(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">l'l CY (lilboymum) - the incentives to boost birth rate has to be different from nordic countries - else we would end up with tax rates that run up to 50+% and people not wanting kids would end up migrating! I hope they increase tax rebates for working mums thou - that would really help.
Preferential school entry for families with more children.....too controversial! After all, some races in S'pore typically have more kids that the rest...</font>

Bigtoes: Yup! Cannot be exactly the same as nordic countries cos the tax will be exorbitant. But I think more pro-family expectations/requirements imposed on employers as well as legislation to protect pregnant women or MTBS or Mums against discrimination by employers wld help greatly.

Incentives to have more children
I totally agree with Bigtoes ... increase in tax rebates would be extremely helpful for both dad and working mums!

Birth Weight
Good news for mummies with higher birth weight, studies shows that you'll have lesser chance of a pre-term baby!

http://www.doctorndtv.com/news/detailnews.asp?id=3021

My mum just told me she looked at my birth cert and health booklet, I was a 7.9 pounds and 60cm long baby! ahh ... that's comparable to my cousin's half ang mo baby with brith weight of 3.6kg and 60cm! *shocked*

Alabone,
Yeh, there is such injections around.. and apparently it works for some less stubborn Keloids.. Maybe u should check with ur GP after u pop..

SarahMay: I think my mummy put on more than 20kg when she was expecting me! in those days, it's very common to put on more than 20kg. haha .. you seem to be asking around what people are eating to have bigger babies!

try beef and durian if you want Elisha to be bigger! it's tried and proven food that boost the birth weight of babies

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/361819/1/.html

more info on the issue of boosting chidl birth..

The measures will include financial and childcare help, and more information will be released in about a month.

the fertility rate went up to 1.29 in 2007. In total numbers, this means 37,074 babies in 2007, compared with 35,135 in 2004.

However, the number is still far below the replacement rate, hence Mr Wong - who heads country's National Population Secretariat - said things which will be addressed include creating more opportunities for singles to meet; financial support for parents; flexible workplace arrangements; and better childcare options.

storeberry, thanks for Mrs Yap's update. hope she can rest better at home after discharge.

SarahMay, yup my hubby shoots for music gigs. ya he said that he knows john from those gigs. hehe.. no lah.. i'm definitely not the youngest. in fact i'm hitting the big 3 very soon.. :p

shazz, wow.. you are certainly a big baby. i'm only 2.6kg at birth, maybe that's why my bb also quite small size. but hopefully won't be like the article u had posted to have high chance of pre-term baby.

sarahmay, bigtoes.
hahaha..just what i gather lah, all i can say is it wont benefit me that much lo.since im sahm liaoz. MOE wont be so stupid as to give me more benefits!

actually quite satisfied with what i have now. so no complaints.

alabone, jaymickey.
think it depends on location of keloids too. sometimes they wont do any procedure coz it is too close to important vessels or something...might lead to mroe bleeding and bigger keloids. can go for plastic surgery???kekkekekekekek

big or small bbs..
i wanna have a small girl, not the unhealthy type but petite...im always fascinated with those petite girls (maybe coz im not myself). cant imagine now if my girl is sumo and my boy is so small built...haiz...

I'I CY.. plastic surgery will probably lead to more keloids.. So far all mine can be jab on.. plus my GP himself is having the same problem so his wife does the jabbing for him and when he saw mine, he asked me to try cos it works for him..

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: Don't worry about Elisha weight, he will be a strong, healthy boy! Yes, I wrote doen MIM addy already if not there is the goold old trudty street directory!

Shazz: You are a super big &amp; long bb!! Haha.. I don't think my mum can remember how heavy I am!

Today have 3 trainings one after another! Think I will fall alseep... zzz</font>

l'l CY (lilboymum): I was born big and long, but ended up being petite in adulthood!
still got chance for your girl to be petite

storeberry: yah lor, i got a shock too, cos my baby pictures shows a big fat boyish looking baby! haha ... but I didn't know I was that long!

Jessi: dun worry, like the studies show, it also depends on daddy's birth weight as well.

Goldfish,
Thanks. I did manage to go to Raffles City

SkinnyPig,
I found no search using your email add in FB leh....

Abalone,
I washed bb stuff with bb detergent only, jus that i din wash the drum. Anyway, thanks ya

guess my post is very late!
but thx for all the lovely photos! And it was great meeting u ladies though i din get to chat with everyone. Still I'm glad i went for the meet-up

Wow big toes
looks like u've gone lotsa research on the first mth celebration thing since we were last talking abt it!
And thx for the ride home!

bbmouse
i found out from a few mummies that we actually stay in the same estate! My my, mebbe i've seen you before! But i seldom pass by ur block unless i'm gg to the park. U been staying there long? I've stayed there almost all my life. It's my parents' place actually.

<font color="119911">isabelle (isa_belle) - no lah, my SIL is very "on". She has a list of stuff prepared when she was expecting last year - like what pram, breast pump etc is best...hee, so I just buy my stuff according to her recommendations
Short cut for me. She even has a list of what to feed the baby from 1st mth to 1st year (menu for the maid!) The 1st mth anniversary list was also compiled by her.</font>

hi all.. going for my check up later, so curious to know how heavy my bb is now..

those mummies who have already given birth in KKH, what does the hospital provide? want to start packing my bag soon...

Sunrays,
Maybe cut down on those junk food and eat those "healthy" food lor. I guess there should be no prob for u to give birth naturally.

just for everyone's infor, the sweetest moments cakes are apparently quite dry.. my fren's niece just had her first month party. Packaging is definitely nice..

Millie,

What's your email add? I will add you in FB.

Btw, who's Jessica Chia &amp; Sherrifer Siew in Sept MTBs? I received requests from them in FB.
Will add them tonight

is anyone also having hip pains? i get them whenever i lie on one side for too long. any tips to alleviate or be completely rid of them?

hi sarahmay,
hey! i don't know how i actually missed out your post. yeah yeah. now i can sleep properly! after what you said i remember now. we were even in the same group right??? we were supposed to say something about our childhood or something... hehe. it's such a tiny world!!! oh yeah. calvyn from the esplanade. l'lcy knows him too! and yes. i have a ken in a school. a PE teacher. you know him too??

isabelle,
yeah... i'm a teacher too...

xuanting
i have hip pain n thats why i go see my osteo. his tips to prevent further pain:

Try lying with a folded duvet under your hip when lying on the side. see if that helps

also try putting a rolled up towel or bolster against your back so you can lean against it, to alleviate pressure on the same spot on your hips...i.e. you can lie on your side or tilt backwards slightly thru the night to lessen the pressure on hip.

hope one of these helps! otherwise i'll give you his no!!

<font color="0077aa"> Xuanting: My right hip's is very painful has been like that for 2 weeks liao... Not sure how to alleviate the pain...

I was very breathless just now &amp; had to lie in bed for a while before breathing resume normally... Wonder why...

Thanks cloud for the thread, will let my sis know!</font>

i'm having a stiff neck the past 2 days. today it got worse, can't even turn my head to the right. i think it was caused by sleeping on one side for too long during the night. really very uncomfortable.. is it ok to go for those neck and shoulder massage?

btw skinny pig, jessica is me

me also can't breathe properly! and i had to raise my legs up in office cos i can feel my feet going weak and numb ... think cos of poor blood circulation. I felt better after having beef for lunch

wow, guess with all the weight we all carrying, everyone is beginning to feel the effects! I don't have back ache etc yet, but am getting a shoulder ache from attempting to sleep on my left side! Usually end up on my back after a while (still comfy sleeping on the back).

Our EDDs are fast approaching! Mine is just 5 weeks away now!

Sarah, the massage lady i was telling u about, she don't do for Sept because of fasting.. my friend recommended another one.. Indo Chinese.. She say is quite good, charges $800 for 10 times..

shazz: wow! u sure were one big bb, but how come u've become so slim now?!!! Good to be slim lah, for girls...

Ava: u r having hip pains? I find that I can't lie on my left side when I sleep; I get heartburn and my entire left arm will go NUMB! I think the uterus is pressing against one impt nerve or artery that brings blood and oxygen to my left parts. I have been sleeping on my right side now...

Jessi: I just went for my foot massage just now. Was another nice relaxing session again...I'm going for my shoulder/neck massage this fri. It's ok, IF your masseuse is experienced with preggers. The lady at Kenko who does it for me is darned good. Normally they will press/dig/stroke/knead with their brute strength vital parts that correspond to your womb and ovaries, but this woman sure knows where to press and her pressing technique is very unique. Though very skinny, she has very strong fingers and they operate like a human foot vibrator! I always end up sleeping at Kenko

Are you all having heartburn? I only take small regular meals these days, else I'd puke at night...

Baby incentives: Yes, I've heard from my reliable govt sources that it'll be announced in AUG 2008. They always let a few bigwigs like LKY, Wong KS, spew something to the media first to generate some noise. So stay tuned, mommies!

I went to Giant supermarket last night to buy a small tin of milk powder to stand by in case I don't have enough breast-milk after delivery.
Bought Enfalac A+ 400g..

Wa lau, never know milk powder can cost a bomb nowadays lor!!!
Cost $18+ for such small tin!!!

skinny pig,

U only discovered now that milkpowder is ex huh??
My son still can't progress to cheaper FM cos he's lactose intolerant. Still have to pay $32-$33 per tin! Luckily, he's not a milk-aholic.

flos,

yah lor, glad the govt is willing to do more. But no matter what they give, think we will stick with 2 for now... Just hope the additional benefits will apply to both Joshua and Jonas.

thanks, ava. will try the pillows and see how it goes. i usually get the pain in the morning, on whichever side i happen to be lying on and it takes quite a while to ease off. what's a typical session with your osteo like?

storeberry &amp; shazz, i get that breathless feeling every now and then also. maybe our lungs kena squished also?

bigtoes, will you be the first among us to pop?

storeberry &amp; shazz,xuanting (xuanting) - same lo. especially at night when i trying to sleep, keep feeling breathless. hard to fall asleep

flos, any idea if all Kenko branches have masseuse who are experience in massaging the pregnant? don't know if the marina sq one will have or not cos it's near to my work place then can go after work.

I'm gonna sound like an advocate for House of Traditional Javanese Massage but Jessi, you can try going there for their prenatal massage. I find it pretty good. And I've seen many preggies going there for massages too, so I would say they are pretty experienced. The first time I went, the masseuse even massaged my nipples. I got a shock! haha...

So glad all you mommies had a great time at the gathering. The food looks yummy and so sorry I missed it.

I was planning to have a gathering with my close friends before I pop and as usual, they prefer meeting on a Saturday. I told my hubby about it and even suggested going to his parents' place on Friday. I think that I am compromising, right? Since I never say I am NOT going to his parents' place but he was like no... we will go to his parents' place on Sunday instead. So I asked him what about going to my parents' place on Sunday and he just said we will not go to my parents' place that weekend. I was so upset about it. Makes me feel like he is 'punishing' me for wanting to meet my friends on Saturday instead of going to his parents' place. I even suggested going on Friday night instead, it's not like totally not going. Then he finally said to go to my parents' place on Friday night, which I find ridiculous since his parents live like 10min walking distance from our house versus my parents who live like 30min away by cab. It really doesn't make more sense to me to go to my parents' house on Friday. He also suggested that or I go alone to my parents' house on Saturday afternoon, which also doesn't make sense to me since my mom may not be home, not cooking and my dad is definitely not around. Am I being picky or is his reasoning really 'unreasonable'?

I think my work is being affected recently too, by my mood, and the return of my morning sickness, etc. Everything that I do seems to be picked on by my boss. I wonder how I am going to get through the remaining days till I pop.

<font color="119911">xuanting (xuanting) - hmm..i think sunrays might be earlier. She mentioned that her EDD is 28th Aug now...and since EDD = wk 40, she might deliver 1-2 weeks before that? Mine is C on 30th Aug, assuming baby doesn't decide he wants to come out earlier!

wingkei (wingkei) - massage nipples...ewe...abit weird lah! But I guess once we start BFing and a couple of other people have seen our boobs (e.g. CL), it won't be such a big deal anymore!</font>

wingkei: we're not supposed to stimulate our nipples now! May cause premature contractions! please be warned that alot of massuese do not know how to massage pregnant ladies!

Jessi: So far I've tried Kenko at Marina Sq, Vivo city and Novena Square, they're all very good and experienced at massaging preggies!

Breathlessness: I have a feeling of being squashed too ... and I can't sit or lie down even on my sides, lie down need to be propped up with few pillows behind me, then stay in that position for too long, my tail bone hurts! how!!!! which position is best?

wingkei, oh.. i didn't know that javanese massage place does prenatal massage. i thought it only does postnatal ones. how much does each session cost? there's a branch near my parents' place, so it's also quite convenient for me to go down too.

shazz, do you have to make appointment first for a experience masseuse at Kenko? or can just do walk-in?

Jaymickey/jessi: I'm sure Marina Square will hv experienced masseuse who've serviced umpteen preggers. The one I went to is near at the South Bridge Rd/Cross St junction. Her name is Sunnie, believe she is a M'sian.

wingkei: Massage nipples? what for?!!! Using her fingers or heels of her palm to raba raba?!!! reminds me of the famous Renaissance painting "Gabrielle d'Estrees and one of her Sisters" with her sister pinching Gabrielle's nipple, at Musée du Louvre...

how oddly affectionate...

1577354.jpg