(2008/09) Sep 2008

enjoyed the talk last nite..anyone else went besides bigtoes?

after the talk, i have 2nd thots abt natural birth..seems to be long and painful with alot of jabs in between...anyway...will leave it to the gynea to recommend whats best for me.

morning mommies and MTbs
My massge lady says ramadan month not a problem for her. she charges $85 but it is for 2 hours usually.

wingkei
seeing what bigtoes said about the second part of the talk, maybe u should have brought your hubby there!

Kym
Yeah those sorts of conversations between children and mom are very heartbreaking...i often wonder if i'm doing a disservice to my son...and eventually to all my kids...

<font color="119911">Yes --- Apparently 40-50% of mommies fall into post-natal blues (1-2 wks) 10% develop post natal depression, and 0.2% psychosis (suicidal, hearing voices etc) ....quite easy to fall into a downward spiral if you don't have your hubby's moral &amp; emotional support to begin with, or if he sides with the ILs all the time.

Bigtoes
Funnily enough, my mom reminded me yesterday of how grouchy i was after i gave birth to my son. apparently i snapped at my MIL cos she insisted i wear bedroom slippers and i tripped while wearing them as i'm not used to them!! I HAVE NO RECOLLECTION OF THIS AT ALL!!!!

Hmm.. I've already prepared that I'll snap at my MIL during my confinement, seeing how nosy she can get &amp; I told my hubby &amp; he told me to go ahead.. lol.

My SIL just gave birth 2 weeks ago &amp; within the 3rd day, I heard a huge screaming match between her &amp; MIL. My SIL usually gives in to my MIL, but I guess not this time.

Bigtoes
Erm.. so we are supposed to check in into hospital when contraction is ard 5 mins apart? So waterbag burst or mucus plug out oso can relag abit issit?

Post-natal depression
I oso think I will suffer for that as well loh. I haf pre-warn hubby that I will be super damned moody and warned him not to irritate me and ‘ding-zui’ with me :p
Most likely I will come here and post my grievances to u all and let u all ‘console’ me out of depression. Kekke.. the power of forum mamas!!!

Morning mummies!!!

Hi Mei,
Haha.. your post is very funny. So your hubby is all ready for battle with you ar? (",) I think it's understandable lar.. We just gave brith, figure out of shape &amp; weather should be super warm. Sure pek cek 1..

BTW mummies, are you all going to bathe with herbs or just go ahead with bathing. I felt so dirty the last time.. My hair like sticky sticky 1.. My grandma helped with my confinement, I cannot bathe for almost 10days, then after many times that I beg her then she prepared the herbal bath for me.

Twendy,
Thanks for answering our queries on the wallables!! (",) So it's still better to use the velcro provided by them rite? Should be stronger.

I'm so tempted to splurge on the alphabet wallables.. But so ex, 1 for US$7.95. Isaac, Ian &amp; Jayden. I'll need 14 letters. haha. Maybe I should just go to spotlight or artfriends then DIY myself.

ava,
yeah, the 2nd part of the talk should benefit those insensitive husbands... i keep looking back at my hubby..and said "see...i told u"!! hahaha...my hubby said its a conspiracy!! haha..

Mei,
I snapped at my MIL before when she took care of me after a minor op...she was at the kitchen the whole day and it was super noisy..i was kinda depressed and couldnt take the noise...when my hubby returned..1st thing i told him to get his mom not to come tmr..she was hurt lah..but i called her the next day to apologise..i guess its my mood + depression..but i think i did right getting her not to come..at least i get my peace!!

So this time, i get a CL, at least i can tell her to quiet down, clear the mess etc unlike with MIL...

SarahMay: no no! VHive is better than Ikea in terms of quality and its designs are better than Courts'. Courts is the tacky one. VHive ain't that bad if u visis the flagship store at Jurong (opp Tang Dynasty).

lilboymom: I suppose it's very easy for you to get back to teaching since SG is very short of trained educators like yourself
But for RXmom, stef&amp;sean, amongst many of us, we are from the corporate world whose rules of the game are very diff...Once u are out for more than a year, u need to justify on your CV or during the interview why u r hibernating all this while. Is it cos your DH can support you? Is it cos you've made up your mind to become a FTSAHM? R u going to take a lot of childcare leave? R u going to as mobile as before, and not able to do OT for us? Who is taking care of your child?

RXmom rightly pointed out about the young competitors flooding into the market. If we stay out of touch with our line of work, the younger ones will soon catch up with us in no time. To rejoin the workfroce, you'll find that you need to take a pay cut, accept a lower designation/grade, etc.

Cloud: I nearly bot 3 Baby GAP snickers for my bb too but thot they are kinda HOT leh...not to mention the complicated shoe laces that I need to bend down to tie for him!

I prefer to buy those airy open sports sandals with velcro. I wanna train the toddlers to be able to peel those velcro straps themselves.

Big toes: THANKS FOR THE UPDATE!

Mei: Huge screaming match? My SIL just gave birth last Fri and already showing black face to my mom upon her discharge! She didn't want this and that, so my mom complained like hell to me about her! Now, my mom refuses to brew or cook anything for her. Left it to the CL she hired...

kel,
intend to bath alternate days with herb. Maybe first week, bath less. But i wont go without bath for 1 month..will go crazy!

goldfish,
during the talk, gynea shared even bet 5 mins contractions, it will take a long while before fully dilated (from 3cm to 10cm will probably take 6-8 hours or more)..can take our time to go down to hospital... I heard some ppl even take a bath, wash their hair...

best part of the talk when they shared that decisions should be made between the couple NOT the husband with his mother or the wife with her mom!! And husband should just give in to his wife during the sensitive period - post natal.

bacon&amp;egg: u mean after the waterbag bursts, it'll take ~6-8 hours or more for the cervix to dilate to 10cm?

kel
You're new here so you don't know my 'history'.. hehe.. the other mummies here know that I have a damn kaypoh, bossy, control freak &amp; irritating tai -tai style MIL.. so it's not my hubby who has to prepare for a battle with me.. more like a battle between me &amp; his mum!

I checked with my CL, she said she'll prepare herb bath for me daily... phew. At least can bathe everyday.

bacon&amp;egg
You're still a nice DIL, call her to apologise.
I'm engaging a CL too.. but I bet my MIL will poke her nose lor.

Flos
Yup.. seriously HUGE screaming match coupled with door banging &amp; slamming! Apparently, MIL kept picking on SIL &amp; her hubby &amp; kept passing sarcastic comments until SIL couldn't take it &amp; exploded!

For 1st time mummies, it takes approx 1 hour to dilate 1 cm.

bacon&amp;egg,
I like it when you posted: decisions should be made between the couple NOT the husband with his mother or the wife with her mom!!

Haha.. I just called my hubby to scare him saying that nearly 50% will fall into post-natal for 1-2weeks. He say ok lar.. he will give way to me. hahaha

As for bathing, Hai, I remember only cleaning my nipple only when I bf, but i feel smelly.. haha.. But baby too hungry to bother I guess. haha

Mum's who attended parentcraft classes, do you have the menu for confinement to share? I lost my copy during my previous session. I remember they had 1 papaya with fish soup. Remember having it during my stay in TMC. Quite nice &amp; it's help in production of BM.

<font color="119911">Post natal - yes, I have been telling my hubby to be ultra-nice to me during the post-natal period as well...quite scary to fall into depression, esp since I don't have help after the CL leaves - would be just baby &amp; me the whole day!

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - in a way, i am glad i am going for C. Don't need to suffer labour pains for 13 hours or more &amp; still need to get a cut down there...

Bathing/washing hair etc - I plan to shower as per normal, regardless of what everyone else says!</font>

Mei: whoa! that sounds quite scary! She had c-seciton? How come soooo erratic? I am starting to get cranky too in my final trim.

1 cm per hour. That's after waterbag bursts right? I'm just concerned that once waterbag bursts, I'll hv to rush to the hospital. Looks like no need to hurry lor...just lie there and dilate dilate dilate...

SHOWER: I'll bathe with herbal water prepared by my CL. I won't go without bath for one month!

MANYUE: How do you count the Manyue date? Say u give birth on 4 Sep, then your manyue is 4 Oct? or count 28 days from 4 Sep?

Ava, it's so funny cos I have exactly the same thought. That would definitely be a good talk to bring my hubby to!

I think I should start leaving materials of post natal blues / depression around to scare him a little. heehee....

sunrays, I will try to let you know by tomorrow if I can make it to the gathering on Saturday.

By the way, is anyone experiencing cramps? I kept feeling crampy last night.... and now.. I keep experiencing BH on and off.

Mei,
guess you'll win the battle. Just give birth, you're the biggest mah. Your bossy mil also bo bian I guess. (",)

My 1st pregnacy was quite fast. Waterbag burst at around 5++am. I took a bath, ate breakfast, reach TMC around 7am. Then at 1119 &amp; 1125 my twins are out. I hope this time will be as fast!! But I have friends telling me that for 2nd pregnancy it's more painful but it's faster too.

Hi Flos,
I tink safest is to take a bath, have breakfast &amp; head to the hospital. Different pple different "speed" mah. haha.. My previous from waterbag burst till deliver around 6hrs only.

As for ManYue, I also dunno leh. Baby's chinese birthdate the following month lor. If you wanna follow the traditional way lar. (",)

Sarahmay,
Hahaha.. me too.. I dun like housework one.. but no choice.. if really become SAHM will definitely help out on housechore.. like wat u say.. if get domestic helper than will defeat it purpose lor.. instead of saving money.. u’ll be spending more money.. I rather used tat money to eat.. lol.. opppss.. here I go again..

Oh.. those term come out from u again.. lol.. alrite.. but have not mentioned to my HB tat I wanna go see physo..so.. will find chance..

Bbmouse,
U chicken out the thought of been a SAHM ah.. lol.. r u tat kind tat like to go out for a breather one.. cannot stay at home whole day one?? Actually I’m tat kind.. even thought now tat I have 1 kid.. I still go out to café alone to have a cup of coffee sit and read a book or just have some time on my own one.. keke.. think it’s a luxury after the 2nd one is out yeah..

Ava,
Oh it is.. with the massage thing lah.. wat makes them different ah>>??with osteos and chiro? Where do u go??

Goldfish,
U die-hard ah mei fan ah?? If u ask me I ok one.. kekeke.. coz I also die hard fan of some Japanese group… lol… dun ask me who.. but u see him often now in tv too.. hmm think I mentioned before yeah.. lol

Oh.. I also not the patang kind one.. I know u all follow through.. let’s just respect each other decision.. lol.. I bath almost lah.. almost everyday during my first one.. lol

gosh ... so many posts to catch up! but i'm so busy this week!

Updates: I received the drugstore items ... will sort and pass to mummies this sat for those who're going for gathering. those who are not, will email and update on collection arrangement etc.

Will update soon ... gotta go!

ava,
who's your massage lady?? two hours ah? i wantttt!!!

postnatal blues,
if my mil still stays here after i deliver, i sure develop postnatal blues. otherwise, i'm left to my own mostly so i think i shd do fine. at least, i hope i'll do fine...

last night had pains in my upper abdomen and thought i was having contractions. frightened my hb i think, coz both of us CLUELESS though this is our third kid... then realised i actually needed to LS...

Kel ,
2nd delivery is more painful ???? Hmm .... was thinking of epidural , if i should take them since I took them for my first one .. and if it is really true , i think i have to take epidural ..
SAHM ,
I think I will sacrifice one or two years at most for my little prices ... then will head back to working force .. cos i cannot stand staying at home .. keke .. have "flower leg" and will have to go out everyday ..
POSt - Natal Blues ...
I dun remember having them for my FB .... cos everything is so " NEW " and I think i am too tired to think of getting upset over little things .. and most of the things I handle myself .. esp the feeding part .. and CL just wash , stererlise and cook for me ... keke .. cannot bear to leave my little one with CL and sleep although so many people ask me to rest ... keke .. this second time , hopefully i will be smarter to rest ... I bathe everyday during Confinement .. and the only thing i drank is the " red dates longan drink" absolutely no plain water ... cos they mentioned plain water will be retained in our body ..

Kel , your twins are cute ...

ML ... i will be working all the way till i deliver .. dun intent to take weeks before cos will be super bored waiting for bb to come out

Twendy: Thanks for the explanation on Wallables.

Wallables: Mums who are keen on wallables, pls read Twendy's post # 1083.

Momoko: I can stay at home whole day, esp now since I've just started scrapbooking. Just the noise and din caused by the child is too over-bearing for me. Plus, my girl will want a lot of my attention at home, which leaves me little/no time to do my own stuff. So I went into hiding in my room. But I think this won't last long. Cos now, she will bang on the door shouting for "ma" and she's just about to be able to reach the door handle. I need a new hiding place. Kekekek..

Kel: I like the Transformer movie. Can't say much abt the collectibles, but my godson has loads that spread out all over the living room floor.

Flos: I will also go for Optimus Prime.

Me also will work till I pop, wanted to use the 4 wk ML over the 6 month to use as my leave to bring bb to have jab all these, cos I only have 9 days annual leave. so make use of the 4wk ml leave.

Flos
Nope, natural vaginal birth.. but one month premature. It's not erratic lah.. my MIL really push her to the limits with her unreasonable behaviour. Crazy one.. own daughter also tekan.

kel
Not really concerned about winning the battle, so long as she leaves me &amp; baby alone, I'll be more than happy! Haha..

<font color="0077aa">Shower: I will also shower with herbs but my CL is very traditional, she forbids washing of hair!! Yeeks!! Not sure whether i can hide in my bedroom &amp; wash or not... Hmm...

Post-natal blues: Will warn my DH on this, must give in to me no matter what!! Haha!!

4 more days countdown to the feast!!! Keke..

Mickey: Are you joining us for the sat gathering??</font>

<font color="ff0000">UPDATE FROM MRS YAP:

"Bleeding due to my placenta bleeding. Now cannot move around &amp; need to be in bed with close monitoring to prevent premature birth. I might stay here till I deliver.

I wish all mummies in forum to have a healthy &amp; smooth pregnancy &amp; not have to go thru what I am experiencing. Do take care &amp; give their babies the best they can do!

Thanks for all the concern! Me so long never online le..."</font>

I think Mrs Yap change to another gynae @NUH cos Mt A might be very expensive.. But her gynae bo chap as usual. I will leave it to her to tell you all. Cheers!

Glad that she knows the reason for the bleeding but will pray that the bleeding will stop &amp; she will be able to enjoy these two mths of pregnancy!

storeberry
Thanks for the update.

I pray that Mrs Yap &amp; her baby will be ok. Glad that the cause of her bleeding has been determined &amp; hope that her new gynae will take good care of her.

storeberry (storeberry) - thanks for the update, and poor Mrs Yap. I hope everything gets better for mommy &amp; baby &amp; that she is not too bored being stuck on bedrest with no internet access.

thanks for the update, storeberry. i hope things will turn out the best way they can for mrs yap &amp; melody.

flos, apparently u can dilly-dally once you've felt the contractions, but not when the water bag has burst, just in case got complications. think they need to monitor the water level and colour to make sure that bb is not in distress.

flos,
Gynea at the talk shared, if waterbag burst, should go down immediately cos bb might be in distress. But if its just contractions, wait for 5 mins interval before gg down (think each contraction will result in dilation)...thats what i remember...maybe bigtoes can confirm?

My colleagues' experiences are to bath and wash hair, get ready when waterbag burst or contraction starts..no need to rush down..just take our time.

Kel,
I also liked what the 2nd part of the talk shared...v pro-wife...hee..but good cos it remind the hubbies to really take good care of the wife.. I feel that the mother will generally be v protective of her bb when she first give birth and if the MIL poke her nose into every decision, it can be irritating..sometimes it mean well...but still it is irritating..

Mei,
I feel bad "chasing" my MIL off..&amp; i apologised cos she was really nice taking care of me..but i feel good making my stand

What are Fenugreek pills for ?

Mummies who bought stuff from Mrs Wong at Parentcraft :
Are the small towels (think $7.80 each) used for wiping the baby when bathing ? And the big towel which was out of stock for swaddling the baby ??

Storeberry, thanks for ur update on Mrs Yap. I have just attended a labour talk from my gynae yesterday afternoon, and he mentioned something that reminds me of Mrs Yap. He said, "bleeding is always with a reason, and there was 1 incident he could rem was the placenta actually detach itself from the uterus way before the baby is due and causes excessive bleeding"...

millie - duno this week will mrs wong bring more towels a not.. haha..

by the way who attend last night talks what is it about

Momoko
Osteopaths treat soft tissue as well as joints. they sometimes also use trigger point therapy (using fingers or needles if nec) and other forms of therapy; compared to chiros who usually focus on the spine and joints only.

I go to OPRC at China Sq Central and see Joselito. The other osteos there are William and Sarah (she specialises in babies and kids apparently for colic, sinus, asthma etc) and they also have a massage therapist. Tel: 63278545

Poor Mrs Yap!!! Hope all goes well. I smsed her but no reply the other day. glad we have some way to get her updates storeberry
hope her new gynae is miles better than her current one

<font color="119911">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg)/Flos - yah, i think she mentioned that if waterbag bursts (gush of water coming out, or continuous leakage), we should go to the hospital. If its contractions only, might be hours more (esp for baby no. 1), so only need to get admitted when the intervals btwn contractions are 5 minutes apart. Even then, the baby might not be delivered for another 5+ hours, so plenty of time. (But best to double check with your own gyne - i wasn't really listening cos mine would be a scheduled C).

Millie (millie22) - Fenugreek is a herbal supplement to help increase BM supply.</font>

Contractions
If your contractions are coming every 5 mins, best to go down. they will prep and monitor u but if in no eminent danger of delivery, they may send u home...but better to know than not to know. For my case, my contractions were 3-5 mins apart right from the start but I didn't give birth till 72 hours later, cos Adan was posterior (head down position, but facing upwards - towards my tummy - rather than downwards - towards the back)...

Hope Mrs Yap will have a safe remaining pregnancy. I think the bedrest is nothing as long as the bb and mother are both safe and sound.

btw, is there really no internet connection in the hospitals here? Esp Mt A? In the US, there's internet connection...I could chat with my friends after my delivery.

Millie: Fenugreek is a herb used to help stimulate more MS. This will be a herb all mothers will come to know when breastfeeding.

Qiuling: I will be like u. Just drink the red date/longan tea and no plain water. I got a 3L Tiger flask specially for this!

Wash towels: Why r u all buying those wash towels from Mrs Wong? Are those at Kiddy Palace not good enuff? I got quite a few from KP.

Bigtoes/bacon&amp;EGGS/xuanting/ava: hey, thanks. So it's either contractions every 5min/water bag bursts. I was told that the CTG "rental" is $25 per hour at TMC. The longer the labour pains, the more $ u need to pay.

storeberry: Did Mrs Yap say her placenta has been detached from her womb? Let's pray for the best for her...It must be really expensive to stay in the hospital until her bb is due...sigh...

Must wash hair but dun need to wash daily. Just ensure u blowdry it always. I've all the bath sachets already. I'll ask the CL to boil the water for me. But I need a large aluminium kettle for her to use...

Storeberry: Thanks for the update! Send our love and prayers to her. Really hope the bleeding stops and that she gets to enjoy the rest of the pregnancy and give birth to a healthy strong Melody! Glad she dropped her bo chap gynae.

Mei: Eh...my friends tend to have very fast, short labours even for their first kids like within 2-4 hours popped. Natural no epi somemore. Pray that mine will be like that too.

Flos: Hmm...i shall go check out VHive. But anyway, I still am an IKEA fan.Hahah.

Alabone: Hehe...i just feel terrible for being so lazy you know. I mean I'm a woman, i shd do more domestic stuff. But my husband is way more domesticated than me. He scrubs the toilets and mops and cooks. I just complain. Hahaha.

Ava: Wow! Osteos also treat babies?! So cool.

WASHING bb Stuff: I just started washing my first load of bb stuff today - muslin cloth, towels and face hankies. Hope it isn't too early! Do you think we have to wash new clothes more than once to 'break them in', make them more comfy for bbs?

BAthing with herbs: I think I shall definitely wash my hair and shower daily. Cannot tahan the thought of cuddling bb against my sticky body. Eeeks! I've got like a dozen packs of the herbs handed to me by my SIL.

<font color="0000ff">I'm praying for the best for Mrs Yap and her little princess! Hope all is well and she endure till full term

Flos
oops.. rental for CTG is $25 per hour? I was charged $45 for the 1 hr of CTG i had on Monday wor.. of coz still entitled to FBI discount lah.. and labour ward is super exp.. I had to pay $700+ for tat 1 nite and half a day i spent in labour ward the last time.. imagine tats about 2-3 times the cost of a normal ward leh...

Bigtoes
yeap yeap.. think Ava have answered ur qtns le.. hehe. prob juz to add in abit.. BHs usually dun come at regular intervals, whereas contractions are felt at a certain interval

Oh... i missed the talk last nite too!! haha

<font color="0000ff">Updates on myself
a little update on my condition.. have been given a week's MC to rest at home. Apparently gynae mentioned my womb got disturbed, prob coz i walked too much over the weekend bah..

Was put on an hr of CTG on Monday and 3 contractions were picked up. But gynae allowed me to go home coz they were somewhat almost at 30min intervals. But he increased my Ventolin to 4 times a day again wor..

But den.. since last nite, again, i've been feeling the tightening pretty frequently. say every hour surely got a few times. so am getting quite worried. I didnt tell my hb abt it coz there's nothing he can do oso. trying to rest as much as I can and not walk around tat much. Have been talking to bb oso telling him not to come out so early.

Really hope i can 'tong' for at least 1 more mth when i hit 36wks den at least bb would be full term. Now juz 32wks nia. and bb's weight dun think hit 2kg yet. 2 wks ago he was juz 1.64kg onli..</font>

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - I guess Mrs Wong BB just wants to promote her products? I switched classes half way thru &amp; Nurse Ling wasn't trying to get the class to buy anything. And yah, I got my towels etc from various places &amp; from the Babymall spree - these should be fine.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - TMC has wireless@sg at the common areas (e.g. Delifrance). There is internet connection in the rooms, but have to pay for daily usage (not sure how much, I guess about $30, if its hotel rates?) Hubby is already planning to bring his laptop along, together with CDs etc (there isn't a radio in the room).</font>