(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa de mouse: yeah, my colleagues also didn't go for it. maybe that's why LC doesn't bother to scan part by part to calculate the exact weight on each visit lah. he wants his patients to do this 8th mth scan and save him all the time in his clinic
hahah! But it's good to know if my amniotic fluid is running high/low; whether the head size and thigh bones are in line with the national average.

Big Toes: I dun think it's $300 for the detailed scan yah? My detailed scan at week 20 was only $100+...

sasa: SM on butt cheeks? Tsk tsk...I already got that...really unsightly. I will need to visit plastic surgeon Woffles Wu after my pregnancy...muahahaha

YES, Ava is right. StriVectin is good for erasing those SM. Save some milk powder $$ for your damage control creams

storeberry/bigtoes: I was inspired by BigToes self-decorated mozzie net but I couldn't find any ornaments to hang. Saw this at IKEA that comes with lil decorative polka dots and a mock circus tentage for $29. quite cute lah...

IKEA SALE: It depends on what items u need...the kitchen island top I wanted doesn't hv the pot baskets, so I need to go back there next week to buy it so that the cabinet is 'complete'.

Millie: Mozzie Net. U can try Kiddy Palace or Spotlight where BigToes got hers. Actually, there are no mozzies in my house. I just bot the net for fun

<font color="0000ff">Flos
haha... i would like him to scan on each visit to get bb's weight wor.. but since he doesn't, there's nothing much tat can be done. at least he still bothers to scan instead of juz listening to bb's heartbeat via a doppler

wonder how much muz we pay again for the A5 scan. n u r rite.. i'm oso interested to noe how my bb is doing as compared with the rest

u got SM on butt cheeks too?? gee.. i tot i was the only one. haha.. it is indeed VERY unsightly. but heck lah.. it's the area where its sat on most of the time.. hahaha</font>

Went for my 28 week checkup yesterday and doc said that my baby weighs 1445kg now, and is above average. Think must be the durians that I am taking..haha.
Am cutting down on them now.. although I want a big baby, I dun a baby that's 4kg big!

Been going to my checkup alone since my hubby is not around, and everything I go, I have no questions for the doc... and he always say that things are good. Am finding this to be an uneventful second pregnancy... but then again, it's really better to be uneventful..

Flos: Yes, the mozzie net looks really cute!! But the drilling abit troublesome. I am actually looking at the chest of drawers, any on discount?

Yes, baby definitely moving more vigorously now!! Its a good sign that our bb is strong &amp; active! My innie is an outtie now! Can see my belly button when I wear tight fitting clothes...

Goldfish: my tummy also not big lah, as long as bb is of healthy weight then it doesn't matter..

Alabone: Yah, being more &amp; more clumsy!

RXmum: I have been going for gynae checkup alone as well. Gynae had been saying bb is good so I also didn't asked much. Next check up will be 34 weeks!! So fast!

<font color="0000ff">Goldfish
My tummy not big oso wor.. haha... only 37 inches. Storeberry is rite.. as long as bb is doing fine, dun worry so much abt how ur tummy look k. dun compare.. tats the most impt
we all look compact, hehe.

Storeberry
u feeling better le? wat did Dr Adrian say? how come u suddenly felt unwell ytd?</font>

Hi sasa, I also don't know leh, I felt giddy on sun &amp; rested at home. Then yday while I was waiting for my turn at the clinic, suddenly I felt weak all over. Dr Adrian just asked me to drink some sweet things.. So decided to just rest at home.
Thanks for asking! I feel alot better today!

<font color="119911">SM on the buttocks? hmm..i haven't even been looking...just assuming don't have any, but better go home &amp; check!

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - wow, ur baby is a nice size
Mine was only 1.13kg at 28wks, must have grown quite a bit now (wk 31) since his movements are so much stronger.

Flos (flos) - my mozzie net from Spotlight was really cheap - think about $10. We also don't have mozzies at our place, but just bought the net more as a decoration.

Storeberry - whats wrong with u? Hope u are better!</font>

hi ava,
you going for gathering?? then you'll see me round... i same like you. was thinking of sending jared for child modelling too but really too lazy to go and do those shots and pay money. so i just hope and pray for him to get 'talent scouted' wahahhahaahahaha!!!!

yes yes. that's the url. i forgot abt the 'blogspot'. thought it was just their name with '.com'. thanks!

hi storeberry,
you might have a case of low blood sugar. that's why the giddiness. keep some sweets with you at all times and if you feel giddy, must sit down immediately. glad you're better.

Millie (millie22) - yes, typically u wld need to drill into the ceiling to hook the net, unless ur mozzie net comes with a stand, or u are placing it over a 4-poster cot.

For mine, we already have a nail in the wall next to the cot cos we used to have a painting, so just hooking the mozzie net to the wall (not hanging it from the ceiling) - see - http://bigfattoes.multiply.com/photos/album/117/Our_babys_pre-birth_photos#38 - u wld notice that the top of the net is slanted cos its hooked to the wall!

flos, have decided to do my 4d scan at radlink instead. were u able to fix yours on the same day as your next doc visit so u don't have to make 2 trips to tmc?

sasa, i'm seeing m tan from the same clinic. what's A5 scan?

Flos,
I got my blue mozzie net pre-ikea sale. Think your mozzie net is not on sale too rite?

Millie,
You could use a 3M hook to hang the mozzie net. I tried it once with my master bedroom..it works! Going to do that again for bb room. Dont want to drill anything

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
aiyoh.. think alabone is rite.. u might have low blood sugar bah.. keep some sweets with u n take them when u feel giddy again k.

Bigtoes
haha... sorry.. think i made all of u sit up with my SM at the butt cheeks. think the butt is prob the last place which i would expect to see SM and much less notice it :p

Xuanting
oh.. ic ic. M Tan oso sees alot of patients hor? dunno leh.. think its another detailed scan bah.. but this time round they call it the A5 scan</font>

how come all of u having stretchmarks on ur butt nia? So sad.. mine is soooo very obvious on my tummy lor.. I ish belly sad everytime i see my tummy.

Last night i asked my hb to give me a huge scrub down from my back all the way down to my toes! cos my mama says i seem to have dirt accumulated behind my knees! haha.. and i haven felt this clean for a few months liao..

omg.. i din know butt will also have stretchmarks, haven't been checking my butt for ages. but i have lots on my tummy now, initially was only the center part now it spread to both the right and left side. so sad..

crayonshinchan
dont be sad...think of it as a symbol of your love for your baby...anyway, i don't want to frighten you with pics of how awful mine are! don't forget i have twice the amount of stretching....
haha...did your hb enjoy the shower as much as you did?

sasa
my butt SM have been there since teenage yrs so extra ones dont make me cringe anymore..sigh. I was never model material anyway...actually this preg my butt hasnt grown much...i must go see what the state of SMs there are...maybe take a pic (Not for public viewing of course...!)

Bigtoes
Saw your second beansprout pillow on your multiply...so smart to recycle ur hb's shirt!

alabone
yep will be at gathering. r u bringing your kids?

sunrays
where's the gathering menu, man!?? eagerly awaiting it!!!

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): I rem you asking if Nepia diapers u got from NTUC is cheap. Yes it is by far the cheapest so far! Usual price is $16 if you order thru Nepia office, during their promo, it was $14. So with NTUC's offer, it's the cheapest you can get. Too bad it's only from M, L, XL and diaper pants.

Stretchmark on butts: I got those on the sides on my butt when I'm in early part of 2nd trimester ... sobs ... those tiger lines ... sigh ... one of the badges of motherhood!

aiyo.. ava.. not so kinky lar.. i think he was really just concentrating on scrubbing all my dirt off...haaa... he must have been thinking watever has happened to his wife! haha.. suddenly so dirty within a few months..

and yup! I'd taken pics to show my son in future all my marks of love for him! haha

Hi..

Just received my bumper mat from small small world...$149 and free delivery...happy happy

And awaiting for my antenatal massage tomorrow...my backache is super super pain

crayonshinchan,

Actually, it's quite normal to have darkened pigmentation during pregnancy. My hubby noticed it on my thighs for J#1 too. Generally will go away after delivery. So it might not be that you are getting dirtier.

crayonshinchan: my watermelon stripes are on my tummy, with all the green veins on my tummy and breasts! my tummy looks like watermelon! lol ... butt looks like tiger stripes!

<font color="0000ff">haha.. oops.. i can imagine.. most of Sept mummies would be going home to stare at their butts tonite to check for SMs... all bcoz sasa complained about hers

Ava
I never tot my butt grown tat big too.. until i saw the SM coz they really didnt seem to have grown.. muahahaha. now i noe... no SM on my breasts = my breasts didnt grow tat much...

storeberry, m tan's waiting time is quite reasonable. that's partly why i stayed with her. wanted to switch over to wk tan originally but when i saw how long wk tan's patients had to wait, i decided to stick with m tan. she's friendly and nice, but doesn't go into a lot of details if she thinks it's not nec for me to know.

stretchmarks on butt
i've had them forever too...
think the first time i noticed them was in sec school, when i was a v v tanned kid. silvery white ones and they're still with me now. i didn't grow from v thin to v fat or vice versa then at all so how they came to live on my butt cheeks is still a mystery!

sasa: cannot say it'll be "sat on" therefore can't see that part leh!!! I simply love beach/spa resorts and it's pretty embarrassing to show off those cellutite at the poolside...urgghhhhh!!! Hello, what is A5 scan?!!

xuanting: Good for u!! Yep, I am going for the 4D scan next week + that growth scan I was told to take as part of the routine, therefore won't be making two trips. I'm conserving my leave!!!

RXmom: A note abt durians...I was just telling my colleague I LOVE to eat durians and she warned me not to overeat them. Her mom took too much when she was expecting her, and when she was born, she had very bad skin, as in there'd be pus oozing out of her easily broken skin. Her flesh was also very 'rotten' (I hate to use that word) and she spent her entire childhood applying antiseptic lotion after shower. She showed me her scars and they look quite awful

My gynae told me it's too fattening, so I had completely stopped taking durians since my last visit...

storeberry: I'm also looking at chests. I went to VHive Megal Mall at Jurong on Sat and bought some cheap furniture from europe. You can select 3/4/5drawer chests for your nursery. They are on sale now
Free delivery and assembly, unlike Ikea which will make me pay $55 delivery charge and $200 assembly charge.

bacon&amp;eggs: No sale at all for those Bed Canopies. There is a red/pink one which I think it very nice. But that's for baby girls

Millie: I haven't decided which side of the 4 walls the cot shall lean against. Once I make up my mind, I'll get one of those hooks from HOMEFIX like bacon&amp;eggs: I hope it'll not drop down months later!!! It'll be a hazard if that happens wor...

crayon: Go to the pedicurist to scrub the whole leg lah!!!

haha... if u go naked below den it'll b shown lah.. talking abt which.. i've got SM on my thighs as well.. sighz... even b4 preggy days. wonder where they came from

A5 scan is the growth scan tat we'll b going lor.. the nurse told mi its called the A5 scan leh...</font>

I'm sooo pleased with my KENKO foot massage this afternoon.

So is Malayheritage really very good? I want to book a post-natal massage lady too.

If we all in this Sept thread call in and book for the month of Sept, wouldn't that Mdm Habibah be fully booked in no time? Any other alternatives?

CHINESE NAMES ON BC-revisited
My SIL just confirmed that to get those type-written Chinese name, u gotta go to ICA at Lavender. Was talking to my DH abt the Chinese characters...He wants to handwrite his son's name on the birth cert now!!! He thinks it's very meaningful to have the daddy scribble sonny's name on the birth cert. I hope he does a good job, else will be sooooo untidy.

sasa: gosh...A5...i'm lost in all the terminologies...when r u going for urs?

I oso kenna those SM before preg days. I think it's my sudden weight gain after marriage. They did get lighter when I didSPINNING exercises at the gym and apply StriVectin Cream. Now, they are back...sigh.

Flos (flos): I think you can check with TMC if they have the software to type in Chinese names. I checked with my colleagues who gave birth at Raffles and they said they have the software to key in chinese names, so no need to go to ICA just for that.

Opps.. thanks preggies for ur advice! I din know abt the oxygen flow to the BB!!!
Keke.. thanks everyone for ur assurance on the tummy size. I still feel it is small.. bt oh well, I am looking forward to the 19th gathering!
It will be an eye-opener to see all the tummies of all sizes! Bt I am poor in remembering names… tink best if we haf name tags stick to our shirt?
LOL

Btw, are u all worried that ur waterbag may burst on the bed (and wet the mattress) or in MRT or in office??

thanks shazz for the info..that makes me a v happy mom!

stretchmarks,
I have always have SM on my butt on knee cap..dunno why..maybe cos I lost 8kgs once..not v bothered by it..but still keep moistured to keep the pulling sensation away..do u mommies feel like yr belly button is being stretched to the maximum...gg to burst? I feel that way and it feels terrible..

Thanks so much for your recommendation. I think i will oso get a 3M hook .
Wa...i oso prefer no drilling, but i am going to install curtains at bb room, so the curtain guy is also coming over to do the drilling. Is this ok so long as i'm not in the room or in the house ?

flos &amp; rxmom, that's what my tcm doc said too. my last round of fever/flu/cough was triggered in part by a bit of durian (other part being resuming my bu3 tcm at the wrong time) and he told me in passing not to take too much durians despite their being quite bu3. said too much can cause skin and scalp problems for the bb.

chinese names on bc
ica at lavender is a mad house!!! if really like that, i think we'll rather save the trouble and scrawl it onto the bc ourselves.

haha.. u really sound very pleased...

i'll be doing my A5 on the 18th.. when i nxt go n see LC lor..

oohh.. n i juz checked with my fren who gave birth in TMC.. she say TMC oso types the chinese characters on the BC wor... no handwritten ones..</font>

shazz: I believe TMC should hv but on my nephew's day of registration, the machine had broken down. Anyway, no issue now cos my DH and FIL are both fighting to be the one to wield the pen! They are both avid Chinese calligraphers.

Millie: R u pantang? I am not lor, but my inlaws are...When my furniture arrived last week, they told me to scram, so since there's no harm done, I went to the nearby coffee shop to read papers and sip tea. I'll be installing darkout curtains after my delivery.

I dun like to see metal hooks on the ceiling. It's very disturbing visually...Bad fengshui.

<font color="0000ff">SUNRAYS: Where r u? I agree with Goldfish...we need to wear nametags (nick and real names). There're so many of us going on 19th! How will Canele be arranging the tables? Will it be one long table or several tables to split us all up?</font>

sasa: YEP, very skilful Malaysian massage lady I had just now. She is highly experienced with preggers so she achieved the pressure just about right to relieve my aches. I am visiting KENKO again tomorrow for my shoulders this time round...

OK, so I won't be bumping into u, sasa...Mine is 17th...u dun want to do 4D together with A5?

Flos,
I am a bit pantang la, but sure need drilling if wanna install curtains, so i am thinking of going out of the hse when the man comes and install. Hopefully everything turns out well.

xuanting, flos,

Durians
Okie, now I know.
I did not have ALOT of durians lah. Hopefully should be fine, and that birdnest soup I have been having weekly will help.

Dear mummies to be,

My apology for interluding, i am helping to sell this as the owner is stopping breasfeeding due to insufficient milk. Items are new, brought but did not use.

1) Brand new "My Breast friend" supportive pillow for breastfeeding.

2) 1 tube of 37g Medela PureLan cream

Please PM if interested.

aiyoh... juz missed by a day leh... nope.. wont be taking 4D scans wor.. hehe.. save the $$ for milk powder &amp; diapers

Millie
yeap.. agree with the rest.. juz stay out of the hs when they are doing those drilling, painting, watever stuff. better to be safe than sorry rite..

sasa: thot u r going to say save $ for StriVectin

millie: my MIl even more kiasu. gave my Dh some palmolive leaves to sprinkle water before installation. that, i really dun understand and dun wish to question.

Flos,
Your MIL so kiasu wor...hehe...but as Sasa de mouse, better be safe than sorry lor...i tink i juz get out of the hse when the drilling is done.