(2008/09) Sep 2008

lovebug
nope, compared to the desitin one we r getting on shazz's spree, it is ex. Cos I saw the size at the last lunch meet up and boy, is it HUGE!!! I'm only ordering 2 tubes. Last time for my first kid, I ended up with 2 small tubes extra which ended up expiring...

shazz/Mei: agree that bb girls stuffs are prettier. I couldn't find anything suitable so I left with only two "not that cheap" pants. My DH bot a lot of tops for him but few bottoms. SO I guess it's justifiable to pay $29.90 for two pairs? (self-consolation...)

Mei: I also like Fox Kids!! The designs are just as trendy. Do u know it's an Israeli brand?! Not many people know abt this

isabelle: Can we use the traditional Chinese char on bb's NRIC? What is the grace period given by ICA to confirm with them the name after delivery? 2 weeks?

Shazz: your spree got Lactacyd or not? Why r u all ordering the toothpaste now? Can NB brush their teeth/gums now? Can I get it later? Why so kan chiong? hheehe!

Mrs Yap: I've no recollection of the Chinese restaurant names at all! I think I know which one liao. It's the one with fantastic dimsum and beef horfun. I'll ask my aunt when she is back this summer.

<font color="119911">lovebug1822 (lovebug1822) - okie, see u at class later!
Shazz - i placed my order &amp; transferred money to u already

mickey (bbmouse) - good meeting up yesterday &amp; yes, my babymallonline stuff are in order. Hope to see u at the next gathering!</font>

Flos: Yes, I like FOX bb &amp; kids!! And yes, its a Israeli brand! Its affordable &amp; chic!

Dialect names: Any idea how to translate to hubby's dialect group? Don't know whether his parents know or not...

Sahzz &amp; Mickey: Yday couldn't sleep, think have alot of thing inside my mind &amp; bb was very active as well. I was waking up like every one or teo hours.. Will take a nap later...

Lovebug: TMC desitin cream is the 2oz one, the ones we got from Shazz's spree is the 4oz one.

Rachel: Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags and I bought some cheap make up like mascara...

looks like the babies are keeping alot of mummies awake and giving us problems when it comes to sleeping!

I read that most babies are active at night cos they do not know whether it's day or night. In the day time, when we're moving and walking, the babies are rocked to sleep. That's why when we're sleeping, they're active at play! But they actually spend a fair bit of time sleeping though.

Flos: We got the toothpaste cos it's cheaper than SGP. The same thing we got cost $21 here but we paid less than $8 for it during the spree. Yes you can get later if we're having a spree then. ;) I'm gonna use the rubble bristle brush that comes in the pack to clean baby's tongue.

Not including Lactacyd in the spree cos it can be rather heavy. I saw Watson selling a twin pack at good price, plus last weekend they had additional discount off the promo prices!

Pampers Active Baby Stages Jumbo Box Pack:
Carrefour is selling 2 boxes at $55, very good deal for those who're supporters of Pampers as this is one of the best prices around!
However the promo is only for M, L and XL

2 boxes for $55
M88pcs/box
L76pcs/box
XL68pcs/box

Hi MTB,

I have the following Brand New items for Sale: -

1. 2 tubes of Mustela Vitamin Barrier Cream at $11/each (bought at Taka for $14.30 each).

2. 24 pcs of cloth nappy for $16

If interested, pls PM or email me at [email protected]

PS. Will give out NB size diapers (sample so it is individual wrap), disposable teats (for NB) and 10 pcs of breast pads. Thanks!

flos
kinda strange, but the person asked my husband to write the name on the cert himself. So it's handwritten in pen! I wld have thot they cld key in chinese characters! Not sure abt the grace period. Can't remember but it's prob ard that duration.

storeberry
i just go by sound in dialect and choose the spelling i like most! Hee... My daughter's chinese name is Zi-En, and I just left it at that cos it happens to sound similar in dialect too. But I changed the surname to the dialect form.

shazz
my mum is gonna go get the L sized ones at Carrefour today! She was telling me abt it yesterday!
Too bad it doesn't come in NB and S size...

Isabelle: your mum is so sweet! They sell the NB and S sizes but never in the box pack I think cos babies are supposed to outgrow them faster. But I think it's so easy to use up 88 pieces of diapers for NB! hehe

Flos: The Registrar for Birth/ Birth cert/ IC doesn't have traditional characters. At least, my SIL tried this year to put the trad characters but were told the system only has 'jian ti'. But of cos, can still teach our kids the 'fan ti'.

PAMPERS ACTIVE: THis is the one in green or red packaging?

DESITIN: I read from some baby care website that Desitin Original is more for treating diaper rash, but Creamy is more for prevention because their ingredients are slightly different. NOt sure if this is right.

FOX: The Fox in Israel has way more designs that those in SG. The kids and babies collection in SG is cute tho.

SarahMay: I'm not good at differentiating between the packaging. But I heard Pampers did some repackaging recently, and renamed their range.

Check out this site for details:
http://www.pampers.com.sg/pro_h.htm

From what I gathered:
Under Pamper Premium Range
Newborn &amp; S range = Cotton Care
Pampers Active = Fit &amp; Dry

Cheaper range:
Pampers Dry = Pampers Baby Dry

Dialect vs mandarin
eih, actually dialect (or provincial languages) dont have a writings system of its own. that is why the orthography will vary. all make use of mandarin writing system when Emperor Qin unified china.

i really like dialect names actually. i vary the spelling (coz it wont be standardised anyway) but the sound must remain the same. so my son, is Chih-Yu (智语). we were quite particular about it actually..the translation part
i wanted to give my daughter a dialect name, but none work out. her chinese name has been decided as 祈慧, which if translated to hokkien will definitely bear the sound of the new zealander national bird or fruit... (kiwi)...so we gave up. most likely her name is just Qi'Hui.

so big brother will have dialect names and she will not.

Hi! fyi, There's a big sale at Maternity Exchange (@ Marina Square) starting Tuesday, from 1 July -30 July. Up to 75% off maternity and nursing wear. You can even get additional 5% off if you present the print out from the singapore motherhood home page.

<font color="0000ff">l'l CY
hey hey.. i emailed u wor.. but didnt get a response from u...

Spring Sale
heard from my fren Spring is having sale too.. perhaps can check it out. sighz.. if i can walk, i'll surely go check out de..

Isa: Handwrite your bb's Chinese name on the birth certificate?! Don't they use Chinese Word to type it in??!! No joke?!

KATE SPADE SALE: There's been a 50% sale at KS since Fri. Not sure if anyone of u were there. However, diaper bags are not on sale, so what's new?

shazz: How much is Lactacyd selling at Watson's? It's $8 per bottle at TMC pharmacy.

toothpaste: ok, I'll buy that later.
desitin: I've 4 tubes to finish! and 2 more tubes of mustela vitamin barrier creams!! hahah!

sasa: Why are u buying maternity wear now? I dun think I'm going to stock up on nursing wear cos I'm just going to BF for the 3 mths at home. Front-opening sleepwear or normal tees will be fine. Just pull it up, like what Ava did!!!

Did u discuss abt your preferred method of delivery with Dr Cheng yet? I said I want to pick a date to do c-section or induced delivery. He gave me that "How come?" look. He discouraged me from going for either, much to my surprise! So I asked him do u mean rush down to TMC when my water bag bursts and page for u in the wee hours to deliver my bb? He replied that I should experience natural delivery instead cos that's part and parcel of pregnancy/motherhood!

Grrrrr...

Hi Flo,
Like the comment from your gynae. Sound like a very old school gynae. "Part and parcel of pregancy... "
Anyway, the Kate Spade sales has started quite a while and i did check it out. They only carry like diaper bag 4 model in Singapore and they are all not on sales. Hence I got my friend to buy for me from states and ship to me. I have just received my parcel (KS bag one of them) today

Oh, just to share ... There is a small baby fair in marina square on friday till tomorrow. Nothing much, (very small compare to motherhood fair). But the magazines (young parents and young parents baby) are giving away a goodie bay. QUite worth it... a magazine of $5 with lot of goodies....
Guess what, after i full furnish my nursery...now i receive a letter saying i won a Mishka and Maven baby crib from the "young parents baby magazine".... ERhhh... too gancheong to buy everything so early...

sasa...
didnt receive any emails from you. but i emailed you sometime back. did you receive it???sorry sorry leh...can make it next week to your place...can pm me your addy and times available?

congrats Jo Jo on winning the baby crib!

Flos: I can't recall the price. sorry, not much of a help.

Maternity Wear: some mummies will balloon towards the last 2-3 weeks before we pop, so our normal clothes, which are not maternity wear may not fit us anymore, and we have to wear those true blue maternity clothes, ie, those which are roomy enough, with tie strings to give you some shape so you won't look like a tent.

Shazz: Thanks so much!!! Funds transferred &amp; emailed you!

Jojo: Wow your are so lucky!!! Anyway you can sell off whichever crib you don't like or you are welcome to dump at my house! Wahaha!! And you know what's in the goodie bag?

I hope I won't need to wear those true blue maternity clothes!!

Flos: Go for natural 1st lah.. So what's your take now after what your gynae said? But if emergency c-sec then double costs also...

sian my leg keep like want to cramp like that. my hubby masssage for me seem also not much use

the vein inside like keep tightening bit by bit

Drugstore spree: spree hit spree cap, will stop taking orders!

Payment received:
28 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK storeberry S$21.89
28 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK GAIL S$7.75
28 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK Aileen S$23.72
28 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK LI MAY S$29.20
28 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK GAIL S$7.40
27 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK twendy S$28.99
27 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK Milky S$7.39
27 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK VICKIE S$22.66
27 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK GAIL S$24.50

Drugstore Spree Update: Order placed, used vPostUSA in the end as I read that Borderlinx will include the shipping cost from Drugstore to Boerderlinx and also the cost of shipping from Borderlinx to Singapore. Our shipping is free within US, but the problem is we do not know how much the shipping from Borderlinx will be, and there are people who kena 7% GST because of the way Borderlinx include the shipping charges. I do not want to take the risk, hence went with vPostUSA instead. Hope to receive our loot before our 2nd gathering!

flos
yep yep. Handwritten... Bleah... Looks so out of place in the cert!
Btw, if u induce i heard it may be more intense cos ur body may not be ready for birth yet. And if u put IV drip, it will cause ur contractions to be even more intense. U sure u wanna induce???
My colleague induced when she was 2cm dilated and she was in pain for a darn long time!

flos, isabelle
but the chinese name you can process it in word first then give it to the counter. they will print in the chinese characters for you. but you haveto do it yourself lah...they wont do it for you...

Hi Storeberry,
I will collect the baby crib and see how big is it ? Or how much i like it, maybe i will put it on the first floor if it matches my living room deco so that I can still do something while baby is sleeping closeby........ Else I will most likely give away to the next friend who got pregnant....too lazy to set up and sell it...

For the goodie bag, there are milk powder, detergent, bleach, baby bathing toy book, a mug, car sign, kitchen wipes and some other stuffs.... To me, i buy the magazine regularly and read anyway so it is worth it.... almost like the magazine is free now... with so much freebies.

Shazz, thank you on your congrats... Actually I was hoping to win the mothercare products contest which worth abt $1500... (I enter both the mothercare and mishka &amp; Maven contest from the young parent baby magazine)... Still happy to win something..

I heard from my friend the handwriting of chinese name on the birth cert is last year thingie while they are not able to input the chinese character into the computer. But now it available accordingly to my friend. Not sure how true lah....

For the first month goodies, I have done some research earlier, these are the ones that i have shortlisted to share with you girls.

http://www.sweetsurprise.com.sg/
http://www.babybliss.com.sg/products.html
http://www.gobi.com.sg/babies_first_month.html
http://www.sweetestmoments.com.sg/fullmonth/Default.aspx
http://www.melrose.com.sg/
http://www.mytreasurebox.com.sg/products.htm
http://www.cupcakedivinity.blogspot.com/

Personally, I will go for sweet surprise mostly likely ...

Anyone of you throwing any full month baby celebration ? I have been searching for a while, i have attended two at furama hotel before...but not very impress... However i am aware that Marriot has a package for it as well... share with you girls if you are interested.
http://events.singaporemarriott.com/

storeberry: U mean u haven't bot any maternity clothes yet? I bought some larger pieces in my first tri, so I guess I've enuff to last me till EDD.

<font color="ff0000">What did u wear when u were admitted to hospital? And what did u wear when u were discharged?</font> Of course, these questions are for those experienced moms. A dress or two-piece?

Isa: I can't believe they don't hv Chinese Word software to key the chars in! But for NRIC, they use Word right? What if your handwriting sucks?!

Lilboymom: I dun understand what u mean...So I type the Chinese chars on a piece of paper, then bring that to the birth registration counter and show it to them, so that they know how to key into the system and print the whole BC out neatly?

Why don't they train Chinese ICA officers to learn how to type Chinese?

Hi Kora,
I have the same problem like you last week on the leg cramp. However I went for prenatal massage and it is much better...
I know how it feels... no matter how much my hubby massage, it still not working...
Maybe you can consider a massage to relieve the pain

<font color="119911">Hey Sunrays - I saw ur 3D photos on FB
hehe, so cute! Charlotte is growing well - already 1.6+kg &amp; with chubby cheeks! Btw, would be cool if you pop on 28/8/08. We wanted that date as well, but now my C is booked for 30/8/08 instead.</font>

flos
i did mine at the hospital, so not sure if ICA has chinese software or not. but as far as i know, you need the soft copy of the chinese characters in Word. you bring the osft copy there then they will print it out on your bb birth cert for you...

hi all.. i'm supposed to bring my pupils to the zoo on thursday but i read from a book that its not advisable for pregnant women to go to the zoo.. what do you ladies think?

cloud: I think it's ok to go to the zoo. So long as you don't come into contact with faeces of the animals, and even if you do, be sure to wash your hands clean before you consume any food or drinks.

lilboymum, flos,
will go check out the chinese handwriting this time. Otherwise it looks so ugly on the birth cert!

Cloud
I just took my daughter to the zoo about a mth ago! I dun remember being particularly concerned abt hygiene either. I think it's ok...

sunrays, bigtoes
i did think that 28/8/08 is a nice date to pop too! But hmm... if i really do so on that date, and I'm not gg for scheduled C-sect, TMC might not have room for me!!!

lilboymom/isa: I just checked with my bro. They hv the son's Chinese name typed neatly onto the BC 1.5yrs ago.

How long ago was your bb born isabelle?

If everyone brings his own thumbdrive there to get the staff to upload the Chinese name chars, wouldn't they need to protect their PCs from all kinds of viruses external thumbdrives can potentially carry with them to paralyse their network?!

sianz today went down to robinson to get mattress for my play yard.. end up they run out of stock le.. 4get to ask them to reserve for me.. anyone know where else can i get.. cox the measure a bit weird- its 26 by 38

<font color="0000ff">Flos
eermm.. no leh.. was the topic brot up by Dr Cheng or u talked to him abt it? hhmm.. actually all these while after speaking to him, i've come to realise tat he's actually quite pro-natural (literally natural). juz like his father, he believes in natural remedies like ginger, not eating so much beanie stuff, blah blah blah, instead of prescribing medication.

so what's ur decision now? still going ahead with choosing a date? if u still wanna choose a date, i think as ur gynae he cannot object to it too wor, tho he can try to influence u lah. but if u are adamant on it, think he cannot do anything

I would like to try natural birth. but like u mentioned, i think i will panic esp if labour happens in the middle of the nite</font>

koras (koras): can try Kiddy Palace, think BabySafe got that measurement. Their 15% for public and 20% for members sale ends on 30 June.

isabellem flos...
yes,they have the service all along. it's just for my first born, we didnt know that you can bring your own soft copy.in fact we didnt even know you have to write in the chinese names. so end up having to write it loh...darn ugly lah...what to do???!!!!

koras, ya kiddy palace in toa payoh have the babysafe mattress for playpen in that size. i just went there yesterday to get mattresses for my baby cot and playpen. but the salesgirl recommended me to get the normal foam mattress for my playpen cos it's thicker than the babysafe's one which is only 1.5" thickness.

talking abt chinese names in birth cert ya? when my son was born in 2005, they didn't have the software for inputting chinese characters. so hb practised and practised at home before he wrote it on the birth cert, which he said, still turned out ugly. then in 2006 when my girl was born, he thought the same would happen, so he pre-empted by printing her chinese name on stickers first to paste it on the birth cert. then when he did it at the hospital, turned out they could input chinese characters liao. so i think mummies needn't worry about having to write chinese names in the BC. just make sure you write clearly or you can try like what my hb did, do a print out of it (he printed in many different font size) for the people there to see.

on friday, i attending an ex colleague's wedding and checked into swissotel for the night using hb's feed at raffles card. then we got upgraded to the harbourview classic room. such a fantastic sight of singapore... though it would have been nicer if the IR was completed. cannot get out of singapore so can only go stay in local hotel... but it was such good fun. i'll upload the pics onto facebook.

first mth celebration:
i ordered my cakes from gobi previously. very nice and rich. but rather ex. so if there are a lot of pple to give to... it might not be the best idea.

OH!! i went to the times booksale today and managed to pick out a book detailing a lot of the different meanings of words for names and suggestions of names. finally came up with some ideas for cadence's chinese names. if anyone does need to borrow the book, i'd be most willing to lend.