliver that day.
seems like you'll be the first to deliver in this thread if you choose that date!

Mrs Yap,
Welcome back

Napisan,
As recommended by Shazz, I bought them yesterday
Found them at Cold Storage for $6++ per pack...small squarish box..took me a while to find it..

Anyone with pain between the legs? at the side of the vagina? I wonder what causes the pain...sigh..it is tough for me to walk these days..

My weight gaining slow past 3 weeks...only 500g! I hope bb is growing well despite my GB diet..

lok,
like ava said, after the first pregnancy, i really cannot keep track how many weeks pregnant i am. and ya hor, i can count backwards from edd!!

stef,
i also try to remember after each gynae visit. but i always seem to forget. and ever since i had the high blood pressure, i've been seeing gynae once every two weeks. quite troublesome to go all the way down town but also happy to see bb. ok. after today's visit, i will make sure i won't forget.

bacon&eggs,
that's the pain i have lor... according to doc, it's called pubic symphysis. you check with your gynae if it's that. it only gets worse as the pregnancy progresses.

Shazz,
20/08/2008 is a popular date ?? i din know. My EDD is 4th sept, so 20/08/2008 is possible cos my 2nd baby was due on 3rd dec'05, but was born on 21 Nov'05.
heehee. hope Sharmaine will be a good girl and grant mummy's wish

alabone,
do update us on ur baby after gynae's visit
i always look fwd to gynae's visit too

stef&seanbabes (limyg): yes, 08/08/08 and 20/08/2008 are popular dates in August! alot of mummies in the Aug thread eyeing those 2 days too. 20 Aug is good for you, just passed week 37!
hope you'll get the date you want!

Tys for all the mummies who added me in FB.. sorry.. will be a bit slow in catching up wat's in the thread.. kekeke..
Mrs Yap,
So happy tat u r back.. when i read ur long message.. i feel like giving that doc of ur a tight slap on the face.. how come there are such an irresponsible gyna around.. omg.. even thought he might have seen the worse.. but pls lor.. mature lah.. not professional at all.. opps.. sorry gals.. over reacted..

Steff&seanbabies,

Think 20/08/2008 is a hot date becoz of the combination lor.. lol 20082008 hor??

Momoko, Jaymickey, Shazz,
yes yes. i like the date cos it's a nice combination. 20082008.. can buy 4D number 2008! though i hv never bought 4D before, but if Sharmaine comes out on that date, i will definitely buy.

hi shazz,
thanks for the website! it's really good. i'm 29 weeks and 3 days pregnant! hehehe. just two weeks ago when i had my gynae visit, bb was 1.1kg. i wonder how heavy she is now. i think my bb is like on the tiny side! how? how?

Mummies, I was just reminded to bring along my receipts from my pre-natal package etc and pass it to the admin staff when we admit to hospital, apparently, we can claim part of that amount (think $450) from our medisave. I'm not sure of the details, please check with the nurse when you go for your next gynae check-up. I was reminded by the cashier when I made payment during my last checkup at Raffles Hospital.

storeberry: u can install a Baby Ticker to help u keep track of the weeks and days

I suspect the good CLs are probably booked by other moms for the rest of 2008 liao

wingkei: actually, ParentCraft did teach us about massaging breasts BUT that's after giving birth to prevent engorgement and to distinguish between cancer lumps vs milk lumps. We were told to do the 12 o'clock, 3 o'clock, etc. to stimulate lactation, not contraction. Can use warm towel too. She taught us to use cabbage leaves at night too. Pinching of nipples is unheard of. Nurse said it's the entire areola, not the "teeny-pointy" nipple, that has all those milk-oozing ducts. Suckling on the nipple will cause soreness and bleeding. You'd need to latch the bb's whole mouth to cover the entire areola.

Bb's birthday...am praying hard it'll be in Sept, though my SIL's CL who saw my swollen feet commented, or rather prophecised that I'd give birth early! My DH's birthday is 3 days earlier than my EDD and our wedding anniversary is 2 days earlier. As long as it's around the same period, I'm fine

alabone (alabone) : dun worry about bb's weight, for all you know, she's having a growth spurt now and you'll in for a surprise when you go for your checkup! just relax, dun let your blood pressure rise!

shazz: can we claim against DH's medisave the $450? I've already gotten my admission letter. In the event I get premie (TOUCH WOOD), I can just take that letter to TMC.

BB incentives: I just heard from the MOM grapevine that maternity leave could be extended to 4 mths!!! What a dampener for employers!

jaymickey, hee.. nvm if the number 2008 doesn't strike la.. just buy for fun

Flos,
maternity leave to be extended to 4 months ?? huh.. when does it start ?? looks like we are going to miss this..
shucks!

Thanks Alabone...will find out more..pain is killing for me..walk like a old old woman now.. how bad is yours?

Shazz,
I found Napisan at HarbourFront Cold Storage.

Flos,
I am hoping for Sept bb too..kinda like 6 Sept..
My Edd for now is 7 Sept.

Anyone taking a week or few weeks or few days off before EDD? If still working close to EDD, would it be worrying if water bag will burst in the office, or train or while driving?

Flos (flos) : I'm not too sure can claim against DH's medisave or only our own, the staff at the hospital should be able to advise you on that.

bacon&egg (baconegg) : thanks, now I know where to get it when I run out of it. I using Kodomo to wash baby's clothes and it smells great. Not sure how Napisan will smell though. Hee, hence I only intend to use it for the white clothing if it kena milk or poo stains. ;)

shazz: sooooo cute u, telling alabone not to worry abt bb's weight and the growth spurt! She is a mom of two leh!!!! kekkeeee!!!!

shazz,
i am using pigeon to wash bb's clothing..no scent after wash..
Intend to use Napisan as your recommendation too...

Btw, which brand are you using for using bb's bottles? I am using pigeon too i think..but it comes with refill pack only..now i must get a dispenser..cant seems to find the actual bottle in the market..

bacon@eggs: yes, that's what I heard too...the bb bonus...

i'm taking 4 weeks before EDD. i need to get out of office before work starts piling up, which it has already been. This morning, I just got one more overseas delegation request coming to visit us one week before I disappear. not to mention i need to be emcee again for some corporate event next week, yep, with my swollen feet.

really want to complain (like Ava) about work, but now that my big fat photo + nick are posted on this thread, i'd better shut up!

shazz
the extra $450 from medisave is called the medisave maternity something or other...yeah, ladies just bring along your pre-natal receipts.

flos,

The nurse told u to use cabbage leaves at night?? Cabbage leave will not stimulate leh, in fact, it is for engorgement.... And you have to sign the CPF Medisave form when admitted. They will just refund back into whichever account (yours or your hubby) stated.

Anyway, I have some colleagues who were terribly confused by this Medisave thingie. In my case, my pre-natal and post-natal check-ups are claimable against Company medical benefits. So I submit the Original receipts to my company, not to CPF. Submitting to CPF means deducting my OWN money...

<font color="0000ff">Flos
u got ur admission letter le?? tats early. wonder if they will pass mi mine next week

wah.. maternity leave extended to 4 mths?? Will we get to enjoy that????

Washing of bb's bottles
oops, now i juz realised, do we have to specially buy detergent for washing bb's bottles? or can we just use our normal washing liquid? I rem Mrs Wong saying we should not squirt the liquid in the bottles directly but rather squirting them in a basin of water before washing the bottles</font>

Flos,
4 weeks..so it would be pretty soon..
I am thinking 1 week or 2-3 days before EDD...thinking also to bring a large towel to office and one in the car to standby...

sasa,
I got my admission letter ready too..the nurse already book the type of bedder i want at Week 30.

think can use normal detergent too but I am using bb formulated detergent..

alabone
haha. welcome to the third tri!! it's ok lah, i can never figure out how many weeks i am/was even in the first pregnancy.

as for bb weight, dun worry lah, rem nat was a small bb? look at how big she is now...kekekekek...dun think you wan a pui pui one who lose weight after birth right?? (like my boy hor)...

maternity leave...
really ah?????? wah...extension good mah...but i doubt it will benefit me that much...anyway, hitting the holz liaoz...

cabbage leaves??
isnt for relieving engorgement?not stimulating i think...

MrsYap, I heard abt your bad encounter with your ex-gynae from a fellow Nov thread mtb who is with your ex-gynae now too. I was shocked to find tat the mtb that she was telling us abt is u.

Feel so angry for u to have to run into such heartless &amp; unprofessional gynae. Should have complain him to MOH &amp; get him off the business!

Glad to know that u &amp; bb doing well now, take care

JJmom aka TTCingmrschoo (previously from TTCing08 thread)

nipples etc
we need to apply the nipple cream closer to our edds in order to avoid sore or cracked nipples when breastfeeding, i think. but how to apply – just coat it or need to massage it in?

xuanting
frankly, never really heard about massaging nipples (And im still bfg mind you)

just apply nipple cream will do. try not the antagonise your nipples too much coz it will hurt when you latch on if it is too sensitive..

o btw, massaging it wont make it 'hardier' lah...

thanks, l'l cy. when should we start applying the cream? i know applying the cream won't make it hardier la; it's only supposed to make the skin more supple and less likely to crack right?

alabone,
Can I ask any way to relieve the pain (pubic Symphosis)? I find turning from left to right on bed is painful too...only sitting down ease the pain..

think can start applying at third tri oredi.

heeee...

how long do you intend to bf?

i did hear try not to wash your nipples with harsh soap to 'clean' it though...coz it will strip it of it's protective layer that moisturises it.

thanks, l'l cy. i intend to do it for as long as i can! it's really okay to do it even when pregnant with the next kid right? i've read so many contradicting write-ups about this. so far so good for you right?

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) : I'm using Kodomo Baby Liquid Detergent to wash bb's clothes. I love the smell! Recommended to Sunrays and she loves it too!

xuanting: I read that it's ok to just apply nipple cream, but dun massage as it'll trigger premature contractions. Apply only if the nipple and area around it seems dry, means may be prone to sore and cracked nipples. So just apply a thin layer will do after shower or when you deem necessary.

washing of nipples, I read that it's not advisable to use any soap to wash the area now. Just rinse and clean with water will do. Hope that helps!

yup, so far so good. nothing wrong with bfg while pregnant. but asian literature tend to be a bit squirmish about this. so it depends on how much flaks you can take from well meaning friends and relatives.

but preggies not much milk lah, now mostly colostrum only...

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Kodomo smells so nice!!! I like the bb smell! Kekek... Think I will buy Napisan later.

Jaymickey &amp; Flos:
Regarding CL: I shall see how it goes, if worse come to worse no good CL, will see how to arrange &amp; see..

Bacon&amp;egg &amp; Sasa: I bought Pigeon ones to wash bb bottles as well. I think I bought the bottle detergent from Robinson.</font>

lilboymum,
i too was still bfg #2 when i got pregnant with #3 and also bfg #1 when pregnant with #2. But found that the milk began very transparent in color.. and the supply went down to almost zero.. so after a while, i just stopped..

Hi Mrs Yap - glad to see you online again. Are you going to complain against your gynae? Perhaps a little later since you may not want to waste energy on that right now? such a horrid experience!!

nipple cream - I have started applying it ... no massaging but like put a layer on top of nipple 1 - 2 times a days (depending if I remember).

coconut juice - my sister says to drink btw 1 - 2 a week from week 34 onwards! I have been drinking AND eating the flesh maybe once in 3 weeks coz I like it anyway. ha ha ha....

durians - happy to announce that I had durians 2 nights ago! SO HAPPY coz it is very yummy. Will try to refrain from having another round too soon.

lanolin: i see u are lanolin for a good reason!! started applying lanolin creams already?!! kekeke!

Maybe I should too since I've both Medela and Lansinoh ones. Dunno can finish or not...But during BF, must rem to wipe it clean before latching...

KODOMO detergent - I also bought that but haven't started using it yet.

TOLLYJOY dish detergent - I bought this brand.

Lok: yep yep, cabbage leaves for engorgement. I wasn't clear in my earlier posting
Wow, prenatal also can claim? Good welfare. You're working for Dutch co, Shell right? the one near to Robertson Walk?

Flos,

Yup yup, u interested to join me? Pre-natal and post-natal can claim 80%. Only natural delivery fees cannot claim but C-sec if exceed $2300 can claim. Medical covers my immediate family (so hubby and kids) too.

Lok: your company's benefits is truly one of the best around!

stimulate milk flow
I read that using a warm towel to cover breast followed by a massage will help to stimulate milk supply

clearing of milk ducts
best method is to let baby suckle or pump and massage ... last resort is to prick with a sterilised needle

I also read that cabbage leaves should be used sparingly as it'll reduce milk supply! if you use it, dun leave it on for too long.

shazz,

I think I'm very lucky too

They also allow selective working from home (provided supervisors agree), have a number of mothers' rooms equipped with pumps/sterilizers/fridge, organizes Children's day (for employees' kids from 2YO to 12YO) etc. Now exploring whether to have our own in-house daycare facilities....