(2008/09) Sep 2008

Goldfish: Thank God you protected your baby bump! Poor thing, scrapped your knees. It's a good thing you're wearing jeans, yah? Can't imagine the bruised if you were wearing a dress. Yes, Suntec area got lots of upgrading/renovation work in progress. I try to the crowd as much as I can when I'm there for church too, just attend service and leave asap, hardly walk around there as it's usually very crowded, especially when there's any PC show/ major events there.

As for the dried goods, my mum said it's cheaper to get from Bugis Wholesale Centre (opposite Raffles Hospital), as there are more shops there and pricing is more competitive. Can get your mum to help? My mum helps me get stuff as and when she's there and when the price is reasonable, some things she said no point buying early, like red dates, as it's better to have them as fresh as possible. She bought me the dried longans when she went to Bangkok few mths back and they're in my fridge now.

thanks sarahmay,preggi and isabelle,

Already made appointment to see gynae tomoro.hopefully is nothing serious.

Flos,watched the labour video in the antenatal class today..tik Mdm Wong has cut the video to around 30 minutes only..so quite okie.

Bigtoes, the lesson 3 is more to revision of lesson 1 and 2 plus the video.

wa today antenatal class see how they give birth i told my hubby i dun want to give birth liao sia..
he abit he close his eyes lolz

that time someone mention the nurse at tmc will help us shave, but saw the video mostly all no shave de

yun

at least Mrs Wong knows how to cut the video. Mine played out the entire video! *yawn*

goldfish: r u ok??!! So many hazards everywhere with the circle line coming our way...

welcome, mrs t! i haven't heard anything abt seafood in general but i guess if both you and your husband aren't allergic to it, it should be ok. just don't overeat; the golden rule is everything in moderation.

goldfish, is everything ok? no sprains or strains apart from your scraped kneecap i hope. take care!

sarahmay, visited kitchen culture with dh today and you are so right – we drooled! really love the little touches and how user-friendly their drawer systems are. it'll cost something like 70–100k for the materials and combi we like based on our kitchen size though. waaay above our budget! will put it in our "if strike 4d" list.

Goldfish: I also wanted to ask that!! Thanks Shazz!! Think I will make a trip with my hubby there.. Thank GOD you are ok!! I wonder how long the construction will ever finish!

Today as I was preparing to go out, I felt giddy & rested at home. Slept from 1plus till 4plus!!! Didn't even have my lunch! Was so gulity towards baby!
And as I was sleeping today, felt cramps on my lower tummy, wonder if its Braxon hicks contractions?

I am seeing gyane tomorrow! Yeah!

selling PRELOVED Avent Digital Bath and Room Thermometers

This digital thermometer is a bright and cheerful way to keep baby safe and comfortable. It doubles up as a convenient way to monitor the temperature both in baby's room and bath. Ideal as young babies cannot control their own temperature and are more sensitive to hot water than an adult may be able to predict. It has also been designed and tested as a safe, fun bath toy.

email me: [email protected]

1538322.jpg

Phew! Goldfish! Hope your knees recover soon. Am glad nothing happened to your baby. The Bugis Wholesale Market is cheap. But depends on the quality you are getting, cos if not like a lot, the tranport and time cost you put in might outweight the savings on the prices of the stuff.

Bigtoes: I didn't know the KP ones were so archaic in design. Hehe. I intend to BF for as long as possible, so I guess I will invest in a couple of comfy ones first. Then re-evaluate.

Yun: Update us after the gynae check-up. Sure nothing is majorly wrong. Prob just some yeast infection.

goldfish

oh dear u must have had such a hard fall that ur jeans actually tore! Luckily ur baby is ok!

sarahmay,
my first 3 bf bras were really ah ma... but comfy. Bought from the TMC shop. After i kept gg out with bb then I bought the nice ones!

hi all mummies, thank you for your warm welcome!
i missed out on the placenta discussion.....what is it with the placenta? u mean u can actually cook and eat it? is it legal? it's like eating your own meat......

anyone donating their cord blood?

i find myself have more pigmentations on the face during pregnancy (and my armpit skin even grow darker!!) anyone with similar problem?...wonder if it will go away after birth?????

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) - yah, KP has a v limited range of nursing bras.

Goldfish - have to be careful ya! Luckily mommy &amp; baby are okie.

Pre-natal L3: thanks for the clarification mommies. In that case, I will just skip L3. Going for L5 at Nurse Ling's class this Sunday. Prefer her to Mrs Wong.
Flos (flos) - the topics discussed in all lessons &amp; the Dr's talk is at the TMC FBI website. I think the Dr's talk might be useful to sit in on.</font>

Thanks everyone for ur concern.
Both my kneecap are still pain pain.. haiz.. bt good ting my knees and palm supported the fall.
If not, I mite haf landed on my butt which can be quite ‘scary’
I called my gynea emergency number after I realized no bb movement. Bt the receptionist said she will get doc to call me.
Guess my gynea was held up, and returned the call like 2hrs later. But I was not that worried then.. cos I feel the bb moving vigorously during church service
Keke

Bt I wonder next time if I m like ‘ready’ to pop liao.. scully my gynea oso take tat long to reply me, den I will be ‘anxious’ like ants in a hot wok!!??

Shazz, thanks for the lobang. Initially someone told me it is at bugis, but somewhere near the GUANG YIN MIAO?
So when is the best ‘time’ to buy? In August?

Good morning Mommies

How's your weekend?

Placenta,
Flos &amp; Sarahmay,
The placenta came in a dried up form. The TCM break it into pieces and told me to add it into the herbs which I had to brew for 2 hours (min.) The taste is bitter, sour...totally undrinkable. I had to gurped it down and down it with water or juices. The TCM was recommended to me by forum mommies. Apparently the TCM is very much sought after.

Discharge,
Koras, I do find myself getting discharge (it smells and is yellowish). I went for a test and it was tested normal, no infection. I just have to wash and keep the area clean. I guess it is normal to have discharge at our stage.

Class - Lesson 3,
Bigtoes, Mrs W revised Lesson 1 and 2 - breathing and exercise techniques in Lesson 3. Video lasted 25-30mins, I think she cut it short. Oh she also suggested chairs for all for the next lesson..yippee! My hubby thot the water birthing was gross..i think so too...v uncomfortable for both mommy and daddy..one point though...none of the mommies in the video screamed or shouted..all were quietly giving birth!! I am amazed..haha..

Nursing bras,
Those mommies who bought from Mothercare...are they any good? How many size(s) bigger should I go for?

NTUC bb sale
I went to AMK hub NTUC. Most diaper brands were on sale. I grabbed Nepia at $0.27 per piece..cheap?

<font color="0000ff">Flos
oohh.. now u seeing LC every 2 wks?? good to see him when his back lah. at least he noes ur condition at the back of his hands mah. TC Chang took some time to read thru my previous records. den started asking if I was ok. His scan tho more detailed than LC's but oso not much lah

Kiwis help mah? i'm into prunes but haven started drinking the prune juice I bot yet...

oh btw.. i think i'll be skipping the doc's talk oso

Storeberry
hehe.. cheap hor. tats y i purposely waited till i got doc's appt at TMC den drop by Novena Sq to buy. Not sure wat others they have, but I think they've got underwired ones oso. Not sure abt the price tho
drop by and have a look lor..

Yun
yeap yeap.. like all the other mummies suggested, do go for a check at ur gynae's. He should be giving u pessaries to insert to clear off the infection. Not to worry coz infection amongst preggy ladies are pretty common

Isabelle
I saw TC Chang on Friday wor
aiyoh.. he not around on Sat? den today u going alone? ur hb cannot accompany u there? Actually my hb doesn't accompany me to visits too. Unless it's the various milestones like OSCAR and Detailed Scan. Don't want him to wait so long. He's better off doing his things in the office.. muahahaha. But anyway, TC's waiting time to me is negligible, haha. I juz merely waited for abt 15 min den it's my turn le. For LC, I can wait for 1 hr and it's still not my turn

Goldfish
aiyoh.. sounds like a pretty bad fall. thankfully bb is all rite. muz be careful wor

Koras
haha.. i freaked out during the labour video too. so grossed out manz.. my hb was telling me, nxt time i go into labour, he dun wanna go in with me le... hmph

Yun &amp; Flos
yeap.. luckily Mrs Wong cut the video. Already found it quite long and repetitive, oops. and I couldnt make out a single word that those patients were mumbling about.</font>

Storeberry
You can buy those thinner nursng bras cos you will be using the breast pads inside to soak up leaks and so no peekaboo nipple problems lah...

Mrs T
welcome to the thread...pigmentation is normal. need to take extra care and wear sunblock (not on armpits lah, face etc)...colouring on skin may or may not go away...varies from person-to-person

koras, sasa &amp; bacon&amp;egg, i also find the labour video very gross. many times i had to look away from the screen. i think maybe cos i just had my lunch before the class and the scenes made me felt abit sick. :p i was telling my hubby that luckily i won't be seeing my own. ya the water birth one very gross, it look very uncomfortable, don't know why still got ppl choosing water birth.

goldfish, luckily you managed to break your fall with your palms and knees instead of falling back. must be careful when you walk. i also tend to be more clumsy and almost tripped a few times, now scared already so always look at the floor ahead while walking. :p

Mrs.T (mrst), my armpit skin is originally slightly darker. but now, even more so with visible darker lines at the creases. avoid looking at the armpit as much as i can to reduce my depression.

Goldfish, lucky baby no problem. we have to take extra care now. cos i think we're getting bigger, more imbalance. i find my body going out of control and trying to fall at different directions.

<font color="0000ff">Jessi
haha.. YES!!! we had our lunch JUST BEFORE going for the class too... faintz. hb was saying.. luckily he had lunch le.. coz it totally spoilt his appetite.

oh... i'm gonna ask a damn stupid qtn.. how come got ppl choose water birthing? How the bb breathe when they first enter this world if the delivery method is thru water birth???</font>

Hi MTB,

I have lightly used Medela Swing pump (used for only 1mth+) for sale. The pump come with Medela Cooler Carrier and 4 bottles. Pictures as attached.

Will provide receipt and warranty. Interested, Pls PM/ SMS me at 98397101

1538912.jpg
1538913.jpg

hi sasa:

Yes, it'll be now fortnightly he said.

It's supposed to be this week (fortnightly) and then in another 2 weeks time, so on an so forth until once a week.

Originally, he'd told me to do 4D this week, then go down to L1 to see him/TC Chang (if he is still on leave). Then come back again in 2 weeks time for the 32 wks growth scan and see him again.

Unfortunately, the L4 diagnostic image centre has no slot for me this week, so they had tried to settle for "IN BETWEEN" (i.e. 3 weeks from my last visit) to do BOTH the 4D as well as the growth scan

Yes yes, buy those golden Zespri kiwis, they are my fav...I dun like dried prunes. I also bought some dark Californian cherries too, some Pacific rose apples (which I'm munching on now as I type), etc. I mix one portion of cut kiwis with my Morning Post cranberry cornflakes with my yoghurt!! Sure poop!!!

VIDEO at L3: Those Brits are speaking Cockney...grrr...But I find it harder to comprehend Mrs Wong at L4 video on bathing. She speaks with some strange affected accent. My class' Nurse Chong speaks good English.

Bigtoes/sasa:
I think SCGS @ Whitley is very inconvenient for me. I dunno what Doc Talk that my own doctor can't tell me. What happens if Mas Selamat turns up in class?!! *joking*

bacon&amp;Eggs:
I dun mind eating goats' placenta, but another woman's one...uh-eh...!!!

I bot 2 unpadded ones from Mothercare. I've 2 other padded ones from M&amp;S. I think I'll get more unpadded ones cos I dun foresee myself stepping out of my house to BF after my 3 months of "self-imposed confinement".

Storeberry:
The bra SA told me you'll insert breast pads, so your nipples won't show up if u wear unpadded ones.

isa:
if u said u had worn those normal bras to BF, how did u manage to BF on a public MTR?!!! LOLOLOL :)

Goldfish:
Hv u ever thot of going to Chinatown to buy those herbs? There are good buys there too...My mom &amp; MIL are getting all those things u mentioned for me...

Welcome, Mrs T:
I have skin tags on my decollete/neck area, some mild blemishes near the armpits and areoles. Some veins around my hips. That's all. My gynae says they will most likely go away...

Jessi (jessi) - gross because of the pain/blood? Urgh...i already told hubby he better not faint when I am delivering!

Flos - "Some veins around my hips" - are these stretch marks? I have about 2-3 slightly pinkish veins at the waist as well (about 1cm in length)
, not sure if these are stretch marks, &amp; wondering if more will appear. The rest of my tummy is still okie otherwise.

sasa: "how come got ppl choose water birthing? How the bb breathe when they first enter this world if the delivery method is thru water birth???"

The babies were breathing thru your amniotic fluid prior to entering this world too right?!!! We were all once "amphibious"!!! And I noticed the NB was momentarily (no more than 3 seconds) submerged inside the bathtub only. Once he slipped out from the vagina, he was quickly carried out of the water to let the mommy hug him.

Big toes: Really!! they are blue/purplish spider veins! definitely not those silvery stretch marks which I already go prior to pregnancy, due to a sudden weight gain some 5 years ago!!!

DOC TALK AT SCGS:

Based on my vague recollection, the session is broken into 2 segments. First one is on pain relief (they asked an anaesthetician to give a talk) and the second is by a paediatrician on common problems affecting newborns. They will give out some freebies too (I remembered there were flashcards).

ooohh... ic ic, hehe. no wonder became 3 wks lah. but seriously after seeing TC Chang, i've come to realise tat i've wasted alot of waiting time seeing LC.. haha.

hey, those kiwis are exp i heard. my fren was telling mi she bot 4 for $4.20 leh... pengz. wah liaoz.. u tempting mi with all the sour fruittie now..

yeap yeap.. the talk at SCGS is inconvenient too.. haha.. so was telling hb.. dun wanna go le. he's super duper happy abt it lor. Mas Selamat disappear into thin air already lah..
he was oso saying, 1st few lessons of Mrs Wong oso shouldnt have gone. He onli interested in L4.. the one where he learn how to care for bb...</font>

bigtoes, i find the gross parts are during the crowning and the cutting of the umbilical cord. :p there's not much blood during the crowning but the "slimy" look is scary. my hubby was telling me that he should see more of such videos so he will be immune and won't faint on the actual day of my delivery. hehe..

Yah.. will be extra careful. I am just wearing a sports sandal oso kena tripped.
All the while I thot the onie shoe tat I may fall is those working shoes. How ironic
:S

Oh.. I see u all are talking abt nursing bra
Will our breast increase in size now huh? I dunno whether shld I buy now or wait lo..
I find my breast not beri big leh…
Are there any strapless nursing bra?

Seems like the birth videos made quite an impression wor! So far, I onie see it from internet. I asked my HB to see bt he say dun want!
Wat’s wrong wif guys huh? Why are they so grossed out??? Humpz!!!
I thot if my hubby see it, he can understand how much I will be going through mah.. sianz…

hmm.. like to ask the girls who attended the sunday mrs wong's class. she mentioned something about one of her class she won't be around cos she got some talk. did she said that it was the 27th? but i checked that 27th don't have class leh.. i thought our class ends on the 20th?

sasa: what do u mean "wasted a lot of time seeing LC"? The waiting time to see TC is shorter?

U can buy the green kiwis from China, which are cheaper but less sweet.

I also find L4 very interesting. And L5 will be impt too. We learnt how to bathe and fold nappies. My DH was rushing to buy those sterilised gauze and cotton balls after the class!

Lok: So do u think we should attend the Doc Talk? What is the info that is so special that I can't get from my own doc? My Nurse Chong already told us abt the GA/LA parts, as well as the PD's part (on jaundice, costs, treatments, etc.) I dun really need freebies.

<font color="0000ff">Goldfish
they prob trying to *shy* from it.. so tat nxt time they can say, aiyah, juz labour pains mah.. normal stomach pains wat. but den again, when the real day comes, think after seeing how much we have went thru, they will learn the appreciate us. Was watching the video, after bb pops out.. the hb usually kisses the wife - to thank her for all the efforts
i think it was sweet...

haha... my hb kissed me while watching the video too.. wonder wat it meant.. muahahha. isit to thank mi for coming so far?? hhhmm...

Jessi
hey.. now tat u mentioned, i think u are rite.. we dun have a class on the 27th. Our class ends on 20th. Don't have the letter they sent here with mi now. but i recorded it on my calendar. hhhmm.... anybody like to confirm?</font>

flos,

Up to u. Of course, u get the chance to ask questions in the talk. Agree that the location is a bit off on a weekday.

Lok: yeh, I know. I knock off at 6pm, and I dun drive to work. So braving thru the horrendous peak hour traffic on a Tues evening to the very congested Whitley Rd with an empty stomach is not something I look fwd to. Then after 9pm, I need to walk out of the school to wait for a cab to go home...sianz...

At least at AMK, there's a foodcourt &amp; supermarket, plus that MRT station and taxi stand...

yah manz.. i think i onli waited abt 15 mins to see TC... imagine each time i go see LC.. i can wait for 1.5hrs n still dun get to see him leh... sighz... could it b bcoz i always opt for the 12pm slot???

haha... its realli heartwarming to see our hb so proactive at times..

sasa: no leh...last visit, I waited for only 30min. I think I might know the "trick" liao. Regardless of your time of appt, the nurse will arrange your patient file in the order you register at L1 counter. Last visit, I was very early cos my dad dropped me off 30min in advance. I measured my weight and did the urine stick test earlier than usual...Was surprised that I got to see him quite soon.

You book your slot at 12pm? I thot the earliest for LC is 2pm? Those before 2 pm are the IVF/IUI and what nots patients at L5 Fertility Centre. Normal O&amp;G patients at at L1 and starts consultation only at 2pm right?

sasa de mouse - think after watching hubby sure got a bit scared to go in with us during giving birth sia
jeei - got one part more gross is that when mrs wong say the baby keep knocking that why the head so many bumb.

hi mommies:
dark armpits are surely embarassing as i like to wear sleeveless cos feel HOT HOT HOT all the times. i just hope it will go away...otherwise, not sure if there are any procedure can help to 'whiten' abit....apart from that, i also have heappppps of cellulitessssss around my thigh, butt area!! sigh! not to mention butt is getting bigger and bigger (dont mind about bigger boobs though

any of you has bought nipple cream (for breast feeding)? which brand is good? where to get?

i'm also looking to buy cloth nappy...think it is more environtmentally friendly....and also want baby's butt to breath abit...any of you know where to get?

wah... onli 30min??? his 1st appt of the day is 12pm coz before tat he's at 5th flr de.. but u noe.. LC always comes down at around 1.30pm. so end up everybody juz has to wait n wait for him... hehe.. i think i noe the 'trick' too. will juz go after 130 bah.. by den he would have finished seeing those ppl who came early at 12pm. i hope... :p

Jasime (piggy_jas)
dun think i'll b going wor... y u ask leh??</font>

Sasa
Me and my hb thought of not going as our car is OPC car. Don't waste $20 plus the timing. We will have to skip our dinner also in order to get there.

Goldfish
Glad you are ok after your fall...when u are ready to pop, dont need to call gynae, just go to the hosp! they will call the gynae when the time s right. Most of the time, gynae will check on you when u first get admitted then occasional checks, then at the end, usually doesnt come till you are ready to push...unless you are having really long labour or complications.

Took some photos yest..not "bloom shots" but can see the tummy! will upload to FB

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine (piggy_jas)
oohh.. ic ic. yah lah.. 'boh hua' tearing the coupon leh.. n the traffic there is horrendous so I would think twice about going there bah

Ava
faster load... wanna see.. muahahhaa

Goldfish (goldfish1395) : I was told the market near the guang yin temple gonna shift to the wholesale market side. so play safe, better go to the wholesale market. To make your trip worthwhile, make sure you have people to help you carry the stuff. Can buy things like sesame oil, rice wine as well on top of the red dates, dried longans etc. Perhaps can check with your mum/MIL/CL on what are the required items.

Speaking of that, my CL requested for a hot flask, or thermo pot, where you can store the red date tea throughout the day. My mum gonna passed me one. So you ladies may want to start checking with CL what they need. Eg, big pot, claypot for pig trotters etc.

<font color="119911">Mrs.T (mrst) - I got my nipple cream &amp; cloth nappy from Kiddy Palace. Didn't see that many brands for the cream, &amp; just got the Medela one since it said the cream is ingestible &amp; u don't need to wipe it off prior to feeding. Cloth nappies are quite standard, though I think Nurse Ling mentioned that TMC stocks them as well (she used them to swaddle the baby in Lesson 4 during bathing &amp; after that to keep them warm).

Dr's talk - will be going for this cos its not that far from the CBD anyways. Will update mommies who are skipping it. My session is on the 15th.</font>

ava: adan's expressions is still the same! haha ... love the picture of you and Adan, one of those sweet mother &amp; son moments. awww ... so sweet

<font color="0000ff">Mrs T
My mum helped me to buy the nipple cream. bot the medela / purelan brand one lor.. think this brand is quite common.. can be gotten almost anywhere bah...

Cloth nappies, i got mine at Cheong Choon. Can't recall how much le. but i didnt buy those branded ones like Pigeon.

Ava
wah.. so sweet leh the pic.. hehe.. how come Adan's so bored at the seaside?? oh btw.. ur bump looks HUGE!!!

Ava, Isabelle, Flos &amp; sasa: I think I didn't explain properly, I mean I want to buy those seamless, slightly padded bra so when we wear t-shirt, there won't be creases..

I am still seeing my gynae once every three weeks. Today while waiting for my turn, I felt weak &amp; uncomfortable... Think might be due to the hot weather, now resting at home..

Bb is still head up though, thought he has moved down already... His weight at 31 weeks is 1.649kg.

Ava: Adan looks so cute when he is bored!! Haha!!

Welcome Mrs T!! My armpit have also draken!