(2008/09) Sep 2008

Cloud: thanks for the info. Have you decided on the ward?

RXmom: I also like to ask people how to write their chinese/japanese names too

wingkei: I am not sure too..but i am interested to know as well. Sorry, I may have missed some of the earlier posts, may i know which model of medela pump have you bought (I am still checking out). Thanks.

Rabbit, I have not bought any Medela pump yet, but I am looking at the Medela Pump In Style backpack. Maybe we can exchange pointers on where to get the cheapest ones.

question - is there a person at the registar who can help to translate hanyu pinyin and dialect names for us? or we have to self-DIY and just register the name at the counter? meaning we have to get ready the HYPY, dialect name, english name and name in chinese character...

bacon&egg,

I don't think they do the translation cos there are so many dialect groups e.g. I doubt many will know how to translate Mandarin into Shanghainese. Also, what if the person at the counter is malay or indian?

Sarah: I email to your yahoo one but I PM you already. Which email should I keep? Yah! I wrote down some of the prayers in my little black book to remind & to read thru.

Lanolin: PM you alr!! Enjoy!

Shazz & Limay: Reagrding the Desitin cream, I find that my mum using it quite fast for my nephew, but my MIL uses it for about 8mths!! And its the 2oz one!

storeberry (storeberry) - okie thanks
Shazz - i think i will order maybe 2 tubes thru u & the milk storage bags. Will fill in the details & transfer money to u tomorrow (don't have the DFA token with me at work).

hi gals..
long time never come in already.. been in and out of this site.. Seem like u mummies having another outing... really wish to join u all this time round.. do keep me posted can?? tys
to whoever organising.. kekee.. my email: [email protected]

Mrs Yap,

Please dont tell me u are my relative!!! *fainted*

At least the area in Amsterdam you mentioned is not familiar. Think my dad started out in Hoensbroek area.

Lok
haha... maybe distant relative? Cos most of my relatives, cousins are scattered all over the world leh... keke... But there might still be a possibility. Thats why i am saying your Ah Bu might know my Ah Bu.
BTW can u speak WZ?

Lok
Since i grew up with my Ah Bu, my WZ is quite good. Its good in the sense me and my sis can communicate in public w/o letting others know the contents of our conversation.
Actually its not easy to be a WZ, everything must do swee swee, cos they are quite traditional.

Mrs Yap,

Unless there is a WZ sitting next to u (like me!). Haha! Yah, very traditional and I think everything talk abt "mian zi".

Storeberry,

I read the book on Supernatural birth before. Very interesting but also need a lot of faith/courage to follow through. So i still opted for epidural!

Storeberry: Funny lei...My PM addy is the yahoo addy but I dunno why I didn't get the mail.

Anyway, about books, I just got one about baby's first year that I find quite useful.

"Your Baby's First Year: Week by Week" by Glade B. Curtis, M.D>, M.P.H. and Judith Schuler, M.S.

Remember someone asking about Baby Whisperer. Has anyone got any commments on that?

What other books do you ladies have that you highly recommend?

SarahMay
I remember borrowing a book called "From Birth To Five Years" which was quite useful. Author is Mary Sheridan...

wingkei: Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage bag is compatible with Medela pumps and most other brands. Many mums likes it. Can read reviews here: http://www.amazon.com/review/R27RMV2Q0ILV2U

Lok: I think Supernatural childbirth doesn't necessarily mean not using epidural as God will met us at our level of faith, if our faith is that epidural is a God sent to help us have a smooth delivery, then that's also supernatural!

flos, i work for a dutch firm too! in fact, ur company is my client. i went to ur office b4 for a meeting, with ur legal person sitting in, she's damn cocky. went to holland twice for work (the last being may this yr). so not used to the shops closing early at 5:30pm, where got time for me to shop after my work? but still managed to buy some stuff from H&M and other shops on sunday :)

ladies, i wish to join ur gathering @ canele. sat afternoon would be a bit tricky cos my gal got a class at 4-5plus. let's see what plan you ladies eventually settle with.

wingkei:

I saw from mothercare at KKH that there is 15% discount last weekend..not sure when the offer will end. I am quite interested in Pump in Style but it is quite expensive and I worry that it may end up as white elephant (in case I do not have much milk). Still considering if i shd get Swing..serve some purpose and won't end up being an expensive white elephant.

Shazz: thanks for clarification

koras

u only gain 900g till now? wow...me just went for my checkup today n my weight gain till now at 30week is 4kg n baby weight 1.9kg...i almost fainted when i heard 1.9kg....coz i wana try vbac so got to keep my bb weight low so as to have higher chances...4get to ask my gynae if 1.9kg is overweight anot...haiz...

Rxmom: "Li Guang Yao"? *FAINT* I think generally we find dialect names so "awful-sounding" becos most of us are teochews/ hokkiens. But if it's in Canto, strangely, it doesn't sound THAT bad
heheh! Matter of perception I guess...

Twendy: Wrong number! I dun work for a Dutch firm lah! I was just checking with Lok who is working near Robertson Walk, where Shell office is located!

Did u go to Bijenkorf Dept Store and Magna Plaza?

Lok/Mrs Yap: My grandparents' was at Oss. Got one at Roosendaal, another at Amsterdam, another at Rotterdam. One cousin in The Hague, another at Nijmegen.

sasa de mouse: I went to visit Dr Cheng just now and he estimated based on only the Femur Length and Abdominal Circumference to derive my bb's rough weight, which is 1.174kg at 28wks. I checked BabyCenter and it shows that my bb's wt is within range (2.25 lbs).

I've gained 1.7kg in the past 3 weeks.

Jaymickey: I hv also booked my 3D/4D scan at week 31+ (in 3 wks time). That will be combined with my 8th mth detailed scan which is compulsory. I thought might as well do it together instead of going to TMC twice...

shazz/Mei: I bought 2 pairs of Zara pants for my bb today! Still very expensive IMO...$29.90 after discount per pair. Tsk tsk...

TMC pharmacy selling Lactacyd at $16 for 2 bottles (expiry date 2011). Didn't buy...not sure if I wanna use Lactacyd or not...

lanolin (lanolin): I got the book, God's Plan for Pregnancy from The Rock boockshop at Suntec, but it's sold out at the moment and my friends are looking for it too. Just got back my book from my friend and started reading the last part again, about the delivery to build my faith.

Flos: I got 3 Zara tops for my baby today! But me cheapo, bought the tops that are $4.90 each! ;) Yes the pants are so cute but still so exp at $29.90, I had to put back that cute little white pants. The selection at Liat Towers is really limited. But I snagged a size L butterfly sheer top and a tube dress from the marina outlet today. I was eyeing it before the sale but it was at $99 so I skipped, but got it today at $59, happy!

Millie: can email me your order so that it's easier for me to tally? my account no and details of the spree format is in the archive, for yesterday. thanks dear!

cloud: I read somewhere in this forum that some mummies are saying that the Fresh Scent one is better.

Flos...
Talking about baby's weight makes my blood boil.
At least your gynae bothers to estimate yr bb's weight base on the Femur Length and Abdominal Circumference. Mine jus simply gives a general weight... Next appt if he still cant give me a satisfactory consultation, I will give it to him. Show him my pregnancy hormones can drive me crazy too.

Talking about Rotterdam, there is a famous chinese restaurant called "Dong Hai"... serves v nice food esp the morning Dim Sum.

millie

coz during the initial first 5 mths+, my weight been going down n didnt really gain much as no appetite n puking n my dd went in hospital for 1 week..only since dis visit then increase in weight..

shazz: where got Zara tops at $4.90? I didn't see any! I was at the Liat Towers one after my appt.

Which one did u go to? Great World or MArina Sq?

Mrs Yap: Actually, u need the Humurus length (the forearm), and the head circumference to tbe more exact. Mine was really a rough estimate. He reckoned that I'd be doing a detailed one at week 32, so he just aga-aga.

Donghai? Opened by HK or mainlanders? When was the last time u were there? Mine was like '02, can't rem much already...I lost my handbag at the diamond factory cafeteria u know. damn unpleasant trip that time.

Mei: I spent only $14.70 nia!

Flos: have, it's all on the miserable single rack of clothes for baby boys! Together with the polo shirts, near the cashier, at Liat Towers children section. Marina outlet got no kids stuff

it's ok mei, cos u guys haven bought alot of clothes yah? I got him the tees cos I realised other than the white clothes he gonna wear at home, he dun have much nice clothes! hehe

paiseh, flos. there are too many posts for me to follow until i got lost.

regarding desitin cream, i havent even used up 1 tube for my gal. i dun apply regularly on her. why should i do that when her bum is so "healthy"? i prefer for her bum to go "natural", without applying any additional chemicals. i only use it when her bum is red. i treat the cream as a cure, rather than as prevention.

need to get new ones cos the old tube expired already. so shazz, keep a lookout for my order!

Flos
Donghai has been around for many years le. Owner is from HK... heard my mum said now change to mainlander boss, quality drop liao. The last time i went to holland is yr 01...

Meie
your hb so funny. I'm sure he gonna be a very loving papa. My hb will try ways to stop me from overbuying. So i am glad the he wasnt around during the motherhood fair.

shazz
We have a lot of clothes.. that time went to Fox Warehouse sale also bought a lot, but those really go-out kind of clothes.. not much lah.. hee.

MrsYap
My hubby very enthusiastic over baby stuff. Only thing he don't allow me to stock is diapers.. lol.

storeberry
me has never ordered from cupcake divinity before. But saw some mummies feedback tat it's not bad. Was thinking or ordering for my colleagues of i dun manage to make any myself. Plus it's actually quite cheap! So it's worth it!

qiuling
guess what? Because this is preg-related, it cannot be counted under hospitalisation leave! Cannot take hosp leave for preg and also the maternity leave in the same yr! But fortunately, they count it under some other MC scheme, that's why after soooo many weeks of MC, I still have one day of paid MC leave. That's the silver lining! So it's not bad lah actually.

Dialect VS HYPY
Me will go for Dialect or which ever looks nicer. Hee hee. But surname definitely will be in dialect cos it actually reflects the 'roots' thing. U know, in hypy u can;t tell which dialect u're from. And I will use traditional chinese characters too cos I think they look much nicer, unlike simplified version. ALtho my chinese is half past six!

bigtoes
hmmm... i haven't used jap in a darn long time! Took it up in uni again, got the JLPT 2 cert by chance, and now I can't even read simple instructions on the food stuff in the supermkt!!! How pathetic! All my Jap is the broken broken type... U know wat i mean rite?
Everytime I wrote a letter to my jap fren, i needed dictionary and grammar dictionary. Now I'm so lazy and busy too, the last letter i wrote, three quarters was in Eng and I thot never mind lah, let her go figure. She did stay in Australia for a year after all! haha

RX mom
Me is teochew too!

lanolin
i think i read the Supernatural Childbirth book two yrs back. It was all right, didn't really inspire me that much.
But yep, Shazz, i dun rem it saying that it means we dun use epidural.

wingkei
u can't re-use breastmilk storage bags. Have to throw. They're not meant to be re-used.

good morning mummies!
yawn. BB was moving and kicking so much last night, kept me up! he was like pinching me as I sleep on my sides, and then I had no choice but to sleep on my back, he would kick! arghhh ... he woke me up twice with his stronger kicks!

Shazz: My bb too.. He's been kicking esp hard at night. Hey, one mummy reminded me to talk to the baby before we go to bed, telling the baby it is sleeping time. We better do this, cos I'm afraid didi is going to take a longer time to tell day and night, and to be able to sleep through the night like chae chae..

Desitin
I'm only ordering the original this time. yes it is smellier but the active ingredient is of a higher percentage (40% as compared to 10% in the creamy) and has less "fillers" (wax, aloe vera etc) so feel it's more worth while...in fact i'm ordering 6 tubes!

I had a bad night sleep too...so not going swimming today. Lie on left, hip pain; lie on right, hip pain; lie on back, can't breathe...tummy overstretched, red asnd itchy now and my body temp has finally decided to go UP...i think it happened earlier in last preg...so was sleeping in 23 deg aircon without balnkets last night...still warm and had to keep adjusting pillows and bolster so that i lie on/hold on to the cooler parts. SIGH...

Ava: Are you placing the orders with me? I've never used the original actually.. Maybe I shd give it a try.. I heard feedback it doesn't feel as thick.. ??

Hey, by the way, you notice they increased the price? We only discovered when trying to place the orders.

Just for your information gals:
i saw desitin creamy selling at TMC, 2 boxes for the price of $20 bucks!
not sure if that is cheap.

Gals do you encounter not getting any mail notifcation from the forum into your email? I haven't been getting it at all!!!

Bigtoes: I see you at class today!!!!