(2008/09) Sep 2008

alabone, thanks for the heads up.

Hi Koras
Hope u can overcome the blues soon.. as a temp measure, u can try to eat mood-lifting food like chocolates! (If it works on u)

Tummy rumbling
DO u all feel tat the tummy rumbling sometimes seems to be ‘extended’ all the way to vagina area huh? Like suddenly u feel that ur vagina area like got rumbling effect?? Dunno whether issit ‘air’ trying to escape from the outlet or nt leh.. anyone sharing similar experience?

Me and hubby has kinda of finalized our bb Chinese name to be: 苏毅腾
I know it looks complicated to write bt other than that, does it appears to sound funnie or crappy in any other way? I am trying to make it ‘fool-proof’ in terms of inviting sarcastic remarks next time … so please feel free to ‘suan’ if it sounds funnie leh!

flos,

bath everyday ah.......hmmm... maybe not for me as i dowan my whole body to contact water everyday.

for me, i bath every 3 days, but i have a big face towel to clean my breasts before/after every BF-ing. buy enuff nursing bras to change everyday or whenever it's stained.

i also buy a big fan to fan myself during confinement, coz i dun like the fan to blow at me all day long.

Opps... My email is to ask you about the OOS item: Nuby No-Spill Cup w/ Soft Spout & Handles, is this item deducted from the amount I am going to pay you? Thanks!

Thanks dear!

BB like very quiet today leh, shake my tummy then he move abit then no movement liao.. Abit worried..

storeberry
maybe he is sleepy... at least he still moving right? Wait till night time when he got enuff of his sleep he probably will move more.
My baby always move at night the most. Sometimes in the middle of the night when i go toilet can also feel her moving

<font color="119911">Mommies - am back from Korea. The SIA counter person was inspecting my belly &amp; gyne's letter for a while before issuing my boarding pass! The flight there was quite turbulent, baby Kieran was moving alot (maybe he was afraid, poor thing!)...So tired, flew in early this morning, then had a bankers boardroom session till after lunch!

Anyway, what did i miss - i read something about the next gathering - are we fixed on the venue/date/time? Can we not do it on Sat afternoons thou - and are hubbies welcomed?

storeberry (storeberry)- have something sweet drink (milo etc)? I notice that the baby is usually very active about 1/2 hr after meals</font>

Hi Mrs Yap: Thanks! Think he hiccup-ing now, have rhythmic mm but just that mm abit soft cos Usually bb move quite abit one &amp; can feel strong mm..

Ok limay: I go &amp; get a cup of Milo now.. Thanks!

Hello everyone!

I'm back from my 3D scan... spent a long time there, around 2+ hours. As usual, my baby was facing down. And he was sleeping. So I had to walk around &amp; go back for the scan half an hour later. I went to the toilet &amp; shook my belly &amp; stomped around. Lucky he turned to face upwards.. but alas, both his hands were covering his face. We had to poke &amp; nudge him &amp; talk to him before he finally put ONE hand down.. finally he put both hands down when I shook my belly violently.. lol... then we managed to take a few shots of him.

Anyway, my baby weighs 1.28kg at 28w5d.

Hi aloevera, fan is actually not too good, as it'll cause rheumatism later. According to the TMCs, it's actually worse to have a fan blowing directly at you, than an air-con room. Cos air con room is a just a "cooling room" but it's actually not blowing wind directly into your skin...

Just my 2 cents worth...

Postnatal massage
This is the contact of my massage lady. She has done for a few of my friends.

http://www.cheerfulmama.com/our-partners#hong-feng-lian/

I dined at Bakerzin a couple of months ago &amp; filled in some lucky draw as I ordered some drink that was on promotion. I just received a letter, I won 1st prize.. haha.. got the bartender kit, t-shirt, 2 bottles of the pink grapefruit syrup &amp; $150 Bakerzin vouchers..

rachel,
i i'm refering to those manual tat i will fan using my hand, not electronic fan. =P just those fans we can get from pasar-malam.. my mom wont allow me any fan la, she's very strict. even aircon is set at 25C and she will turn it off in the middle of my sleep..@___@|||

stef,
i haven't book the massage with them yet. but must books soon coz they have promo this mth. like many good reviews leh.

hi bigtoes,
how was korea?? you just came back and went to work already???? gosh. isn't that super tiring???

mei,
you are soooooo lucky!!!

aloevera: Gosh, manually fan until ur hand "sng sng" wor...I will go for the AIRCON. I just serviced it last week.

Mei: Your boy is bringing u loads of good luck!!! got free voucher some more!

Bigtoes: welcome bk. Why must they survey your bump leh? U hv the Fit to travel cert dun u?

IKEA Sleep sacks: did u all read in ST yesterday abt those zippers that fall off the bb sleep sacks? better dun buy Ikea cot mobiles, sekali all the animals start falling down onto your bb!

Stef&amp;Sean: Never heard of mayamummy. Did you try Mrs Chuah from Bodyworks? My friend highly recommends her. She also is trained midwife and from what I know she does it for hospitals. Her home visit prices are rather good. If not, you can try the chiropractor too! I’m going to one when I get back next month. My preggy friend went and she says it is very good! Very shiok...but a bit pricey la.

Goldfish: That was what I read la. But for me, doesn’t work either. Getting a bit moodier these days. Hehe.

Flos: I’m sure got good quality imitations, but must go hunt lor. No time nor chance already. Agree with the keeping clean bit during confinement. Though sponge bathing is ok right? As long as we keep skin clean.

Shazz: So you haven’t ordered the Skip Hop bag yet?

Alabone: Hehe. Your rustic nirvana experience seems like typical of ppl who go try it. I cannot stand the hard-sell type. All the good the massage did will just disappear when ppl hard sell me packages.

Mei: I’ve heard of cheerful mama! How much is the postnatal massage package? And your bb is doing great! Congratulations too on your win! Wah! I can just imagine all the yummy cakes you can pig out on! Hehe

Mickey: Got the refund! Thanks! Similar to your number ah. What are the chances of that happening?!! Quick! Buy 4D!

Storeberry: No worries! Babies have off days too I think. Somedays they just don’t move as much as others. But if you are really worried, can call your doc’s clinic to check.

Rachel: So a/c room is ok during confinement?

Hi Sarah, well.. when you are in the hospital, they have air con too right? So I guess it's really individual case.. just like when you'll start to wash your hair, etc.. But aircon will be less "harmful" than direct fan blowing at you.

alabone,
yeah. must book soon to get the promo rates. i think i will be doing with them. maybe take the 7 or 10 day pacakge.

their package includes the hot stones thing which i never done before
so can try them out

Alabone: You mean mayamummy is good? Their rates look really attractive! how soon do we have to pre-book them for postnatal massage? My MIL tells me to better do the massage. Hehe.

me down with gastric flu. So suay...
And i have hardly any days of paid MC left too...

rachel
thx for ur offer for the avent philips pdts. Sorry I cldn't reply u on mon to tell u i decided not to get anything. Had a sudden bout of dizziness at work and had to go home. Cldn't do anything thereafter... and tue somehow cldn;t log onto forum the entire day... So sorry...
Hope u got all the stuff u wanted to get though.

Sunrays
me confirm 26 july cannot. My refresher class on that afternoon... So u mummies go ahead if majority likes that date!

Sarah may
my doula is ginny phang from four trimesters. U can check out http://www.fourtrimesters.com/

big toes
ooh that was a fast trip!

meie
hey so u managed to see ur baby's features in 3D! How lovely!
Did u get colour pics? Last time mine was black and white but it was free so I pai sei to ask for colour ones.

AIRCON during confinement
Me sleep in air con room every nite. Too hot to tahan...

Prenatal massage
I did try out Rustic Nirvana, but found it so so. Nothing to rave abt... and so expensive too for that level of skill. Still prefer my normal massage lady but she's really old and has retired otherwise I wld recommend her to u ladies.

alabone
must have been so irritating. I HATE hard sell. WHich branch did u go to? I went to the cantonment one. The girl there didn;t try to hard sell after i told her i already have my own massage lady, just that she's too old to come all the way to my place just for a pre natal massage...
I actually have to chauffeur her from the mrt stn to my house when i want massage and chauffeur her back to mrt. And must book days in advance cos she's so occupied with all her frens. Quite troublesome... But she's a great example of active ageing!!!

flos
My allerhand messenger bag straps r ok so far... And i only have one diaper bag which i use all the time. My girl is already two so i guess they r durable?
I find the baby carrier useful cos I used to put her in it while i was at church and rock her to sleep. It was an essential to me! It's tiring to keep carrying her! Especially after she falls asleep and is at the interval where she hasn;t fallen deep enough into dreamland to put her down without crying... Plus with bjorn u can put bb easily into stroller after they fall asleep. Easy peasy!
And gg overseas, it's a saviour! Cos sometimes baby doesn;t want to be put in the stroller...

sarahmay,
yessssss. can't stand hard-selling. i read abt mayamassage too. think they have a website. www.mayamummymassage.com but the one i mentioned was malayheritage. they got promotion now. must pay deposit first.

stef,
you confirm booking with them already is it??

isabelle,
i went to two different branch. think the really hardsell one was the branch at bugis street. couldn't stand it. made me stay inside the room and kept trying to get me to sign their package. i told them i cannot decide coz hb pays for all these expenses. so must discuss. even then, they still didn't let me go. after that, i stopped going to them.

koras - i juz threw up my bfast yday morn (chiffon pandan cake!) so does tat consider morning sickness?? anw, i oredi RenMing tat i will puke till pop..

Hi MTB,

Sorry to ‘disappear’ for a while…been reading but have not written any post

I am having a little princess….resting at home as I am currently down with flu and cough.

Wingkei: Just buy those bb stuff, it is better for the bb

Koras: Although I am now towards end of 2nd term, I still vomit. Pls talk to someone if you must…I had depression sometime back too.

Hi all.. received a pamphlet from DBS advertising that DBS Takashimaya card holders have additional 10% discount on sale items this weekend - 27 June to 29 June.. don't know whether this applies to avent and pigeon items which already have 20% discount.. if it does, then the things are really worth buying..

hi mummies ,
been reading the posts in the morning but have no time to post ....
Co - Sleeping
Just to share , my boi has been co - sleeping with me since he is born becos it is easier to BF him .. Morover hb not ard and the bed is sufficient for both of us .. BUT the terrible thing is i dun get to sleep deep everynight .. that is i wake up to respond to him at every slight movement cos i am a light sleeper .. and after surviving for thirteen months nw .. hmm ... his powerful kicks and movement can be bad at nights .. and i was eventually kicked a few times already ..
The next issue will be my micky mouse is coming and most likely will be BF again .. and I still have not transfer Zac to his cot bcos I will not be buying new cot for micky and will leave zac's cot downstairs for day time sleep for micky .. hence zac will have no bed to shift to and my MIL do not want to be disturbed in her sleep .. so no help at this moment except that the maid will look after micky first and will settle the things when micky comes along .. hmm ...still thinking .. impossible to leave both bb on bed cos zac will kick my NB ..
Wingkei ,
since u are financially independent , then dun think u should be bothered on budget conscious hubby .. keke ... since u are using your money ..
flos ,
u are tempting me to go for facial this week ...
isabelle ,
how many days of MC are u eligible for per year ? thought standard 30 days ?

Isa: Can I buy the BabyBjorn Air only when my bb is > 6mos? My DH says the bb cannot be carried in a carrier when his neck is not strong enuff.

I like Allerhand thermal bags

Oh dear, hope u r well by tomorrow.

Qiuling: I went for my facial cos I just got a credit card voucher so I thought since it's so cheap ($30), why not?

POstnatal massage: is it nec to book now? I dun even know if mine would be a c-section...If yes, can I still be massaged?

SarahMay: yep, i will sponge-bathe too.

SarahMay: Have u bought your stroller yet?

I saw the Kate Spade-MaClaren stroller u posted here not long ago. It's black/white/red one that matches one of the KS diaper bags another Sept mom mentioned.

It's selling at $750 in SG.

Hi Storeberry,
I have confirm my appointment for the photo shoot with Studio Loft last week of July. Thank you for your recommendation.
WingKei,
I go to Afond Spa at Holland Village for prenatal massage. For me I bought a 20 times package. But they do have a trial prenatal massage at $68 for 1.5 hour. My massage lady is cecilia and she is pretty experience in massaging preggie.
Alabone,
Glad that you are fine. I am delivering at Mt E and my gynae is Dr Yap at level 9 of Mr E medical center.

I am also very interested to book my post natal masssage. However I am concern that if I end up with C section rather than natural delivery, can I still go for prenatal massage har ?

Flos: I only managed to grab one candle that I like when they were closing the shop at Raffles Hotel that time. But it's a good deal!

SarahMay: I didn't place order ... plan is to get hubby to get from Toronto in the end, posted here sometime back, think you missed it ;)

Bigtoes: you didnt' miss much! hehe ... cos forum was down for a whole day, and it was rather quiet too.

flos, jojo,
if you do end up having a csec, you can still go for postnatal massage. just that you cannot immediately go for massage. typically, you have to wait at least 6 weeks post surgery before you can be massaged and the masseur will avoid the tummy area. binding will still be done though. now i'm not sure if i wanna book with malayheritage or mayamummy. coz mayamummy is 1.5hrs and like slightly cheaper...

Hi Jojo: No prob!! But I have not done any photoshoot with them so not sure how is it going to be.. No time to speak to DH on the shoot though...

Sarah: Thanks for the assurance!! But I felt some kicks in the evening so should be ok.. Think I ley fear creep into me &amp; panicked!

I vomitted my breakfast the day before as well..

Hi Jaymickey,
I am immediately after you ! But I will be there at 11am as well cos I have schedule makeup and hair-do....So i guess we have a high chance bumping into each other.

Hi Alabone,
That why i am still thinking about the postnatal massage though i am big massage fan..

oh yeh.. then u must have called earlier.. cos i wanted the 12noon session.. taken, then i take the 11am one.. let's have fun there man..

Hi Jaymickey,
I guess my mail reach her earlier
. Anyway, I will try my enjoy the shoots and I am not into the nude/artistic photo...just more natural and happy kind
In fact, i like black and white picture. So i am starting to pull together the kind of outfit i want to bring there... Looking forward to it

GATHERING IN JUL
<font color="aa00aa">hmmm...mixed replies frm most mummies, but in general seems like Sat is the preferred choice leh..</font>
<font color="0000ff">Limay/Bacon&amp;Eggs</font>-<font color="aa00aa">wat time yr lesson ends on Sat? Can join aft u finish yr class?? Sarah cmg bck 7jul rite?? So we can plan earlier in Jul then..</font>

JUL 12 or JUL 19??
<font color="aa00aa">Both are Sat.. As for venue, if we do it at Canele Robertson Walk, altho abit inconvenient for gals not driving, it'll be cosier, spacious and less noisy there cos we can almost have the whole place to ourselves and my hubby is trying to plan a special menu of canapes &amp; desserts for us (depending on the no. of pax we have) Raffles City outlet is abit tough cos of the seating layout, Paragon -forget it! It's a pigeon hole there! As for new outlet in Shaw Centre, seating capacity is only 40 seaters(inside seating) so we can't really have the place to ourselves...Or if the venue dun work well, maybe we shld plan it somewhr else??</font>

alabone,
still deciding between malayheritagemassage and Traditional &amp; Holistic Post-natal Centre (http://www.jamumassage.com.sg/about-us).

Sunrays,
12 or 19 Jul is fine with me. and since ur hubby has some special menu for us, then i suggest we stick to Canele at Robertson Walk
Also, the Canele outlet there might not be too crowded too

SarahMay, Pinkygal
Your BMO loot is sitting pretty in my office now. Sms me to arrange for collection. Thanks..

Mei
Yours is sitting pretty in my house. You can go anytime to collect. Sms me beforehand.

sunrays
Yup, let's hold it at Robertson.. we'll feel more 'at home' there..

mickey
Thanks! I'll sms you later on my collection time, prob around 6+pm.

Sunrays: Wow! Special menu for us preggers ah? For food, and good food at that, I WILL travel! haha. July 19 better for me I think. But 12 will work. As long as I have time to pound the streets to SHOP SHOP SHOP! Hope got some good sales left. hahaah. Btw, I MSN-ed you to ask if you've collected your BMO loot to see if can tumpung you. Hehe.

Flos: Oh! Not buying stroller yet. Probably after bb is born so either take him stroller shopping or just get one in Macau - those China copies. Cheap, sturdy and prob can tahan the rough streets here. Not getting Maclarens cos heard several not-so-good feedback from ppl who bought them. Btw, for bb carriers, they have infant inserts so no worries about bb's necks not strong enough. However, i've read that it is not good for bb to spend too much time in carriers because it make affect their hip development.

Alabone: Thanks for clarifying! The mayamassage is like cheaper, more value for money. But not sure if she is reliable! The malayheritage one I think is popular cos they mass emailed MTBs from this forum to do their promo.

Storeberry: Know how easy it is to panic! I can be like that too! Just pray next time you worry. Find it helps me! Btw, have u decided on your bb's name yet? Is it still John?

Isabelle, Rabbit: Hope you two recover soon! Drink lots of water!

Koras and Janf: Eeks! Hope your MS stops!

BATHIING BB:
I got this really cool and useful link for how to bathe baby today. So here it is for MTBs who will be caring for their bb:
http://www.babycenter.com/partners/headtotoe/?CMP=EMC-BC_LFT3C

They've got good videos on other aspects of bb care like bb massage too! enjoy!