(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi jasmine,
yes. bp still very high. just called my gynae was told to go down immediately. if it's gestational hypertension, the only way to make bp go down is to deliver the bb!!! which i CANNOT do yet!!!!!

did your cousin have pre-eclampsia? bb had to be delivered early right? is her bb out of hospital already?

alabone
I'm not very sure what she have. This is what i heard from my mum. When my cousin is back home, everyday w/o fail she go down to hosp to see her bb. Bb is already out.

U faster go down to hosp.

alabone: hugs! could your BP be due to your MIL infuriating you? oh dear! do keep us updated about what happens. just relax and think happy thots! and i think those jerks are bb's hiccups.

oh no! i'm late!!! i've gotta run. will come back and read all the other posts!

storeberry,
not me..
i hardly get any dream..except for Mon nite..i dreamt abt my hubby and i kept asking him how are we related? haha...siao liao..

Flos/Ava,
Wonder why we suddenly like scented bath gel? hmm..i also start feeling vain and want to "beautify" myself...haha..

By the way, any MTBs has greenish veins across their breasts and tummy? I have it and find it quite scary-looking...as if the tummy/breasts are gg to burst!

Mrs Wong's class,
I got massive backache (which I dont usually) after the class..i guess those MTBs sitting in the middle of the class without any backing is worse...i wonder why they dont give us chairs after the natal exercise..

bacon&egg
I've always liked scented shower gels but could not tahan the smell earlier...i guess now smell sensitivity is not so bad, so we are all indulging

I have greenish veins across belly and boobs too...bleaggghh

bacon&eggs: yah man, me starting to love those scents again
Some time this week, I'm going to buy a new Provence Rose shower gel I hv been eyeing on since Feb.

I also got one dream last week about my bb! In that dream, he was 10.8 lbs at birth! Very chubby and cute boy!!! Do u think I shd buy 4D?

You shd go early to secure a place at the back. Poor hbs have to sit on the floor for 2 hrs. What a torture.

Veins: yeah, to some extent.

flos,
Mrs Wong's class stretches to 2.5 hours! And most hubbies have to act like a cushion backing for the wives...imagine!!

Belly button
Popping out? I see alot of dirt but dare not clean it...scary with veins and pop out belly..

bacon&eggs: it's not dirt/grime, it's pigmentation I suspect.

Luckily for my weekday classes, it starts 10min later and ends 5 min earlier if no futher questions from the floor. There is also a 5 min toilet break.

alabone
pls keep us updated..i am also told by gynae my BP is higher than average...might have to induce bb before EDD if BP continues to be high...

koras
I had cramps too but it had improved alot ever since i slept with my legs elevated..just pop a pillow under the calves when u sleep...

jasmine
think u were on my right in the class on sun... sorry didn't say hi cos i was too busy yakking away wif my gf on my left..was also busy shutting my hb up cos he was giggling at Mrs Wong's pronounciation of certain terms...

GATHERING
Looks like those who have classes on Sat cannot attend...so how??? Is Fri evenings better or Sun afternoon?? Let's do a poll and decide, hehe..

sunrays- i do put a pillow under my leg ler.. but still cramps argh. last night cramp in the middle of the night then i wake up my hubby up to massage my leg

for those who having cramps on legs, i realised if i do stretch my body while on the bed, i will kena cramp for sure... so i guess its best to stretch yr body while standing up. Avoid cooling food to minimise cramp. CRAMPS and be v painful. I scream like nobody's business everytime i kena... so painful. The whole calf area sank in lor.

Those greenish veins on tummy are v light... not those big bulging greenish veins right? I realised my tummy is getting v shiny... hehe

SO FAR...no leg cramps for me for several mths oredi, since I massage my feet, toes, shin and my calves with my clarins oil before I go to bed...

sunrays
U are wearing pink top? These 2 days i have cramps too. Though i place a pillow under my calves but usually at night the pillow either drop on the floor or not under my calves anymore. haha

I also experienced cramps (esp at calf area)
Bt I realized over the years (cos I got it on and off for me) is when u ‘feel’ tat ur calf cramp is coming, do not stretch ur leg to the max. Instead, try to ‘loosen’ the muscle by pulling ur feet towards ur erm.. vagina tat area.. so it will form a (>) something liddat?

Sounds chimz? But it only works if u can feel ur leg cramp coming before it is full-blown. But I not sure whether it works for u guys or not… can try wor.

BABYCARE
I have been reading a few books on babycare. There seems to be different school of thoughts on sleeping patterns, and whether to pick baby up when they cry etc etc. And also the so-called, fourth trimester which advocates the bb is still trying to familiarize the new environment out of the womb,.. so must be super duper attentive. I know every baby differs.. bt got any experienced mama can share some insights mah?

MrsYap
Agree.... when I stretch.. can feel the cramp coming, so I quickly stop.

Gathering at Canele
I'm fine for both Friday evenings & Sunday afternoons.

<font color="0000ff">Baby Mattress
yeap yeap.. i've gotta get 1 too.. juz wondering wat's the market cost for this wor...

Alabone
OMG!!! hope u will be all rite. hurry rush to ur gynae NOW!! dun wait le.. do keep us posted yah

Cramps on legs
Mrs Yap.. agree agree!!! i realised tat's wat happens to me too. if i stretch myself on the bed while lying i will SURELY kena the cramps de. so these days i feel so restricted, haha, dun dare to stretch till i get out of bed.</font>

Forum is down!! Couldn't access at all!

Mrs Yap: Yah man!!! I realise when I stretched myself will have leg cramps so try to minimise that. But this morning had a bad cramp &amp; when I wake up still abit pain...

Alabone: Update us on your progress! Hope everything is fine for you &amp; baby!

lanolin: Where is robertson quay??? Any landmarks or something or near somewhere? I am quite direction dumb.
My vote for outing is Friday Evening or Saturday noon, as afternoon got that class!!! :p

storebery - same as me.. i had a cramp at around 4+am in the morning.. wake up around 10+ found my leg still aching from the cramp

Jasmine
Yes, i was wearing pink... i knw wat u mean...pillow always end up on the floor,haha.. now i wake up realising my one leg on the pillow and the other underneath it, machiam trying to use my legs as chopsticks to prevent pillow frm dropping hehehe...

GATHERING
Those who hav classes on Sat, can let me knw wat time yr class starts/ends? Cos seems like Sat is a better choice for most mummies...

lovebug1822
It is at Robertson Walk actually... u knw UE Square? Or Mohd Sultan Rd? Mostly serviced apartmts around tat area...not tat difficult to locate...

awww, so touched by how you all showered me with your care. once i reached gynae's office, i was immediately put on the bed to do a CTG and asked to lie down and relax. the whole process was 45mins. After which my gynae came in to take my bp. it was 145/86! PHEW! as long as the lower reading is nothing above 100? i think i'm ok. so she said i must have been agitated and stressed. of which, when i thought back, indeed i was agitated on sunday night... my mil!!!!

anyway, because of this and my pubic symphysis, she's ordered me to stop working. so now i'm on hospitalisation leave until i deliver. so i'm fine now but must remember not to get angry, irritated or stressed.

met l'lcy after gynae visit and i took a train home. it was like 6plus so train naturally super crowded. i was so positive you know? thinking that perhaps there will be at least one kind soul who would offer a seat to me but NO! i literally stood in front of these able-bodied men and they simply ignored the very pregnant me and went about chatting!!! Then the hot-headed me got super angry of coz lah. sent angry messages to my hb and took it out on him. then i took the opportunity to tell him that the cause of my condition was that his mum agitated me. so he apologised on his mum's behalf and just now, he kinda chided his mum! and told me not to worry... his mum will move out soon enough. wahahahahahahhahahah!!!!

ladies, thanks again for your concern!

alabone

good to hear u're fine!!! also good to knw tat yr hb is understanding!! hope yr MIL will learn her lesson and buzz off,hehehe!!

Yah defintely prefer the gathering to be sat!

Lovebug, yes its near river valley, should be quite easy to find...

Alabone: Glad that everything is ok now! Your DH so sweet!

finally able to post!

alabone: am so glad you're fine! was so worried for you! no babies should come out now, still too early. stay in there, more cozy.

next gathering: fri or sat ok for me. Sun is out for me.

abalone:
so glad u are fine!! better rest well during this long break and take things easy. not happy with MIL, just tell hubby, let hubby do the job.. for now, just take care and rest well.

sunrays,
yes. sat is a better choice as i can bring along my kiddies. If it's on Friday evenings, i'll probably come straight after work and will probably leave my kiddies at home.
btw, why dun we meet at the Canele in Paragon ? i think Paragon is much more accessible than Robertson walk.

Bacon &amp; Egg,
Agree wif u...i got backache halfway thru the class already, and this is the 1st time i'm having backache. Was feeling very pek chek and unwell. I tink i'll get a seat near the wall next class.

storeberry, shazz, stef,
thanks again. i'm glad i'm ok too. now i just constantly remind myself not to bother with my mil lah. but every morning after hb leaves for work, she'll come home from church then make so much noise in the kitchen - open my cabinets, bang the door, take out the plastic bags and fold, shift my pots and pans, making all the clanging noise. i really really get super irritated. then i'm kept up and cannot go back to sleep...

shazz,
ya lor. cannot give birth now lah. must go NICU... so scary.

Alabone: Phew! Good to hear you are fine now. Ya la...your MIL was the cause...and glad your hubby knows too, and takes your side! So no more work till you deliver? I would be ecstatic! Hehe...hope you are too. That means, you can enjoy the rest of the pregnancy!

Sunrays: I vote for Sat too! There is a canele at Paragon now? Wow! That would be better than at Roberston Quay...at least can go shopping after. Hehe.

Flos: How about pigmentation in the belly button due to years of accumulated dirt? Hehe.

Sasa: Thought you were going to check out neighbourhood shops for this? I also need to buy. Thinking of going to Kiddy Palace in Marina Sq when I'm back to check it out! If you can go shopping then, we can go together.

Jasmine: me too! My pillow disappears out from between my legs...and I realise i end up on my back during my sleep. Thank goodness no cramps yet.

Mrs Yap: How come yours are v light green? Mine are blue. Look like blue veiny watermelon. hehe. Just thank goodness not WHOLE tummy or boobs. My tummy is shiny at times too...esp near the belly button area. getting more itchy too!

Goldfish: There are MANY different schools of thought and approaches to sleep training etc. So I guess the best way is to read and then decide which one sits well with your own beliefs and practices. Some believe in NOT training bb to sleep with rigidity, others believe that you must. Some say co-sleep, others say not.

Have you heard of attachment parenting? I posted about it before. That is one school of thot u might consider. The website by Dr Sears gives quite informative insights to different aspects of bb care that you are asking abt.

As for learning abt bb cries, and crying management, the 3main schools of thot are: CRY IT OUT, Limited Cry, and No-cry. Personally, I find the Limited Cry solution will work better for me because the other two sit at the extremes. And for sleep training, I believe in it cos I think it is a habit to be learnt. Of cos how and when to be done is another matter.

You can check out the library for books on these. Helps save money since we got to read q a bit before we can decide what we want to subscribe and trial.

morning sarahmay,
needless to say, i'm ecstatic! i want to enjoy the rest of my pregnancy too. but i'll enjoy it more when she moves out! you know, i'm up so early every morning coz of her. come back from church and then make all the banging noise in the kitchen - open my cabinets, bang the doors, move the pots and pans, make the clanging noise, take the plastic bags and fold and fold. super annoying.

itchiness:
my belly also getting very itchy again. bb is getting bigger and our skin is stretched. think must moisturise and moisturise.

gathering at canele:
i've never been there. but i think i shd be ok with sat. afternoon right?

BabyMall Shipping Cost

Pls top up:
Sunrays - $4.13
Cloud - $6.85
Mrs Gan - $4
Mei - $9.99
Twendy - $13.12
Storeberry - $15.07
Bigtoes - $13.40
Pinkygal - $6.84
SarahMay - $6.36

POSB Savings 150280532.

Collection can be from my place at Normanton Park, by postage, or my office building at Raffles Place.

alabone, glad that your BP is ok now. so good to have HL till you deliver, now u can relax and rest at home.

gathering
i'm fine with saturday afternoon too. if got a choice i will also prefer paragon canele, cos i'm not driving and orchard is more accessible. hehehe..

sarahmay &amp; mrs yap, i also have veins appearing on my tummy but mostly green colour ones. even my thighs have little ones in purple, never notice them before and they are so ugly. :p oh ya, and my tummy also very itchy too, eventhough i had applied cream on it.

i have frequent cramps too..happens when i stretch on bed! Looks like its v common..doesnt help even if i massage my legs before bedtime..

flos,
not pigmentation cos i could see the darkened line. Its the dirt formed inside the belly button and when the belly button starts to protrude, the dirt also comes out...sorry gross!

Gathering
My vote goes to Friday evening.

Goldfish,
I read a book that advocates mom to pick up crying bb to give comfort and sense of security..instead of leaving bb to cry. I know some say otherwise. For me, i think i will pick up my crying bb..else it would be so disturbing to all..

cramps: what I do is when I stretch in bed, I stretch my toes towards me instead of away from me. Never get cramps that way!

Training baby to sleep

There are so many books out there advocating different methods and I have all the best-sellers I think! From "Baby Whisperer', "The No-Cry Sleep Solution: Gentle Ways to Help Your Baby Sleep Through the Night", "Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child", "On Becoming Baby Wise: Giving Your Infant the Gift of Nighttime Sleep", etc...I think I can open a mini parenting books library :p. All of the books offer slightly different approach and I read out of sheer desperation then, as my FB was a very wakeful baby and doesn't sleep much during the day and night, which means I cannot do anything at all, or spent all my time making him sleep.

In the end, I adopted the approach recommended by the Baby Whisperer and tried to have my FB on a routine of Eat, Activity, Sleep, Your time (EASY)(not schedule, there's a difference in that the latter is more inflexible). Somestimes it works, sometimes it doesn't cos my FB will only go to sleep while on the breast sometimes. I have tried letting him cry it out (which is v v hard for me to bear). I tried so many ways, from slinging, to sarong, to rocking, from using pacifiers, even driving out to lull him to sleep in the his carseat. Yes, we were so desperate. Luckily we were past that phase now. Hoping that no. 2 will be much easier to handly sleepwise.

I think in the end, it is better to listen to your baby. The books can serve as a guide, but unless your baby is a textbook baby, you will need to tweak your mtd to suit his/ her temperament eventually.

Jessi: Paragon Canale got seats now? thot it's the Raffles City basement one that has seats.

Just a digression since u mentioned Paragon...How about Cova Pasticceria-Confetteria, an elegant tea-room and cafe from Milan recently opened at the ground floor of Paragon (used to be OLIO DOME)?

1510255.jpg

Baby and I had our lunch at the much talked about Caffe Cova yday afternoon. <font color="0000ff">YEP, CAFFE COVA is FINALLY IN SINGAPORE!!</font> It's a pity that I couldn't order the signature Cova expresso, which used to be my pre-preggers fav beverage at many of its outlets in HongKong.

For your NB's first month party, you can order its prettily wrapped chocolates and assorted jellies, jams and bonbons, and sugared almonds!!! hehehe!

Well, erm, just another option to Canale and Bakerzin