(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0077aa">Hahah!! Ok I go &amp; check what is Wallables.</font>

WALLABLES
<font color="ff0000">Attaches easily to walls in seconds; can be removed and replaced as many times as you like.
Great for names and phrases. Glow-in-the-dark outline helps with learning to spell both in the daytime and the nighttime.

Touch-activated sound: When you press the letter in the middle, a soft voice tells you the name of the letter. Make words and press to hear the spelling.</font>
1559362.jpg
1559363.jpg

1559364.jpg

Bright Nite Wallables Stickup
WB10001
Moon: 9" x 11"
Cloud: 4" x 5"
Glow-In-The-Dark Effects!
Touch-activated music: Moon plays "Fur Elise"

<font color="0077aa">So cute!!! Have sound somemore!! Aiyah.. but my bb name not ready yet...

So anyone interested? Mickey, what's the cap for effiecient shipping?</font>

FLos,
regarding being a tai-tai, i dun hv much of a choice, though i cannot say i will be happier working or being a taitai. this is my 3rd kid. it's more economical that i stay home take care of kids. cos if i continue working, we will need to get another car, which is quite ridiculous. i will give it a try

Hi mickey/storeberry,

Does the website includes shipping within usa? &amp; mickey, what's the exchange rate you're charging at? As on you CC bill?? (",) I would love to join your spree so we can share &amp; split the shipping charges too. Will be cheaper this way rite?

For wallables, battery operated? Or once the music dies off then no more music?

RXmom: I already had my short stint as a "tai tai" (albeit w/o kid) when I was abroad cos my DH's ex-co was paying me half of my last drawn salary as compensation on a monthly basis.

I didn't really enjoy my life as a "tai tai". Missed the corporate interaction, travelling, tele-conferencing, networking and mental stimulation as u'd so rightly put it.

Initially it was fun to go to the exotic supermarkets/provision stores to buy groceries and cook a nice meal for friends and DH, but after a few mths, it just bored me to death!

The ladies would meet up at the malls, check out the latest restaurants and boutiques. We'd arrange to play mahjong, go to spas and hotsprings, play golf, half-day tours, baking sessions, concerts, etc. Even joined those boliao Int'l Wives Club and run for committee...super super boliao...

If that was already so boliao, I suppose it'll be worse in SG where I no longer will hv those foreign ladies to keep me occupied.

Conclusion: Better to work and enjoy financial independence.

Kel: I will use 1.42 as the exchange rate. Yes, the shipping cost will be split by units (which will be given based on how heavy and/or bulky the item is).

For collection, it can be either from my place at Normanton Park or Raffles Place. And if the item is not too big, by postage too.

Re the question on wallables, best to read the info given on the website.

Flos,

haha, you know, the things you mentioned doing with the other wives are exactly the things I did with the other wives when I was in the US!!
It was quite boliao, i agree... but less so when the kids are here lah.

And in a sense, i kinda missed that life you know... I have not touched Mahjong or done any proper shopping after I had my son...but must think long term... when the kids dun need me around that much... then how?

Storeberry: If we don't get enuf orders by next week, we call this off ok? Cos I would like to allow sufficient time for the shipment, delivery and collection. Then we'll each be on confinement liao.

Wow the thread move so fast today i cant catch up!!!

Mickey, i'm planning to work till the very day or until i cannot take it. after discussing with my boss. since my job not so stress. no probs for me. esp when my boss dun mind i kiao kar in my room makes me more relaxed when working. Your description of working till you pop is farnie!!!

Flos, after seeing your comment, maybe i should also take a look over at vhive before deciding. but the home organisers are great ideas! Me too sitting down to bathe nowadays. my hubby having been buying me benches n stools from ikea for our bathroom eversince we moved into our lovenest two and half years ago. more relaxed and can bathe leisurely! hehehe! but seriously, the ikea bench cannot make it. (ps. i'm too baba for the bench!! :X)

Storeberry, i'm looking at the wall decors. going to check with my hubby tonite if he's interested cos i've already bought some lavendar/pinkish colored paint for my baby room. he wants to do the painting himself.

Tai Tai - i've been mini tai tai on and off ever since meeting my hubby. and the longest time staying at home without work is ard 9months only. Me love being without a job!!! nothing to think or worry about. since sg living standard so high, not quite possible. but if ever my hubby turn into BIG BOSS, can permanent tai tai!! HAHA!! Dreaming on~!

Yan
Wau.. Good life ah.. Still got darling HB to massage ur precious leg for u ah.. Me not so good life lor.. Last time first pregnancy got all the previleges.. Now 2nd one.. Sign change already lor.. My Hb say give all the attention to my No.1.. So no time for me.. Sop sop.. Lol

Kym,So fast ah.. U leaking colostrum already.. Hmmm. For my first nothing happened till I started bf on my first.. Anyone else here have this systom?? Guess must be thinking of bb than u will have this yeah.. Lol
Sarah May,
Thanks for the contact and I guess I understand more.. I’ll discuss with my hubby.. Anymore questions I’ll Pm u k.. Tys dear..

Flos,
As for the episotomy, I must say it depends on individual trashhold of pain.. Mine not tat good.. Even after discharge for like 1 wk.. I still feel the pain leh.. I no good lah.. A bit abit pain.. Kekeke.. I somemore sit on the swimming float.. The kids at home still ask me.. “Aunite Karen, Why r u sitting on a FLOAT??” so pai sei to explain ah.. In primary sch.. Still can kind of explain.. Lol

And oh yea.. Today lunch is MAC extra value meal..so sinful.. Somemore upsize to get the olympic coke mug.. Lol.. More weight to gain man… lol
Cloud,
oh no.. U’ll even feel the pain when u r lying down ah.. I will feel more pain while I siting down on the floor and if I tile to the left more.. It’s on e left side.. Hmm.. Guess really go tto check up man.

As for been tai tai.. think we ever brought this up before.. for me.. the only reason tat i wanna be a SAHM which would be a better term i prefer.. coz cannot afford to live a tai tai livestyle.. it would be my kids lor..

I personally prefer to teach and look after the kids myself.. maybe i'm particular lah.. worry this worry tat.. might as well take care of my 2 babies myself.

Ever hint to my HB lah.. but think not possible.. unless i can do something part time with some form of income.. lol.. which i also always wanted to be my own boss too.. who knows yeah..

Momoko, me is first pregnancy. maybe 2nd time will also be same as u le? yeah... more like SAHM for me too if hubby can totally afford to with extras. anyway, for my case, not working before having baby is can be tai tai go for mj etc. if not working after having baby, will be SAHM or SAHSLAVE!! LOL!

i wld b tai tai ..if i strike TOT 3millions..hahaha
otherwise...living in SG, chances of being Tai tai is low..unless u lucky 2 married a Super rich Hubby or born with golden spoon

Tai Tai - Ever asked my hubby whether I can be a Tai Tai and his replied was....ofcos can, quick have another child..

Hahaha, I think he is siao. Our baby is still in my tummy and he already think of having a second one..

hi wingkei,
i agree with what l'lcy said. just cast aside all your worries and whatsoever and join us on saturday. what can he do to you anyway???

storeberry,
i was lucky. saw the nachos spree on the day it was supposed to close. i'm trying this for the first time. hope it's niceeeee.

flos,
actually, if i can, i'd rather have natural birth than c sec. the pain after c sec is HORRIBLE!!! cannot walk properly, cannot laugh, cannot cough, cannot sneeze. it's really no joke. i think abt having to go through surgery again i shudder...

i'm interested in getting the wallables. looks nice and cute.

sarahmay,
same. i also do not want to sign up for membership just to get the discount. think i will still go ahead with malayheritage. and it's at least 15mins longer... if only it can be 2 hours of massage... SHIOK!!!

storeberry,
where did you get the wallables info? i don't see it on the website.

Grace: why not think of a second one? I'm already thinking of a second one!! hehe

RXMom: I suppose it's more boring if one is a tai tai without kids...I dun mind taking a short break and enjoy some bonding time with my bb!

It's rather boring to be a tai tai in SG. Where else can we go to? SG is too small...It's still better to work.

yan: VHive is rather affordable IMO.

momoko: yours was painful???!!

storeberry: the wallables can release music and sounds?! wow!

<font color="119911">Wingkei - so now u have to come on Sat okie?? Everyone here is expecting you
Would be good to meet up &amp; chat with all the mommies.

STUPID QUESTION:
How do u differentiate between BH contractions and baby's movements? There is so much going on in my belly today (after my chicken rice lunch), not sure if its baby and his tae-kwon-do kicks again or BH contractions. BH contractions feel more like tightening sensations right?</font>

kym/momoko,

I leak colustrum around 30weeks on my 1st pregnancy. Now 32weeks already nut never leak. (",) Dunno what's the reason for it to leak early or late. haha

Linda, haha.. ya, can only be tai tai if strike toto at least 3mil. But strike liao also must know how to manage finances well. If not anyhow spend 3mil also not enough. haha

Mickey, I can't find info on wallables. I also can't choose between http://www.walldecorshops.com &amp; http://www.wallnutz.com leh. Some items that I like from wallnutz and some from walldecor. Hai

alabone: So those MalayHeritage masseuses are not on Ramadan leave?

Bigtoes: I hv no clue either. Was chatting with sasa just now how to differentiate contractions and normal BH.

wingkei: so u r going this sat?!! good good...

Alabone, Flos: Yes, the wallable plays music when pressed. That's what I read from the website too.

"Unique decorating ideas for kids are hard to come by, but Wallables™ 3-dimensional wall stickups add some spice to any child's room theme.
The characters include the Original Wallables™, and licensed characters for Where the Wild Things Are.
Plus, most of the Original Wallables play music when you press on them!"

Click on the following link to read more on wallables.

http://www.walldecorshops.com/groupwallables.html

Kel
cute pics...Paul says he doesnt delvier at SGH any more but dunno if its can't or won't...will ask at next visit (touch wood nothing happens before then!) I had to see Eunice Chua yest for my CTG/scan cos Paul was not around. Can't believe she has FIVE kids!!!

Bigtoes
Not a stupid question...I just asked that yesterday too..and I "should" know, as it's not my first time round! BH will make whole tummy hard, whereas if it's just butt movement, other parts of the uterus will feel soft.

Kel: Better stick to one website to order else we have to incur shipping from both merchants. I posted the link on wallables above. Read more abt it.

Flos, the last time we wanted to get study table, i got my hubby to go vhive to take a look. in the end my hubby still prefer ikea ones. and the ikea study table cost more lo... this time round will try to get him to take a look for the cabinet if he want to.

haha.. ok, ok, I will try to see if I can somehow arrange my schedule such that I can go. But I can't eat all the sweet stuff!

Storeberry &amp; Instant Noodle Fans: Aiyo...you all very terrible. Jsut as i thot I had gotten out of that phase....tempting me again with all the flavours. I shall resist!

Momoko: Found out from Ava that she goes to osteopath, a bit sim to chiro. You can ask her for her experience cos she's been to both osteo and chiro. Ava? For your episiotomy the last time, did a sitz bath help relief the pain? Truth be told, i'm more terrified of the episiotomy than the labour !!!

Ikea: IS their sale still on?

Wallables: Got lights and sound? Sounds fantastic!

Kel: Welcome!

Grace: You are super slim!!! Modelly figure! How come your doc is so weight-obsessed? at your height and weight pre-preg, I reckon you can gain even 20 kg with no prob!

Alabone: Yup! I think I want to sign up with malayheritage too. How many sessions you doing? I'm thinking of 7 sessions, 500 bucks. When are you signing up?

SAHM: If we stay home to look after our own kids, I think we won't really have that much time to go do tai-tai stuff or hang out. Unless we have domestic helper to chip in the care of our kids but that also kind of defeats purpose of being SAHM. I'm going to be SAHM for at least the next year. Not sure if I can be a good happy SAHM for my kid but I will certainly try. I do hope that some freelance work will help give me some mental stimulation and some money. For me, I think being a successful SAHM is more challenging than working. (cos i really do detest housework!!!)

Hi mickey, thanks. But they didn't state whether it's battery-operated or wat leh. I'll try to decide what I want soon.

Ava, paul also have 4boys. haha. I so envy you lor. 1 boy then now 2girls. I've got 2 boys already. Really want a little princess but again hotdog. haha..

But paul sons all like him hor, smart &amp; handsome looking.

But gynaes are rich pple lar.. so 5 kids not a prob for them to handle. haha..

Kel: You're a transformer fan isit? Just notice your nic.

Sarahmay: Agree with you that being a SAHM is tougher than working. Sometimes when I'm on leave, I will hide in my room to take a breather from my girl, and let the maid handle her. It's actually from here that I tell myself it's almost impossible to maintain my sanity and staying at home at the same time.
Actually, earlier on this pregnancy, I was quite adamant I want to be a SAHM. Hubby and I have already discussed this many times and we both agree there are benefits. But I changed my mind mid-way through the pregnancy. I chickened out on the thought. Kekeke..

avalyn,
yes. Eunice chua has 5 kids.. unbelievable right. she looks so young and slim!

TaiTai - actually i hv to change the term. i'm going to be a full time SAHMM - Stay at home Maid/Mum. with 3 kids in the house, how to be tai-tai ??

kel: hotdog?!!! that's farneeeee!

Dr Eunice Chua has 5 children?! My LC Cheng has 3...

sarahMay: Ikea sale is still ongoing. I just went on Sunday. But not everything is on sale.

yan: there are some things abt Ikea that I dun like. I hate to go to the "lumberjack" section to bring down those panels and parts, push the bulky stuffs to the cashier to make payment, then queue up with those bulky stuffs to fix up Home delivery appt at a diff counter. Ikea outsources delivery to PTC and assembly work to CitiArt. You need to pay $50/55 to PTC and $200 to CitiArt to assemble large cabinets, like the kitchen worktop I just purchased on Sunday.

If the items are small enough, u need to get a handyman at home to assemble for u...I hate the knocking, screwing, drilling...such a hassle.

At VHive, the stuffs are not that fugly and they assemble and deliver to my house FOC. I like their service. They are very punctual.

Momoko
I find osteos are more holistic in approach, chiro just go crick crack only...

SarahMay
I didnt use sitz bath, just the spray the doc gave. had to sit on ring, but found that worse than sitting on chair/bed etc...so gave up. ur doc's stitching skills are very impt!

Kel
Yeah, they all look so rugged...wife nice glamour pic also prominently displayed!! wonder if that was her idea...lol!! hot dog hahahaha!

ask u gals..

do u tink i am 'evil' if i go for AH MEI Concert on the 4th Oct, when i am still in the midst of doing my confinement (probably) and dump the bb at home with my hubby nia?

SAHM/taitai..whatever...
Yes i agree with sarahmay it's tough being one, especially if you arent a taitai (no maid to lend a helping hand).but ive never regretted my decision to sah for my boy.

i guess i was worrying too much while i was at work to enjoy work.rushed home everyday immediately after work everyday, worried sick he wasnt eating or drinking...

for mental stimulation. you can easily have that while satying at home. i read research papers, correspond with overseas professors and made friends and form playgroups with mothers who are/were former teachers (early childhood teachers) to understand better how to handle my kids.

there are a lot more to learn than making and sterilising milk, changing diapers and so on...a whole new world for me in fact. and coupled with a boy with never ending energy, i think work life was sooooooo relaxed, at least i could have lunch break..at least i have lull periods in between lessons...now ah...forget it!!!

I agree it's tough being a SAHM... but it's also tough as a full time working mom. I think both have their difficult parts.

For those of you who are SAHM... can I understand how long do you intend to remain as one? Would you return to the work force later?

That's really my main concern in deciding whether to stay home or not. Our children need us in the short term, but in the longer term, what do we do when they need us less? Even if we are connected with the world as a SAHM, the world may not perceived SAHMs as such after many years of not working... and at that age, we still have to prove ourselves... and fight with younger people?

Sigh.. so the best solution for me is really to work part time...

mickey: my hubby likes transformer. But not a die-hard fan lar.. haha. Heng lor, if not the collectibles quite expensive.

Flos, haha.. ya. hotdog still ok. My fren calls her princess abalone. er, i find it more digusting then call a baby boy hotdog though. What do you think? hahaha

Ava, yaya. i notice his wife pic too. Very pretty actress lookalike pic hor.

Any full month caterer to recommend? Halal will be better as I thought of inviting some of my malay clients to my party. Sort of gathering with them too lar..

<font color="aa00aa">jessi
recvd yr payment,tks!

cloud
no worries, most of the gals are paying cash on sat itself so no hurry to transfer to me.

wingkei
will be great if u can join us this sat...try to let me knw asap cos canele nid to arrange seating, tks!!</font>

RXmom,
for long term, i think i may find something to do. but i don't think i will go back to being an engineer in the industry i'm currently in. cos things and technology would hv moved way ahead and i might hv totally lost track of things.
anyway, i think God has plans.. so I would just leave it to him. now, i just take things one step at a time. hv not really decided what to do in the future when the kids needs me less.

rxmom
guess for my job, i can return to it anytime. but im really not so keen to go back these few years.

children needs us differently at different stages. if im going back, it might really be part time basis...

hi flos,
i'm not sure if they are on ramadan then. but because my is c sec delivery, i can't do the massage until oct anyway. so by then, i think they shd be ok.

sarahmay,
i'm still a little undecided b/w 7 or 10 day package. but i was thinking of taking the 7days first then if i like and feel like splurging, then ask if i can add on to make it 10 days. errr, i'm rather last minute. so will sign up end of july?? hehe

mickey,
thanks for website.

yeah, being a sahm is really not easy. different set of challenges from working. but i think kids are probably still easier to handle than scheming and conniving adults.

<font color="0077aa">Mickey: Sure! No prob! I will try &amp; email you the orders asap!

Alabone &amp; Flos: Yah man, still have music somemore!! Seems like wallables very popular!

Sarah: The wallable have music but no lights but some are glow in the dark!

Alabone: I heard the nachos &amp; cheese is better than Golden village one &amp; its yummy!! Aiyoo.. I am salivating liao...

I think I will not be a SAHM, need the sanity if I stay at home 24/7!! Need to be financially independent as well!</font>

i have the wallables. as mentioned, got music &amp; can glow in the dark, but mine dun have light (dun think this is a feature). it works by pasting a velcro patch on the wall and "velcro-ing" the wallable onto it. i hate to "destroy" my painted wall, hence i use blu-tack instead. sad to say, my SUN is so big and heavy that the blu-tack cannot hold it there for too long. now, only left the star still "standing". the music came from an in-built battery, which cannot be changed, estimated "lifespan" of 1000 times (or smtg close to this number) of playing before battery runs flat.

Hmm, i guess if we all mummies had a choice, we'd all wish to be tai-tais, hubbies catering to our every need (though thats just not the reality) we'd have time to concentrate on our children, as and when they need us, i believe nobody else or nothing else really matters more than being needed. Child-rearing is a philosophy in itself, and to get it right takes time, every stage commands different tactics and its really no diff from working in the corporate world (my pt of view)

For me, I have stopped work since i was 5 mths preggie, i thought to myself, if i were to be good to myself for once in my life, when would be a better time than when i'm pregnant?

I once overheard a conversation between a mother and her son - 'Mummy, where are you going?' , 'Mummy's got to go to the office today, I'll buy you your lego on the way back ok?' , 'But I want you to stay with me' , 'Be a good boy ok baby? Otherwise I'll not buy your lego..' , 'But i don't want anything.. I just want you' ..

kym Teo,
hiaz.. that's a typical conversation between working mothers and kids. sometimes, when my son or daughter gets cranky in the morning when i hv to drop them at the childcare before going to work, they too say the same thing. It hurts, but really, there's little we could do. so this time, i hv really decided to quit my job when #3 arrives. So my 2 older kids will go to school half day or 3 hrs, and rest of time, i take care of them. As for taking care of the newborn and the household chores, it will be a fulltime job for me.
I was initially quite relunctant to change my lifestyle as a FTWM, but after doing the mathematics, it's really not worth to continue working and dumping all ur salary to the childcare givers and additional car and in the meantime, spare no time for your own kids. It just doesn't make sense.

nursing bras:
i saw some nursing bras at OIO Maternity at Tampines Mall yesterday evening. they were on offer. buy 1 get 1 free. So 2 will cost only $32.90 or $39.90, depending on the design that you choose. the bras are very pretty with lace, not those boring white types at Mothercare. And they hv size 70B, which is the size i need. but i did not buy them thoughh, cos i already hv 5-6 pairs of nursing bras at home. but i was really tempted to buy. the bras are still on my mind
hee.. maybe if i cannot resist the temptation, i will go back buy the bras. it's so cheap 2 for $32.90!!

Stef&amp; Sean: OIO has nice bras? I walked in a few months ago and I didn't see any. Will lace irritate our sensitive boobs? Anw I think it is a good deal. You should go get it! Also, yah...how to be tai tai when you are staying home primarily for the kids? Can change term to SAHM/ occasional Tai-Tai .

L'l CY: I agree with you. There are ways to get mental stimulation, and be in touch with other people and the world, despite being SAHM. Btw, you aren't going for gathering this sat right? We're supposed to meet up before we POP or get too lumsy to walk (i already feel like hippo!). When would you be free?

Mickey: I know what you mean. While i really want to be SAHM for the best interests of my kid/s, I do hope I will have the patience and joy to be a good mummy. Not easy being around them 24/7 becuase it really teaches us about selflessness and sacrifice.

Alabone: Afterall this is your 3rd kid! You shd splurge! Mine is the first. So i need to regain my figure in order to be able to still feel 'sexy' and produce more kids! Hahah...that is my warped theory i pitched to my hubby and it works. He is ALL for me having a good figure. But then again, thinking abt if I shd cos seriously the money can be put to better use. Like you, I'm last minute queen, so maybe only decide next week. Hehe. Btw, how is staying at home? Hope your MIL is not giving you headaches.

Flos: Thanks! You mean transportation is now $50 instead of $40?!! Aiyo. I need to get quite a lot of boxes...but even if I get 10 boxes so not worth it like that. I like Ikea stuff esp if need the varnish to be done ourselves cos got more room to play around with (of cos I'm not the one doing the work la. ) Is VHive stuff lasting and sturdy? Haven't been there for years cos I rber it being a bit tacky somehow.

Golddfish: You sure you will havethe energy to go out then? Get your hubby to go with you if you really want? But then again, will your CL and parents let you out in the first place? But it is Ah mei right? I love her! Hahahah.

Kym: That is so heartbreaking! I've heard enough of these stories about kids wanting their parents first-hand. Seen the negative repercussions too of how parents substitute their inability to spend time with their kids with material things. I think it is also true that since we make the decision to have kids, we also avail ourselves to them - emotionally, mentally and physically. Not just providing the material means for them to have a good life. I don't quite believe that quality time is more impt than quantity of time. With kids, a certain quantity is also needed.

Storeberry: Glow in the dark? Will it be scary? Hehe. They are very pretty! Tempting but i shall FLEEEEEEE from temptation. Hahahaha.

<font color="119911">BH contractions vs. real ones vs. baby movements - thanks Ava. I guess mine are all baby movements to date then, cos the whole area doesn't harden. Forgot to ask during the Dr's talk last nite.

DR's TALK
Anyway, the talk (for those who missed it) - was basically split into 2 parts: 1st session - Dr's talk, focused on the labour process (when u need to check into hospital (when contractions are 5 minutes apart), how long the typical process is (13 hours to dilate to 10cm), the pain relief methods, etc etc...btw, 90% of Asian women end up with an episiotomy, but they will give a local anesthesia before cutting.

The 2nd session was by a psychiatrist &amp; his experiences with mommies with post natal depression, how to cope with the new baby, how the MIL/parents should not intefere with bring up baby, how the hubby needs to give in to the wife during this period etc....quite alot of common sense &amp; fluff really.</font>

Morning all, was at New Balance, Velocity yesterday and saw these really cute pairs of Sesame Street shoes:

1560612.jpg
1560613.jpg

Selling for $59, now NB having 20% discount until Sunday. I'm dying to get a pair for my BB but not sure whether the shoe can be kept for so long, he'll probably not be able to wear it till he's one years old.

morning morning everyone,

sarahmay,
exactly!!! you read my mind. this is my third and final pregnancy so i think i shd pamper myself. but i also think about how i can use that amt of money on other things... pitched the same idea to my hb and he said go ahead to do what i want coz third pregnancy. hehe.

hmm, i'm enjoying staying at home. i'm on half day bedrest. morning to evening in bed mostly then in the evenings, go to my mum's place. once in a while meet my friends.

my mil gives me headache in the morning after she comes back from church. makes noise in the kitchen, then about nine plus will leave the house again. so i'm mostly alone at home. since she's moving out next mth, i shall not dwell on this. just ren.

i think l'lcy is going this sat for the gathering. you can meet her then.

cloud,
i saw the same shoes at taka's stadium also. very very cute and nice. was tempted to buy for my girl but actually, they are not that good for one year old kids to walk coz the sole is very very hard and does not bend easily. when they first learn to walk, must wear shoes that are softer.